View Full Version : A wee quiz question

blueisthecolour
06-09-2009, 09:14 PM
Im just about to log off for the night, so i will leave a wee quiz question, please don't google it and spoil the fun for others, if no one gets it clues tomorrow.

Who is the FIRST scottish player to play for 4 different scottish teams in europe?

06-09-2009, 09:20 PM
Im just about to log off for the night, so i will leave a wee quiz question, please don't google it and spoil the fun for others, if no one gets it clues tomorrow.

Who is the FIRST scottish player to play for 4 different scottish teams in europe?

So it hasn't happened yet then. :duck:

06-09-2009, 09:21 PM

Was one of the clubs Hibs.

(You proberbly mean clubs rather than teams, as dozens of Celtc players have played in four different teams in Yoorop.)

06-09-2009, 09:23 PM
I am going for Ian Ferguson.... the first one.

Rangers, Hearts, Dundee and Dundee United.

06-09-2009, 09:24 PM
Ian Ferguson ? The one that played for both Dundee teams and the Yams........he also played for Rangers

06-09-2009, 09:24 PM
So it hasn't happened yet then. :duck:

Sans google, McSwegan???

06-09-2009, 09:25 PM

(You proberbly mean clubs rather than teams, as dozens of Celtc players have played in four different teams in Yoorop.)

Jeez pay attention - he said clues tomorrow :greengrin

06-09-2009, 09:33 PM

Neil McCann

Hearts x 2
Rangers x 1
Falkirk x 1

06-09-2009, 09:36 PM
Jeez pay attention - he said clues tomorrow :greengrin

:tsk tsk: He said clues tomorrow if no one gets the answer. But as a couple of people have already said it's Ian Ferguson, the 'tomorrow' condition is shirley off? :wink:

I wondered if Alan Gordon :not worth might have done it before Ferguson, but wasn't sure if the arabs would have been in Europe then (don't think they were).

06-09-2009, 09:44 PM

Ian Ferguson ? The one that played for both Dundee teams and the Yams........he also played for Rangers

He also played for Motherwell at a time when they were in Europe. I think.

Only say this as I don't believe Dundee played in Europe when he was with them.

suavegav
06-09-2009, 09:47 PM
Darren jackson.

Dundee Utd, Hibernian, Celtic and Hearts.

06-09-2009, 09:50 PM
Pressley.

Huns celtic hearts and dundee utd.

06-09-2009, 09:53 PM

Any of the above correct. C'mon spill the beans. :grr:

06-09-2009, 10:00 PM
Neil McCann

Hearts x 2
Rangers x 1
Falkirk x 1

That's only 3 teams not 4? :confused:

06-09-2009, 10:02 PM

That was his imaginary brother. It was Iain Ferguson who played for all those clubs. :duck:

06-09-2009, 10:11 PM
That's only 3 teams not 4? :confused:

3 clubs not 3 teams. That's why we are called Hibernian Football Club and not Hibernian Football Team. :agree:

Counted Hearts twice as it was 2 different Hearts teams. :wink:

06-09-2009, 10:16 PM
3 clubs not 3 teams. That's why we are called Hibernian Football Club and not Hibernian Football Team. :agree:

Counted Hearts twice as it was 2 different Hearts teams. :wink:

Are we giving the currant bun the brains for meaning teams rather than clubs? I guess we'll find out tomorrow when he gives us the answer.
I'm on tenterhooks and I'll no sleep the night for not knowing. :yawn:

06-09-2009, 10:23 PM
Are we giving the currant bun the brains for meaning teams rather than clubs? I guess we'll find out tomorrow when he gives us the answer.
I'm on tenterhooks and I'll no sleep the night for not knowing. :yawn:

Probably not as it's an hour since he said he was logging off and it would appear that he's still trying to work out how to log off. :greengrin

I'm sure teams and clubs are one of the same and therefore rules out my answer. :agree:

C'mon bluenoseisthecolour. Has anyone answered the question correctly.

06-09-2009, 10:26 PM

One suspects LapsedHibee has cleared up our Pet Huns lack of clarity re: "club" vs "team" debate in the above post.

Darren Jackson is a decent shout - did he get to play in Yoorop with HoMFC??

06-09-2009, 11:06 PM
:tsk tsk: He said clues tomorrow if no one gets the answer. But as a couple of people have already said it's Ian Ferguson, the 'tomorrow' condition is shirley off? :wink:

I wondered if Alan Gordon :not worth might have done it before Ferguson, but wasn't sure if the arabs would have been in Europe then (don't think they were).

Beginning to think you might be on to something here. :cool2:

06-09-2009, 11:08 PM
Pressley.

Huns celtic hearts and dundee utd.

That was the one I thought of, too.

06-09-2009, 11:12 PM
That was the one I thought of, too.

Have a sneaky feeling that it's a bit too recent to be classed as the first player to play for 4 Scottish teams in Europe as I cannot see there being many if any done it after Pressley. Just a thought of course.

crewetollhibee
07-09-2009, 01:16 AM
John Collins maybe ? Hibs Celtic Monaco and Everton (or possibly Fulham ?)

db03
07-09-2009, 05:47 AM
John Collins maybe ? Hibs Celtic Monaco and Everton (or possibly Fulham ?)
He said SCOTTISH :wink:

crewetollhibee
07-09-2009, 06:45 AM
Ta mate. I should stop posting after a nightshift !!:greengrin

Mikeystewart
07-09-2009, 09:36 AM
Presley?

Tazio
07-09-2009, 12:02 PM
Gordon Smith is surely the only scot to play in the European cup for 3 different scottish teams?

I doubt anyone will do that again anytime in the near future.

07-09-2009, 12:07 PM
Gordon Smith is surely the only scot to play in the European cup for 3 different scottish teams?

You should see all the weegies faces when they hear Gordon Smith given as the answer to that particular question. They can't quite believe anyone achieved such a feat not playing for one of them.

07-09-2009, 12:13 PM

:agree: Agree, though Kenny Miller will probably feature in the European Cup this year, giving him appearances during three different stints with Scottish clubs, albeit encompassing two spells at Rangers.

Who knows - cheeky wee move for him to one of the third-place contenders in a season or two, bit of a surge by one of them to split the OF, lucky draw and he could be in the record books alongside the legend that is Gordon Smith :greengrin

Still not quite the same as winning the league with three non-OF teams though.

07-09-2009, 12:30 PM
:agree: Agree, though Kenny Miller will probably feature in the European Cup this year, giving him appearances during three different stints with Scottish clubs, albeit encompassing two spells at Rangers.

Who knows - cheeky wee move for him to one of the third-place contenders in a season or two, bit of a surge by one of them to split the OF, lucky draw and he could be in the record books alongside the legend that is Gordon Smith :greengrin

Still not quite the same as winning the league with three non-OF teams though.

Kenny Miller mentioned in the same post and in the same context as the great Gordon Smith.

Dearie me ..... :rolleyes:

Sandy
07-09-2009, 12:35 PM
Kenny Miller mentioned in the same post and in the same context as the great Gordon Smith.

Dearie me ..... :rolleyes:

Show's how far we have sunk Doddie. Gordon Smith, the greatest of them all :not worth

Tomsk
07-09-2009, 12:50 PM

Yup, Hibs, Hearts and Dundee. And he reached the semi finals with two out of the three.

Guess who the odd one out was? :devil:

07-09-2009, 12:52 PM
Yup, Hibs, Hearts and Dundee. And he reached the semi finals with two out of the three.

Guess who the odd one out was? :devil:

Somethings are impossible even for the greatest players.

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 03:41 PM
Hi folks, ive only managed to log on for a few mins, no one has yet to give the correct anwser, Someone asked if hibs was one of the teams No is the anwser, so there is 1 clue gone.

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 03:42 PM

Yes 4 different clubs sorry for confusion.

07-09-2009, 03:43 PM
Yes 4 different clubs sorry for confusion.

Which ones? :greengrin

07-09-2009, 03:44 PM
Paul Wright? :duck:

07-09-2009, 03:45 PM
Stevie Crawford

Dundee United, Dunfermline, Raith Rovers and Aberdeen?

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 03:54 PM
Stevie Crawford

Dundee United, Dunfermline, Raith Rovers and Aberdeen?
Just logging off now, so thought i would tell you ur wrong:wink:

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 03:55 PM
you tell me:wink:

07-09-2009, 03:56 PM
Just logging off now, so thought i would tell you ur wrong:wink:

I know. :agree:

07-09-2009, 03:57 PM
Craig Brewster?

07-09-2009, 04:10 PM
Craig Brewster?

Good shout.

I would say definitely Hibs in Athens, Dundee Utd and Dunfermlline (probably as they were competing in Europe when he was at the clubs) but don't know about Aberdeen. Quite possibly but maybe someone before him is the answer.

07-09-2009, 04:22 PM
Was it Ooh-Aah Jackson-ah?

I'm guessing he has maybe scored for four different Scottish teams in Europe too.

EDIT - missed the post where you said Hibs weren't one of the teams

07-09-2009, 04:31 PM
Hi folks, ive only managed to log on for a few mins, no one has yet to give the correct anwser, Someone asked if hibs was one of the teams No is the anwser, so there is 1 clue gone.

Aren't you meant to give US a clue? :agree:

Otherwise you could come on here tomorrow and say no it's not Brewster or Jackson so there's numero 2 clue gone.

Come on - Give us clue 1. :grr:

07-09-2009, 04:32 PM
Someone asked if hibs was one of the teams No is the anwser, so there is 1 clue gone.

I would say definitely Hibs in Athens, Dundee Utd and Dunfermlline (probably as they were competing in Europe when he was at the clubs) but don't know about Aberdeen. Quite possibly but maybe someone before him is the answer.

07-09-2009, 04:33 PM

:doh:

07-09-2009, 04:34 PM
Was it Ooh-Aah Jackson-ah?

I'm guessing he has maybe scored for four different Scottish teams in Europe too.

EDIT - missed the post where you said Hibs weren't one of the teams

:doh: Me too. :greengrin

07-09-2009, 04:34 PM

you tell me:wink:

Don't you know either? :confused:

07-09-2009, 04:36 PM
Billy Dodds?

07-09-2009, 04:43 PM
:doh: Me too. :greengrin

I think Alan Gordon might have done it but seeing as he played for Hibs (:rolleyes: :greengrin) that suggests it was someone who preceded him. Deffo before my time :greengrin

07-09-2009, 04:46 PM
I'm going out on a limb and say it will be some who's managed to find their way between Dunfermline, Livi, Raith, Motherwell, Dundee etc in the mid-to-late nineties to the mid noughties. Even someone like Jason Dair would probably have three out of four.

07-09-2009, 04:54 PM
Jackie McNamara? :confused:
Jnr of course.

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 04:58 PM
Aren't you meant to give US a clue? :agree:

Otherwise you could come on here tomorrow and say no it's not Brewster or Jackson so there's numero 2 clue gone.

Come on - Give us clue 1. :grr:
ok Rangers is 1 of the teams.

be back later.

hibbyboy1
07-09-2009, 05:03 PM
mo johnston :agree:

07-09-2009, 05:04 PM
ok Rangers is 1 of the teams.

be back later.

Dinnae care then. :greengrin

07-09-2009, 05:06 PM
Ian Redford ?

07-09-2009, 05:10 PM
Jim bett. :thumbsup:

edit: maybes.

07-09-2009, 05:23 PM
An easy one for blue is the colour-

The first Glasgow ground to host a European tie was?

07-09-2009, 05:39 PM
:hijack: Name 4 players you would find in a greenhouse. Oh at least one of them played for Hibs.

07-09-2009, 05:45 PM
:hijack: Name 4 players you would find in a greenhouse. Oh at least one of them played for Hibs.

Kano

07-09-2009, 05:48 PM

Kano

gardner

07-09-2009, 05:49 PM

Jim Farmer?

Steven Glass?
Paul Kane?
Willie Peat?
Angus Plumb?
Danny Pepper?

07-09-2009, 05:50 PM
CROPley:greengrin

07-09-2009, 05:51 PM
gardner

:agree: Anthony Gardener.

07-09-2009, 05:51 PM
Gordon Smith could have played keepie up in a greenhouse and the glass would have been safe.

07-09-2009, 05:53 PM
Jim Farmer?

Steven Glass?
Paul Kane?
Willie Peat?
Angus Plumb?
Danny Pepper?

The ones I had were

Tim FLOWERS
Stephen GLASS
Steve POTTS
Anthony GARDENER

I guess there are probably loads. Anyway I'm off to a quiz night. Hope the quiz master isnae blueisthecolour. :greengrin

07-09-2009, 05:54 PM
Gordon Smith could have played keepie up in a greenhouse and the glass would have been safe.

Another one could be Dean Windaes. :wink:

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 06:54 PM
mo johnston :agree:

Nope although his name is usally one of the first to be said.

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 06:58 PM
Ian Redford ?
nope.

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 06:59 PM
Jim bett. :thumbsup:

edit: maybes.

nope

07-09-2009, 07:00 PM
Nope although his name is usally one of the first to be said.

Gary Bollan. Dundee U, Rangers, Motherwell and Livi. :thumbsup:

Whaurs ma prize.

07-09-2009, 07:01 PM
nope

Are Gretna or QOS involved.

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 07:03 PM
I think Alan Gordon might have done it but seeing as he played for Hibs (:rolleyes: :greengrin) that suggests it was someone who preceded him. Deffo before my time :greengrin

You must be youngish:wink:

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 07:03 PM
Are Gretna or QOS involved.
No

07-09-2009, 07:04 PM
It's got to be Iain Ferguson......scored a raker v Bayern (or some top German side) at the PBS from memory, definitely played in McLean's Dundee Utd team, perhaps with Rangers in his early career, and then with Motherwell after their cup winning season ?

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 07:07 PM
It's got to be Iain Ferguson......scored a raker v Bayern (or some top German side) at the PBS from memory, definitely played in McLean's Dundee Utd team, perhaps with Rangers in his early career, and then with Motherwell after their cup winning season ?
No mate not Iain Ferguson

07-09-2009, 08:46 PM
Tommy McLean?

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 08:47 PM
Tommy McLean?
No mate

07-09-2009, 08:51 PM

Whaurs ma prize.

What about the above?? :confused:

07-09-2009, 08:53 PM
It's bound to be Nikolas Anelka, or Roy Race. Usually is in these types of questions.

So, out of the two of them, I'll plump for Schmeichel.

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 08:54 PM
It's bound to be Nikolas Anelka, or Roy Race. Usually is in these types of questions.

So, out of the two of them, I'll plump for Schmeichel.

No mate it's not one of the trick questions.

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 08:56 PM

Whaurs ma prize.

Sorry mate didn't see that there, correct although one of the teams is wrong:wink:

07-09-2009, 08:59 PM
Sorry mate didn't see that there, correct although one of the teams is wrong:wink:

St. Johnstone instead of Motherwell?

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 09:00 PM
St. Johnstone instead of Motherwell?
Thats the one mate.:top marks

07-09-2009, 09:06 PM
Thats the one mate.:top marks

Good stuff, full credit for doing one quarter of the work :thumbsup:

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 09:10 PM
I know mate, poor iwasthere1972 no credit given, he should just have said the players name and he would have got full marks:faf:

07-09-2009, 09:45 PM
So what's the prize for getting the right answer?

A tour of Castle Greyskull?

blueisthecolour
07-09-2009, 09:48 PM
So what's the prize for getting the right answer?

A tour of Castle Greyskull?
The next time hibs come to ibrox I will shout him a pint in a pub on the prw:wink:

07-09-2009, 10:15 PM
The next time hibs come to ibrox I will shout him a pint in a pub on the prw:wink:

I know I'm going to regret asking this, but what is the prw?

07-09-2009, 10:21 PM
An easy one for blue is the colour-

I like this idea - a quiz within a quiz :greengrin

If he starts guessing and gets it wrong can we answer 'no mate' each time :wink:

07-09-2009, 10:25 PM
I like this idea - a quiz within a quiz :greengrin

If he starts guessing and gets it wrong can we answer 'no mate' each time :wink:

I think "no hun" has a better ring to it. :cool2:

07-09-2009, 10:38 PM
I think "no hun" has a better ring to it. :cool2:

Hard to argue with that :greengrin

LHWM
07-09-2009, 11:11 PM

It involved Hibs and the crowd was 21,962.

07-09-2009, 11:13 PM
It involved Hibs.

I think most of us on here will know the answer.:greengrin

07-09-2009, 11:15 PM
I think most of us on here will know the answer.:greengrin

Indeed and we'd feel a tad blue if we didn't :greengrin

07-09-2009, 11:18 PM

:thumbsup: I took a wee gamble on Motherwell although I had an inkling that it was St Johnstone. :wink:

07-09-2009, 11:28 PM

Think you'll find it's one fifth. Even less than a quarter. :grr:

08-09-2009, 09:10 AM
Didn't Darren Jackson do it before Gary Bollan?

08-09-2009, 09:18 AM
I know I'm going to regret asking this, but what is the prw?

the name of a road in Glasgow no self respecting Hibee would drink in!!

08-09-2009, 11:55 AM
the name of a road in Glasgow no self respecting Hibee would drink in!!

2 or 3 decent pubs on Paisley Road West well I think that's what my pal meant when he said he used to have a smashing time there.

Hibee-Rocker
08-09-2009, 02:15 PM
ha ha sorry already been answered