View Full Version : Derren Brown - Lottery Numbers
09-09-2009, 09:46 PM
Ok - so does anyone know how Derren Brown just correctly predicted the lottery numbers for the lotto draw just taken place on BBC1..?
Hibby D
09-09-2009, 09:49 PM
Ok - so does anyone know how Derren Brown just correctly predicted the lottery numbers for the lotto draw just taken place on BBC1..?
I'm flummoxed, amazed and glad I'm staying in on Friday :dizzy::dizzy::dizzy:
I wonder if finding out how he did it will come as an anti-climax?
Baw Baggio
09-09-2009, 10:32 PM
He's probably filmed himself predicting every possible combination of numbers and then used some camera trickery :dunno:
That's going on his past work
Saying that, im sure youve got odds of 15000000 to 1 of getting 6 numbers
AllyF
09-09-2009, 10:40 PM
He's probably filmed himself predicting every possible combination of numbers and then used some camera trickery :dunno:
That's going on his past work
Saying that, im sure youve got odds of 15000000 to 1 of getting 6 numbers
I'm glad you soon realised the flaw in that strategy!
Baw Baggio
09-09-2009, 10:43 PM
I'm glad you soon realised the flaw in that strategy!
I'm just going by what he's done previously. He kept going on about how he's spent a year doing this, it would mean he would have to do a few thousand a day :greengrin
09-09-2009, 11:43 PM
No chance BBC delay their footage? Then DB could have had a man in the crowd at the lotto who would get it straight away before it was shown 'Live'
Although, i doubt they would delay it 10 minutes though :dunno:
10-09-2009, 06:56 AM
I don't think the lottery had anything to do with it. Could potentially harm the integrity of it. Maybe? Don't know why it would but still.
It's a complete mind **** whatever it is.
I originally thought there was only 5 balls on the stand until it went close in. He said he wanted to get 5 at the start.
10-09-2009, 07:01 AM
Although not his usual way of doing things, I reckon it was a split screen. The left hand side of the screen jumps.
10-09-2009, 07:01 AM
If he wanted to prove it, he should've bought a ticket.
Apparently he wasn't allowed, but why? Nobody could have stopped him unless there was some sort of contractual thing?
He could easily have donated the jackpot to charity or to whoever else got the 6 numbers 'legitimately'.
I want to believe it, but I don't think I can!
10-09-2009, 07:16 AM
Although not his usual way of doing things, I reckon it was a split screen. The left hand side of the screen jumps.
Could be why he wanted a completely empty room i.e no movement.
If he wanted to prove it, he should've bought a ticket.
Apparently he wasn't allowed, but why? Nobody could have stopped him unless there was some sort of contractual thing?
He could easily have donated the jackpot to charity or to whoever else got the 6 numbers 'legitimately'.
I want to believe it, but I don't think I can!
I think he was banned from buying a ticket.
Me too!
10-09-2009, 07:52 AM
Could be why he wanted a completely empty room i.e no movement.
I think he was banned from buying a ticket.
Me too!
Why though? And by whom?
10-09-2009, 08:21 AM
Why though? And by whom?
Don't know, read it in the paper.
It would have been Camelot or C4. They said they had been in discussions with BBC about the event prior to it.
Also, it was weird they showed it on all 4 channels.
10-09-2009, 08:28 AM
Know idea how he did it, but there is no chance he correctly guessed all six numbers. You have a 1 in 13.98 million chance of predicting the correct combination of numbers on the lottery.
I wonder if the pad he wrote the numbers down of the TV was some sort of 'smart board' where the numbers were transmitted to the balls.
10-09-2009, 08:34 AM
Know idea how he did it, but there is no chance he correctly guessed all six numbers. You have a 1 in 13.98 million chance of predicting the correct combination of numbers on the lottery.
I wonder if the pad he wrote the numbers down of the TV was some sort of 'smart board' where the numbers were transmitted to the balls.
Quite possibly but he's made a programme about it and says he's been studying it for 2 years or so.
I could have went on TV and wrote the numbers on a board.
There's more to it IMO but what that is, I have no ****ing idea!!!
EskbankHibby
10-09-2009, 08:40 AM
Misdirection of some sort obviously but i'm ****** if i know how. This is why he is so good, i don't actually care if he has any 'mystical powers', i just want to know how it's done as it's clever regardless.
hibsdaft
10-09-2009, 09:53 AM
as the numbers came up the picture he showed was live on the right hand side, and a frozen still on the left hand side. while the numbers came up, someone was actually beside him fixing the numbers on as they came up.
he then killed a bit of time writing the numbers in order etc onto the card while the other guy fixed the balls.
then when the other guy was done and away from the area they went back to a live feed on the left hand side of the screen
the trick is making you think you're looking at a full live picture, when in fact only one half of the screen is live.
the camera jumping makes the left hand side look live, but they easily have camera software to allow for that these days.
the boy on the left still has to work fast to get the numbers on mind.
finally, taking his comments at face value eg the 1 year thing is daft because its simply all part of the illusion, part of the eact, he's purposely misleading us by saying that stuff- and he is afterall open to the fact that it was all a trick!!
hibsdaft
10-09-2009, 11:04 AM
http://i28.tinypic.com/ehmzvp.gif
:yawn:
10-09-2009, 11:39 AM
as the numbers came up the picture he showed was live on the right hand side, and a frozen still on the left hand side. while the numbers came up, someone was actually beside him fixing the numbers on as they came up.
he then killed a bit of time writing the numbers in order etc onto the card while the other guy fixed the balls.
then when the other guy was done and away from the area they went back to a live feed on the left hand side of the screen
the trick is making you think you're looking at a full live picture, when in fact only one half of the screen is live.
the camera jumping makes the left hand side look live, but they easily have camera software to allow for that these days.
finally, taking his comments at face value eg the 1 year thing is daft because its simply all part of the illusion, part of the eact, he's purposely misleading us by saying that stuff- and he is afterall open to the fact that it was all a trick!!
I agree that the still screen is probably the most likely.
The reason I think that there must be something to it is that the surely aren't going to make a full TV programme to explain that they had a still camera and a guy standing there.
Anyone know how long it is on for? If it's a half hour then they probably are.
http://i28.tinypic.com/ehmzvp.gif
:yawn:
What is that? Proof that the balls moved?
hibsdaft
10-09-2009, 12:01 PM
imo, yes.
he'll spin the hour telling us all about how we were lulled into believing what we were seeing, cite other examples of this, go right through exactly what he said and did and how it was all part of the act, the one year bit etc.
the first 20 mins will simply be them showing it again and peoples reactions in parts of the uk (eg the big screens he said hi too).
should be fine just tuning into the last 20 mins to see him confirm the above i reckon !!
11-09-2009, 10:21 AM
I would imagine so. It'll be something to do with dodgy images or mirrors.
Hibby D
11-09-2009, 07:22 PM
I can't stop thinking there's more to this than still cameras and dodgy studio set ups.
He clearly stated he would be showing us (i.e. the viewers) how we too can predict the lottery.
Roll on 9pm - The man is a freak but I'm totally in awe of him :agree:
hibsdaft
11-09-2009, 09:02 PM
what a lot of pish !!!
that was embarressing tbh, and that desperate diversion at the very end just daft.
11-09-2009, 09:06 PM
what a lot of pish !!!
that was embarressing tbh, and that desperate diversion at the very end just daft.
well it was an entertaining hour of tv, which is all I can ask for.
11-09-2009, 09:07 PM
I still think it was fixed
Hibby D
11-09-2009, 09:09 PM
what a lot of pish !!!
Why was it embarrassing? :confused: The man is a genius and a great entertainer (but still a freak :greengrin)
Storar
11-09-2009, 09:10 PM
Entertaining yet underwhelming. He can do better!
Hibee-Bongo
11-09-2009, 09:10 PM
I still think it was fixed
Why?
11-09-2009, 09:12 PM
Why?
Do you honestly believe that stuff about creative writing? If this was really how to predict the lottery you will now have millions of people up and down the country getting there mates round and doing it. No way is it that easy
11-09-2009, 09:16 PM
what a lot of pish !!!
What were you expecting? A sure-fire way of winning the lottery? It's entertainment - unlike 90% of the mince on TV.
Hibee-Bongo
11-09-2009, 09:16 PM
Do you honestly believe that stuff about creative writing? If this was really how to predict the lottery you will now have millions of people up and down the country getting there mates round and doing it. No way is it that easy
I don't really know anything about creative writing but it seems much more likely than it being fixed imo. Theres no chance Camelot would fix the Lottery.
11-09-2009, 09:20 PM
I don't really know anything about creative writing but it seems much more likely than it being fixed imo. Theres no chance Camelot would fix the Lottery.
They'd lose their license as lottery operator for a start.
11-09-2009, 09:28 PM
They'd lose their license as lottery operator for a start.
Sorry I dont mean the lottery being fixed I meant Browns programme
Don Giovanni
11-09-2009, 09:32 PM
What were you expecting? A sure-fire way of winning the lottery? It's entertainment - unlike 90% of the mince on TV.
:agree: It's just a trick for the the sake of entertainment. Magic.
IMO tonights programme did nothing to explain the trick, it just served to add a further layer of myth and spin out interest in the event .
11-09-2009, 09:33 PM
Entertaining yet underwhelming. He can do better!
Like how Stoater?
He predicted the lottery numbers! What more do you want?
Great TV, absolute genius of a man..
Storar
11-09-2009, 09:40 PM
Like how Stoater?
I just mean that his past 'tricks' have been much better and had a solid foundation, not just based on something as unsubstantial as will power.
Usually there's some really complex strategy behind it that all leads to him knowing that his 'predictions' are right but tonights effort just seemed a bit half hearted. I don't know how he did it but its not normally like him to leave you in such doubt.
Still enjoyed the whole thing and the guy is a genius. Can't wait to see him in April!
Don Giovanni
11-09-2009, 09:41 PM
Like how Stoater?
:hmmm: I doubt he "predicted" anything.
hibsdaft
11-09-2009, 09:47 PM
He predicted the lottery numbers!
no he didn't. he revealed the same six winning lottery numbers 30-60 seconds after they had come out of the lotto machine.
big, big difference!!
---------- Post added at 10:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:46 PM ----------
Why was it embarrassing? :confused:
because his explanation was exactly the sort of wishy washy bull**** that he usually takes the piss out of (eg cold reading etc).
11-09-2009, 10:08 PM
I just mean that his past 'tricks' have been much better and had a solid foundation, not just based on something as unsubstantial as will power.
Usually there's some really complex strategy behind it that all leads to him knowing that his 'predictions' are right but tonights effort just seemed a bit half hearted. I don't know how he did it but its not normally like him to leave you in such doubt.
Still enjoyed the whole thing and the guy is a genius. Can't wait to see him in April!
I think that's how he did it 100%..
Google his theory..
:hmmm: I doubt he "predicted" anything.
So so easy just to discount what you seen.. How did it happen then?
no he didn't. he revealed the same six winning lottery numbers 30-60 seconds after they had come out of the lotto machine.
big, big difference!!
---------- Post added at 10:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:46 PM ----------
because his explanation was exactly the sort of wishy washy bull**** that he usually takes the piss out of (eg cold reading etc).
Honestly pal all your previous posts in here have made you look like a total *we cant name call here so i will just forget it *so I'll no be signing up for your theories on anything anytime soon..
hibsdaft
12-09-2009, 12:07 AM
fair do's -anyone else interested in signing up for my theories? :faf:
12-09-2009, 12:08 AM
I missed show?
Was it the screen thing he done, with the splits?
hibsdaft
12-09-2009, 12:27 AM
I missed show?
Was it the screen thing he done, with the splits?
nah, he said it was (imo) wishy washy psychic/ maths stuff
lots of adverts for the lottery during the commercial breaks though, telling us we can all predict the lottery if we want! i think this might be "the trick" - he will come back next week and show how x-million extra people played the lottery this week because he brainwashed us into believing we could predict the numbers.
so far his explanation goes against his usual mantra, as far as i have ever understood it anyway.
12-09-2009, 12:37 AM
nah, he said it was (imo) wishy washy psychic/ maths stuff
lots of adverts for the lottery during the commercial breaks though, telling us we can all predict the lottery if we want! i think this might be "the trick" - he will come back next week and show how x-million extra people played the lottery this week because he brainwashed us into believing we could predict the numbers.
so far his explanation goes against his usual mantra, as far as i have ever understood it anyway.
Might have to see if i can get it on 4OD or something :agree:
muz1875
12-09-2009, 01:33 AM
Like how Stoater?
Eh? i hope you're being sarcastic. I actually feel like writing to channel 4 and demanding the hour of my life back that i spent watching that pish tonight.
hibsdaft
12-09-2009, 01:39 AM
sorry, just read that back and it doesn't make sense the way i wrote it
there were lots of adverts for the national lottery during the commercial breaks during tonights show.
and during the show and in the build up he kept telling us we can all predict the lottery if we want.
then he "proved" it by showing that him and his 24 helpers had predicted the winning numbers using the power of the mind + maths.
also the whole series is meant to be about the power of suggestion he has said in the trailers.
so i think this might actually be "the trick" - he will come back next week and show how x-million extra people played the lottery this week because he brainwashed them into believing anyone could predict the numbers through the power of suggestion.
my theorys are ***** though apparently !! :agree::wink:
hibsdaft
12-09-2009, 01:53 AM
http://poeljames.googlepages.com/HowDerrenDidIt.html
12-09-2009, 06:56 AM
http://poeljames.googlepages.com/HowDerrenDidIt.html
even if this is so, which it probably is, the knife and plastic cup part was great tv, and there is no denying the part where the group predicted 4 correct numbers and were a tiny bit out on the other 2
hibee_boy
12-09-2009, 08:22 AM
used to quite like DB but ive lost all respect for him now.....utterly pathetic show. An hour of my life ill never get back.
Woody70x2
12-09-2009, 08:47 AM
Was any numbers for tonight's draw given?
Don Giovanni
12-09-2009, 09:02 AM
I think that's how he did it 100%..
Google his theory..
So so easy just to discount what you seen.. How did it happen then?
Honestly pal all your previous posts in here have made you look like a total *we cant name call here so i will just forget it *so I'll no be signing up for your theories on anything anytime soon..
Well I'm no magician but surely a prediction is a guess made before the event takes place? Derren produced the correct lottery numbers after the draw was made.
If he and his crowd of 24 (why 24 BTW - the bigger the number the more average a result he would have acheived?) accurately predicted the correct numbers why are they not splitting the jackpot? What is to stop them all getting together next week and predicting the correct numbers again?
Why not reveal the winning lottery numbers seconds before the draw? It would have made better television to watch the numbers match up as the balls were drawn one by one. The suspense and tension would build up with each correct number until the final ball. [unless of course he didn't actually predict the numbers and it's all some sort of trick]
Even allowing for negative numbers I think the group did very well to predict a number as low as 02...
Derren's talent is usually in manipulating and persuading individuals to act in a certain, predictable way. But I doubt even he can bend the will of an inanimate object such as the lottery machine or the numbered balls.
The explanation using weighted balls may well work but would be illegal and I doubt this is the answer. I reckon a camera trick would still be the most likely explanation - which would be a shame as it's a bit of a cheap stunt if that is the case.
But you are right - it is far easier to pull apart than explain.
12-09-2009, 01:13 PM
The prediction was made at 8:30..
The last time anyone can buy a ticket is 7:30..
He explained why he couldn't show his prediction before the numbers were drawn on BBC as they have the right to show the numbers 1st before anyone else and if his prediction was correct he'd have broke broadcasting rules..
12-09-2009, 01:24 PM
He explained why he couldn't show his prediction before the numbers were drawn on BBC as they have the right to show the numbers 1st before anyone else and if his prediction was correct he'd have broke broadcasting rules..
But he wouldn't have been showing the result, just a prediction.
dHFCe
12-09-2009, 01:28 PM
Thats convenient:hmmm:.
Seriously though if anyone thinks the lottery can be predicted in this nonsensical random way they should ask a mathematician. The short answer would be no.
12-09-2009, 02:39 PM
But he wouldn't have been showing the result, just a prediction.
Exactly. And presumably anyone with a winning ticket would also be breaking the broadcasting rules going by that logic!
12-09-2009, 04:21 PM
So he said. You can't predict something that has a 1 in 13.98 million chance.
He's a confidence trixster, it's his job. He's a very good one, but this was simple camera trickery. Nothing more.
12-09-2009, 05:27 PM
I wonder how many lottery winners there will be tonight! No doubt there will be an increase number of players.
Hopefully all the numbers are < 32 and there's about 12 winners / 4 million. :faf:
AllyF
13-09-2009, 12:57 AM
I wonder how many lottery winners there will be tonight! No doubt there will be an increase number of players.
Hopefully all the numbers are < 32 and there's about 12 winners / 4 million. :faf:
I got one number!
Nae ***** won. Rollover to next week.
13-09-2009, 06:54 AM
I got one number!
Nae ***** won. Rollover to next week.
I'm convinced that they announced 2 winners before MOTD last night.
AllyF
13-09-2009, 10:43 AM
I'm convinced that they announced 2 winners before MOTD last night.
Could well have been. I was at work so had to get my boss to check on his iPhone and he mentioned it was a rollover.
13-09-2009, 09:11 PM
Some of DB's stuff has been amazing but recently his shows/tricks have been a bit poor to be honest.
I remember watching the members of the public he had 'brainwashed' into robbing a security van and thinking WOW....the lottery thing left me cold.
As others have said, revealing the numbers 30 seconds after the draw is certainly not predicting them and as for his hour show telling you how it was done...yawn, poor cover story and nonsense guff in the last 5 minutes about breaking through the lottery security.
Cool, well done Derren you managed to get some ping pong balls with the right numbers in the right order 'appear' on our screens...true it's a good trick but hardly ground breaking or revolutionary.
I just hope this weeks trick is a wee bit more original and a bit closer to his best, which can be right up there with the best. Sadly the lottery 'trick' was far from that.