View Full Version : Zemmama (and Benji as sub) playing for Morocco

06-09-2009, 04:00 PM
...and they're already losing 1-0 to Togo (and heading out of the World Cup)

http://www.theatlaslions.com/#/news-center/4520608872
http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/africa/teams/team=43872/index.html

06-09-2009, 04:03 PM

Whats the odds he comes back injured? I would have thought Morocco must have a decent amount of players and dont need a guy who has played 20 mins in the last month.

06-09-2009, 04:04 PM

I just hope the wee man disnae come back "injured" - we don't want Zouma turning into another Benji - ie playing the occasional game for us when he feels like it.

:duck:

06-09-2009, 04:05 PM
Whats the odds he comes back injured? I would have thought Morocco must have a decent amount of players and dont need a guy who has played 20 mins in the last month.

Scotland played McManus, who has yet to play for Celtic this season, yesterday.

06-09-2009, 04:08 PM

:top marks And yet while he was playing for his country, we had wee chris boyd in the huff sitting at home, not speaking to anyone. It just goes to show who wants it and who does not.

06-09-2009, 04:08 PM
Benji on the bench.

http://soccernet-assets.espn.go.com/match?id=262925&league=FIFA.WORLDQ.CAF&cc=5739

06-09-2009, 04:09 PM
Adebayor is playing for Togo.

06-09-2009, 04:10 PM

Fair enough McManus is a regular though, just assumed a large country like Morocco would have had more of a squad.

06-09-2009, 04:14 PM
Fair enough McManus is a regular though, just assumed a large country like Morocco would have had more of a squad.

I don't think so, not now anyway. From what I have seen so far (:wink:), Zemmama is one of their better players.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morocco_national_football_team#Most_Recent_Squad

all the goalies play in Morocco
only one experienced defender playing in France (Ouaddou, with Nancy)
midfield and forwards are a bit better, but no real stars apart from Chamakh.

06-09-2009, 04:14 PM
Good game. Morroco playing well. Zouma doing OK.

Technique is miles and miles ahead of Hampden yesterday. It is like watching Brazil from 40 years ago.

06-09-2009, 04:21 PM
Good game. Morroco playing well. Zouma doing OK.

Technique is miles and miles ahead of Hampden yesterday. It is like watching Brazil from 40 years ago.

Is it on TV - or one of these "illegal" channels which I can never get to work?

06-09-2009, 04:22 PM

It is, and its a good quality picture, although the commentary is brutal.

06-09-2009, 04:23 PM
The Togo goal was an absolute bona fide shambles defensively for Morocco.

06-09-2009, 04:38 PM

If you click the link at the top of the page you may find it :wink:

Amit
06-09-2009, 05:06 PM
Benji is just about to come on.. Supersub?

tooley
06-09-2009, 05:12 PM

Benji on for last 15

06-09-2009, 05:21 PM
Being cynical about it, might not be such a bad result... if Morocco finish last in this group they won't qualify for the Africa Cup of Nations either.

06-09-2009, 05:24 PM
1-1 after 93'

#11 scored (Taarabt, of QPR)

Amit
1-1.... 2 mins of injury time to go,,,

tooley

Equaliser in injury time!

06-09-2009, 05:27 PM
finished 1-1

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_%28CAF%29#Group_ A

doesn't help them much for the World Cup, although they would almost have been donald ducked even for the African Cup if they had lost.

06-09-2009, 05:29 PM
1-1 after 93'

#11 scored (Taarabt, of QPR)

...on loan from Spurs:wink:

06-09-2009, 05:36 PM

I just hope the wee man disnae come back "injured" - we don't want Zouma turning into another Benji - ie playing the occasional game for us when he feels like it.

:duck:

He lasted the full game. Could also cynically say that Morocco did Hibs a wee favour there, as he didn't look entirely match sharp last week.

06-09-2009, 05:45 PM
He lasted the full game. Could also cynically say that Morocco did Hibs a wee favour there, as he didn't look entirely match sharp last week.

He is now a fullcurrent international for Morocco. This can only enhance his value when the time comes.

And in the short term, as you so rightly say, he needs games. :agree:

So both our boys played, neither injured, but sadly Morocco not likely to be in South Africa.

06-09-2009, 07:21 PM
...on loan from Spurs:wink:

Class wee player in my books

VegasHibby
06-09-2009, 08:45 PM

A good work out for Zouma worked out in Hibs favour

06-09-2009, 08:47 PM
Class wee player in my books

Aye - though he's looking a bit less wee (http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/3365010/)these days

07-09-2009, 02:59 PM
Im surprised Touil hasnt had more caps...