View Full Version : Anticipation-Disappointment

12AlbionPlace
03-09-2009, 12:10 PM
JJ's departure got me thinking.

Given the excitement pre his arrival can anyone remember if any previous signings have caused a similar sense of anticipation but ultimately ended up in disappointment.

The list might be endless:greengrin

03-09-2009, 12:13 PM
Ulises De La Cruz !!
or
Jimmy Boco .... !!

Alan O'brien - Ivan Sproule on a motorbike :rolleyes:

davemcbain
Ulises on a cruise and his mate Nelly Hurtado were the first to my mind.
Alan, faster than Usein Bolts little sister, O' Brien is a more recent one.

03-09-2009, 12:15 PM
Alan Ormen, everyone thought he was coming from Man Utds feeder club Antwerp before heading to Man Utd

03-09-2009, 12:16 PM
Mark Caughey - World Cup star chased around the globe by Kenny Waugh who was hell bent on signing him

Mark Caughey - Northern Irish superstar :bitchy:

wazoo1875
Mark Caughey :greengrin

03-09-2009, 12:17 PM
Mark Caughey - World Cup star chased around the globe by Kenny Waugh who was hell bent on signing him

Mark Caughey - Northern Irish superstar :bitchy:

03-09-2009, 12:17 PM
Mark Caughey :greengrin

Speed up young man :greengrin

03-09-2009, 12:18 PM
Barry Lavety
Ricky Hill

I'm sure I'll think of more.

03-09-2009, 12:19 PM
Terry Wilson - hotly pursued by a number of clubs as being a terrific prospect. Hibs got him and on the decision of a transfer tribunal panel paid £35,000 for him and he was awful!

03-09-2009, 12:20 PM
Wee fat Joe? :greengrin

03-09-2009, 12:23 PM
anticipation for every new season...disappointment for what seems to be less and less of us supporting hibs every new season!:boo hoo:

thieving Celtic gits!!:grr: PETRIE!!:grr:

Emerald
03-09-2009, 12:25 PM
Maybe a bit of a :duck:but the return of Mickey Weir, although not a disaster and still a great player, he never got back to the heights of his first stint. Everyone was so excited he was back and is still an all time great so not in the same category as the others.

wazoo1875
03-09-2009, 12:25 PM
Speed up young man :greengrin
I was nightshift last night :grr:

03-09-2009, 12:27 PM
This (Anticipation-Disappontment) puts me in mind of a sweetmeat that was sold when I was a lad - Fry's "Five Boys" chocolate.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2386/2343618575_409420b31c.jpg

"Desperation - Pacification - Expectation - Acclamation - Realisation... It's Fry's" - for those who can't make out the captions. They don't write advertising copy like THAT nowadays!

The Lanarkshire version is as follows:

http://www.wired.com/images_blogs/photos/uncategorized/2008/01/25/stages.jpg

Oh, and in regard to anticipation/disappointment in a new signing, it HAS to be ...

... the one and only ...

... the inimitable ...

... the unsurpassable ...

... the unremittingly and uniquely emetic ...

... THE MAN WHO WAS GOING TO WIN US THE LEAGUE TITLE ...

JOE (FAT-BOY LARDASS YELLOW-BELLY) HARPER!!!!!!!!!!!!

Who else? :devil:

03-09-2009, 12:29 PM
I was nightshift last night :grr:

Get tae yer bed then :faf:

03-09-2009, 12:31 PM
Stokes:grr: Never Hibs Class BOOOOOOO:bye:

03-09-2009, 12:33 PM
Stokes:grr: Never Hibs Class BOOOOOOO:bye:

:agree: A poor man's Alan O'Brien. :wink:

wazoo1875
03-09-2009, 12:34 PM
Get tae yer bed then :faf:

I'm away for another one in a couple of hours , i'm mental me :greengrin
Night night :yawn:

03-09-2009, 12:36 PM
I'm away for another one in a couple of hours , i'm mental me :greengrin
Night night :yawn:

Sleep well and when you wake up later there will still be 500 rumours on here to catch up with :greengrin

Tomsk
03-09-2009, 12:37 PM
Stephen Glass -- what a let down! No bad, just no very great.

On the other hand I expected fart all from Stevie Archibald and he was terrific.

12AlbionPlace
03-09-2009, 12:51 PM
This (Anticipation-Disappontment) puts me in mind of a sweetmeat that was sold when I was a lad - Fry's "Five Boys" chocolate.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2386/2343618575_409420b31c.jpg

"Desperation - Pacification - Expectation - Acclamation - Realisation... It's Fry's" - for those who can't make out the captions. They don't write advertising copy like THAT nowadays!

The Lanarkshire version is as follows:

http://www.wired.com/images_blogs/photos/uncategorized/2008/01/25/stages.jpg

Oh, and in regard to anticipation/disappointment in a new signing, it HAS to be ...

... the one and only ...

... the inimitable ...

... the unsurpassable ...

... the unremittingly and uniquely emetic ...

... THE MAN WHO WAS GOING TO WIN US THE LEAGUE TITLE ...

JOE (FAT-BOY LARDASS YELLOW-BELLY) HARPER!!!!!!!!!!!!

Who else? :devil:

I get the feeling you really didnae like wee Joe

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

03-09-2009, 01:01 PM
Jim Blair, we paid out an awful lot of money for him, most likely Hibs record signing at the time.

03-09-2009, 01:09 PM
brian kerr:confused:mothewells player of the year and that:grr:how bad was he

03-09-2009, 01:15 PM
:agree: A poor man's Alan O'Brien. :wink:

:faf: Someone really posted that, didnt they? I thought I dreamt it.:flying:

03-09-2009, 01:17 PM
Jim Blair, we paid out an awful lot of money for him, most likely Hibs record signing at the time.

Him too.

There'll be a special corner of the Ninth Circle in Hell for guys like Harper and Blair and Caughey. :grr:

03-09-2009, 01:18 PM
I get the feeling you really didnae like wee Joe

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

What on earth gave you that idea? :rolleyes:

:devil:

03-09-2009, 01:19 PM
:faf: Someone really posted that, didnt they? I thought I dreamt it.:flying:

He did.

Let's hope he was wrong..... :rolleyes:

03-09-2009, 01:21 PM
Brown, Zibby, Maka, :greengrin

Edinburgh Green
03-09-2009, 01:31 PM
Alan O'Brien

Grant Brebner- was unbelievable when he was on loan, never got close to that standard once he signed permanatly

Hakim Sar- rumoured to have beaten Liverpool and Marseille to sign him, ended up pure nade.

blaikie
03-09-2009, 01:36 PM
Steven Pinau - Simply never got a chance :grr:

Mag7
03-09-2009, 01:45 PM
Mike Conroy

John Brogan

Stuart Beedie

Billy Kirkwood

Willie Irvine (mk 2)

Mark McGraw (jnr)

03-09-2009, 02:30 PM
AOB - came with a cracking pedigree but ultimately left having contributed zero goals, and at most 3 assists - one of which came pre-season against Stirling.

03-09-2009, 02:38 PM
Yantorno anyone?

Was very disappointed to see him leave before he even got started.

03-09-2009, 04:02 PM
Colin Grant

03-09-2009, 04:52 PM
Yantorno anyone?

Was very disappointed to see him leave before he even got started.

Oh yeah.. I thought Yantorno was going to run riot in the SPL.. Gutted it never worked out for him.....

Borders Hibby
03-09-2009, 05:09 PM
Brian Grant
Peter Guggi
Latapys pal???

HibeeUnderwood
03-09-2009, 05:14 PM
Abderraouf Zarabi :grr:

Experienced at club and international level!

Delivered **** All!

007 Mickey Weir
03-09-2009, 08:03 PM
DVZ St Mirren player of the year.............GASH

Dobbie!!

hibeeleicester
03-09-2009, 08:21 PM
Elias wanger?

can he be counted?

03-09-2009, 08:42 PM
Stephen Glass -- what a let down! No bad, just no very great.

On the other hand I expected fart all from Stevie Archibald and he was terrific.

:agree: Thought he would be much, much better than he actually was.

In a similar vein, though Allan Smart would score for fun for us but it never really worked out.

03-09-2009, 08:54 PM
Craig Brewster as well, in fact. Thought he would score a lot more for us.

Also had relatively high hopes that Brian Grant might be an answer in midfield. He was, it was just to a different question......

03-09-2009, 09:30 PM
Ulises De La Cruz !!
or
Jimmy Boco .... !!

15 seconds :thumbsup:

Joe Keenan:greengrin
I remember being quite impressed when i first saw him !