View Full Version : Man Kills Dog

24-10-2009, 10:19 AM
What do you think of this?

A man killed him dog in a public park (by strangulation) after it attacked a boy. The dog was not on a lead.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/west_midlands/8322343.stm?ls

I think he took the correct action in having it destroyed but it should have been at a vet. Of course he should have had it on a lead.

24-10-2009, 10:22 AM
What do you think of this?

A man killed him dog in a public park (by strangulation) after it attacked a boy. The dog was not on a lead.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/west_midlands/8322343.stm?ls

I think he took the correct action in having it destroyed but it should have been at a vet. Of course he should have had it on a lead.

didnt read the full story, but blame the owner, not the dog. Train it, treat it well, get it on a lead. simple.

24-10-2009, 10:25 AM
didnt read the full story, but blame the owner, not the dog. Train it, treat it well, get it on a lead. simple.

There's always the potential for dogs to attack, whether it be in a friendly way or not, regardless of how well trained.

24-10-2009, 10:50 AM
Watched the video and didn't really get what I was supposed to be seeing then read the story underneath.

That's just sick. Although it might has been a knee jerk reaction from the owner after seeing what his dog did to the wee boy. Not that I agree with what he did.

On another note, did anyone see this on the news last night?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/northamptonshire/8323217.stm

I don't know how some people can live with themselves, I really don't.

24-10-2009, 11:46 AM
There's always the potential for dogs to attack, whether it be in a friendly way or not, regardless of how well trained.

hence the get it on a lead bit. if you take the dog on, you should take on the responsablility of its potential actions. full stop.

Sumner
24-10-2009, 12:13 PM
He did the right thing, nae luck Scooby :top marks

hibsdaft
24-10-2009, 01:06 PM
strange story!

24-10-2009, 01:08 PM
Completely unfit to be in charge of any dog. A dog's character almost always reflects the character of the person in charge - dangerous dogs usually go with dangerous people.

First off, a responsible dog owner wouldn't have allowed the dog off the lead in a public park. That would have stopped the attack before it happened.

Second, what he should have done is get the dog under control immediately, then phoned for the emergency services - the wee boy was hurt and needed medical attention, and the police needed to be informed about what had happened. That's assuming, of course, that he has the brain cells to carry and use a mobile phone.

If the dog needed to be put down, it should have been done by a trained veterinary surgeon, in controlled and humane circumstances. Strangling the dog in front of onlookers tells you all you need to know about this guy - he's a danger to society and needs locking up.

If this is how this individual treats his dog, I wouldn't like to be a member of his family. His wife and children are in serious danger from him.

PiemanP
24-10-2009, 01:17 PM
I had a run in with a guy + dog a few months back, was walking through harrison park and a dog came up and bit me (wasnt anything sore or damaging, but was still a bite) so straight after it i gave it a mighty boot with the right peg and killed it.

In no way had i wanted to kill the dog, it was a spur of the moment thing, and tbh i think it was fully justifyable.

next week, police round to the door, the guy got fined for the dogs actions (think he actually got an asbo?) but i got cautioned after the owner came up to me with a stick and i stuck him on his arse:grr:

Hate dogs ever since!!

hibsdaft
24-10-2009, 01:21 PM
what sort of dog was it?

PiemanP
24-10-2009, 01:47 PM
what sort of dog was it?

I know nothing about dogs tbh, although it was a scruffy hairy skinny thing with big nashers :eek:

had to go to the doctor to get about 4 tests done after it too:grr:

24-10-2009, 04:07 PM
I had a run in with a guy + dog a few months back, was walking through harrison park and a dog came up and bit me (wasnt anything sore or damaging, but was still a bite) so straight after it i gave it a mighty boot with the right peg and killed it.

In no way had i wanted to kill the dog, it was a spur of the moment thing, and tbh i think it was fully justifyable.

next week, police round to the door, the guy got fined for the dogs actions (think he actually got an asbo?) but i got cautioned after the owner came up to me with a stick and i stuck him on his arse:grr:

Hate dogs ever since!!

26-10-2009, 10:19 PM
Watched the video and didn't really get what I was supposed to be seeing then read the story underneath.

That's just sick. Although it might has been a knee jerk reaction from the owner after seeing what his dog did to the wee boy. Not that I agree with what he did.

On another note, did anyone see this on the news last night?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/northamptonshire/8323217.stm

I don't know how some people can live with themselves, I really don't.

18 weeks wasn't long enough IMO :agree:

26-10-2009, 10:29 PM
I suppose it depends on the situation, but it's fair to say I probably wouldn't hesitate to give a dog a boot if it was attacking a kid. Probably a totally poor thing to say, but if it's a straight choice between seeing a kid getting disfigured (or worse), and feeling guilty about hoofing a dog, then I'd rather feel guilty for the dog than the child.

If I was in any way trained or knowledgeable on how to calm a dog down in a way that meant there was no danger to the child, and no need for a boot to the dog, then I'd obviously do that instead.

Strangling the thing is a bit much though.:agree:

Edit : just read the actual story (probably should have done that first) - the fact that the boy was the dog's owner changes things a fair bit. I was talking from the point of view of someone else's dog attacking a child. The guy should have taken the wrap for the incident, and had the dog dealt with appropriately.

26-10-2009, 10:56 PM
My stepson has two Rotties and they are the softest and best behaved of dogs. They play with our Miniature Schnauzer even though they are about three times the size and they all get on really well. They were bought as puppies and properly trained as opposed to being got from a Dog Rescue.
He had other dogs previously from Rescue Centres and had to take them back as they had behavioural problems.

ChooseLife
27-10-2009, 12:37 AM

Hate dogs ever since!!

would it be fully justifyable if someone killed you because you stuck the guy on his arse?

27-10-2009, 09:18 AM
I suppose it depends on the situation, but it's fair to say I probably wouldn't hesitate to give a dog a boot if it was attacking a kid. Probably a totally poor thing to say, but if it's a straight choice between seeing a kid getting disfigured (or worse), and feeling guilty about hoofing a dog, then I'd rather feel guilty for the dog than the child.

I agree and I would feel no guilt for booting the dog.

would it be fully justifyable if someone killed you because you stuck the guy on his arse?

No. How ridiculous.

hibsdaft
27-10-2009, 09:34 AM

no debate needed there imo :agree::agree:

27-10-2009, 07:12 PM
I have seen 2 of my dogs (dalmatians) having a square go with each other and it's not nice. One of the times I got bitten trying to separate them and the other time we did end of having to hit both of them very hard to separate them.

So if you saw them doing this to a child of course you first instinct is to give them a boot. However, in this instance I believe that the dog was no longer attacking the child and the owner did this after it had happened. Hard to say what was going on in his head.

27-10-2009, 07:20 PM
The owner must think he's a right hard man eh :bitchy:

Someone should strangle him :bye:

I've got 2 dogs and if they were to bite someone i can imagine that person would be annoyed but i would not expect them to hit or harm my dogs in anyway..

Takes a proper big man to hurt a animal :rolleyes:

27-10-2009, 07:31 PM
too many half-wits with dogs IMO giving responsible owners a bad name.

Dog fouling and dog attacks need to be addressed. Some streets are just a toilet. Dog wardens are in cushtie numbers from what I can see. 9-5 and pretty powerless in my experience. Therefore I ask what is the point?

If a half-wit is persistent and knows their way around the system - let your dog out on its own ("oh dear it escaped - sorry") out of hours in the dark nobody knows who it is. For these muppets this system fails the good citizens that have to put up with this. So for this reason I ask dog-wardens what is the point and what do we actually get for our money. Leafleting and visits to speak with such numpties achieves nothing for the persistent offenders.

If I were looking to cut back I'd either cut/redeploy them or give them powers to actually do the job then need to do - out of hours, mobile cctv etc.

Dog licenses? Penalises the decent owners (most likely OAPs in real need of the company a dog offers). If folks drink drive, drive without a license/insurance same will apply for dog licenses.

The solution? Darwinism - get these half-wits out the gene pool. Unfortunately they are the ones doing the procreation - so we're all doomed ala the film Idiocracy.

27-10-2009, 07:55 PM

I've got 2 dogs and if they were to bite someone i can imagine that person would be annoyed but i would not expect them to hit or harm my dogs in anyway..

Annoyed? I think I'd be more than annoyed if someone's dog came up to me and bit me.
Are you honestly saying that if some random dog came up and bit you, you wouldn't try and boot its erse?

27-10-2009, 09:41 PM
Annoyed? I think I'd be more than annoyed if someone's dog came up to me and bit me.
Are you honestly saying that if some random dog came up and bit you, you wouldn't try and boot its erse?

There's booting their erse and there's purposely trying seriously injure..

IndieHibby
27-10-2009, 10:39 PM
There's booting their erse and there's purposely trying seriously injure..

Seriously - if your dog tried to attack me, I wouldn't hesitate in giving it a hiding until it stopped.

In fact, if you didn't do the same, then I would look to have you charged.

Your dog is your responsibility.

27-10-2009, 10:40 PM

To be honest, if a dog bit me and that was that - only a bite, I'd be a bit annoyed and I'd tell it's owner, but I'd not be looking to harm it.

If it was relentlessly attacking me then I'd give it a good boot, like.

28-10-2009, 12:58 AM
My dog bit someone recently in the ankle and one a while ago.

Both incidents occurred during the day, when my mum has been signed off work with depression.

She admits to feeling scared when people approach her when she is out, did the dog pick up on this and feel like he had to protect her?

How do you punish that?

He is normally a lovely dog, more likely to lick you to death than anything else.

28-10-2009, 06:30 AM
Seriously - if your dog tried to attack me, I wouldn't hesitate in giving it a hiding until it stopped.

In fact, if you didn't do the same, then I would look to have you charged.

Your dog is your responsibility.

Attack, nipped, scratched, bit, bitten more than once, these are all different things!

I never said attack, I said bite!

My dogs are properly trained so I doubt very much they would 'Attack' you, unless you gave them reason to do so..

But say they jumped up at you and nipped you because they were excited, friendly etc I'd hardly expect them to get a 'Hiding' from you or deserve one from me..

Obviously a 'attack' is a different scenario..

You would also expect me to give my dogs a hiding if they were to bite you? Or attack you? Nip you? Don't think so, giving a dog a 'hiding' doesn't teach them anything!

But I should probably give them a 'hiding' anyway as you sound like a hard man..

28-10-2009, 07:40 AM
The only time I would hit an animal is if it was attacking me and I could get it to stop.

28-10-2009, 08:04 AM
Attack, nipped, scratched, bit, bitten more than once, these are all different things!

My dogs are properly trained so I doubt very much they would 'Attack' you, unless you gave them reason to do so..

But say they jumped up at you and nipped you because they were excited, friendly etc I'd hardly expect them to get a 'Hiding' from you or deserve one from me..

You would also expect me to give my dogs a hiding if they were to bite you? Or attack you? Nip you? Don't think so, giving a dog a 'hiding' doesn't teach them anything!

But I should probably give them a 'hiding' anyway as you sound like a hard man..

You write as if everyone should be quite content if your dog, being 'friendly', nips, scratches, bites them, bites them more than once. Anything, in fact, except attacks them. You do realise that for large numbers of people none of these behaviours are welcome or acceptable?

28-10-2009, 09:09 AM
He did the right thing, nae luck Scooby :top marks

Sorry, I might be sick but:faf:

28-10-2009, 09:56 AM
You write as if everyone should be quite content if your dog, being 'friendly', nips, scratches, bites them, bites them more than once. Anything, in fact, except attacks them. You do realise that for large numbers of people none of these behaviours are welcome or acceptable?

I know fine well this behaviour wouldn't be acceptable but I'd not expect someone to discipline, injure or try to kill my dog..

If someone's kid was to smash your window, scratch/dent your car or any other act of unacceptable behaviour would you feel it was your place to physically hurt or discipline the child or would you let the parent deal with it?

BravestHibs
28-10-2009, 10:07 AM
I've been bitten by a dog before. Nothing serious but it wasn't particularly enjoyable either. I personally don't think I'd have it in me to kill a dog by kicking it to death as they are just dumb animals however, I wouldn't hesitate to hack the owners legs off with the enormous sword I've started carry about with me in case I'm faced with the same situation again.

28-10-2009, 12:27 PM
I know fine well this behaviour wouldn't be acceptable but I'd not expect someone to discipline, injure or try to kill my dog..

If someone's kid was to smash your window, scratch/dent your car or any other act of unacceptable behaviour would you feel it was your place to physically hurt or discipline the child or would you let the parent deal with it?

Wouldn't have any problem whatsoever physically disciplining a child, stranger or otherwise, who I found sinking its teeth into someone I knew.

---------- Post added at 01:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:25 PM ----------

The only time I would hit an animal is if it was attacking me and I could get it to stop.

You would never intervene on behalf of, say, a child? :confused:

IndieHibby
28-10-2009, 12:53 PM
I'd just like to point out that any comparison between a dog and a child, in this context, is completely ridiculous....

So basically, you are trying to imply, by your comment in bold, that if I perceived that your dog was attacking me, yet you perceived that he had only bitten me, then my act of self defence would be interpreted by you, as me making myself feel superior (or a 'hard man' as you so pejoratively put) by being unecessarily physical with the dog?

No offence mate, but you are seriously wide of what I would regard as having a decent notion of civil responsibility.

Your attitude seems to be that only you have the right to discipline your dog in the way you see fit.

I have been responsible for dogs all my life and if there is one thing that I have learned, then it is that dogs are pack animals by nature, have a need to perceive that their owner is their 'pack leader', otherwise their natural instinct to compete with others to become the 'alpha' dog comes out, leading to unpredictable outbursts of dominance-seeking behaviour.

If you have trained your dogs in such a way as they wouldn't bite someone, then well done (seriously). It requires dedication and repititive re-inforcing of rewarded behaviours.

But I know, as do you I imagine, that there are many many people who are dog owers who have not the faintest notion of how to train and control a dog, yet allow thiers to run riot.

To suggest that I would be acting out of a desire to inflate my ego when defending myself against a dog is a little bit over the top and, frankly, childish.

N.B. - There is no comparison between a pup's playful nip and a dog that is biting. No adult dog should be biting any non-confrontational person. Most people are capable of making that distinction, imo. It is very clearly not what we are discussing here.

28-10-2009, 01:36 PM
Wouldn't have any problem whatsoever physically disciplining a child, stranger or otherwise, who I found sinking its teeth into someone I knew.

---------- Post added at 01:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:25 PM ----------

You would never intervene on behalf of, say, a child? :confused:

I think your clutching at straws mate. What do you think

28-10-2009, 01:48 PM
I think your clutching at straws mate. What do you thinkWell I dunno you, so I dunno. Just thought your phrasing was a bit odd. I would hope that you would intervene on behalf of a child, but I have come across people who quite clearly, unequivocally, believe that their dogs have the same rights as children and would not be at all happy about discriminating in favour of children. They seem to think that their dogs terrorising young children is nothing more than good fun for their 'playful' 'friendly' dogs.

28-10-2009, 01:59 PM
Devil Dogs... Burn them :agree:

Good post Stueyn, come accross completly different in your previous post..

28-10-2009, 02:19 PM

I'd expect the victim to, at the very least, shout at them. I'd then do the long term discipline.

If one of your dogs nips my son, I'd boot it with my right foot and you could deal with the long term consequences. If your dog sinks its teeth in, I'd do whatever it took to protect my son. Whatever it took.

There's no comparison between a smashed window and a maimed or killed kid.

28-10-2009, 02:34 PM
I'd expect the victim to, at the very least, shout at them. I'd then do the long term discipline.

If one of your dogs nips my son, I'd boot it with my right foot and you could deal with the long term consequences. If your dog sinks its teeth in, I'd do whatever it took to protect my son. Whatever it took.

There's no comparison between a smashed window and a maimed or killed kid.

I know there isn't..

As a home owner and non council dosser it costs a fortune to repair a window whereas the NHS do the kids for free..

IndieHibby
28-10-2009, 02:44 PM
Devil Dogs... Burn them :agree:

Good post Stueyn, come accross completly different in your previous post..

Fair do's :wink:

IndieHibby
28-10-2009, 02:48 PM
I know there isn't..

As a home owner and non council dosser it costs a fortune to repair a window whereas the NHS do the kids for free..

Cue : 'moral outrage' :duck:

28-10-2009, 03:20 PM
I know there isn't..

If you're not a dosser, your wage slips will tell you that it's far from free!

28-10-2009, 08:44 PM
Cue : 'moral outrage' :duck:

If you're not a dosser, your wage slips will tell you that it's far from free!

Cash in hand man, cash in hand..

28-10-2009, 08:54 PM

Peg selling hobo!! :grr:

29-10-2009, 07:45 AM

In itself an offence :cool2:

I'm with Beefster and Sumner - nae luck dug!

If it was me - and any dog even my own - I'd have no qualms in booting it and it that was fatal so be it.

29-10-2009, 07:53 AM
This wee pup was kicked to death, after it ran up to three people in a park. It died instantly after being booted in the head.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/cambridgeshire/8329496.stm

29-10-2009, 08:28 AM
This wee pup was kicked to death, after it ran up to three people in a park. It died instantly after being booted in the head.

Should be jailed..

29-10-2009, 09:20 AM
Should be jailed..

I agree.

BravestHibs
29-10-2009, 09:35 AM

The only time it's acceptable to kill an animal is if you eat it afterwards. That doesn't appear to be the case in this instance.

29-10-2009, 09:55 AM

That's just sick people though. Not the same scenario as being attacked but sad all the same.

Green Mikey
29-10-2009, 10:14 AM
The only time it's acceptable to kill an animal is if you eat it afterwards. That doesn't appear to be the case in this instance.

Sorry, I don't agree. There are two instances where it is acceptable to kill an animal...for food and for sport.

IndieHibby
29-10-2009, 11:32 AM

Your comment made me laugh!

Can you imagine if they had? Would it have been acceptable then? ( :wink: )

BravestHibs
29-10-2009, 11:37 AM
Your comment made me laugh!

Can you imagine if they had? Would it have been acceptable then? ( :wink: )

As long as they used it's coat to make driving gloves as well. Nothing wasted, like the inuit people with Karabou.

29-10-2009, 08:12 PM
The fact that he could do that to his dog would sort of hint at his sense of responsability or rather lack of.

Arch Stanton
29-10-2009, 08:40 PM
I don't know if anyone here has watched the TV program called the Dog Whisperer but he has often been seen on camera kicking dogs and also wrestling them flat onto the ground and holding them firmly by the neck until they acquiesce and remain still. (I know that all sounds terrible but you need to see the program to understand. Anyway, he is someone I admire greatly and believe he has amazing insights into human and animal behaviour.)

Having said that, the guy who killed his dog may indeed be a vicious moron but it does not necessarily follow.

29-10-2009, 10:00 PM
I don't know if anyone here has watched the TV program called the Dog Whisperer but he has often been seen on camera kicking dogs and also wrestling them flat onto the ground and holding them firmly by the neck until they acquiesce and remain still. (I know that all sounds terrible but you need to see the program to understand. Anyway, he is someone I admire greatly and believe he has amazing insights into human and animal behaviour.)

Having said that, the guy who killed his dog may indeed be a vicious moron but it does not necessarily follow.

Caesar Milan I think....he's a nutter...but a good Dog training nutter :greengrin

Been bitten by a dog before whilst doing a paper round...wasn't sore but caused some inflamation of the ankle...

Wouldn't expect the dog to be destroyed because of it though...

Marabou Stork
29-10-2009, 10:10 PM
I got bit on either side of my achilles tendon by a chihuahua a few years back. The little b*****d flew about twenty feet within half a second.

IndieHibby
31-10-2009, 02:39 PM
Caesar Milan I think....he's a nutter...but a good Dog training nutter :greengrin

Been bitten by a dog before whilst doing a paper round...wasn't sore but caused some inflamation of the ankle...

Wouldn't expect the dog to be destroyed because of it though...

That's fair enough - most people would probably feel the same.

But the Police have a different problem when presented with dogs like this, as they have to assume that if the dog is capable of biting a person once, then they are likely to do it again at some point in the future. Hence, they have to destroy it.

It depends on whether those that are bitten report it to the police.

However, what if the dog that bit you went on to attack someone else, who maybe wasn't as lucky (or as capable of putting the dog off) as you were?

I'm not saying you would have any culpability - however, you would have the knowledge that you were aware of a danger and didn't seek to mitigate it...

anon1
03-11-2009, 10:00 AM

BS44
03-11-2009, 08:36 PM
I got bit on either side of my achilles tendon by a chihuahua a few years back. The little b*****d flew about twenty feet within half a second.