View Full Version : Raith Rovers v Hibernian 1952 footage

27-09-2009, 05:45 PM
http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=29657

How would the modern players cope with those kind of pitch conditions and a heavy leather ball. Imagine a fair few would really struggle. Especially the ones who have to wear gloves.

The days of when men were men. :agree:

27-09-2009, 05:48 PM
Very entertaining:thumbsup:

27-09-2009, 05:52 PM

How would the modern players cope with those kind of pitch conditions and a heavy leather ball. Imagine a fair few would really struggle. Especially the ones who have to wear gloves.

They ba's were murder to head - especially when your napper caught the lace first!

27-09-2009, 06:07 PM
Did we win it that year?

27-09-2009, 06:40 PM

"And women were glad of it" :greengrin:greengrin

Many many thanks for that great footage !!
Never seen that before
Was in my second year playing senior football at that time so it was pure nostalgia for me - "PURE DEAD BRILLIANT"
Also saw rare footage of one of the most underated right backs ever - Jock Govan who was a great guy too :thumbsup:

Thanks again !!!!!!!!

27-09-2009, 06:44 PM
Did we win it that year?

27-09-2009, 06:46 PM
Did we win it that year?

Naw! :boo hoo:

crash
27-09-2009, 06:50 PM
Great to see this. Is there any more where this came from:thumbsup:

27-09-2009, 06:53 PM
Did we win it that year?

No. Another disappointing and underachieving season. Only the league flag that year. :grr:

27-09-2009, 06:57 PM

They ba's were murder to head - especially when your napper caught the lace first!

You better believe it !
Remember Ledgerwood the Partick Thistle goalie getting five stitches in his knuckles when he punched the lace!!
Cut eyebrows split heads were common yet Gordon Smith could run down the wing keeping the ball up by heading it !!
Boots , too, were heavy as hell you could have worn them down a coal mine !!!

27-09-2009, 07:02 PM

Same site

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=30808

27-09-2009, 07:03 PM

There's Hibs v Aberdeen at ER from 1957 but we go beat 4-3.

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=32637

27-09-2009, 07:08 PM
There's also this one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLCZZAheNSU

AK86
27-09-2009, 07:10 PM
check oot the crowd!!!!!!!!!!!

summer fitba my erse!!!

27-09-2009, 07:15 PM

What a bunch of 50's softies with yer brothel creepers and quiffs....!

Try getting a Wembly Trophy (70's plastic ball) in yer thigh on a cold winters morning.......... :bitchy:

Sloppy
27-09-2009, 07:20 PM

summer fitba my erse!!!

27-09-2009, 07:32 PM
Same site

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=30808

shocking performance. Defence is a joke. :grr:

27-09-2009, 08:02 PM
This is absolutely brilliant.

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=61085

No sound but amazing footage. Tam McCourt looks like he's trying to run Gordon Smith over :wink:

28-09-2009, 09:50 AM
This is absolutely brilliant.

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=61085

No sound but amazing footage. Tam McCourt looks like he's trying to run Gordon Smith over :wink:

That is very funny. It would be amusing to do a spoof black and white piece with today's team - Yogi chasing the young lads about the dressing room, Riordan and Stokes waiting outside the manager's office for a "carpeting" etc etc.

28-09-2009, 10:29 AM
"And women were glad of it" :greengrin:greengrin

Many many thanks for that great footage !!
Never seen that before
Was in my second year playing senior football at that time so it was pure nostalgia for me - "PURE DEAD BRILLIANT"
Also saw rare footage of one of the most underated right backs ever - Jock Govan who was a great guy too :thumbsup:

Thanks again !!!!!!!!

Can i be nosey and ask who you played for Sir ?

I understand if you would rather not say as i notice you dont accept PM's !

28-09-2009, 11:08 AM

When did we stop being called Hibernians? :dunno:

28-09-2009, 11:14 AM
shocking performance. Defence is a joke. :grr:

No kidding, Younger was spilling balls that Maka would have held. Maka back in for Saturday.

Ian Murray playing at Number 2 :bitchy: was a bit clumsy. I lost count of the number of times that slack passing cost us possession. What did these boys used to do at East Mains all week? Final ball was lacking and it was all we could do to prevent ourselves from being turned over by a much smaller club.

The fans are clearly to blame.

Septimus
28-09-2009, 11:49 AM
Starks Park in the dead of winter. In 1947 a furniture van in front of our house was completely covered with snow. But the sheer joy of being a boy in these days cannot be hidden when every team in the First Division were in with a shout for every trophy. There is even a brief moment in one of the clips of the police telling kids to get their knees to the right side of the wall. And the crowds! It doesn't mention that at least a third of us had been lifted over.

Ahh! Happy Days

28-09-2009, 06:05 PM
When did we stop being called Hibernians? :dunno:

about 70 years earlier.....

28-09-2009, 06:16 PM
Starks Park was my first away trip outside Edinburgh.Cup match 1954 or 55 we got beaten 3-1.Team travelled in the same train as the supporters so they got pelters back at the station.

28-09-2009, 07:25 PM
What a bunch of 50's softies with yer brothel creepers and quiffs....!

Try getting a Wembly Trophy (70's plastic ball) in yer thigh on a cold winters morning.......... :bitchy:

Absolute murder.

They felt like they had a serated edge on one side. You'd go to head it and have to be rushed to casulty with a fractured skull.

28-09-2009, 07:50 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4N90YhntVE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IEmgwN0q1eQ

two cup wins against the Huns in the 50s

29-09-2009, 04:01 PM

summer fitba my erse!!!

I think there are other distractions nowadays. At that time there was bog all else to do but put on your best suit and pop along to the match with a half bottle of Old Parr in your pocket.

29-09-2009, 05:59 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4N90YhntVE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IEmgwN0q1eQ

two cup wins against the Huns in the 50s

Surely to god we won it one of those years?:wink: