View Full Version : Match Updates Scotland v Macedonia

05-09-2009, 11:11 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/8230555.stm

Will he ever learn? :bitchy:

05-09-2009, 11:11 AM
He's going with Graeme Alexander in the centre of the park again according to the BBC website.

Was he watching the game in Norway?

He is down as a defender on the Burnley website so I assume that's where he plays for them although I can't say for sure as I've not seen them yet this season. I always thought he was a right back and a pretty average one at that.

Surely Hartley is a better option. :confused:

WTF goes through Burleys head? Time to GTF irrespective of todays result IMO.

At least he's going with Faddy and Fletch in the starting 11.

05-09-2009, 11:12 AM
I actually thought Alexander played well in that role when we had 11 men.

05-09-2009, 11:15 AM
I actually thought Alexander played well in that role when we had 11 men.

Not IMO. HE left the back 4 exposed a few times with bad positioning which is something that Hartley wouldn't do.

The bottom line is that Hartley is proven in that role for club and country but this half wit obviously has an affinity for Alexander so will just shove him in anywhere to the detrament of the team.

05-09-2009, 11:16 AM
Alexander playing the "anchor" role in midfield :rolleyes:

05-09-2009, 11:47 AM
Alexander is gash.. What is wrong with Paul Hartley ??? :grr::grr::grr::grr:

05-09-2009, 11:48 AM
I think Alexander will be good in that role, he is playing well in the EPL in that role :agree:

05-09-2009, 11:53 AM
Ach, role on 1.30 am, Argentina v Brazil :take that:woohoo:

05-09-2009, 12:02 PM
Alexander playing the "anchor" role in midfield :rolleyes:

He's definitely good at playing a role that rhymes with "anchor" though :agree:

hibsdaft
05-09-2009, 12:18 PM
what i don't understand is why the XI is made public 24 hours before the game :confused::confused:

before the Norway game they were even saying on the radio that they knew what substitutions Burley was going to be making later in the game!!

radio rental.

05-09-2009, 12:19 PM
He's going with Graeme Alexander in the centre of the park again according to the BBC website.

Was he watching the game in Norway?

He is down as a defender on the Burnley website so I assume that's where he plays for them although I can't say for sure as I've not seen them yet this season. I always thought he was a right back and a pretty average one at that.

Surely Hartley is a better option. :confused:

WTF goes through Burleys head? Time to GTF irrespective of todays result IMO.

At least he's going with Faddy and Fletch in the starting 11.

He has played that role for Burnley all of last season and was key to them getting promoted. He hasn't got the legs for RB anymore.

Still think Hartley is a better option.

05-09-2009, 12:26 PM
Alexander has been Single Fish every time he has played for Scotland, but he plays in the "best (4-5-1) League in the world" so gets picked. Shouldn't be anywhere near the team.

Littlest Hobo
05-09-2009, 12:38 PM
This game isn't about how good we are at the back, it's all about goals. We need them badly. Looking at that team it's quite evident that we have nobody who'll unlock the door so to speak. It's all going to be about endevour. Good luck to the boyz!:thumbsup:

05-09-2009, 01:59 PM
is alexander really the best option out there for a DM??

05-09-2009, 02:00 PM
Is that the tube from Tynecastle on the PA at Hampden?

05-09-2009, 02:07 PM
Is that the tube from Tynecastle on the PA at Hampden?

:agree: Yep.

05-09-2009, 02:17 PM
McManus & Weir are both looking slower than a week in the jail and sticking far too tight to their men. Both resorting to fouls. Could be quick bookings which would make it a long match for them.

Richard Scott
05-09-2009, 02:19 PM
Scotland defenders can't cope with Goran Pandev

Brando7
05-09-2009, 02:32 PM
I hate listening to the games on the radio :grr:

Stuck at work ffs

They sound all over us???

xyz23jc
05-09-2009, 02:35 PM

Stuck at work ffs

Listen mate! The way this game is going you are better off at work. Believe me!:grr::grr:

Richard Scott
05-09-2009, 02:37 PM

Stuck at work ffs

yep :rolleyes:

Richard Scott
05-09-2009, 02:38 PM
You Can still QUALIFY - dependng on results elsewhere?

05-09-2009, 02:39 PM
Listen mate! The way this game is going you are better off at work. Believe me!:grr::grr:
whitty getting o blessing in disguise...Alexander off for Hartley and it would be tighter still

Brando7
05-09-2009, 02:41 PM

No i dont think so, we need a WIN today...it a must!!!!!!!!!!

05-09-2009, 02:42 PM

Depending on results at Hampden first of all! Not looking good at the moment.

05-09-2009, 02:44 PM
Brown and Miller both look like they're toiling.

05-09-2009, 02:44 PM
Miller looks a goner, get GOC on.

05-09-2009, 02:46 PM
Kenny Miller is a joke of a player his first touch is pathetic, injured or not he is no way in any way shape or form better than our Deeks.

05-09-2009, 02:46 PM
Woeful team selection, woeful tactics, some woeful players and just generally woeful..

Just another perfect example of why I couldn't care less..

05-09-2009, 02:47 PM

It's not kind to take pleasure in private grief.

Truth is the SFA are a buncha total numpties, Burley isn't the man for the job, and Scotland are mince.

If we WERE to qualify (and the world didn't immediately come ot an end in protest) it would only mean that our humiliation at the hands of those who CAN play football would take place on a world stage, with everyone looking on. Better to slip out quietly in while nobody's looking, I always say.

05-09-2009, 02:48 PM
Kenny Miller has had about two touches in 45mins. Wont be missed.:bitchy:

05-09-2009, 02:48 PM
cant afford to have brown injured as he's our best player today

05-09-2009, 02:49 PM

And neither of them any good, I'll bet. :devil:

vahibbie
05-09-2009, 02:50 PM

Both of them poor:bitchy:

We're lucky to still be at 0-0.

05-09-2009, 02:50 PM
Miller looks a goner, get GOC on. last 15 he has been limping....why leave us short...no point in saving subs when we have to win

05-09-2009, 02:51 PM
Gary Caldwell spoke on the radio about how the team had discussed how this may be a chance to improve the goal difference after Norway. Hahahahahaha

I'll crack the jokes.

In 45 minutes we have managed ONE shot that went even remotely near the goal and that was Brown's shot that went just past the post.

The Macedonian goalkeeper hasn't had a single save to make and Macedonia look much more lively than we do.

:bitchy:

crewetollhibee
Class Broony !!!!!!:devil:

05-09-2009, 02:52 PM
Faddy out of the frindly against Holland on Wednesday!

Richard Scott
05-09-2009, 02:53 PM
HT :rolleyes:

Richard Scott
05-09-2009, 02:53 PM

Is that a friendly? :confused::greengrin

xyz23jc
05-09-2009, 02:54 PM
Miller looks a goner, get GOC on.

Good shout! :agree::thumbsup:

Just so's we all know - The Netherlands are 3-0 up on Japan right now.

Broonie, total knobber much?

If that had been the Macedonians the Tarty Army would've threw their "See you Jimmy" hats on th field in disgust!

Burley should sub him at HT

05-09-2009, 02:55 PM
Class Broony !!!!!!:devil:

I gave him stick for his antics on Sunday and even though it may be benefiting us today, he really is a nippy wee so and so. You would never tire of punching him!

05-09-2009, 02:55 PM
Is that a friendly? :confused::greengrin

It will be in about an hours time. :wink:

05-09-2009, 02:57 PM
Only one team going to win this, and they're not wearing blue. Shambolic defense, toothless front line, and a midfield who couldn't service themselves!

Graham Alexander is by far THE worst player I've ever seen in a Scotland shirt - his deliveries are pish, he can't tackle, and evidently can't communicate, after almost gifting them a free run at our goal.

Miller has done nothing, Fletcher (Darren) has been an enigma, McManus isn't match fit and Hutton is lacking pace!

05-09-2009, 02:58 PM
Brown offered to let them kick it back to us. They refused, and wanted it played back to them. Brown thinks - "eh, naw", and quite right.

Get O'Connor on for Miller. This game is far from beyond us.

05-09-2009, 02:58 PM
I gave him stick for his antics on Sunday and even though it may be benefiting us today, he really is a nippy wee so and so. You would never tire of punching him!

Not quite sure how winding up the opposition (who are already playing much better than us) benefits us.

I think he should really stop taking those Stupid Pills.

05-09-2009, 02:59 PM
FIFA need to sort out this - if Scotland had scored there would have been an total rammy......Refs are supposed to stop game, rather than opponents playing it out (as he did) If the ref stops it then what? drop ball yes...but where that happens is v.important (maybe drop ball in centre circle?

05-09-2009, 02:59 PM
Broony is a star for me. Get in tae them fir ****s sake!!!!

05-09-2009, 03:00 PM
Not quite sure how winding up the opposition (who are already playing much better than us) benefits us.

I think he should really stop taking those Stupid Pills.

You're right, it isn't benefiting us. Mcfadden got booked in the aftermath and now misses the Holland game.

05-09-2009, 03:01 PM
Brown offered to let them kick it back to us. They refused, and wanted it played back to them. Brown thinks - "eh, naw", and quite right.

:agree: that is also true (we were pressing and should keep posession)...but ref should make a desicion (backed up by regulation) that does not leave such opportunity for a stramash

05-09-2009, 03:01 PM
I've just seen Richard Gough! :wtf:

Has he started using Ken Barlow's barber?

05-09-2009, 03:03 PM
I've just seen Richard Gough! :wtf:

Has he started using Ken Barlow's barber?

He's had that rediculous doo for a good few years now. It's a shocker!!

You're right, it isn't benefiting us. Mcfadden got booked in the aftermath and now misses the Holland game.

He on the Stupid Pills as well?

Odds of Scotland ending with 11 players on the park must be about 25-1 :rolleyes:

05-09-2009, 03:04 PM
Only one team going to win this, and they're not wearing blue. Shambolic defense, toothless front line, and a midfield who couldn't service themselves!

Graham Alexander is by far THE worst player I've ever seen in a Scotland shirt - his deliveries are pish, he can't tackle, and evidently can't communicate, after almost gifting them a free run at our goal.

Miller has done nothing, Fletcher (Darren) has been an enigma, McManus isn't match fit and Hutton is lacking pace!

Correct, he is absolute pish :agree:

Only been saying it for about 5 years now though :rolleyes:

xyz23jc
05-09-2009, 03:04 PM
[QUOTE=Scott M;2163122]Only one team going to win this, and they're not wearing blue. Shambolic defense, toothless front line, and a midfield who couldn't service themselves! :agree:

Fits in well with the current shower though eh? we have'nt kicked a ball for 45 minutes! Eye bleedingly heartofmidlothianlike!! :grr:

05-09-2009, 03:05 PM
Burley is being found out big time, he had a lucky spell at Tinhutcstle but has done nothing since and his tactics are crap. time to go and fade away quietly.:jamboak:

And no changes at half time !!!!! the man is a clown.

Brando7
no changes ffs

This is like Mixu time 52,000 in the stadium & millions at home can see that in the circumstances it has to be miller & alexander off and GOC and Maloney on :agree:

Macedonia 5/2 in play now. Good odds IMO.

05-09-2009, 03:06 PM
No Subs :grr::grr: Plum

xyz23jc

:agree: Fearb that the Ref is going to sh*** it though and send Broony off!:grr:

If Brown had done that last week, we would all be going mental, too.

Having said that, he is under no obligation to return the ball to Macedonia. Although I do agree with frazerbob, he is a wee nippy sweety and is far too petulant for my liking. I also don't think there was any need for his grinning that he was doing directly after he kicked the ball off their player and then again at half time.

05-09-2009, 03:08 PM
Miller still on FFS :bitchy:

05-09-2009, 03:08 PM
I can see a few tackles flying into Brown this half, could get us a few fouls. :agree:

05-09-2009, 03:10 PM
How poor is Alexander FFS ??

Get him off and get Hartley on ................

05-09-2009, 03:10 PM
Miller still on FFS :bitchy:

Cannae believe it either:grr: He'll probably score now:wink:

vahibbie
05-09-2009, 03:11 PM
If they can't get something together for this half Burley should just resign after the game. The holland match will be meaningless anyway.
A fk'n toothless performance so far:grr::grr:

rossevenil
05-09-2009, 03:11 PM
Its about time FIFA declared that a drop ball is exactly that and got back to the proper contested drop instead of this pussying about nonesense that goes on nowadays!!

Well done Broony,ref stopped it so why should they get the ball back,surely we had as much right to the posession as them?

Oh and aye,Alexander is the biggest piece of crap I have seen in a blue jersey,absolutely rank!

05-09-2009, 03:12 PM
I can see a few tackles flying into Brown this half, could get us a few fouls. :agree:

Good. He plays for Celtic now - the harder they hit him the better. :grr:

05-09-2009, 03:12 PM
Gordon
Hutton Weir McManus Whittaker
Maloney Brown Hartley Fletcher McFadden
O'Connor

Should have been the team to start with. It picked itself:bitchy:

xyz23jc
05-09-2009, 03:13 PM
I also don't think there was any need for his grinning that he was doing directly after he kicked the ball off their player and then again at half time

Every need! Gerintaethum! :thumbsup:

Cannae believe it either:grr: He'll probably score now:wink:

You think?

Gordon
Hutton Weir McManus Whittaker
Maloney Brown Hartley Fletcher McFadden
O'Connor

Should have been the team to start with. It picked itself:bitchy:

You don't have George's professional training, though. :rolleyes:

05-09-2009, 03:14 PM
JEEEEEEEEEEEEZ OHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

:brickwall

What a miss by McFadden.

vahibbie
05-09-2009, 03:15 PM
FFS.....ah could have got that on target:grr::grr:

NaeTechnoHibby
Burley is being found out big time, he had a lucky spell at Tinhutcstle but has done nothing since and his tactics are crap. time to go and fade away quietly.:jamboak:

And no changes at half time !!!!! the man is a clown.

Why is he the fall guy??

I am no Jambo :jamboak: as you well know, but simply we have problems with technique and every other country oan the planet has better technique than us, sadly :bitchy:

McFadden just missed a sitter and Gordon saves :agree:

Story of our lives :boo hoo:

All hail the ex-Jumbo fairy 3 great saves now

05-09-2009, 03:16 PM
JEEEEEEEEEEEEZ OHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

:brickwall

What a miss by McFadden.

Not as bad as the Macedonian miss. What a chance that was!

vahibbie
05-09-2009, 03:16 PM
You don't have George's professional training, though. :rolleyes:

Aye, 16 nips then pick the team:devil:

05-09-2009, 03:19 PM
Scotty Broon scores

Brando7
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLL LLLLLLL:thumbsup:

Go on Broonie 1-0 Scotland :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

NaeTechnoHibby
Two ex-Hibbies combine :thumbsup:

1-0 Scotland

Gaun yersel'!!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Scott Brown of all people! :greengrin

05-09-2009, 03:20 PM
Well worked goal.:thumbsup:

Fletcher to Brown. Made at Easter Road.

JoeTortolanoFanClub
Fletch cross..Brown header...1-0...:thumbsup:

Great goal from the nippy wee so and so. He loved it!

Get in there!! :thumbsup:

vahibbie
Broony:thumbsup:

The dream lives on:wink::devil:

Had to be Brown...

What a craoos by S.Fletch

crewetollhibee
05-09-2009, 03:21 PM
FLETCHER TO BROWN. YEEEEESSSS !!!!!!:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

NaeTechnoHibby
05-09-2009, 03:21 PM
Gaun yersel'!!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Scott Brown of all people! :greengrin

A header too :thumbsup:

Must be the smallest man oan the pitch :greengrin

05-09-2009, 03:22 PM
Credit must go to the manager, great team selection:greengrin:top marks

05-09-2009, 03:23 PM
I just don't believe it. :bitchy:

Right. Now can we take advantage and get the win?

NaeTechnoHibby
05-09-2009, 03:26 PM
This is the time for James McFadden to put his mark oan this game, as he will miss the next one :agree:

And now we have to defend like we did against Denmark a few years ago :agree:

05-09-2009, 03:28 PM
What a miss by Macadinia now

Much better 2nd half from the Scots.

Macedonia missing a few good chances however.

Missed the goal. Was it a good piece of play?

05-09-2009, 03:29 PM
Credit must go to the manager, great team selection:greengrin:top marks

You are a fickle Pickle :greengrin

05-09-2009, 03:31 PM
Fletcher to Brown. Made at Easter Road.

Pat Nevin was just informing his Engerlish audience on 5live about the Hibs connection:agree:

Missed the goal. Was it a good piece of play?

Darren Fletcher played it out to Steven Fletcher on the left who then sent in a cross into the middle of the box and Scott Brown got a glancing header on it and it went in, just inside the far post.

Great work from Faddie, he'll be missed on Wednesday. :agree:

Maloney on for Fletch.

05-09-2009, 03:32 PM
Steven Fletcher Off :grr::grr::grr: you are kidding he has been working the defence all over the place..now we will just invite them on to us

05-09-2009, 03:32 PM
I just don't believe it. :bitchy:

Right. Now can we take advantage and get the win?

As the once and future king of this great nation, I think you should show more enthusiasm for our National team:bitchy::wink:

05-09-2009, 03:35 PM
Steven Fletcher Off :grr::grr::grr: you are kidding he has been working the defence all over the place..now we will just invite them on to us

Well he could never sub the darlings of the tartan army Miller or McFadden could he, :rolleyes::grr::bitchy: total joke, Fletch was playing well.

05-09-2009, 03:37 PM
why are the commentators so pleased bt the sub as we are now sitting deeper than a north sea trawlers nets

05-09-2009, 03:37 PM
Brown off as well. Not sure about that like.

crewetollhibee
05-09-2009, 03:40 PM
Starting to sit back already. If they had another like Pandev we would be in deep doo-doo by now !!

05-09-2009, 03:41 PM
As the once and future king of this great nation, I think you should show more enthusiasm for our National team:bitchy::wink:

Burley and Smithmustscore and Peat are first against the wall when the Doddie revolution comes.

Ask those who know me - this is about as enthusiastic as I get even for Hibs.

There is a theory (to which I adhere) that all human types are represented by the characters in the Winnie-the-Pooh books. I'm an EEYORE. :worried:

xyz23jc
05-09-2009, 03:41 PM
why are the commentators so pleased bt the sub as we are now sitting deeper than a north sea trawlers nets

:LOL::LOL::LOL: I thought it was just me!!:thumbsup: Probably drew the short straw and got hampden instead of Slovenia!! :greengrin

05-09-2009, 03:42 PM
Well he could never sub the darlings of the tartan army Miller or McFadden could he, :rolleyes::grr::bitchy: total joke, Fletch was playing well.

Maybe he's saving Fletcher and Brown for Wednesday?

He should be making sure of these three points first.

05-09-2009, 03:42 PM
Scotland sitting far too deep now.

Brando7
05-09-2009, 03:43 PM
Miller a waste of space!

Brando7
05-09-2009, 03:44 PM
GOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLL :thumbsup:

Faddy

2-0

05-09-2009, 03:45 PM
now for the goal difference, Scotland -4 Macedonia -5

Cracking goal from McFadden. We've all been waiting for a bit of magic from him since Paris. Fantastic piece of play!!

NaeTechnoHibby
Miller :boo hoo:

Just what I said James McFadden :thumbsup:

GOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLL :thumbsup:

Faddy

2-0

Phew :thumbsup:

Yeeessss brilliant by Faddie 2-0 Scotland :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

vahibbie
Faddy:thumbsup:

Bring on the Dutch:wink:

Fantastic goal!:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

05-09-2009, 03:48 PM
Now set up for our role as the OH so near glorious failures :duck:

05-09-2009, 03:49 PM
Faddy:thumbsup:

Bring on the Dutch:wink:

Huge loss that McFadden will miss this game. :boo hoo:

05-09-2009, 03:49 PM
Is this Scotland that we're watching!?

The second half performance has been excellent and we really should be winning by a lot more than 2-0.

Just a shame that it's a couple of games too late. :boo hoo:

vahibbie
05-09-2009, 03:50 PM

C'mon....you should be used to it by now:greengrin

Has to be said we are much better this half.

05-09-2009, 03:52 PM
Better. :agree:

xyz23jc
05-09-2009, 03:52 PM
C'mon....you should be used to it by now:greengrin

Has to be said we are much better this half.

05-09-2009, 03:53 PM

Very difficult to work out the second places, but Ireland are effectively on 7 points and +1 goals as an example

05-09-2009, 03:57 PM
Very difficult to work out the second places, but Ireland are effectively on 7 points and +1 goals as an example

Looks like Northern Ireland are also effectively on 7 points and -1 goals.

If I'm right, as it stands we make the play-offs if we don't lose on wednesday.

05-09-2009, 04:04 PM

N.Ireland still have three games to play.

Even if Scotland win on Wednesday nothing will be sorted until October when the rest of the groups are finished.

05-09-2009, 04:05 PM
MUCH better 2nd half performance, great goals too :agree:

Always said Burley was the man for the job - tactical genius :thumbsup::thumbsup:

mayo hibee
05-09-2009, 04:06 PM

No, a draw on Wednesday could mean Scotland only finish 3rd in the group behind Norway. Win or bust in all liklihood.

NaeTechnoHibby
05-09-2009, 04:07 PM

We win :thumbsup: That's all that matters :agree:

I would rather have George Burley in charge than Wallet Smith or "I love being Scotland manager or I will stay as long assyou want" erseholes , its the pinicale (sp) of a decent career and George Burley is a good manager :agree:

He gave up a decent job tae take this job, there wre few contenders :bitchy:

I like him :agree:

05-09-2009, 04:08 PM
N.Ireland still have three games to play.

Even if Scotland win on Wednesday nothing will be sorted until October when the rest of the groups are finished.

:agree: Away to Poland and Czeck Republic and home to Slovakia. I did say 'as it stands' and it is difficult to calculate :greengrin

05-09-2009, 04:13 PM
:agree: Away to Poland and Czeck Republic and home to Slovakia. I did say 'as it stands' and it is difficult to calculate :greengrin

It's really difficult to keep on top of it as it changes all the time. The wikipedia page has the qualifying updated game by game, it will be all change again after tonights games.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification

It'll give you a sair heid trying to work it all out. :greengrin

05-09-2009, 04:14 PM
No, a draw on Wednesday could mean Scotland only finish 3rd in the group behind Norway. Win or bust in all liklihood.

We could lose on Wednesday and still finish 2nd depending on Norways last two games...they play Iceland tonight in Rejkavicantspell...

05-09-2009, 04:15 PM
It's really difficult to keep on top of it as it changes all the time. The wikipedia page has the qualifying updated game by game, it will be all change again after tonights games.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification

It'll give you a sair heid trying to work it all out. :greengrin

you cant get better than the offishal FIFA site; updated superfast.
http://www.fifa.com/

Rasta_Hibs
05-09-2009, 04:30 PM
you cant get better than the offishal FIFA site; updated superfast.
http://www.fifa.com/

I like your style! :top marks

05-09-2009, 04:31 PM
As things stand right at this very minute it's;

Russia-12 points from 5 matches
France-10 points from 5 matches
Scotland-10 points from 7 matches
Bosnia-9 points from 5 matches
Croatia-8 points from 5 matches
Hungary-7 points from 4 matches
Switzerland-7 points from 4 matches
Republic of Ireland-7 points from 5 matches
Northern Ireland-7 points from 5 matches

05-09-2009, 04:34 PM
Surely unless the tables discount the results against the bottom team in the group(who might not yet be known)it's all pretty meaningless.

05-09-2009, 04:38 PM
Surely unless the tables discount the results against the bottom team in the group(who might not yet be known)it's all pretty meaningless.

The list from FH above does discount the results against the bottom teams. :agree:

05-09-2009, 05:01 PM

Obviously the bottom teams could change (which would change the whole table completely) but the table is correct as of now.

I'll post it again in a few hours after all of today's matches have been completed.

One thing's for sure, I think we really need to win again on Wednesday to have any realistic chance of making the play offs.

05-09-2009, 05:03 PM
So, we're really hoping both Northern and the Republic of Ireland get horsed in their next few games then?

Too many possible outcomes to be assessing just now!

05-09-2009, 05:07 PM
So, we're really hoping both Northern and the Republic of Ireland get horsed in their next few games then?

We'll have to cheer on England on Wednesday as well as we need Croatia to drop points. :boo hoo:

05-09-2009, 05:09 PM
if we do win on Wednesday then chances are it'll be enough to make the play-offs. A draw or worse and chances are it's :bye:

05-09-2009, 05:10 PM
We'll have to cheer on England on Wednesday as well as we need Croatia to drop points. :boo hoo:

F*** that!! :bitchy:

05-09-2009, 05:12 PM

Not quite. If N.Ireland lose tonight, Poland will then take over 2nd place and they have an extra game to play. Though if Slovenia beat Poland on Wednesday THEY will take 2nd place in the group, they have one less game to play than Poland but still have to play San Marino which is irrelevant when finishing 2nd.. .:sairhead:

NaeTechnoHibby
05-09-2009, 05:27 PM
Let's beat Holland again :thumbsup:

We can do it, we're worth it :thumbsup:

bringbackjoeT!!
05-09-2009, 05:44 PM
Im sick of all the anti-burley stuff. I agree with Martin O'Neill when he says too many people believe they know far more than the manager from sitting at home playing Championship Manager- he is managing an average (at best) bunch of players and we are sitting 2nd top of a group with Holland in, ahead of Norway. I would far sooner have Burley than other potential candidates like Souness, Strachan ect. If he listened to everyone on here he would have haulled McFadden off and look what happened. He had the balls to kick Ferguson and McGregor and Boyd out despite the lack of SFA backing, he may not be the perfect manager but why cant we just get behind him and the players instead of the horribly cynical, negative Scottish attitude we seem to take pride in our team.

05-09-2009, 07:32 PM
And I have to say I was there, and thought that Graham Alexander was excellent, especially in the first half. Cleared up a lot of loose balls, made the simple pass out of defence, in other words did his job.

Opinions and a-holes, eh? :wink: