View Full Version : East Stand Character

23-09-2009, 01:49 PM
Did anybody notice the young lad in the pink t-shirt in the east last night?

Some great vocal comments from him, including;

"F*** off you Judas b******" To Morais (How he is a Judas considering we released him for being not good enough, and moving to another club outwith our rivals is beyond me!)

"Sit down shut up, Sit down shut up" A one man chorus to the St Johnstone fans. There was certainly only one person near us that we wanted to "Sit down shut up" and it wasn't the St Johnstone fans.

"You're a clown ref! Absolute f****** disgrace" After Richmond booked McBride for what was a pretty reckless challenge.

Constantly screaming for players to pass to Zemmama even when the pass to Zemmama was a ludicrous option.

At least there was something to laugh about at the game last night :faf:

RoscoHibby
23-09-2009, 01:57 PM
Did clock this guy in the east, looked a little worse for wear!

Looked like been dookin for chips :devil: obviously pretty young, kinda shared his sentiments, did make himself look a bit of tit though!

23-09-2009, 02:00 PM
Was there not a chorus of who's the p00fter in the pink started by the Saints fans near the end of the game :greengrin

RoscoHibby
23-09-2009, 02:02 PM
Was there not a chorus of who's the p00fter in the pink started by the Saints fans near the end of the game :greengrin

:thumbsup::faf:

23-09-2009, 02:14 PM

"F*** off you Judas b******" To Morais (How he is a Judas considering we released him for being not good enough, and moving to another club outwith our rivals is beyond me!)

"Sit down shut up, Sit down shut up" A one man chorus to the St Johnstone fans. There was certainly only one person near us that we wanted to "Sit down shut up" and it wasn't the St Johnstone fans.

"You're a clown ref! Absolute f****** disgrace" After Richmond booked McBride for what was a pretty reckless challenge.

Constantly screaming for players to pass to Zemmama even when the pass to Zemmama was a ludicrous option.

Some absolutely brilliant dialogue was invented for the half-time chat, culminating in Galbraith coming over and saying 'Hi, I don't know who you are, but i play in you're position now, so eh... f*** off' and some rather funny names for Morais of 'Casino Kid' and my personal favourite 'the Bouncer Basher'

Baw187
23-09-2009, 02:25 PM
I clocked the character from way down in the lower west, by the famous five. That was a bright *****ing T shirt !

Obviously couldn't hear his chat though.

23-09-2009, 02:31 PM

Second funniest bit of the night after Deek trying to steal yardage when the ref was talking to McInnes :greengrin

23-09-2009, 02:33 PM

He was sitting directly behind me and the missus..

All i can say is THANK FLUCK he doesn't have a ST there :grr:

OtterHibee
23-09-2009, 04:00 PM

Second funniest bit of the night after Deek trying to steal yardage when the ref was talking to McInnes :greengrin

That was funny. As was Richmond waggling the finger at him after one of the Saints players had grassed him up :greengrin

I had wondered who the lad in the east was though. That T-shirt was horrific. He looked like a highlighter pen.

23-09-2009, 04:21 PM
With regards to the title of this thread, surely there's more than ONE character in the East?

I sit in the West Lower, and could see the tshirt from there. I thought it was an auxiliary floodlight at first....

23-09-2009, 04:23 PM
That was funny. As was Richmond waggling the finger at him after one of the Saints players had grassed him up :greengrin

I had wondered who the lad in the east was though. That T-shirt was horrific. He looked like a highlighter pen.

Hadn't seen him until they struck up their chant. He obviously nodded back as they responded to it and gave him a cheer. TBH they were in decent voice after they took the lead, even before that in fact.

Ell_Chrisso
23-09-2009, 04:30 PM

:faf: i was in the same row, just the next block along.
Although, i didnt exactly keep my opinions to myself either :greengrin

i felt like telling him to "sit down shut up" lol

23-09-2009, 05:25 PM
:faf: i was in the same row, just the next block along.
Although, i didnt exactly keep my opinions to myself either :greengrin

i felt like telling him to "sit down shut up" lol

I was nearby too, and have nothing against folk voicing their opinions when they are valid, but he was just full of ******!!

23-09-2009, 05:46 PM
Although this boy me have come across as stupid and childish, however i feel that he has the character that the whole stadium is now missing. there was once a time(three seasons ago) when we would sing our team back from two-three goals down to either a draw or a win.Where is this character, we could have helped the result ( to a certain extent ) last night even though the team were extremely poor, we could actually hear the players shouting at each other. Even though we had a small support , we were being outsung by theirs, in fact were was the home support last night?we need to re-install this into the ground, we need to have something to look forward to when we are playing poorly.

23-09-2009, 05:51 PM
Although this boy me have come across as stupid and childish, however i feel that he has the character that the whole stadium is now missing. there was once a time(three seasons ago) when we would sing our team back from two-three goals down to either a draw or a win.Where is this character, we could have helped the result ( to a certain extent ) last night even though the team were extremely poor, we could actually hear the players shouting at each other. Even though we had a small support , we were being outsung by theirs, in fact were was the home support last night?we need to re-install this into the ground, we need to have something to look forward to when we are playing poorly.

:faf: Also when did we ever sing when our team were 2 or 3 goals down.

Crazy. :agree:

23-09-2009, 05:53 PM
Under Mowbray.

23-09-2009, 05:53 PM
Quick everyone!
Go out and buy loud pink tshirts and sing absolute tosh at the top of your voices! It's what the team needs!!
:wink::greengrin

Edit: Hearts have been trying this for years anyway haven't they...?

23-09-2009, 05:57 PM
well you tell me the last time you could here the players shouting amongst themselves at easter road?

23-09-2009, 06:00 PM
The boy was two rows in front of me and struck me as a total fandango. Standing on his chair was blocking our view as well, although maybe that was a good thing last night!

Also saw a young lad in front of me get a can of Strongbow taken off him early in the second half as he was brazenly supping away.

It was a strange night last night in the east all round!

23-09-2009, 06:00 PM
well you tell me the last time you could here the players shouting amongst themselves at easter road?

Frequently. I sit in the West Lower, frankly I'd be concerned if I couldn't hear the players shouting to each other.

And I'm not attempting to be obtuse, I'm being deadly serious.

23-09-2009, 06:12 PM

Loads of times even when there has been a good attendance. :agree:

What you were suggesting in your post is that we all need to be a bit like the guy with the pink t-shirt. By all accounts he was a right plonker and didn't contribute anything to the atmosphere.

I love a sing song as much as the next person. What I can't put up with is someone who likes the sound of his own voice.

In my defence I am writing this on the strength of other netters views on this thread as I was not at the game last night. So on a positive note I saved about £30 and was sober as a judge.

I rest my case M'lud. :thumbsup:

23-09-2009, 06:13 PM
This is why we should be backing our team up. how would anyone react to seeing a full ER being outsung by smaller teams in any game, -obviously not last night since it was not full- you would be feeling that this team has a poor support, noone is behind us in voice.thus making them feel that they don't enjoy playing for a club.

23-09-2009, 06:16 PM
This is why we should be backing our team up. how would anyone react to seeing a full ER being outsung by smaller teams in any game, -obviously not last night since it was not full- you would be feeling that this team has a poor support, noone is behind us in voice.thus making them feel that they don't enjoy playing for a club.

We've outsung the OF at Celtic Park and Ibrox not so long ago. This is not just a Hibs/Easter Road thing.

23-09-2009, 06:17 PM
number 21.
I'm not suggesting we all become in love with our own oice, i also feel the way you do about this , but i just feel it would both attract a bigger support-aw it's a barry atmosphere at ER i'm taking my wee boy who could take his pal etc..- and also help the team feel better about playing at ER

23-09-2009, 06:22 PM
once again i'm with you on the old firm thing but maybe not parkhead as we have a very small section in comparison to the enormus home support, but i am not suggesting its only at ER this is occuring but we could help our team by being behind them. they will then feel ooh this is excellent we have a backing louder than the old firm or whoever i want to perform for these fans who thouroughly deserve it:greengrin

23-09-2009, 06:29 PM
once again i'm with you on the old firm thing but maybe not parkhead as we have a very small section in comparison to the enormus home support, but i am not suggesting its only at ER this is occuring but we could help our team by being behind them. they will then feel ooh this is excellent we have a backing louder than the old firm or whoever i want to perform for these fans who thouroughly deserve it:greengrin

I love your optimism. :thumbsup:

23-09-2009, 06:32 PM
cheers man . Its just i remember being younger and being excited for any game at ER

LamontHFC©
23-09-2009, 06:48 PM
:faf: Also when did we ever sing when our team were 2 or 3 goals down.

Crazy. :agree:

Against Dundee United a couple years back.

IIRC, we were 2-0 down, or 3-1, defo 2 goals down anyway, and the crowd picked up and we ended up scoring twice and ended up being unlucky not to win.

23-09-2009, 06:53 PM
Against Dundee United a couple years back.

IIRC, we were 2-0 down, or 3-1, defo 2 goals down anyway, and the crowd picked up and we ended up scoring twice and ended up being unlucky not to win.

I do remember that one. 2-2 Fletcher scored in the last minute. I was in the South Stand and can't remember what the atmosphere was like.

23-09-2009, 06:54 PM
there was a few randoms in the east last night. a group of youngsters, mainly girls, were up the back of the section i sit in. they were steaming, singing to all the songs pre match, whistling at players, shouting who they wanted to f***, etc etc. didnt really bother any of us, it brought a bit of a highlight to a crap game.

23-09-2009, 06:56 PM
I do remember that one. 2-2 Fletcher scored in the last minute. I was in the South Stand and can't remember what the atmosphere was like.

Curier penalty.

23-09-2009, 07:30 PM
The boy was two rows in front of me and struck me as a total fandango. Standing on his chair was blocking our view as well, although maybe that was a good thing last night!

Also saw a young lad in front of me get a can of Strongbow taken off him early in the second half as he was brazenly supping away.

It was a strange night last night in the east all round!

You must have been near enough in the same row as me - I was wearing a suit without tie having bombed it straight from work - via Sunnyside :greengrin

I loved the nonchalant way the guy signalled that he had a can of cider to the Rock Steady :faf:

23-09-2009, 07:34 PM
Curier penalty.

:doh: Wrong game. One I was thinking of was Aberdeen.

23-09-2009, 07:37 PM
:doh: Wrong game. One I was thinking of was Aberdeen.

3-3, Shiels. :wink:

OtterHibee
23-09-2009, 07:44 PM
3-3, Shiels. :wink:

I think he means the 2-2 game vs Aberdeen in November 2008 :wink:. Jones with our 1st, Fletcher the 2nd with the last kick of the ball.

23-09-2009, 07:46 PM
I think he means the 2-2 game vs Aberdeen in November 2008 :wink:. Jones with our 1st, Fletcher the 2nd after a stramash in the box .

Oops. :doh: To be fair, who wants to remember that season? :wink:

23-09-2009, 07:48 PM
I think he means the 2-2 game vs Aberdeen in November 2008 :wink:. Jones with our 1st, Fletcher the 2nd with the last kick of the ball.

M8UDB
24-09-2009, 06:55 AM

That mug was standing right beside me talkin to the boys sittin behind when the chorus of whos the p00fter in the pink started. Hope the St Johnstone fans didnt think he was with me :bitchy:

Chuckie
24-09-2009, 07:49 PM
Anyone trying to create an atmosphere in our beloved East should be applauded, whether they are high on crack, drink, life or whatever it is.

It's boring pricks like yous who have come from your 9-5 office jobs in your Top Shop suits, with your starbucks and manbags straight to Easter Road that do my nut in.

If the laddie wants to let it rip good luck to him.

24-09-2009, 07:58 PM
Anyone trying to create an atmosphere in our beloved East should be applauded, whether they are high on crack, drink, life or whatever it is.

It's boring pricks like yous who have come from your 9-5 office jobs in your Top Shop suits, with your starbucks and manbags straight to Easter Road that do my nut in.

Yeah, you've got to hate those people who choose to hotfoot it to ER rather than take the easy option in going home and saving a wedge in the process:rolleyes:

24-09-2009, 08:02 PM

:faf: Love it:thumbsup::top marks

Chuckie
24-09-2009, 08:05 PM
Yeah, you've got to hate those people who choose to hotfoot it to ER rather than take the easy option in going home and saving a wedge in the process:rolleyes:

I'd rather have a hundred guys in pink t shirts, pissed, giving it laldy next to me in the East than a bunch of students sitting analysing everything going on around them, frothing out of their y-fronts at what they are going to type on this forum as soon as they get home.

:bye:

GodisaHibee
24-09-2009, 08:10 PM
At least he was doing SOMETHING.

200 St Johnstone fans making more noise than him was an embarressment.

Anyway; who are you to slag the guy? If he wasn't being offensive; take a leaf out his book and concentrate more on supporting the team/club than slagging one of the three people making a noise on Tuesday night.

24-09-2009, 08:16 PM
I'd rather have a hundred guys in pink t shirts, pissed, giving it laldy next to me in the East than a bunch of students sitting analysing everything going on around them, frothing out of their y-fronts at what they are going to type on this forum as soon as they get home.

:bye:

You didn't say anything about students, or else I'd be in total agreement :greengrin

Chuckie
24-09-2009, 08:29 PM
You didn't say anything about students, or else I'd be in total agreement :greengrin

Man.

I'm one of those pissed up drunked idiots shouting *****e, and it hurts my precious wee feelings when Tarquin and his mates chastise me for being me.

YLT.

24-09-2009, 09:17 PM
Man.

I'm one of those pissed up drunked idiots shouting *****e, and it hurts my precious wee feelings when Tarquin and his mates chastise me for being me.

YLT.

:greengrin I was merely aware that I was liable to stand out somewhat in the East Stand. Not a Starbucks or manbag in sight thankfully.

Regarding the guy in the luminous pink t-shirt, he looked like he was having a whale of a time.

Hopefully the team can give those of us that were sadly sober something to really cheer about next time out at ER.

Chuckie
24-09-2009, 09:25 PM
:greengrin I was merely aware that I was liable to stand out somewhat in the East Stand. Not a Starbucks or manbag in sight thankfully.

Regarding the guy in the luminous pink t-shirt, he looked like he was having a whale of a time.

Hopefully the team can give those of us that were sadly sober something to really cheer about next time out at ER.

Indeed Peter.

You'd do well to remember that football is a working class mans sport traditionally. Though of course not exclusively, and for those that cannot stomach the behaviours of the proletariat, well ye can *****in ram it.. Away and watch the rugby.

24-09-2009, 09:25 PM
You must have been near enough in the same row as me - I was wearing a suit without tie having bombed it straight from work - via Sunnyside :greengrin

I loved the nonchalant way the guy signalled that he had a can of cider to the Rock Steady :faf:

Aye, you were in the same row as me mate, maybe just one or two along. You might remember me and my mate started talking to the American boy standing next to us who was at his first game?

There is a difference between starting an atmosphere and getting in the way of other peoples view and making a shop front of yourself. No skin off my nose if the boy wants to do the latter but if I can't see the pitch because he's standing on the seats in front of me then that's out of order.

Why does someone wearing a suit in the East give you so much bother?

Chuckie
24-09-2009, 09:33 PM
Aye, you were in the same row as me mate, maybe just one or two along. You might remember me and my mate started talking to the American boy standing next to us who was at his first game?

There is a difference between starting an atmosphere and getting in the way of other peoples view and making a shop front of yourself. No skin off my nose if the boy wants to do the latter but if I can't see the pitch because he's standing on the seats in front of me then that's out of order.

Why does someone wearing a suit in the East give you so much bother?

If you can't handle it then get yourself an executive box, or move to another seat. I hear there were plenty spare.

Or you could write a nice wee letter to Scott Lindsay asking him to remove the ruffians from the ground.

Suits - for twats.

24-09-2009, 09:40 PM
this is what i was talking about last night where this whole argument stemmed from . this is what we miss . having a great time aswell as getting a good result, and its people that come on and put down anyone having a good laugh and trying to recreate our atmosphere and spoil any chances of this ever appening

mixumatosis
24-09-2009, 10:14 PM
If you can't handle it then get yourself an executive box, or move to another seat. I hear there were plenty spare.

Or you could write a nice wee letter to Scott Lindsay asking him to remove the ruffians from the ground.

Suits - for twats.

Judgements on other hibs supporters who've bolted from their work to be at the game and not changed into a pair of Kappa trainers and a shellsuit for your benefit - for twats.

24-09-2009, 10:24 PM

Suits - for twats.

I'm still waiting to hear what causes you to have such a problem with suits in the East Stand. Wee bit of an issue for you there, no?

24-09-2009, 10:26 PM
Indeed Peter.

You'd do well to remember that football is a working class mans sport traditionally. Though of course not exclusively, and for those that cannot stomach the behaviours of the proletariat, well ye can *****in ram it.. Away and watch the rugby.

I get a strong sense of the Scottish "cringe" from this post - I hate that. No wonder people leave this country.

24-09-2009, 10:29 PM
I'm still waiting to hear what causes you to have such a problem with suits in the East Stand. Wee bit of an issue for you there, no?

Suits in the East Stand :faf:
What will we think of next...:faf:

24-09-2009, 10:33 PM
Suits in the East Stand :faf:
What will we think of next...:faf:

Exactly. They should be in the West with the prawn sandwich and tartan rug brigade!! :grr:

hibsdaft
24-09-2009, 10:43 PM
wheres Dashing Bob when you need him.

24-09-2009, 10:44 PM
Is it just me, or I, that finds our support a bit schitzo? On one hand we're bemoaning the lack of support and then slagging off what guys wear at the games :confused: We don't get it.

24-09-2009, 10:49 PM
Is it just me, or I, that finds our support a bit schitzo? On one hand we're bemoaning the lack of support and then slagging off what guys wear at the games :confused: We don't get it.

Absolutely :agree:

Nonsense! :grr:

24-09-2009, 10:51 PM

:confused: :top marks

24-09-2009, 10:51 PM

24-09-2009, 10:57 PM

Big90inOz
25-09-2009, 03:55 AM
I have to say the only supporters I heard on HI where the St Johnstone supporters and it was before they were winning :bitchy:

Easter Road is sounding like a graveyard these days :agree:

25-09-2009, 04:07 AM
If only more people were vocal! :grr:

And wore pink shirts.... :cool2:

Chuckie
25-09-2009, 06:30 AM

Let us know how that one turns out...

25-09-2009, 06:55 AM
I sat in the east for years, and only this season i have changed to the west. Only because the view from the east wasn't to great. I miss the odd mental guy shouting and screaming, sometimes when the team is playing pants these guys are always funny to watch.

But i do hate if you have to tell the guy in front to get off the chair so i can see the game. I have paid the same as him and i don't think i should move either because he's on a chair. Shout and scream all you like but don't have to be another 2ft higher then eveyone else though.

One thing for sure though not enough people are making an atmosphere at the games it's sad really because there is nothing better when the whole ground is bouncing. :greengrin

25-09-2009, 09:22 AM
If only more people were vocal! :grr:

And wore pink shirts.... :cool2:

Maybe we should have a pink shirt day at ER, now that would be funny. :thumbsup:

25-09-2009, 10:20 AM

Gaun yersel Chuckie:thumbsup:

Can't really add to that :top marks

25-09-2009, 10:21 AM
Let us know how that one turns out...

superbam
25-09-2009, 12:54 PM

Surely it is only in recent years where some pished boy in the east shouting abuse at the ref and opposition players merits an entire moany thread on here. No wonder the atmosphere is *****.

Easter Road has become the least intimidating ground in the league, with the least nosiy support. Anybody trying to change that should be applauded IMO.

Baw187
25-09-2009, 01:34 PM

Point one re applauding the boy.

:agree: - the more of these boys the better.

Point 2 re boring pricks

:bitchy: - What the ***** has working a 9-5 job or wearing a Top Shop suit got to do with being a boring prick?? What hours does a top East Stand gadge work so I can make sure my work conform. Also, just submitted a proposal to change our work attire to pink t-shirts. Just to fit wi the billing of being a good old East Stand character, like.

Pish

hibee-shtuggie
25-09-2009, 01:43 PM

so where did you get your pink t-shirt??:dizzy:

Chuckie
25-09-2009, 01:50 PM
Point one re applauding the boy.

:agree: - the more of these boys the better.

Point 2 re boring pricks

:bitchy: - What the ***** has working a 9-5 job or wearing a Top Shop suit got to do with being a boring prick?? What hours does a top East Stand gadge work so I can make sure my work conform. Also, just submitted a proposal to change our work attire to pink t-shirts. Just to fit wi the billing of being a good old East Stand character, like.

Pish

Back shift ?

Pink t shirts and suits to be removed at the turnstiles and collected after the game.

Replica Hibs tops and bulging bellies are the uniform of choice.

Beards are allowed too. But not on women.

Baw187
25-09-2009, 01:54 PM
Back shift ?

Pink t shirts and suits to be removed at the turnstiles and collected after the game.

That would half our female attendance.

Hank Schrader
25-09-2009, 02:04 PM
Suits - for twats.

I wear a suit! :grr: But not to the football and never have done so that should exempt me from a Chuckie bashing!! :greengrin

Agree with you though, if the laddie wants to belt it out then let him.

BravestHibs
25-09-2009, 02:09 PM

Surely it is only in recent years where some pished boy in the east shouting abuse at the ref and opposition players merits an entire moany thread on here. No wonder the atmosphere is *****.

Easter Road has become the least intimidating ground in the league, with the least nosiy support. Anybody trying to change that should be applauded IMO.

I'd agree with that. Also, what's wrong with just standing on your seat if the person in front of you is standing on theirs? Standing only makes the atmosphere better. Whoever it was moaning about standing definitely sounds like they might be happier in the west. Or the rugby. Or the theatre.

It's also true that there does seem to be a fair few people who love turning their noses up at those who 'heaven forbid' dare to have a drink before the game. Or even get carried away in the spirit of the game. And for that, those people should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves. I thought that part of going to the football was to vent and shout and scream and unleash your frustrations from a week at work, not to worry about what clothes you were wearing in case Gok Wan insinuates that your dress sense is rubbish.

The atmosphere is pish at games these days and something definitely needs to be done, and soon. If the atmosphere was good I personally wouldn't be overly concerned about the result as I primarily go to the football to have a crack on with my mates and enjoy the atmosphere. Take away the atmosphere and all you're left with is the football, which if we're honest isn't anyhting like a masterclass, nor will it ever be. The last few games I've been to have been disappointing atmosphere wise and I'm starting to question the logic of parting with 25 pound to listen to people moan about Hibs and Hibs supporters which seems to be the main focus of alot of the fans these days.

Hibees!

Exiled Hibby
25-09-2009, 02:19 PM
Seems to me the answer is easy ....bring back standing area terracings!!! Let those who want to stand, sing, bounce etc do that...those who dont can sit, sing etc...............we're all fans, some do one thing, others another
no point in insulting each other for what we wear to the game FFS

(Just off to put my dinner jacket in to the cleaners before Saturday!!!):bye:

25-09-2009, 02:20 PM
Back shift ?

What if you work days, backs and night shift. Can we still be in your gang. Fact I have to wear a suit to work so i might not get to join:boo hoo:

25-09-2009, 02:22 PM
I'd agree with that. Also, what's wrong with just standing on your seat if the person in front of you is standing on theirs? Standing only makes the atmosphere better. Whoever it was moaning about standing definitely sounds like they might be happier in the west. Or the rugby. Or the theatre.

It's also true that there does seem to be a fair few people who love turning their noses up at those who 'heaven forbid' dare to have a drink before the game. Or even get carried away in the spirit of the game. And for that, those people should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves. I thought that part of going to the football was to vent and shout and scream and unleash your frustrations from a week at work, not to worry about what clothes you were wearing in case Gok Wan insinuates that your dress sense is rubbish.

The atmosphere is pish at games these days and something definitely needs to be done, and soon. If the atmosphere was good I personally wouldn't be overly concerned about the result as I primarily go to the football to have a crack on with my mates and enjoy the atmosphere. Take away the atmosphere and all you're left with is the football, which if we're honest isn't anyhting like a masterclass, nor will it ever be. The last few games I've been to have been disappointing atmosphere wise and I'm starting to question the logic of parting with 25 pound to listen to people moan about Hibs and Hibs supporters which seems to be the main focus of alot of the fans these days.

Hibees!
This was my point exactly two days prior to this

25-09-2009, 02:24 PM
Doesn't really matter what attire you choose to don to the game - but it's true that the atmosphere has been going steadilly downhill for quite some time. This is extremely worrying given that the East - a traditional bastion of rowdiness - is due to be replaced with a modern stand.
What happened to the Capital Greens (?) ultra mob that was started a while back? They did make a bit of a difference and we could do with more of that.
Re the radge in the pink shirt - nice to see someone NOT feeling self-conscious in the Hibs end. I think that's part of the reason atmos isn't as good as it once was - when folk were all crammed in together in the terracing you'd have felt more self conscious NOT joining in with a song - making people sit in nice civilised seats tends to make people act more nice and civilised (funnily enough!) which is NOT what we want or need!

PS - Suggestion for anyone who's view is spoiled by pink shirted radges standing on their seats - try asking him to get off it - usually works for me :greengrin

25-09-2009, 03:42 PM
At least he was doing SOMETHING.

200 St Johnstone fans making more noise than him was an embarressment.

Anyway; who are you to slag the guy? If he wasn't being offensive; take a leaf out his book and concentrate more on supporting the team/club than slagging one of the three people making a noise on Tuesday night.

I was merely pointing out what he said was a great source of amusement.
He was clearly drunk/on something/high on life and coming out with nonsense statements like Morais being a Judas, and this gave myself and those round us a great chuckle.

I wasn't complaining about the guy. I love the characters you see in the east, and happily get vocally behind the team.

25-09-2009, 04:35 PM
He was clearly drunk/on something/high on life and coming out with nonsense statements like Morais being a Judas, and this gave myself and those round us a great chuckle.

I wasn't complaining about the guy. I love the characters you see in the east, and happily get vocally behind the team.

The East is definitely more fun to be in than the West. It's just a shame the facilities and the view are rank.

Once it's built, I'll take my season ticket over to the East, where hopefully I'll be amongst folk wanting to belt out a song or two over the course of a game.

You end up singing on your own in the West just now.:bitchy:

Chuckie
25-09-2009, 05:50 PM

I apologise for my overreaction to your thread in that case.... Mon the East Radges .

andyhibs
25-09-2009, 06:32 PM
maybee the stands should be cliqued:wink: west, suits, manbags, brolly and kniting for the girls(or boys) def no singing. famous five, the smart but causual, scarfs tied round the neck, no standing even at a goal, marks and spencer carrier bag filled with enough food and drink (soft) to last the whole day out,belt out only a couple of lines of any song sung, the east,where to start your hibee education,stand on seats at all times,start the songs and finish them even if its only you,40 plus yr olds must have the beerbelly protruding from the 4 sizes to small hibs top,and must have the smell of bevy from your breath . are you all sure your in the right stand:wink:

25-09-2009, 06:35 PM
Maybe we should have a pink shirt day at ER, now that would be funny. :thumbsup:

Aye, it would make our neighbours feel right at home at derbies. :wink:

Dirkster23
25-09-2009, 07:10 PM
maybee the stands should be cliqued:wink: west, suits, manbags, brolly and kniting for the girls(or boys) def no singing. famous five, the smart but causual, scarfs tied round the neck, no standing even at a goal, marks and spencer carrier bag filled with enough food and drink (soft) to last the whole day out,belt out only a couple of lines of any song sung, the east,where to start your hibee education,stand on seats at all times,start the songs and finish them even if its only you,40 plus yr olds must have the beerbelly protruding from the 4 sizes to small hibs top,and must have the smell of bevy from your breath . are you all sure your in the right stand:wink:

It always amazes me how people in the East perceive themselves. If you believed half of what's written on here you'd think it was crammed full of uber fans who bounced and sang for the entire game. If it wasn't for the young boys that started the Capital Greens last season it would be as quiet as the FF and West!

andyhibs
25-09-2009, 07:53 PM
It always amazes me how people in the East perceive themselves. If you believed half of what's written on here you'd think it was crammed full of uber fans who bounced and sang for the entire game. If it wasn't for the young boys that started the Capital Greens last season it would be as quiet as the FF and West!
eh ok then, 35yrs in the east stand/terracing , i must be wrong

Dirkster23
25-09-2009, 08:02 PM
eh ok then, 35yrs in the east stand/terracing , i must be wrong

Glad you can admit it :cb

andyhibs
25-09-2009, 08:10 PM
Glad you can admit it :cb
very glad that i can admit to being in the east for 35yrs:greengrin

25-09-2009, 08:58 PM

I've been to Easter Road (and other grounds) a good few times wearing a cheap suit, after finishing my 9-5 office job.

I always thought it was because I was just a young lad, earning around £50 per week at the time, who'd do anything to avoid missing or even being late for a match - when in fact it was because I was (am) a boring prick.

I wish I could be as interesting as you. :rolleyes:

25-09-2009, 09:09 PM
I've been to Easter Road (and other grounds) a good few times wearing a cheap suit, after finishing my 9-5 office job.

I always thought it was because I was just a young lad, earning around £50 per week at the time, who'd do anything to avoid missing or even being late for a match - when in fact it was because I was (am) a boring prick.

Impossible - he is the most interesting Hibs fan of all time. Yep, if you wear a Hibs top to the game, have a beer belly, are over a certain age, wear a suit (any time at all folks) then you are just that bit inferior. Oh dear.

25-09-2009, 09:14 PM

:greengrin great, made me laugh and change what I was thinking of posting, last night game I was at, I broke a train journey back from Glasgow to stop in Edinburgh to watch Hibs, I stayed with my aunt and travelled back in the same suit next day. As I was up on business for a day originally I only had my suit and it was freezing, I'm a scruff from Porty in real life but hadn't appreciated I might be thought of as something less than a hibby just as I wouldn't have judged the guy in the pink shirt on the basis of his sartorial elegance, leaping to conclusions about hibbys who happen to turn up wearing suits suggest a deeper lying problem...........especially since I and most of the ones I know could loosely fit into most of the categories you have so succinctly outlined above.:wink:

25-09-2009, 09:18 PM

:thumbsup::agree:

Chuckie
25-09-2009, 09:56 PM

Unlikely to happen though brother. X

25-09-2009, 10:01 PM
Unlikely to happen though brother. X

Shame.