View Full Version : Players Played Out Of Position

24-09-2009, 07:48 AM
Amongst all this angst, there is one thing glaringly obvious about our present state of affairs. Football should be a simple game, where a team plays its players in their best position. And when a team is weak in a particular area, then that is what a transfer window is for - bring in someone who specialises in that particular position.

I can appreciate that Yogi has brought in a bit of quality in cetain areas, but what exactly was in his mind when the window slammed shut?

Oh ****! Av'e goat a team of ball playing midfielders and strikers and nae defense or bite in mdfield ?

Ach, never mind, ah'l jist jig them aboot a bit........,

Consider......,

Player - Playing - Best/Proper Position
Hanlon - FB - Midfield
McCormack - FB - Centre Back
Bamba - CH - Midfield
Hogg - CH - Centre Half ( ? )
Murray - CH/FB - Midfield
Wotherspoon - FB - Midfield

Long term - if there is such a thing where Hibs are concerned - I think Yogi will get it right, but he has managed at SPL level for a good few years and he ( and Brian Rice ) should have a better idea of what is required surely ?

Or maybe he just shuts his eyes and hopes for the best ?

24-09-2009, 07:57 AM
Amongst all this angst, there is one thing glaringly obvious about our present state of affairs. Football should be a simple game, where a team plays its players in their best position. And when a team is weak in a particular area, then that is what a transfer window is for - bring in someone who specialises in that particular position.

I can appreciate that Yogi has brought in a bit of quality in cetain areas, but what exactly was in his mind when the window slammed shut?

Oh ****! Av'e goat a team of ball playing midfielders and strikers and nae defense or bite in mdfield ?

Consider......,

Hanlon - FB - Midfield
Bamba - CH - Midfield

Long term - if there is such a thing where Hibs are concerned - I think Yogi will get it right, but he has managed at SPL level for a good few years and he ( and Brian Rice ) should have a better idea of what is required surely ?

I think the players all playing out of position are because we are in need to buy a CB and RB. I think Yogi has been looking, but I think he hasnt found anyone out there to buy, and Yogi doesnt seem to be the sort of person that would panic buy.

I think Yogi will be looking for a CB and RB. That way Hogg and the new CB will play in the CB positions, the new RB will play at RB leaving McCormack to be a back up or even play at CB. Murray would play Left back leaving Hanlon as back up. Bamba would push into Midfield.

Thats how I see it, and although I really wish Yogi had bought defenders, I am happy that he didnt if the right ones were not around!

24-09-2009, 10:57 AM

Consider......,

Hanlon - FB - Midfield
Bamba - CH - Midfield

24-09-2009, 11:16 AM

:tumble:

24-09-2009, 11:37 AM
Hanlon - FB - Midfield - WRONG - he's a centre-half (think you're thinking of Stevenson)

McCormack - FB - Centre Back - Correct

Bamba - CH - Midfield - WRONG - he was signed as a centre-half (even though he played very well as holding midfielder last season)

Hogg - CH - Centre Half ( ? ) - (So what exactly IS the problem with playing a Centre Half at Centre Half :confused:)

Murray - CH/FB - Midfield -HALF-WRONG (Murray CAN play in midfield but is just as comfortable in defence - a certain Mr P. Stanton for example was once quoted as saying CH is Murray's best position)

Wotherspoon - FB - Midfield - HALF-WRONG (Wotherspoon has spent the majority of his time on the pitch playing his normal midfield role - however, he's a young player and most professional coaches will tell you that playing in different positions will only benefit him - RB is a (the?) problem position for us so what's the beef with trying Wotherspoon in there to give more options going forward)

.....Or maybe he just shuts his eyes and hopes for the best ?

While I tend to agree that it's good to play players in their natural position nothing is ever set in stone (eg. if Mixu had been as rigid as your suggesting then we never would have seen Bamba in midfield).

Going by the accuracy of your examples above (33% :bye:) did you just shut your eyes and hope for the best when composing this post :confused:

Anyway - petty slaggings aside, I think Yogi's signing policy has been one of quality over quantity. He presumably was not able to get anyone in at the right money that was going to improve the RB and CH positions long term, and so rather than replacing the likes of DVZ with someone no better he has elected to give the young boys a chance to shine and review things at the next window :dunno:

Franck is God
24-09-2009, 11:46 AM
I actually think that Yogi is playing players generally in their best positions. Murray & Bamba are both central defenders that can 'do a job' in midfield not the other way around.

McCormack & Hanlon have both come through the ranks at centre half but are providing cover at full back positions which I see nothing wrong with.

Central midfielders tend to make decent full backs too so asking the likes of Stevenson and Wotherspoon to cover at full back isn't a big stretch. In fact although I think he's quite ineffective in midfield I'd actually give Rankin a shot at left back, he works hard, decent tackler and going forward would probably be a better option than Murray or Hanlon.

jacques_b
24-09-2009, 12:20 PM
I think the players all playing out of position are because we are in need to buy a CB and RB. I think Yogi has been looking, but I think he hasnt found anyone out there to buy, and Yogi doesnt seem to be the sort of person that would panic buy.

I think Yogi will be looking for a CB and RB. That way Hogg and the new CB will play in the CB positions, the new RB will play at RB leaving McCormack to be a back up or even play at CB. Murray would play Left back leaving Hanlon as back up. Bamba would push into Midfield.

Thats how I see it, and although I really wish Yogi had bought defenders, I am happy that he didnt if the right ones were not around!

Aye, that's exactly how I see it. Why are we all going mental after a few games? Sometimes I wonder about people who watch Hibs. Maybe too many people watching EPL and La Liga and expecting us to be as good as Man U or Barca... We are Hibs. We have Hibs players. If these players were better or more consistent they'd not be at Hibs.

24-09-2009, 01:09 PM
People keep stating that Halon's main failing at the moment is his heading. Perhaps the sole reason neither Mixu, nor Hughes have played him at Centre Half, given its supposed to be his position?

Aspire
24-09-2009, 01:34 PM
Obviously with in reason players have there best positions but I always remember one of my old coach saying “ are you just a left back son or are you a footballer”

24-09-2009, 02:19 PM
While I tend to agree that it's good to play players in their natural position nothing is ever set in stone (eg. if Mixu had been as rigid as your suggesting then we never would have seen Bamba in midfield).

Going by the accuracy of your examples above (33% :bye:) did you just shut your eyes and hope for the best when composing this post :confused:

Anyway - petty slaggings aside, I think Yogi's signing policy has been one of quality over quantity. He presumably was not able to get anyone in at the right money that was going to improve the RB and CH positions long term, and so rather than replacing the likes of DVZ with someone no better he has elected to give the young boys a chance to shine and review things at the next window :dunno:

Sorry about that Sir, I'll try to do better next time.

24-09-2009, 02:48 PM
Sorry about that Sir, I'll try to do better next time.

:tsk tsk::slipper::greengrin

24-09-2009, 03:41 PM
Many posters over the last few weeks have had Bamba and Murray as their dream central defence.In the words of the popular song"it's all gone quiet over there".