View Full Version : Yams Are There any other teams as deluded as the Jambos?

Horse
04-09-2009, 12:49 PM
I was wondering whether there are any other teams on the planet who have such an over-inflated opinion of their own status?

The "believe" era where many of them genuinely believed that they were not only destined for domestic domination but were also going to be a major European force was ridiculous, I mean for a team who average similar crowds to Hibs, Aberdeen and less than most English championship sides it was just delusion to the extreme. I admit, for the first few games that season they did look like they may have possibly challenged for the league but the hysteria surrounding it was unreal. I could imagine that even if we were 6 points clear at the top of the league with 3 games to go we'd all still be too paranoid to temp fate by presuming we wouldn't still blow it! I also remember the '86 era and the SMG "investment" which was supposed to confirm Hearts status as "a big team".

Even at before this season started many Jambos were proclaiming that 3rd place was a formality and they would hope that they'd be challenging the old firm again when anyone who knows anything about football realised that Hearts had a pretty crap squad which had been severely weakened by the departure of their best players. If they finish 3rd again it would be a miracle.

What makes them think that even with a crap team they are still miles bigger and better than anyone else of their stature?

I know that Newcastle fans have a reputation for thinking they are a massive club but to be fair they do have a genuinely big support. Are their any other teams who have such a deluded opinion of themselves as our unfortunate neighbours?

Horse
04-09-2009, 12:54 PM
Just to add to that, is there any other set of fans who would bury their heads so firmly in the sand that they'd blindly defend an owner who has removed any sense of dignity and identity from their club and slowly but surely run them into the ground (allegedly)?

They seem desperate not to admit that Romanov is a crook because it may inevitably lead to them having to admit to themselves that they're just a wee team like the rest of us!

Littlest Hobo
04-09-2009, 01:12 PM
Chelsea, without a shadow of a doubt the most up their own arse club after the Jambos.:rolleyes::bye:

LamontHFC©
04-09-2009, 01:16 PM
Chelsea, without a shadow of a doubt the most up their own arse club after the Jambos.:rolleyes::bye:

At least they've won the league, and various different trophies, in recent years, to back up their claims.

The Jambos on the other hand. . .

davemcbain
04-09-2009, 01:18 PM

Chelsea have more chance of buying a decent striker in the next transfer window though!

04-09-2009, 01:24 PM
Chelsea have more chance of buying a decent striker in the next transfer window though!

cwilliamson85
04-09-2009, 01:27 PM
I feel Newcastle is a bit like Hearts.

When Ashley took over they thought the messiah had arrived now they have all saw sense and want him out.

Newcastle = Big club but nothing to back it up!

04-09-2009, 01:33 PM
Even if the paranoid schizophrenic wing of Carstairs were to form a club they STILL would be miles behind HoMFC in the delusional stakes.

Although I have noticed the tide beginning to turn somewhat in their views on The Great Dictator. You only have to look back at that pathetic pantomime of a conference they had when Vlad was hoping to take them over, when the Pieman got booed and Romanov entered the arena to cheers and handshakes to see the full extent of how gullible and delusional that lot really are

Long after Vlad has pulled the plug on the circus, I'm sure we'll still have a choice few walking around like the prisoners in Midnight Express chanting "I believe." :faf:

04-09-2009, 01:41 PM
Difference with Newcastle is, the fans have basically driven him out of the club to the extent that he's desperate to sell.

Likewise, fan-power rid the club of Dennis Wise as well.

At Hearts though, they'll still champion Romanov as their hero. I suspect if your average Jambo walked into his house and found Romanov pumping their boyfriend they'd simply tuck him in and go downstairs to prepare him a post-coital coffee, such is their blind faith and admiration for that barmy conman.

Hopefully Peevemor will be along soon where his signature gives my full (and reasoned :greengrin) thoughts on the matter.

JoeT
04-09-2009, 01:44 PM
I think we'll split the old firm this year - make the champions league group stages and get a couple of world cup starts in after South Africa.

Win the league within 3 years........

04-09-2009, 01:45 PM

I know quite a few deluded sheep who still think they are going to relive their glory days. :blah:

04-09-2009, 01:46 PM
I think we'll split the old firm this year - make the champions league group stages and get a couple of world cup starts in after South Africa.

Win the league within 3 years........

May as well, we've already enjoyed the services of Jim Duffy so why not mirror them in other ways.

Laughed my t1ts off today at the FACT that Hearts do not actually have a scouting network. Not one scout in their set-up. Not. Even. One.

Vlad simply conducts his networking and official transfer business through a select number of agents that he can trust.

That's working out well for them.

04-09-2009, 01:53 PM
They are total mentalists.

How they can lose nearly half of the team that helped them to 3rd last yr and replace them with diddy players from the Austrian 5th division, Spanish 3rd division etc and they think they are going to improve on last season is beyond me

04-09-2009, 02:12 PM
No

http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com/wiki/Hearts

04-09-2009, 02:13 PM
Newcastle and Liverpool spring to mind as fairly deluded in recent years, but nobody really holds a candle to the Believer element of the Hearts support.

copycat
04-09-2009, 02:17 PM

When Ashley took over they thought the messiah had arrived now they have all saw sense and want him out.

utter nonsense!!!

when do Newcastle fans make statement similar the yams about winning things, they havent won anythinG since the 60's.

it's clear to everyman and his dog that Ashley wasnt the man to take the club forward and quite rightly they wanted him out.

Ill ask you a question, if Ashley was any good would they have been relegated and therefor do you think the fans are correct to be critical of the way he is running the club?

Newcastle are far closer to being like Hibs than Hearts

04-09-2009, 02:26 PM
We can all talk about how deluded they are for thinking they can challenge for 3rd...

But could we really be surprised if they find some jammy way of doing it?

They are 30million in debt, they have an owner who just doesnt care.... they have gone through X amount of managers in the last 5 years. They havent paid wages on time on more than 1 occation. They have quite a number of legal actions going against them. Their owner has a tax dodging record and they replace quality players with some random diddys from Lithuania.

Yet, they just won't die! :grr:

They scrape so many 1 goal wins... and the goal usually turns out to be a complete freak show. :grr:

If it was any other club in the world, they would be long gone by now.

Hearts are the flook of flooks! And i'm not going to count my chickens just yet!

I'm done ranting. :devil:

04-09-2009, 02:28 PM
Absolutely not

As deluded as delusions get :agree:

04-09-2009, 02:32 PM
We can all talk about how deluded they are for thinking they can challenge for 3rd...

But could we really be surprised if they find some jammy way of doing it?

They are 30million in debt, they have an owner who just doesnt care.... they have gone through X amount of managers in the last 5 years. They havent paid wages on time on more than 1 occation. They have quite a number of legal actions going against them. Their owner has a tax dodging record and they replace quality players with some random diddys from Lithuania.

Yet, they just won't die! :grr:

They scrape so many 1 goal wins... and the goal usually turns out to be a complete freak show. :grr:If it was any other club in the world, they would be long gone by now.

Hearts are the flook of flooks! And i'm not going to count my chickens just yet!

I'm done ranting. :devil:

Yes that happened last season but I cant see it happening this

Last season they would have got a point against the Huns and probably taken all three against St Johnstone

Not gonna happen this season IMHO :agree:

Crazyhorse
04-09-2009, 02:38 PM
utter nonsense!!!

when do Newcastle fans make statement similar the yams about winning things, they havent won anythinG since the 60's.

it's clear to everyman and his dog that Ashley wasnt the man to take the club forward and quite rightly they wanted him out.

Ill ask you a question, if Ashley was any good would they have been relegated and therefor do you think the fans are correct to be critical of the way he is running the club?

I agree as a long suffering toon supporter since the 70's who moved to Edinburgh in the early 90's what attracted me to Hibs was the fact that it was a club and supporters that I could identify with. I know that's purely subjective. Here's a quick quiz question. Chic Charnley was sent off at my first game at Easter Rd. Does anyone remember it?

04-09-2009, 03:59 PM
Even if the paranoid schizophrenic wing of Carstairs were to form a club they STILL would be miles behind HoMFC in the delusional stakes.

Although I have noticed the tide beginning to turn somewhat in their views on The Great Dictator. You only have to look back at that pathetic pantomime of a conference they had when Vlad was hoping to take them over, when the Pieman got booed and Romanov entered the arena to cheers and handshakes to see the full extent of how gullible and delusional that lot really are

Long after Vlad has pulled the plug on the circus, I'm sure we'll still have a choice few walking around like the prisoners in Midnight Express chanting "I believe." :faf:

Has anyone got a photo of those two fuds Callum and Wullie sitting with the Russian hats on when Vlad walked in. (This has become something of a holy grail on this board, but I feel one day someone will read one of these threads and have a copy of it).

In answer to the OP's question, I can think of a few teams that delude themselves, usually one of the one season wonders from the Premiership like Swindon, Barnsley etc. Their fans have a taste of the big time, and start to make outrageous demands of their club.

I also feel Newcastle need to take a hard look at themselves, for all their swagger and larging it, they have won squat for 40 years, making them a much smaller club than the likes of Derby, who - with a similair fanatical support, at least manage to keep their dignity and not make boasts they can't back up.

In Scotland, Raith Rovers spring to mind as a club that lost the plot for a while. Their amazing European adventure, had a lot of their supporters beleiving the club's status was bigger than it actually was.

They seem to be much more grounded these days, and it strikes me that what usually follows fans being deluded is an almighty crash. Rovers ended up in Division Three, and I can only hope for that to happen to the biggest braggarts of them all, our six fingered cousins in the West of the city.

04-09-2009, 04:02 PM
I agree as a long suffering toon supporter since the 70's who moved to Edinburgh in the early 90's what attracted me to Hibs was the fact that it was a club and supporters that I could identify with. I know that's purely subjective. Here's a quick quiz question. Chic Charnley was sent off at my first game at Easter Rd. Does anyone remember it?

If you can remember it, you weren't actually there.

Oh, sorry I thought you said a "trick" quiz question.:greengrin

Crazyhorse
04-09-2009, 04:16 PM
If you can remember it, you weren't actually there.

Oh, sorry I thought you said a "trick" quiz question.:greengrin

It is a sort of trick question.

04-09-2009, 04:32 PM
Has anyone got a photo of those two fuds Callum and Wullie sitting with the Russian hats on when Vlad walked in. (This has become something of a holy grail on this board, but I feel one day someone will read one of these threads and have a copy of it).

Would love to see footage as well FR - couldn't find anything on YouTube. Was proper panto and it was clear as day those mugs were going to be had. Vlad certainly picked the right club to deceive with his new clothes - their fans couldnae spot a corrupt Lithuanian conman if he came up the Forth in a sub and bought their club...

gringojoe
04-09-2009, 04:36 PM
They won WWI on their own don't you know.

04-09-2009, 04:36 PM
Would love to see footage as well FR - couldn't find anything on YouTube. Was proper panto and it was clear as day those mugs were going to be had. Vlad certainly picked the right club to deceive with his new clothes - their fans couldnae spot a corrupt Lithuanian conman if he came up the Forth in a sub and bought their club...

How could Vlad fail? Anyone else would have smelt a rat the minute he mentioned winning the CL within 5 years, but they are so far up their own backsides, they thought it was a perfectly reasonable suggestion to make.

Vlad is a sort of modern day Cortez, and Tynecastle is Macchu Pichau, it was foretold that a great man would come to deliver them, and they went along with everything he said. Of course all Cortez did was stitch them up like kippers. Vlad isn't quite as subtle.

Just in case anyone is new to the quest, can I also point out these were the same two fuds (Callum and Wullie, not Cortez and Montezuma) who were photographed kicking Russian hats when Rix was appointed.

He came dancing cross the water
With his submarine and lies
And their waited Callum and Wullie
With their pints and their pies

And they chanted many welcomes
And the fans belief was strong
And they couldn't figure out
He was only stringing them along

(Neil Young Leith Team)

04-09-2009, 05:54 PM
Haha! Cortez the Killer! Nice one!
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

And the mob all gathered round him
To hear of Euro cups and stands
And he wore their scarf around his neck
And tricked the poor deluded Yams.

But his promises were useless
And the bills were seldom paid
And when they saw their forward line
"I believe" began to fade.

xyz23jc
05-09-2009, 07:40 AM
I know quite a few deluded sheep who still think they are going to relive their glory days. :blah:

:agree: Totally agree with you on that one! :thumbsup:

05-09-2009, 08:06 AM

05-09-2009, 08:11 AM
utter nonsense!!!

Good point.

I think a comparison between the two is pretty rubbish considering Hearts have had some success. It's the aftermatch which is going to hurt them for years to come.

05-09-2009, 08:15 AM
Does anyone read the 'World Football' section in the Sunday Mail with all the crazy football stories. Do you think in other countries they have stories about Hearts? :faf:

05-09-2009, 09:04 AM
Does anyone read the 'World Football' section in the Sunday Mail with all the crazy football stories. Do you think in other countries they have stories about Hearts? :faf:

I certainly beleive that Mickey Mouse has a HOMOFC watch.

05-09-2009, 10:00 AM
May as well, we've already enjoyed the services of Jim Duffy so why not mirror them in other ways.

Laughed my t1ts off today at the FACT that Hearts do not actually have a scouting network. Not one scout in their set-up. Not. Even. One.

Vlad simply conducts his networking and official transfer business through a select number of agents that he can trust.

That's working out well for them.

A regular at my work is a youth scout for Hearts, therefore your FACT is actually a fallacy:agree:

05-09-2009, 10:03 AM

i have also been searching for this many years, it appears the picture has been airbrushed from the anals (deliberate spelling mistake) of hearts history.

05-09-2009, 10:08 AM
i have also been searching for this many years, it appears the picture has been airbrushed from the anals (deliberate spelling mistake) of hearts history.

Maybe someone could do an artist's impression? Any porno shop has a large selection of things that could be used as models, such as.....[this is a family site - admin.]

05-09-2009, 10:10 AM
Maybe someone could do an artist's impression? Any porno shop has a large selection of things that could be used as models, such as.....[this is a family site - admin.]

not quite as good but here's a couple of phannies in russian hats

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/33/103525916_06b97cf57f.jpg

deek
05-09-2009, 10:11 AM
A regular at my work is a youth scout for Hearts, therefore your FACT is actually a fallacy:agree:

Was he appointed by Rix??????:duck:

05-09-2009, 10:16 AM
no, he was there before Romanov

05-09-2009, 10:17 AM

We'll just have to keep beavering away till we find the real thing.

05-09-2009, 10:22 AM

Leave my phallus out of it.....

I'm only going by what Csaba said, although it may be the senior set-up he was referring to. Anyways, stop spoiling my fun, AH :wink:

05-09-2009, 11:26 AM

I was so looking forward to a literal picture of that but knew I'd be disappointed given the nature of the board (good thing I might add). :greengrin

05-09-2009, 11:31 AM
Could you add the celtc fans to this debate, given their adamant claims of being the best fans in the world, biggst club in the world, blah blah blah.
Also the ever increasing number of fans in seville. Its a wonder that the earhs rotational axis wasnt affected by the mass migration of human beings, tho I suppose the 400,000,000 yams would have kept the planet balanced.

05-09-2009, 12:01 PM
I know 3 Yams to speak to, 2 of them have already said, in complete seriousness, that they think they'll finish 3rd this season.

Both of them have the same 'deluded' unreasoned way of thinking, both think they'll get enough one nils this season to get third, conveniently ignoring the fact that they sold the players who helped them achieve this last season.

But they're Jmabo's - slightly stupid unaware folk, who end up seeming a wee bit well, arrogant....

Horse
05-09-2009, 02:51 PM
Could you add the celtc fans to this debate, given their adamant claims of being the best fans in the world, biggst club in the world, blah blah blah.
Also the ever increasing number of fans in seville. Its a wonder that the earhs rotational axis wasnt affected by the mass migration of human beings, tho I suppose the 400,000,000 yams would have kept the planet balanced.

I suppose Celtic are the obvious ones! I was at Parkhead in the early 90's when they were relatively crap and the crowd was around 12500 with a couple of thousand hibby's there. That would make approx 10000 of the "worlds bestest supporters" in attendance. A few years later with a wee sniff of Fergus McCann sponsored glory and they suddenly had 50000 season ticket holders who all claim to have been there through all the hard times! They also claimed they saved Celtic, how? By deserting there team in droves? I think you'll find that Fergus McCann saved Celtic and it wasn't because he loved the club it was because he saw a tidy profit to be made from Gloryhunters and Bigots.

Celtic fans are a pathetic bunch of Gloryhunters/bigots and as much as the Jambos are deluded at least most of them follow their local team.

magpie1892
05-09-2009, 03:17 PM

Yeah, nothing at all to back it up. Laughable crowd of just 44,000 midweek in the Championship against Sheff Weds ten days ago.

05-09-2009, 03:33 PM
Yeah, nothing at all to back it up. Laughable crowd of just 44,000 midweek in the Championship against Sheff Weds ten days ago.

Even funnier, they haven't won a trophy in 40 years. Massive club right enough.

05-09-2009, 03:36 PM

You're right there.. I said it for ages and got shot down.. Nothing more than a laughing stock...

Also , not so much a club but the England National Team.. There fans and especially press live in cloud cuckoo land.....

magpie1892
05-09-2009, 03:39 PM

Everyone knows Newcastle is a massive club, that's a given. But the fans have no illusions about having a 'divine right' to win anything. Which was the point of the thread, I think.

Was at a match at Easter Road in a midweek fixture against St Johnstone in the early 90's - I was one of 3,833 souls who bothered to come out...

05-09-2009, 03:41 PM
Everyone knows Newcastle is a massive club, that's a given. But the fans have no illusions about having a 'divine right' to win anything. Which was the point of the thread, I think.

Was at a match at Easter Road in a midweek fixture against St Johnstone in the early 90's - I was one of 3,833 souls who bothered to come out...

Yeah they have a massive, loyal fan base. I often think that works against them tbh. Doesn't matter how low they sink, they will always turn out.

05-09-2009, 03:42 PM

They have a massive support.. That doesn't make them a massive club....

magpie1892
05-09-2009, 03:43 PM
Yeah they have a massive, loyal fan base. I often think that works against them tbh. Doesn't matter how low they sink, they will always turn out.

Tell me about it. Ironically, my mates in the North East used to tease me about having Hibs as my 'other' team (live in Edinburgh, season ticket for SJP for approaching 20 years) until I pointed out that I had actually seen Hibs win something...

05-09-2009, 03:44 PM

Would argue it does. When Man U hadn't won a title in 25 years they were still a massive club.

magpie1892
05-09-2009, 03:45 PM

I disagree, but we'll agree to differ.

magpie1892
05-09-2009, 03:45 PM
Would argue it does. When Man U hadn't won a title in 25 years they were still a massive club.

Nicely put.

05-09-2009, 03:47 PM

Difference is Man Utd had the history behind them. Despite the 25 year drought, they'd still won the European Cup and because of the Busby Babes etc were a world-renowned football club with a massive reputation.

05-09-2009, 03:48 PM

Nicely put.

Personally, I think a support like they have, and the fanatacism make them big. I also think Derby and Wolves are massive clubs on those terms.

Man U maybe didn't win the title, but they did win FA Cups and a Cup Winners Cup in between.

magpie1892
05-09-2009, 03:49 PM
Difference is Man Utd had the history behind them. Despite the 25 year drought, they'd still won the European Cup and because of the Busby Babes etc were a world-renowned football club with a massive reputation.

Newcastle's history was none too shabby when Man Utd started their league title drought...

05-09-2009, 03:52 PM
Newcastle's history was none too shabby when Man Utd started their league title drought...

European Cups?:dunno:

I've nothing against Newcastle, btw - I was just making the point that Utd's history was the reason they were a massive club despite not winning the league for so long.

magpie1892
05-09-2009, 03:55 PM
European Cups?:dunno:

I've nothing against Newcastle, btw - I was just making the point that Utd's history was the reason they were a massive club despite not winning the league for so long.

Fairs Cup (UEFA/Europa League) in 1969. Our last trophy...

No offence taken, I assure you! You should try supporting Newcastle and Hibs - a life sentence if ever there was one.

Crazyhorse
05-09-2009, 04:50 PM
Fairs Cup (UEFA/Europa League) in 1969. Our last trophy...

No offence taken, I assure you! You should try supporting Newcastle and Hibs - a life sentence if ever there was one.

I do. And my kids have also decided on these teams. Going to hampden to see hibs win a trophy definately helped though. It was my youngest one's first game. I think he expected it to be like that every year!

05-09-2009, 05:18 PM
Has anyone got a photo of those two fuds Callum and Wullie sitting with the Russian hats on when Vlad walked in.

not quite what your looking for but, a yam fud kicking a russian hat

05-09-2009, 05:35 PM

Good work mate! :thumbsup:
We're getting there...

05-09-2009, 05:52 PM

i scanned that very picture from a guy at works daily mail, he must have throught i was a right fruitloop when i asked for that specific page :greengrin

05-09-2009, 06:00 PM

That is our man, however in true Da Vinci code style, we need the earlier picture to solve the conundrum. What bus goes to Rosslyn Chapel?