View Full Version : Parade in Stirling?

NYHibby
18-09-2009, 07:20 PM
There is this huge parade going down my street in Stirling right now. Anyone have a clue what it's about? I didn't think today was a holiday or anything special.

18-09-2009, 07:34 PM
There is this huge parade going down my street in Stirling right now. Anyone have a clue what it's about? I didn't think today was a holiday or anything special.

Giro day?

NYHibby
18-09-2009, 07:38 PM
Sorry but that reference went over my head.

It was a parade with flute and drum bands.

18-09-2009, 07:44 PM
Giro day?

Sorry but that reference went over my head.

It was a parade was flute and drum bands.

Today is Jack Warden's birthday and although it is commonly accepted he was born in Newark, NJ, his mother was from Clackmannanshire.

Part of me would like to believe the march was a tribute to the legend who was actorially, if not literally, "Crazy Like A Fox" :agree:

Sadly I doubt that.

Did they have majorettes?

NYHibby
18-09-2009, 08:16 PM
I didn't see any, but I didn't watch the whole thing.

hibsdaft
18-09-2009, 11:46 PM
unlikely at that time of night but did any of them look like this:

http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/04_03/orangemenEPA_228x304.jpg

NYHibby
19-09-2009, 01:27 AM
At first I thought it was an orange march as the first group I saw looked like they would be in one. However, other groups were just wearing red and/or blue but no orange.

19-09-2009, 10:58 AM
At first I thought it was an orange march as the first group I saw looked like they would be in one. However, other groups were just wearing red and/or blue but no orange.

Orange walks don't always consist of folks wearing orange.

Apprentice boys wear red jackets with blue berets, or is that oompa loompas?

It was either an orange walk or an unfortunate child being taken away to be stretched back to normal size, juiced or rescued from the rubbish chute.

19-09-2009, 11:03 AM
Mags Hainey trying to subtly sneak back into town?

19-09-2009, 11:05 AM
Mags Hainey trying to subtly sneak back into town?

Big Mags. Maw Broon gone wrong.

19-09-2009, 11:16 AM
Big Mags. Maw Broon gone wrong.

Aye her hert was in the richt place, bit she goat mixed up wi' some o' they sweeties she wis gien ti the bairns.

19-09-2009, 11:49 AM

Which street was it?

19-09-2009, 05:12 PM

found this on a 'forum'

http://www.pulseresources.org/forums/events-forum/12290-stirling-protestant-boys-band-parade.html

Stirling Protestant Boys Band Parade - 18.9.09

Stirling Protestant Boys will be holding their first band parade and competition in the City of Stirling on Friday the 18th of September 2009.

The parade will marshall at Kings Park at 7.15pm, parade starts at 7.30pm before parading round the town centre and back to Kings Park. Trophy's will be awarded after the parade.

We have only been allowed a permit for 15 bands for this parade, which we think is a huge success for our first parade.

All bands which we have supported in the last year have had invites sent, i will post bands once they have confirmed attendance.

The band will be holding a social evening in Bar189, Airth, after the parade, with JC's Disco and The Prince of Orange FB, Coatbridge playing. Entry will be free to all band members and £2 for non band members.

We hope to see you all on the 18th of September to support the city's first band parade.

Confirmed bands

Stirling Protestant Boys FB
Prince of Orange FB, Coatbridge
Pride O' The Grange Volunteers FB
Broxburn Loyalists FB
Whitburn FB
Andrew Murphy Memorial FB, Carluke
Star of The East FB
Cambuslang Britania FB
Craigneuk True Defenders FB
Larkhall Purple Heroes FB
Shieldhill Young Defenders FB
Pride of The Rock FB
Caldercruix Defenders FB

Could you not find some bricks to through at them?

Edit: now I'll have to run a scan on my computer to remove the filth

ginger_rice
19-09-2009, 06:14 PM
Got caught up in it last night....they didn't publicise it in Stirling and if they did they kept it quiet...I am so so so embarrassed to see the like in my home town. :grr:

Tomsk
19-09-2009, 07:43 PM
found this on a 'forum'

http://www.pulseresources.org/forums/events-forum/12290-stirling-protestant-boys-band-parade.html

Stirling Protestant Boys Band Parade - 18.9.09

Stirling Protestant Boys will be holding their first band parade and competition in the City of Stirling on Friday the 18th of September 2009.

The parade will marshall at Kings Park at 7.15pm, parade starts at 7.30pm before parading round the town centre and back to Kings Park. Trophy's will be awarded after the parade.

We have only been allowed a permit for 15 bands for this parade, which we think is a huge success for our first parade.

All bands which we have supported in the last year have had invites sent, i will post bands once they have confirmed attendance.

The band will be holding a social evening in Bar189, Airth, after the parade, with JC's Disco and The Prince of Orange FB, Coatbridge playing. Entry will be free to all band members and £2 for non band members.

We hope to see you all on the 18th of September to support the city's first band parade.

Confirmed bands

Broxburn Loyalists FB
Whitburn FB
Star of The East FB
Cambuslang Britania FB
Pride of The Rock FB
Caldercruix Defenders FB

Could you not find some bricks to through at them?

Edit: now I'll have to run a scan on my computer to remove the filth

It took me a moment or two to work out what FB stands for.

ginger_rice
19-09-2009, 07:48 PM
It took me a moment or two to work out what FB stands for.
friggin barstewards :dunno:

NYHibby
19-09-2009, 09:10 PM
Got caught up in it last night....they didn't publicise it in Stirling and if they did they kept it quiet...I am so so so embarrassed to see the like in my home town. :grr:

I looked in the paper and didn't see anything about it, which surprised me. My street was effectively closed for half an hour. I would have thought that some sort of warning would have to be given. Didn't see many police either.

Tomsk
19-09-2009, 09:11 PM
friggin barstewards :dunno:

Maybe. I'm pretty certain it's not fenian b ...

green leaves
19-09-2009, 11:18 PM
how the **** are these ****s still allowed to march in this day and age??

I thought Stirling was better than that.

Nae surprie the do was held in Airth tho.

Dirty orange ****

ginger_rice
20-09-2009, 04:47 PM
how the **** are these ****s still allowed to march in this day and age??

I thought Stirling was better than that.

Nae surprie the do was held in Airth tho.

Dirty orange ****

Unfortunately much as I despise them they have as much right to march as anyone else, however what really gets me is if you look at the list of the bands involved how many actually have links to the Stirling area.

Broxburn Loyalists FB
Whitburn FB
Star of The East FB
Cambuslang Britania FB
Pride of The Rock FB
Caldercruix Defenders FB

And I reckon for Stirling read Fallin!!

21-09-2009, 05:15 AM
Unfortunately much as I despise them they have as much right to march as anyone else, however what really gets me is if you look at the list of the bands involved how many actually have links to the Stirling area.

Broxburn Loyalists FB
Whitburn FB
Star of The East FB
Cambuslang Britania FB
Pride of The Rock FB
Caldercruix Defenders FB

Was Fergie there?:greengrin

ginger_rice
21-09-2009, 05:42 PM
Was Fergie there?:greengrin

Well there was a sizeable Rangers support :grr:

green leaves
21-09-2009, 07:37 PM

Broxburn Loyalists FB
Whitburn FB
Star of The East FB
Cambuslang Britania FB
Pride of The Rock FB
Caldercruix Defenders FB

Hell hole of a place.

Think there's only one non hun in the place.

Everytime i drive through it,its wall to wall white shellsuits and hun tops.

Mind you Cowie is worse its full of glory hunters in that stupid wasp sellick away top.