View Full Version : Remembrance day tributes

creebo1875
16-10-2009, 09:48 AM
Read in the paper yesterday that Falkirk may change there remembrance day tributes to a minutes applause because celtic supporters cant gaurantee there fans will respect a minutes silence.

If this game is televised i hope the "greatest fans in the world" show themselves for what they really are.

16-10-2009, 10:11 AM
Maybe you should wait until they've done it before jumping to conclusions.

creebo1875
16-10-2009, 10:16 AM
How am i jumping to conclusions???

Its a reality that Falkirk are seeking advice on how to the handle the situation.
I say keep the minutes silence and if these fools dont respect that, let sky sports broadcast there stupidity around the globe and show them for what they really are.

16-10-2009, 10:28 AM
TBH I'm more worried about our one at Tynecastle. Not that it will get distrupted on purpose, but because some people can't keep there trap after 8 pints, still amazes me how people can't tell there's a minutes silence when walking into a stadium.

16-10-2009, 10:36 AM
Why is there a remembrance day silence, cant remember it happening before?

16-10-2009, 10:45 AM
TBH I'm more worried about our one at Tynecastle. Not that it will get distrupted on purpose, but because some people can't keep there trap after 8 pints, still amazes me how people can't tell there's a minutes silence when walking into a stadium.

I think the club should put something in the programme in the games leading up to this one. Also, maybe there should be signs or something on the way into the stadium, to remind supporters about the silence. Maybe even a supporter led initiative, with volunteers holding up signs at the entrance and in the concourse behind the stand.

I'd like to make it clear that I don't consider it either Hibs (or Hearts) responsibility if drunken idiots can't keep their traps shut. I'm just trying to think of ways to minimize the harm to the reputation of the club and it's (decent) supporters.

dalkeith stu
16-10-2009, 10:48 AM
Would put a big dent in their EPL dream if this was to happen.

16-10-2009, 10:49 AM
Read in the paper yesterday that Falkirk may change there remembrance day tributes to a minutes applause because celtic supporters cant gaurantee there fans will respect a minutes silence.

If this game is televised i hope the "greatest fans in the world" show themselves for what they really are.

That works two ways though doesn't it? While I would not pre-judge what the Celtic fans may or not do, a minutes' silence is a mark of respect and you demonstrate your opinion by the way that you behave during, what is a very public display. While many of us on this site would all agree that some of the opinions held by an element of [ not all!!] Celtic fans are utterly repellent, if there was booing and whistling, would that be news? Would it be a story that the British Army, the Union Jack and the concept of being British are all routinely despised. Despite the obvious flaws in this line of narrative, this happens week in week out and IMHO this is just wrong irrespective of the context.

JackRegan
16-10-2009, 10:54 AM
Why is there a remembrance day silence, cant remember it happening before?

there was a tribute last year for the 90th aanniversary of the Armistace and there was one in 1998 to mark the 80th, whcih was well observed by Celtic fans.

Although you are right, there was never anything for years.

However I can't help but think that much of the "resurgance" (for want of a better word) of remembrance day is bit of Govt. spin to defelect from the quagmire that is Afghanistan and was Iraq.

16-10-2009, 11:03 AM
The greatest fans in the world would never do that surely?

Sky will turn off [down] the microphones, same as all the TV companies do, when the bigot brothers recite their sectarian bile.

16-10-2009, 11:09 AM
A minutes silence at the beginning of a match is near enough impossible. People are still arriving and some will have been drinking and in high spirits. I also think that the more nervous types maybe get a bit spooked and have to open their traps, either to try and be funny or just because they don't get what is going on.

Why do clubs still bother with them? There have been too many incidents, with a press just slavering to get some juicy angle on a story that doesn't actually exist. It happened with the Popes minutes silence (WTF was that about?), it has happened at Parkhead, we have done it at Tynecastle - a minute's silence for some guy half the Yams hadn't heard about.

Why do they insist on tempting fate? I think that a minutes applause isn't appropriate for the Armisitice, it isn't the tradition. Besides it's the 11th hour of the 11th day it's based on, why have another minute's silence later in the day, it's a showbiz slant on a very real tragedy. It's funny how it has all become a bit schmaltzy, I bet they paid it proper respect in the 20s and 30s, when it meant something very real to the participants.

Keep it away from the stadiums!

16-10-2009, 11:09 AM
there was a tribute last year for the 90th aanniversary of the Armistace

Was that when you done a round of applause?

16-10-2009, 11:18 AM
We havent exactly covered ourselves in glory in the past so i think the sanctimony may be a trifle premature.

JackRegan
16-10-2009, 11:30 AM
Was that when you done a round of applause?

Think so but I was late that day.

16-10-2009, 11:32 AM
If Falkirk are looking for advice, I'd say "Eddie May isn't a very good manager".

16-10-2009, 11:33 AM
If Falkirk are looking for advice, I'd say "Eddie May isn't a very good manager".

I'd say sell Darren Barr to Hibs for £50k in January.

16-10-2009, 12:06 PM
A minutes silence at the beginning of a match is near enough impossible. People are still arriving and some will have been drinking and in high spirits. I also think that the more nervous types maybe get a bit spooked and have to open their traps, either to try and be funny or just because they don't get what is going on.

Why do clubs still bother with them? There have been too many incidents, with a press just slavering to get some juicy angle on a story that doesn't actually exist. It happened with the Popes minutes silence (WTF was that about?), it has happened at Parkhead, we have done it at Tynecastle - a minute's silence for some guy half the Yams hadn't heard about.

Why do they insist on tempting fate? I think that a minutes applause isn't appropriate for the Armisitice, it isn't the tradition. Besides it's the 11th hour of the 11th day it's based on, why have another minute's silence later in the day, it's a showbiz slant on a very real tragedy. It's funny how it has all become a bit schmaltzy, I bet they paid it proper respect in the 20s and 30s, when it meant something very real to the participants.

Not so last season at ER - impecably observed at home to Inverness - crowd of about 12,000 - not that I'd blame you for having wiped that fixture from your consciousness :boo hoo:

That said, it's strange that it's all of a sudden become an annual feature - never was before although I've no objection.

It's probably because of the soldiers serving in Afganistan - there seems to be another death at least every week and maybe the SPL just think it appropriate for that reason.

Who knows! regarding Falkirk though - I think they should just hold a minute's silence and if some in the Smellie's end disgrace themselves then lets see if TGFITW are capable of policing themselves. If they are then fine - if not then the backlash will serve as a boot in the erse that they obviously need to root out the biggots and ban them.

Aubenas
16-10-2009, 12:33 PM
I think it's a matter of respect - I don't need to have known the deceased to pause out of respect when a funeral goes by.

I don't support a British state and I think the soldiers dying in Afghanistan and formerly in Iraq have been ill served by their government - but I' d have to be a complete to**er not to recognise their sacrifice and the loss to their family and mates.

Sadly, some folk are so stupidly selfish these days, they don't have the ability to respect anyone else for anything - which actually diminishes them more than whatever they are disrespecting. I've had many chats with Celtc fans of a certain persuasion pointing out that there are many examples of British troops respecting Republicans as brave men - in 1916 and more recently - but, like pointing out to Huns that the Pope supported King Billy - they just don't want to hear it. There's no mind so small as one that's closed.

16-10-2009, 12:44 PM
there was a tribute last year for the 90th aanniversary of the Armistace and there was one in 1998 to mark the 80th, whcih was well observed by Celtic fans.

Although you are right, there was never anything for years.

However I can't help but think that much of the "resurgance" (for want of a better word) of remembrance day is bit of Govt. spin to defelect from the quagmire that is Afghanistan and was Iraq.

You're right, there was a tribute last year.

Every single club in the entire country held a minute's silence before their match that weekend, except for Celtic that is, who thought it would be more appropriate to hold a minute's applause instead before their home match against Motherwell, in case some of the IRA sympathisers within Parkhead attempted to spoil the occasion.

Apparently the minute's applause is now the done thing at Parkhead, as they have done it that way to mark the passing of Tommy Burns and also for Jimmy Johnstone and now Celtic feel it's also the way to mark the deaths of millions of British soldiers.

At least that's what they're saying officially.

Only in Scotland would holding a minute's silence for those who have lost their lives whilst serving their country cause so much controversy and outrage. It's absolutely disgraceful, in fact, that anyone should have a problem with it. However if, for whatever reason, you do have a problem and don't feel that you can pay your respects, then why not leave the rest of us, who do want to pay our respects, alone and come into the stadium after the silence has finished and take your seat just in time for kick off?

I'm quite sure that the vast majority of Celtic fans have no problems at all with observing a minute's silence so shame on Falkirk if they hold a minute's applause in its place and subsequently pander to the bampots who would choose to disrupt it all.

16-10-2009, 01:12 PM
We havent exactly covered ourselves in glory in the past so i think the sanctimony may be a trifle premature.

Exactly, check out the whiter than white brigade jumping straight in. So predictable.

16-10-2009, 01:13 PM
I think it's a matter of respect - I don't need to have known the deceased to pause out of respect when a funeral goes by.

I don't support a British state and I think the soldiers dying in Afghanistan and formerly in Iraq have been ill served by their government - but I' d have to be a complete to**er not to recognise their sacrifice and the loss to their family and mates.

Sadly, some folk are so stupidly selfish these days, they don't have the ability to respect anyone else for anything - which actually diminishes them more than whatever they are disrespecting. I've had many chats with Celtc fans of a certain persuasion pointing out that there are many examples of British troops respecting Republicans as brave men - in 1916 and more recently - but, like pointing out to Huns that the Pope supported King Billy - they just don't want to hear it. There's no mind so small as one that's closed.

JackRegan
16-10-2009, 01:14 PM

Every single club in the entire country held a minute's silence before their match that weekend, except for Celtic that is, who thought it would be more appropriate to hold a minute's applause instead before their home match against Motherwell, in case some of the IRA sympathisers within Parkhead attempted to spoil the occasion.

Apparently the minute's applause is now the done thing at Parkhead, as they have done it that way to mark the passing of Tommy Burns and also for Jimmy Johnstone and now Celtic feel it's also the way to mark the deaths of millions of British soldiers.

Only in Scotland would holding a minute's silence for those who have lost their lives whilst serving their country cause so much controversy and outrage. It's absolutely disgraceful, in fact, that anyone should have a problem with it. However if, for whatever reason, you do have a problem and don't feel that you can pay your respects, then why not leave the rest of us, who do want to pay our respects, alone and come into the stadium after the silence has finished and take your seat just in time for kick off?

I'm quite sure that the vast majority of Celtic fans have no problems at all with observing a minute's silence so shame on Falkirk if they hold a minute's applause in its place and subsequently pander to the bampots who would choose to disrupt it all.

The "minutes appluase" was actually brought in after Hearts fans disrupted the minute's silence for the Pope. For the record I don't think he should have got a minutes silence or applause as he has nothing to do with Scottish Football.

Celtic fans have completely trashed two minutes silences that I can think of.

1.) Ibrox disaster in 1990 at Ibrox and:
2.) queen maw in 2002

The 25th anniversary of the Ibrox disaster in 1996 was disrupted but only by a few idiots.

I am with Filled Rolls on this - keep it out the Stadiums.

FFS as a Celtic fan I've done one for two wee lassies murdered in England (Holly Wells and Jessica Chapman - tragic case, but why should Partick and Celtic fans have a minutes silence?)

I will make three points on this and depart and allow the usual diatribes come from the usual suspects.

1.) The high profile courting of the armed forces by Rangers FC and high jacking of Remembrance Sunday is particulalry distasteful and cynical.

2.) In the midst of unpopular wars and huge youth unemployemnt where hundreds of thousands of innocents have died, I find the recent "resurgence" of Remembrance to resemble more of a glorification of wars and pretty distasteful.

3.) I hope those Celtic fans attending respect the minutes silence. If I am in the ground on time I will, although not out of any love or support for the armed forces. If those intellectual pygmies, who have suddenly got all political with their Penguin Book of Socialism want to protest, then they should simply wait outside and not offend anyone who does wish to pay their respects. If they feel that strongly, then they should be reminded of our Chairman's role in these wars and boycott Celtic Park, as opposed to just hanging one of their banners upside down.

16-10-2009, 01:54 PM
Regarding the idea of a minute's applause - I can see the point of such a gesture in relation to an individual - especially an entertainer - such that the applause can be easilly seen as a sign of appreciation for all that person's achievements.
However, this does not ring true in the slightest when the idea is to respect the memory of a number of victims of some kind of disaster - whether it be the murder of innocents, a natural disaster such as the tsunnami, the Bradford fire or Ibrox disaster, the twin towers or the victims of WW1 that are being remembered, a minute's applause is absurd - perverted even as it could easilly be interpretted as a sign of approval!
So, whatever the rights or wrongs of actually doing something to officially recognise remebrance day on an annual basis, the only way to go about it is with a minutes silence IMO.
If we want to tackle any clubs who have a problem element to their support then the answer is simple - let it be known that the clubs themselves will be punished for any large scale disruption for the FACT that they are bringing our game in Scotland into disrepute and DOCK THEM POINTS.
Whether it be fuds in the Celtic end spoiling an act of remembrance or morons in the Hertz end disgracing Scotland with their puerile anti-pope bile, I believe that both would be swiftly and decisively dealt with by the the REAL football fans arround them if it were commonly known that their actions would actually harm their clubs' prospects in a league campaign.

16-10-2009, 02:01 PM

But this is the time of year when the Yams keep reminding us that they won the 1st World War on their own

James Lowe and Mcraes Battalions :blah::blah::blah:

16-10-2009, 02:11 PM
2.) In the midst of unpopular wars and huge youth unemployemnt where hundreds of thousands of innocents have died, I find the recent "resurgence" of Remembrance to resemble more of a glorification of wars and pretty distasteful.

I have to agree with that one. There seems to be more and more of this recently.

3.) I hope those Celtic fans attending respect the minutes silence. If I am in the ground on time I will, although not out of any love or support for the armed forces. If those intellectual pygmies, who have suddenly got all political with their Penguin Book of Socialism want to protest, then they should simply wait outside and not offend anyone who does wish to pay their respects. If they feel that strongly, then they should be reminded of our Chairman's role in these wars and boycott Celtic Park, as opposed to just hanging one of their banners upside down.

Oh and kudos for the 'Penguin book of socialism', that was quite funny..

16-10-2009, 02:27 PM
But this is the time of year when the Yams keep reminding us that they won the 1st World War on their own

Aye - but that's hardly what it's about is it???

And anyone that let's themselves be swayed into naysaying the whole remembrance day thing just cos some Yams make too much of a genuinely tragic story which is part of their club's history, is the greater small-minded fool IMO.

The Yams don't have any kind of exclusive ownership over that tragic period of history - my own grandad for instance served as a soldier in the trenches and later actually died on rememberance day - some said of a broken heart.

And anyone disrespecting rememberance day on political/anti-British grounds is completely missing the point by the way - rather than seeking to glorify any achievements on a battlefield the point is to REMEMBER the utter senseless tragedy that WW1 actually was and thereby to make people think twice before rushing headlong into such a disaster in future.

AndyP
16-10-2009, 02:30 PM

Rememberence Services have, IMO, never glorified ANY conflict in which men, women and children have lost thier lives and if the media choose to depict it as such then more fool them.

The recent resurgence is, again IMO, down to a spike in the interest of WW1 and the remaining veterans and will peak again in about 10 years when the WW2 vets are coming to their final numbers. The only difference I have seen in the Cenotaph parade in the prevailing years since I began watching (usually the night highlights btw) has been the precedence of the groups that lead the parade, it used to always be the Old Contemptables, then WW1 vets, WW2 and the remainder in chronological order.

16-10-2009, 02:37 PM
Can we not just have the poppies on the shirts as has been done before to show respect, no real need for a minutes silence given the many years which have passed without one.

JackRegan
16-10-2009, 02:38 PM
Rememberence Services have, IMO, never glorified ANY conflict in which men, women and children have lost thier lives and if the media choose to depict it as such then more fool them.

The recent resurgence is, again IMO, down to a spike in the interest of WW1 and the remaining veterans and will peak again in about 10 years when the WW2 vets are coming to their final numbers. The only difference I have seen in the Cenotaph parade in the prevailing years since I began watching (usually the night highlights btw) has been the precedence of the groups that lead the parade, it used to always be the Old Contemptables, then WW1 vets, WW2 and the remainder in chronological order.

I disagree with you to some extent. I will rephras emy original point. I think there has been a glorification of the Armed Forces and War. None more so with the use of words and phrasology such as "Our Brave Boys" and "Heroes". There has also been a recent trend for Rangers fans and loyalist sto "claim" these events as their own.

i'll give you an example...In my formative years I wa san altar boy, and I used to "guest" (help out) on the altar when i visitied my aunties parish in Johnstone on a Sunday. On two occasions, the British Legion left one of the RC Churches and marched with parishioners to Johnstone cenotaph. As an altar by I had to tag along. I quite enjoyed it, I liked seeing the flags and the guys marching and the Pipe Band. I then moved out to that neck of the woods 15 years ago. Went to the same Mass and done the same thing. Felt it was the right thing to do, consequently I made a point of attending the Mass which coincided with this. Then just 5 years ago, the Orange Order - band and all started attending.

AndyP
16-10-2009, 03:02 PM
I disagree with you to some extent. I will rephras emy original point. I think there has been a glorification of the Armed Forces and War. None more so with the use of words and phrasology such as "Our Brave Boys" and "Heroes". There has also been a recent trend for Rangers fans and loyalist sto "claim" these events as their own.

That certainly makes a lot more sense now Jack.

Having not lived Scotland for many a long year I can't comment one way or the other on what Rangers fans trends are but wonder if this its roots in any perceived attack on "their" rights :confused:

16-10-2009, 04:24 PM
Can we not just have the poppies on the shirts as has been done before to show respect, no real need for a minutes silence given the many years which have passed without one.

Totally agree. :agree:

16-10-2009, 04:27 PM
Not that many years ago if you wanted to pay your Remembrance respects you made the effort to attend a service of remembrance at a war memorial or in a church.This ensured that only those who wanted to pay their respects attended.

The 21st century cult of compulsory public mourning means that people find themselves being asked to show respect for people that they have no respect for. Regardless of the fact that this lack of respect is usually down to a combination of moronic ignorance and bigotry it results in situations like the Section N element of the Hertz support booing during the Popes silence and fears that the provisional wing of the Celtc support will boo during a minutes silence for those killed serving in the Armed Forces. In an ideal world folk who dissaproved would stay under the stands or choose to take their seats a wee bit later but were dealing with pondlife here .... and every club has them.

By allowing themselves to be drawn into the post Diana cult of compulsory public grieving the fitba authorities have made a rod for their own back every year at remembrance time and every time a high profile non fitba figure dies. Imho minutes silences / applauses at fitba grounds should be confined to people whove had careers with the particular home club .... with due thought being given to the opposition attending on that day :wink:

16-10-2009, 04:42 PM
From what i've gathered from the tinterweb and from Tims i've spoken to, the real issue is the poppies on the shirt, not the minutes silence. Most i'd imagine would observe the minutes silence, bar a few wee clueless fannies, although we've all got stupid wee d1cks in our supports, make no mistake.

I wonder were the Green Brigade stands on this? They don't stop reminding us that they are a far left anti fascist group, so will they stop for a minute and pay respects to those that fought fascism, regardless of what flag they fought under, or will they throw the toys oot the pram and walk out again?

FWIW I don't think there should be minutes silence or applause for this full stop (Unless the games actually on Sunday 11th). I mean there won't be a minutes silence in the Gyle Shopping center or in the Standing Order or at a gig on Saturday 7th November, so why at a football ground?

If people want to pay their respects, surely they can do it on Sunday at 11am?

16-10-2009, 04:43 PM
Not that many years ago if you wanted to pay your Remembrance respects you made the effort to attend a service of remembrance at a war memorial or in a church.This ensured that only those who wanted to pay their respects attended.

The 21st century cult of compulsory public mourning means that people find themselves being asked to show respect for people that they have no respect for. Regardless of the fact that this lack of respect is usually down to a combination of moronic ignorance and bigotry it results in situations like the Section N element of the Hertz support booing during the Popes silence and fears that the provisional wing of the Celtc support will boo during a minutes silence for those killed serving in the Armed Forces. In an ideal world folk who dissaproved would stay under the stands or choose to take their seats a wee bit later but were dealing with pondlife here .... and every club has them.

By allowing themselves to be drawn into the post Diana cult of compulsory public grieving the fitba authorities have made a rod for their own back every year at remembrance time and every time a high profile non fitba figure dies. Imho minutes silences / applauses at fitba grounds should be confined to people whove had careers with the particular home club .... with due thought being given to the opposition attending on that day :wink:

16-10-2009, 05:13 PM
The "minutes appluase" was actually brought in after Hearts fans disrupted the minute's silence for the Pope. For the record I don't think he should have got a minutes silence or applause as he has nothing to do with Scottish Football.

2.) queen maw in 2002

The 25th anniversary of the Ibrox disaster in 1996 was disrupted but only by a few idiots.

FFS as a Celtic fan I've done one for two wee lassies murdered in England (Holly Wells and Jessica Chapman - tragic case, but why should Partick and Celtic fans have a minutes silence?)

I will make three points on this and depart and allow the usual diatribes come from the usual suspects.

1.) The high profile courting of the armed forces by Rangers FC and high jacking of Remembrance Sunday is particulalry distasteful and cynical.

16-10-2009, 06:10 PM
The 21st century cult of compulsory public mourning means that people find themselves being asked to show respect for people that they have no respect for.

:agree: Though that started in 1997.

If people want to pay their respects, surely they can do it on Sunday at 11am?

16-10-2009, 06:23 PM
I don't want to get all political as I care neither for, nor understand, some people's views but it surely cannot be ignored that but for the actions of some incredibly young, brave men and women, certain factions wouldn't have the freedom of speech to disapprove of the rest of us honouring those who gave their lives in the name of democracy.

16-10-2009, 06:25 PM
I don't want to get all political as I care neither for, nor understand, some people's views but it surely cannot be ignored that but for the actions of some incredibly young, brave men and women, certain factions wouldn't have the freedom of speech to disapprove of the rest of us honouring those who gave their lives in the name of democracy.

:applause:

the happy hibee
16-10-2009, 07:30 PM

Why do clubs still bother with them? There have been too many incidents, with a press just slavering to get some juicy angle on a story that doesn't actually exist. It happened with the Popes minutes silence about(WTF was that ?), it has happened at Parkhead, we have done it at Tynecastle - a minute's silence for some guy half the Yams hadn't heard about.

What was wrong with having a min silence when the pope died i think there is quite a few catholics out there( which i am not btw) who wanted to mark that with a min respect so i dont see the problem. :confused: fro the hibee son colin!

16-10-2009, 07:41 PM
What was wrong with having a min silence when the pope died i think there is quite a few catholics out there( which i am not btw) who wanted to mark that with a min respect so i dont see the problem. :confused: fro the hibee son colin!

Perhaps because he is a religous figure whereas remembrance day is not?

FWIW I don't agree with minute's silence or clapping at the football. Leave it for 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month. I'll pay my respects then.

the happy hibee
16-10-2009, 07:52 PM
Perhaps because he is a religous figure whereas remembrance day is not?

FWIW I don't agree with minute's silence or clapping at the football. Leave it for 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month. I'll pay my respects then.
I dont have a problem with a min silence for remembrance day either mate! i think there should be a min silence for it and anybody who doesnt respect it is a moron in my eyes. i was just responding to FR saying wtf was the popes silence about!

wazoo1875
16-10-2009, 07:59 PM

That's true mate but you can always take a minute of your own time to reflect on something .

It's the fact that things get rammed down peoples throats for the sake of it, that sometimes gets folks backs up .

I will respect the war dead on the 11th of November at 11am , when i'm supposed to , not at tyncastle almost a week before .

That said i would never disrupt one :agree:

16-10-2009, 08:17 PM
That's true mate but you can always take a minute of your own time to reflect on something .

It's the fact that things get rammed down peoples throats for the sake of it, that sometimes gets folks backs up .

I will respect the war dead on the 11th of November at 11am , when i'm supposed to , not at tyncastle almost a week before .

That said i would never disrupt one :agree:

There is something pathetic about this whole debate. Only in Scotland with its senior football dominated by the bigot based Old Firm would we get this ridiculous argument. I despair at times ,I really do.

wazoo1875
16-10-2009, 08:24 PM
There is something pathetic about this whole debate. Only in Scotland with its senior football dominated by the bigot based Old Firm would we get this ridiculous argument. I despair at times ,I really do.

I agree mate , i find it a bit embarrassing that people can't respect things like this , although in this day and age it doesn't surprise me . There are folk out there that don't respect anything .

I think though it should probably be kept away from the football unless it's football orientated , thus taking away the opportunity for certain individuals to bring a bad name on everyone .

16-10-2009, 10:09 PM

2.) queen maw in 2002

I agree that there shouldn't be minute's silences at football matches for the Pope, people who have been murdered (expect maybe by a club who comes from that local area e.g. Rhys Jones and Liverpool/Everton etc.) or anything like that.

However, I do think that we should hold a minute's silence on the weekend that falls closest to 11th November as I think it's the right thing to do. Whether or not we have always done it is largely irrelevant to me, I just think we should mark this occasion every year to remember those who have lost their lives whilst trying to serve and defend this country and make it safer for all of us. I believe that we owe these men and women a great deal of gratitude and I think that bowing our heads in silence every year is the least that we can do.

I know people can mark Remembrance Day on the actual day itself but I really don't see the problem in marking it prior to a football match as well.

You also criticise Rangers for hijacking Remembrance Day and that their relationship with the Armed Forces is cynical. All this is probably true but why do Rangers have to have a monopoly on it all? Surely there's nothing to stop Celtic doing something similar by giving tickets to members of the Armed Forces and inviting them onto the pitch at half time etc?

If Celtic really are above all the political and religious nonsense, as many of their fans claim that they are, then surely this idea should be explored by the Celtic hierarchy and would maybe help to drive out the minority who would cause trouble at something like this.

Just a final thought on this whole issue.

How do you think Celtic will handle any tribute after the Queen dies? I'm by no means a royalist but the Queen is our Head of State and when she dies, there WILL be a minute's silence at all public events (including football matches) in the days that immediately follow her death. Football clubs will not have any say in the matter and a minute's applause will not be seen to be an acceptable alternative.

It will be extremely interesting to see what Celtic do when this situation eventually arises as I have no doubt whatsoever that some people within the Celtic support will have absolutely no intention of paying their respects to the Queen.

I just hope that her death doesn't occur immediately before an Old Firm match as that potentially has disaster written all over it.

16-10-2009, 10:19 PM
I agree that there shouldn't be minute's silences at football matches for the Pope, people who have been murdered (expect maybe by a club who comes from that local area e.g. Rhys Jones and Liverpool/Everton etc.) or anything like that.

However, I do think that we should hold a minute's silence on the weekend that falls closest to 11th November as I think it's the right thing to do. Whether or not we have always done it is largely irrelevant to me, I just think we should mark this occasion every year to remember those who have lost their lives whilst trying to serve and defend this country and make it safer for all of us. I believe that we owe these men and women a great deal of gratitude and I think that bowing our heads in silence every year is the least that we can do.

I know people can mark Remembrance Day on the actual day itself but I really don't see the problem in marking it prior to a football match as well.

You also criticise Rangers for hijacking Remembrance Day and that their relationship with the Armed Forces is cynical. All this is probably true but why do Rangers have to have a monopoly on it all? Surely there's nothing to stop Celtic doing something similar by giving tickets to members of the Armed Forces and inviting them onto the pitch at half time etc?

If Celtic really are above all the political and religious nonsense, as many of their fans claim that they are, then surely this idea should be explored by the Celtic hierarchy and would maybe help to drive out the minority who would cause trouble at something like this.

How do you think Celtic will handle any tribute after the Queen dies? I'm by no means a royalist but the Queen is our Head of State and when she dies, there WILL be a minute's silence at all public events (including football matches) in the days that immediately follow her death. Football clubs will not have any say in the matter and a minute's applause will not be seen to be an acceptable alternative.

It will be extremely interesting to see what Celtic do when this situation eventually arises as I have no doubt whatsoever that some people within the Celtic support will have absolutely no intention of paying their respects to the Queen.

I just hope that her death doesn't occur immediately before an Old Firm match as that potentially has disaster written all over it.

Prince Phillip will have to organise this one carefully. One false move and it could ruin decent telly and the start of footie matches for weeks.

I'd prefer it to happen at the end of the season, with the potential for minute's silences/applauses etc well out of the way by the time the season kicks off again.

Might put that in my annual letter to the Duke of Edinburgh. A Christmas request, as it were.

cwilliamson85
17-10-2009, 05:40 AM
I feel supporters are the key to keep the idiots silent. If someone beside you shouts something during a silence name and shme them and make them feel as small as possible.

Thats what i will do if the person next to me opens there mouth.

17-10-2009, 09:10 AM

I think it must be galling for the people who have been going to Haymarket for years to see this event being disrespected by wee boys who are more interested in showing their allegiance to Hearts than to respecting the dead.

It seems to me that, like so many Edinburgh traditions, this is something that is verging on becoming commercialised, and used as a trivial form of entertainment rather than what the organisers intended. How long till Steve "Codona" Cardownie is selling tickets for the event and publicising it as the "ideal short break, see history while the wife goes to Harvey Nicks" - let's face it they have done it to Hogmany, the Beltane, and the Mela.

It is very sad that it has become something that insults are traded over - there was always a risk of that once the fans brought it into the stadium. Personally I think the Armisitce is something that should be remembered, but in a dignified and respectful way.

I wonder how long till some fud gets a strip with "MacRaes 16" (if that is the right year) on the back, and how long till the youngsters cry their crocodile tears, whilst completely missing the point that the first world war was not glamorous.

Dulce et decorum est, is nothing more than a lie written by those who didn't fight.

Hibhibhooray
17-10-2009, 09:31 AM
WWI 908,000 British Forces Killed in Action
WWII 400,000 British Forces Killed in action

Since 1945 British forces have served in Malaya, Cyprus, Korea, Aden, Balkens, Falklands , Gulf war the list goes on......

A minute prior to the game when the gates stop admitting people and we stand silent is surely not to much to ask....

Personally I think it should be on the 11day 11 month & 11th Hour but if it is decided so be it,

JackRegan
17-10-2009, 09:48 AM

Don't have time to go over all your points but I put it back to you - why do you think Rangers have been the most high profile - of all the clubs in the UK, in bigging up Remembrance Sunday - last year the poppies on shirt idea came form MArtin Bain. They are also the only one really, who are so high profile in their "support" for the armed forces? Most of the casualties in Iraq and Afghanistan have came from the English Midlands - and working in that area, I know the clubs are not making a big hoo ha over it all.

As for when the Queen dies? I hope its in the close season, but I personally could not care less if her "tribute" gets pelters from the Celtic support. I'll have a bovril on the concourse and look at the first goalscorer odds at the Ladbrokes kiosk. It will hardly be news, but it'll be the perfect excuse for a sanctimony overdrive and handwringing from some quarters.

17-10-2009, 10:09 AM
3.) I hope those Celtic fans attending respect the minutes silence. If I am in the ground on time I will, although not out of any love or support for the armed forces.

What do you imply by this? How can you no support what these guys did for us?

17-10-2009, 10:24 AM

It will get distrupted like how her maw's one did aswell. It's only the queen, big fk's. I won't pay my respects to her either, why should I or anyone else?

17-10-2009, 11:30 AM

Why was it necessary for a religious congregation to choose a football match to pay their respects to their dead leader? They could have done it with much more dignity at a church, instead they insisted it take place before a major football match, in the full knowledge (dare I say it, hope) that it would not be respected by all those present, those reinforcing their victimised status.

I am not saying Catholics should not be able to show their faith, but they should also respect the fact that not everyone agrees with it. I saw the silence as confrontational and unnecessary - the guy had been dead for over a week by this time, how long do those guys hold onto their grief?

17-10-2009, 11:32 AM

Yes, I very much doubt if they had a minutes silence at him at football matches anywhere else in the world. It is sad that religion and football are so intertwined here (unless you're an old firm share holder of course).

What do you imply by this? How can you no support what these guys did for us?

What was it they did for us again? I wonder how they would see it now.

blueisthecolour
17-10-2009, 05:25 PM

Celtic have given the armed forces tickets to a match before but told them to wear civvi clothing (not for me to say why), I know this as a mate in the forces was invited.

17-10-2009, 11:02 PM
Don't have time to go over all your points but I put it back to you - why do you think Rangers have been the most high profile - of all the clubs in the UK, in bigging up Remembrance Sunday - last year the poppies on shirt idea came form MArtin Bain. They are also the only one really, who are so high profile in their "support" for the armed forces? Most of the casualties in Iraq and Afghanistan have came from the English Midlands - and working in that area, I know the clubs are not making a big hoo ha over it all.

As for when the Queen dies? I hope its in the close season, but I personally could not care less if her "tribute" gets pelters from the Celtic support. I'll have a bovril on the concourse and look at the first goalscorer odds at the Ladbrokes kiosk. It will hardly be news, but it'll be the perfect excuse for a sanctimony overdrive and handwringing from some quarters.

I've already said that I agree with what you have said about Rangers. Their actions towards the Armed Forces probably are cynical, although if you take their actions on face value alone, I think it's commendable and I would like Hibs to have that same kind of relationship.

As for your last paragraph on the Queen, I don't see how you can say "it will hardly be news". I think it will be massive news if a large number of Celtic fans were to hold a protest during a minute's silence for the Queen. Most of Celtic's matches are broadcast all over the world and I just think it will be highly embarrassing for the club as a whole if the protest is beamed live all over the globe.

It will get distrupted like how her maw's one did aswell. It's only the queen, big fk's. I won't pay my respects to her either, why should I or anyone else?

Like I said in my previous post, I'm far from being a huge fan of the Royal Family but the fact remains that whether you or I, or anyone else for that matter, like it or not, the Queen is our Head of State and when she dies, I think it's just a mark of respect to hold a minute's silence for her. If you don't wish to pay respect to her, that is entirely up to you but I would hope that you would just stay outside or in the concourse during any silence instead of deliberately interrupting the proceedings and subsequently showing Hibs up.

I don't actually have anything against the Queen herself, I don't think she has ever done anything to deserve disrespect. Some other members of her family are a slightly different kettle of fish but I would be quite happy to observe a minute's silence for the Queen.

18-10-2009, 10:02 AM
Why was it necessary for a religious congregation to choose a football match to pay their respects to their dead leader? They could have done it with much more dignity at a church, instead they insisted it take place before a major football match, in the full knowledge (dare I say it, hope) that it would not be respected by all those present, those reinforcing their victimised status.

I am not saying Catholics should not be able to show their faith, but they should also respect the fact that not everyone agrees with it. I saw the silence as confrontational and unnecessary - the guy had been dead for over a week by this time, how long do those guys hold onto their grief?

Unbelievable that I'm putting this and agreeing with you FR but :top marks

18-10-2009, 11:58 AM
Unbelievable that I'm putting this and agreeing with you FR but :top marks

Quite worrying actually. :greengrin

18-10-2009, 01:00 PM

:agree: :top marks