View Full Version : Stokes Goal

hibsboy90
24-10-2009, 04:16 PM
I'm sure that you can find it if you were to search "Stokes goal"....

Stunning finish

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/8325142.stm

GO TO 3:20

Hibsandaroo
24-10-2009, 04:19 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8RHsb69OhJk

24-10-2009, 04:20 PM
here is the link

24-10-2009, 04:21 PM
Stunning finish by the big man - left Whitty in his wake en route as well! :thumbsup:

Green Man
24-10-2009, 04:22 PM
I could watch that forever :greengrin

Storar
24-10-2009, 04:23 PM
mint!:thumbsup:

:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:scarf:

Mike777
Brilliant goal, could be goal of the season. has to be the best one so far this season.

24-10-2009, 04:24 PM
Total Class :thumbsup:

24-10-2009, 04:25 PM

Just did, burnt the tatties.......chippie tonight!!!!!!

24-10-2009, 04:26 PM
Great instincts. Brilliant feet and speed of thought. Lovely goal. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

alphahibby
very very nice.:thumbsup:

Scotthibs1875
watch it at about 33 seconds it looks like hes trying to put it in the opposite side :faf:

24-10-2009, 04:27 PM
Great strike Tony Stokes!!!!

24-10-2009, 04:29 PM
Yogi said "it's aboot time he did something"!

24-10-2009, 04:29 PM
It looked even better from in amongst the huns. I even heard 2 or 3 of them saying what a good finish it was.

24-10-2009, 04:32 PM
I'll take another 3 of them on 7 Nov Stokesy....not too much to ask for?

alphahibby
24-10-2009, 04:32 PM
0n ssn andy walker described it as a long ball wee zouma new exactley what he was doing superb

Badge
24-10-2009, 04:35 PM
Total Class :thumbsup:

Superb finish but still not good enough for Mad Vlad.:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

24-10-2009, 04:37 PM
0n ssn andy walker described it as a long ball wee zouma new exactley what he was doing superb

Andy walker is a fud:agree:

hibbie02
24-10-2009, 04:37 PM
I might be splitting hairs but that was route one hoofball and a flukey finish!!!

Nah! Just goofin' :devil:

Pinpoint pass and sublime skills! Bring on the Yams!!! :jamboak::jamboak::jamboak:

mayo hibee
24-10-2009, 04:38 PM
I'll take another 3 of them on 7 Nov Stokesy....not too much to ask for?

Well he does have a great record against bottom 6 teams from his Falkirk days...:greengrin

alphahibby
24-10-2009, 04:39 PM
Andy walker is a fud:agree:

fair point.

24-10-2009, 04:45 PM
Superb finish but still not good enough for Mad Vlad.:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

I don't think a team of Hearts stature need to indulge in the extravagant luxury of signing proven goalscorers. They can churn out the points and provide thrills and spills with the personnel they currently have, thank you very much - I cite today's goalless draw at home to Falkirk as evidence. That must have been big fun, and, as an Edinburgh man, i'm gutted to have missed that particular carnival. No luck at all. Will just have to get drunk and run down Gorgie Road shouting 'arbeba!'

HibsNibs
24-10-2009, 04:46 PM
goal of the season :top marks

Hank Schrader
24-10-2009, 04:47 PM

I keep watching it over and over again. Going out at 7 and still to have a shower, have my tea and iron my stuff!! This is delaying me big time!! :greengrin

24-10-2009, 04:50 PM

When it is a hopeful punt into space it is a long ball. If it is a cross from someone like Zouma or Sauzee it is merely their fantastic 'range of passing' - fact :wink:

24-10-2009, 04:57 PM
What was Davie Weir doing ??

Delboy4
24-10-2009, 04:59 PM
Has to be Goal of the season...:top marks

If Mr Rooney done it down in the EPL they would be talking about it for months to come. :thumbsup:

24-10-2009, 05:03 PM
Top drawer finish:dizzy:

craig1875
24-10-2009, 05:04 PM

Collecting his penshion, he certinly wasn't playing football.

24-10-2009, 05:08 PM
Absolutely outstanding. As good as anything you will see from Rooney or Ronaldo.

24-10-2009, 05:09 PM

Struggling.
Next question?

24-10-2009, 05:10 PM
Awesome goal... what a ball from Zouma... Touch, control and composure from stokes was immense... Rangers should never have allowed Zouma anytime on the ball... he WILL hurt you if you do as proved with that goal!

james
24-10-2009, 05:40 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIsD0YmJdr8&feature=player_profilepage

What a goal!! Didnt play too well up until the goal. But if he pulls stuff off like that it doesnt really matter. :top marks :thumbsup:

24-10-2009, 05:43 PM

It's rude to interrupt someone doing keepy-uppies. :agree:

Si_17
24-10-2009, 05:47 PM
Goal of the season.

magpie1892
24-10-2009, 05:49 PM
What the **** was the fud linesman doing? ****

24-10-2009, 05:55 PM
Quality.

24-10-2009, 06:02 PM
I seriously would not swap our front 4 players with ANY other SPL's forward line.

That finish was wonderful - what a ball from Zouma, and the touch and strike from Stokes was first class. :top marks

24-10-2009, 06:04 PM
I seriously would not swap our front 4 players with ANY other SPL's forward line.

That finish was wonderful - what a ball from Zouma, and the touch and strike from Stokes was first class. :top marks

What, even for Susan, Nade and Pittenweem?

24-10-2009, 06:12 PM
What a goal :thumbsup:

24-10-2009, 06:33 PM
What, even for Susan, Nade and Pittenweem?

Not even for them. :greengrin

Comiston Hibee
24-10-2009, 06:34 PM
Pondlife of society.

I got hold of the "Bar 72" season tickets that my company has and took along my 12 year old and 9 year old boys.
These are corporate season tickets in the Govan Stand so I reckoned it would be okay for the wee guys -how wrong I was.

Utter **** - everyone of then f'ing and c'ing, calling the Hibs players "Aids ridden bast***s" and "Fenien c***s" as well as rascist taunts to Zouma, Benji and big Sol (they are all apparently black basta*rds"). Not once did any of them take note their were kids in the seats and carried on regardless

My wee boy jumped up when Stokesy scored but thankfully so did several of the bears trying to outshout each other in saying how "sh*t" their own players were in defending. As that famous News of the World reporter once said not long after "we made our excuses and left". One point was great but three would have seemed justice with what we had to put up with.

Utter pondlife ****, the lot of them

24-10-2009, 06:48 PM
Pondlife of society.

I got hold of the "Bar 72" season tickets that my company has and took along my 12 year old and 9 year old boys.
These are corporate season tickets in the Govan Stand so I reckoned it would be okay for the wee guys -how wrong I was.

Utter **** - everyone of then f'ing and c'ing, calling the Hibs players "Aids ridden bast***s" and "Fenien c***s" as well as rascist taunts to Zouma, Benji and big Sol (they are all apparently black basta*rds"). Not once did any of them take note their were kids in the seats and carried on regardless

My wee boy jumped up when Stokesy scored but thankfully so did several of the bears trying to outshout each other in saying how "sh*t" their own players were in defending. As that famous News of the World reporter once said not long after "we made our excuses and left". One point was great but three would have seemed justice with what we had to put up with.

Utter pondlife ****, the lot of them

I can't believe i'm writing this but here goes.
I was in the Broomloan surrounded by them and was very surprised by the lack of foul mouthed abuse directed at us. The only bit I heard was one saying to his pal 'that black bast ard' when talking about Bamba. The guy next to me spoke a fair bit to me during the game and must've known I was a Hibbie from my replies.

half.time.draw.
24-10-2009, 06:55 PM

Imagine watching Hibs for the right reasons again, ****ing magic after recent years.

Gos bless Yogie, and the team.....

24-10-2009, 06:59 PM
Absolutely wonderful goal:thumbsup:
cant decide which is better http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OsBm2EvRaog

24-10-2009, 07:04 PM

When it is a hopeful punt into space it is a long ball. If it is a cross from someone like Zouma or Sauzee it is merely their fantastic 'range of passing' - fact :wink:

I could not put it better myself, BY.

Andy W needs to be reminded that Zouma is an old-fashioned inside-forward in the tradition of, and of a similar quality to Bobby Johnstone, Alex Edwards, and Russell Latapy - great players none of whose boots AW was worthy to clean, never mind lace up....

:agree: There's an awful lot of football in those guys, mate. Miller and McBride ain't bad either.... :greengrin

EasterRoad4Ever
24-10-2009, 07:06 PM
One word:

Quality :agree:

24-10-2009, 07:11 PM
Guy on Sky news called it 'goal of the weekend' :thumbsup:

Lang Toun Hibs
24-10-2009, 07:22 PM
Sensational goal. I hope no one sees it apart from us or he'll attract a bit of interest in January.

24-10-2009, 07:24 PM
Sensational goal. I hope no one sees it apart from us or he'll attract a bit of interest in January.

Goal scored against Rangers at Ibrox? It never happened, mate.

Move along now - nothing to see here.... :rolleyes:

24-10-2009, 07:26 PM
:singing: Stokes, Stokes, Tony, Tony Stokes, he gets the ball and scores a goal, Tony, Tony Stokes. :singing:

blackhibee
24-10-2009, 07:29 PM
Brilliant skill and one of the best goals I've ever seen by Hibs. The dink over Whittaker, then Weir (both with the right foot) and a left foot volley to finish. Absolutely brilliant goal.

24-10-2009, 07:38 PM
Great goal and goo point, wish we could have nicked it. :agree:

FRes Hibbie
24-10-2009, 07:39 PM
Absolute quality finish. Guarantee it felt best in the away end at hunbrox :thumbsup:

24-10-2009, 07:39 PM
It was a great goal at the time, and its even better now, superb.

24-10-2009, 07:42 PM
That is absolutely sexual viewing:agree::thumbsup:

What a team we have just now, and going to Ibrox, playing great football, scoring a fantastic goal, what a turn around from the pish of last season!

forthhibby
24-10-2009, 07:56 PM
was a cracking goal when i seen it at the game, but simply sensational when you see the replays, but anthony............

why the **** did you not shoot near the end when you waltzed through the huns defence, were you wanting to take on the whole team before scoring :brickwall

24-10-2009, 07:58 PM
was a cracking goal when i seen it at the game, but simply sensational when you see the replays, but anthony............

why the **** did you not shoot near the end when you waltzed through the huns defence, were you wanting to take on the whole team before scoring :brickwall
Shouted the same at the time. He went wide instead of firing on target. He had a gaping chasm to fire through too.

Ants
24-10-2009, 08:12 PM
Whooooaahhhhhhh........
Settle down lads.

It was only a great goal against the famous Glasgow Rangers, soon to be in the English league.............:blah::blah:

Us meer lowlifes should be greatful that their defence allowed a shot against them, just to keep their goalies mind on the game and not on his after match activities, soon to be disclosed in the ever reliable NOTW for the third successive boring week in a row..........

Mr A. Stokes, take a bow son!

24-10-2009, 08:15 PM
The best bit for me was watching the Hibs fans in the background when he dinks it over that pr&ck Mcgregor, gutted I turned down 2 free tickets courtesey of Mr Stokes and Mr Stack, never mind was a brilliant goal and a great game, done every single Hibee proud! GGTH :thumbsup:

CalgaryHibs
24-10-2009, 08:21 PM
Brilliant goal, could be goal of the season. has to be the best one so far this season.

this is first time for me seening this goal , totally agree with yoo "goal of the season"

24-10-2009, 08:27 PM
What the **** was the fud linesman doing? ****

Do you mean when he tried to stop Stokesy going to the fans? I thought he was saving him a booking. Did the linesman do something else that has :grr:ed you?

Expecting Rain
24-10-2009, 08:44 PM
Classy finish by a classy striker.:thumbsup:

Koom
24-10-2009, 08:49 PM
best goal seen at ibrox for along time...........................:agree:

chorley_fm
24-10-2009, 09:01 PM
genius

24-10-2009, 10:12 PM
Stokes Booking (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rvSk913us3A&feature=player_embedded)

Shocking decision from the ref that Mcgregor escaped a yellow :grr:

1875godsgift
24-10-2009, 10:36 PM
Stokes Booking (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rvSk913us3A&feature=player_embedded)

That was pure shocking awful by McGregor. And then being pushed about by the huns. Buckin' get in there n give it to him Stokesy!
Think the ref got it wrong big time there, as I'm sure he'll realise when he sees it again.

24-10-2009, 10:40 PM
How much do you want to ****ing smack David Weir after watching that clip:grr:

Away back to yer zimmer frame ya hun prick.:grr:

24-10-2009, 10:44 PM
Mcgregor you are a ****:bye::bye::bye:

How many times will this idiot con refs into booking opponents?

Ive seen this loser so many times now and get players booked for what HE DOES.

Total knob end of a guy..try that away from football and id lump you clean in the puss you utter shight bag .

blackhibee
24-10-2009, 11:28 PM
I wouldn't have blamed Papac who in my opinion was just trying to calm things down, but definitely McGregor to blame and that silly old goat Weir should have been yellow carded.

25-10-2009, 12:18 AM
I wouldn't have blamed Papac who in my opinion was just trying to calm things down, but definitely McGregor to blame and that silly old goat Weir should have been yellow carded.

Charlie - you should have gone to Specsavers. :devil:

25-10-2009, 12:53 AM
one for the **** bank

25-10-2009, 01:08 AM
here is the link

I am only getting a little 'image' icon in the top left of this screen - I have seen this happen elsewhere too although youtube itself still works. Anyone know what might be wrong?? :confused:

edit - working now after I downloaded flash player 10.

25-10-2009, 01:11 AM
As far as I can see, Stokes picked the ball up and was holding it out? McGregor didnt need to smash into him... Keepers are too protected nowadays. McGregor was to blame there.

25-10-2009, 01:19 AM
[URL="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rvSk913us3A&[/URL]

That's a joke! What about Papac and Weir grabbing and pushing as well?? Richmond is a fud, and McGregor is an even bigger fud :grr:

25-10-2009, 01:22 AM
class goal , keep it up ant...

25-10-2009, 02:09 AM
i met a man
he said to me
are you going to see
the moroccan messi
i went along
to see him play
he set up a goal
for super benji

Littlest Hobo
25-10-2009, 02:20 AM
Bumped into the man himself in George street tonight. First thing I done was to shake his hand and congratulate him on an absolutely stunning strike! :thumbsup:

25-10-2009, 07:10 AM
reminiscent of this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hGEczztuCyw&feature=related

25-10-2009, 08:38 AM
Bumped into the man himself in George street tonight. First thing I done was to shake his hand and congratulate him on an absolutely stunning strike! :thumbsup:
:bitchy: First thing you should have done was throw yourself to the ground clutching your face, in an ironic stylee.

Russian Hibs Fan
25-10-2009, 08:44 AM
WHAT A GOAAAAAALLLL!!!!!!!! Well done! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

25-10-2009, 09:55 AM

:agree: The only way McGregor could possibly have hurt his head is if he hit it off the turf after he threw himself to the ground like a big girl. Definately tried to con the ref - cheating fud!

25-10-2009, 12:27 PM
Nothing short of sensational finish. Stokes should be very very proud of that moment.

chipmunk hibby
25-10-2009, 02:40 PM
any of us see the goal at ibrox tht stokes burreid it was a cracker.
me and sleeping giant watched the replay.he fliked the ball over whittickers headfrom behind and vollied it into the top corner.
allan mcgreggor had no chance of saving that 1.:thumbsup:

25-10-2009, 02:47 PM
What a goal.

Didn't sound as good on the radio, according to them it was a defensive slip by Whittaker, instead of what it was, a great piece of skill.

25-10-2009, 03:24 PM
What a goal.

Didn't sound as good on the radio, according to them it was a defensive slip by Whittaker, instead of what it was, a great piece of skill.

You know what it's like yourself - if HIbs lose a goal we tend to look for the mistake while if HIbs score we tend to look for the good play.

That tells you all you need to know regarding the sympathies of the commentators... :wink:

26-10-2009, 08:56 PM
video has now been withdrawn from youtube because the SPL objected:grr:

26-10-2009, 09:08 PM
Good thing i downloaded it and stuck it on my phone already then :thumbsup:

26-10-2009, 09:10 PM
i met a man
he said to me
are you going to see
the moroccan messi
i went along
to see him play
he set up a goal
for super benji

02-11-2009, 08:00 AM
Anybody have this and able to send it to me. Stuck in Oz and desperately needing some Hibee action of the Stokes variety.

02-11-2009, 08:40 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsIMTqg8szM

poor quality but worth it.