View Full Version : Weather (High Winds Today)

Berwickhibby
03-10-2009, 07:25 AM
What is the weather like in Edinburgh today, its hammering down here in Berwick..... is there any chance that the game could be effected:confused:

03-10-2009, 07:29 AM
It is actually nice and sunny here in Edinburgh.....pity about the gale force winds though !

I went for a paper this morning (in the West side of Edinburgh)......it blew out of my hands and was last spotted flying over Dunbar.

It really is windy !

03-10-2009, 07:40 AM
must be a chance of a cancellation if it carries on like this:rolleyes: 70mph gusts atm

ceecee
03-10-2009, 07:42 AM
just a breeze!

03-10-2009, 07:42 AM
The wind will cause havoc today.

Just as well we have a goalie who commands his box and a defence that are good in the air :devil:

03-10-2009, 07:43 AM
It's lovely up in Dundee - not a cloud in the sky, although the wind is pretty strong (maybe 30-40mph though, not 70 up here).

Be interesting to watch Kingsbarns chew some pro's and amateurs up today :thumbsup:

03-10-2009, 07:59 AM
I believe the Forth Road Bridge is closed to high sided vehicles and Nade :greengrin

03-10-2009, 08:38 AM
Very windy in central Edinburgh. Just returned from the Farmers' Market at Castle Terrace - the market has been cancelled today due to the weather, but some of the traders have set up to sell by the road side.

bobbyhibs1983
03-10-2009, 08:41 AM
I believe the Forth Road Bridge is closed to high sided vehicles and Nade :greengrin

My freind im lead to believe that mr nade is not aloud on the forth road bridge

03-10-2009, 08:45 AM
60-70mph winds forecast for this afternoon.........

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/8288193.stm

03-10-2009, 08:51 AM
Fine and dandy down in the South Coast.

I farted in the garden, returned about five minutes later and the fragrance was still lingering :wink:

andyhibs
03-10-2009, 08:56 AM
My freind im lead to believe that mr nade is not aloud on the forth road bridge
unless escorted ,has to be parked in the coned off area for large and wide :greengrin

03-10-2009, 08:57 AM
Fine and dandy down in the South Coast.

I farted in the garden, returned about five minutes later and the fragrance was still lingering :wink:

If you had the gusts that we have here they'd have evacuated France by now.

03-10-2009, 09:14 AM
It should make for an even more entertaining afternoon.

03-10-2009, 09:20 AM
Doesnt seem to windy from my window anyway. :thumbsup:

03-10-2009, 09:23 AM
It should make for an even more entertaining afternoon.

As long as we win

I suppose now that we're into the month of October then today's games will be played in a winter month so I'm awaiting tonight's outcry from Gordon Smith & Chic (the pansy) Young that summer football is the only answer (eg our recent friendly against Dunfermline)

03-10-2009, 09:26 AM
And contrary to popular and media belief, Benji and Zemmama play better in the colder months:agree:

03-10-2009, 09:35 AM
High winds doon here in the Borders, going to make the drive up a pain in the bottom.

Dont think theres any chance of the game being off unless a bit gets blown off the stand roof or something.

Could turn the game into a bit of a lottery though and may suit Utd better than us as they like the odd high ball .. ken.

Riordan 40 yard free kick anyone ?

03-10-2009, 09:40 AM
had to go into the back garden at around 2 Am and put the chairs into the garage as the wiund was rattling them all over the place.

Nowhere near as bad now but I think the wind will help us as Levein's Giants would be queuing up for the arrival of the hanging crosses so fingers crossed it ruins their plans.

03-10-2009, 09:45 AM
It's lovely up in Dundee - not a cloud in the sky, although the wind is pretty strong (maybe 30-40mph though, not 70 up here).

Be interesting to watch Kingsbarns chew some pro's and amateurs up today :thumbsup:

Bah - no great surprise that play has been cancelled for today on account of the winds :grr:

Can't say I'm completely upset about it though, as it's perishing up here!

03-10-2009, 09:47 AM

I hope you didn't head there.
The third round has been postponed until tomorrow.
Carnoustie and St Andrews have also been declared unplayable in the gales.
The final round will now be on Monday at St Andrews.

edit: I see you didn't go.

03-10-2009, 09:53 AM
Aye - means free golf tomorrow though at Kingsbarns, as opposed to paying to get into St Andrews! :thumbsup:

03-10-2009, 09:55 AM
Aye - means free golf tomorrow though at Kingsbarns, as opposed to paying to get into St Andrews! :thumbsup:

Every cloud has a silver lining (especially when it's scudding across the sky at 70 miles per hour) :greengrin

Hibs Spain
03-10-2009, 10:02 AM
The wind will cause havoc today.

Just as well we have a goalie who commands his box and a defence that are good in the air :devil::wink:

03-10-2009, 11:54 AM
still blowing a gale in west edinburgh but not as bad as through the night. my stair door was banging against the wall all night, was close to going out with a screw driver and taking the bloody thing off:grr:

03-10-2009, 12:00 PM
still blowing a gale in west edinburgh but not as bad as through the night. my stair door was banging against the wall all night, was close to going out with a screw driver and taking the bloody thing off:grr:

my neighbours headboard was banging against the wall allnight:devil:

03-10-2009, 12:10 PM

Wonder why they left the bedroom window open. :wink:

03-10-2009, 12:46 PM

:faf::faf::faf:

03-10-2009, 12:49 PM

03-10-2009, 07:06 PM

Which house were you in? :wink: