View Full Version : Dundee (Fat Family) 2 kids taken into care
01-10-2009, 05:29 PM
A report about this has just been covered by Scotland Today with an interview with the parents. To be truthful I couldn't understand a word they were saying so had to have a look online.
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/2646873/Two-fat-children-have-been-taken-into-care-by-Dundee-City-Council.html
The issue appears to be about the two youngest being taken into care for being too fat. Dundee City Council deny this and state that the weight factor would not be the sole reason for the kids being put into foster care. Dundee City Council have spent £100K in monitoring the family.
The mum is only 40 and is expecting their 7th child. The father is 52. Both parents and the four children are fat (possibly all obese). You can probably assume that they are on benefits and are costing the tax payer a fair wack. Obviously get plenty dosh to keep the food cupboards and fridge well stocked.
Totally irresponsible parenting and it's about time that the country said to those kind of people. Look if you insist on having more children then you and not the government will have to feed and clothes them.
This is not a dig at couples/single parents who have one or maybe two kids but the ones who appear to have kids just to get increased benefits.
It's a scandal.
Stumbled upon an earlier report about the family.
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/2556095/Dundee-Council-to-pay-minders-to-stop-an-obese-family-over-eating.html
01-10-2009, 05:32 PM
A report about this has just been covered by Scotland Today with an interview with the parents. To be truthful I couldn't understand a word they were saying so had to have a look online.
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/2646873/Two-fat-children-have-been-taken-into-care-by-Dundee-City-Council.html
The issue appears to be about the two youngest being taken into care for being too fat. Dundee City Council deny this and state that the weight factor would not be the sole reason for the kids being put into foster care. Dundee City Council have spent £100K in monitoring the family.
The mum is only 40 and is expecting their 7th child. The father is 52. Both parents and the four children are fat (possibly all obese). You can probably assume that they are on benefits and are costing the tax payer a fair wack. Obviously get plenty dosh to keep the food cupboards and fridge well stocked.
Totally irresponsible parenting and it's about time that the country said to those kind of people. Look if you insist on having more children then you and not the government will have to feed and clothes them.
This is not a dig at couples/single parents who have one or maybe two kids but the ones who appear to have kids just to get increased benefits.
It's a scandal.
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/2556095/Dundee-Council-to-pay-minders-to-stop-an-obese-family-over-eating.html
I agreee with your sentiments but are you really prepared to let children live in even further abject poverty because the state decided to support only families with 4 children or less??
01-10-2009, 05:52 PM
I agreee with your sentiments but are you really prepared to let children live in even further abject poverty because the state decided to support only families with 4 children or less??
It's a difficult one and I seriously don't know what the answer is. Obviously the children must be priority and I realise by what I am suggesting by cutting the benefits that it would have a terrible consequence on the kids. So not the way forward.
You would think that grown ups who have been on benefits for a while (and either have no intentions of going back to work or decide that it's financially not worth it) would have the common sense to not increase the family count.
As I said before I don't know what the answer is. Maybe the snip in the case of the Dundee guy. :agree:
02-10-2009, 05:22 AM
Enforced sterilization???? Wow. That would cause a bit of a stooshie.
FWIW I am classed as obese. 14 stone ( maybe a little under now)and 5 foot nine. Stupid.
goosano
02-10-2009, 06:21 AM
FWIW I am classed as obese. 14 stone ( maybe a little under now)and 5 foot nine. Stupid.
At 5'9 and 14 stone your BMI is 28.9 so you are regarded as being overweight and not obese
02-10-2009, 07:54 AM
10 men, 9 men, 8men........coulnae carry Gordon!! :greengrin :greengrin :wink:
02-10-2009, 08:29 AM
At 5'9 and 14 stone your BMI is 28.9 so you are regarded as being overweight and not obese
Better then, although Doc here said was obese. At my annual medical Doc in UK said I was average build:greengrin That costs a lot of money!!!!
10 men, 9 men, 8men........coulnae carry Gordon!! :greengrin :greengrin :wink:
:greengrin that made me laugh, thank you.
The BMI scale is a nonsense for counting how obese or overweight you are cause it doesn't take into consideration your muscle bulk, I think if you're around 5'9" and your waist gets to around 40" then class yourself as obese.
This story is typical of these types of families around not just Scotland but Britain in general. Unfortunately we have been following the good old US of A again and stuffing our faces with fast saturated foods like burgers, pizzas and kfc's. These kids wouldn't know fresh wholesome food if it was put in front of them and herein lies the problem, all too many kids grow up eating food that is unhealthy, biscuits, cake, crisps, sweets etc, these things should be seen as treats to be given if thee kid eats up all their good food, not to be the staple diet.
BravestHibs
02-10-2009, 09:40 AM
It's a scandal.
There doesn't seem to be anything too unusual about them. As long as they stay in Dundee they'll blend right in. In fact 40 seems a tad old to only have 6 kids, they must be bringing the average right down. They should be held up as a shining example to the rest of the families in that tawdry dump of a town. That's the Sun for you though eh. Total non-story.
02-10-2009, 01:51 PM
The BMI scale is a nonsense for counting how obese or overweight you are cause it doesn't take into consideration your muscle bulk, I think if you're around 5'9" and your waist gets to around 40" then class yourself as obese.
This story is typical of these types of families around not just Scotland but Britain in general. Unfortunately we have been following the good old US of A again and stuffing our faces with fast saturated foods like burgers, pizzas and kfc's. These kids wouldn't know fresh wholesome food if it was put in front of them and herein lies the problem, all too many kids grow up eating food that is unhealthy, biscuits, cake, crisps, sweets etc, these things should be seen as treats to be given if thee kid eats up all their good food, not to be the staple diet.
It's a shame that the way society is going is down the ready meal/junk food route as people are "too busy" to make a decent meal.
There are plenty of healthy meals that are quick and easy to cook.
A large part of the problem lies in marketing/advertising/price of these products. Junk food is constantly advertised on TV (Rustlers Burgers, KFC, McDonalds etc etc) and young kids are very impressionable.
Junk food, especially in supermarkets are usually very affordable too.
02-10-2009, 02:09 PM
There doesn't seem to be anything too unusual about them. As long as they stay in Dundee they'll blend right in. In fact 40 seems a tad old to only have 6 kids, they must be bringing the average right down. They should be held up as a shining example to the rest of the families in that tawdry dump of a town. That's the Sun for you though eh. Total non-story.
What an inspired, highly thoughtful and insightful post.
Thanks for sharing.
BravestHibs
02-10-2009, 02:12 PM
What an inspired, highly thoughtful and insightful post.
Thanks for sharing.
You're more than welcome.
02-10-2009, 02:18 PM
You will also be aware, then, that Dundee has the highest proportion of graduates amongst its population in the U.K.
That's stereotyping for you, eh?
BravestHibs
02-10-2009, 02:28 PM
You will also be aware, then, that Dundee has the highest proportion of graduates amongst its population in the U.K.
That's stereotyping for you, eh?
That may be the case but how do they come to that figure? If it's counting those who work in medical research in Ninewells that actually live in Tayport and other surrounding towns then I can believe it. If you're purely counting those who have been born and raised in Dundee proper then I find that very hard to believe.
02-10-2009, 02:33 PM
That may be the case but how do they come to that figure? If it's counting those who work in medical research in Ninewells that actually live in Tayport and other surrounding towns then I can believe it. If you're purely counting those who have been born and raised in Dundee proper then I find that very hard to believe.
I have no idea of the basis of the figures, but would assume it's based on those who live and work in the city. It's not just Ninewells, though, it's all the businesses along the Kingsway and the Riverside. Lots of technological stuff, and quangos such as OSCR and the Care Commission.
My point, of course, is about the stereotyping. (City of Discovery? Get there and discover it's ******! etc etc).....
BravestHibs
02-10-2009, 02:41 PM
I have no idea of the basis of the figures, but would assume it's based on those who live and work in the city. It's not just Ninewells, though, it's all the businesses along the Kingsway and the Riverside. Lots of technological stuff, and quangos such as OSCR and the Care Commission.
My point, of course, is about the stereotyping. (City of Discovery? Get there and discover it's ******! etc etc).....
Well I spent 4 years there so the only thing I can base it on is my experience. Which included a couple of French guys that I was in halls with my first year getting the **** kicked out of them for being french, coming out of my flat opposite the DCA and more often than not having to negotiate toothless ****bags having a burn in my stair, some of the worst pubs, clubs and restaurants I've ever had the misfortune to visit in my lifetime (and I've been out in Rotherham), the general small mindedness of the local population(before someone jumps on their high horse I appreciate there are some who aren't, including the friends I made while I was there). They still have stickers on public transport reminding people they're not allowed to spit for gods sake. All of these things have served to form my opinion of the place and I stand by it. The place is a royal **** hole of the highest order.
02-10-2009, 03:00 PM
You have to hand it to Dundee City Council, they have done a brilliant job of turning that City around. I know there are serious concerns in Aberdeen that a lot of business could drift South.
02-10-2009, 03:24 PM
I believe that it doesn't cost much to get fat these days. Simply visit a branch of Farmfoods to see how.
02-10-2009, 03:24 PM
Well I spent 4 years there so the only thing I can base it on is my experience. Which included a couple of French guys that I was in halls with my first year getting the **** kicked out of them for being french, coming out of my flat opposite the DCA and more often than not having to negotiate toothless ****bags having a burn in my stair, some of the worst pubs, clubs and restaurants I've ever had the misfortune to visit in my lifetime (and I've been out in Rotherham), the general small mindedness of the local population(before someone jumps on their high horse I appreciate there are some who aren't, including the friends I made while I was there). They still have stickers on public transport reminding people they're not allowed to spit for gods sake. All of these things have served to form my opinion of the place and I stand by it. The place is a royal **** hole of the highest order.
Your time here was either far from recent, or you had some serious bad luck then! I've been here for 5 years, and although I'm not exactly the City apologist (as I'm not overly keen on it either), I'd certainly not level the sort of opinion towards it that you have. There are "toothless s**mbags" in every city - some of them probably even have "burns" in stairs around Edinburgh, Glasgow, London, Manchester - yadda yadda yadda. There are also racist attacks in other cities across the UK, and beyond!
They do NOT have stickers on public transport which tell you not to spit (perhaps indicative of how long ago you were living in Dundee?). They've certainly made great strides to improve the city since I moved up here for Uni 5 years ago, and the improvement is notable. When the waterfront redevelopment is completed and the regeneration of Lochee and the Hilltown is completed, this will be a very nice city indeed!
I'm not saying your post/opinion is invalid, as obviously it's based on your experience of your time here, but it's certainly not as much of a hole as it was at one time.
BravestHibs
02-10-2009, 03:39 PM
Your time here was either far from recent, or you had some serious bad luck then! I've been here for 5 years, and although I'm not exactly the City apologist (as I'm not overly keen on it either), I'd certainly not level the sort of opinion towards it that you have. There are "toothless s**mbags" in every city - some of them probably even have "burns" in stairs around Edinburgh, Glasgow, London, Manchester - yadda yadda yadda. There are also racist attacks in other cities across the UK, and beyond!
They do NOT have stickers on public transport which tell you not to spit (perhaps indicative of how long ago you were living in Dundee?). They've certainly made great strides to improve the city since I moved up here for Uni 5 years ago, and the improvement is notable. When the waterfront redevelopment is completed and the regeneration of Lochee and the Hilltown is completed, this will be a very nice city indeed!
I'm not saying your post/opinion is invalid, as obviously it's based on your experience of your time here, but it's certainly not as much of a hole as it was at one time.
I was probably leaving at around about the time you were getting there. True, there are toothless ****bags in every city (I still don't understand how Dundee can be called a city by the way) but they seem to be so much more conspicuous in Dundee for some reason. My own theory is that there is a very high proportion of them.
You're probably right about ****bags in stairs in Edinburgh as well, but the centre of town?? First thing in the morning?? So regularly?? I highly doubt the percentage of smack heads is anywhere near as high in any of the cities you mentioned, well, apart from Glasgow.
I can assure you that 4-5 years ago they most certainly did have stickers telling you not to spit and that they were dutifully ignored on a regular basis by yet more of the toothless wonders that populate what I came to think of as the anus of Scotland.
When I was there the plans for the waterside development were circulating and it certainly isn't going to do any harm, but I can't ever see Dundee becoming "a very nice city indeed" by any stretch of the imagination. I'm so happy that I never have to visit it ever again that I feel like whistling a tune, and if I wasn't at work I probably would.
02-10-2009, 04:02 PM
I was probably leaving at around about the time you were getting there. True, there are toothless ****bags in every city (I still don't understand how Dundee can be called a city by the way) but they seem to be so much more conspicuous in Dundee for some reason. My own theory is that there is a very high proportion of them.
You're probably right about ****bags in stairs in Edinburgh as well, but the centre of town?? First thing in the morning?? So regularly?? I highly doubt the percentage of smack heads is anywhere near as high in any of the cities you mentioned, well, apart from Glasgow.
I can assure you that 4-5 years ago they most certainly did have stickers telling you not to spit and that they were dutifully ignored on a regular basis by yet more of the toothless wonders that populate what I came to think of as the anus of Scotland.
When I was there the plans for the waterside development were circulating and it certainly isn't going to do any harm, but I can't ever see Dundee becoming "a very nice city indeed" by any stretch of the imagination. I'm so happy that I never have to visit it ever again that I feel like whistling a tune, and if I wasn't at work I probably would.
is it a coincidence that dundee became a cleaner,safer and "very nice city" after you left:wink:
and as for toothless junkies. it takes one to know one i suppose
02-10-2009, 05:36 PM
It's not called S**mdee for nothing:duck:
02-10-2009, 07:40 PM
And to think that you were so close to me, living in the same city.
My heart's all a flutter just thinking about it.:love ya!:
02-10-2009, 08:12 PM
And to think that you were so close to me, living in the same city.
My heart's all a flutter just thinking about it.:love ya!:
Huff - nice to know I do nothing for you :boo hoo::wink:
02-10-2009, 08:42 PM
Huff - nice to know I do nothing for you :boo hoo::wink:
:rolleyes: Jeezo!
I'll take you to the Ferry for an ice cream sometime. Show you where Visocchi's is. :wink:
But I'll have to pluck up the courage to come back to the ****hole that is Dundee. :devil:
02-10-2009, 09:18 PM
:rolleyes: Jeezo!
I'll take you to the Ferry for an ice cream sometime. Show you where Visocchi's is. :wink:
But I'll have to pluck up the courage to come back to the ****hole that is Dundee. :devil:
Speaking of which, I actually found Gray Street the other day, en route to the golf in Carnoustie!
I actually live in West Ferry anyway and not Dundee, so bulletproof vests are only required if you stray :greengrin
02-10-2009, 09:22 PM
Speaking of which, I actually found Gray Street the other day, en route to the golf in Carnoustie!
I actually live in West Ferry anyway and not Dundee, so bulletproof vests are only required if you stray :greengrin
Ah that old chestnut! Its still Dundee, doesn't matter what kind of slant you try to put on it. My end of the town too.
So you stay in Douglas then? :greengrin
02-10-2009, 09:28 PM
Ah that old chestnut! Its still Dundee, doesn't matter what kind of slant you try to put on it. My end of the town too.
So you stay in Douglas then? :greengrin
I'm along the Broughty Ferry Road - sadly, I'm well aware the city limits seem to end at Monifieth :greengrin
Where are you??
02-10-2009, 09:35 PM
I'm along the Broughty Ferry Road - sadly, I'm well aware the city limits seem to end at Monifieth :greengrin
Where are you??
Scott, I don't stay in Dundee anymore but used to stay just off Strathern Road, West Ferry.
And sorry to have to break this to you but Broughty Ferry Road is not West Ferry, it's nearly Dundee toon centre!
LiverpoolHibs
02-10-2009, 09:40 PM
So, essentially you hate people who live under the influence of poverty and large scale deprivation. Well done!
02-10-2009, 09:45 PM
Scott, I don't stay in Dundee anymore but used to stay just off Strathern Road, West Ferry.
And sorry to have to break this to you but Broughty Ferry Road is not West Ferry, it's nearly Dundee toon centre!
I'm far enough away from the Town Centre, but aye, tis still Dundee I guess, but shoosht :wink:
The far Eastern part of the city, leading into Broughty Ferry is nice - nae quite Western Perth Road, but no "s**mbags" of "junkie trash" along here.
Anyway, I digress...
02-10-2009, 09:48 PM
And if you think Dundee's prostitution/drug problem is as bad as Sheffield's then you're badly mistaken :wink:
02-10-2009, 09:50 PM
I'm far enough away from the Town Centre, but aye, tis still Dundee I guess, but shoosht :wink:
The far Eastern part of the city, leading into Broughty Ferry is nice - nae quite Western Perth Road, but no "s**mbags" of "junkie trash" along here.
Anyway, I digress...
:lips seal You're secret's safe with me.
Hardly one of the nicest places in the city to live. Rather you than me. But seeing as you were in the city as a student you probably didn't venture any further than the city centre so your perspective of the city as a whole would be quite narrow? I stand to be corrected and would be interested to know what parts of the city you did visit, if any.
02-10-2009, 09:55 PM
Hardly one of the nicest places in the city to live. Rather you than me. But seeing as you were in the city as a student you probably didn't venture any further than the city centre so your perspective of the city as a whole would be quite narrow? I stand to be corrected and would be interested to know what parts of the city you did visit, if any.
My flat mate from first year halls (we stayed in Tay Mills, just across from the Courthouse) ended up living in a flat just opposite the DCA, on South Tay Street, and I thought it was OK. It DOES get noisy, as you have Bar Rio, the Nether, the DCA, the Social, Underground (formerly The Basement) and the main thoroughfare to the Union in the area, but I can't say I've ever noted any "trouble" around there...
Having said that, I did lamp someone across from the DCA one night as he was harassing my fiance...:grr:
02-10-2009, 10:00 PM
My flat mate from first year halls (we stayed in Tay Mills, just across from the Courthouse) ended up living in a flat just opposite the DCA, on South Tay Street, and I thought it was OK. It DOES get noisy, as you have Bar Rio, the Nether, the DCA, the Social, Underground (formerly The Basement) and the main thoroughfare to the Union in the area, but I can't say I've ever noted any "trouble" around there...
Having said that, I did lamp someone across from the DCA one night as he was harassing my fiance...:grr:
I agree with you that it's not exactly cowboy country but the majority of people who live in that area will be students? You wouldn't pick that as a place to stay if you were coming to live in Dundee. Well I certainly wouldn't. I just think Bravesthibs is being very blinkered in his views.
02-10-2009, 10:40 PM
And if you think Dundee's prostitution/drug problem is as bad as Sheffield's then you're badly mistaken :wink:
Yup. Street prostitution is minimal in Dundee. As far as the four main cities in Scotland go, it definitely has the smallest scene.
03-10-2009, 12:43 PM
:lips seal You're secret's safe with me.
You'd get a totally different perspective if you went to places like Ardler and Whitfield I'm sure - Dundee's stockbroker belt. :greengrin
BravestHibs
04-10-2009, 01:16 AM
So, essentially you hate people who live under the influence of poverty and large scale deprivation. Well done!
First time you've broken cover with me liverpool. You must be the guy who invites heroine addicted crack babies to play in the nursery that you single handedly built in africa whilst simultaneously eradicating world debt and AIDS.
The only things I mentioned hating was dundee as a city, and specifically the guys who chose to smoke heroine in the stair that led to my badly lit flat. The fact that the toothless wonders that I had wave out of my stair most mornings were poor isn't why I hate Dundee, the vast majority of people I spoke to in my time there weren't below the poverty line yet I still found I didn't have anything in common with them. If you knew me you would come to realise that the opposite of what you say is true, it's actually rich people I blindly hate for no discernable reason, not poor people, and the people I hate most of all are stupid ones, and I'm sure you'd agree that has nothing to do with your fiscal abilities.
You've formed an image of me in your head that turns out to be wrong, and that's understandable, but to turn round and accuse me of what is tantamount to class hatred isn't something I'm so pleased about.
BravestHibs
04-10-2009, 01:26 AM
is it a coincidence that dundee became a cleaner,safer and "very nice city" after you left:wink:
and as for toothless junkies. it takes one to know one i suppose
I just got merked.
I'm assuming you're not one of the people that make up Dundees freakishly high graduate population, if your punctuation, and primary school banter is anything to go by.:wink:
LiverpoolHibs
04-10-2009, 12:07 PM
First time you've broken cover with me liverpool. You must be the guy who invites heroine addicted crack babies to play in the nursery that you single handedly built in africa whilst simultaneously eradicating world debt and AIDS.
The only things I mentioned hating was dundee as a city, and specifically the guys who chose to smoke heroine in the stair that led to my badly lit flat. The fact that the toothless wonders that I had wave out of my stair most mornings were poor isn't why I hate Dundee, the vast majority of people I spoke to in my time there weren't below the poverty line yet I still found I didn't have anything in common with them. If you knew me you would come to realise that the opposite of what you say is true, it's actually rich people I blindly hate for no discernable reason, not poor people, and the people I hate most of all are stupid ones, and I'm sure you'd agree that has nothing to do with your fiscal abilities.
You've formed an image of me in your head that turns out to be wrong, and that's understandable, but to turn round and accuse me of what is tantamount to class hatred isn't something I'm so pleased about.
Broken cover with you? I generally like your posts and was quite surprised by your comments in this thread.
The definite tone of class hatred is your fault, not mine.
New Corrie
04-10-2009, 02:08 PM
I once heard Dundee described as......."Hull with learning difficulties" :duck:
04-10-2009, 07:54 PM
So, have I got this right? You hate Dundee because of the junkies that slept in your close and because you had nothing in common with most of the people you spoke to?
BravestHibs
05-10-2009, 09:58 AM
So, have I got this right? You hate Dundee because of the junkies that slept in your close and because you had nothing in common with most of the people you spoke to?
I couldn't tell you if they slept in my stair or not, the only thing I know is that they were always awake when I came down to go to uni/work and more often than not they were smoking smack, which funnily enough didn't really cast Dundee in a favourable light to me at the time.
To address Liverpools comments, the thing I don't understand about them Liverpool, is how I could have any other outlook other than a negative one when this is the kind of thing I was seeing on a daily basis?
And yes, the fact that I have nothing in common with the vast majority of people I spoke to was certainly a large contributary factor as to why I didn't enjoy my time there. But there are other things which contributed to my dislike for the place, the people on my course all seemed to come from tiny villages in, either the highlands or sleepy backwaters in Ireland. They came to Dundee and saw a metropolis, I came to Dundee and saw a town with very poor amenities and a largely unemployed population which contributed to a general sense of hopelessness and a bleak outlook. Call me crazy but this isn't the type of city I want to stick around in. It's very easy to cast me as a snob or imply that I'm looking down my nose at those with poor dental hygeine, which you have to admit is a striking feature of the Dundee population, or at least it was when I was there, but the fact of the matter remains, I sure as hell wouldn't want to live there ever again but that's not to say that other people with a different outlook on life and the places they want to live in can't enjoy life there. It's not for me to stick around and try and make it a better place either, I could only piss with cock that I've got and Dundee at my time of visiting was a tiny, almost inverted button mushroom of a cock with a number of veneerial diseases, it may well have visited the clinic since I left but unless it has major surgery I can't see myself ever seeing Dundee as anything other than an embarrasing little welt which makes me ashamed to use the communal showers.
Sumner
05-10-2009, 12:59 PM
let them eat cake
.. and McNuggets, fries, kebabs, food from vans...
Flynn
06-10-2009, 12:27 PM
It's a scandal.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmgbSjLT1xE :grr:
Above link is not for the easily offended.
Can anyone name one problem we have in this world that will be solved by more ****ing people. When any population goes into overshoot, a die-off is imminent.
06-10-2009, 09:23 PM
I couldn't tell you if they slept in my stair or not, the only thing I know is that they were always awake when I came down to go to uni/work and more often than not they were smoking smack, which funnily enough didn't really cast Dundee in a favourable light to me at the time.
To address Liverpools comments, the thing I don't understand about them Liverpool, is how I could have any other outlook other than a negative one when this is the kind of thing I was seeing on a daily basis?
And yes, the fact that I have nothing in common with the vast majority of people I spoke to was certainly a large contributary factor as to why I didn't enjoy my time there. But there are other things which contributed to my dislike for the place, the people on my course all seemed to come from tiny villages in, either the highlands or sleepy backwaters in Ireland. They came to Dundee and saw a metropolis, I came to Dundee and saw a town with very poor amenities and a largely unemployed population which contributed to a general sense of hopelessness and a bleak outlook. Call me crazy but this isn't the type of city I want to stick around in. It's very easy to cast me as a snob or imply that I'm looking down my nose at those with poor dental hygeine, which you have to admit is a striking feature of the Dundee population, or at least it was when I was there, but the fact of the matter remains, I sure as hell wouldn't want to live there ever again but that's not to say that other people with a different outlook on life and the places they want to live in can't enjoy life there. It's not for me to stick around and try and make it a better place either, I could only piss with cock that I've got and Dundee at my time of visiting was a tiny, almost inverted button mushroom of a cock with a number of veneerial diseases, it may well have visited the clinic since I left but unless it has major surgery I can't see myself ever seeing Dundee as anything other than an embarrasing little welt which makes me ashamed to use the communal showers.
So, from what you're saying, you have based your opinions of Dundee on the people you met at University (majority of which weren't from Dundee) and poor dental hygiene?
You also seem to have an indepth knowledge of knobs. Takes one to know one?
And finally, just out of interest, what did you study at University and where is your home town?
07-10-2009, 07:25 AM
Can anyone name one problem we have in this world that will be solved by more ****ing people. When any population goes into overshoot, a die-off is imminent.
Very Malthusian! :wink:
BravestHibs
07-10-2009, 08:33 AM
So, from what you're saying, you have based your opinions of Dundee on the people you met at University (majority of which weren't from Dundee) and poor dental hygiene?
About half the people I met weren't from Dundee, the other half were. And the ones from Dundee seemed to be less clued up about life than those from tiny villages in Ireland. They'd had a chance to soak up Dundees unique atmosphere and still hadn't taken the decision to move. I haven't done any research but I would hazard a guess that the average Dundonian must have a lower IQ than anywhere else. This is the impression I got from my own personal experience.
Poor dental hygeine was what struck me about the population as it is a very visible trait and so widespread. I challenge anyone to visit and not see a noticeable difference to Edinburgh, or anywhere else for that matter.
Is this the best banter Tayside can offer? Takes one to know one? Razor sharp I must say. And from a 'woman' so close to middle age. That chap from Carnoustie said exactly the same thing to me earlier on in the thread.
And finally, just out of interest, what did you study at University and where is your home town?
I studied Criminology at uni and my home town is Edinburgh although I now live in Sheffield.
Is anyone going to point out any of the good points about Dundee, other than gathering your belongings and watching it disappear into the distance as you motor towards sunny Edinburgh, or are you just going to say I'm wrong without qualifying it?
07-10-2009, 08:36 AM
Sunny Edinburgh?
Another bit of trivia about Dundee. It is the sunniest place in Scotland.
BravestHibs
07-10-2009, 08:38 AM
Sunny Edinburgh?
Yeah that was the first thing they told us when we got there. Where Dundee is concerned though it's kind of like saying 'I've got the best AIDS'.
07-10-2009, 10:02 AM
I once heard Dundee described as......."Hull with learning difficulties" :duck:
07-10-2009, 11:32 AM
Sunny Edinburgh?
Brightened up when Bravest left :greengrin
07-10-2009, 11:35 AM
I should add I always looked down on Dundee - prefering Embra, Eberdeen even Weegieland over it.
Then I worked and now live nearby. It is a great IMHO, and sadly it is not appreciated by the Dundonians as they don't know what they've got. It has a lovely river setting, beautiful beaches/countryside nearby etc.
BravestHibs
07-10-2009, 11:46 AM
I should add I always looked down on Dundee - prefering Embra, Eberdeen even Weegieland over it.
Then I worked and now live nearby. It is a great IMHO, and sadly it is not appreciated by the Dundonians as they don't know what they've got. It has a lovely river setting, beautiful beaches/countryside nearby etc.
May I ask why you chose Monifeith over Dundee to live in?
[/QUOTE]Brightened up when Bravest left :greengrin [QUOTE]
lol
New Corrie
07-10-2009, 12:29 PM
May I ask why you chose Monifeith over Dundee to live in?
lol
Maybe it's because Monifieth isn't a coup :confused:
07-10-2009, 12:31 PM
Originally Posted by ArabHibee http://www.hibs.net/message/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?p=2199789#post2199789)
About half the people I met weren't from Dundee, the other half were. And the ones from Dundee seemed to be less clued up about life than those from tiny villages in Ireland. They'd had a chance to soak up Dundees unique atmosphere and still hadn't taken the decision to move. I haven't done any research but I would hazard a guess that the average Dundonian must have a lower IQ than anywhere else. This is the impression I got from my own personal experience.
Poor dental hygeine was what struck me about the population as it is a very visible trait and so widespread. I challenge anyone to visit and not see a noticeable difference to Edinburgh, or anywhere else for that matter.
Is this the best banter Tayside can offer? Takes one to know one? Razor sharp I must say. And from a 'woman' so close to middle age. That chap from Carnoustie said exactly the same thing to me earlier on in the thread.
I studied Criminology at uni and my home town is Edinburgh although I now live in Sheffield.
Is anyone going to point out any of the good points about Dundee, other than gathering your belongings and watching it disappear into the distance as you motor towards sunny Edinburgh, or are you just going to say I'm wrong without qualifying it?
What would be the point in telling you all the good things about Dundee when you have so obviously made up your mind that you hate the place and the people who live in it? Will telling you make you change your mind? Doubt it.
You also seem to have a fixation on the fact that I'm female and on my age as you've brought it up in the past before. What's that all about?
And just to add a little more fuel to your 'hate Dundee' fire, a work colleague was telling me yesterday that her brother had been back to visit family (he lives in France and not been here for a few years) and he couldn't believe the amount of junkies he saw walking about the streets.
BravestHibs
07-10-2009, 12:38 PM
Maybe it's because Monifieth isn't a coup :confused:
Don't know what you mean.
BravestHibs
07-10-2009, 12:47 PM
What would be the point in telling you all the good things about Dundee when you have so obviously made up your mind that you hate the place and the people who live in it? Will telling you make you change your mind? Doubt it.
You're right it wouldn't change my mind but it may give me an insight into why people think it's a good place because at the moment I just plain don't understand how anyone can think it's good.
You also seem to have a fixation on the fact that I'm female and on my age as you've brought it up in the past before. What's that all about?
The reason I picked up on your age is because of the dicotamy between being 37 and saying, in all seriousness 'it takes one to know one'. I don't know if you expected me to say 'I know you are but what am I' or what, but if I'm being honest I wanted to draw attention to what a pathetic thing that is to say at your age.
The reason I brought up the fact that you're a woman is because I was insinuating that you and Carnoustie were in fact the same person. Good to see the subtle nuances of my posts aren't flying way, way over your head.
And just to add a little more fuel to your 'hate Dundee' fire, a work colleague was telling me yesterday that her brother had been back to visit family (he lives in France and not been here for a few years) and he couldn't believe the amount of junkies he saw walking about the streets.
I don't believe that you know anyone who's ever been to France.
So! BravestHibs are you saying you are not keen on Dundee then? Your not making it that clear. :cool2:
I've been to France :greengrin
BravestHibs
07-10-2009, 01:10 PM
So! BravestHibs are you saying you are not keen on Dundee then? Your not making it that clear. :cool2:
I've been to France :greengrin
Nicer than Dundee was it? Just a guess.
No some mad woman tried to kill us on a roundabout :boo hoo: Dundee was lovely :agree:
BravestHibs
07-10-2009, 01:13 PM
No some mad woman tried to kill us on a roundabout :boo hoo: Dundee was lovely :agree:
She probably saw you and thought you were english. It wasn't malicious.
Dundee isn't lovely.
She probably saw you and thought you were english. It wasn't malicious.
Dundee isn't lovely.
We were in a French hire car so she couldn't think that and the sun was shining in Dundee, it was beautiful :agree:
07-10-2009, 01:24 PM
What do these general attacks on Dundee have to do with the issue of the fat family, other than that they're from there?
I hope that Dundee United fans reading about, say, the recent incident of the young girls and boy stripping and torturing the young girl at the back of the Omni centre would refrain from seeing this unfortunate event as an excuse to vent personal prejudices about Edinburgh.
Dundee isn't Monte Carlo, so what? We knew that already. It's just one of the many disadvantaged cities/towns throughout the British Isles and denigrating it further on message boards isn't going to help the place or the people living in it.
BravestHibs
07-10-2009, 01:28 PM
What do these general attacks on Dundee have to do with the issue of the fat family, other than that they're from there?
I hope that Dundee United fans reading about, say, the recent incident of the young girls and boy stripping and torturing the young girl at the back of the Omni centre would refrain from seeing this unfortunate event as an excuse to vent personal prejudices about Edinburgh.
Dundee isn't Monte Carlo, so what? We knew that already. It's just one of the many disadvantaged cities/towns throughout the British Isles and denigrating it further on message boards isn't going to help the place or the people living in it.
Absolutely nothing. I just enjoy slating Dundee.
And for what it's worth I don't think one single thing ever said on this message board has ever helped anything. A message board is a message board, no more no less.
BravestHibs
07-10-2009, 01:39 PM
We were in a French hire car so she couldn't think that and the sun was shining in Dundee, it was beautiful :agree:
The number plates on hire cars identify them as such.
:confused: .com
We were in France in a car that we hired in France. Regardless she still tried to kill us then attempt to bankrupt us. Dundee was beautiful though :agree:
BravestHibs
07-10-2009, 01:59 PM
:confused: .com
We were in France in a car that we hired in France. Regardless she still tried to kill us then attempt to bankrupt us. Dundee was beautiful though :agree:
The fact that the number plate identifies it as a hire car would leave little doubt as to whether or not the occupants of said car were tourists is my point.
Our definitions of beauty must differ then.
The fact that the number plate identifies it as a hire car would leave little doubt as to whether or not the occupants of said car were tourists is my point.
Our definitions of beauty must differ then.
Och no really I bet you think Dundee is beautiful too - deep down :agree:
07-10-2009, 06:43 PM
07-10-2009, 07:09 PM
See, its easy to see that you're not from Dundee or you'd be calling them circles.
And we eventually get to the bottom of it. It only took about 70 odd posts.
Enjoy your pops at me, water off a duck's back to be honest. I'm too stupid to understand your big words anyway. I'm a below IQ toothless junkie from Dundee after all.
PS. There is one thing that you are wrong about. I do know someone that's been to France - Hiberni-mum. :bye:
See, its easy to see that you're not from Dundee or you'd be calling them circles.
Enjoy your pops at me, water off a duck's back to be honest. I'm too stupid to understand your big words anyway. I'm a below IQ toothless junkie from Dundee after all.
PS. There is one thing that you are wrong about. I do know someone that's been to France - Hiberni-mum. :bye:
Were in Livingston or near enough - they are definitely roundabouts and they have given us enough of them to ensure we dont forget the word :greengrin
07-10-2009, 08:25 PM
And for what it's worth I don't think one single thing ever said on this message board has ever helped anything. A message board is a message board, no more no less.
Fair enough. I seem to have my pompous bore hat on today. I'll take it off right now.
Chuckie
07-10-2009, 09:40 PM
There was a young man from Dundee
He signed on the social securitee
He signed on and he signed on and he signed on and he sgined on and he signed on and it's going to stay that f***ing way.
If you pour boiling water on a person from Dundee you get a new flavour for pot noodle.
- Jerry Sadowitz
Chuckie
07-10-2009, 09:48 PM
ArabHibee.
Have you seen the guy in Dundee who has the Jokers face TATTOEED on to his coupon ?
Can you defend him please ?
07-10-2009, 09:54 PM
I love Dundee. It's a great place with loadsae good memories for me.
As for the guy with the Joker's face for a face (as it were) - post modern irony, i reckon.
07-10-2009, 09:57 PM
What's to defend? :dunno:
Chuckie
07-10-2009, 10:05 PM
What's to defend? :dunno:
It is a good look I agree.
If you're from Dundee it will give you a sense of identity.
07-10-2009, 10:12 PM
It is a good look I agree.
If you're from Dundee it will give you a sense of identity.
Better than looking like a low IQ toothless junkie?
:agree: Deffo. I'm phoning my tatooist in the morning. And it'll work out fine for getting it done this weekend as there's no SPL games on.
Chuckie
07-10-2009, 10:22 PM
Better than looking like a low IQ toothless junkie?
:agree: Deffo. I'm phoning my tatooist in the morning. And it'll work out fine for getting it done this weekend as there's no SPL games on.
You should never start a sentence with 'and'.
Bloody Dundonians.
08-10-2009, 06:28 AM
You should never start a sentence with 'and'.
Bloody Dundonians.
That's my low IQ showing through again. And the ***** schooling system in Dundee. What can one do?
Crawl into a corner and curl up into a ball?
Or chase the dragon?
Decision, decisions.
BravestHibs
08-10-2009, 08:05 AM
That's my low IQ showing through again. And the ***** schooling system in Dundee. What can one do?
Crawl into a corner and curl up into a ball?
Or chase the dragon?
Decision, decisions.
Well, when you make the decision I think everyone is expecting, there's a lovely stair directly opposite the DCA for you to ingest your heroine and painkillers.
BravestHibs
08-10-2009, 08:27 AM
You say that almost triumphantly like you've managed to get inside my head or something. It's almost as though you saw yourself as chief investigator on some ongoing murder enquiry.
You seem to get awful irate at some of this 'water off a ducks back' as you call it.
You should give talks in Dundonian high schools to share your experiences with those less fortunate than yourself.
08-10-2009, 03:01 PM
a dundee love poem
slaggy senga fell in love,
she planned to marry joe,
she wis so happy bout it all,
she told her faither so.
faither told er,senga doll,youll have to fin anither,
id just as soon yur maw dont kno,
but joe is yur hof brither.
so senga put aside her joe,
and planned to marry wull,
but efter tellin faither this,
he said theres trouble still.
you canny marry wull ma doll and please dont tell yer mither,
but wull and joe and several mair,
i kno is yur hof brither.
but mither knew and said,
ma doll,just do wit makes yi happy,
mery wull or mery joe,
cos faithers no yer pappy.
08-10-2009, 03:28 PM
What a pointless thread.
What a pointless thread.It wasnt to start with however it seems to be open for folk looking for a reaction, point scoring & a petty slanging match, no often i have to close a thread on this forum but this one has ran its course..