View Full Version : Grassroots Football Meeting Last Night at East Mains

13-10-2009, 03:34 PM
This, I think, is the first time I've started a thread on here. Just wanted to say I went along the Hibs Grassroots open evening last night at East Mains, run in conjunction with the sfa.

It was the first time I'd been to see the training centre and I have to say I was super impressed!

Also impressive was the detailed presentation given by Bill Hendry and James McDonaugh. They came across as very open and honest and I can honestly say that our youth system is in very good hands.

As I walked up to the main entrance I could see Yogi sitting at his desk on his computer and then was welcomed by one of my old favourites Neil Orr.

I was like a kid in a sweet shop!

On finishing up we got a wee tour round the facility. A couple of interesting things pointed out were that Yogi has removed the pool table from the lounge (he wants a football team, not a pool team), removed the plasma screens from the gym (players were standing about ogling the birds on mtv) and half the fitness equipment has been removed from the gym. Apparently JC had the place crammed full of various contraptions in a bid to turn the players into bodybuilders (surprise surprise).

There were signs of mischief in the changing room as someone has stuck a picture of Deek's on his locker and written "wee rat" next to his face.

I've also never seen so many flip flops!!

Anyway. It's probably a pretty boring thread for most but just felt I had to pass on my positive experience from the Hibernian FC training centre.

RoscoHibby
13-10-2009, 03:44 PM
Nice one mate :thumbsup: :wink:

13-10-2009, 03:45 PM
Nice one mate :thumbsup: :wink:

Is that you Rosco McD?

RoscoHibby
13-10-2009, 03:51 PM
Certainly is young man, but cmon, no very subtle eh!

Data protection n aw that D***K :devil:

Sergy Pie
13-10-2009, 03:56 PM
Right you two, back to work!!!

RoscoHibby
13-10-2009, 03:57 PM

:faf: I've gave up the day, had a nade nade day

13-10-2009, 03:58 PM
Certainly is young man, but cmon, no very subtle eh!

Data protection n aw that D***K :devil:

Aye but 'McD' could've been a cunning decoy..:cool2:

RoscoHibby
13-10-2009, 04:00 PM
What? Code for skyving at work!?

Heading through for killie game?

13-10-2009, 04:00 PM

Sorry boss..

13-10-2009, 04:03 PM
What? Code for skyving at work!?

Heading through for killie game?

Not sure yet. Usual financial situation. 70/30 at the moment. You still at work? I'll give you a bell.

RoscoHibby
13-10-2009, 04:05 PM
Not sure yet. Usual financial situation. 70/30 at the moment. You still at work? I'll give you a bell.

Aye still here, forgot to bring my phone in the day.

I'm working anyway mate, cant deal wi it....I'll give you a shout soon though

Jonpaulnevin
13-10-2009, 11:08 PM
This, I think, is the first time I've started a thread on here. Just wanted to say I went along the Hibs Grassroots open evening last night at East Mains, run in conjunction with the sfa.

It was the first time I'd been to see the training centre and I have to say I was super impressed!

Also impressive was the detailed presentation given by Bill Hendry and James McDonaugh. They came across as very open and honest and I can honestly say that our youth system is in very good hands.

As I walked up to the main entrance I could see Yogi sitting at his desk on his computer and then was welcomed by one of my old favourites Neil Orr.

On finishing up we got a wee tour round the facility. A couple of interesting things pointed out were that Yogi has removed the pool table from the lounge (he wants a football team, not a pool team), removed the plasma screens from the gym (players were standing about ogling the birds on mtv) and half the fitness equipment has been removed from the gym. Apparently JC had the place crammed full of various contraptions in a bid to turn the players into bodybuilders (surprise surprise).

There were signs of mischief in the changing room as someone has stuck a picture of Deek's on his locker and written "wee rat" next to his face.

Anyway. It's probably a pretty boring thread for most but just felt I had to pass on my positive experience from the Hibernian FC training centre.

Did you a look to see how they have changed the set up of the gym? Did they have a lot more powerlift lifting platforms etc now instead of the Hammer Strength machines which they had previously? The reason I ask is that Iam a Strength and Conditioning Coach and having seen the previous set up of the gym at East Mains I was pretty disapointed. All the gear and no idea springs to mind, looked good but in reality is was about as much use as tits on a fish!!! Partially explains how deconditioned the team looked last season. I know Yogi whilst at Falkirk tied in well with the Scottish Insitute of Sport in Stirling who have an awesom set up. Hopefully he has brought some of there ideas with him to Hibs.

AK86
13-10-2009, 11:15 PM

not boring at all mate
canny beat a wee insight into our club
must get myself down there :top marks

13-10-2009, 11:22 PM

Hi Mate . Are you involved with any local football teams ?
The reason i ask is that the coaches from my boys team were there on Monday .

14-10-2009, 09:57 AM
Hi Mate . Are you involved with any local football teams ?
The reason i ask is that the coaches from my boys team were there on Monday .

Yes. Broxburn Athletic Colts Under 8's. Thought it was an excellent opportunity to try and adopt the 'Hibernian way' for our team.

I see you're from Broxburn, who does your boy play for?

14-10-2009, 10:16 AM
Did you a look to see how they have changed the set up of the gym? Did they have a lot more powerlift lifting platforms etc now instead of the Hammer Strength machines which they had previously? The reason I ask is that Iam a Strength and Conditioning Coach and having seen the previous set up of the gym at East Mains I was pretty disapointed. All the gear and no idea springs to mind, looked good but in reality is was about as much use as tits on a fish!!! Partially explains how deconditioned the team looked last season. I know Yogi whilst at Falkirk tied in well with the Scottish Insitute of Sport in Stirling who have an awesom set up. Hopefully he has brought some of there ideas with him to Hibs.

To be honest fitness/weight machines are not my specialist subject. (hence the ever growing beer belly!

It was also my first visit so I've no real idea what they had in before, only what we were told. That Yogi has cleared out quite a few.

In the middle of the gym area there seems to be a more basic/old school set up. Padded matting, benches, weights etc.

The fancy stuff was positioned around the perimeter.

You'll know more than me on this but it was mentioned that Yogi is keen on "squats" with weights. It was suggested that this seems to be a popular method of strengthening at the moment.

I wish I could give you a more detailed report my man but I can't.

I can't honestly remember the age group it starts at (possibly 16's unwards?) but they do go to Telford College to study sport science where they get physically tested at varying intervals on various aspects movement, balance, speed etc

Taz_hibee
14-10-2009, 10:18 AM
Originally Posted by SquashedFrogg
half the fitness equipment has been removed from the gym. Apparently JC had the place crammed full of various contraptions in a bid to turn the players into bodybuilders (surprise surprise).

When i was given a tour last year the gym was jam packed with equipment, JC had set it up with all the green equipment and then Mixu came in and did not like that stuff so filled it with yellow equipment

MM1973
14-10-2009, 10:47 AM
To be honest fitness/weight machines are not my specialist subject. (hence the ever growing beer belly!

It was also my first visit so I've no real idea what they had in before, only what we were told. That Yogi has cleared out quite a few.

In the middle of the gym area there seems to be a more basic/old school set up. Padded matting, benches, weights etc.

You'll know more than me on this but it was mentioned that Yogi is keen on "squats" with weights. It was suggested that this seems to be a popular method of strengthening at the moment.

I can't honestly remember the age group it starts at (possibly 16's unwards?) but they do go to Telford College to study sport science where they get physically tested at varying intervals on various aspects movement, balance, speed etc

Sport's Science starts from 13's up...Excellent youth set up at Hibs.

14-10-2009, 11:00 AM
I'm sure i heard a few months back that Hibs would be pioneering new and innovative training techniques - it sounded more like the physical side rather than theoretical. Can anyone confirm this or was i just having another mad dream about Hibs again! :confused:

14-10-2009, 11:38 AM
Originally Posted by SquashedFrogg
half the fitness equipment has been removed from the gym. Apparently JC had the place crammed full of various contraptions in a bid to turn the players into bodybuilders (surprise surprise).

When i was given a tour last year the gym was jam packed with equipment, JC had set it up with all the green equipment and then Mixu came in and did not like that stuff so filled it with yellow equipment

Can't remember seeing any yellow equipment. The green and white stuff was layed out around the sides of the gym and like I say there's a big area in the middle with mats and benches.

Biscuit
14-10-2009, 01:07 PM
'You'll know more than me on this but it was mentioned that Yogi is keen on "squats" with weights. It was suggested that this seems to be a popular method of strengthening at the moment.

I wish I could give you a more detailed report my man but I can't.'

I was speaking with my personal trainer a couple of weeks ago, and he is very keen on squats, which was why i struggled up the stairs on the Saturday against Dun Utd. Anyway, he lives with Kenny Miller's ex and stays next door to Yogi, and they share a wee bit of over the fence banter on occasion. By my reckoning therefore, i would concur that Yogi may be keen on squats with weights...it's the only way allegedlly.

Jonpaulnevin
14-10-2009, 05:23 PM

Thats cool mate, squatting is what we call a primary movement if you can improve your squat (i.e- Increaed resistance, at a faster speed) in theory you can improve you vertical jump and sprinting performance hence why it can be benifical for football. Its just one of many free weight exercises you can use which has excellent carryover for improved sporting performance. Unlike fixed path machines which will get you bigger and stronger but that dosnt necessarily mean improved performance on the pitch.

From professional expierence football clubs are normally way behind the curve in phyiscal conditioning unlike rugby for example. Its good to see the club moving the right direction.

14-10-2009, 05:25 PM
Thats cool mate, squatting is what we call a primary movement if you can improve your squat (i.e- Increaed resistance, at a faster speed) in theory you can improve you vertical jump and sprinting performance hence why it can be benifical for football. Its just one of many free weight exercises you can use which has excellent carryover for improved sporting performance. Unlike fixed path machines which will get you bigger and stronger but that dosnt necessarily mean improved performance on the pitch.

From professional expierence football clubs are normally way behind the curve in phyiscal conditioning unlike rugby for example. Its good to see the club moving the right direction.

Where do collybuckys and wheelbarrow races fit into modern football training techniques? :greengrin

Jonpaulnevin
14-10-2009, 05:29 PM
Where do collybuckys and wheelbarrow races fit into modern football training techniques? :greengrin

You would be suprised, you can fit them in there if you can justify them in your program design, have you ever tried 'collybucking' someone for a couple of hundred meters! Its a right beasting session :thumbsup:

CyberSauzee
14-10-2009, 05:42 PM
You would be suprised, you can fit them in there if you can justify them in your program design, have you ever tried 'collybucking' someone for a couple of hundred meters! Its a right beasting session :thumbsup:

Especially when you can't afford any footballs and there's students using the weights room.

14-10-2009, 06:31 PM
Yes. Broxburn Athletic Colts Under 8's. Thought it was an excellent opportunity to try and adopt the 'Hibernian way' for our team.

I see you're from Broxburn, who does your boy play for?

Broxburn Athletic Colts under 10's :greengrin

Do you have wee Kyle in goals ?

That better no be you Graham :greengrin

14-10-2009, 06:45 PM
Broxburn Athletic Colts under 10's :greengrin

Do you have wee Kyle in goals ?

That better no be you Graham :greengrin

Nah mate, wrong guy. He's now under 9's. We're the new kids on the block.

We're only at the soccer 4's stage yet so don't have a keeper.

I run it along with Shane, Barry and Paul.

If you're from Broxburn I might know you but can understand you not revealing your true identity on here.

14-10-2009, 07:05 PM
Nah mate, wrong guy. He's now under 9's. We're the new kids on the block.

We're only at the soccer 4's stage yet so don't have a keeper.

I run it along with Shane, Barry and Paul.

If you're from Broxburn I might know you but can understand you not revealing your true identity on here.

Just moved through here a few years ago from Edinburgh.

My boy is the goaly for the Colts. He just moved from United where he played centre midfield.

I'm Jimmy:greengrin: