View Full Version : First Ever Hibs European Game

02-09-2009, 08:07 PM
Continuing the theme from another thread....

Mine was Norkopping (sp). 3-2 I think. Too wee to be taken to any of the big euro nights in the early 70's...unfortunately!

Prof. Shaggy
02-09-2009, 08:12 PM
Hibernian 2 SV Hamburg 1

Out on away goal.

Jumbo
02-09-2009, 08:14 PM
Leeds in 1973 we lost 5-4 on pens :boo hoo:

AllyF
02-09-2009, 08:19 PM
Hibs 3 - 2 AEK

Paco Luna :grr:

BS44
02-09-2009, 08:21 PM
Strasbourg, think we won 1-0.

02-09-2009, 08:23 PM
73/74 against Leeds nil nil on aggreagate after return leg at ER and we lost on penalties :grr:

02-09-2009, 08:26 PM
1961, Hibs 3-2 Barcelona...............arguably the most exciting Hibby match ever in Europe.

02-09-2009, 08:28 PM
Liverpool, Fairs Cup, think we lost 2-0 I was very wee...:wink:

deek68
02-09-2009, 08:33 PM
Sochaux 1-0. 1976. Don't remember much about it except Sochaux were in yellow.

Raymond
02-09-2009, 08:34 PM
7th November 1973 v Leeds Utd:scarf:
It was my first Hibs game as well.
God im Auld:greengrin

02-09-2009, 08:35 PM
Hibs vs AEK 3-2

TheEastTerrace
02-09-2009, 08:36 PM
Anderlecht at ER 1992 2-2.

02-09-2009, 08:39 PM
2-2 v Aderlecht, 3-3 on agg, out on away goals. '92 i think.
Anyone remember MacBean Protective Clothing!!!

Hanny
02-09-2009, 08:42 PM
Hibs 3 - 2 AEK

Paco Luna :grr:

Hibs vs AEK 3-2

Snap :agree:

How did Paco miss that header!?! :boo hoo:

Best atmosphere I've ever experienced at Easter Road, by some distance.

02-09-2009, 08:47 PM

If it was 1970 we lost 1-0 at home & 2-0 away.

Joe McBride got a hat-trick in his second game [home début] for us in my first Euro game.

He got both the Hibs goals in his next Euro home home, which was also "the Prof" first Euro match.

Come to think of it, if I remember correctly, the next Euro match we played at home after the Hamburg match, he also got another hat-trick.

02-09-2009, 11:08 PM
My first one was a friendly against Gornik Zagreb or something like that, think we lost 2-1. First competitive tie was the Liverpool game we lost 1-0 at ER John Toshak scored for them i think.

crewetollhibee
02-09-2009, 11:16 PM
Never mind first game !!! My first 3 European games were Hibs 6 Sporting Lisbon 1 , Hibs 7 FC Besa 0 , and Hibs 9 Rosenborg Trondheim 1. Christ was I spoiled !!!!!! :thumbsup:

02-09-2009, 11:32 PM
September 2005 v Dnipro (0-0) @ ER. Not been to any away games.

02-09-2009, 11:45 PM
It was a friendly but does the Real Madrid game count

2-0 to the Hi-bees

Think Peter Cormack got one, canny mind the other, canny be bothered lookin it up cos I know some auld Hibby fogies like masel will tell me :thumbsup:

Best games that stick out for me was, obviously the Napoli game :thumbsup:
and the trouncin of Sporting Lisbon, beating Liverpool, think Joe Harper got the winner that was another great night out, Leeds games were great but we never quite done them but came close, was at Elland road at the 0-0 game :bitchy: Higgins ya numpty, missed a great chance wi a header inside the six yard box, great night all the same

Other games against Hadjuk Split and Hamburg were great nights too

Ah, them were the days :thumbsup:

02-09-2009, 11:48 PM
Leige 0-1 away, Goram beaten in extra time.

02-09-2009, 11:48 PM
Hibs v Porto at Easter Road.

I wish I had kept a diary because I can't remember half the games I attended. :grr:

02-09-2009, 11:49 PM
1961, Hibs 3-2 Barcelona...............arguably the most exciting Hibby match ever in Europe.

Should have been at that one, but I had my 11-plus exam coming up very close, and my mother refused to let my father take me. :boo hoo:

First competitive one was the Fairs' Cup tie against FC Porto in 1967. We won 3-0. Peter Cormack scored twice, and the other was scored by Eric Stevenson.

I have the feeling that that was Alex Scott's home debut after his transfer from Everton - it was the first time I'd seen him in the team, anyway, and I remember being mightily impressed by the beautiful delicate way he could cross the ball into the box - every cross and every corner 'laden with menace', as the old Scotsman reporter put it. A series of curling, dipping, beautifully flighted balls in to the strikers. Those were the days!

crewetollhibee
03-09-2009, 12:18 AM
I was technically there. Only game my Mum ever attended - 2 months before I was born ! My Dad still ribs me about that one !!!

03-09-2009, 10:41 AM
The odd friendly in the 1950s-I remember Spartak Prague and Vasco de Gama from South America then 1961 Hibs 3 Barcelona 2 .Wow

Argylehibby
03-09-2009, 11:17 AM
Napoli - 5-0 at ER with Zoff in goals for them. Have to admit I dont remember too much of the game but my dad has mentioned it a few times since 1967 :greengrin

Emerald
03-09-2009, 11:29 AM
Mine was Hadjuk Split 4 - 2, I think we lost 3 - 0 in the second leg. My next was Keflavik an Icelandic team and my third was the 0-0 Leeds Utd game. I missed the pens as we had to catch the last bus to Penicuik on a Wednesday night which was about 10:10 if I remember right. The crowd was huge and it too us ages to fight our way up to the top of the old east terrace. Does anyone know the official attendance for that game. My biggest crowd at ER by a long way.

Owain_1987
03-09-2009, 11:31 AM
Hibs 0 - Dnipro only prober European game I have been to.

FraserHFC
03-09-2009, 11:33 AM
If the Inter-Toto counts then Hibs 1 Fk Vetra 1

If not then Hibs 0 Dnipro 0

Ceebs
03-09-2009, 11:36 AM
Mine also Hadjuk Split 4 -2 remember watching most of the game on my dad's shoulders (oh the days), can confirm we did lose 0 - 3 second league.

03-09-2009, 11:38 AM
If the Inter-Toto counts then Hibs 1 Fk Vetra 1

If not then Hibs 0 Dnipro 0

Please don't go to anymore European games - You're already a jinx. :greengrin

How that Vetra game managed to get played is beyond me. Remember Garry O' sliding though the rain sodden pitch at the FF end. It was monsoon time I tell ya. :agree:

To think that an England cricket game got cancelled the other night because someone spilt a glass of water on the pitch. :devil:

Mikeystewart
03-09-2009, 01:20 PM
Ive only ever been to the Dnipro home leg :boo hoo:

03-09-2009, 02:09 PM
Surprised nobody else has mentioned this one, Videoton at ER. Our first european game in about 10 years. Graham Mitchell's looping header. Also went to the away tie as well, 'oh the Houchy Houchy, oh the Houchy Houchy..' :thumbsup:

FraserHFC
03-09-2009, 02:20 PM
Please don't go to anymore European games - You're already a jinx. :greengrin

How that Vetra game managed to get played is beyond me. Remember Garry O' sliding though the rain sodden pitch at the FF end. It was monsoon time I tell ya. :agree:

To think that an England cricket game got cancelled the other night because someone spilt a glass of water on the pitch. :devil:

I was at the 5-0 Dinaburg and 2-1 Odense games aswell, so its not all that bad :greengrin

03-09-2009, 02:37 PM

The referee wanted to call it off, but the Lithuanians couldn't afford to book another night's accommodation and a change of flight home and said they'd withdraw. We should have been less sporting:greengrin.

My own first - 2-0 win over Vitoria Guimaeraes.

03-09-2009, 03:01 PM
vs Stavaenet Copenhagen 62/63 Fairs Cup which we won 4-0 and I was right at the front behind the goals and their goalie had a beard, funny how wee things like that stay in your memory

03-09-2009, 03:10 PM
The referee wanted to call it off, but the Lithuanians couldn't afford to book another night's accommodation and a change of flight home and said they'd withdraw. We should have been less sporting:greengrin.

My own first - 2-0 win over Vitoria Guimaeraes.

Coincidence how you mentioned the ref wanting to call off the Vetra match & then stating that the Portuguese side being you're first European game. After the away leg with Hibs playing in the heat of Portugal, Hibs next played Morton in Greenock & the game was abandoned after 33 minutes with the score 0-0, due to a downpour.

That season was the first time I had attended 35 Hibs league games in the 18 team league.

[They replayed the game the following year, around March & Hibs lost 2-1]:grr:.

03-09-2009, 03:14 PM
videoton, sitting in the auld coo shed,

brownlies bits
03-09-2009, 07:03 PM
Sporting Lisbon 6-1 what a team, what a time, feel lucky to have seen some of those players, Gordon O'Rourke Cropley Stanton Blackley Duncan Brownlie thats just some, startin to dream now need ma medication.

:bye:

03-09-2009, 07:06 PM
Surprised nobody else has mentioned this one, Videoton at ER. Our first european game in about 10 years. Graham Mitchell's looping header. Also went to the away tie as well, 'oh the Houchy Houchy, oh the Houchy Houchy..' :thumbsup:

Same with me - never made it to the away leg though!!

BH.

03-09-2009, 07:16 PM
Hibs 0 Dnipro 0

Im a part timer :greengrin

Wing Half
03-09-2009, 08:03 PM
Sporting Lisbon, we had no chance!!
Magic.

Trevmundo
03-09-2009, 08:15 PM
Anderlecht away - ah happy days. Probably more relieved to get off the Dover / Calais ferry alive though. Truckloads od Stickies on buses heading for Denmark I think - jeez I have never seen a Duty Free looted quite like the dirty govan did it. Jupiler 4ever

03-09-2009, 08:28 PM
1955 or 56
Versus Djurgardens IF , Sweden.
1 - 0 @ ER
3 - 1 away ( tie played at Firhill )
Agg 4 - 1

From memory Chick Charnley played for them around 1992/3

03-09-2009, 08:34 PM
Continuing the theme from another thread....

Mine was Norkopping (sp). 3-2 I think. Too wee to be taken to any of the big euro nights in the early 70's...unfortunately!

Mine too. 2-0 up and cruising then 2-2 but with Hibs shooting down the slope Tony Higgins scored a diving header. 0-0 in the away leg I believe.

gringojoe
03-09-2009, 09:00 PM
Norkopping first European home match.

03-09-2009, 09:08 PM
Videoton for me !

Tell you what though , respect to the oldies on this thread:thumbsup:

Some cracking matches being quoted. I remember my Dad telling me about them when he was lashed:greengrin

fife hfc
03-09-2009, 09:12 PM
Videoton. Too young for the older games.

borders.cabbage
03-09-2009, 10:43 PM
Another of the Videoton generation :greengrin
But how far out was Mitchell's header from ? I was only 8 at the time but remember being amazed that someone scoring a longe range header.

Luna_Asylum
04-09-2009, 07:05 AM

1-0 that was my first too

some atmosphere. biggest away support outside of infirm/yams I can remember 10K+

deek
04-09-2009, 07:11 AM
Hibs V Liverpool UEFA cup 75/76 Joe Harper penalty we won 1-0 at home lost 3-1 at Anfield. Liverpool won the cup that year.

Eggchaser
04-09-2009, 07:35 AM
Liege at home. In the cowshed. Houchen missed the penalty right in front of us. Wish I could remember something better in life than this.

04-09-2009, 08:27 AM
Hibs have played in Europe??!?!?

:shocked:

04-09-2009, 09:51 AM
Mines was Hibs v Leeds in the Fairs Cup Quarter Final 67/68 season.

1-1 at ER and we lost 1-0 at Leeds, they won the cup that year.

Remember Colin Stein playing for us and Jack Charlton for them.

God that was along time ago.

LHWM
04-09-2009, 06:32 PM
1955-09-14 Wed Rot-Weiss Essen 0 Hibs 4 European Cup A 5000 Eddie Turnbull;Eddie Turnbull;Lawrie Reilly;Willie Ormond;
1955-10-12 Wed Hibs 1 Rot-Weiss Essen 1 European Cup H 30000 J Buchanan;
1955-11-23 Wed Djurgaardens 1 Hibs 3 European Cup A 21962 Bobby Combe;J Mulkerrin;Own Goal;
1955-11-28 Mon Hibs 1 Djurgaardens 0 European Cup H 31346 Eddie Turnbull;
1956-04-04 Wed Stade de Reims 2 Hibs 0 European Cup A 35486 ;
1956-04-18 Wed Hibs 0 Stade de Reims 1 European Cup H 44941 ;
1960-10-18 Tue Lausanne Sports 0 Hibs 2 Fairs Cup A N/A;N/A; NB This was a 'walkover'
1960-11-09 Wed Hibs 0 Lausanne Sports 0 Fairs Cup H ;
1960-12-27 Tue Barcelona 4 Hibs 4 Fairs Cup A 32000 Joe Baker;Joe Baker;Tommy Preston;J McLeod;
1961-02-22 Wed Hibs 3 Barcelona 2 Fairs Cup H 45000 Joe Baker;Tommy Preston;B Kinloch;
1961-04-19 Wed Hibs 2 Roma 2 Fairs Cup H 35000 Joe Baker;J McLeod;
1961-04-26 Wed Roma 3 Hibs 3 Fairs Cup A 22000 Joe Baker;Joe Baker;B Kinloch;
1961-05-27 Sat Roma 6 Hibs 0 Fairs Cup A 50000 ;
1961-09-04 Mon Hibs 3 Belenenses 3 Fairs Cup H 20000 J Fraser;J Fraser;S Baird;
1961-09-27 Wed Belenenses 1 Hibs 3 Fairs Cup A 25000 J Baxter;J Baxter;E Stevenson;
1961-11-01 Wed Red Star Belgrade 4 Hibs 0 Fairs Cup A 25000 ;
1961-11-15 Wed Hibs 0 Red Star Belgrade 1 Fairs Cup H 9500 ;
1962-10-03 Wed Hibs 4 Staevnet Copenhagen 0 Fairs Cup H 4000 J Byrne;Gerry Baker;M Stevenson;Own Goal;
1962-10-23 Tue Staevnet Copenhagen 2 Hibs 3 Fairs Cup A 4500 M Stevenson;M Stevenson;J Byrne;
1962-11-27 Tue DOS Utrecht 0 Hibs 1 Fairs Cup A 12000 D Falconer;
1962-12-12 Wed Hibs 2 DOS Utrecht 1 Fairs Cup H 5000 Gerry Baker;M Stevenson;
1963-03-13 Wed Valencia 5 Hibs 0 Fairs Cup A 13000 ;
1963-04-03 Wed Hibs 2 Valencia 1 Fairs Cup H 4000 Tommy Preston;Gerry Baker;
1965-09-08 Wed Hibs 2 Valencia 0 Fairs Cup H 19000 J Scott;J McNamee;
1965-10-12 Tue Valencia 2 Hibs 0 Fairs Cup A 44000 ;
1965-11-03 Wed Valencia 3 Hibs 0 Fairs Cup A 43100 ;
1967-09-20 Wed Hibs 3 Porto 0 Fairs Cup H 14200 Peter Cormack;Peter Cormack;E Stevenson;
1967-10-04 Wed Porto 3 Hibs 1 Fairs Cup A 40000 J Davis;
1967-11-22 Wed Napoli 4 Hibs 1 Fairs Cup A 30000 C Stein;
1967-11-29 Wed Hibs 5 Napoli 0 Fairs Cup H 21000 R Duncan;Pat Stanton;P Quinn;C Stein;Peter Cormack;
1967-12-20 Wed Leeds United 1 Hibs 0 Fairs Cup A 31522 ;
1968-01-10 Wed Hibs 1 Leeds United 1 Fairs Cup H 30000 C Stein;
1968-09-18 Wed Olympia Ljubljana 0 Hibs 3 Fairs Cup A 3000 E Stevenson;C Stein;Own Goal;
1968-10-02 Wed Hibs 2 Olympia Ljubljana 1 Fairs Cup H 10445 J Davis;J Davis;
1968-11-13 Wed Hibs 3 Lokomotiv Leipzig 1 Fairs Cup H 11000 J McBride;J McBride;J McBride;
1968-11-20 Wed Lokomotiv Leipzig 0 Hibs 1 Fairs Cup A 10000 C Grant;
1968-12-18 Wed Hamburg 1 Hibs 0 Fairs Cup A 7000 ;
1969-01-15 Wed Hibs 2 Hamburg 1 Fairs Cup H 27399 J McBride;J McBride;
1970-09-16 Wed Hibs 6 Malmo 0 Fairs Cup H 11165 J McBride;J McBride;J McBride;Arthur Duncan;Arthur Duncan;J Blair;
1970-09-30 Wed Malmo 2 Hibs 3 Fairs Cup A 1900 B Duncan;Pat Stanton;W McEwan;
1970-10-14 Wed Hibs 2 Vitoria Guimaraes 0 Fairs Cup H 11406 Arthur Duncan;Pat Stanton;
1970-10-28 Wed Vitoria Guimaraes 2 Hibs 1 Fairs Cup A 5700 A Graham;
1970-12-09 Wed Hibs 0 Liverpool 1 Fairs Cup H 30296 ;
1970-12-22 Tue Liverpool 2 Hibs 0 Fairs Cup A 37815 ;
1972-09-13 Wed Sporting Lisbon 2 Hibs 1 ECWC A 30000 Arthur Duncan;
1972-09-27 Wed Hibs 6 Sporting Lisbon 1 ECWC H 26041 A Gordon;A Gordon;Jimmy O'Rourke;Jimmy O'Rourke;Jimmy O'Rourke;Own Goal;
1972-10-25 Wed Hibs 7 Besa 1 ECWC H 22293 A Cropley;Jimmy O'Rourke;Jimmy O'Rourke;Jimmy O'Rourke;Arthur Duncan;Arthur Duncan;J Brownlie;
1972-11-08 Wed Besa 1 Hibs 1 ECWC A 20000 A Gordon;
1973-03-07 Wed Hibs 4 Hadjuk Split 2 ECWC H 28424 A Gordon;A Gordon;A Gordon;Arthur Duncan;
1973-03-21 Wed Hajduk Split 3 Hibs 0 ECWC A 25000 ;
1973-09-19 Wed Hibs 2 IB Keflavik 0 UEFA Cup H 13652 J Black;T Higgins;
1973-10-03 Wed IB Keflavik 1 Hibs 1 UEFA Cup A 3514 Pat Stanton;
1973-10-24 Wed Leeds United 0 Hibs 0 UEFA Cup A 27157 ;
1973-11-07 Wed Hibs 0 Leeds United 0 UEFA Cup H 36051 ;
1974-09-18 Wed Rosenborg 2 Hibs 3 UEFA Cup A 6537 Pat Stanton;A Gordon;A Cropley;
1974-10-02 Wed Hibs 9 Rosenborg 1 UEFA Cup H 12379 J Harper;J Harper;I Munro;I Munro;Pat Stanton;Pat Stanton;A Cropley;A Cropley;A Gordon;
1974-10-23 Wed Hibs 2 Juventus 4 UEFA Cup H 28963 Pat Stanton;A Cropley;
1974-11-06 Wed Juventus 4 Hibs 0 UEFA Cup A 17989 ;
1975-09-17 Wed Hibs 1 Liverpool 0 UEFA Cup H 19219 J Harper;
1975-09-30 Tue Liverpool 3 Hibs 1 UEFA Cup A 29963 A Edwards;
1976-09-15 Wed Hibs 1 Sochaux 0 UEFA Cup H 9454 J Brownlie;
1976-09-29 Wed Sochaux 0 Hibs 0 UEFA Cup A 10000 ;
1976-10-20 Wed Hibs 2 Osters Vaxjo 0 UEFA Cup H 12000 J Blackley;J Brownlie;
1976-11-03 Wed Osters Vaxjo 4 Hibs 1 UEFA Cup A 1715 B Smith;
1978-09-13 Wed Hibs 3 IFK Norrkoping 2 UEFA Cup H 10000 T Higgins;T Higgins;W Temperley;
1978-09-27 Wed IFK Norrkoping 0 Hibs 0 UEFA Cup A 1300 ;
1978-10-18 Wed Strasbourg 2 Hibs 0 UEFA Cup A 25000 ;
1978-11-01 Wed Hibs 1 Strasbourg 0 UEFA Cup H 14662 Alexander MacLeod;
1989-09-12 Tue Hibs 1 Videoton 0 UEFA Cup H 14000 G Mitchell;
1989-09-26 Tue Videoton 0 Hibs 3 UEFA Cup A 18000 K Houchen;G Evans;J Collins;
1989-10-18 Wed Hibs 0 Standard Liege 0 UEFA Cup H 18000 ;
1989-10-31 Tue Standard Liege 1 Hibs 0 UEFA Cup A 13000 ;
1992-09-15 Tue Hibs 2 Anderlecht 2 UEFA Cup H 14188 D Beaumont;P McGinlay;
1992-09-29 Tue Anderlecht 1 Hibs 1 UEFA Cup A 22000 D Jackson;
2001-09-20 Thu AEK Athens 2 Hibs 0 UEFA Cup A 15525 ;
2001-09-27 Thu Hibs 3 AEK Athens 2 UEFA Cup H 16647 P Luna;P Luna;D Zitelli;
2005-09-15 Thu Hibs 0 Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk 0 UEFA Cup H 16861 ;
2005-09-29 Thu Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk 5 Hibs 1 UEFA Cup A 10000 Derek Riordan;

04-09-2009, 06:39 PM
Sorry to be a pedant, LHWM, but it wasn't Standard Liege that we played. It was FC Liege. Different team.

That said, brilliant summary.

My first was the Hamburg game. Couldn't understand how we won the game, drew overall, and still lost!!

04-09-2009, 06:40 PM
16 Sept 1970 6 - 0 Malmo. Didn't miss many games in Europe after that until AEK.

Videoton was a pain though. Had to leave with about 15 mins to go to get to the Playhouse to see the Eurythmics. Fortunately not a lot happened after Mitch headed the winner.

MM19
04-09-2009, 06:40 PM

I wish I had kept a diary because I can't remember half the games I attended. :grr:
Me too

LHWM
04-09-2009, 07:10 PM
Sorry to be a pedant, LHWM, but it wasn't Standard Liege that we played. It was FC Liege. Different team.

I've got in correct in my European results list (http://www.londonhearts.com/europe/hibernian.htm)

I'll update my Hibs results. Ta.

Their full name is

Royal Football Club de Liège

04-09-2009, 07:19 PM
2-0 v Valencia 1965

04-09-2009, 07:22 PM
The 9-1 game wasn't in 1974. My girlfriend was there with me, didn't meet her till New Year's Day 1976.

LHWM
04-09-2009, 08:32 PM
The 9-1 game wasn't in 1974. My girlfriend was there with me, didn't meet her till New Year's Day 1976.

Must have been a different girl :wink:

See here (http://www.statto.com/football/stats/results/1974-10-02)

04-09-2009, 10:36 PM
LHWM has put me right. Vitoria Guimaraes was my first game i thought it was the Liverpool one. Nobody has mentioned this game against Gornick Zagreb have i just imagined it. Sure it was a mid season friendly of some sort.

LHWM
04-09-2009, 10:45 PM
LHWM has put me right. Vitoria Guimaraes was my first game i thought it was the Liverpool one. Nobody has mentioned this game against Gornick Zagreb have i just imagined it. Sure it was a mid season friendly of some sort.

1969-12-08 Mon Hibs 1 Gornik Zabrze 2 Friendly H

04-09-2009, 11:32 PM
1969-12-08 Mon Hibs 1 Gornik Zabrze 2 Friendly H

Knew there was a Z in it somewhere, cheers mate :greengrin

LHWM
04-09-2009, 11:41 PM
Knew there was a Z in it somewhere, cheers mate :greengrin

Gornik is Polish for Miner.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G%C3%B3rnik_Zabrze

05-09-2009, 08:58 AM

The game came just a couple of weeks or so after Gornick had put Rangers out of the Cup Winners Cup, having won both legs 3-1, they went on to put out Roma in the semi's but got beat by the great Man City team of that day in the final.

Gornick had the great Włodzimierz Lubanski playing for them & he was magical against both Rangers and Hibs. He destroyed England during the famous Poland 2-0 world cup qualifier where later in the game, a Roy McFarland tackle damaged his cruciate ligament and put him out of football for two years, he was never the same player after that. In the last group game, Poland, without Lubanski, went on to put England out of the 1974 finals, after the 0-0 Wembley draw when Brian Clough famously described the Polish keeper a clown.

PS. During the game at ER, Hibs gave a far better account of themselves than Rangers had in the two legs they played, but Gornick simply oozed class.

da-robster
05-09-2009, 05:52 PM
Hibs Dnipro.

Midweek game quite a boring 0-0 draw.

hibbybrian
05-09-2009, 06:06 PM
Hibs V Liverpool UEFA cup 75/76 Joe Harper penalty we won 1-0 at home lost 3-1 at Anfield. Liverpool won the cup that year.

IIRC Joe scored with a tap in at the north end and John Brownlie missed the penalty at the dunbar end :confused: and it was a bit damp that evening :greengrin

deek
05-09-2009, 06:39 PM
IIRC Joe scored with a tap in at the north end and John Brownlie missed the penalty at the dunbar end :confused: and it was a bit damp that evening :greengrin

You do recall better than me but then I was only a wee laddie then and all I can remember from my own mind is a penalty. But as the article says here after some research by my good self, Harper cracked it in. A home win but not quite enough.

http://sport.scotsman.com/spl/Classic-Match-Hibs-1-Liverpool.4536969.jp

Luna_Asylum
05-09-2009, 06:45 PM
Hibs Dnipro.

Midweek game quite a boring 0-0 draw.

unusual for a european tie?

Horse
06-09-2009, 02:04 AM
FC Liege at ER. Houchen missed a penalty. At least I think that was my first European game - alcohol plus various other substances (allegedly) have rendered my memory unreliable!

Horse
06-09-2009, 02:08 AM
And by the way - there was far more than 18000 in Easter Road that night we played Standard Liege, my memory may be poor but I remember being shoulder to shoulder in he East terrace and the the Dunbar end looked just as packed. Well over 20,000 there that night, probably closer to 25,000.

06-09-2009, 10:02 AM

I think that was my first one. Did we win 3-0?

06-09-2009, 11:41 AM
Must have been a different girl :wink:

See here (http://www.statto.com/football/stats/results/1974-10-02)

That's weird. We are both convinced (married now) that we were at that game but I met her on New Year's day 1976, just after we beat your lot 3-0.

Must be getting senile...:greengrin

LHWM
06-09-2009, 01:15 PM
That's weird. We are both convinced (married now) that we were at that game but I met her on New Year's day 1976, just after we beat your lot 3-0.

Must be getting senile...:greengrin

Its funny how time plays trick with your memory.

We were supposedly 'up for it'. It was a miserable cold, wet and windy afternoon. Absolutely miserable soaked to the skin. Hibs got 3 goals in quick succesion around the 20 minute mark. Game over. On the bus back to Musselburgh by half time.

06-09-2009, 01:31 PM
Its funny how time plays trick with your memory.

We were supposedly 'up for it'. It was a miserable cold, wet and windy afternoon. Absolutely miserable soaked to the skin. Hibs got 3 goals in quick succesion around the 20 minute mark. Game over. On the bus back to Musselburgh by half time.

My late dad was a hearts fan, he took me to ER in the mid sixties for what I think was a new year derby, hibs led 2-0 at HT & under protest, he led me from the ground as the HT whistle blew.

We went to my grandparents [his side], who lived at Hutchison & he promptly fell asleep on the armchair. I was too young to be that worried about the result, so I took great delight to wake him as the scores came through on the telly & hearts had won 3-2.

I got a neighbour, who was a steward at ER to take me to games after that & he supported the proper team.:greengrin

Feed McGraw
06-09-2009, 01:32 PM
My first was 3-0 v. Porto 1967 went on to see all european games that season v. Napoli and Leeds too.