View Full Version : W t f ?!?!?

12-10-2009, 11:56 AM
Can anyone explain the point of this to me? (http://video.news.sky.com/skynews/video?videoSourceID=2062589&flashURL=feeds/skynews/latest/flash/ACT-BB-MO-AUSTRALIAN-SHOTPUTTER-121009.flv)

12-10-2009, 11:59 AM
Bizarre :agree:

Oldies Winter Olympics will no doubt have 96 year old Eadie the Eagle representing the UK :greengrin

CalgaryHibs
12-10-2009, 12:01 PM
Can anyone explain the point of this to me? (http://video.news.sky.com/skynews/video?videoSourceID=2062589&flashURL=feeds/skynews/latest/flash/ACT-BB-MO-AUSTRALIAN-SHOTPUTTER-121009.flv)

================

i've nae idea mate:dunno:

bizarre indeed

12-10-2009, 12:03 PM

Gives older people life targets that mean something to them and enable them to continually try and achieve those targets against like minded people? :dunno: :hmmm: :idea: :cool2:

Leave the auld buddy alane ffs! :confused: :greengrin

CalgaryHibs
12-10-2009, 12:10 PM
Gives older people life targets that mean something to them and enable them to continually try and achieve those targets against like minded people? :dunno: :hmmm: :idea: :cool2:

Leave the auld buddy alane ffs! :confused: :greengrin

===
so theres hope for me and Jonny boy after all:greengrin

we betta start training mate:greengrin

12-10-2009, 12:13 PM
She competed against herself.

Isn't this similar to what people want for Hibs?

Take all the difficult teams out and leave us with a league we can actually win. :greengrin

12-10-2009, 12:18 PM
If its anything to do with organisations like the Internaltional Olympic Committe or FIFA the answer is MONEY.

12-10-2009, 12:26 PM
How far did she throw/drop it?

12-10-2009, 02:50 PM
Not sure if the "bizarre" comments are about the oldness of the competitors or the fact that she was the sole entrant in that particular competition.

If the latter, I give you: Estonia v Scotland, 1996.

If the former, why is it any more bizarre for auld codgers to have their own olympic competitions than

(1) boxers of different weights to have their own olympic competitions
(2) disabled people to have their own olympic competitions
(3) wimmin to have their own olympic competitions

If you allow any or all of the above, there is no logical reason to scoff at auld barstewards competing against each other at whatever levels of competence they like.

Some of the comments on this thread are bordering on the ageist. :tsk tsk:

12-10-2009, 06:51 PM
Not sure if the "bizarre" comments are about the oldness of the competitors or the fact that she was the sole entrant in that particular competition.

If the latter, I give you: Estonia v Scotland, 1996.

If the former, why is it any more bizarre for auld codgers to have their own olympic competitions than

(1) boxers of different weights to have their own olympic competitions
(2) disabled people to have their own olympic competitions
(3) wimmin to have their own olympic competitions

If you allow any or all of the above, there is no logical reason to scoff at auld barstewards competing against each other at whatever levels of competence they like.

Some of the comments on this thread are bordering on the ageist. :tsk tsk:

Both ridiculous IMHO. As is the news that golf will be an Olympic event!

12-10-2009, 06:53 PM
Both ridiculous IMHO. As is the news that golf will be an Olympic event!

Golf is ridiculous.

Marabou Stork
12-10-2009, 07:03 PM
She actually wasn't competing alone. She beat Gramo.

NYHibby
12-10-2009, 09:54 PM
These events happen all the time. My university's alumni magazine always has the mention of someone winning the 70-74 national tennis championship or being the 75+ US swimming champion.

12-10-2009, 09:57 PM

12-10-2009, 10:02 PM
===
so theres hope for me and Jonny boy after all:greengrin

we betta start training mate:greengrin

Way ahead of you Ken - I've been lifting my eyebrows reading this thread :greengrin

---------- Post added at 11:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:01 PM ----------

Was that Gramo???? I thought it was the javelin :greengrin