View Full Version : Hibs currently have more spending power that Rangers FC

10-09-2009, 09:06 PM
The thought occurred to me whilst reading the Liam Miller thread that this summer we have not just spent a couple of thrupenny bits more than Rangers, but have convincingly out-spent them in transfer fees - on Stokes alone.

The above thread title only last season, and certainly 2 seasons ago, would have been the stuff of parody and nonsense. The fact that whilst Hibs do not - and probably, sadly, will never have - the fanbase or "pull/international reknown" as Rangers, but in terms of pure disposable income to spend on wages/transfer fees/signing-on fees than Rangers is a staggering endorsement of Petrie's "penny-pinching" (copyright: IMO - Fuddlies since the beginning of time) way of running this club.

All this plus a top class training centre that we actually own, and is - in fact - nowhere near Newcastle, for all the geographically challenged Kback inhabitants.

Just say that sentence to yourself a few times

"Hibs spent more in the summer than Rangers" - hardly seems feasible, but it's the truth :thumbsup:

10-09-2009, 09:11 PM
The thought occurred to me whilst reading the Liam Miller thread that this summer we have not just spent a couple of thrupenny bits more than Rangers, but have convincingly out-spent them in transfer fees - on Stokes alone.

The above thread title only last season, and certainly 2 seasons ago, would have been the stuff of parody and nonsense. The fact that whilst Hibs do not - and probably, sadly, will never have - the fanbase or "pull/international reknown" as Rangers, but in terms of pure disposable income to spend on wages/transfer fees/signing-on fees than Rangers is a staggering endorsement of Petrie's "penny-pinching" (copyright: IMO - Fuddlies since the beginning of time) way of running this club.

All this plus a top class training centre that we actually own, and is - in fact - nowhere near Newcastle, for all the geographically challenged Kback inhabitants.

"Hibs spent more in the summer than Rangers" - hardly seems feasible, but it's the truth :thumbsup:

Also say this to yourself "Hibs are by far a better side than Hearts"
GIFRU EVERY YAM FUD READING THIS

Get right in!

10-09-2009, 09:21 PM

Get right in!

See Andy its stuff like that which is gonna restore the crown you lost to Sergey in your absence. :top marks

Horse
10-09-2009, 09:24 PM

Finally we have more spending power than the Huns, if only we had their referee influencing power!

10-09-2009, 09:26 PM

See Andy its stuff like that which is gonna restore the crown you lost to Sergey in your absence. :top marks

The thing is its so very true:agree:

Monkey heid Elliot or Stokes.:hmmm:

Witareyouhaverinaboutveen or Riordan :hmmm:

Nade or Benji :hmmm:

Goes oan all threw the side..awrite ill give them shot gun Wallace, might make our bench.

Horse
10-09-2009, 09:27 PM

Aye, long live the divine 'tache and his amazing penny pinching powers!

10-09-2009, 09:32 PM

Get right in!

Their so-called fans have been screaming for their club to buy a striker for two seasons.

So this summer they brought Jamie Mole back from on loan :faf:. If you've paid for a Yam ST you must be delighted.

They would love to have Deeks. They would love to have Stokes.

They would love to have Nishy. I think he may have scored more goals for Hibs than all their current strikers put together have scored for them :faf:

But let's not forget, they brought this on themselves.

GIRFUY you craven, spineless surrender monkeys :bye:

10-09-2009, 09:35 PM
Couldnt happen to a better shower of inbred bassas:agree:

10-09-2009, 10:27 PM
Sorry to break the bubble but since the transfer window is shut, then any straight fight for a player between rangers and hibs would result in the player going to rangers. They can still offer far higher wages than we can...

11-09-2009, 09:22 AM
I know we have spent more money than rangers on the players we've brought in. However, lets be honest, if they were to spend the money we have on players their squad probably wouldn't have strengthened that much, if at all.

Still, GIRUY!

11-09-2009, 09:34 AM
Sorry to break the bubble but since the transfer window is shut, then any straight fight for a player between rangers and hibs would result in the player going to rangers. They can still offer far higher wages than we can...

:agree: and that sadly is why the gap between the smellies and the rest of the SPL will never close.

11-09-2009, 09:58 AM

I agree to an extent, but for this summer in particular, when the window was open there was a decent pool of free agents doing the round - certainly SPL standard. Maybe the Rangers scouting network is pathetic, but why did they not offer deals to any of them??

Unless I'm missing some Murray Park Miracle-Kids, beyond the 1st 14-15 players, Rangers have a pretty threadbare squad. Who comes in if Mendes and Davies get injured at the same time?? The mind boggles!!!

They signed one - admittedly above par - player at about 11.59pm on September 1st, and yes if it had come to a "shoot-out" between Rangers and Hibs, Rangers would have won on reputation and wages, but still, enough party pooping :greengrin

Accumulatively, Hibs have spent more on transfer fees and probably equal or more than Rangers in Summer 2009 :hnet:

11-09-2009, 10:02 AM
Let's put into perspective here that the Rangers wage bill is about ten times ours!

11-09-2009, 02:39 PM
I agree to an extent, but for this summer in particular, when the window was open there was a decent pool of free agents doing the round - certainly SPL standard. Maybe the Rangers scouting network is pathetic, but why did they not offer deals to any of them??

Unless I'm missing some Murray Park Miracle-Kids, beyond the 1st 14-15 players, Rangers have a pretty threadbare squad. Who comes in if Mendes and Davies get injured at the same time?? The mind boggles!!!

They borrowed one - admittedly above par - player at about 11.59pm on September 1st, and yes if it had come to a "shoot-out" between Rangers and Hibs, Rangers would have won on reputation and wages, but still, enough party pooping :greengrin

Accumulatively, Hibs have spent more on transfer fees and probably equal or more than Rangers in Summer 2009 :hnet:
Fixed that for you, assuming you're referring to Rothen?

11-09-2009, 02:59 PM

Let's put into perspective here that the Rangers wage bill is about ten times ours!

Yup, this is a bizarre/naive OP. Rangers have a much bigger squad budget than us, although they are currently experiencing financial difficulties (long may that continue :wink:).

Of course it's great that we have managed to invest some money this summer - hopefully we can close the gap between them and us. But that is all we are doing right now - closing the gap.

11-09-2009, 03:42 PM
Hardy, har, har.:greengrin

ancienthibby
11-09-2009, 03:47 PM
Yup, this is a bizarre/naive OP. Rangers have a much bigger squad budget than us, although they are currently experiencing financial difficulties (long may that continue :wink:).

Of course it's great that we have managed to invest some money this summer - hopefully we can close the gap between them and us. But that is all we are doing right now - closing the gap.

You should also remember that Rangers FC are no longer beinbg run by D Murray - they are being run by LLoyds Bank!!

Why do you think that Watty the plumber et al have not been given contract extensions??

So splashing any money on any new player at Greyskull simply does not exist!!