View Full Version : Japan v Scotland Updates

10-10-2009, 09:22 AM
An hour to go.

Will Burley get the saké after the match?

Deeks to nippon for a goal.

Geisha break Japan we want to win this one.

C'mon the reserves. :thumbsup:

10-10-2009, 09:38 AM
No Deeks in the starting eleven for Scotland Vs Japan.
Sack Burley now.:grr:

10-10-2009, 09:44 AM

Oh dear, tell me he is not starting with Lee Miller who wasn't even in the original squad ?

10-10-2009, 09:44 AM
Oh dear, tell me he is not starting with Lee Miller who wasn't even in the original squad ?

It'll be Fletcher up top on his own.

10-10-2009, 09:57 AM
Burley's a clown.

He's running scared of a gubbing by Japan in a nothing friendly, despite the fact they played on Thursday night with a full strength side and the manager has stated he will play a reduced team as Scotland have had so many withdrawals.

get the muppet out as soon as they arrive home.

10-10-2009, 09:58 AM
Miller up front on own according to bbc :confused:

Si_17
10-10-2009, 10:01 AM
It's an embarrassment that Craig Conway is anywhere near the national team, but starting ffs?!

What a shambles.

woodyhfc4892
10-10-2009, 10:01 AM
It'll be Fletcher up top on his own.

Lee Miller up top according to BBC :brickwall

10-10-2009, 10:03 AM

Pathetic, he hasn't scored once this season - running scared as Toads says. Its a friendly with a shadow squad FFS, take a risk. No Fletch either. :bitchy:

And Craig Conway is starting - baffling!

10-10-2009, 10:04 AM
Lee Miller up top according to BBC :brickwall

Is Steven Fletcher injured then?

Lee Miller leads the line.

Anybody else hope we get gubbed, so that ....ing clown gets the sack. :grr:

Leads it or falls over it?

Green forever
10-10-2009, 10:05 AM

Has he scored this season ??

10-10-2009, 10:06 AM
whats the team then?

10-10-2009, 10:06 AM
Has he scored this season ??

No

Si_17
10-10-2009, 10:07 AM

euro Hibby
10-10-2009, 10:08 AM
If true, pretty stupid but then again what could we expect !

just the 11 changes for Japan.

Conway(not even in the drastically changed squad) starting ahead of Riordan, has there ever been a more ludicrous selection made?.....:faf:

Why?

So many players missing. Tough enough putting a team together.

Saying that Fletcher should have started. Probably see Deeks at some point.

Looks like it.

10-10-2009, 10:09 AM

Leads it or falls over it?

...or snorts it.

OtterHibee
10-10-2009, 10:10 AM
whats the team then?

Gordon
Whittaker
Berra
McManus
L Wallace
Caldwell
R Wallace
Dorrans
Adam
Conway
Miller.

10-10-2009, 10:12 AM
Good attendance.

10-10-2009, 10:13 AM

A complete disgrace, as where his comments on selecting him for the squad.

10-10-2009, 10:13 AM
A quid on Berra to score anytime @ 14/1

(on the basis the Japs are all 5' 1" :greengrin )

10-10-2009, 10:14 AM
Gordon
Whittaker
Berra
McManus
L Wallace
Caldwell
R Wallace
Dorrans
Adam
Conway
Miller.

10-10-2009, 10:14 AM
A complete disgrace, as where his comments on selecting him for the squad.

The man's a total erky

Hope we get humped, I'm gonna watch the Hairy Bikers

Green forever
10-10-2009, 10:19 AM
May being a bit unpatriotic but with a Scotland team like that, Japan look a cracking bet.
Corals go 8/15 the win, 11/10 to be up at half time and 5/4 for Japan to be ahead at half time and win the match. Looks easy money given Scotland's record in friendlies.

10-10-2009, 10:19 AM
The man's a total erky

Hope we get humped, I'm gonna watch the Hairy Bikers

this should be more Hairy Kiri than Hairy Bikers.:greengrin

OtterHibee
10-10-2009, 10:20 AM
Subs:

Langfield
Marshall
Hughes
Barr
Cowie
Fletcher
Riordan

10-10-2009, 10:22 AM
The crowd singing the Wallace song :greengrin

Chuckie
10-10-2009, 10:23 AM
Seems the Japs are happy that Mercer is dead too.. :greengrin

10-10-2009, 10:24 AM

He's hated far and wide.:greengrin

hibsfootballer
10-10-2009, 10:24 AM
What I dont get is why he wont take a risk in a game that really means nothing, Its a friendly FFS!

Lee Miller is nothing compaired to Deek!

10-10-2009, 10:27 AM

WARRACE MELCEL is dead and wele no'

:dizzy:

10-10-2009, 10:29 AM
only had the game on for 5 mins and its already dire, what an awful team selection, Lee Miller hasnt done anything since he had that good half season at hearts!

10-10-2009, 10:30 AM
Sirry people, he's no longer here so lets have some sushi does not rhyme?

10-10-2009, 10:32 AM
We have a Korean ref which is good news, no-one hates the Japanese more than the Koreans:agree:

Although like some others, i actually want us to get humped 5-0 so Burley gets the sack:boo hoo:

Chuckie
10-10-2009, 10:33 AM
Get these wee Japs along and signed up to The East..

Them laddies can sing..

:partyhibb:singing::partyhibb:singing:

10-10-2009, 10:33 AM
I wonder what words are going thru Fletch,Deeks,Whitty,Caldwell,Wallace,Berra and the Gay Gordons mind When the Japs were bouncin to the Wallace song :devil:

10-10-2009, 10:34 AM
only had the game on for 5 mins and its already dire, what an awful team selection, Lee Miller hasnt done anything since he had that good half season at hearts!

Paul Mitchell described one feinged movement by Miller as;

"almost lurking there"

I prefer to call it Lazy git never moved.:grr:

10-10-2009, 10:35 AM
We have a Korean ref which is good news, no-one hates the Japanese more than the Koreans:agree:

Although like some others, i actually want us to get humped 5-0 so Burley gets the sack:boo hoo:

F27 will be upset, and a GIRFUY will be coming your way should we win.:greengrin

10-10-2009, 10:35 AM
On a positive vein....what a joy to hear someone singing Flower of Scotland in a clear and concise manner rather than Ronnie Browne destroying it.

10-10-2009, 10:37 AM
sklaffed shot from Nakamura

10-10-2009, 10:38 AM
What are the chances that Deek doesn't even get a run out here.

Rodsterino
10-10-2009, 10:38 AM
No way will the blazers sack him for losing a friendly...they've made their bed by keeping him in the job and now we'll all have to lie in it. :grr:

10-10-2009, 10:39 AM
No way will the blazers sack him for losing a friendly...they've made their bed by keeping him in the job and now we'll all have to lie in it. :grr:

and the little one said roll over :greengrin

10-10-2009, 10:40 AM
On a positive vein....what a joy to hear someone singing Flower of Scotland in a clear and concise manner rather than Ronnie Browne destroying it.

:top marks maybe should have sung it a bit slower, but at last someone who sung it well and without the CCCCOOOMMMEEOOONNN AT THE END. I cringe every time that idiot does it.:bitchy:

10-10-2009, 10:40 AM
What are the chances that Deek doesn't even get a run out here.

Will be even more ludicrous since Burley has labelled it as his "last chance" - to then not even give him a shot to prove himself really is the behaviour of an :asshole:

10-10-2009, 10:43 AM
Will be even more ludicrous since Burley has labelled it as his "last chance" - to then not even give him a shot to prove himself really is the behaviour of an :asshole:
I would have thought it was Burley's last chance if anything!

10-10-2009, 10:44 AM

I'd imagine there will be lots of changes at half time. If he does not get at least 45 minutes, it will have been a complete waste of time him going.

10-10-2009, 10:46 AM
I would have thought it was Burley's last chance if anything!

should be sacked for looking like a total CHAV in that brutal tracksuit he dons.

10-10-2009, 10:46 AM
I'd imagine there will be lots of changes at half time. If he does not get at least 45 minutes, it will have been a complete waste of time him going.

You would hope so but with that idiot in charge anything is possible.

10-10-2009, 10:48 AM
Miller is ****ing dire why is he anywhere near the squad, Nish scored more than him last season and already more than him this season.

euro Hibby
10-10-2009, 10:48 AM
Scotland manager and BBC Radio Scotland pundit Craig Brown: "It's encouraging that Dorrans has been right up there with Miller. George Burley is being very positive and it has been a good start by Scotland."

not listening our watching .......must be good still level !

TheSouthMoroccan
10-10-2009, 10:50 AM
Conway keeps giving the ball away. Burleys' a clown for not playing deeks from the start :grr:

10-10-2009, 10:51 AM
crossbar challenge on NOW

10-10-2009, 10:53 AM
Scotland manager and BBC Radio Scotland pundit Craig Brown: "It's encouraging that Dorrans has been right up there with Miller. George Burley is being very positive and it has been a good start by Scotland."

not listening our watching .......must be good still level !

Course he is, leaving his 2 most prolific strikers on the bench :faf:

10-10-2009, 10:54 AM
for those interested news of another friendly involving a team from Scotland's group

Just finished in sydney Australia 0 v Holland 0

smack
10-10-2009, 10:57 AM
Why are the Japanese singing 'oh what an eggy hole'

euro Hibby
10-10-2009, 10:58 AM
1155: Kengo Nakamura smashes a shot into the side netting. More than half an hour gone, and Scotland can be very pleased with their efforts so far. Keeper Craig Gordon hasn't had a save to make !

I suppose Scotland have been testing their goalie..........?

JoeTortolanoFanClub
10-10-2009, 10:59 AM
This is going to end 0-0. Get Deeks and Fletch on now. :thumbsup:

10-10-2009, 11:00 AM
1155: Kengo Nakamura smashes a shot into the side netting. More than half an hour gone, and Scotland can be very pleased with their efforts so far. Keeper Craig Gordon hasn't had a save to make !

I suppose Scotland have been testing their goalie..........?

"Our spoilers have been terrific" !:greengrin

10-10-2009, 11:01 AM
This is going to end 0-0. Get Deeks and Fletch on now. :thumbsup:

Fletch is carrying a knock :agree:

euro Hibby
10-10-2009, 11:01 AM
Burley .....on the 0-0 it was a good exercise, we came 11000 miles to find out that Miller and Conway are crap......

10-10-2009, 11:03 AM

quite an annoying catchy wee tune.

What an atmosphere for a friendly

Bob Box Fish
10-10-2009, 11:05 AM
Burley .....on the 0-0 it was a good exercise, we came 11000 miles to find out that Miller and Conway are crap......

10-10-2009, 11:06 AM
WTF is Burley playing at starting Conway ahead of Deeks??? :grr::grr::grr:

He can score out of nothing but you need him on the pitch for 90 mins to maximise the chance of that happening.

Miller is an international class diver but that's about it IMO.

on a positive note - brilliant atmosphere - these japs can sing!

10-10-2009, 11:08 AM
WTF is Burley playing at starting Conway ahead of Deeks??? :grr::grr::grr:

He can score out of nothing but you need him on the pitch for 90 mins to maximise the chance of that happening.

Miller is an international class diver but that's about it IMO.

on a positive note - brilliant atmosphere - these japs can sing!

Funny that I think the atmosphere's awful : they chant incessantly about nothing in particular, without any let up at all: what do they do when they score, suddenly go silent? :confused:

euro Hibby
10-10-2009, 11:12 AM
Have Scotland had a shot in 45 minutes..........?

10-10-2009, 11:13 AM

Are dougie, JC and pat Nevin being serious when they say this is a decent performance?! We've never tested there keeper.

They seem to be creaming there pants because we look 'organised'.

1st half has been pure p!sh

get deeko on to give us some sort of threat going forward

10-10-2009, 11:14 AM
Have Scotland had a shot in 45 minutes..........?
Nope

10-10-2009, 11:16 AM
I still think he's a bit of a dick but John Collins talks a lot of sense about the state of the game in Scotland and the way we are standing still while the rest of these countries are streaking ahead!

I'd give him Gordon Smiths job!!!!

10-10-2009, 11:20 AM
Funny that I think the atmosphere's awful : they chant incessantly about nothing in particular, without any let up at all: what do they do when they score, suddenly go silent? :confused:

Opinions eh?!? I think it's the sound of an enthused support who are excited about going to the WC.

On another note - good comments from Collins about passing out from the back - stating that we need to see more of that throughout our game as opposed to the blooter and chase tactic - I think we can all agree that he walked the walk while manager at ER in that respect.
Also good to see a couple of Hibbys as the expert analysis team - Hibs class comments from Collins and Nevin :thumbsup:

woodyhfc4892
10-10-2009, 11:22 AM
Fletcher on Miller off :greengrin

10-10-2009, 11:22 AM
Fletcher on for Miller, Cowie for Wallace - Deek still on the bench.

10-10-2009, 11:25 AM
BURLEY! - GET DEEKS ON YA CHUBE :bitchy:

10-10-2009, 11:27 AM
Looks like Burwey's pished again.

10-10-2009, 11:27 AM
'Cowie is the 1st player for Scotland with the surname Cowie since the Dundee legend Cowie played in the 1958 world cup'

Excellent, what a fact, keep them coming stato :yawn:

euro Hibby
10-10-2009, 11:28 AM
nae Deeks must be some kind of last chance punishment........

10-10-2009, 11:29 AM
Deek should tell that slavering, drunken, Hertz idiot where to stick his international team. 11000 mile round trip for nothing.

Miller and Conway ahead of him FFS.

Not bad going by Burley alienate our only 2 really natural goalscorers in Riordan and Boyd.

10-10-2009, 11:30 AM
'Cowie is the 1st player for Scotland with the surname Cowie since the Dundee legend Cowie played in the 1958 world cup'

:hilarious Mitchell's murder. He must have been really struggling when doing his prep!

Amazing that he thought Lee Miller was worthy of another 15 minutes or so.

10-10-2009, 11:35 AM
Deek should tell that slavering, drunken, Hertz idiot where to stick his international team. 1000 mile round trip for nothing.

Miller and Conway ahead of him FFS.

Not bad going by Burley alienate our only 2 really natural goalscorers in Riordan and Boyd.

It's almost 6,000 miles each way.

What's the point in taking him all that way not to give him a chance to play, hopefully Deek will get 20 mins at least.

10-10-2009, 11:36 AM
What a crock of shlt this is..

Nae Deek, Fletch benched, clowns like Conway and Charlie "Show us yer teeth" Adam starting..

Burleys a Yam jakey phudd..

Can't believe I got oot my scratcher for this

10-10-2009, 11:37 AM
Deeko coming on, only getting last 30 mins - total joke

10-10-2009, 11:41 AM
It's almost 6,000 miles each way.

What's the point in taking him all that way not to give him a chance to play, hopefully Deek will get 20 mins at least.

Meant 11000 miles. Now changed.

Not to start him was a joke, completely baffling just like just about every Burley team selection in fact.

10-10-2009, 11:42 AM
Caldwell the clown, here we go again

Not yet, will be lucky to get the last 20 at this rate.

euro Hibby
Burley thinks deeks is a 30 minute player......reading too many newspapers !

woodyhfc4892
10-10-2009, 11:43 AM

How do you know this :confused:

10-10-2009, 11:44 AM
Why should we be surprised. Burley would rather have someone who runs about like a headless chicken for 90 mins and misses his only chance in a game (kenny miller) than someone who will score more often than not with his one chance but wont work as hard (Deek)

10-10-2009, 11:44 AM
Hughes on now but still no Deek :bitchy:

10-10-2009, 11:46 AM
Why on earth is Riordan not getting on yet?

FFS, Cowie? Adam? Miller? Conway? Total pish.

10-10-2009, 11:46 AM
Burley would rather have someone who runs about like a headless chicken for 90 mins and misses his only chance in a game (kenny miller) than someone who will score more often than not with his one chance but wont work as hard (Deek)

the oldest heidless chicken in town was left out of this trip - probably now that he's a heidless chicken in the Premiership.

10-10-2009, 11:47 AM
Burley should have had all the subs on by now.

If he's going to drag them half way round the world for a meaningless friendly, he should at least give them a run out.

Tosser.

10-10-2009, 11:47 AM
How do you know this :confused:

Stupidly assumed that when they said Scotland were preparing a change that there was surely only 1 player they could be bringing on, clearly not.

It's a darling freindly, why take deeks not to give him a decent run out.

SmashinGlass
10-10-2009, 11:48 AM
Unfortunately I am unable to post on this forum what I think of Burley at this moment in time! I am absolutely fuming about the farcical selection of Riordan. What was the ******* point???!!!

10-10-2009, 11:49 AM
What a complete waste of time for Deek. Burley:grr:

10-10-2009, 11:49 AM
Stupidly assumed that when they said Scotland were preparing a change that there was surely only 1 player they could be bringing on, clearly not.

It's a darling freindly, why take deeks not to give him a decent run out.

Maybe waiting on the penalties :wink: Fletch one on one, fails again

10-10-2009, 11:50 AM
Yet again, another example of Fletcher not possessing a right foot.

wot a fud Fletcher is:grr:

Deeks getting 17 mins, woopy ****ing doo

Finally.

Si_17
Finally! Mon the Deek!!!:thumbsup:

10-10-2009, 11:51 AM
Waaaaaaaaahey :applause:

Not before time :bye:

crewetollhibee
17 mins ? FFS !!!!!!

At last! - go on Deeks!

10-10-2009, 11:52 AM
Has Deek ever really been an impact sub for a 15 min cameo? Burley is a fud :bitchy:

10-10-2009, 11:53 AM
Did anyone here think Fletcher 1 on 1 was going to score. I certainly didn't. Seen it all before!

euro Hibby
10-10-2009, 11:53 AM
now we now what the tactics were.........keep it tight and see if we can pinch one in the last 15.........

10-10-2009, 11:55 AM
Did anyone here think Fletcher 1 on 1 was going to score. I certainly didn't. Seen it all before!

I didn't. But i would have been confident had it been either Derek Riordan or Kris Boyd with that chance.

Unfortunately George Burley knows far better than me.

FraserHFC
10-10-2009, 11:58 AM
Berra :grr:

10-10-2009, 11:58 AM
great goal by Berra :grr:

Si_17
10-10-2009, 11:59 AM
Heartz fud.

:grr::grr::grr:

Oh dear!!

OG - Berra :faf:

JoeTortolanoFanClub
Berra :grr::grr::grr::grr:

crewetollhibee
Great day for the ex-jambo's eh ?!?!?

10-10-2009, 12:00 PM
Hopefully that goal will stop this chronic wankathon about what a good performance this is. The commentators must be the only Scots in the world content with this joke.

10-10-2009, 12:01 PM
A quid on Berra to score anytime @ 14/1

(on the basis the Japs are all 5' 1" :greengrin )

:bye:

Supraninja
that actually made me laugh

Hopefully that goal will stop this chronic wankathon about what a good performance this is. The commentators must be the only Scots in the world content with this joke.

:agree: I couldn't believe what I was hearing before Berra scored.

10-10-2009, 12:02 PM
how come that wasn't a yellow card for the japanese guy? straight through Dorrans with the head.

euro Hibby
10-10-2009, 12:02 PM
deeks fault ....should have tracked back..........

10-10-2009, 12:03 PM
:agree: I couldn't believe what I was hearing before Berra scored.

What game are they watching, this has been garbage.

10-10-2009, 12:03 PM
This game is as dour as Paul Mitchell's commentary.

How is Mitchell still employed? his monotone voice is just not suited to TV commentary :bitchy:

10-10-2009, 12:05 PM
Scotland playing, no hertz

It still made me laugh, I might have been a tad more sympathetic if Burley wasn't such a fud.

10-10-2009, 12:05 PM
Does anybody agree that Honda is the driving force of the Japanese, a real good midfield engine, and has a few gears in reserve. Plenty fuel in the tank as well.

10-10-2009, 12:06 PM
anyone heard riordan's name?

Nice one Berra you Hearts ****!!!!!

2-0

Does anybody agree that Honda is the driving force of the Japanese, a real good midfield engine, and has a few gears in reserve. Plenty fuel in the tank as well.

I'm tyred of the stupid puns on this forum. Oh 2-0.

10-10-2009, 12:07 PM
HOnda scores. Drives through a group of players. passed it into the goal.

Jesus christ :bitchy::grr:

euro Hibby
deeks sulking for not being on from the start..........

10-10-2009, 12:08 PM
HOnda scores. Drives through a group of players. passed it into the goal.

Riordan's man

10-10-2009, 12:09 PM
"Score looks harsh"

what game is he watching? Japan have been well worth the win

10-10-2009, 12:09 PM

Thought i heard his name mentioned when he failed to jump 30ft in the air to get on the end of wallaces cross.:grr:

10-10-2009, 12:10 PM
deeks fault ....should have tracked back..........

deeks sulking for not being on from the start..........

Riordan's man

:wtf:

euro Hibby
10-10-2009, 12:10 PM
Who said Japan were a good bet to win at the start of the game.......

10-10-2009, 12:11 PM
Douglas Donnelly thinks this was a positive for Burley :faint:

Si_17
10-10-2009, 12:11 PM
:wtf:

Humour bypass:wink:

10-10-2009, 12:12 PM
Oh well hopefully the ROI can do the business tonight.

10-10-2009, 12:13 PM
Who said Japan were a good bet to win at the start of the game.......

Berra :dunno:

the_ginger_hibee
10-10-2009, 12:16 PM
Berra :dunno:

Burley? :confused:

(Going by Conway and Miller :confused:)

10-10-2009, 12:17 PM
:bye:

robbed :greengrin

10-10-2009, 12:18 PM
Donnelly:
"A good performance with lots for George Burley to take heart from..Japan are a good side and they are going to the World Cup."

...apart from the fact not one of those players were playing today....:bitchy:

10-10-2009, 12:19 PM
robbed :greengrin

Stick a quid oan Shrek 1st goal 2-0 Engerland.

Just buy me a pint next week D :cool2:

10-10-2009, 12:20 PM
Just buy me a pint next week D :cool2:

if I remember what you look like....:wink:

10-10-2009, 12:21 PM
Not one shot on target for Scotland in the 90 mins, poor stuff.

Expecting Rain
10-10-2009, 12:22 PM
I`ve thrown my jimmy hat into the bucket, Lee Miller hasn`t scored a goal all season, Deeks is top scorer with 4.

10-10-2009, 12:24 PM
if I remember what you look like....:wink:

10-10-2009, 12:25 PM
The sad fact of the matter is that to get a game for the national team right now, workrate comes above ability. I am sick fed up listening to people who say things like "he worked hard" and " he covered a lot of grass today". FFS we could put a marathon runner in to do the same job but it wont mean they are a footballer

10-10-2009, 12:31 PM
The sad fact of the matter is that to get a game for the national team right now, workrate comes above ability. I am sick fed up listening to people who say things like "he worked hard" and " he covered a lot of grass today". FFS we could put a marathon runner in to do the same job but it wont mean they are a footballer

:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks

Why for F*** Sake are are we listening to people telling us when it was still 0 - 0 that we were 15 mins from a great result??? Not 1 shot on goal. Dozens of mis-placed or lazy passes, horrendous team selection, should i go on..........???

10-10-2009, 12:32 PM
A lot of fatuous guff being spouted on here just cos the manager's an ex-Yam IMO.

Performance wasn't bad considering it was basically Scotland B. Looked well enough organised - lack of penetration was the problem - needed Riordan on a lot earlier if not from the start - same with Fletch.

Berra can't be blamed for the 1st goal even if he is a Yam fud as well - the Jap behind him would have nipped in (:duck:) and scored if he'd left it.

I don't know whether Japan were playing a B team as well but I think that game shows just how tough the european qualifying really is - Japan stroll into the finals every time and although they're a decent side I think they'd find it a lot harder in a european group.

10-10-2009, 12:34 PM
Humour bypass:wink:

I thought it might have been some kind of sarcasm but I wasn't too sure.

10-10-2009, 12:36 PM
I would keep Burley as I don't think there would be queue of better managers waiting for the job but that was painfull to watch. There was no pressure with all the call offs, it was afriendly and there was no experimentation with formation, tactics or personnel Played for a 0-0 and when you do that you tend to lose. Nothing gained from this trip except a whole load of expense and tired players.

10-10-2009, 12:37 PM
A lot of fatuous guff being spouted on here just cos the manager's an ex-Yam IMO.

Not on my part - I've been trying to defend the guy but I don't think you can defend a manager that picks a non-scoring SPL striker that wasn't in his original squad ahead of an in-form EPL striker.

And to give Riordan his "last chance" of 16 minutes is ridiculous.

And BTW "the performance wasn't that bad"? We didn't have a shot on goal!

10-10-2009, 12:38 PM
Japan stroll into the finals every time

Not really, Japan have only qualified for 3 finals in their entire history. Saudis, Iran and the Koreas just off the top of my head have all had their moments against 'big' European nations.

10-10-2009, 12:41 PM
Thought Scotland were ok to be honest, Wallace and Dorrans looked half decent and should be in next squad IMO. Pity Fletch missed that glorious chance when 0-0.

bobbyhibs1983
I dunno why we play this stupid system of 4 5 1 or whatever it is, Imo we should have had deeks and Fletcher on from the start and gone with 4 4 2,I think alot of ppl would say ye seems a good 2 front guys.

I thought we had a couple of half chances/shots in the game, iirc i think japan had like 12 shots, maybe 4-5 on target?

you just knew it was going to be a loady***** when we saw George Peat coasting along as the high heid yin doing all the handshakes before kick off.

10-10-2009, 12:53 PM
Not on my part - I've been trying to defend the guy but I don't think you can defend a manager that picks a non-scoring SPL striker that wasn't in his original squad ahead of an in-form EPL striker.

I had problems with the starting line up as well - but the performance was well organised - we didn't look overwhelmed at all at any point and I think possession wise it was probably about 50/50.
I think if we'd started with Riordan and Fletcher we might have seen a bit more penetration from that possession and maybe a few goalscoring opportunities.
Overall though I think there were some positives to take from the game - the back 4 looked solid enough which was important with so many new faces in there and the midfield, while lacking penetration, retained the ball well and didn't look like the bunch of rookies which they are at this level.
Playing an off-form Miller from the start was a mistake though - defo agree on that point :agree:

10-10-2009, 12:53 PM
Lee Miller. What a ****ing joke. The man has yet to score a goal this season yet Riordan is benched. Burley is a complete and utter idiot.

DBHibs
10-10-2009, 01:00 PM
Yet another shambolic performance under Burley by Scotland.

Despite the fact that we had 5 men in midfield we seemed incapable of retaining the ball for longer than 2 seconds.

Formation was a joke and the team selection even worse - Lee Miller and Craig Conway starting a game ahead of Fletch or Deek being the most obvious example.

10-10-2009, 01:04 PM
Not really, Japan have only qualified for 3 finals in their entire history. Saudis, Iran and the Koreas just off the top of my head have all had their moments against 'big' European nations.

You're not quite right - they've qualified 4 times (including this one) BUT those four just happen to be the most recent four - 1998, 2002, 2006 and 2010.
So in recent times I think it's fair to say that they've dominated their qualifying region.

10-10-2009, 01:05 PM

Couldn't have said it better myself :top marks

Latapy1911
10-10-2009, 01:07 PM
arghhh

Honestly the most boring team in the world

10-10-2009, 01:19 PM
There is this myth that has been allowed to grow in the media that the only way we can now play is a 4-5-1 or some other defensive minded set up because the players aren't quite good enough. I think it is absolute bollocks. we have attack minded players in most positions, including full backs but we continually set out to bore the opposition into a 0-0.

10-10-2009, 01:24 PM

here is another one for you his son was my teacher at trinity academy he always loved to tell us that one:rolleyes:

10-10-2009, 01:32 PM

Scotland didn't have 1 shot on target..

Nae wonder when you start with clowns like Lee Miller and folk who haven't kicked a ball all season in Conway..

Burley is a drunken yam TlT!!

Is it any wonder more and more folk are losing interest in the shambles that is the national side when this muppet is at the helm..

Keep it up George!!

Gives me something to laugh about :agree:

ceecee
10-10-2009, 01:47 PM
Not saying it was particularly brilliant but the BBC website match report is a complete joke. Totally negative about all aspects. Even indirectly crticising the size of the Scotland support. Would imagine he wrote it in his living room.

10-10-2009, 02:21 PM
You're not quite right - they've qualified 4 times (including this one) BUT those four just happen to be the most recent four - 1998, 2002, 2006 and 2010.
So in recent times I think it's fair to say that they've dominated their qualifying region.

Japan didn't have to qualify in 2002 - co/hosts with S,Korea.....:wink:

10-10-2009, 02:44 PM
here is another one for you his son was my teacher at trinity academy he always loved to tell us that one:rolleyes:

He was never my teacher but always quite liked him. never knew his dad played for scotland.

10-10-2009, 02:55 PM
I had problems with the starting line up as well - but the performance was well organised - we didn't look overwhelmed at all at any point and I think possession wise it was probably about 50/50.
I think if we'd started with Riordan and Fletcher we might have seen a bit more penetration from that possession and maybe a few goalscoring opportunities.
Overall though I think there were some positives to take from the game - the back 4 looked solid enough which was important with so many new faces in there and the midfield, while lacking penetration, retained the ball well and didn't look like the bunch of rookies which they are at this level.
Playing an off-form Miller from the start was a mistake though - defo agree on that point :agree:

Lee Wallace was the only new face in there.

I also can't agree that Berra shouldn't be criticised for his OG. You're probaly correct that guy behind him would've scored. But can we not expect Berra to get there and hook the ball to safety? If he was better positioned that would not have been so tough. Great cross though to be fair.

10-10-2009, 03:18 PM
I think Burley is 100% responsible for the whole sorry mess that this Japan trip has been. If he had not been the manager, few if any of the regular squad would have pulled out. The players have no time or respect for the guy.

10-10-2009, 04:04 PM

You're right about them playing in the last 4 finals, but they only needed to qualify for 3. One of them being Japan/Korea where they were joint hosts and didn't need to qualify. :cool2:

Edit: I see TOAODS beat me to it. - not unusual.

10-10-2009, 04:15 PM
Basically our second string team lost 2-0 to Japans second string team. And our managers played the wrong system, formation and selection again. Still i suppose he leant from another defeat. :bitchy: Drunken tosser should have been launched after the world cup fiasco.:grr:

10-10-2009, 04:25 PM
Not saying it was particularly brilliant but the BBC website match report is a complete joke. Totally negative about all aspects. Even indirectly crticising the size of the Scotland support. Would imagine he wrote it in his living room.

Perhaps trying to balance out the overly positive pish being slavered by Paul Mitchell and co on the TV coverage.

10-10-2009, 04:35 PM

To be pedantic, Japan never 'qualified' in 2002, as they were the hosts. And South Korea have a better record, theyve qualified for every world cup since 1986, 7 in a row, as well as making the semi's in 2002.

10-10-2009, 04:40 PM
Riordan plays for Hibs.

Burleys a wee yam turd.

You do the maths. :yawn:

Riordan's never going to get a proper run out with this fud in charge.

millarco
10-10-2009, 05:17 PM
I think Burley is 100% responsible for the whole sorry mess that this Japan trip has been. If he had not been the manager, few if any of the regular squad would have pulled out. The players have no time or respect for the guy.

We've always had problems with players pulling out of international duty for friendlies, it would have been the same whoever the manager was. Rediculous decision to play over in Japan this weekend, would have been as well having a training camp or something like that. I guess the SFA were handsomely compensated though so it's not all bad.

It seems quite a few folk are getting pretty worked up over a glorified B-international. Or more likely using any excuse to have a go at Burley. I have no doubt that he thinks Fletcher is a better striker than Lee Miller, no harm in experimenting a bit. He's going to be here for the next campaign, it would be nice to see the nation get right behind him and the team.

10-10-2009, 05:22 PM
He's going to be here for the next campaign, it would be nice to see the nation get right behind him and the team.

the only thing he needs behind him is George Peat's size 10 Doc Martin.

10-10-2009, 09:38 PM
the only thing he needs behind him is George Peat's size 10 Doc Martin.

And who will be behind Peat giving him the size 10? cause he's a toss pot aswell.

10-10-2009, 11:08 PM
And who will be behind Peat giving him the size 10? cause he's a toss pot aswell.

The Ghost of Ernie Walker....:greengrin

11-10-2009, 12:26 PM
We've always had problems with players pulling out of international duty for friendlies, it would have been the same whoever the manager was. Rediculous decision to play over in Japan this weekend, would have been as well having a training camp or something like that. I guess the SFA were handsomely compensated though so it's not all bad.

It seems quite a few folk are getting pretty worked up over a glorified B-international. Or more likely using any excuse to have a go at Burley. I have no doubt that he thinks Fletcher is a better striker than Lee Miller, no harm in experimenting a bit. He's going to be here for the next campaign, it would be nice to see the nation get right behind him and the team.

I'm with you on that - but still very disappointed that Deeks only got 16mins at the end when the game was running away from us - not the way to use him IMO as he's not what I'd see as an impact sub - but the more game time you give him the more likely it is he'll come up with something special whether it be a nice first time through ball, spectacular finish or well executed set-piece. For me it would have made sense in such an experimental match to have him on from the start to see what he could do.

11-10-2009, 01:30 PM
I can''t believe the nonsense that a Scotland game induces on this board. The way people move into a parallel universe where a 0-2 defeat without a single shot on goal becomes acceptable, and we're basically praised for shutting down a poor side to the extent we 'only' escape with a two-goal defeat. Additionally, the blundering jakey we have as manager gives Scotland's top striker 16 minutes and plays a carthorse who has yet to score this season.

Everything about this thread shows me why I loathe international weekends.

Poor Riordan, a flight to the other side of world in order to show a drunkard that HE can stay out of a bar or nightclub, and 'track back for 16 minutes'. Now that was time well spent 'for the cause.'

the_ginger_hibee
11-10-2009, 01:46 PM
I dont think anyone has mentioned this but Japan didn't qualify in 2002, they went straight through as co hosts with Papa New Guinea or something.

11-10-2009, 02:05 PM
I dont think anyone has mentioned this but Japan didn't qualify in 2002, they went straight through as co hosts with Papa New Guinea or something.

...and they're NOT the best team in Asia either:greengrin

11-10-2009, 02:32 PM
If I was Derek, I'd consider telling George Burley, Gordon Smith and the SFA to stick it up their ar5e. There would be no negative press campaign either - Kris Boyd set the bar and he's still a god in the tabloid press.

I am not a huge international fan but I tuned in yesterday to see Derek. Switched it off before the anthems were done. It's been like this for years...it never changes.

Mag7
12-10-2009, 05:38 PM

Performance wasn't bad considering it was basically Scotland B. Looked well enough organised - lack of penetration was the problem - needed Riordan on a lot earlier if not from the start - same with Fletch.

Berra can't be blamed for the 1st goal even if he is a Yam fud as well - the Jap behind him would have nipped in (:duck:) and scored if he'd left it.

I don't know whether Japan were playing a B team as well but I think that game shows just how tough the european qualifying really is - Japan stroll into the finals every time and although they're a decent side I think they'd find it a lot harder in a european group.

Yes they were playing a B team, which just goes to show their reserves are much better than ours.

12-10-2009, 06:40 PM

aye we got told about his dad on a few occasions

12-10-2009, 07:11 PM
Is it a coinsadence that Burke, who has made himself unavailable for Scotland, used to play for Rangers?...