View Full Version : After match incidents (fire on Aberdeen train; London Road)

31-10-2009, 07:13 PM
An Aberdeen fans says that they were attacked after the game at London Road by casuals.

Anyone see this?

Post #22

http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=4&fid=27&sty=2&act=1&mid=2124039337

Richard Scott
31-10-2009, 07:16 PM
There's always one or two animals who have to spoil a decent result and day with their idiotic behaviour. They're no Hibs fans.

fife hfc
31-10-2009, 07:25 PM
certainly looked like it as when I arrived at London Road coming up the walk there was fighting going on. the ********s where singing CCS and that they were the baby crew. One Aberdeen fan looked to be out cold. Cowardly barstewards:grr:.

when I got to the station I went into the bar and was speaking to Hibs and Aberdeen fans and one said the boy was sozzled through the drink but I doubt it myself.

Was running late today and got off the train at twenty to three and went out the back enterance to the station as I walked up Calton Road I was met by a large police presence surronding about sixty Aberdeen casuals. it looks to me that all the trouble is on the way back. i certainly won't be taking my six year old to games if this is the case.

Velma Dinkley
31-10-2009, 07:34 PM
A taxi driver told me a group of aberdeen casual had come down today and the police had been following them around all day to stop any fighting.

31-10-2009, 07:37 PM
A taxi driver told me a group of aberdeen casual had come down today and the police had been following them around all day to stop any fighting.

It says on one of their threads that about 30 of them were escorted back to Aberdeen on the train prior to the game so they must have had a fair few then.

BigKev
31-10-2009, 07:41 PM
certainly looked like it as when I arrived at London Road coming up the walk there was fighting going on. the ********s where singing CCS and that they were the baby crew. One Aberdeen fan looked to be out cold. Cowardly barstewards:grr:.

when I got to the station I went into the bar and was speaking to Hibs and Aberdeen fans and one said the boy was sozzled through the drink but I doubt it myself.

Was running late today and got off the train at twenty to three and went out the back enterance to the station as I walked up Calton Road I was met by a large police presence surronding about sixty Aberdeen casuals. it looks to me that all the trouble is on the way back. i certainly won't be taking my six year old to games if this is the case.

Odd quote really after admitting fans of both clubs both thought the lad was pished.

Until you have facts I'd suggest you stop making assumptions like your opening statement.

fife hfc
31-10-2009, 07:47 PM
Why did I imagine the fighting:confused: I saw it and i did not imagine it. I did not see the boy get hit and at no time did I say he got hit all I said was that he was out cold and beside him were idiots who were singing CCs etc. So I'll say what I want.

Lets stick our head in the sand and deny these arsh0les follow our club. hibs don't have a reputation for nothing. It was one boy who said he was drunk and he was a hibby. I also forgot that in the station I saw a Dons fan with blood on his face, I supposed he tripped up andhurt himself and the fact he spent ages given a statement to the police was to tell them that.

31-10-2009, 07:52 PM
all I said was that he was out cold and beside him were idiots who were singing CCs etc.

Would never have imagined CCs being linked to the casual scene. No doubt a few folk get battered about the ring in there of course.

31-10-2009, 07:56 PM
Wasn't violence at all, certainly not the guy was who lying next to the barriers at the traffic lights anyway!

He was staggering all the way along London Road, tried to steady himself against the barrier and obviously lost his hold, as he clattered to the deck.

Certainly wasn't attacked though, and was quite obviously pished, though managed to generate quite a gathering next to the lights!

BigKev
31-10-2009, 08:01 PM
Why did I imagine the fighting:confused: I saw it and i did not imagine it. I did not see the boy get hit and at no time did I say he got hit all I said was that he was out cold and beside him were idiots who were singing CCs etc. So I'll say what I want.

Lets stick our head in the sand and deny these arsh0les follow our club. hibs don't have a reputation for nothing. It was one boy who said he was drunk and he was a hibby. I also forgot that in the station I saw a Dons fan with blood on his face, I supposed he tripped up andhurt himself and the fact he spent ages given a statement to the police was to tell them that.

You admit to not seeing it but still want to have a pop at the dafties who were shouting and singing beside him - I'll not deny we've some idiots who follow Hibs but don't just make stuff up and call guys cowardly barestewards just for the sake of it.

As for the Dons fan with the bloody face I'm presuming he was wholly innocent?

HONG KONG PHOOEY
31-10-2009, 08:02 PM
We arrived at the end of London Road to see someone being put into a ambulance and another bloke was telling the police that he had been kicked in the face by someone. He was giving the police a discription of the bloke. Never seen anything myself just seen/heard this when trying to get across the road.

31-10-2009, 08:08 PM
Just heard from my brother who is on the Aberdeen train. It was stopped at Kirkcaldy due to an attack on an earlier train. Allegedly, some Hibs casuals attacked the train and someone was set on fire.
Police have described it as a major incident.

31-10-2009, 08:09 PM
Just heard from my brother who is on the Aberdeen train. It was stopped at Kirkcaldy due to an attack on an earlier train. Allegedly, some Hibs casuals attacked the train and someone was set on fire.

I'll believe that when I see it somewhere more official - no disrespect.

31-10-2009, 08:14 PM
I'll believe that when I see it somewhere more official - no disrespect.

Similar stories circulating on dons message board.

northern-hibee
31-10-2009, 08:17 PM
i'm on the train behind it now, and the reason given by the guard as to why we have been delayed is because of a major incident involving football fans on the train in front of us, and that it is stopped at kirkcaldy

fife hfc
31-10-2009, 08:20 PM
You admit to not seeing it but still want to have a pop at the dafties who were shouting and singing beside him - I'll not deny we've some idiots who follow Hibs but don't just make stuff up and call guys cowardly barestewards just for the sake of it.

As for the Dons fan with the bloody face I'm presuming he was wholly innocent?

I said I saw fighting I never ever said I saw the boy that was sparko being hit so if you are going to call me a liar get your ****ing facts straight. As for the boy in the station imho of course he did not look like a hooligan to me and if you were in the area you would see for yourself that there was a number of so called Hibs fans looking for trouble. maybe you were there and are one of them:wink:

31-10-2009, 08:22 PM
i'm on the train behind it now, and the reason given by the guard as to why we have been delayed is because of a major incident involving football fans on the train in front of us, and that it is stopped at kirkcaldy

If there was trouble ON the train heading back to Aberdeen I would doubt that it's anything Hibs related. There's no way the BTP would allow Hibs on board the same train as Aberdeen.

31-10-2009, 08:24 PM
My mate was also on the train behind it, and he just phoned to tell me the story - crazy s**t indeed.

Apologies to the OP of the story, but it's a pretty big accusation with nothing to support it - nothing personal.

31-10-2009, 08:33 PM
Dundee fans getting on train heading back from Dunfermline more likely

Sloppy
31-10-2009, 08:35 PM
I said I saw fighting I never ever said I saw the boy that was sparko being hit so if you are going to call me a liar get your ****ing facts straight. As for the boy in the station imho of course he did not look like a hooligan to me and if you were in the area you would see for yourself that there was a number of so called Hibs fans looking for trouble. maybe you were there and are one of them:wink:

easy lads :blah:

vahibbie
31-10-2009, 08:36 PM
An Aberdeen fans says that they were attacked after the game at London Road by casuals.

Anyone see this?

Post #22

http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=4&fid=27&sty=2&act=1&mid=2124039337
Cannae be true.
Casuals only fight each other in pre-arranged paggers:wink:

31-10-2009, 08:39 PM
That was ****ing brutal.
Guy dressed as a sheep was lit on fire by a Hibs fan, awful, just plain awful.

speedy_gonzales
31-10-2009, 08:40 PM
As for the boy in the station imho of course he did not look like a hooligan to me
Just out of interest, was this the guy giving his details to the police standing outside the baguette/boots kiosk, around 40, a wee bit claret running down from just under his left eye?
If so, the stone island jacket and check(burberry maybe?) shirt would say otherwise.
I'm not naive enough to think all 'casuals' dress in such a manner, and I'm not suggesting this particular injured party was, but it is generally how they appear when I have the misfortune of coming across them on my way home from the game.

31-10-2009, 08:48 PM
That was ****ing brutal.

Did you see it?

That's the rumour on the aberdeen forum but it doesn't confirm if it was one of them.

I know they were tits at the game but no one deserves that.

WeAreHibs
31-10-2009, 08:50 PM
I couldnt read half the posts of their boards - do they speak and type gaelic or what?

31-10-2009, 08:51 PM
Did you see it?

That's the rumour on the aberdeen forum but it doesn't confirm if it was one of them.

I was in the coach right beside it.
The guy was wheeled away at Kirkcaldy, he looked decent shall we say but it looked like it was just some minor burns.
And aye, the Hibs fan was arrested.

31-10-2009, 08:54 PM
Did you see it?

The way it's described doesn't seem violent - makes out that everything was good natured and one Hibs fan has flicked a fag at the guy; seems like banter taken to stupid lengths rather than some horrible heinous act.

31-10-2009, 08:56 PM
Seems like that was the case. There's something on the Dundee forum about it.

http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=194&fid=100&sty=1&act=1&mid=2124037436

31-10-2009, 09:00 PM
The way it's described doesn't seem violent - makes out that everything was good natured and one Hibs fan has flicked a fag at the guy; seems like banter taken to stupid lengths rather than some horrible heinous act.

Good natured?
I saw them talking to each other as they went on the train so they must have known each other. The guy was wearing a costume made of wool so for someone to flick a fag or a lighter(what ever it was i didnt see it) is just plain stupidity.

glasgow sheep
31-10-2009, 09:00 PM
Wasn't violence at all, certainly not the guy was who lying next to the barriers at the traffic lights anyway!

He was staggering all the way along London Road, tried to steady himself against the barrier and obviously lost his hold, as he clattered to the deck.

Certainly wasn't attacked though, and was quite obviously pished, though managed to generate quite a gathering next to the lights!

It is my post that has been quoted from Aberdeen Mad so I'd like to respond to the above. My mate who was attacked, and left lying next to the barriers on London Road certainly wasn't there because of drink. He was there because he was busy spitting out the blood and teeth that a bunch of "casuals" had battered out of his face. Always nice to see casuals, what with their code and that, laying into a guy lying on the ground.

Totally unprovoked attack and especially brave of the 20 or so of them attacking the handful of us walking up London Road. If they thought a group of guys wearing colours, a Banana-Man costume and a Michael Jackson costume were casuals then they are thicker than I thought.

Despite the chaos pre-match (100s of Dons stuck outside the ground) and the shocking ref I always enjoy our trips to Easter Road and always feel that your support isn't that different from ours and enjoy the banter. Unfortunately you suffer from the same eedgits that we do who seem to think kicking lumps out of each other (or innocent bystanders) is a good way to spend their evening

31-10-2009, 09:05 PM
It is my post that has been quoted from Aberdeen Mad so I'd like to respond to the above. My mate who was attacked, and left lying next to the barriers on London Road certainly wasn't there because of drink. He was there because he was busy spitting out the blood and teeth that a bunch of "casuals" had battered out of his face. Always nice to see casuals, what with their code and that, laying into a guy lying on the ground.

Totally unprovoked attack and especially brave of the 20 or so of them attacking the handful of us walking up London Road. If they thought a group of guys wearing colours, a Banana-Man costume and a Michael Jackson costume were casuals then they are thicker than I thought.

Despite the chaos pre-match (100s of Dons stuck outside the ground) and the shocking ref I always enjoy our trips to Easter Road and always feel that your support isn't that different from ours and enjoy the banter. Unfortunately you suffer from the same eedgits that we do who seem to think kicking lumps out of each other (or innocent bystanders) is a good way to spend their evening

Sorry to hear this and I hope your friend is OK. Good to note that you 'normally' enjoy the away trips to ER. BTW, many posters have complimented Aberdeen on their away support.

31-10-2009, 09:06 PM
Guy on Dundee-Mad site says :

Jim's just been on the phone.

It was an Aberdeen fan who was set on fire by a Hibs fan apparently. The train was packed with supporters of Dundee, Hibs and Aberdeen, but he said it was a good atmosphere. The Hibs supporter was having a lark about and flicked either a lighted match or cigarette at the Aberdeen supporter and he caught fire. Jim said he was just 2 metres away from him as he was heading in his direction, looking for help. Everyone ran to the next carriage but all the doors and windows were locked with nowhere to go. Everyone crammed in together, then the man fell to the floor. People were throwing beer and other soft drinks over him to try and put out the fire, which they eventually did, thank goodness. Police are now all over the train and taking everyone's name and address before letting them off the train to catch another one home. The casualty is now on the way to hospital, and hopefully will make a good recovery.

31-10-2009, 09:07 PM
Hope he gets well soon.

If they want to go away for a pagger with each other then fair enough but it's sad that innocent fans are being attacked.

Is this sort of stuff going on because of the glorification of it from the books and films that are released relating to the casuals or does this happen a lot after games?

I must admit I haven't really heard of anything like this happening after the last few games so I suspect it was kept for Dons fans.

Edit; I agree that their fans were good. Singing alot and a funny chant of two 'The referee is a *****' and 'we're just a bunch of sheep ****ging *******s'.

stubru59
31-10-2009, 09:09 PM
Actually just arrived home having been on the said train. Got to Kirkcaldy to be met by about 20 police officers, with at least half a dozen in plain clothes.

Police got on the train and appear to have arrested 2 young guys. Fire team and paramedics in attendance and a young male looking in a pretty bad way was taken away.

Was told (did not witness this) that someone had thrown lighter fuel over a young male and set him alight.

Definitely some serious trouble on the train. For the record I did see quite a number of Hibs fans on the train, none of whom were causing trouble.

Also saw a few Aberdeen fans, and again none were causing bother. The guys who the police arrested were not wearing football colours.

31-10-2009, 09:10 PM
Actually just arrived home having been on the said train. Got to Kirkcaldy to be met by about 20 police officers, with at least half a dozen in plain clothes.

Police got on the train and appear to have arrested 2 young guys. Fire team and paramedics in attendance and a young male looking in a pretty bad way was taken away.

Was told (did not witness this) that someone had thrown lighter fuel over a young male and set him alight.

Definitely some serious trouble on the train. For the record I did see quite a number of Hibs fans on the train, none of whom were causing trouble.

Also saw a few Aberdeen fans, and again none were causing bother. The guys who the police arrested were not wearing football colours.

The guy that was arrested in Kirkclady(the first one) was wearing a Hibernian top.

31-10-2009, 09:14 PM

Could it have been premeditated if they happened to be carrying lighter fluid around with them?

I'm pretty sure if I had it innocently it wouldn't cross my mind to spray it on someone and set them on fire.

stubru59
31-10-2009, 09:21 PM
The guy that was arrested in Kirkclady(the first one) was waering a Hibernian top.

I happily stand corrected if that is the case. I, stone cold sober, did not see anyone wearing football colours arrested. No problems with being told I am wrong, though.

31-10-2009, 09:25 PM
Can someone please remove the casuals from the title that's been added as I did not start the thread like that.

Thank you.

trainspotter
31-10-2009, 09:34 PM
Any conviction in any way related to any Hibs game should result in a lifetime ban from Easter Road - simple as that (before the smart ***** come on of course I'm not talking about things like speeding). If we don't take that approach already then why not?

Anyone know if anyone actually has a lifetime ban from Easter Road?

31-10-2009, 09:46 PM
so if i was wearing a hibs top in the pub and got arrested for assault i should get a lifetime ban from the ground?

Nailrod
31-10-2009, 09:46 PM

I understand Deeks is banned from every club in Edinburgh...

31-10-2009, 09:50 PM
so if i was wearing a hibs top in the pub and got arrested for assault i should get a lifetime ban from the ground?

Thought that myself. Surely only get a ban if in the ground or close vicinity. Who's to say any convicted person actually goes to games anyway.

trainspotter
31-10-2009, 09:53 PM

If its for assaulting an Aberdeen fan, after Hibs have played Aberdeen, then yes.

fife hfc
31-10-2009, 10:34 PM

Sorry to hear that mate, I hope he's okay as he looked out cold. As I said above they are ********s and I could see he had a costum on and could not understand why they would attack him. but the bunch of liberty takers like to bring our club down to the gutter. Hope he gets better soon.

31-10-2009, 10:41 PM
I thought the casuals only fought with like minded folk? Has this now changed to anyone now?:confused:

fife hfc
31-10-2009, 10:47 PM
I thought the casuals only fought with like minded folk? Has this now changed to anyone now?:confused:

I can't say for sure and it is no defence of the casuals, but the fannies I saw did not include any of the well known faces. even though they were singing CCS, they were claiming to be the Baby crew. Just ****ing liberty takers and it makes you sick that they are connected to our club.

31-10-2009, 10:48 PM

Maybe it was a Stone Island 'Banana Man' costume?

31-10-2009, 10:50 PM
I can't say for sure and it is no defence of the casuals, but the fannies I saw did not include any of the well known faces. even though they were singing CCS, they were claiming to be the Baby crew. Just ****ing liberty takers and it makes you sick that they are connected to our club.

blueisthecolour
31-10-2009, 10:57 PM
There's always one or two animals who have to spoil a decent result and day with their idiotic behaviour. They're no Hibs fans.

Funny that, I can imagine the responce I would get if rangers fans where involved in this and I came back with they're not rangers fans, just accept EVERY team has some idiots as fans.

fife hfc
31-10-2009, 11:00 PM
Funny that, I can imagine the responce I would get if rangers fans where involved in this and I came back with they're not rangers fans, just accept EVERY team has some idiots as fans.

Your team just has 50000 of them:take that

Amsterdam
31-10-2009, 11:01 PM

Is that the 'some' who went to Manchester?
Bolt ya radge

31-10-2009, 11:06 PM

Yeah, sorry indeed to hear that then. I saw him stumbling and heard a few folks laughing, followed by someone on the Island in the middle of the traffic lights saying he was "smashed", which I took to mean drunk!

Hope he makes a full recovery and the idiots who jumped him are caught.

It highlights how ******ing stupid these cordons outside the stadium are to be honest. They cut off exit onto Albion Place, and concentrate 90% of the police presence at maintaining this cordon, whilst Aberdeen fans and Hibs fans still meet at Bothwell Place onto Easter Road, with flashpoints occurring all the way back to Waverley.

Forgetting the cordons and patrolling the route with a heavier police presence would prevent these mindless incidents!

glasgow sheep
31-10-2009, 11:07 PM
Sorry to hear that mate, I hope he's okay as he looked out cold. As I said above they are ********s and I could see he had a costum on and could not understand why they would attack him. but the bunch of liberty takers like to bring our club down to the gutter. Hope he gets better soon.

cheers
Mate was checked out at hospital and is ok and back home. He was in a ****ing mess when he got put in the ambulance and I imagine his face is some state now, but thankfully he seems to have avoided any serious injuries

blueisthecolour
31-10-2009, 11:11 PM
Is that the 'some' who went to Manchester?
Bolt ya radge

Setting fire to someone, thats nothing is it:bitchy:

Amsterdam
31-10-2009, 11:12 PM

You still here, whats up, LLoyds shut down your own website?

31-10-2009, 11:13 PM

As opposed to kicking policemen in the head when they're on the ground?

I'm not sticking up for the Hibs fan btw but you could go on all day when you start getting in this.

fife hfc
31-10-2009, 11:14 PM
cheers
Mate was checked out at hospital and is ok and back home. He was in a ****ing mess when he got put in the ambulance and I imagine his face is some state now, but thankfully he seems to have avoided any serious injuries

Good to hear he is okay. I hope they arrest the ********s but to be honest I doubt it. as somebody said earlier loads of police in the vicinity of the ground but I've seen and heard of trouble before in this area and can't understand why there is no police presence.

blueisthecolour
31-10-2009, 11:21 PM
You still here, whats up, LLoyds shut down your own website?

Yeah still here:wink:

31-10-2009, 11:24 PM

People in glass houses...:rolleyes:

MGmick
31-10-2009, 11:24 PM

I've observed but never commented on the tolerance there is of you. If you'd like that tolerance to be maintained I'd advise you to stick to events on the park.

blueisthecolour
31-10-2009, 11:25 PM
As opposed to kicking policemen in the head when they're on the ground?

I'm not sticking up for the Hibs fan btw but you could go on all day when you start getting in this.

Yes we could, trust me there was plenty of trouble on wed night in glasgow when hearts met celtic, there is trouble today hibs and aberdeen, there was trouble a few months ago when thistle played airdrie, my original point on this thread was every team has trouble makers, I wasn't saying hibs had worse than others but because I said this folk are making out im saying rangers don't have this, people need to realise rangers fans are not the only fans with a bad crowd.

blueisthecolour
31-10-2009, 11:26 PM
I've observed but never commented on the tolerance there is of you. If you'd like that tolerance to be maintained I'd advise you to stick to events on the park.

Are you saying I should be posting in this thread then, if so why not?

31-10-2009, 11:27 PM
This thread could turn out to be rather amusing reading when the drunken folk get in from the pub....infact I reckon it will get closed by the time I'm back on in the morning.

Night all :bye:

fife hfc
31-10-2009, 11:28 PM

Never thought I would be sticking up for a hun but what has he done wrong. we are not brokeback, let him have his say and if you don't agree with it well it is his opinion and for once I agree with him:jamboak:

As I said above a fairly large number of aberdeen casuals were surrounded at the top of Calton Road before the game and it look as if violence was planned. Does it really matter if its thousands causing trouble as in Manchester or a handful as today in London Road. I bet the Dons fan is not sitting at home now thinking "ouch well its only a very small minority of hibs fans that are involved" No he will be thinking we are all dicks and I for one do not blame him.

31-10-2009, 11:31 PM

Exactly - I will never take seriously any comment from a hun about crowd behaviour.

fife hfc
31-10-2009, 11:34 PM

Exactly - I will never take seriously any comment from a hun about crowd behaviour.

Why our record is not too hot either.

blueisthecolour
31-10-2009, 11:35 PM

Thats fine, ive no problem with that, but could you point out the part I have said that isn't true about all fans having some bad in their support.

MGmick
31-10-2009, 11:37 PM
Are you saying I should be posting in this thread then, if so why not?

Were you there? I wasn't. What I'm saying is that there are countless examples of in/sub human behavior from your support and plenty from ours. Your or my "not actually there" opinion isn't called for. But at least I have the high ground of actually being a Hibee posting on a Hibee site. You don't.

copycat
31-10-2009, 11:38 PM
[/B]
Yes we could, trust me there was plenty of trouble on wed night in glasgow when hearts met celtic, there is trouble today hibs and aberdeen, there was trouble a few months ago when thistle played airdrie, my original point on this thread was every team has trouble makers, I wasn't saying hibs had worse than others but because I said this folk are making out im saying rangers don't have this, people need to realise rangers fans are not the only fans with a bad crowd.

And I believe it was around 50 rangers fanswho attacked Bairds bar in Glasgow before the hamburg played Celtic, a pub full of innocent football fans. I really, really wouldn't take any morale high ground about your lot

31-10-2009, 11:40 PM
Why our record is not too hot either.

So why do so many fans from every other tream refuse to go to Ibrox. Why do away supporters get kept in there after the game?

A lot of threads that BITC posts on end up getting closed just when we start getting some good debate. This has nothing to do with him imo so he should not get involved as we know where it'll end up.

31-10-2009, 11:42 PM
Thats fine, ive no problem with that, but could you point out the part I have said that isn't true about all fans having some bad in their support.

We all know that, we don't need you coming on here telling us.

blueisthecolour
31-10-2009, 11:45 PM
Were you there? I wasn't. What I'm saying is that there are countless examples of in/sub human behavior from your support and plenty from ours. Your or my "not actually there" opinion isn't called for. But at least I have the high ground of actually being a Hibee posting on a Hibee site. You don't.

I would think about 90% of posters on this thread were not there(at the incident), but im the only one your having a go at for posting, it doesn't matter what team I support, I gave my views im not asking you to agree with them if you don't.

The one thing about this site is, it welcomes views from fans of all teams as long as they follow the rules, which I have always done, so you being a hibs fan doesn't give you more rights to post on here.

MGmick
31-10-2009, 11:47 PM
[QUOTE=fife hfc;2226009]Never thought I would be sticking up for a hun but what has he done wrong. we are not brokeback, let him have his say and if you don't agree with it well it is his opinion and for once I agree with him:jamboak:

The problem I have is that as he wasn't there, and neither was I, we both don't really have a relevant point to make on the event. Moving on a little further, while I'd happily talk about football with him, and I've noticed that he is quite fair with his observations about things on the park, the very thought of being taken to task about the behavior of a football support by any ***** hun gives me the driest of dry bokes.

blueisthecolour
31-10-2009, 11:47 PM
And I believe it was around 50 rangers fanswho attacked Bairds bar in Glasgow before the hamburg played Celtic, a pub full of innocent football fans. I really, really wouldn't take any morale high ground about your lot

Where have I taken the morale high ground?, If you read my post I accept rangers have a bad element in our support.

McIntosh
31-10-2009, 11:49 PM
Any conviction in any way related to any Hibs game should result in a lifetime ban from Easter Road - simple as that (before the smart ***** come on of course I'm not talking about things like speeding). If we don't take that approach already then why not?

Well said, zero tolerance for these a***holes, they just bring shame on this great club. In respect to the two incidents today - there is just no need, I hope both of these people are OK and make a full recovery.

Yes, I do my cousin's son, totally deserved - banned for racist remarks. Ironically, my wife is black!

blueisthecolour
31-10-2009, 11:49 PM
We all know that, we don't need you coming on here telling us.

If I hadn't admitted to being a rangers fan from the start, you would not think anything about what I have posted.

McIntosh
31-10-2009, 11:56 PM

Sadly, it appears so. In my mind the casuals have always being lower than vermin, it a pity, these 'heroes' can't do any real fighting - I don't see many of them in Afghanistan.

MGmick
31-10-2009, 11:57 PM
If I hadn't admitted to being a rangers fan from the start, you would not think anything about what I have posted.

Yes but to your credit you did and to your detriment you'll be judged. I don't know you (unless you're Davey Simpson) but I'm pretty sure we'd get on fine socially. Football wise, apart from the obvious, I have liked what you've said in the main. But you are part of a group who are a million miles away from being allowed to judge us.

31-10-2009, 11:59 PM
Yeah still here:wink:
Perhaps u shud disappear from our site and post on ur own teams forums. Yes teams have a v small minority of fans that are idiots however the OF teams have alot more idiots! Please go away and worry about utd thumping u on sunday!

01-11-2009, 12:01 AM
If I hadn't admitted to being a rangers fan from the start, you would not think anything about what I have posted.You are becoming rather tiresome though ..:yawn:

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 12:06 AM

Your substantive point is the valid one - all teams have 'bad' elements. Your critics are conspicuously ignoring it because they are unwilling or unable to provide remedy. The challenge for all of Scottish football is to stamp this and other nonsense out.

As for your posts always honest and fair, a pleasure to read them.

01-11-2009, 12:08 AM

But you are and that's the problem

Yet again you have got involved in a thread and the original point of it has been lost. So you haven't broken ay rules but because of what you are IMO your presence is to the detriment of this site.

I don't want you to reply to this just stick to on the pitch topics please

01-11-2009, 12:28 AM
I apologise to the Aberdeen fan on behalf of all decent Hibs fans for what he had done to him. I work for the railway and saw casuals being searched before the game and dreaded what might result after it, it's pretty tragic if folk can't go to watch their team at ER without getting serious injuries :bitchy:

GieTheBaTaeReilly
01-11-2009, 12:35 AM

But you are and that's the problem

Yet again you have got involved in a thread and the original point of it has been lost. So you haven't broken ay rules but because of what you are IMO your presence is to the detriment of this site.

I don't want you to reply to this just stick to on the pitch topics please

Looks like you are taking it seriously, maybe a bit too seriously?

01-11-2009, 12:44 AM
Looks like you are taking it seriously, maybe a bit too seriously?

This thread wasn't meant to be about me or BITC - that's what I take seriously, not the ramblings of some random bluenose who has nothing better to do than troll a hibs messageboard :yawn:

01-11-2009, 06:55 AM
That was ****ing brutal.

I got a text from a mate who knows a Sheep fan on that same train - not the guy that got set alight, but still.

What absolute filth!!

01-11-2009, 07:11 AM
This thread wasn't meant to be about me or BITC - that's what I take seriously, not the ramblings of some random bluenose who has nothing better to do than troll a hibs messageboard :yawn:

Nah, stop hounding the hun. Blueisthecolourofmynose has made a good effort on this site to be reasonable, sometimes in the face of a fair amount of random abuse. A hun trying to be reasonable is not something most of us come across every day - in fact I'm not sure I've ever come across it in real life - so caw aff the dugs, imo.

01-11-2009, 08:55 AM
Football fans blamed after firework stalls train for hours
Train chaos as man set on fire

By Paul Reoch

PASSENGERS on a train travelling from Edinburgh to Aberdeen last night described seeing “something like a horror movie” when a burning man ran past them.

As a result of his injuries, the 24-year-old was taken to the Accident and Emergency unit at Victoria Hospital in Kirkcaldy, where he is being treated for serious burns to his legs and arms.

The man, who was in fancy dress at the time, dressed as a sheep, was believed to be among a group of Aberdeen FC supporters travelling back from the capital following their 2-0 defeat to Hibernian FC.

It’s understood the incident was the result of a prank involving a firework.

A couple from Dundee were travelling back from Edinburgh and saw the man run past them.

The woman said, “It was frightening. Everyone was looking at him — just absolutely stunned that he was on fire.”

Horror

A woman from Stonehaven commented, “This was like a scene from a horror movie.

“We were in the same coach as him and he was trying to hold on to anyone near him.

“He was dressed as a sheep and his whole costume was on fire.”

A spokesperson for NHS Fife confirmed that the man was being treated for serious burns at Victoria Hospital in Kirkcaldy.

A woman from Markinch said rail crew were asking passengers if they had first-aid experience.

“I was told he had been playing a prank with a firework and had been accidentally set on fire,” she said.

The Cross Country Edinburgh to Aberdeen train stopped at Kirkcaldy Railway Station to allow ambulance staff to take the man to hospital and British Transport Police to carry out investigations.

Fire-hit

The incident caused chaos on the main east coast line.

Passengers on the National Express London to Aberdeen train, which left Edinburgh at 18.32, were forced to wait just outside Kirkcaldy for two hours before being allowed to continue their journey.

When it eventually reached Kirkcaldy, passengers who’d been on the fire-hit train were picked up.

Scores of passengers had been forced to wait at Kirkcaldy Station while police inquiries took place.

Amongst them were a group of around 30 Aberdeen FC supporters, many of whom declined to comment on the incident.

There were a large number of Aberdeen fans in fancy dress at the Easter Road match.

Many, celebrating Hallowe’en, were dressed as sheep.

British Transport Police are investigating the incident and a spokesman said two people had been detained as a result of their inquiries.

01-11-2009, 09:06 AM
Just been on the radio. Sounded funny as **** but it seems like the guy is quite badly burned.

Hope he recovers ok.

Gala Foxes
01-11-2009, 09:10 AM
they all looked pretty pissed up at the game, showed up when they went radio rental at Stack after 1st goal

that said hope the guy is okay

01-11-2009, 09:18 AM
I was standing outside the Hibs Club, when the group dressed as sheep attempted to get in, without success. I'm sure I saw a guy dressed as a banana as well. :greengrin

scotty1875
01-11-2009, 09:19 AM
What a rocket! :fuming:

Hope the guy isn't baaaaadly injured.

01-11-2009, 09:26 AM

An article on another thread seems to be saying it was a firework accident.

Do you want to retract :cool2:

Si_17
01-11-2009, 09:37 AM
What sort of fud lights a firework on a train?

01-11-2009, 09:45 AM

The first post is the one that BITC replied to and started a full page argument with other posters.

In my opinion BITC has read hibs-2005 post wrong. I don't think hibs-2005 was denying they were Hibs fans, ie they were fans of another team or not football fans at all, I think he meant they are the lowest of the low and shouldn't have the gall to call themselves Hibs fans for the way the carry on.

Of course, I may be wrong too and the only person who can confirm this is hibs-2005 him/herself.

01-11-2009, 09:48 AM
What sort of fud lights a firework on a train?

Im sure it was a lighter but ach well.

01-11-2009, 09:53 AM

Maybe using the lighter to start the firework:dunno:

Reg Reagan
01-11-2009, 09:53 AM
I couldnt read half the posts of their boards - do they speak and type gaelic or what?

i totally agree de-v8.loved the way they type with local accent.........................fit like yer cawnles.ye got jam awa.

Si_17
01-11-2009, 09:56 AM

I wasn't there. I'm just going by the fine reporting from what appears to be the Sunday Mail.:yawn:

Maybe using the lighter to start the firework:dunno:

Didnae see any firework.
I wonder if the police got the accused's friend? Anybody know? They were looking for him on the train

i totally agree de-v8.loved the way they type with local accent.........................fit like yer cawnles.ye got jam awa.

Have a look at the Sunderland football forum, 'Ready To Go'. Now most of that is double dutch!!:confused:

Gus Fring
01-11-2009, 10:03 AM
So from what i can read it seems it wasnt hooligan related at all then?

I noticed there was an increased number of people who looked, shall we say "dodgy" in the south home side (Scars on the face, tattoos on the neck etc).

Coupled with seeing 2 large groups of about 15-20 people being questioned by police before the game on london road I thought about leaving halfway through the second half to avoid any trouble but ultimately stayed.

There was a few fans who seemed more than anxious to get out the south early, arguing with the police at the exit and then the stewards at the gate.

I've only been going to games in the last few years and have never taken any interest in that side of things to even know what its about. But one things for sure, its defo postponed any plans i had to take my laddie to any games soon.

01-11-2009, 10:08 AM

I noticed there was an increased number of people who looked, shall we say "dodgy" in the south home side (Scars on the face, tattoos on the neck etc).

Coupled with seeing 2 large groups of about 15-20 people being questioned by police before the game on london road I thought about leaving halfway through the second half to avoid any trouble but ultimately stayed.

There was a few fans who seemed more than anxious to get out the south early, arguing with the police at the exit and then the stewards at the gate.

I've only been going to games in the last few years and have never taken any interest in that side of things to even know what its about. But one things for sure, its defo postponed any plans i had to take my laddie to any games soon.

The strange thing they will say though, is they are actually there to protect the likes of you and me. :confused:

01-11-2009, 10:18 AM
I work for the railway as a trainee driver. That incident could have been a whole lot worse. If the incident happened before Kirkcaldy then the driver needs alot of credit.

fife hfc
01-11-2009, 10:20 AM
I work for the railway as a trainee driver. That incident could have been a whole lot worse. If the incident happened before Kirkcaldy then the driver needs alot of credit.

I am not being cheeky or anything like that but why? is because of the bridge? just a question.

01-11-2009, 10:23 AM

It happened at Inverkeithing.

01-11-2009, 10:30 AM
Genuinely hope the guy is OK and makes a full recovery as soon as.

reading between the lines here, it sounds the complete oppposite of any casual type trouble, more like a stupid, ill-concieved act that could easily have ended in a tragic result.

The Hibby will get heavily dealt with in court due to the disruption caused and the severity of the injuries and so he should.

Such incidents will only make things worse for the future - who is to say you, me or our kids aren't the next ones innocently caught up in the retribution up there?

01-11-2009, 10:31 AM
I am not being cheeky or anything like that but why? is because of the bridge? just a question.

No it's cool.

Because if you get a report of a fire your ment to stop immediatly in the safeist place. Then you have the process of having to go through proceedures before you then check the status of the situation. For a person that's on fire that's alot of time wasted. The train staff have used alot of commensense and team work to get the train to Kirkcaldy.

But of course we don't know how/when/where it happened

01-11-2009, 10:33 AM
It happened at Inverkeithing.

Well that throws everything I said in my other post out the window. Lol

So a guy caught fire but still went to Kirkcaldy?? That don't make sence

hibees74
01-11-2009, 10:35 AM
I have not posted for a long time but I feel I need to show my disgust at what I read on the bbc website about this incident. I for one hope the people involved in this will be harshly delt with . I would like hibs to show there disgust and for all hibs fans to show that we dont tolorate this behavour .

01-11-2009, 10:40 AM
Well that throws everything I said in my other post out the window. Lol

So a guy caught fire but still went to Kirkcaldy?? That don't make sence

Nearest hospital?

01-11-2009, 10:43 AM
I have not posted for a long time but I feel I need to show my disgust at what I read on the bbc website about this incident. I for one hope the people involved in this will be harshly delt with . I would like hibs to show there disgust and for all hibs fans to show that we dont tolorate this behavour .

eh?

your surely having a laugh??

You actually want Hibernian FC to officially comment on a person on fire on a train at Kirckcaldy??????

Beggars belief!!!

hibees74
01-11-2009, 10:59 AM
eh?

your surely having a laugh??

You actually want Hibernian FC to officially comment on a person on fire on a train at Kirckcaldy??????

Beggars belief!!!

If it was the result of a hibs fan who did it then yes but reading more into this story we are not sure if it was a hibs fan so I was maybe a little hasty . I was just very shocked .

01-11-2009, 11:05 AM

:yawn:

01-11-2009, 11:10 AM
Nearest hospital?

Inverkeithing would have been fine. You have dunfy queen margaret

01-11-2009, 11:16 AM
Its just been reported that the fan is in a serious condition, on the noon news on Radio 4. One of the first times Ive heard Hibs mentioned on Radio 4, and its in relation to setting an opposition fan alight:bitchy:

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 11:23 AM

He doesn't need to retract anything - sadly, that is what took place.

We should never look at the behaviour of Hibs fans through green tinted glasses. This person who with malicious and aforethought committed this reprehensible act is an apology for a human-being and should be given a custodial sentence if found guilty.

01-11-2009, 11:23 AM
Its just been reported that the fan is in a serious condition, on the noon news on Radio 4. One of the first times Ive heard Hibs mentioned on Radio 4, and its in relation to setting an opposition fan alight:bitchy:

Nothing to do with Hibs.

01-11-2009, 11:29 AM

I saw the boy lying on the street and I did not see any trouble at that point, normally if there has been a fight then you see the remnants of it, saw many peiople including Hibs fans trying to help him.............

01-11-2009, 11:32 AM

I like it. Keep Doric and Scots alive!!

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 11:41 AM
Nothing to do with Hibs.

No - it has everything to do with this club. This great club stands for things as do it fans and one of these central values is common decency. The "nothing to do with me" argument apart from being naive and childish allows all sort of wickedness to take place through sheer indifference. For us the choice is condemn or condone - I choice to condemn this appalling behaviour.

01-11-2009, 11:44 AM
He doesn't need to retract anything - sadly, that is what took place.

We should never look at the behaviour of Hibs fans through green tinted glasses. This person who with malicious and aforethought committed this reprehensible act are an apology for a human-being and should be given a custodial sentence if found guilty.

Are you 100% sure it was a Hibs fan?

I was referring the poster to another thread which had shed some light on the subject of it being a Firework accident.

If it was a Hibs fan then I'm sure the authorities will let us know in the fullness of time.

Green tinted glasses not used here

Jamie
01-11-2009, 11:44 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/8336485.stm :(

01-11-2009, 11:55 AM
Shocking, a life could have been lost or destroyed I hope he's okay

01-11-2009, 12:00 PM
Yeah, sorry indeed to hear that then. I saw him stumbling and heard a few folks laughing, followed by someone on the Island in the middle of the traffic lights saying he was "smashed", which I took to mean drunk!

Hope he makes a full recovery and the idiots who jumped him are caught.

It highlights how ******ing stupid these cordons outside the stadium are to be honest. They cut off exit onto Albion Place, and concentrate 90% of the police presence at maintaining this cordon, whilst Aberdeen fans and Hibs fans still meet at Bothwell Place onto Easter Road, with flashpoints occurring all the way back to Waverley.

Forgetting the cordons and patrolling the route with a heavier police presence would prevent these mindless incidents!

You're right. We came out of the west to find the cordon in place - we couldn't go left towards Easter Road. I'd parked the car opposite Abbeyhill Baptist Church, so we were a bit miffed at having to either wait around for an unspecified length of time - polis never tell the punters anything useful, do they? - or doing what we eventually did, which was go round to Easter Road by the cemetery.

When we reached Easter Road we walked straight into a crowd of Dons fans, some in fancy dress, others not. No trouble ensued, but I have to say that there were very few police in evidence anywhere in Easter Road that I could see.

There seems to be an increasingly violent element attaching itself to football again which is worrying. We want to increase gates and attract families and younger supporters; this will not happoen if parents are made fearful for their children's safety. And after yesterday, I can imagine that next time Aberdeen come to ER (sometime in April?) a number of their fans will stay away (probably all the sort of folks we'd like to encourage) and those who do come will be more likely to be looking for trouble. Pittodrie in the New Year could be nasty, too.

01-11-2009, 12:05 PM

It's also the top read story on the BBC.

01-11-2009, 12:11 PM

And no mention in the report that it is a Hibs fan who allegedly set him alight

01-11-2009, 12:11 PM

The moron could have set the whole carriage alight.

01-11-2009, 12:20 PM
And no mention in the report that it is a Hibs fan who allegedly set him alight

:agree:.

....if there's a murder up town tonight and the killer is wearing a NY Yankees T-shirt on, would we be expecting them to make a statement?

01-11-2009, 12:32 PM
I wouldn't expect Hibs to make a statement on it. The police are more appropriate.

It's good that it has not been highlighted on BBC that the supporter is meant to be a Hibs fan but that doesn't mean it wasn't. Eye witness reports on here say that a Hibs fan was arrested on the train which would indicate there is some relevance to a Hibs fan.

Also, I don't really buy this firework story. Seems a little strange unless it was a sparkler or something along those lines.

01-11-2009, 12:37 PM
No - it has everything to do with this club. This great club stands for things as do it fans and one of these central values is common decency. The "nothing to do with me" argument apart from being naive and childish allows all sort of wickedness to take place through sheer indifference. For us the choice is condemn or condone - I choice to condemn this appalling behaviour.

If it was a Hibs fan, it doesn't mean it was anything to do with Hibs as in the club.

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 12:39 PM
Are you 100% sure it was a Hibs fan?

I was referring the poster to another thread which had shed some light on the subject of it being a Firework accident.

If it was a Hibs fan then I'm sure the authorities will let us know in the fullness of time.

Green tinted glasses not used here

I can't state that this person is '100%' anything as it appears that the accussed is not '100%' sane or ' 100%' human. However, I can say their actions were '100%' wrong.

You were commenting on blueisthecolour comment that “Setting fire to someone, thats nothing is it” and then you asked them for a retraction. Well he didn’t need to retract anything he was observing a fact.

Good to read that you don't use green tinted glasses many here could follow your example.

01-11-2009, 12:41 PM
Also, I don't really buy this firework story. Seems a little strange unless it was a sparkler or something along those lines.

more likely scenario would be (IMHO) the guy has been standing in the aisle chatting to his mates and the arrested bloke has messed around with a lighter while sitting behind him. It may have been silly tomfoolery and the fabric in the costume has been highly flammable, catching them all unawares.

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 12:46 PM
If it was a Hibs fan, it doesn't mean it was anything to do with Hibs as in the club.

If you define the club in a singularity as opposed to a collective you would have a valid point. However, we all have a collective responsibility and ‘ownership’ of this great club. The substantive point remains that we as supporters have a duty to condemn this type of behaviour and to maintain the wider principles that this club stands for and was founded upon.

Jay
01-11-2009, 12:55 PM
[/B]

Nobody on here has ever said Rangers are the only club to have some erses as fans. its stated on here many a time that we have a bad element as have Aberdeen and most clubs. Pre season there was a thread about the trouble. I agree with Arab in that you misunderstood the post you originally quoted. I dont think he meant they were not Hibs fans as we couldn't possibly have any baduns -I think he meant that they are not any type of football fan and certainly have no loyalty to our club when they do things like this to blacken the name of Hibernian.

As for the guys who have been hurt I hope they both recover fully whatever happened as I dont think we will ever fully know the truth. what a horrific thing to happen to that guy on the train. There were 3 of them in Burger King at the station dressed as sheep when we were there and they certainly werent drunk or causing any trouble. Dont know if it was them involved though.

01-11-2009, 12:57 PM
If you define the club in a singularity as opposed to a collective you would have a valid point. However, we all have a collective responsibility and ‘ownership’ of this great club. The substantive point remains that we as supporters have a duty to condemn this type of behaviour and to maintain the wider principles that this club stands for and was founded upon.

Are you at the wind up:confused:

01-11-2009, 12:59 PM

The incident was nothing to do with me or my club so I don't have any duty to condemn this type of behaviour. I wish the guy a speedy recovery but the point is it is nothing to do with Hibs.

01-11-2009, 01:02 PM
I remember seeing the people dressed as sheep during the game, pretty awful and disturbing thinking one of them was soon after set on fire.

Is it just me or is fighting after matches getting more serious in football over the last few months.

First the West Ham v Millwall match then, on Wednesday 2 of my mates were at the Hearts game and about 30 Celtic casuals charged at the group of fans they were walking to their bus with. Now yesterday aswell

01-11-2009, 01:04 PM
This was his throwaway comment without knowing the full facts of the story. Not needed imo

Football fans blamed after firework stalls train for hours
Train chaos as man set on fire

By Paul Reoch

PASSENGERS on a train travelling from Edinburgh to Aberdeen last night described seeing “something like a horror movie” when a burning man ran past them.

As a result of his injuries, the 24-year-old was taken to the Accident and Emergency unit at Victoria Hospital in Kirkcaldy, where he is being treated for serious burns to his legs and arms.

The man, who was in fancy dress at the time, dressed as a sheep, was believed to be among a group of Aberdeen FC supporters travelling back from the capital following their 2-0 defeat to Hibernian FC.

It’s understood the incident was the result of a prank involving a firework.

A couple from Dundee were travelling back from Edinburgh and saw the man run past them.

The woman said, “It was frightening. Everyone was looking at him — just absolutely stunned that he was on fire.”

Horror

A woman from Stonehaven commented, “This was like a scene from a horror movie.

“We were in the same coach as him and he was trying to hold on to anyone near him.

“He was dressed as a sheep and his whole costume was on fire.”

A spokesperson for NHS Fife confirmed that the man was being treated for serious burns at Victoria Hospital in Kirkcaldy.

A woman from Markinch said rail crew were asking passengers if they had first-aid experience.

“I was told he had been playing a prank with a firework and had been accidentally set on fire,” she said.

The Cross Country Edinburgh to Aberdeen train stopped at Kirkcaldy Railway Station to allow ambulance staff to take the man to hospital and British Transport Police to carry out investigations.

Fire-hit

The incident caused chaos on the main east coast line.

Passengers on the National Express London to Aberdeen train, which left Edinburgh at 18.32, were forced to wait just outside Kirkcaldy for two hours before being allowed to continue their journey.

When it eventually reached Kirkcaldy, passengers who’d been on the fire-hit train were picked up.

Scores of passengers had been forced to wait at Kirkcaldy Station while police inquiries took place.

Amongst them were a group of around 30 Aberdeen FC supporters, many of whom declined to comment on the incident.

There were a large number of Aberdeen fans in fancy dress at the Easter Road match.

Many, celebrating Hallowe’en, were dressed as sheep.

British Transport Police are investigating the incident and a spokesman said two people had been detained as a result of their inquiries.
This was the article which appeared on the other thread which I pointed him to and asked him if he wanted to retract

An article on another thread seems to be saying it was a firework accident.

I can't state that this person is '100%' anything as it appears that the accussed is not '100%' sane or ' 100%' human. However, I can say their actions were '100%' wrong.

You were commenting on blueisthecolour comment that “Setting fire to someone, thats nothing is it” and then you asked them for a retraction. Well he didn’t need to retract anything he was observing a fact.

Good to read that you don't use green tinted glasses many here could follow your example.

He wasn't observing a fact as you say, as he didn't know the full story at the time of posting, and still doesn't

So you don't know if it was a Hibs fan who set him alight or it was the lighting of a firework.

I think we should all await the full outcome of the investigation before tarring any individual or club.

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 01:18 PM
Are you at the wind up:confused:

Far from it - when needless and horrible events occur, as took place yesterday, we as human being should be condemning it and not tolerating it - simple as....

01-11-2009, 01:22 PM
This incident on the train appears to me, only through what i have read to have been a prank that has gone seriously wrong, i hope i'm not wrong? The incident in London road is clearly just thuggery, and i hope they catch them.

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 01:26 PM
The incident was nothing to do with me or my club so I don't have any duty to condemn this type of behaviour. I wish the guy a speedy recovery but the point is it is nothing to do with Hibs.

Thats what the Germans said in 1933 - I repeat we have as human beings have a duty to condemn this kind of behaviour.

I hope the 'club' condemn these actions, as I am sure they will, then 'followers' like your goodself will find voice.

01-11-2009, 01:29 PM
Cannae be true.
Casuals only fight each other in pre-arranged paggers:wink:

They're not casuals. They're pricks :agree:

01-11-2009, 01:33 PM
Thats what the Germans said in 1933 - I repeat we have as human beings have a duty to condemn this kind of behaviour.

I hope the 'club' condemn these actions, as I am sure they will, then 'followers' like your goodself will find voice.

Sorry to disappoint you but I'm not German and I wasn't around in 1933. I don't have ANY duty to condemn anything. How do we?

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 01:35 PM
He wasn't observing a fact as you say, as he didn't know the full story at the time of posting, and still doesn't

So you don't know if it was a Hibs fan who set him alight or it was the lighting of a firework.

I think we should all await the full outcome of the investigation before tarring any individual or club.

The 'fact' is someone was seriously burnt - full stop. Regardless of the circumstances this is shocking. That the alleged perpetrator was someone associated with this club, as a so called 'supporter' is equally shocking.

I am heartened that many here have condemned this behaviour and have wished the victim a full recovery.

Minder
01-11-2009, 01:46 PM
What is the fine for smoking on a train these days?:smokin

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 01:48 PM
Sorry to disappoint you but I'm not German and I wasn't around in 1933. I don't have ANY duty to condemn anything. How do we?

Well, I have not lectured for a very long time but as you have asked, I will. I am also not going to patronise you though your comments do merit it.

To answer your question I give you a quote and a clip - they will hopefully answer your question. The quote is from Edmund Burke, "all that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing". The clip shows you what happens when they don't:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TezG916GDbc&feature=related

01-11-2009, 01:51 PM

If this is true it is certainly no laughing matter and we should not be sticking our heads in the sand about it. I've heard all the history about the casuals etc and maybe it isn't all black and white - but one thing I'm certain about is I don't want the sort of psychotic **** that would attempt to set someone on fire associated with our football club.
This person/these people need to be tracked down and locked up for A VERY LONG TIME imo.

MUSSI LEE
01-11-2009, 01:55 PM
They're not casuals. They're pricks :agree:
i heard it was hibs scarfers at london rd you must class them as pricks as well :boo hoo:

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 02:03 PM
i heard it was hibs scarfers at london rd you must class them as pricks as well :boo hoo:

If so called 'fans' are doing this they are! Zero tolerance to this kind of behaviour.

01-11-2009, 02:08 PM
What is the fine for smoking on a train these days?:smokin

never mind the train, i think some people on here are smoking illegal substances :smokin

MUSSI LEE
01-11-2009, 02:10 PM
If so called 'fans' are doing this they are! Zero tolerance to this kind of behaviour.i dont think the dons fans are as innocent as made out i seen a hibs scarfer with a cut eye hit with a bottle :agree: so lets not just blame hibs fans :grr:

01-11-2009, 02:11 PM
Well, I have not lectured for a very long time but as you have asked, I will. I am also not going to patronise you though your comments do merit it.

To answer your question I give you a quote and a clip - they will hopefully answer your question. The quote is from Edmund Burke, "all that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing". The clip shows you what happens when they don't:

Pretty hard hitting clip.

I never knew that the American's made the citizens do that.

01-11-2009, 02:13 PM

Yup.

archiebald
01-11-2009, 02:16 PM
Both sets of fans are guilty and you know it :agree:

01-11-2009, 02:17 PM
I wasn't planning to anyway but I'd be thinking twice about Pittodrie on 19 December now - if it is proven Hibs fans were involved in this then I'd hate for there to start to be tit-for-tat incidents.

01-11-2009, 02:18 PM
Both sets of fans are guilty and you know it :agree:

Of? And which one of us is "you"?

Hibby D
01-11-2009, 02:19 PM

I agree 100% :agree:

Don't you have a moral duty to condemn immoral acts? :confused:

01-11-2009, 02:22 PM
Don't you have a moral duty to condemn immoral acts? :confused:

Ohhhh, D, that's worth a 10 pager on its own. :greengrin Who defines morality? Why are some decent people's moralities different from those of other decent people? Indeed, why is my morality much more moral than yours ? :wink:

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 02:23 PM
i dont think the dons fans are as innocent as made out i seen a hibs scarfer with a cut eye hit with a bottle :agree: so lets not just blame hibs fans :grr:

Zero tolerance means zero tolerance regardless of who is the perpetrators. However, we do need to put our house in order, particularly in relations to casuals, babycrew etc.

01-11-2009, 02:24 PM
Just been on the radio. Sounded funny as **** but it seems like the guy is quite badly burned.

Hope he recovers ok.

:bitchy: Afraid I canny share your sense of humour - absolutely F-all funny about it - the name of Hibs is being dragged through the gutter and several football fans who actually DO have a sense of humour have ended up in hospital for their efforts.
What would be funny is if they brought back flogging for the benefit these so called "heroes" that think it's funny to kick some guy in fancy dress in the head while on the ground.
These **** make me sick and it turns my stomach to be associated with them :sick:

01-11-2009, 02:25 PM
Amid all the indignation and blame on here, where has it been suggested that this fire incident was either an intentional act or involved Hibs fans? Can't see anything in any of reports.

01-11-2009, 02:28 PM

Even this one post shows starkly that these **** are MATERIALY HURTING Hibernain FC.

01-11-2009, 02:30 PM
Amid all the indignation and blame on here, where has it been suggested that this fire incident was either an intentional act or involved Hibs fans? Can't see anything in any of reports.

There's eye witness reports on this thread of a Hibs fan being arrested along with another person.

We'll need to wait and see but it would seem that a Hibs fan was involved to some extent.

Also, the news could be taking the approach that it was non-football violence related, an isolated incident and therefore be irrelevant what the guy was wearing / who he supports. However, a Hibs fan setting an Aberdeen fan on fire is still bad for the image of the club when it occurs in the immediate aftermath of the game.

01-11-2009, 02:32 PM
To me, the incident on London road was the really bad one, it shows real callousness and brutality. The train incident may just be due to crass stupidity for which the perpetrator will pay dearly.

01-11-2009, 02:33 PM
Genuinely hope the guy is OK and makes a full recovery as soon as.

reading between the lines here, it sounds the complete oppposite of any casual type trouble, more like a stupid, ill-concieved act that could easily have ended in a tragic result.

The Hibby will get heavily dealt with in court due to the disruption caused and the severity of the injuries and so he should.

Such incidents will only make things worse for the future - who is to say you, me or our kids aren't the next ones innocently caught up in the retribution up there?

UTTER TRIPE IMO - just how precisely does lighting and throwing a firework on a crowded train NOT sound like an act of hooliganism???
Certainly this could have been pre-meditated and if it's proven to be so then the perpitrator should go to jail IMO.

01-11-2009, 02:37 PM
Nothing to do with Hibs.

:ostrich::asshole::bye:

Hibby D
01-11-2009, 02:38 PM
Ohhhh, D, that's worth a 10 pager on its own. :greengrin Who defines morality? Why are some decent people's moralities different from those of other decent people? Indeed, why is my morality much more moral than yours ? :wink:

In the main, the society we live in defines morality, and as individuals we benchmark ourselves around what is socially acceptable (and legal/illegal). Physically harming another human being is legally unacceptable and as such most of us grow to believe it is morally unacceptable.

Your morality is so much greater than mine in many respects GGG :agree: (which is why I aspire to be like you when I grow up :greengrin) but I've never really questioned why! I guess that question, and it's answers, would in itself stretch to more than 10 pages :greengrin

01-11-2009, 02:38 PM
:ostrich::asshole::bye:

01-11-2009, 02:41 PM

I find this incredible, we have a story where very few details are actually confirmed. You somehow see fit to compare this to the holocaust and suggest we all have some moral obligation to make our views known. What has this got to do with Hibs or 99% of the posters on here? What condescending nonsense.

You must be winding us up, in which case, well done for getting me to bite.

PeeKay
01-11-2009, 02:48 PM
I find this incredible, we have a story where very few details are actually confirmed. You somehow see fit to compare this to the holocaust and suggest we all have some moral obligation to make our views known. What has this got to do with Hibs or 99% of the posters on here? What condescending nonsense.

Can anyone please point me towards any official reporting of this terrible incident that states this was football-related violence between opposing fans? Usually the media are only too quick to brand us all as mindless thugs so I am would be surprised that they didn't take the opportunity if there was even the merest hint that it was so.

Hibby D
01-11-2009, 02:51 PM

He's not comparing the incident to the holocaust. He's using the holocaust as an example (albeit an extreme one) of what can happen if the vast majority of us choose to do nothing in relation to the minority who insist on dragging our clubs name through the gutter.

Whether any of the details posted so far are accurate or not, he does have a point. There is still a small element of the Hibs support who get their jollies from fighting on match days and who care not a jot about this clubs reputation. That same behaviour stopped me attending matches 20 years ago and if it's not stopped now it will ultimately hurt our club where it least needs it - at the gates :agree:

01-11-2009, 02:56 PM

It's a fact that we are all effectively ambassadors for the team we support - both individually and collectively. If opposition fans coming to visit ER are assauted and hospitalised by thugs who follow Hibs then unfortunately our whole club is tarred with their sheighty stick. If you don't want to acknowledge that then IMO you have your head stuck up your own ass (figuratively speaking of course :greengrin).

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 03:00 PM

Far from it - I answered a wider question concerning obligation. In respect to the incident we do have a choice - condemn or condone, there is nothing condescending in this.

01-11-2009, 03:00 PM
He's not comparing the incident to the holocaust. He's using the holocaust as an example (albeit an extreme one) of what can happen if the vast majority of us choose to do nothing in relation to the minority who insist on dragging our clubs name through the gutter.

Whether any of the details posted so far are accurate or not, he does have a point. There is still a small element of the Hibs support who get their jollies from fighting on match days and who care not a jot about this clubs reputation. That same behaviour stopped me attending matches 20 years ago and if it's not stopped now it will ultimately hurt our club where it least needs it - at the gates :agree:

Fair point - I worded that poorly. My point is that the example is misplaced in the extreme and is patronising drivel.

That element of the support can do what they want. I'm not compelled to condemn them and certainly don't need to be preached to by "McIntosh". More importantly, this subject may have very little relevance to the original story and is all speculation.

01-11-2009, 03:01 PM
It's a fact that we are all effectively ambassadors for the team we support - both individually and collectively. If opposition fans coming to visit ER are assauted and hospitalised by thugs who follow Hibs then unfortunately our whole club is tarred with their sheighty stick. If you don't want to acknowledge that then IMO you have your head stuck up your own ass (figuratively speaking of course :greengrin).

I can assure your my head is nowhere near my ass. Of course what happened was wrong but sitting typing on an internet message board saying that isn't exactly going to stop it. The thugs/hooligans/casuals won't stop it because some random said so. I think everyone obviously agrees it was wrong but 65 odd pages of people saying 'thugs' or whatever isn't really helping things is it?

andrew70
01-11-2009, 03:14 PM
I wasn't planning to anyway but I'd be thinking twice about Pittodrie on 19 December now - if it is proven Hibs fans were involved in this then I'd hate for there to start to be tit-for-tat incidents.

I am now thinking this as well. I've booked train tickets to go but unfortunately the usual suspects I travel with are unable to go to the game and was just going to make the trip on my own. Worried about this now!! Dont think it'll be a great idea to go up there on my own,now??

EH6 Hibby
01-11-2009, 03:19 PM

Can anyone please point me towards any official reporting of this terrible incident that states this was football-related violence between opposing fans? Usually the media are only too quick to brand us all as mindless thugs so I am would be surprised that they didn't take the opportunity if there was even the merest hint that it was so.

I have no idea if the train incident was football related or not, but I would be very surprised if any media reports come out and say that it was, for the one simple reason that it will lead to what many people on this thread are already afraid of, and that is revenge attacks.

Hanny
01-11-2009, 04:04 PM
Fan dressed as sheep set alight (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/8336485.stm)

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 04:36 PM
That element of the support can do what they want.

Well Tyler, the point you are ignoring is the problem of violence which emerged yesterday and by all accounts is becoming an issue at ER.

As to your wording what do you mean by this?

Ps You do have an interesting choice of name, a central character from Fight Club.

01-11-2009, 04:36 PM
I can assure your my head is nowhere near my ass. Of course what happened was wrong but sitting typing on an internet message board saying that isn't exactly going to stop it. The thugs/hooligans/casuals won't stop it because some random said so. I think everyone obviously agrees it was wrong but 65 odd pages of people saying 'thugs' or whatever isn't really helping things is it?

I responded to your post stating "nothing to do with Hibs" with regard to the sheep on fire incident. Now, while on the face of it you are correct in that no employee of the club was (presumably) involved, my point is that ALL of the customers of the club - ie. supporters, whether that be scarfers or casuals or whatever, have got plenty to do with Hibs - Hibs are the reason for them being there on the way to the game or back and are also in some twisted way part of the raison d'etre of the pricks who decided to set upon punters dressed as sheep and bananas in London Rd.
They are there because Hibs are there and if they act like **** then it DOES reflect badly on the club - ergo it has PLENTY to do with Hibs.

01-11-2009, 04:37 PM
I apologise to the Aberdeen fan on behalf of all decent Hibs fans for what he had done to him. I work for the railway and saw casuals being searched before the game and dreaded what might result after it, it's pretty tragic if folk can't go to watch their team at ER without getting serious injuries :bitchy:

not disagreeing with you but the polis were searching and videoing almost everyone coming from over the bridge my mate(dons fan fae Cowdungbeef) came across with a group of guys and were pushed up against a wall and searched,pictured and followed to the pub, when they came off the train,***sake it was guys aroond 50 yr old, some police intelligence:bitchy:
would just like to add I hope the boy who was burned on the train makes a quick recovery,and for our sakes hope the boy being set on fire was supposed to be some sort of unintentional joke that went terribly wrong, rather than a malicious act,although it doesnt make it any better,it may not lead to tit for tat attacks, its really the last thing Scottish fitba needs at the moment

01-11-2009, 04:43 PM

Man up James and stop being such a big jessie. Anyway, we'll be safe in the hospitality box! :wink:

01-11-2009, 04:46 PM
not disagreeing with you but the polis were searching and videoing almost everyone coming from over the bridge my mate(dons fan fae Cowdungbeef) came across with a group of guys and were pushed up against a wall and searched,pictured and followed to the pub, when they came off the train,***sake it was guys aroond 50 yr old, some police intelligence:bitchy:
would just like to add I hope the boy who was burned on the train makes a quick recovery,and for our sakes hope the boy being set on fire was supposed to be some sort of unintentional joke that went terribly wrong, rather than a malicious act,although it doesnt make it any better,it may not lead to tit for tat attacks, its really the last thing Scottish fitba needs at the moment

I've got a feeling that a lot of Aberdeen fans will hear the story that a Hibs fan set alight a Dons fan and will automatically assume it was a malicious act regardless of whether they've been friends for 15 years (hypothetical).

I suspect there may be more trouble up there at the away game. Not good.

01-11-2009, 04:47 PM
Well Tyler, the point you are ignoring is the problem of violence which emerged yesterday and by all accounts is becoming an issue at ER.

As to your wording what do you mean by this?

No it isn't. Whose account? All accounts? I have been going to Easter Road to watch football for years and and can count on one hand the amount of violence I have seen in about the last 15 years. But if you want to make a big thing out if this then on you go mate.
Any violence should not be ignored but I am not sure what you want us as fans and the club itself to do about violence miles from the ground. yes we can condemn it but doing that it ain't gonna fix it. In most cases it will fuel the egos of these idiots by publicising it.

01-11-2009, 04:48 PM
Stop being such a big jessie James. Anyway, we'll be safe in the hospitality box! :wink:

Frazer, he does have a valid point though. In fact the numpties that follow Hibs made a big thing about the young boy who was kicked senseless, and that resulted in the petrol bomb incident. This could be what the Aberdeen lot see as their time to get the mob together for revenge. It will be a game the casuals will now look forward to.:boo hoo:

MUSSI LEE
01-11-2009, 04:50 PM
Frazer, he does have a valid point though. In fact the numpties that follow Hibs made a big thing about the young boy who was kicked senseless, and that resulted in the petrol bomb incident. This could be what the Aberdeen lot see as their time to get the mob together for revenge. It will be a game the casuals will now look forward to.:boo hoo:what a load of crap :blah:

01-11-2009, 04:52 PM
Frazer, he does have a valid point though. In fact the numpties that follow Hibs made a big thing about the young boy who was kicked senseless, and that resulted in the petrol bomb incident. This could be what the Aberdeen lot see as their time to get the mob together for revenge. It will be a game the casuals will now look forward to.:boo hoo:

But wait a minute, the casuals made it safer for the rest of us to go to games in the 80's and 90's. Maybe they're just doing their bit for World piece again.

01-11-2009, 04:53 PM
what a load of crap :blah:

Thanks for your insight, in what way is it crap?

01-11-2009, 04:54 PM

But wait a minute, the casuals made it safer for the rest of us to go to games in the 80's and 90's. Maybe they're just doing their bit for World piece again.

I have no idea if it will be safer to go now or not?:wink:

01-11-2009, 04:56 PM
what a load of crap :blah:

Why is that a load of crap? Everything I've read about the Hibs casuals makes a big issue of both those two incidents. They are the defining moments of the CCS according to those involved. I think BH makes a very valid point.

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 04:56 PM

Agreed, zero tolerance to this behaviour - they are few, we are many. Last year when I was in Edinburgh the police raided the Elm Bar, there were a lot of middle-aged casuals as well as their 'young apprentices' the raid did the trick. However, the 'Club' has to play in banning for life anyone associated with these 'organisations'. They are a cancer at the heart of Scottish football and they need to be dealt with effectively.

MUSSI LEE
01-11-2009, 04:58 PM
Thanks for your insight, in what way is it crap?i think your obsessed with casuals what did you get rejected in the 80s many times have you put a post about casuals.its boring.oh heres a link for you www.terrace (http://www.terrace) links arrow down im sure the blackpool lads will recruit you :idiot:

01-11-2009, 05:02 PM
I had a look at an aberdeen forum to see if any more light could be shed on who was to blame but of 8 pages on it they spend about 6 pages challenging each other to fights and being keyboard warriors:confused:
http://www.afc-chat.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=25842&st=100

01-11-2009, 05:04 PM
i think your obsessed with casuals what did you get rejected in the 80s many times have you put a post about casuals.its boring.oh heres a link for you www.terrace (http://www.terrace) links arrow down im sure the blackpool lads will recruit you :idiot:

:faf::faf:

01-11-2009, 05:04 PM
A Hibs guy was arrested yes?

But innocent until proven guilty no?

I'm not trying to play the whole "our club has no erseholes" card..... as we certainly do.

But just because people seen a Hibs supporter getting arrested, doesn't automatically make him guilty.... it does however make him a strong suspect.

Who ever it was, Hibs fan or not. I hope they get severely punished for their crime.

And I wish the victim a speedy recovery and hope his injuries aren't too serious.

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 05:10 PM
No it isn't. Whose account? All accounts? I have been going to Easter Road to watch football for years and and can count on one hand the amount of violence I have seen in about the last 15 years. But if you want to make a big thing out if this then on you go mate.
Any violence should not be ignored but I am not sure what you want us as fans and the club itself to do about violence miles from the ground. yes we can condemn it but doing that it ain't gonna fix it. In most cases it will fuel the egos of these idiots by publicising it.

No smoke without fire, you've been lucky you should have seen the trouble in the 70s and 80s.

Stiff prison sentences and the club banning for life anyone associated with these 'organisations' would be a good way to proceed.

MUSSI LEE
01-11-2009, 05:11 PM

I'm not trying to play the whole "our club has no erseholes" card..... as we certainly do.

But just because people seen a Hibs supporter getting arrested, doesn't automatically make him guilty.... it does however make him a strong suspect.

Who ever it was, Hibs fan or not. I hope they get severely punished for their crime.

And I wish the victim a speedy recovery and hope his injuries aren't too serious.you better post it was a scarfer and not a casual or blackpool hibs will be phoning gayfield and asking for football intellegence
your right m8 lets hope the aberdeen fan is ok

01-11-2009, 05:13 PM
Far from it - when needless and horrible events occur, as took place yesterday, we as human being should be condemning it and not tolerating it - simple as....

And I wish the victim a speedy recovery and hope his injuries aren't too serious.

FFS guys!! Why are we arguing about this?

In regards to the incident on the train, as quite a few people have already said, we don't know exactly what went on. Reports were a guy getting set alight by:

Matches
Lighter
cigarette butt thrown at him
Lighter fluid thrown on him
Firework

And all done by someone else and also a few comments about him doing it to himself accidently. The only people who know what happened were the ones that actually saw it.

Just because someone with a Hibs top on was arrested by the polis, don't automatically assume it was to do with the fire incident, he could have been getting lippy with the polis and was arrested for breach of the peace. (Been there, done that! :wink:)

I'm not condoning what happened and if it does appear that this was a vicious attack then let's analyse it then. Until that time, I will be reserving judgement.

Hope the Aberdeen fan makes a speedy recovery.

01-11-2009, 05:17 PM
Agreed, zero tolerance to this behaviour - they are few, we are many. Last year when I was in Edinburgh the police raided the Elm Bar, there were a lot of middle-aged casuals as well as their 'young apprentices' the raid did the trick. However, the 'Club' has to play in banning for life anyone associated with these 'organisations'. They are a cancer at the heart of Scottish football and they need to be dealt with effectively.

What a load of other exaggerated rubbish. There are 450 odd games in the SPL each year and I'm taking a guess that there is organised trouble (over in 5 mins before the police are there) at around 10 games?

An issue yes but let's get it into context here.

MUSSI LEE
01-11-2009, 05:22 PM
Agreed, zero tolerance to this behaviour - they are few, we are many. Last year when I was in Edinburgh the police raided the Elm Bar, there were a lot of middle-aged casuals as well as their 'young apprentices' the raid did the trick. However, the 'Club' has to play in banning for life anyone associated with these 'organisations'. They are a cancer at the heart of Scottish football and they need to be dealt with effectively.the raid done the trick :faf:

01-11-2009, 05:24 PM
I happened to be chatting to a policeman going up ER after the game yesterday and he said that by far and away the biggest trouble in recent years was when Hibs played Brechin in a cup tie a few years ago!

I can't even remember the game but he said that the whole of Brechin must have attended the match and some of their supporters caused absolute mayhem!

01-11-2009, 05:27 PM
No smoke without fire, you've been lucky you should have seen the trouble in the 70s and 80s.

Stiff prison sentences and the club banning for life anyone associated with these 'organisations' would be a good way to proceed.

Look mate I have watched Hibs for over 35 years so I know there was and indeed saw trouble during those decades but you are suggesting its rife at this moment in time. That my friend is plainly not the case. I am not saying there are not isolated instances away from the ground but you didn't answer my question as to what we as Hibs fans and the club can do about it. I believe Hibs do ban them but this clearly hasnt helped if you are to be believed.

nanamag
Nearest hospital? well if what they are saying is true and it happend in inverkeithing then the hospital they should have taken him to is the queen margaret in dunfermline, not went all the way to kirkalday does not make any sence to me, i have been listning to all that has been said to be hounest my head is spinning with all the differant storys about what went on, i;m sorry for what happend to the dons fan and wish him a speedy recovery, wont be judging anyone as i dont no the hole facts,

McIntosh
What a load of other exaggerated rubbish. There are 450 odd games in the SPL each year and I'm taking a guess that there is organised trouble (over in 5 mins before the police are there) at around 10 games?

1 game is too many, 10 is more than enough, many poster here have highlighted boths its historical and current impact on the game.

We need to stamp this nonsense out - no compromising with these people or their apologists.

01-11-2009, 05:28 PM

Enough already Paul! Let's not let common sense get in the way of an already hysterical thread where a nasty assault in London Road and what sounds like a stupid accident on a train has already been compared to the holocaust.

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 05:30 PM
the raid done the trick :faf:

Well they weren't going anywhere that day apart from Gayfield square.

The funny thing was hearing them squeal when the dogs were brought out. Heroes, well that really is a laugh.

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 05:39 PM
Look mate I have watched Hibs for over 35 years so I know there was and indeed saw trouble during those decades but you are suggesting its rife at this moment in time. That my friend is plainly not the case. I am not saying there are not isolated instances away from the ground but you didn't answer my question as to what we as Hibs fans and the club can do about it. I believe Hibs do ban them but this clearly hasnt helped if you are to be believed.

Well both of us have watched Hibs for the same length of time! To clarify, I do not believe it is 'rife' and have not intimated this but I do believe that we have a problem which if left unattended will be demaging to the club and Scottish football.

To answer your question directly - support and assist the police at every opportunity. Give no support to these individuals, ostracice them and condemn them is the least we can do - zero tolerence.

MUSSI LEE
01-11-2009, 05:42 PM
Well they weren't going anywhere that day apart from Gayfield square.

The funny thing was hearing them squeal when the dogs were brought out. Heroes, well that really is a laugh.thats good dogs out weekend in gayfield what was the charge having a beer in the elm or edinburghs finest feeling big men behind there uniform dishing out sec 60.

fife hfc
01-11-2009, 05:49 PM
Mussi Lee you are going on and on about the fact that the casuals not being involved in any of the incidents, are you protecting your own:devil:

well I was in London road at the time of the incident and i can tell you that a number of those of hibs persuasion who were looking for trouble did not have scarfs on and were singing CCS and claiming to be members of the hibs baby crew. I can not say they attacked the Dons fan but I did see them causing trouble so it seem highly probable that they were involved. So sorry to disappoint not a Hibs scarf on any one of them.

01-11-2009, 05:49 PM
UTTER TRIPE IMO - just how precisely does lighting and throwing a firework on a crowded train NOT sound like an act of hooliganism???

I have already stated IMHO the firwork line is fairy tales, although I'm sure we'll find out in due course. Feel free to disagree STRONGLY with my opinion by basing it on your own with any unstubstantiated claptrap...:wink:

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 05:55 PM
thats good dogs out weekend in gayfield what was the charge having a beer in the elm or edinburghs finest feeling big men behind there uniform dishing out sec 60.

To answer your question, I think they were charged with breach of the peace.

Some of the older casuals who I have known since the mid 80s were there, they looked a sorry sight. What shocked me was how fat they were, I thought they better still be good at fighting as running will kill them. One of them who I got an opportunity to speak to later is a very successful business man with children, I asked him why he was still involved with this nonsense - no reply given.

I did feel for them when the dogs were set on them, my cousin who was a Police dog handler used to train them to attack their genitales - he was scarier than the casuals!

01-11-2009, 06:07 PM

i think many fans will be thinking the same thing. if travelling by public transport puts people off then i would suggest going on a supporters bus, as they drop you right at the entrance to the away gates and the buses are parked there so you dont have to go near any home fans before and after the match.

only worries could be in the ground since there is only a fence separating the home and away fans, but im sure the police will be planning now on how to handle this.

01-11-2009, 06:16 PM
Pretty shameful :agree:

Starting to have second thoughts about December 19th also...

Why do a bunch of neds have to ruin it for decent football folk?

From what I gather the fancy dressed Dons fans were proper fans who were set about by @rseholes claiming to be part of 'Baby Crew'

Really nae need like :grr:

Teuchter Hibbie
01-11-2009, 06:29 PM

annoying isnt it! :confused:

01-11-2009, 06:30 PM

Some of the older casuals who I have known since the mid 80s were there, they looked a sorry sight. What shocked me was how fat they were, I thought they better still be good at fighting as running will kill them. One of them who I got an opportunity to speak to later is a very successful business man with children, I asked him why he was still involved with this nonsense - no reply given.

I did feel for them when the dogs were set on them, my cousin who was a Police dog handler used to train them to attack their genitales - he was scarier than the casuals!

you seem to have some real insight to the casuals - did you just happen to be in the vacinity of the Elm Bar when this raid went on or were you on duty? :cool2:

MUSSI LEE
01-11-2009, 06:38 PM
Mussi Lee you are going on and on about the fact that the casuals not being involved in any of the incidents, are you protecting your own:devil:

well I was in London road at the time of the incident and i can tell you that a number of those of hibs persuasion who were looking for trouble did not have scarfs on and were singing CCS and claiming to be members of the hibs baby crew. I can not say they attacked the Dons fan but I did see them causing trouble so it seem highly probable that they were involved. So sorry to disappoint not a Hibs scarf on any one of them.nah m8 take my boy and girl :wink:

hes in the baby crew and my daughter who is twelve is ladies soccer trendies:greengrin i did see a hibs supporter ie scarfer with a cut eye :agree:

MUSSI LEE
01-11-2009, 06:42 PM

I did feel for them when the dogs were set on them, my cousin who was a Police dog handler used to train them to attack their genitales - he was scarier than the casuals!was the dog trained to attack casuals then :faf:

01-11-2009, 06:49 PM
The version I heard was it was the poor guys own mates that caused it, a hellish result of a prank going wrong.

Whoever was responsible I'm sure didn't mean to cause that amount of damage to a fellow human being.

The culprit is obviously an idiot but I don't think for a minute it was a pre-meditated idea of "lets torch an Aberdeen fan".

01-11-2009, 06:50 PM
I have already stated IMHO the firwork line is fairy tales, although I'm sure we'll find out in due course. Feel free to disagree STRONGLY with my opinion by basing it on your own with any unstubstantiated claptrap...:wink:

Fair to say I along with a few others have jumped the gun a bit re the train incident - whatever happened will come out soon enough. My first reaction on hearing this story was "this has gone too far" based on the initial reports that someone had been set on fire as opposed to an accident and assuming that this meant an act of hooliganism - which reports of a firework only seemed to confirm.
Regardless, it's started a debate - and a relevent one given that there did seem to be a larger than usual casual presence at the game on Sat - and I'd stand by my opinions that neds such as those dishing it out on London Rd are effectively hurting Hibs every bit as much as the unfortunate banana and sheep impersonators they set upon - on that count I'm pretty sure you'd agree.

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 06:58 PM
was the dog trained to attack casuals then :faf:

I don't know if he trained his dogs to attack fannies:wink:

MUSSI LEE
01-11-2009, 07:07 PM
I don't know if he trained his dogs to attack fannies:wink:aye you only know or deal with faggots :agree:

01-11-2009, 07:10 PM
I don't know if he trained his dogs to attack fannies:wink:

aye you only know or deal with faggots :agree:

Get back on topic guys.

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 07:12 PM
you seem to have some real insight to the casuals - did you just happen to be in the vacinity of the Elm Bar when this raid went on or were you on duty? :cool2:

I was actually walking to the station when I met them. However, I have no doubt that this traffic will be being monitored and that there will be a few officers playing devils advocate on this board. I am sure the team at St leonards will have 'gold marked' a few posters here and will be running a few data checks.

Mussi Lee will turn out to be a harmless 'wee laddie/lassie' but he or she will probably be checked out.:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

01-11-2009, 07:45 PM
I was actually walking to the station when I met them. However, I have no doubt that this traffic will be being monitored and that there will be a few officers playing devils advocate on this board. I am sure the team at St leonards will have 'gold marked' a few posters here and will be running a few data checks.

Mussi Lee will turn out to be a harmless 'wee laddie/lassie' but he or she will probably be checked out.:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Shut up. What the hell are you smoking? :smokin

01-11-2009, 08:02 PM

:crazy::na na:

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 08:22 PM
Shut up. What the hell are you smoking? :smokin

Someone asked me a question I answered it. I've not been rude or offensive, do you really think that mointoring doesn't happen, intelligence is acquired through varied sources - shock.

Maybe the vigour is better applied to condemning the violence and the sad spectale of middle aged casuals and young people attacking ordinary people.

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 08:31 PM
:crazy::na na:

:rolleyes: - Don't you think that the safety of young people like the one in your avatar is worth ensuring?

The violent intent of a few demages people lives, casuals are not 'heroes' they are sad apologises for human beings. Its amazing how the true colours of certain posters comes out once we get to the heart of the issue.

01-11-2009, 08:33 PM
Someone asked me a question I answered it. I've not been rude or offensive, do you really think that mointoring doesn't happen, intelligence is acquired through varied sources - shock.

Maybe the vigour is better applied to condemning the violence and the sad spectale of middle aged casuals and young people attacking ordinary people.

Just as well I gave dodgy details when I joined then - no tracing for me then. :cool2: Mon the CCS!!

01-11-2009, 08:47 PM
Pretty shameful :agree:

Starting to have second thoughts about December 19th also...

Why do a bunch of neds have to ruin it for decent football folk?

From what I gather the fancy dressed Dons fans were proper fans who were set about by @rseholes claiming to be part of 'Baby Crew'

Really nae need like :grr:

What gives you the right to label them neds? How do you know they were neds? :yawn:

01-11-2009, 08:52 PM
Just as well I gave dodgy details when I joined then - no tracing for me then. :cool2: Mon the CCS!!

01-11-2009, 08:55 PM

IP address :wink:

01-11-2009, 08:57 PM
What gives you the right to label them neds? How do you know they were neds? :yawn:

NED= NonEducatedDelinquent.

Yup, I think he has a case to label them so.

01-11-2009, 08:58 PM

not guaranteed to be correct as far as I am led to believe.

01-11-2009, 09:02 PM

not guaranteed to be correct as far as I am led to believe.

Ya dancer!! So what will the snoopers think about this then?

http://i396.photobucket.com/albums/pp49/Chuckie1977/fock.jpg

:smokin

01-11-2009, 09:04 PM

You should know by now that Garmo never lets the facts, or lack of them get in the way of a G19 nonsensical statement..

What if they're using a foreign IP address or a non static one :wink:

01-11-2009, 09:08 PM
Who is this self righteous man McIntosh and what does he know of the history of Hibernian?

For anyone interested in the origins of this great club you will find that fighting at the match goes right back to our earlist games

I have included an extract below from The Founding of Hibernian

It's a shame someone got battered in an unprovoked attack on London Road and it's terrible that a guys fancy dress costume caught fire in what seems to have been a silly prank gone wrong or indeed an accident

But to have some silly grass / policeman compare it to the holocaust is a joke.

You can check my IP address anytime and turn up at my work and charge me with realism.

"There were a number of recorded incidents of rioting that likely make the modern-day football hooligan look like a choirboy. From these early days it was clear who the main rivals would be for Hibernian, and the good deed carried out by Heart of Midlothian in agreeing to break the Edinburgh Association's embargo on the club did not take long to be forgotten as the intense rivalry between the clubs began to appear. The first appearance of Hibernian in the Scottish Cup (the SFA could not find an excuse to keep the Irishmen out of the tournament forever) came against Hearts in September 1877, and it was a tie that sparked a flame that would burn to this day.

The first Scottish Cup match ended in a 0-0 draw, but in the replay two weeks later Hibernian ran out 2-1 winners. The Hearts players and fans alike did not take defeat well against the Irish upstarts whom they regarded as inferior, and fighting broke out as the Irish celebrated their victory. This was the spark that for many years to come would result in Hearts taking every available opportunity to oppose Hibernian through the corridors of football power at both local and national level. That first season Hibs were not to see Scottish Cup glory (nothing new there then!), however the club would contest a final, the Edinburgh F.A. Cup, and who should be their opponents? Hearts.

The first crack at the final ended in another 0-0 stalemate, and because the game had already been delayed through bad weather, the Edinburgh F.A. decided that the replay should go to extra time if required. The game was 1-1 after 90 minutes, and the much fitter Irishmen were ready to go for the additional 30 minutes. Hearts, however, were not - their captain Tom Purdie informing the referee that they would not play on because he intended in any event to protest Hibernian's perfectly good equalising goal. Again this provoked fighting between the rival fans, but no result for the game!

The 'protest' was thrown out by the Association a few days later, describing the Hearts protest as a complete waste of time, but all the same there was no sanctions against them and another replay was ordered. Twelve hundred spectators turned up for that game, with many hundreds more locked as Hibernian took a two-goal lead, however Hearts came back with two of their own and still the destination of the trophy was not decided. Father Hannan attacked the behaviour of the Irish navvies from the pulpit of St Patrick's, the priest unhappy at the fighting but unable to exert direct control over the perpetrators who were not after all members of the CYMS. The fact was that already the popularity of the game and quality of the Irishmen had caught the fiercely proud backing of these hard-living men.

Still there remained the small matter of a cup final, and the sides tried again in April to settle things. Fifteen hundred spectators turned up this time, and Hibs again took the lead, but again could not hold it and Hearts equalised. Extra time was played this time, but the score remained the same. A fifth game then, and this time, at last, one that produced a result. Alas, there was no happy ending to this incredible part of the Hibernian story, Hibs twice taking the lead in the second half with Michael Whelahan himself scoring, but twice Hearts equalised. They then took the trophy through a hotly disputed goal. At the end of the game, tempers again flared when Whelahan put out his hand to opposing Captain Purdie, and was brushed aside. The navvies were furious at this treatment of the Hibernian man, and proceeded to chase Purdie through the streets of Edinburgh, wrecking his coach after the player took refuge in the home of a friend. It was an altogether unsavoury incident that again led to an angry rebuke from the pulpit by Father Hannan."

Nah she's blonde, it'll defo be a Dundee one :agree:

Exactly. It's extremely easy to leave no traces.

So if any of the admins notice anyone with a dodgy IP address using this site.... you'll know it was them. :wink:

jakki
01-11-2009, 09:14 PM
Susan, I'm so sorry to resd that. I was at the preseason game with my 5 grand kids. We enjoyed all the banter with the Bolton fans pre match. It was a great time but at thegame there was a lot of banter and hatred between the fans. I knew that a battle had been arranged between the two lots of fans before the game but to me it was well away from us fans.

It was not the case. there was a battle between both sets of fans outside where we were exiting from.We were lead track side out to safty but we had to head back to whwere the trouble started as that was our only way we could get to our pick up point. The police had closed off our road up to the pick up point and while we waited a Boltom fan took exception to my 13 year old grand som for wearing a Hibs shirtt. He wanted a fair go ( a 40+ man against a 13 year old), my daughter threatened him with my walking stick but luckily we were next to the police cordion and the man was led away.

I will never take any of my grandkids to a game again.Once is enough!!

01-11-2009, 09:31 PM
Who is this self righteous man McIntosh and what does he know of the history of Hibernian?

For anyone interested in the origins of this great club you will find that fighting at the match goes right back to our earlist games

."

Are you saying that, because it's always happened, it's okay?

Hibby D
01-11-2009, 09:38 PM

I think to call him self-righteous is unfair. Especially since I agree with a lot of what he's said so far and I don't think I'm "self-righteous".

Just 'Right' :greengrin

01-11-2009, 09:53 PM
Are you saying that, because it's always happened, it's okay?

No but he was saying that trouble at football goes against the origins of the club. It may go against the Priests intentions but not against the reality of the situation.

I'm also not saying it's right. I'm surprised there's still any trouble at all at football. I suppose there are fixtures where trouble may still occur, games against English teams down south and perhaps Aberdeen but I thought it had died down a bit.

With one violent incident and some kind of accident / prank gone wrong on a train I'm not sure it's back with a vengeance.

Become a bit of a storm in a teacup I think. I don't know enough about what happened in either situation to really comment but to start threatening hibsnet posters with police snoopers and comparing yesterdays events to the holocaust is nonsense.

Fantic
01-11-2009, 10:38 PM

Anyone who drinks in the coach or sportsmans knows he's a sound guy. Hibs through and through.

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 11:34 PM

I have included an extract below from The Founding of Hibernian

It's a shame someone got battered in an unprovoked attack on London Road and it's terrible that a guys fancy dress costume caught fire in what seems to have been a silly prank gone wrong or indeed an accident

But to have some silly grass / policeman compare it to the holocaust is a joke.

You can check my IP address anytime and turn up at my work and charge me with realism.

"There were a number of recorded incidents of rioting that likely make the modern-day football hooligan look like a choirboy. From these early days it was clear who the main rivals would be for Hibernian, and the good deed carried out by Heart of Midlothian in agreeing to break the Edinburgh Association's embargo on the club did not take long to be forgotten as the intense rivalry between the clubs began to appear. The first appearance of Hibernian in the Scottish Cup (the SFA could not find an excuse to keep the Irishmen out of the tournament forever) came against Hearts in September 1877, and it was a tie that sparked a flame that would burn to this day.

The first Scottish Cup match ended in a 0-0 draw, but in the replay two weeks later Hibernian ran out 2-1 winners. The Hearts players and fans alike did not take defeat well against the Irish upstarts whom they regarded as inferior, and fighting broke out as the Irish celebrated their victory. This was the spark that for many years to come would result in Hearts taking every available opportunity to oppose Hibernian through the corridors of football power at both local and national level. That first season Hibs were not to see Scottish Cup glory (nothing new there then!), however the club would contest a final, the Edinburgh F.A. Cup, and who should be their opponents? Hearts.

The first crack at the final ended in another 0-0 stalemate, and because the game had already been delayed through bad weather, the Edinburgh F.A. decided that the replay should go to extra time if required. The game was 1-1 after 90 minutes, and the much fitter Irishmen were ready to go for the additional 30 minutes. Hearts, however, were not - their captain Tom Purdie informing the referee that they would not play on because he intended in any event to protest Hibernian's perfectly good equalising goal. Again this provoked fighting between the rival fans, but no result for the game!

The 'protest' was thrown out by the Association a few days later, describing the Hearts protest as a complete waste of time, but all the same there was no sanctions against them and another replay was ordered. Twelve hundred spectators turned up for that game, with many hundreds more locked as Hibernian took a two-goal lead, however Hearts came back with two of their own and still the destination of the trophy was not decided. Father Hannan attacked the behaviour of the Irish navvies from the pulpit of St Patrick's, the priest unhappy at the fighting but unable to exert direct control over the perpetrators who were not after all members of the CYMS. The fact was that already the popularity of the game and quality of the Irishmen had caught the fiercely proud backing of these hard-living men.

Still there remained the small matter of a cup final, and the sides tried again in April to settle things. Fifteen hundred spectators turned up this time, and Hibs again took the lead, but again could not hold it and Hearts equalised. Extra time was played this time, but the score remained the same. A fifth game then, and this time, at last, one that produced a result. Alas, there was no happy ending to this incredible part of the Hibernian story, Hibs twice taking the lead in the second half with Michael Whelahan himself scoring, but twice Hearts equalised. They then took the trophy through a hotly disputed goal. At the end of the game, tempers again flared when Whelahan put out his hand to opposing Captain Purdie, and was brushed aside. The navvies were furious at this treatment of the Hibernian man, and proceeded to chase Purdie through the streets of Edinburgh, wrecking his coach after the player took refuge in the home of a friend. It was an altogether unsavoury incident that again led to an angry rebuke from the pulpit by Father Hannan."

Well you can now add patronising to your list of adjectives in my book chapter "an investigation into the causes and nature of sectarianism in inter-war Edinburgh and Leith" there is an extensive section on the history of Hibernian Football Club and its identity.

The violence you allude to was reactive and was fused to complex political and economic factors which I think would be beyond your level of understanding.

McIntosh
01-11-2009, 11:43 PM
to start threatening hibsnet posters with police snoopers and comparing yesterdays events to the holocaust is nonsense.

Nonsense on both counts all you expose by your remarks is your ignorance:

1. I never threatened anyone - I was asked a question I made an observation.

2. Yesterdays events were never compared to the Holocaust, this may be hard for you to grasp but the concept of inaction in the face of 'evil' or 'wickedness' and its consequences was the point under discussion.

As for the history of the club if you wish any copies of primary documents do not hesitate to pm me and I will send them to you.

02-11-2009, 01:13 AM
The only thing sadder than 14 year old schoolchildren living with their mothers and pretending to be hooligans, is 40 year old security guards living with their mothers pretending to be police detectives.

02-11-2009, 07:29 AM
:rolleyes: - Don't you think that the safety of young people like the one in your avatar is worth ensuring?

The violent intent of a few demages people lives, casuals are not 'heroes' they are sad apologises for human beings. Its amazing how the true colours of certain posters comes out once we get to the heart of the issue.

You just don't get it do you. You have sat in judgement on the name of Hibernian football club without knowing the full facts of the story.

You have already stated that you don't know 100% that a hibs fan was involved. Their is also a linked thread stating that it may have been a firework accident and you seem to dismissed this out of hand.

The young guy was seriously burned, that's a fact. Until the FULL story comes out with the full weight of the law behind it then I don't think that you or anyone else should have judged our club.

The casuals on the other hand are a different matter. They are a stain on the good name of Hibernian and the sooner they're gone the better.

As for the young ones like the one in my Avatar. They should be able to go to games safe in the knowledge that they are in for a pleasurable, entertaining, and trouble free day.

My colours have for 47 years been green and white, and having worn them with pride in many places around the world, without having been in any trouble whatsoever, I find your comment in bold to be patronising in the extreme.

02-11-2009, 08:02 AM

You should know by now that Garmo never lets the facts, or lack of them get in the way of a G19 nonsensical statement..

Exactly. It's extremely easy to leave no traces.

So if any of the admins notice anyone with a dodgy IP address using this site.... you'll know it was them. :wink:

I hope none of you want to be master criminals when you grow up.

Intelligence isn't just about hard fact. It's about gathering loads of small pieces of information and putting them together in order to point to a suspect, a place, a vehicle or a timeframe etc.

They then go about finding the hard evidence.

There are some juicy pieces of information on this thread, which would be of interest.

02-11-2009, 08:25 AM
There are some juicy pieces of information on this thread, which would be of interest.

Expect the arrest of someone called I.P.Address in connection with the Holocaust.

Tracey, Dick.