View Full Version : John Smeaton
25-09-2009, 05:17 PM
Is to run for parliament.:faf: The guy can hardly do his shoe laces up.:bitchy:
25-09-2009, 05:41 PM
But the first one that gets wide in the parliament gets a boot in the baws. Can't wait
25-09-2009, 06:15 PM
But the first one that gets wide in the parliament gets a boot in the baws. Can't wait
:faf::top marks
Big Ed
25-09-2009, 06:26 PM
Who is he standing for? - the Boot **** Oot A Guy On Fire Party?
25-09-2009, 06:39 PM
Who is he standing for? - the Boot **** Oot A Guy On Fire Party?
That would be the guy who was in an ambulance with a badly broken leg, and others. All he did was skive oot for a fag and gave interviews that grew arms and legs with every channel that questioned him.
Good luck tae c*** though. :greengrin
25-09-2009, 06:41 PM
its a weird world when him and the likes of Esther Rantzen wanna govern the people. Give me the sexy Italians that Berlusconi appoints on a regular basis any day. :cool2:
puff the dragon
25-09-2009, 08:54 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48NfyPSoSvs
what a fandang
GhostofBolivar
25-09-2009, 09:11 PM
So kicking someone who was already on fire qualifies you to govern. Or is it having a column in The Sun ghostwritten for you?
This is pathetic.
25-09-2009, 10:02 PM
So kicking someone who was already on fire qualifies you to govern. Or is it having a column in The Sun ghostwritten for you?
This is pathetic.
I'd say he's well qualified. They've been sticking the boot into us since day 1.
25-09-2009, 10:10 PM
Fair play to the guy. Throws the whole by-election wide open, I reckon.
25-09-2009, 10:23 PM
"I'll knock down doors" Yep I bet he will.
Voting for him but would be almost as crazy as asking Gary Glitter to babysit the kids. :agree:
25-09-2009, 10:24 PM
He'd be more credible if it wasn't so obvious that the speech had been written for him.
Do you think he knows what a "cliché" is for example?
25-09-2009, 10:30 PM
He'd be more credible if it wasn't so obvious that the speech had been written for him.
Do you think he knows what a "cliché" is for example?
Just how obvious was that. Trying to sound all posh as well - pronouncing all his vowels. What happened to his "Still Game" accent? :confused:
There are enough idiots trying to run the country already. No need to add to the numbers.
25-09-2009, 10:35 PM
No doubt the Sun will be backing him and organising his campaign! :bitchy:
26-09-2009, 06:29 AM
Listened to him being interviewed last night and to be honest it was cringeworthy. Not meaning the accent, nothing wrong with having your own local accent, just the content. Quite obviously does not have a clue about anything. Every question that was given was answered by, "am just an ordinary guy, know. No enuff ae us as MPs" Having said that, good luck to him. If he fancies it and the people vote for him, so be it.
Davy Mac
26-09-2009, 06:45 AM
Whoever advised him this was a good route to go down obviously knows something about him we don't.
Maybe he fancies himself as the next Tommy Sheridan
Only in Scotland..........:rolleyes:
26-09-2009, 08:38 AM
Over-qualified then :greengrin
This is pathetic.
:agree: We have too many of the clowns without electing a prize one!
26-09-2009, 09:55 AM
But he knows what he's talking aboot, ken?
for example....
Here's what he said: Smeaton: "I think immigrants have done a fantastic job in this country. Immigrants have made this country a lot better. There just needs to be a fairer system."
Question: What's unfair about it at the moment? Smeaton: "I just think it needs to be fairer across the board?" Question: Why? Smeaton: "I just think it has to be fairer. You hear so many differential things happening I just think we need a clearer picture on immigration."
Question: What's wrong with it? "I don't know. It's a thing I put down to my constituents and what my constituents want and I'll go on that."
Or in a word, whit????
Jury (http://www.juryteam.org/)
26-09-2009, 10:07 AM
Whoever advised him this was a good route to go down obviously knows something about him we don't.
Is that a bit of cringe coming out of you?
26-09-2009, 10:23 AM
Tommy Sheridan is standing against him! :agree:
26-09-2009, 10:27 AM
Just another right wing ploy to split the thick vote and keep Sheridan out?
27-09-2009, 11:34 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rG_tuTRFLXo :faf:
Woody70x2
27-09-2009, 12:26 PM
The boy is a divot and has obviously been stuck in this situation as a publicity stunt. He knows as much about politics as me. Stick to simply voting John.
27-09-2009, 01:55 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rG_tuTRFLXo :faf:
:faf: :faf: :faf:
Talk about clueless.
27-09-2009, 04:00 PM
:faf: :faf: :faf:
Talk about clueless.
I'm not sure if he is clueless, but i will look into it and get back to you on that.:wink:
27-09-2009, 05:26 PM
I'm not sure if he is clueless, but i will look into it and get back to you on that.:wink:
While you're at it can you ask JS what he has on his manifesto. Thick git will probably say some kinda cheese sauce thinkiing it's a pasta dish. :agree:
27-09-2009, 06:08 PM
Remind me of Ali-G in the house. :faf:
LiverpoolHibs
27-09-2009, 06:12 PM
Esther Rantzen and John Smeaton. The world is imploding....
27-09-2009, 06:52 PM
He'd be a worthy successor to our last Speaker, IMO.
27-09-2009, 07:05 PM
An awful stench of snobbery about this thread. Mr Smeaton unfortunately seems to be a bit too thick, or a bit too manipulated for some, to participate in the democratic process. Ach well :rolleyes:
Don't understand why Esther is getting a reaction either. Off the top of my head I'm aware of sterling work on her part as one of the driving forces behind the creation of Childline and furthering the child protection agenda in general.
She's also brought palliative care, and the huge variations in how it's delivered, to the forefront through the documentary she did following her husband's death. It might not have impacted on many on here, though it will have on some. It's become a bigger and bigger issue in the last couple of years and her work contributed to that shift.
These are fundamental issues for any society and TBH she can claim credit as a journalist for being involved in creating the debate and catalysing change. I'm not sure what qualifies one to be an MP but I'll go with those for a starter.
I also grew up with "That's Life" so I remember well the 'talking' dogs and the punning street signs. It nevertheless also served a role as a prominent defender of public rights - usually for 'consumers' but also for 'citizens' or taxpayers. She was the lead journalist/presenter on that and I think she can claim some degree of credit :dunno:
I've no idea whether Esther Rantzen would make a good MP but I can see why she might appeal, given her track record. She's certainly got more on her CV than most of her critics I would imagine - seeing as Smeaton's taking such a bashing, maybe Rantzen deserves more acknowledgement?
LiverpoolHibs
27-09-2009, 07:31 PM
An awful stench of snobbery about this thread. Mr Smeaton unfortunately seems to be a bit too thick, or a bit too manipulated for some, to participate in the democratic process. Ach well :rolleyes:
Don't understand why Esther is getting a reaction either. Off the top of my head I'm aware of sterling work on her part as one of the driving forces behind the creation of Childline and furthering the child protection agenda in general.
She's also brought palliative care, and the huge variations in how it's delivered, to the forefront through the documentary she did following her husband's death. It might not have impacted on many on here, though it will have on some. It's become a bigger and bigger issue in the last couple of years and her work contributed to that shift.
These are fundamental issues for any society and TBH she can claim credit as a journalist for being involved in creating the debate and catalysing change. I'm not sure what qualifies one to be an MP but I'll go with those for a starter.
I also grew up with "That's Life" so I remember well the 'talking' dogs and the punning street signs. It nevertheless also served a role as a prominent defender of public rights - usually for 'consumers' but also for 'citizens' or taxpayers. She was the lead journalist/presenter on that and I think she can claim some degree of credit :dunno:
I've no idea whether Esther Rantzen would make a good MP but I can see why she might appeal, given her track record. She's certainly got more on her CV than most of her critics I would imagine - seeing as Smeaton's taking such a bashing, maybe Rantzen deserves more acknowledgement?
No snobbery whatsoever on my part - and I don't think on anyone else's, most people have been taking the piss because he's shown no interest in or knowledge of politics or given any indication of what he believes in - or even shown himself to be capable of doing so; which is, I'm sure you'll agree, quite important when it comes to being a politician.
Same goes for Esther Rantzen, I have no idea how having stuff 'on your C.V.' like Childline and 'That's Life' is any substitute for a coherent set of political values.
It's just the awful logical conclusion of the gradual removal of belief and ideology from politics since the 1990s.
27-09-2009, 07:41 PM
No snobbery whatsoever on my part - and I don't think on anyone else's, most people have been taking the piss because he's shown no interest in or knowledge of politics or given any indication of what he believes in - or even shown himself to be capable of doing so; which is, I'm sure you'll agree, quite important when it comes to being a politician.
Same goes for Esther Rantzen, I have no idea how having stuff 'on your C.V.' like Childline and 'That's Life' is any substitute for a coherent set of political values.
It's just the awful logical conclusion of the gradual removal of belief and ideology from politics since the 1990s.
Do you think belief and ideology only disappeared from politics in the 1990s?
Re your Rantzen point, I made the point that she has a background that shows (especially) a commitment to change around child protection issues and consumer rights. Maybe if she does stand for Parliament she can relate that to a value base in more detail. I doubt it's beyond you to do that for yourself at this stage though?
There's maybe a broader debate here as well about what our elected servants are actually for. Are they meant to embody principles and values like a uniform? Or can they be pragmatists, technocrats even?
hibsdaft
27-09-2009, 08:03 PM
full interview from the press conference here:
http://video.stv.tv/bc/news-250909-smeatongrilled/
well worth a view as Bernard Ponsonby rips right through this would be anti-politics nonsense and points out that the Jury Team is as much part of the political elite as anyone else.
Smeaton is just a pawn tbh it seems he's just being used
LiverpoolHibs
27-09-2009, 08:15 PM
Do you think belief and ideology only disappeared from politics in the 1990s?
I think the late '80s/early 90s were something of a watershed, yeah - at least it's where the principle (arf) came to fruition (it's interesting reading Daniel Bell's End Of Ideology from 1960, that became something of a self-fulfilling prophecy). Fall of the Berlin Wall, collapse of the Soviet Union, the supposed eternal victory of American liberal democratic capitalism, Francis ***uyama's 'end of history' bollocks, post-modern moral relativism, etc. etc. etc.
So that where previously coherent ideological reasoning was, correctly, given intellectual privilege now the opposite is the case meaning John Smeaton and Esther Rantzen can stand for office and be taken semi-seriously. If everyone subscribes to the same set of basic tenets - regardless of whether these are correct and 'good' - and differ slightly on certain relatively unimportant issues why shouldn't they stand? As I say, it's the logical conclusion of the neo-liberal, 'post-history' hegemony.
That's not to say that there weren't people involved in politics in the past who weren't motivated by a particular political belief, btw.
Re your Rantzen point, I made the point that she has a background that shows (especially) a commitment to change around child protection issues and consumer rights. Maybe if she does stand for Parliament she can relate that to a value base in more detail. I doubt it's beyond you to do that for yourself at this stage though?
I can't say I know that much about her and therefore hold only an instictive dislike. Although I was unfortunate enough to see her doing a programme on tabloid-esque, 'political-correctness-gone-mad!' scaremongering that actually had nothing whatsoever to do with political correctness.
There's maybe a broader debate here as well about what our elected servants are actually for. Are they meant to embody principles and values like a uniform? Or can they be pragmatists, technocrats even?
I think I've made it pretty clear what I think about that. :greengrin
27-09-2009, 08:37 PM
Call it snobbery if you like but Smeaton is as thick as mince and is therefore, in my opinion, unfit to represent the people - especially as an "independent" candidate.
I wouldn't trust him to go to the shops for me let alone give him my vote (if I had one).
27-09-2009, 08:47 PM
I also grew up with "That's Life" so I remember well the 'talking' dogs and the punning street signs.
Was that the same programme that viewers sent in vegetables shaped like genitalia, or was that something else? :dunno:
ER should be encouraged to stand for the initials alone.
27-09-2009, 09:03 PM
Call it snobbery if you like but Smeaton is as thick as mince and is therefore, in my opinion, unfit to represent the people - especially as an "independent" candidate.
I wouldn't trust him to go to the shops for me let alone give him my vote (if I had one).
He's not representing the people - as far as I can gather, he's considering standing as a candidate. Which means the people will decide....
Maybe there's a mistrust of 'the people' going on here? :greengrin
27-09-2009, 09:05 PM
He's not representing the people - as far as I can gather, he's considering standing as a candidate. Which means the people will decide....
Aye representing the "wee are ra peepul" people :agree:
27-09-2009, 09:06 PM
Was that the same programme that viewers sent in vegetables shaped like genitalia, or was that something else? :dunno:
ER should be encouraged to stand for the initials alone.
I think it was :agree:
27-09-2009, 09:09 PM
Don't get me started on the Scottish electorate! :grr:
27-09-2009, 09:12 PM
I think the late '80s/early 90s were something of a watershed, yeah - at least it's where the principle (arf) came to fruition (it's interesting reading Daniel Bell's End Of Ideology from 1960, that became something of a self-fulfilling prophecy). Fall of the Berlin Wall, collapse of the Soviet Union, the supposed eternal victory of American liberal democratic capitalism, Francis ***uyama's 'end of history' bollocks, post-modern moral relativism, etc. etc. etc.
Machiavelli was clearly well ahead of his time then.
LiverpoolHibs
27-09-2009, 09:20 PM
Machiavelli was clearly well ahead of his time then.
Eh? 'Ideology' didn't exist when Niccolo was knocking about.
ancienthibby
28-09-2009, 12:46 PM
Eh? Eh? Eh? Next you'll be claiming that political ideology did not exist in the time of Plato, Aristotle and Augustine of Hippo, etc, etc, etc!!:greengrin
28-09-2009, 01:32 PM
Surely Smeaton is just an ordinary working class guy who has shot to prominence after becoming embroiled in an extraordinary event. He shouldn't have ever been prodded into standing as an MSP. He's far too decent for that shower at Holyrood.
ancienthibby
28-09-2009, 01:57 PM
Surely Smeaton is just an ordinary working class guy who has shot to prominence after becoming embroiled in an extraordinary event. He shouldn't have ever been prodded into standing as an MSP. He's far too decent for that shower at Holyrood.
He's standing for Westminster!:agree:
ancienthibby
28-09-2009, 02:02 PM
So that where previously coherent ideological reasoning was, correctly, given intellectual privilege now the opposite is the case meaning John Smeaton and Esther Rantzen can stand for office and be taken semi-seriously. If everyone subscribes to the same set of basic tenets - regardless of whether these are correct and 'good' - and differ slightly on certain relatively unimportant issues why shouldn't they stand? As I say, it's the logical conclusion of the neo-liberal, 'post-history' hegemony.
That's not to say that there weren't people involved in politics in the past who weren't motivated by a particular political belief, btw.
I can't say I know that much about her and therefore hold only an instictive dislike. Although I was unfortunate enough to see her doing a programme on tabloid-esque, 'political-correctness-gone-mad!' scaremongering that actually had nothing whatsoever to do with political correctness.
I think I've made it pretty clear what I think about that. :greengrin
So, if you're not a 'politically correct politico' you should not stand for Parliament, then!:devil:
All Parliaments are far better off for the 'mavericks' they attract! Names that come to mind include Martin Bell, Denis Canavan, Margo MacDonald and Tam Dayell!! Esther R would be a welcome addition to that group, IMHO!
hibsdaft
28-09-2009, 02:28 PM
All Parliaments are far better off for the 'mavericks' they attract! Names that come to mind include Martin Bell, Denis Canavan, Margo MacDonald and Tam Dayell!!
i agree with that but all of them have had a lifelong interest in politics, shown an interest in public service, thought about political beliefs, decisions, ideology, political and public campaigns etc and most of them put all that on the line along with their reputations before ever standing for parliament.
they're not (apart from maybe Martin Bell) just randoms who got famous for something unrelated and are exploiting that recognition to get into a well paid MP's job (i love how Smeaton thinks he'd somehow be different from other MPs when it comes to the gravy train etc - eh, how/ why exactly :confused: )
fewer and fewer people become MPs off the back of genuinely public campaigning, trade union work, community work etc and thats the problem today - getting random celebrities to step in ahead of the Westminster Village crowd doesn't solve anything as they're still just as disconnected from the public they represent, and no less likely to try and line their own pockets.
LiverpoolHibs
28-09-2009, 03:00 PM
Eh? Eh? Eh? Next you'll be claiming that political ideology did not exist in the time of Plato, Aristotle and Augustine of Hippo, etc, etc, etc!!:greengrin
Well, no. No it didn't. The 'idea of ideology' as we know it today didn't exist until the French Revolution.
So, if you're not a 'politically correct politico' you should not stand for Parliament, then!:devil:
All Parliaments are far better off for the 'mavericks' they attract! Names that come to mind include Martin Bell, Denis Canavan, Margo MacDonald and Tam Dayell!! Esther R would be a welcome addition to that group, IMHO!
I have no idea what you mean by 'politically correct politico', they're your words, not mine.
You seem to think I'm talking about traditional party politics, so you've just listed a few Independent politicians. That wasn't my point at all.
ancienthibby
28-09-2009, 03:47 PM
Well, no. No it didn't. The 'idea of ideology' as we know it today didn't exist until the French Revolution.
Garbage.
Here's a definition of political ideology which completely describes what ancient Greek philosophers debated and opined on!!
a political ideology is a certain ethical (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethics) set of ideals (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ideal_%28ethics%29), principles, doctrines (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doctrine), myths (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mythology) or symbols (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Symbol) of a social movement (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Social_movement), institution (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Institution), class (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Social_class), or large group that explains how society should work, and offers some political and cultural blueprint for a certain social order
I have no idea what you mean by 'politically correct politico', they're your words, not mine.
You seem to think I'm talking about traditional party politics, so you've just listed a few Independent politicians. That wasn't my point at all.
Here are your words from an earlier post
'So that where previously coherent ideological reasoning was, correctly, given intellectual privilege now the opposite is the case meaning John Smeaton and Esther Rantzen can stand for office and be taken semi-seriously.'
So, by your standards 'previously coherent ideological reasoning' was 'correct' and therefore given 'intellectual privilege', but those who now demonstrate the opposite should only be taken 'semi-seriously'.
Intellectual snobbery rules OK with you, then!!:devil:
28-09-2009, 04:10 PM
He's standing for Westminster!:agree:
Schoolboy error.:hide:
He's too good for that place too.
28-09-2009, 05:38 PM
I think it was :agree:
It was. Really intellectual stuff, IIRC. There was a dog that allegedly could say "sausages" as well.
I believe the lady had quite a stable of toy-boys assisting her..... :rolleyes:
LiverpoolHibs
28-09-2009, 06:41 PM
Garbage.
Here's a definition of political ideology which completely describes what ancient Greek philosophers debated and opined on!!
a political ideology is a certain ethical (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethics) set of ideals (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ideal_%28ethics%29), principles, doctrines (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doctrine), myths (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mythology) or symbols (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Symbol) of a social movement (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Social_movement), institution (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Institution), class (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Social_class), or large group that explains how society should work, and offers some political and cultural blueprint for a certain social order
Yikes, I'm not suggesting you can't apply the principles of 'ideology' onto classical philosophy (or any other period you like), or that they weren't heavily involved in political philosophy but that, as there was no proper understanding or conception of 'ideology' until the aftermath of the French Revolution, you can't really say that 'ideology' existed. This isn't anything particularly radical...
Here are your words from an earlier post
'So that where previously coherent ideological reasoning was, correctly, given intellectual privilege now the opposite is the case meaning John Smeaton and Esther Rantzen can stand for office and be taken semi-seriously.'
So, by your standards 'previously coherent ideological reasoning' was 'correct' and therefore given 'intellectual privilege', but those who now demonstrate the opposite should only be taken 'semi-seriously'.
Intellectual snobbery rules OK with you, then!!:devil:
I didn't say they 'should only be taken semi-seriously' I said they 'can stand and be taken semi-seriously'.
As I've already said, there's no snobbery whatsoever - for the reasons I've already explained but which you seem to have discounted, in favour of picking sections of my post.
28-09-2009, 07:14 PM
I think it did to some extent, the word simply hadn't been coined and it existed in a context of the much greater role of organised religion - in itself the reason why there wasn't as pressing a need to coin a word for it I suppose :greengrin. Savonarola, for example, is hard to see as anything but an ideologue.
We didn't have a conceptual understanding of oxygen for thousands of years but it didn't mean we didn't breathe. A lack of a discourse on ideology doesn't really mean that it didn't exist in some form, does it?
Sunny Leith
28-09-2009, 08:40 PM
He will get very little votes anyways I would imagine, the people likely to vote for him would be the people who couldnt vote properly last time and spoiled their votes :rolleyes:
Twa Cairpets
28-09-2009, 10:23 PM
Ignoring the intellectual snobbery argument, it needs to be remembered what MPs/?MSPs actually do.
Forget the lazy "Gravy train/ snout in trough/ expenses whores" rubbish. Whilst this may be true of some - maybe many - they do also can do a lot of good. I know my MSP was of huge help and support when we were flooded out of our home a decade ago. She campaigned for flood defences which were put in.
My point is that had my representative been John Smeaton, I cant see him having the ability to actively lead a campaign, negotiate for budgets, meet with and lead meetings to push the process or indeed anything of the like. Its not his fault, but that is not where his abilities are. if you want an MP to be a figure of fun whos put up for a cringing soundbite, then knock yourself out and vote for him. If you want someone who might actually represent you on important matters, then I would suggest you dont
29-09-2009, 09:18 AM
How on earth can this "rent-a-quote" hero (has it come to Heroism equalling booting a burning man in the face a few times??) even be remotely considering entering politics, and how can anyone remotely be considering voting for him??
Does he have a scooby of what being a MP entails?? (apart from skimming off the public purse obviously).
A shoddy ghost-written column in the Sun (The Sun FFS) and the ability to come out with a range of "pure radge" quotes mostly based around how great the Weedgie mentality of "let's pure set aboout them" will not cut the mustard. People have devoted 20,30 even 40 years of their life to being an MP, or grown up with a strong political ambition from a young age, and he seriously expects, with his shining records in baggage handling, nasal weedgie whine and general bawbaggery to be taken seriously??
Would I, or anyone I know seriously consider lauching a political career on the back of giving a man a kicking and hee-haw else??
No, because we wouldn't have a scooby doo how it really worked, what the job really entailed and how to do it in a professional manner.
Stick to what you're good at, and leave the stuff you're not to the specialists - for Smeato that means get back to handling baggage, being a decent person and getting the occasional standing ovation at Ibrox the next time you kick a man in the face when he's on fire, not devaluing our political process with your "all talk, no idea what I'm talking about, ABSOLUTELY no policies" pish.
If he gets more than 500 votes, my shaky faith in the intelligence of the general Scootish electorate will be smashed to smithereens.
29-09-2009, 11:12 AM
How on earth can this "rent-a-quote" hero (has it come to Heroism equalling booting a burning man in the face a few times??) even be remotely considering entering politics, and how can anyone remotely be considering voting for him??
Does he have a scooby of what being a MP entails?? (apart from skimming off the public purse obviously).
A shoddy ghost-written column in the Sun (The Sun FFS) and the ability to come out with a range of "pure radge" quotes mostly based around how great the Weedgie mentality of "let's pure set aboout them" will not cut the mustard. People have devoted 20,30 even 40 years of their life to being an MP, or grown up with a strong political ambition from a young age, and he seriously expects, with his shining records in baggage handling, nasal weedgie whine and general bawbaggery to be taken seriously??
Would I, or anyone I know seriously consider lauching a political career on the back of giving a man a kicking and hee-haw else??
No, because we wouldn't have a scooby doo how it really worked, what the job really entailed and how to do it in a professional manner.
Stick to what you're good at, and leave the stuff you're not to the specialists - for Smeato that means get back to handling baggage, being a decent person and getting the occasional standing ovation at Ibrox the next time you kick a man in the face when he's on fire, not devaluing our political process with your "all talk, no idea what I'm talking about, ABSOLUTELY no policies" pish.
If he gets more than 500 votes, my shaky faith in the intelligence of the general Scootish electorate will be smashed to smithereens.
The same specialists that are so far ruining the country and taking the p!ss with their expenses?
Fair play to Smeato for having a bash at this...
29-09-2009, 11:47 AM
I thought he'd disproved all of those rumours in a court of law?
Tomsk
29-09-2009, 02:51 PM
The same specialists that are so far ruining the country and taking the p!ss with their expenses?
Fair play to Smeato for having a bash at this...
Has it not got to be on fire before he has a bash at something? Em ... come to think of it, don't answer that.
29-09-2009, 04:23 PM
How on earth can this "rent-a-quote" hero (has it come to Heroism equalling booting a burning man in the face a few times??)
You're making it sound like he'd set upon some drunk lying in the gutter. Let's be fair it was a brave thing to do.
I don't agree with him being an MP, and i think his answers to the immigration issue suggest he is well out of his depth on that score.
29-09-2009, 09:58 PM
A terrorist! Not some Joe Public....a terrorist who minutes before crashed a vehicle through a packed airport...
rightwinger
06-10-2009, 11:11 AM
Like a few on this board I find the John Smeaton celebrity thing quite sad and somewhat offensive.
The bottom line is that Smeaton is a celebrity for the tv interviews he gave rather than anything he actually did during the attacks. Some say Smeaton was one of several to intervene, others say he was 100 yards away on a fag break during the incident and simply gave the tv interviews.
It is clear, therefore, that he's only received his honour and celeb status because of the tv interviews. Had it been for his 'involvement' in preventing the attacks, then the other heroes would have been honoured as well. It was as the only person to give tv interviews, and the caricature nature of the interviews, that Smeaton has become a star.
I don't blame Smeaton for making the most of his elongated 15 minutes but I don't believe Smeaton is a hero and, even if he is, he is only one of a group of several others that haven't been acknowledged.
Rather, I think he is just a lucky, lucky guy who's been a beneficiary of the cynicism and ignorance of both the media and the UK government.
Not that I'd rush to vote for any other candidate before him, mind you.
06-10-2009, 11:59 AM
Like a few on this board I find the John Smeaton celebrity thing quite sad and somewhat offensive.
The bottom line is that Smeaton is a celebrity for the tv interviews he gave rather than anything he actually did during the attacks. Some say Smeaton was one of several to intervene, others say he was 100 yards away on a fag break during the incident and simply gave the tv interviews.
It is clear, therefore, that he's only received his honour and celeb status because of the tv interviews. Had it been for his 'involvement' in preventing the attacks, then the other heroes would have been honoured as well. It was as the only person to give tv interviews, and the caricature nature of the interviews, that Smeaton has become a star.
I don't blame Smeaton for making the most of his elongated 15 minutes but I don't believe Smeaton is a hero and, even if he is, he is only one of a group of several others that haven't been acknowledged.
Rather, I think he is just a lucky, lucky guy who's been a beneficiary of the cynicism and ignorance of both the media and the UK government.
Not that I'd rush to vote for any other candidate before him, mind you.
I'd agree with all that. During one of the interviews he said that he ran over and helped a woman away from the burning vehicle when she was on the ground.
It was the other guys there who attacked and eventually brought down the terrorists. Not him.
Can you imagine how pissed off those other guys are. Smeato got an award IIRC, met the Queen and PM etc all on the back of an interview and helping a woman up. He's no doubt made **** loads of money whilst the other guys are all slumming away in their normal day to day jobs.
08-10-2009, 06:04 AM
I'd agree with all that. During one of the interviews he said that he ran over and helped a woman away from the burning vehicle when she was on the ground.
It was the other guys there who attacked and eventually brought down the terrorists. Not him.
Can you imagine how pissed off those other guys are. Smeato got an award IIRC, met the Queen and PM etc all on the back of an interview and helping a woman up. He's no doubt made **** loads of money whilst the other guys are all slumming away in their normal day to day jobs.
And there you have the difference, ordinary brave people who did what they had to do and then went back to what they know how to do. Sums it up for me.
Twa Cairpets
08-10-2009, 11:49 AM
Frankly, if a newspaper is willing to pay him for his "story", or politicos wanted to use him for some kind of public recognition of the "might of the ordinary man", tough tittie on his workmates. its just jealousy, pure and simple, not some burning (excuse the pun) sense of injustice that is driving them.
This is a world where Katie Price is put up as a role model. The death of Jade Goody is front page news in virtually every newspaper, and the next crass piece of behaviour by Pete Doherty or Amy Winehouse is seen as something to aspire to. The Smeato circus fulfills exactly the same need for some type of vicarious thrill for the red-top readers. Something that is deemed newsworthy catapults some poor unsuspecting beggar into the headlights, and the public lap it up.
If he did his interview with one eye on the future marketing opportunities, I would be astonished. I also remember watching an interview with one of his co-workers a few weeks after the event. The jealousy was cringeworthy, petty and small-minded beyond belief.
08-10-2009, 12:59 PM
Frankly, if a newspaper is willing to pay him for his "story", or politicos wanted to use him for some kind of public recognition of the "might of the ordinary man", tough tittie on his workmates. its just jealousy, pure and simple, not some burning (excuse the pun) sense of injustice that is driving them.
This is a world where Katie Price is put up as a role model. The death of Jade Goody is front page news in virtually every newspaper, and the next crass piece of behaviour by Pete Doherty or Amy Winehouse is seen as something to aspire to. The Smeato circus fulfills exactly the same need for some type of vicarious thrill for the red-top readers. Something that is deemed newsworthy catapults some poor unsuspecting beggar into the headlights, and the public lap it up.
If he did his interview with one eye on the future marketing opportunities, I would be astonished. I also remember watching an interview with one of his co-workers a few weeks after the event. The jealousy was cringeworthy, petty and small-minded beyond belief.
I understand there is jealousy on their part. Yes, the media have driven it and taken him all around the world.
My main issue with the whole thing (without taking anything away from what JS and what he has made out of it) is the fact that only JS was recognised in an official capacity when on the surface it would appear he did the least out of them all.
Twa Cairpets
08-10-2009, 03:35 PM
I understand there is jealousy on their part. Yes, the media have driven it and taken him all around the world.
My main issue with the whole thing (without taking anything away from what JS and what he has made out of it) is the fact that only JS was recognised in an official capacity when on the surface it would appear he did the least out of them all.
Aye, fair point, but thats not Smeatons fault.
The guy is a punter who copped a lucky break, and I dont think anywhere has he claimed it was all him (might be wrong, but I dont recall seeing anything).
No matter, it really doesnt qualify him to be an MP - that is taking the whole man of the people/have-a-go-hero thing to far.
08-10-2009, 03:41 PM
Aye, fair point, but thats not Smeatons fault.
The guy is a punter who copped a lucky break, and I dont think anywhere has he claimed it was all him (might be wrong, but I dont recall seeing anything).
No matter, it really doesnt qualify him to be an MP - that is taking the whole man of the people/have-a-go-hero thing to far.
I don't think he's tried to claim it was all him.
I think he was supporting the others from afar when they were trying to be recognised in an official capacity. I think it irked (sp?) the other guys a fair bit as (IIRC) he didn't meet with them all after. Probably scared in case they asked him for some dosh! :LOL:
I agree, you might get a few huns voting for him and some family members. Hopefully he doesn't get too many votes.
On another point, do the monster raving looney party have policies or do they just go along to elections and dress up like tits? :faf:
lobster
08-10-2009, 03:55 PM
John Smeaton, David Cameron - one an educated twat, the other an uneducated twat. No real difference. :rolleyes:
08-10-2009, 08:09 PM
I don't think he's tried to claim it was all him.
I think he was supporting the others from afar when they were trying to be recognised in an official capacity. I think it irked (sp?) the other guys a fair bit as (IIRC) he didn't meet with them all after. Probably scared in case they asked him for some dosh! :LOL:
I agree, you might get a few huns voting for him and some family members. Hopefully he doesn't get too many votes.
On another point, do the monster raving looney party have policies or do they just go along to elections and dress up like tits? :faf:
Unfortunately the Loonies Party is not what it was before the early demise of his Lordship.More's the pity,
09-10-2009, 06:08 AM
smeato is a fraud, there were 2 or 3 other guys who steamed into the burning terrorist including one who recieved a broken leg after missing the said terrorist with a punch and another random weedgie that recently battled back from a near fatal brain hemmorage, its very unfair to single out one man for the actions of 2 or 3 people,
Twa Cairpets
09-10-2009, 08:58 AM
smeato is a fraud, there were 2 or 3 other guys who steamed into the burning terrorist including one who recieved a broken leg after missing the said terrorist with a punch and another random weedgie that recently battled back from a near fatal brain hemmorage, its very unfair to single out one man for the actions of 2 or 3 people,
I understand your point, but its not the man himself who is a fraud. He was in the right place at the right time and gave an entertaining interview. He did
not turn up to work and think "todays the start of my media and political career". Whilst the coverage post-event has been OTT, that has been driven by forces other than him - the media, politicians etc.
You may view the adulation and fawning as distasteful, but I dont think its fraudulent.
Aye,same here.Hopefully it,s Alex (deputy dawg)Salmond. I,d ****ing love to boot him in the baws.
12-10-2009, 07:31 PM
I understand your point, but its not the man himself who is a fraud. He was in the right place at the right time and gave an entertaining interview. He did
not turn up to work and think "todays the start of my media and political career". Whilst the coverage post-event has been OTT, that has been driven by forces other than him - the media, politicians etc.
You may view the adulation and fawning as distasteful, but I dont think its fraudulent.
Mmm your right fraud isnt the right word ....will you settle for Bawbag:greengrin
hibsdaft
12-10-2009, 07:49 PM
agree with that :agree::agree:
15-10-2009, 01:24 PM
Smeato has now withdrawn as a candidate, citing health reasons. Mikey Hughes former contestant on Big Brother, has now put himself forward.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/videos-pics/news/ :greengrin
15-10-2009, 02:24 PM
Smeato has now withdrawn as a candidate, citing health reasons. Mikey Hughes former contestant on Big Brother, has now put himself forward.
Is that the blind guy from Big Brother?
I was watching an antique program (IIRC) and he collects loads of Nazi memorabilia. Weird!
Although he did explain his reasons that his grandfather fought in the war and brought some stuff back which generated an interest.
ancienthibby
15-10-2009, 04:43 PM
That being so, I suspect the prospects for Liebour retaining the seat just improved!!:grr::grr::grr: