View Full Version : Match Updates Scotland v. Holland

09-09-2009, 06:52 PM
cannae believe there isnae a thread already.

09-09-2009, 06:52 PM
Scotland having a go, Brown's had two good chances already (listening to the BBC BTW)

09-09-2009, 06:54 PM
Aye, I was wondering, I'm listening so any updates that may enhance appreciated

09-09-2009, 06:56 PM
big surprise

3 Lithuanians booked in their DEFEAT by Faroe Islands, guess who :wink:

Faroe Islands2-1
LithuaniaROlsen 15
Hansen 35
Danilevicius (pen) 23

Bookings:
Holst 35
Borg 38
Hansen 40
Samuelsen 50
Mikkelsen 63

Bookings:
Klimavacius 12
Mikoliunas 61
Ivaskevicius 78

09-09-2009, 06:58 PM
Norway 2 up against Macedonia :boo hoo:

09-09-2009, 07:00 PM
Miller off the crossbar.
Nice move.

09-09-2009, 07:00 PM
Kenny Miller smashes one off the crossbar

09-09-2009, 07:01 PM
Norway 2 up against Macedonia :boo hoo:

Would that matter if Scotland win?

miller:grr:

Shame about the crossbar

vahibbie
BASSA...off the bar.
C'mon SCOTLAND

09-09-2009, 07:02 PM
Ulster are getting beat

Would that matter if Scotland win?

If we win, or draw, no. but we lose and Norway go second.

The dutch are getting closer.:worried: FFS WE JUST HIT THE BAR.:boo hoo:

NI 0 slovakia 1

09-09-2009, 07:03 PM
Ulster are getting beat

Ya beauty

09-09-2009, 07:04 PM
Was Naismith actually offside there? :hmmm:

09-09-2009, 07:06 PM
Was Naismith actually offside there? :hmmm:

Probably about as offside as Holland were a moment or two before

09-09-2009, 07:08 PM
Frustrating no being able to see this, trust the BBC to have that Norwegian / Caldwell disaster and Sky to get this yin

OMG HOW DID HE MISS THAT?!

KENNY MILLER :grr::grr::grr::grr:

Naismith hits post, rebound by Miller saved

OMG HOW DID HE MISS THAT?!

KENNY MILLER :grr::grr::grr::grr:

:grr::grr::grr::grr:

Miller misses a sitter.
Goalies on the ground after the initial save and miller manages to aim towards the only place where the ball wouldn't hit the net.

09-09-2009, 07:09 PM
Miller :grr::grr:

How did Miller miss that, could be vital. :bitchy:

Aaaaarrrggghh

Hope we don't look back and regret that

whats wrong with miller these days FFS:grr:

vahibbie
Miller ya tube....how the fk did ye miss that:grr:

Richard Scott
09-09-2009, 07:10 PM
1-0 England

09-09-2009, 07:10 PM
engerlund 1 croatia 0 (the customary penalty)

09-09-2009, 07:12 PM
Miller just had to score, we wont get many better chances.:bitchy:

09-09-2009, 07:13 PM
David Weir's dive :faf:

09-09-2009, 07:14 PM
engerlund 1 croatia 0 (the customary penalty)

Lampard 8 minutes, but was it a Rooney dive again?

Richard Scott
09-09-2009, 07:15 PM
Lampard 8 minutes, but was it a Rooney dive again?

Stonewall penalty :agree:

09-09-2009, 07:15 PM
French keeper sent off after less than 10 minutes. Penalty - 1-0 Serbia.

Raymond :bye:

Richard Scott
09-09-2009, 07:18 PM
2-0 England

09-09-2009, 07:18 PM
England 2-0

Gerrard

09-09-2009, 07:19 PM
engerlund 2(engerlunds best diver and boxer gerrard) croatia 0

vahibbie
09-09-2009, 07:20 PM
No a bad 1st half.
Both teams could have scored but we missed the easiest chance.
We're nae world beaters but if we played every game with the same energy we'de be in with a shout.

Gary O' on the 2nd half mibbe.

09-09-2009, 07:21 PM
I still don't understand how Kenny Miller missed...

It was on a par with Iwelumo, though not quite as bad!

We're playing well though!

09-09-2009, 07:22 PM
Faroe Islands 2-1 Lithuania R
Olsen 15
Hansen 35
Danilevicius (pen) 23

09-09-2009, 07:22 PM

That result might be crucial for our qualification, assuming we can win

09-09-2009, 07:24 PM
That result might be crucial for our qualification, assuming we can win

Presume we want Serbia to beat France, Slovakia to beat Ulster and what about the Hungary V Portugal game?

Oh, and Kenny Miller to get tae!

09-09-2009, 07:24 PM
Kenny Miller must work really hard in training to be so so sholte eh...

09-09-2009, 07:26 PM
Faroe Islands 2-1 Lithuania R
Olsen 15
Hansen 35
Danilevicius (pen) 23

wakey wakey

http://www.hibs.net/message/showpost.php?p=2167864&postcount=4

vahibbie
09-09-2009, 07:28 PM

He'd never have missed that when he was a Hibby:devil:

If it stays 0-0 he's defo going to be the villian of the piece. Ma Grandson could have scored that.

09-09-2009, 07:28 PM
Presume we want Serbia to beat France, Slovakia to beat Ulster and what about the Hungary V Portugal game?

Oh, and Kenny Miller to get tae!

info on second place rankings, Norn Irn, Bosnia and Sweden are the ones we want to lose most, but we need to win to ensure our best chances to make the play off.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(UEFA)#Ranking_o f_second-placed_teams

09-09-2009, 07:32 PM
Here we go :thumbsup:

09-09-2009, 07:33 PM

Domenech = SALOP !

09-09-2009, 07:34 PM
Domenech = SALOP

1-1 Henry

09-09-2009, 07:36 PM
slovenia 2 poland 0 we really needed a draw there

09-09-2009, 07:37 PM
1-1 Henry

Go on TT:greengrin

09-09-2009, 07:38 PM
info on second place rankings, Norn Irn, Bosnia and Sweden are the ones we want to lose most, but we need to win to ensure our best chances to make the play off.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(UEFA)#Ranking_o f_second-placed_teams

apologies it's Hungary instead of Sweden at the moment

09-09-2009, 07:39 PM
Come on Scotland :panic:

09-09-2009, 07:44 PM
slovenia 2 poland 0 we really needed a draw there

Poland have 12 goals against san marino which won't count. making them 5 points and -1 goals before tonight

Slovenia are 8 points and +1 goals before tonight

09-09-2009, 07:46 PM
Steven Whittaker is playing very well tonight.

09-09-2009, 07:47 PM
Steven Whittaker is playing very well tonight.

:agree: Was just thinking that too.

09-09-2009, 07:48 PM
Time to switch it up now I think.
Not getting any of the ball at the moment, and even if we do get it in their half, Miller just can't hold it long enough for us to get forward in numbers.

EDIT: As I write this he loses an easy ball and almost causes us to concede.

why is it a 1 man attack when we have to get a win? Get Miller off, and O'Conner on, Naismith off and S. Fletcher on, Hartley off and Riordan on :wink:

Kuyt booked for diving

McManus lucky there not to give away a penalty

09-09-2009, 07:49 PM
Every move breaks down when it gets to Miller :bitchy:

Great save by Marshall.

Is that Commons coming on? :bitchy:

09-09-2009, 07:50 PM
Marshall made a great save from Robben.

Commons coming on for Hartley

James Connolly
Get that prick Miller to ******, nearly cost us a goal there by losing possession cheaply; good save by Marshall!

Richard Scott
Anyone have a radio link. The bbc link i'm trying isn't working.

Credit to Marshall - he's having a good night between the sticks.

Kenny Miller is absolutely ******ing terrible. Running is useless if there's nothing at the end of it.

09-09-2009, 07:51 PM
We need a better forward on now, get miller off FFS.:grr:

09-09-2009, 07:52 PM
Anyone have a radio link. The bbc link i'm trying isn't working.

if the BBC isn't working I found this but I've not tried it

http://soccernet-assets.espn.go.com/match?id=233612&league=FIFA.WORLDQ.UEFA&cc=5739

My BBC is working

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/6359533.stm

Richard Scott
if the BBC isn't working I found this but I've not tried it

http://soccernet-assets.espn.go.com/match?id=233612&league=FIFA.WORLDQ.UEFA&cc=5739

My BBC is working

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/6359533.stm

Cheers :thumbsup:

09-09-2009, 07:53 PM
Hartley for Commons....

09-09-2009, 07:55 PM
that ****ing maloney's a greedy ****:grr:

09-09-2009, 07:55 PM
Hartley for Commons....

Hartleys done well, cant understand that one?

09-09-2009, 07:56 PM
Kenny Miller AGAIN :grr:

Straight at the keeper again.
Superb.:thumbsup:

Richard Scott
I'm confused by all this "we need that team to lose and them to draw, as long as we win"

Where do Scotland stand at the present moment?

Miller again :boo hoo:

What kinda corner was that?!

Not happening for Miller tonight, get another forward on instead.

What was that corner all about?

Me neither really - I suppose Commons is considered to be an attacking player, but Hartley was breaking the Dutch midfield up well!

Unlucky there for Miller!

09-09-2009, 07:57 PM
I'm confused by all this "we need that team to lose and them to draw, as long as we win"

keep up

check it after tonights games are over for an update

Hartleys done well, cant understand that one?

Your not expected to understand a drunken yams actions..

Don't worry about it!

who took that corner after the miller miss ?? what a total freakin waste :bitchy:

On the Hampden turf - **** all else matters just now.

09-09-2009, 07:59 PM
who took that corner after the miller miss ?? what a total freakin waste :bitchy:

Commons

09-09-2009, 07:59 PM

:whistle:

09-09-2009, 08:00 PM
Commons

ty :devil: he's rank

Why are we not getting another forward on?
Miller is obviously knackered now, not to mention completely *****.

James Connolly
My foot is about through the tele, every time that knobcheese goes near the ball; torture!!

Commons

that'll be why he came on, to make an erse of a corner

09-09-2009, 08:01 PM
Burley, get miller off and give us another forward. Fletcher or Oconner will do ya ****in trumpet.

09-09-2009, 08:01 PM
Why are we not getting another forward on?
Miller is obviously knackered now, not to mention completely *****.

Naismith looks knackered now too, Burley needs to use his other 2 subs, 15 mins left.

09-09-2009, 08:02 PM

Kris Commons takes the corner kick from the right byline with his left foot and hits an inswinger to the far post, resulting in: out of play

4-4-2.

How adventurous.

2 ***** offside calls by the linesman at this end.

vahibbie
Naismith looks knackered now too, Burley needs to use his other 2 subs, 15 mins left.

Hook baith of them.
Gags and Fletch on :thumbsup:

09-09-2009, 08:03 PM
Why did Whitty not shoot!!!

09-09-2009, 08:03 PM
whitty should have had a go there :boo hoo:

09-09-2009, 08:04 PM
Hook baith of them.
Gags and Fletch on :thumbsup:

Leaving it too late though IMO, get them on now.

09-09-2009, 08:04 PM
Maloney and Naismith have done nowt in the 2nd half..

Maloney has done nowt whatsoever actually..

Remind me what reason other than playing for Rantic how those two merit a game..

09-09-2009, 08:05 PM
I understand Burley being cautious, as 0-0 keeps us 2nd, but at 11 points, we're surely going to be the worst runners up.

Let's go all out fighting, and que ce ra, ce ra.

09-09-2009, 08:05 PM
Erse on the BBC saying Fletch should replace Maloney and O'Conner should partner Miller up front so we have two strikers

Exactly what is Fletcher if he isn't a striker?

09-09-2009, 08:07 PM
Commentator now saying only one sub left for us, did I miss the 2nd one happening?

Garry coming on but its too late.

10 minutes left.

Fresh legs now, please, get both O'Connor and Fletcher on

Garry O for Maloney

GOAL for holland

Campaign over. Thanks Kenny Miller.

**** off
Davie weir, terrible attempt at a pass back...

FFS!!!!!

:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:

AJWisme
F***!:grr:

09-09-2009, 08:08 PM
Typical we were always going to pay for the missed chances. :grr:

vahibbie
09-09-2009, 08:09 PM
Commons...FFS hit the target at least:grr:

Burley is an arse, get the ****in subs on ya tit.

That's what happens when you have a geriatric at the back..

James Connolly
Weir was proved not good enough against Morocco in '98; that says it ******ing all!!:grr:

scott7_0(Prague)
09-09-2009, 08:10 PM
Was that Alan Hutton not tracking back!!!!:grr:

Weir cannot hold all the blame, Hutton not doing his task, which is a simple one......

Hey ho, come on all who play England!!!!

09-09-2009, 08:10 PM
Campaign over. Thanks Kenny Miller.

George Peat, tell us who's to blame now.

09-09-2009, 08:11 PM
Should have been 2

09-09-2009, 08:12 PM
shows over folks.....missed chances have killed us...

09-09-2009, 08:13 PM
close by Garry O

i wish we would get shot o that durty turd-coloured kit that burley has on :grr: WTF has that colour got to do with scotland :grr::grr::grr::jamboak:

Weir embarassed again..

GOC comes close..

Bye bye George, ya jakey hertz welt.. :bye:

09-09-2009, 08:14 PM
Norway go second if the scores stand

09-09-2009, 08:14 PM
George Peat, tell us who's to blame now.

I don't solely blame Miller - as the commentators pointed out, it's not THIS game which has stopped us going to South Africa.

Had Miller taken any of his 4 golden chances, it would have been a different game - the comment was out of frustration more than anything (though I stand by that he's ******ing awful).

09-09-2009, 08:15 PM
Left if far too late putting fresh legs on, shocking management from the drunk.

09-09-2009, 08:15 PM
I don't solely blame Miller - as the commentators pointed out, it's not THIS game which has stopped us going to South Africa.

Had Miller taken any of his 4 golden chances, it would have been a different game - the comment was out of frustration more than anything (though I stand by that he's ******ing awful).

I blame Burley for picking him, and for not using all his subs.

Richard Scott
09-09-2009, 08:16 PM
3-0 England

09-09-2009, 08:17 PM

It's a team game, so no one person is to blame, apart from George Burley

Norway 2-1 Macedonia.....

Please God....

It's a team game, so no one person is to blame, apart from George Burley

Correct.

09-09-2009, 08:18 PM
3-0 England oh goody...let it begin...

09-09-2009, 08:18 PM
Correct.

09-09-2009, 08:20 PM
It's all over :boo hoo:

09-09-2009, 08:20 PM
Naismith shot right at the end, saved

09-09-2009, 08:21 PM
It's all over :boo hoo:

Did you lose a load of buttons too :boo hoo:

09-09-2009, 08:21 PM
burley's 8th competitive game for scotland, 8 TOO MANY :I'm waiti with the 0-4 score against norway being the most embarrassing scottish result for a long long time :boo hoo:

09-09-2009, 08:23 PM
oh goody...let it begin...

tell me about it. Living down here I will get it all day at work and all night in the pub.

Still, I can always encourage them, tell them they are gonna win it then it's all the sweeter when they make a shop front of it.

Again!

fingers crossed........

09-09-2009, 08:23 PM
It's a diddy cup anyway

I need to get out of England for 2 weeks in June next year

09-09-2009, 08:24 PM
4-0 engerlund

James Connolly
09-09-2009, 08:26 PM
Burley will be consoling himself with a large whisky right now; that'll go along with the 8 he had before the game!

09-09-2009, 08:27 PM
I am sure I will take pelters but..........was Scott Brown playing the second half?

All these threads about how he will play for a 'big' club like Man U, Chelsea etc. well tonight proved that he has a long way to go. Big players do big things in big games, thought he had an OK game tonight, but its games like tonight he has to be a stand out.

09-09-2009, 08:27 PM
10 chances created

0 taken

Where are the goals coming from?

09-09-2009, 08:28 PM
**** off
Davie weir, terrible attempt at a pass back...

hopefully grandad is rested for our 2014 WC campaign(AND 2018)

09-09-2009, 08:29 PM
10 chances created

0 taken

Where are the goals coming from?

Miller plays, O'Connor and Fletcher on the bench.

If you don't play your best forwards, how do you expect to score?

09-09-2009, 08:30 PM
Miller plays, O'Connor and Fletcher on the bench.

If you don't play your best forwards, how do you expect to score?

Right, the campaign starts now, Doddie for Scotland Manager :thumbsup:

09-09-2009, 08:33 PM

the table is up to date

09-09-2009, 08:34 PM
4-1, come on Croatia! :greengrin

09-09-2009, 08:35 PM
bugger, 5-1

Richard Scott
09-09-2009, 08:35 PM
5-1 England (not that the majority of you care :greengrin )

09-09-2009, 08:36 PM
5-1 England (not that the majority of you care :greengrin )

I f***ing do.:boo hoo:

09-09-2009, 09:00 PM
I f***ing do.:boo hoo: charlie charlie charlie...sometimes son...sky sports guys says to Ronald de boer "who do you think will win"?....De boer "Brazil, Argentina, and possibly engerland" - fair enough big man...over to you Charlie.."I think it will be an african nation "Cameroon" !!...cue De boers face like "wtf ?".....classic....(you had to be there)

09-09-2009, 09:03 PM
Aye, it's George Burley's fault.

It's Burley's fault that a technically inferior team matched up to one of the best in the world for 90 minutes. It's George Burley's fault I just witnessed Scotland play some of the best football I have seen from then in the last 10 years. I would pay to watch that, and it certainly was no embarrassment.

We passed the ball at times in a way that you would be looking at Holland to. Pride, that's what you can take from tonight. Charlie Nicholas doesn't think we have the quality - but our passing was excellent, our movement was excellent, we were dangerous, and apart from Weir's lapse, we were defensively solid.

What changes should Scotland have made? O'Connor on earlier? Perhaps, although we were making chances right until they scored and he was introduced. Fletcher on? Maloney, Naismith and Miller were always getting into good positions and making chances. Naismith was unlucky have hit the post, it was a great save to stop the rebound. Miller was unlucky with another chance too, and was unfortunate to crack the crossbar. Brown was just an inch away from scoring too. We were unfortunate to have a goal chopped off, which, if it was offside, was marginal. We should have had a penalty as well. We were unfortunate all night long.

George Burley has us playing a brand of football I enjoy watching. Walter Smith didnt do that. Souness wouldn't do that. He's had injuries and suspensions. He's had a badly planned fixture schedule. He's had Boyd, the most prolific Scottish stiker available, turn his back on the team, he's had his captain and back up keeper force his hand. He's had stupid decisions from experienced players - Caldwell and Weir most recently. He's had the people above him stab him in the back. He's had a raging Glaswegian press, who's noses are so far up (thier hun hero) Souness' brass eye, that they started with the "Does Burley have the credentials?" chat before he was even appointed! That same press that could never wait to hammer him and his players.

Fans may well judge Burley to have made some poor decisions - but look at the manager's position. George Burley believes that football should be played in a certain way. Tony Mowbray, our greatest manager for 25 years, shaped his ideology on his time working with Burley. If we stick with George Burley we may well be looking at a team we can take pride in for, not only giving 100% when they're up against it, but take pride in the kind of football they play. It will take time to change.

Either that, or we start the managerial merry go round all over again.

09-09-2009, 09:09 PM

It's Burley's fault that a technically inferior team matched up to one of the best in the world for 90 minutes. It's George Burley's fault I just witnessed Scotland play some of the best football I have seen from then in the last 10 years. I would pay to watch that, and it certainly was no embarrassment.

We passed the ball at times in a way that you would be looking at Holland to. Pride, that's what you can take from tonight. Charlie Nicholas doesn't think we have the quality - but our passing was excellent, our movement was excellent, we were dangerous, and apart from Weir's lapse, we were defensively solid.

What changes should Scotland have made? O'Connor on earlier? Perhaps, although we were making chances right until they scored and he was introduced. Fletcher on? Maloney, Naismith and Miller were always getting into good positions and making chances. Naismith was unlucky have hit the post, it was a great save to stop the rebound. Miller was unlucky with another chance too, and was unfortunate to crack the crossbar. Brown was just an inch away from scoring too. We were unfortunate to have a goal chopped off, which, if it was offside, was marginal. We should have had a penalty as well. We were unfortunate all night long.

George Burley has us playing a brand of football I enjoy watching. Walter Smith didnt do that. Souness wouldn't do that. He's had injuries and suspensions. He's had a badly planned fixture schedule. He's had Boyd, the most prolific Scottish stiker available, turn his back on the team, he's had his captain and back up keeper force his hand. He's had stupid decisions from experienced players - Caldwell and Weir most recently. He's had the people above him stab him in the back. He's had a raging Glaswegian press, who's noses are so far up (thier hun hero) Souness' brass eye, that they started with the "Does Burley have the credentials?" chat before he was even appointed! That same press that could never wait to hammer him and his players.

Fans may well judge Burley to have made some poor decisions - but look at the manager's position. George Burley believes that football should be played in a certain way. Tony Mowbray, our greatest manager for 25 years, shaped his ideology on his time working with Burley. If we stick with George Burley we may well be looking at a team we can take pride in for, not only giving 100% when they're up against it, but take pride in the kind of football they play. It will take time to change.

Excellently put.

10-09-2009, 05:14 AM

Very well said, however he was also the manager in Oslo and the rest that we should have at least attempted to play decent football and didn't.