View Full Version : Greggs Moritz Volz

04-09-2009, 09:09 AM
Heard a rumour from someone who has had some good info in the past but not always correct. I dont know there source but its apparently within the club so dont asky :duck:

any way hibs are meant to be looking at this guy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moritz_Volz

04-09-2009, 09:14 AM
Heard a rumour from someone who has had some good info in the past but not always correct. I dont know there source but its apparently within the club so dont asky :duck:

any way hibs are meant to be looking at this guy

would be a great signing, but I think he will be looking for more than we can pay him.

04-09-2009, 09:14 AM
This guy was flagged up here yesterday on here and on The Bounce. Now every man and his dog appears to have been told by a source 'In the know...':dizzy:

04-09-2009, 09:32 AM
would be a great signing, but I think he will be looking for more than we can pay him.

Not a posting about Voltz but referring to the question about wages, I know a bloke who is in with Dundee United and he told me that their 'keeper just now [ Nicky Weaver] will openly tell anyone that asks, that United can't afford him. But just now, they are paying more than the DSS and he gets on tele and write ups in the sports pages. So come January he feels he gets his move back down south to the big time. We could do the same with this boy.

04-09-2009, 10:14 AM
Not a posting about Voltz but referring to the question about wages, I know a bloke who is in with Dundee United and he told me that their 'keeper just now [ Nicky Weaver] will openly tell anyone that asks, that United can't afford him. But just now, they are paying more than the DSS and he gets on tele and write ups in the sports pages. So come January he feels he gets his move back down south to the big time. We could do the same with this boy.

good point mate, I was thinking also that the boy wont be short of offers, sure he was in the German squad last year too. but a short term "shop windae" deal might suit both of us

04-09-2009, 10:48 AM

I agree.

There's a lot of chat on these boards regularly about ‘could we afford his wages?’.

Times have changed and more and more decent players are finding themselves on the dole.

The fact of the matter is if only one club shows interest the players will get paid what that club will pay for them, or they will stay unemployed.

The longer they stay unemployed the less likely they are going top get back in the game.

down the slope
04-09-2009, 10:51 AM
Wonder if he still has the "electric" pace !!!!!!

04-09-2009, 10:52 AM
Wonder if he still has the "electric" pace !!!!!!

You better watch mate, if he's reading this he'll blow a fuse ! :greengrin

04-09-2009, 10:54 AM
good point mate, I was thinking also that the boy wont be short of offers, sure he was in the German squad last year too. but a short term "shop windae" deal might suit both of us

Pretty sure he is Austrian.

04-09-2009, 11:03 AM
Pretty sure he is Austrian.

Defo German mate:

Early career

Volz started his career in his native Germany at FC Schalke 04 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FC_Schalke_04) before being spotted by Arsenal (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arsenal_F.C.) while playing for the German Youth team. He was offered a contract and joined the Gunners in the summer of 1999. Volz played 16 times for Arsenal, his debut coming in a League Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_League_Cup) defeat to Ipswich Town (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ipswich_Town_F.C.) in 2000. In February 2003, he was loaned out to Wimbledon (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wimbledon_F.C.), where he impressed by scoring on his debut against Brighton (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brighton_%26_Hove_Albion_F.C.)[1] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moritz_Volz#cite_note-0) and going on to make nine further appearances for the Dons. He returned from loan in the summer of the same year before joining Fulham (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fulham_F.C.), again on loan, in August 2003. The move was made permanent in January 2004.

[edit (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Moritz_Volz&action=edit&section=3)] Fulham

Volz attained cult-figure status with Fulham fans, in part due to his commitment and passion and to his community involvement[2] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moritz_Volz#cite_note-1), but also because it was revealed that he rides his bicycle to home games. His terrace nicknames include '220 Volz', 'The Electrician', 'Mr Resistor' and 'The Lightbulb', although by far the most common with Fulham fans is the rather simple 'Volzy'. He is also nicknamed 'The Hoff' due to German stereotype he often refers to on his website. David Hasselhoff (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Hasselhoff). For the match against Aston Villa (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aston_Villa) on Saturday 21 October 2006, he had 'The Hoff's name written on his boots for good luck, and promptly scored his first goal in three years. [3] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moritz_Volz#cite_note-2)
On 20 December 2006, he scored the 15,000th goal (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Premier_League_2006-07#15.2C000th_Goal) in Premier League (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Premier_League) history for Fulham against Chelsea (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chelsea_F.C.).[4] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moritz_Volz#cite_note-3) Inevitably, this gave birth to the new nickname '15,000 Volz'. By scoring the goal, Volz was able to donate £15,000 to a charity of his choice. He donated the money in three equal parts to Kick 4 Life, The Prince's Trust (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince%27s_Trust) and Fulham Football Club's Community charity.
On 28 August 2008 he signed for Ipswich Town on a season-long loan deal. He hoped to help Ipswich get promoted to the Premier League. [5] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moritz_Volz#cite_note-4)
On the 1st July 2009 he was released from Fulham at the end of his contract and was praised by the club for his loyal service both on and off the pitch. He has remained at training with the club to regain fitness while he hunts for a new team, and has also done media work for ITV and papers, while studying.

[edit (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Moritz_Volz&action=edit&section=4)] International career

Although Volz was not part of the German team (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/German_national_football_team) that reached the semi-finals of the World Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2006_World_Cup) on home soil in 2006, he was an ever-present force in Dieter Eilts (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dieter_Eilts)' successful under-21 side (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Germany_national_under-21_football_team). He helped the team qualify for the European Championships in summer 2006. He is currently not in the National team pecking order for the right back (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Defender_%28association_football%29) position, with players like Clemens Fritz (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clemens_Fritz), Arne Friedrich (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arne_Friedrich) and Andreas Hinkel (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andreas_Hinkel) in front of him. While never being a mainstay for Germany, he was included in the squad for the 17 November 2004 game in Leipzig (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leipzig) against Cameroon (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cameroon_national_football_team) and received his first Cap.

JoeT
04-09-2009, 11:07 AM
His website is not bad!

http://www.volzy.com/diary.html

say's he's recovering from an injury in Germany

04-09-2009, 11:07 AM
This news has come as a shock to me.

martin63
04-09-2009, 11:13 AM
:shocked:
You better watch mate, if he's reading this he'll blow a fuse ! :greengrin

That was shocking:shocked:

Disc O'Dave
04-09-2009, 11:14 AM
So he's not a current international?

down the slope
04-09-2009, 11:22 AM

My your switched on !!.

04-09-2009, 11:24 AM

not hibs class!!!

04-09-2009, 11:25 AM
It only takes one bampot to spark off a spate of corny puns on this board these days. :greengrin

04-09-2009, 11:27 AM
Hope he'e not a live wire and that his morals are firmly earthed

Benny Brazil
04-09-2009, 11:30 AM
Hope he'e not a live wire and that his morals are firmly earthed

Oh put a sock(et) in it.

04-09-2009, 11:31 AM
he cant be that much in demand, cause he got released by fulham on the 1st july.
but yes please:thumbsup:15thousand voltz has a good ring to it.
voltz shocks the jambos [even better]:wink:

Septimus
04-09-2009, 11:43 AM
Presumably he has all the right CONTACTS

04-09-2009, 11:46 AM
didn't he score the premiership's 10,000th goal?:confused:

04-09-2009, 11:48 AM
He'd be a useful addition to plug a gap in our squad

Sandy
04-09-2009, 12:03 PM

15,000th, he was given £15,000 for the it, and donated it to 3 different charities.

sadtom
04-09-2009, 12:03 PM
His website is not bad!

http://www.volzy.com/diary.html

say's he's recovering from an injury in Germany

Looks like he's gone ohm!

aljo7-0
04-09-2009, 12:04 PM
I'm a bit confused by this news. I can see the positive and negative sides of it but why on earth has it come up now?

04-09-2009, 12:09 PM
Mega. Watt a signing that would be.

04-09-2009, 12:10 PM
Mega. Watt a signing that would be.

Hopefully his injury won't ampere his career.

Danny_Hibee
04-09-2009, 12:20 PM
Might be a better move for him to join Hearts, I'm sure he'd be more comfortable training at Heriot WATT.

04-09-2009, 12:22 PM
Might be a better move for him to join Hearts, I'm sure he'd be more comfortable training at Heriot WATT.

Or Dundee, where he could team up with Leigh Griffiths (aka sparky).

04-09-2009, 12:23 PM
Defo German mate:

Early career

Volz started his career in his native Germany at FC Schalke 04 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FC_Schalke_04) before being spotted by Arsenal (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arsenal_F.C.) while playing for the German Youth team. He was offered a contract and joined the Gunners in the summer of 1999. Volz played 16 times for Arsenal, his debut coming in a League Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_League_Cup) defeat to Ipswich Town (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ipswich_Town_F.C.) in 2000. In February 2003, he was loaned out to Wimbledon (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wimbledon_F.C.), where he impressed by scoring on his debut against Brighton (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brighton_%26_Hove_Albion_F.C.)[1] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moritz_Volz#cite_note-0) and going on to make nine further appearances for the Dons. He returned from loan in the summer of the same year before joining Fulham (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fulham_F.C.), again on loan, in August 2003. The move was made permanent in January 2004.

[edit (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Moritz_Volz&action=edit&section=3)] Fulham

Volz attained cult-figure status with Fulham fans, in part due to his commitment and passion and to his community involvement[2] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moritz_Volz#cite_note-1), but also because it was revealed that he rides his bicycle to home games. His terrace nicknames include '220 Volz', 'The Electrician', 'Mr Resistor' and 'The Lightbulb', although by far the most common with Fulham fans is the rather simple 'Volzy'. He is also nicknamed 'The Hoff' due to German stereotype he often refers to on his website. David Hasselhoff (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Hasselhoff). For the match against Aston Villa (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aston_Villa) on Saturday 21 October 2006, he had 'The Hoff's name written on his boots for good luck, and promptly scored his first goal in three years. [3] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moritz_Volz#cite_note-2)
On 20 December 2006, he scored the 15,000th goal (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Premier_League_2006-07#15.2C000th_Goal) in Premier League (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Premier_League) history for Fulham against Chelsea (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chelsea_F.C.).[4] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moritz_Volz#cite_note-3) Inevitably, this gave birth to the new nickname '15,000 Volz'. By scoring the goal, Volz was able to donate £15,000 to a charity of his choice. He donated the money in three equal parts to Kick 4 Life, The Prince's Trust (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince%27s_Trust) and Fulham Football Club's Community charity.
On 28 August 2008 he signed for Ipswich Town on a season-long loan deal. He hoped to help Ipswich get promoted to the Premier League. [5] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moritz_Volz#cite_note-4)
On the 1st July 2009 he was released from Fulham at the end of his contract and was praised by the club for his loyal service both on and off the pitch. He has remained at training with the club to regain fitness while he hunts for a new team, and has also done media work for ITV and papers, while studying.

[edit (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Moritz_Volz&action=edit&section=4)] International career

Although Volz was not part of the German team (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/German_national_football_team) that reached the semi-finals of the World Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2006_World_Cup) on home soil in 2006, he was an ever-present force in Dieter Eilts (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dieter_Eilts)' successful under-21 side (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Germany_national_under-21_football_team). He helped the team qualify for the European Championships in summer 2006. He is currently not in the National team pecking order for the right back (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Defender_%28association_football%29) position, with players like Clemens Fritz (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clemens_Fritz), Arne Friedrich (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arne_Friedrich) and Andreas Hinkel (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andreas_Hinkel) in front of him. While never being a mainstay for Germany, he was included in the squad for the 17 November 2004 game in Leipzig (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leipzig) against Cameroon (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cameroon_national_football_team) and received his first Cap.

Cheers didnt know what. :greengrin

JoeT_WasTheBest
04-09-2009, 12:27 PM
I like him, he's the kind of player who likes to get wired in.

04-09-2009, 12:34 PM
Honestly guys, these puns are ****!

Billy
04-09-2009, 12:35 PM
It only takes one bampot to spark off a spate of corny puns on this board these days. :greengrin

Celestine Babayaro is a free agent as a left back

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celestine_Babayaro

Let's see who can make a pun from his name!! :greengrin

Sauzee07
04-09-2009, 12:36 PM
I'd love to see this guy charging down the wing.

04-09-2009, 12:39 PM

I looked at the thread and thought '30-odd posts on Moritz Volz, he must have signed!'....

...only to be met by this pile of mince!

04-09-2009, 12:40 PM
He's a sensible, good livng sort of guy.

Hopefully he'll show Deek how to conduct himself.

04-09-2009, 01:04 PM

Very tedious :agree:. I think the quote is "A waste of bandwith".

Littlest Hobo
04-09-2009, 01:10 PM
He'd be better off with LEEDS? :rolleyes::greengrin

04-09-2009, 01:15 PM
I looked at the thread and thought '30-odd posts on Moritz Volz, he must have signed!'....

...only to be met by this pile of mince!

Some :wink:s too :cool2:

04-09-2009, 01:26 PM

Watt-ever bright spark ...

Seiously though I heard he was lightening down the right.. :greengrin

04-09-2009, 01:35 PM
Some :wink:s too :cool2:

You heard anything on the grapevine TQM? :cool2:

04-09-2009, 01:35 PM
He's certain to be a big interest generator.:agree:

04-09-2009, 01:39 PM
Very tedious :agree:. I think the quote is "A waste of bandwith".

It does hamper the flow of genuine information

04-09-2009, 01:43 PM
Hearts don't need Volz, as they've already got Christian Node.

04-09-2009, 01:45 PM
Hearts don't need Volz, as they've already got Christian Node.

Enough!! :bitchy:

04-09-2009, 01:49 PM
You heard anything on the grapevine TQM? :cool2:

:faf::faf::faf:

That's like asking Shaun Lawson for directions to Tynecastle.

04-09-2009, 02:02 PM

You're in trouble now, sunshine. :greengrin

Yours in sport,

The Proclaimers
:nerd::nerd:

04-09-2009, 02:10 PM

:wink::cool2:

04-09-2009, 02:14 PM
Voltz has a stunning wife. I would love to meter.

The Beastie Bus
04-09-2009, 02:16 PM
I've seen him play before, he's full of energy!

04-09-2009, 02:38 PM
It's no surprise that now that he is a free agent there has been a surge in speculation :cool2:

The Beastie Bus
04-09-2009, 02:39 PM
It's no surprise that now that he is a free agent there has been a surge in speculation :cool2:

National Grids gone into overdrive with this one.....

04-09-2009, 02:45 PM
National Grids gone into overdrive with this one.....

Heard he wants to play in an Edinburgh derby,he says he would thrive on a highly charged atmosphere, wonder if he could help the Hearts with their floodlight problem?? Its all watt ifs ah suppose, pretty shocked maself! :greengrin

04-09-2009, 02:47 PM
They'll be oozing watts and watts of jealousy over by if it 'appens.

The Beastie Bus
04-09-2009, 02:51 PM
They'll be oozing watts and watts of jealousy over by if it 'appens.

Better be as fast as lightning to tie this one up or else the 'current' buns could sign him.

04-09-2009, 02:56 PM
He has the ability, to get around a static defence.

04-09-2009, 03:07 PM
He has the ability, to get around a static defence.

:agree: We could do with a pair of pliers like that.

04-09-2009, 03:27 PM
**** the Hertz! :thumbsup:

04-09-2009, 03:29 PM
Watt-ever bright spark ...

Seiously though I heard he was lightening down the right.. :greengrin

You speak with forked tongue methinks.

04-09-2009, 03:34 PM

Subtle, I like it :greengrin

Zorro
04-09-2009, 03:36 PM
is this some sort of pun overload.... :greengrin

or, dare I say it, a bad case of pun assault and battery??? :offski:

04-09-2009, 03:36 PM
Subtle, I like it :greengrin

And he's lightening quick (allegedly)

04-09-2009, 03:39 PM
This thread has gone too far(aday) :rolleyes:

04-09-2009, 03:43 PM
**** the Hertz! :thumbsup:

franco
04-09-2009, 03:44 PM
Hes grown his hair looks like a heavy metal freak now got told he was into AC-DC :greengrin

04-09-2009, 03:45 PM
If we sign him we should get a pre match rendition of AC/DC's greatest hits

:shocked:

04-09-2009, 03:46 PM
Hes grown his hair looks like a heavy metal freak now got told he was into AC-DC :greengrin

Seconds too late!!

franco
04-09-2009, 06:25 PM
you must have a great mind :wink:

04-09-2009, 06:33 PM

Celestine Babayaro is a free agent as a left back

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celestine_Babayaro

Let's see who can make a pun from his name!! :greengrin

:bitchy: That would be out of order

04-09-2009, 06:36 PM

I wouldn't waste your time protesting. Resistance is useless.

Disc O'Dave
04-09-2009, 06:48 PM
I wouldn't waste your time protesting. Resistance is useless.

Ohm my god.....

Did he ever come up against Theirry Henry?

Disc O'Dave
04-09-2009, 06:52 PM

Nah, they'll both end up spending the night in a cell

04-09-2009, 07:21 PM
I hear he's a power at circuit training.

Sweep
04-09-2009, 08:00 PM
Hope he can socket to them on the wing and alternate crosses with left or right foot.

04-09-2009, 08:09 PM
Heard he has great dribbling skills, full of electrickery :greengrin

CapitalHibs
04-09-2009, 08:46 PM
So we got Stokes and Stack, Add in Volz and you've got............................................ Stokestack Lightning*

*auld blues song for those whi dinny ken

A'll get my coat:greengrin

04-09-2009, 08:54 PM
So we got Stokes and Stack, Add in Volz and you've got............................................ Stokestack Lightning*

*auld blues song for those whi dinny ken

A'll get my coat:greengrin

That wasn't really worth the effort you put into all that was it? :wink:

04-09-2009, 08:56 PM
15,000 bud thats how he got the nickname:wink:

...WentToMowAnSPL
04-09-2009, 08:59 PM
15,000 bud thats how he got the nickname:wink:

Watt's this thread all about ?

down the slope
04-09-2009, 09:04 PM
Ever wished you had never started something ?, it's time to pull the plug on this one please and get back down to earth on this site !.

soda70
04-09-2009, 09:22 PM
This thread is enough to make your hair curl :blah::blah::blah:

04-09-2009, 09:24 PM
This thread is enough to make your hair curl :blah::blah::blah:

This thread's the joule in the crown of hibs.net :agree:

Disc O'Dave
04-09-2009, 10:57 PM
Do people have the capacity for any more of this?

04-09-2009, 11:17 PM
Do people have the capacity for any more of this?

Yes, I think the thread will generate a few more replies. :agree:

04-09-2009, 11:31 PM
Yes, I think the thread will generate a few more replies. :agree:

You're having a van der graf, mate.

04-09-2009, 11:49 PM
You're having a van der graf, mate.

No mate, this is a live one. :agree:

04-09-2009, 11:59 PM
No mate, this is a live one. :agree:

I'm saying nothing mate, I'm remaining neutral on the subject.

Twa Cairpets
05-09-2009, 12:08 AM
I love the way the puns just pylon top of each other.

05-09-2009, 01:03 AM
Watt's happening then? Is he signing?

Sergio sledge
05-09-2009, 07:30 AM
He's quite a powerful player, he'd transform our defence.

05-09-2009, 07:53 AM
I've heard he's quite down to earth :agree:

Disc O'Dave
05-09-2009, 08:35 AM
I've heard he's quite down to earth :agree:

But ke knows when to flex his muscles

Disc O'Dave
05-09-2009, 08:38 AM
He's not too versatile....he only has three core skills.

05-09-2009, 08:41 AM
Heres his stats...

History of Electricity:
The Greeks were the first to discover electricity about 2500 years ago. They noticed that when an amber was rubbed with other materials it became charged with an unknown force that had the power to attract objects such as dried leaves, feathers, bits of cloth, or other lightweight materials. The Greeks called amber electron. The word electric was derived from it and meant "to be like amber," or to have the ability to attract other objects.
This mysterious force remained little more than a curious phenomenon until about 2000 years later, when other people began to conduct experiments. In the early 1600s, William Gilbert discovered that amber was not the only material that could be charged to attract other objects. He called materials that could be charged electriks and materials that could not be charged noelectriks.

About 300 years ago a few men began to study the behavior of various charged objects. In 1773, a Frenchman named Charles DuFay found that a piece of charged glass would repel some charged objects and attract others. These men soon learned that the force of repulsion was just as important as the force of attraction. From these experiments, two lists were developed.

List A List B
Glass (rubbed on silk) Hard rubber (rubbed on wool)

Glass (rubbed on wool or cotton) Block or sulfur(rubbed on wool or fur)
Mica (rubbed on cloth) Most kinds of rubber (rubbed on cloth)
Asbestos (rubbed on cloth or paper) Sealing wax (rubbed on silk, wool, or fur)
Stick of sealing wax (rubbed on wool) Glass or mica (rubbed on dry wool)
Amber (rubbed on cloth)

It was determined that any material in list A would attract any material in list B, and that all materials in list A would repel each other and all material in list B would repel each other. Various names were suggested for the materials in lists A and B. Any opposite-sounding names could have been chosen, such as east and west, north and south, male and female. Benjamin Franklin named the materials in list A positive and the materials in list B negative . The first item in each list was used as a standard for determining if a charged object was positive or negative. Any object repelled by a piece of glass rubbed on silk would have a positive charge and any item repelled by a hard rubber rod rubbed on wool would have a negative charge.

Enough already:devil:

05-09-2009, 08:44 AM
Heres his stats...

History of Electricity:
The Greeks were the first to discover electricity about 2500 years ago. They noticed that when an amber was rubbed with other materials it became charged with an unknown force that had the power to attract objects such as dried leaves, feathers, bits of cloth, or other lightweight materials. The Greeks called amber electron. The word electric was derived from it and meant "to be like amber," or to have the ability to attract other objects.
This mysterious force remained little more than a curious phenomenon until about 2000 years later, when other people began to conduct experiments. In the early 1600s, William Gilbert discovered that amber was not the only material that could be charged to attract other objects. He called materials that could be charged electriks and materials that could not be charged noelectriks.

About 300 years ago a few men began to study the behavior of various charged objects. In 1773, a Frenchman named Charles DuFay found that a piece of charged glass would repel some charged objects and attract others. These men soon learned that the force of repulsion was just as important as the force of attraction. From these experiments, two lists were developed.

List A List B

Amber (rubbed on cloth)

It was determined that any material in list A would attract any material in list B, and that all materials in list A would repel each other and all material in list B would repel each other. Various names were suggested for the materials in lists A and B. Any opposite-sounding names could have been chosen, such as east and west, north and south, male and female. Benjamin Franklin named the materials in list A positive and the materials in list B negative . The first item in each list was used as a standard for determining if a charged object was positive or negative. Any object repelled by a piece of glass rubbed on silk would have a positive charge and any item repelled by a hard rubber rod rubbed on wool would have a negative charge.

You should be locked in a cell for that !! currently the worst post so far, absolutely shocking.

Falkirk Hibby
05-09-2009, 08:48 AM
This thread is in danger of becoming static! :shocked:

05-09-2009, 09:18 AM
I can see him becoming a diode in the wool hibby and his catchphrase will be '***** the hertz!'

05-09-2009, 10:13 AM
Heres his stats...

History of Electricity:

List A List B

Amber (rubbed on cloth)

Booger me Spike. That is impressive.

Twa Cairpets
05-09-2009, 02:43 PM
:whistle: "...and if, you know, your transistory, its enough to make....etc"

hibbykeef
05-09-2009, 02:52 PM
Heard he's singed:duck:

05-09-2009, 02:57 PM

Yeah electricity can do that to you (signed, might be what you meant :wink:)

hibbykeef
05-09-2009, 02:58 PM
whooosh!!!!!!!

05-09-2009, 03:00 PM
whooosh!!!!!!!

Was giving you the benefit of the doubt, :wink:

05-09-2009, 03:05 PM

Good one:faf:

05-09-2009, 05:20 PM
Does anyone think the rumours have any potential?

Feed McGraw
05-09-2009, 05:43 PM
I`ve been perusing this thread and wondering whether I should add a pun, but I think I should just resistor try another thread.

05-09-2009, 05:52 PM
Volz, as in Volts?

Did anybody notice nobody has the number 5?

Kaiser_Sauzee
05-09-2009, 05:53 PM
What a god awful thread. My head doesn't have the capacitor to take in this nonsense.

Disc O'Dave
05-09-2009, 07:15 PM
Do newcomers to this thread need some sort of Induction?

Kaiser_Sauzee
05-09-2009, 07:35 PM
Do newcomers to this thread need some sort of Induction?

Nah, they just get ohm the job experience.

Disc O'Dave
05-09-2009, 09:19 PM
Is this as Farads it goes?

05-09-2009, 09:39 PM
Is this as Farads it goes?

:bitchy: Threads like this are always renewable.

06-09-2009, 07:34 AM
Does anyone think the rumours have any potential?

Nothing on cable yet.

06-09-2009, 08:13 AM
Nothing on cable yet.

I don't see the points in this thread.

da-robster
06-09-2009, 09:10 AM
Heres his stats...

History of Electricity:

List A List B

Amber (rubbed on cloth)

You've certainly enlightened me there. :agree:

BTW I hear he's going to play centrical midfielder.

I'll get my coat :greengrin

stevenhibs
06-09-2009, 09:43 AM
Did anybody notice nobody has the number 5?

WHAT??? Nobody has number 5!!!

06-09-2009, 10:07 AM

That’s right no No.5.

We’re on page 3, but Hibs have no No.3

Or 12 or 14 or 21 or 23 or 27 or 28 and after 29 nothing till 50.

Aubenas
06-09-2009, 03:56 PM
I'd rather watch The Wire........:cool2:

06-09-2009, 04:12 PM

Just didnae go there --------------- PLEASE!!

06-09-2009, 04:31 PM
^^ why no?

08-09-2009, 09:20 PM
OK, bringing everyone back down to earth, get your mone-on this:

and

http://www.volzy.com/

Petrie's Tache
08-09-2009, 10:14 PM
I am guessing you added the bit about Hibs.

That said he has a class website and will no doubt go on to a bigger team than us.:greengrin

08-09-2009, 11:02 PM

and

Well if its on wiki then i must be true

all we need now is the fish man ti confirm it!

09-09-2009, 08:08 AM
I am guessing you added the bit about Hibs.

That said he has a class website and will no doubt go on to a bigger team than us.:greengrin

No, I didn't and I don't know who did.

09-09-2009, 08:09 AM
He is still in rehab in the south of Germany recovering from a groin strain so I don't think he will be signing this week.

09-09-2009, 02:17 PM
I hope no-one's three-pinning their hopes on signing him.

Petrie's Tache
09-09-2009, 02:50 PM
I am sure he would ADAPT to the Scottish game no problem.

ano hibby
09-09-2009, 03:02 PM

and

Anyone try Volzy.com site with the volume on. Very funny, starts with a little rhyme to tune of "Englishman in NY"

something like:
"See him cycle down the Fulham Road
His German sausage in his hand
He plays football but never scores a goal...
Hes a German in West London"

:faf::thumbsup:

Volzy & Stack some combination:agree:

Twa Cairpets
09-09-2009, 03:04 PM
I am sure he would ADAPT to the Scottish game no problem.

the thread is generating interest

09-09-2009, 03:59 PM
Anyone try Volzy.com site with the volume on. Very funny, starts with a little rhyme to tune of "Englishman in NY"

something like:
"See him cycle down the Fulham Road
His German sausage in his hand
He plays football but he hardly ever scores a goal
he dreams of knightrider and the fatherland
ja ja
he's an alien, a humerous westfalian
Hes a German in West London"

:faf::thumbsup:

Volzy & Stack some combination:agree:

PC Stamp
09-09-2009, 04:31 PM
Good plug for his website if nothing else.

10-09-2009, 05:48 PM
This rumour seems to have run out of juice?

Disc O'Dave
10-09-2009, 06:24 PM
It's a shame as he sounds like just the kind of guy to impede the opposition attacks.

10-09-2009, 06:25 PM
This rumour seems to have run out of juice?

Does that mean we are going to sign him?

the Stokes and Galbraith rumours died down then we signed them

Might be the same :devil:

10-09-2009, 07:32 PM
Has anyone noticed that his name is Volz, which when said sounds like Volts, as in electricity?

Gosh we could have fun with a name like that eh?

You're a bright spark, eh?

10-09-2009, 08:37 PM
Volz signing for FC Nuremburg apparently.

10-09-2009, 08:39 PM

Maybe he is just going on TRIAL.

10-09-2009, 10:17 PM
Maybe he is just going on TRIAL.

Won't be too long before the jury are out.

10-09-2009, 10:17 PM
Heard a rumour he's off to America to play for the San Diego chargers.

Disc O'Dave
11-09-2009, 07:42 AM
Seems he might not sign as he is injured, and isn't ready to make the move....thing is, is he Ever Ready?

11-09-2009, 07:49 AM
Seems he might not sign as he is injured, and isn't ready to make the move....thing is, is he Ever Ready?

Suppose he'll have to weigh up the positives and the negatives in the move.

11-09-2009, 07:51 AM
I think the deal has been switched off.

George Clooney
11-09-2009, 07:58 AM
He's been getting treatment near Munich, so Nuremburg isn't Varta go.

11-09-2009, 08:22 AM
He's been getting treatment near Munich, so Nuremburg isn't Varta go.

:agree: He's been doing short circuit training.

11-09-2009, 08:26 AM

That's a shame.

He would have fitted in really well at East Mains.

11-09-2009, 08:32 AM
That's a shame.

He would have fitted in really well at East Mains.

he certainly would have plugged a gap in our defence

11-09-2009, 10:19 AM
i bet hes shocked to be linked to us :)

11-09-2009, 10:22 AM
I wonder if he'd wear the number 7?

11-09-2009, 11:02 AM
I am positive he will be a great one for the netural to watch, his down to earth performances will be in contrast to the negative football of last season. I am sure he will provide the spark that we need.

Gus Fring
11-09-2009, 11:10 AM
It's Interesting how much bzzzz this rumour is generating. he's got the potential to be a class aaa player

Disc O'Dave
11-09-2009, 11:11 AM
Aparently he was arrested last night, after a big sesson with "Juke Box".......

(apologies in advance)

He spent the night in "Durie's Cell"

11-09-2009, 11:12 AM
Aparently he was arrested last night, after a big sesson with "Juke Box".......

(apologies in advance)

He spent the night in "Durie's Cell"

Assault and battery?

11-09-2009, 11:16 AM
Assault and battery?

That's what he was charged with,

11-09-2009, 11:17 AM
Assault and battery?

I do hope it wasn't terminal.

11-09-2009, 11:18 AM
That's what he was charged with,

Do you think that the Battery charge leak was dealt with by A CID bureau?

Disc O'Dave
11-09-2009, 11:18 AM
I hope he gets out in time to get to the airport. Doesn't want to leave his agent sitting at the Terminal.

11-09-2009, 11:19 AM

Positive! :agree:

Disc O'Dave
11-09-2009, 11:20 AM

Anyone want to take a stab at his favourite Nirvana track?

11-09-2009, 11:30 AM
Anyone want to take a stab at his favourite Nirvana track?

Lithium, probably.

But he likes Flash by Queen better.

11-09-2009, 11:41 AM
Lithium, probably.

But he likes Flash by Queen better.

Has to be http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sq2vl99iIEc

11-09-2009, 11:43 AM
Has to be http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sq2vl99iIEc

Especially live. :agree:

11-09-2009, 11:48 AM
With the news breaking about Liam Miller, this thread has lost its spark.

11-09-2009, 11:55 AM

Amp-le time for mare guff puns tho! :cool2:

Disc O'Dave
11-09-2009, 12:03 PM

Miller puns would be corny though.......

11-09-2009, 12:10 PM

True. A thread like that would be a grind.

11-09-2009, 12:11 PM
Needs to be recharged.

11-09-2009, 12:11 PM

Wheat are you on about.

11-09-2009, 12:12 PM

True. A thread like that would be a grind.

Tilting at windmills now, methinks. :greengrin

11-09-2009, 12:14 PM
Tilting at windmills now, methinks. :greengrin

Miller gets pushed off the ball too easily for me, the number of times he falls to the flour would make Nish proud.

11-09-2009, 12:17 PM
The thing is, if he hasn't be training he might have to lose a stone or two.

Disc O'Dave
11-09-2009, 12:19 PM
The thing is, if he hasn't be training he might have to lose a stone or two.

Spent too long loafing around

11-09-2009, 12:20 PM
Spent too long loafing around

He won't make much dough like that.

11-09-2009, 12:22 PM
Still Miller will love it at ER as it's always Windy.

11-09-2009, 12:24 PM
He won't make much dough like that.

I think he already owns a couple of Rolls.

11-09-2009, 12:28 PM
We shouldn't expect too much from Miller till gets yeast to SPL football again.

11-09-2009, 12:29 PM
We shouldn't expect too much from Miller till gets yeast to SPL football again.

The news of his signing will still butter us up in the meantime though.

Green Man
11-09-2009, 12:37 PM
I'll get the beers in.

11-09-2009, 12:39 PM
Check out this random page update:

11-09-2009, 01:18 PM
His decision making is top class and he's always well prepared. He doesn't leave things to chancelot.

11-09-2009, 01:23 PM
He's only 5' 10 according to his Wiki page!

Obviously not tall enough or good enough to be hibs class! He's got be at least 12ft 17in to get a game at centre half for us!

11-09-2009, 03:12 PM
I was told earlier in the day that Hibs had signed two today, Miller and Volz.

Still nothing anywhere other than here?

11-09-2009, 04:45 PM
Amp-le time for mare guff puns tho! :cool2:

:agree: I don't think we should restrict ourselves to puns about Volz.

Perhaps someone could pen a poem in his honour.

An ode, anyone?

RigRoars
11-09-2009, 04:57 PM
Heard he's looking at houses down Portobello.

He wants to live by D/C

machibby
11-09-2009, 05:28 PM
Miller gets pushed off the ball too easily for me, the number of times he falls to the flour would make Nish proud.
There's not a grain of truth in that. I'm sure he'll rise to the challange

11-09-2009, 05:36 PM

He wants to live by D/C

Marvellous.:faf:

11-09-2009, 05:40 PM

He wants to live by D/C

Well done, hats off !!!! :top marks:faf::top marks:faf:

11-09-2009, 05:43 PM
I was told earlier in the day that Hibs had signed two today, Miller and Volz.

Still nothing anywhere other than here?

Where did your info come from, Andy?

11-09-2009, 05:57 PM
Where did your info come from, Andy?

No inside source i'm afraid.

It was only a punter at the gym - i had a Hibs training top on so he came up and asked if I'd heard we'd signed two players today. I've no idea if he had inside info but I'd doubt it. But, it was this morning well before news that miller had actually signed, he did say they had signed two miller would be announced later and also Volz.

Disc O'Dave
11-09-2009, 06:09 PM
No inside source i'm afraid.

It was only a punter at the gym - i had a Hibs training top on so he came up and asked if I'd heard we'd signed two players today. I've no idea if he had inside info but I'd doubt it. But, it was this morning well before news that miller had actually signed, he did say they had signed two miller would be announced later and also Volz.

More importantly, was it the Next Generation Gym, or the one up at the Ohmni Centre?

Aubenas
11-09-2009, 06:13 PM
Perhaps someone could pen a poem in his honour.

Edison, Watt and Marconi
Would find all this punning so phoney,
And far far away in the distance,
I can hear their muted resistance.
Such wit needs to find a good ohm,
In a verse, a stanza or pome:duck:
So cease and desist about Volz -
And, Gentlemen, - please get your coats!:hyper:

11-09-2009, 06:16 PM
More importantly, was it the Next Generation Gym, or the one up at the Ohmni Centre?

Another candidate for favourite band?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WDmhP6YiN6s

.SeventyFive
11-09-2009, 06:20 PM

Genius.

Twa Cairpets
11-09-2009, 06:21 PM

I wonder how much they charge? Pehaps Miller could go with him to break up the daily grind.

11-09-2009, 07:21 PM
If we sign Volz, a good RB, we should be ready to mount a very capable challenge of 3rd place :agree:

11-09-2009, 08:00 PM
Sorry for double posting, but on Wiki, there is a message saying he has "signed for Hibs"

11-09-2009, 08:14 PM
Sorry for double posting, but on Wiki, there is a message saying he has "signed for Hibs"

Nah, apparantly he has signed for FC Nuremberg!! :agree:

BH.

11-09-2009, 09:22 PM

BH.

Quelle?

11-09-2009, 09:26 PM
Quelle?

There was some talk of this yesterday - can't find anything on the net - hopefully we'll know one way or the other next week...

BH.

11-09-2009, 09:26 PM

BH.

You sure BH?

11-09-2009, 09:29 PM
You sure BH?

That was the talk... can't remember who posted it!!!

BH.

11-09-2009, 09:29 PM
You sure BH?

I heard he had a trial at Nuremberg.

11-09-2009, 09:30 PM

I'm surprised Nuremburg are courting him...

BH.

Aubenas
11-09-2009, 11:24 PM

Oooh, that's rally bad.............:duck:

12-09-2009, 07:03 PM
Oooh, that's rally bad.............:duck:

Who appointed you judge, jury and executioner? :rolleyes:

12-09-2009, 07:10 PM
Who appointed you judge, jury and executioner? :rolleyes:

Look we all knew he was Goering to another club.

12-09-2009, 07:11 PM
Look we all knew he was Goering to another club.

What, one capable of mounting a putsch for the title?

12-09-2009, 07:28 PM
What, one capable of mounting a putsch for the title?

Nothing could be fuhrer from the truth. I hear he's best played up front 'cos he doesn't like being stuka at the back.

12-09-2009, 08:56 PM
Nothing could be fuhrer from the truth. I hear he's best played up front 'cos he doesn't like being stuka at the back.

Aye, he likes to Rommel up them defences.

Silversand
12-09-2009, 09:19 PM

I'm sure tha fans have had a rally to support him.

:duck:

Aubenas
12-09-2009, 09:29 PM
With all these puns, my heid is berlin aboot........:dizzy:

12-09-2009, 09:47 PM
With all these puns, my heid is berlin aboot........:dizzy:

Bah Hamburg :grr:!

13-09-2009, 12:10 AM
He's sacked his agent with the parting quote "if I want yourotwies i'll ask for it."

13-09-2009, 04:34 AM
Whether he signs for us or not, Volz has cetrainly generated a lot of interest.

Petrie's Tache
13-09-2009, 05:53 AM
If he signs fro us does he become Green energy?:wink:

13-09-2009, 07:39 AM
If he signs fro us does he become Green energy?:wink:

:agree: He's German, so he'll no doubt be energy efficient.

13-09-2009, 01:56 PM
:agree: He's German, so he'll no doubt be energy efficient.

Even if he doesn't sign this thread can always recycled for his next potential suitors.

MontrealHibs
21-10-2009, 10:12 PM
Thought I would upset everybody by digging up this old chestnut!

Still unsigned!

Crazyhorse
22-10-2009, 12:14 AM
Thought I would upset everybody by digging up this old chestnut!

Still unsigned!

So it's still all quiet on that front then?

22-10-2009, 06:33 AM
So it's still all quiet on that front then?

It's a shocker, still.

aberhibsfc
22-10-2009, 03:58 PM
It's a shocker, still.

In this current marker, we would require face a hefty charge for his servicest his services. If we had ample funds we could socket to him and he could plug right as the mains defender.

I would be static if he signed.

22-10-2009, 03:59 PM
He was on Soccer AM a few weeks ago - apparently he is injured at the moment, so perhaps his injury is what is putting clubs off?
he wouldn't disclose any info on a transfer IIRC
:hnet:

VegasHibby
22-10-2009, 06:23 PM
not hibs class!!!

just noticed your avatar :faf: