Snooker.

(Can one call that a sport?)

McSwanky
02-09-2009, 11:30 AM
Curling.

Straws clutching at....

02-09-2009, 11:30 AM
Complaining and always seeing the down-sides. World Champs.

02-09-2009, 11:31 AM
Cycling?

Velma Dinkley
02-09-2009, 11:32 AM
shinty

Marty-Hibee
02-09-2009, 11:34 AM
Elephant Polo:cool2:

aljo7-0
02-09-2009, 11:36 AM
Drinking ?

if only Carlesberg did sports.

Fish
Elephant Polo (just beaten to it)

Our Rugby team is not to bad, especially now that captain haddock has been binned

For starters........

Football - loosing status
golf loosing status
Tennis OK Murray

We won the equivalent of the world cup in golf last year, with Montgomerie and Laird!

Granted, we don't have a major winner from the past x amount of decades right enough...

Agree with the general sentiment of your post though!

Pie and pint scranning contest, we'd romp that :cool2:

02-09-2009, 11:37 AM
Lawn Bowls
Despite our summer weather, we actually are right up there as one of the Top nations, if not THE TOP

euro Hibby
02-09-2009, 11:38 AM
did we not win the world championship for curling this year ?

02-09-2009, 11:40 AM
The caber toss?

:duck:

crombie
02-09-2009, 11:41 AM
Worlds greatest all-round Rock Climber - Dave Macleod :clapper:

TheEastTerrace
02-09-2009, 11:46 AM
We're not bad at swimming given the decent results from the Melbourne Commonwealth Games, granted 3 years ago. Yes, I know it's just the Commonwealth.

Mountain Biking, Cycling, Shinty comes to mind too.

I think what happens in this country is that Football and Rugby, possibly also Golf, dominate the media agenda and hence the successes in more minority sports get buried beneath the coverage of the major sports. Thus, you probably don't hear about other Scottish triumphs so much unless it's a international tournament or games.

02-09-2009, 11:53 AM
We won the equivalent of the world cup in golf last year, with Montgomerie and Laird!

Granted, we don't have a major winner from the past x amount of decades right enough...

Paul Lawrie 99 Open Champion.

supershotmo
02-09-2009, 11:54 AM
Dominoes

(((Fergus)))
02-09-2009, 11:54 AM
Couple of good Scottish sailors coming through - OK, one of them is half-Italian.

Edinburgh Green
02-09-2009, 11:55 AM

Being pedantic, it was Monty and Marc Warren :nerd:

02-09-2009, 12:00 PM
We're not bad at swimming given the decent results from the Melbourne Commonwealth Games, granted 3 years ago. Yes, I know it's just the Commonwealth.

Mountain Biking, Cycling, Shinty comes to mind too.

I think what happens in this country is that Football and Rugby, possibly also Golf, dominate the media agenda and hence the successes in more minority sports get buried beneath the coverage of the major sports. Thus, you probably don't hear about other Scottish triumphs so much unless it's a international tournament or games.

True...

The only sports that dominate here, are the sports that England do well in. :grr:

02-09-2009, 12:33 PM

Paul Lawrie, won a Major within the last 10 years.

Spelling - losing status...:grr:

02-09-2009, 12:40 PM
Couple of good Scottish sailors coming through - OK, one of them is half-Italian.What one Mario or Dougie :wink:

borders.cabbage
02-09-2009, 12:54 PM
Elephant Polo (just beaten to it)

Our Rugby team is not to bad, especially now that captain haddock has been binned

3 wins from our last 15 six nations games would suggest otherwise.

Mag7
02-09-2009, 01:22 PM
At present curling is the only sport we are genuinely 'world class' at plus we have one 'world class' tennis player. That's it.

02-09-2009, 01:50 PM
At present curling is the only sport we are genuinely 'world class' at plus we have one 'world class' tennis player. That's it.

Bowls as well.

We have the best players in the world and often win major national events.

Woody70x2
02-09-2009, 01:52 PM
We are generally quite good at most sports that involve sitting down!

02-09-2009, 01:53 PM
F1 Motor racing and Rallying, more than our fair share of world champions.:thumbsup:

Clark, Stewart, MacRea, Franchiti, etc.

aljo7-0
02-09-2009, 01:54 PM
We are generally quite good at most sports that involve sitting down!
Yup cycling and Chris Hoy

02-09-2009, 02:04 PM
More than a few Scots kicking around in the upper levels of motor racing and we should have the highly rated Paul Di Resta in F1 within a couple of years.

My question is, why should Scotland not being 'World Class' at football be a surprise? I mean I understand that we automatically compare ourselves to England, being our nearest neighbour, but from a population of 5 million I think Scotland has done extraordinarily well in sporting terms; how many other nations our size can claim to have produced the talents we have over the years in football, rugby, motorsport, cycling, golf etc etc.

Can we put things into perspective before we launch into the negativity?

02-09-2009, 03:41 PM
At the Scottish Championships we always win :greengrin

Bunter
02-09-2009, 04:00 PM
Judo.
We have two fighters who are consistently among the medals when they get handed out.
Euan Burton & Sarah Clark.
Quite a few others up & coming.

EskbankHibby
02-09-2009, 04:13 PM
Would fancy us in the heart disease and stroke world championships and we'd certainly give Ireland a run in the liver cirrhosis olympics.

02-09-2009, 04:18 PM
Tae Kwon Do

Team gold in 2007 for this lot (http://www.highbeam.com/doc/1G1-173000885.html)

machibby
02-09-2009, 04:21 PM
Mens World Stone Skimming Champions :thumbsup:

London Hibee
02-09-2009, 04:46 PM
Having lived in London for the last 21 years, its a question I've often been taunted with.

Over the years I have learned to deflect this with a (poor) attempt at humour, by responding that we're only ever world class at sports you can actually play in the pub, so Darts and Snooker, which at various times have been true

02-09-2009, 04:47 PM
Sun Burning
Wearing naff OF shirts on beach holiday's
West coast soap dodging
Deep frying food champions
Heart attack champions( see above )
The oh so nearly team that didn't quite make it to the finals.

02-09-2009, 04:58 PM
We're good at drinking sub-standard alcoholic drinks.
I'm off to Prague shortly to drink the best beer in the world at an affordable price!

sundo1875
02-09-2009, 05:10 PM
Letting us down (football):boo hoo::boo hoo:

02-09-2009, 05:12 PM
We've been world class or had really world class performers in most sports in the last 20 years except for football.

02-09-2009, 05:22 PM
Sakai Karate from Kilmarnock have had champions World and European level.
Willie Lincoln from Kilmarnock has twice been World Powerlifting champion.

02-09-2009, 05:58 PM
Homeless football? Did we not do well in a worldcup?

02-09-2009, 06:52 PM
Homeless football? Did we not do well in a worldcup?

Yes we're good at jaikie football.

02-09-2009, 06:59 PM
shinty

That's the one.

02-09-2009, 07:07 PM
Drinking ?

if only Carlesberg did sports.

Would fancy us in the heart disease and stroke world championships and we'd certainly give Ireland a run in the liver cirrhosis olympics.

And that is why the UK is *****.

02-09-2009, 07:12 PM
smoking, drinking and bowel cancer.

02-09-2009, 07:21 PM
For starters........

golf loosing status
Tennis OK Murray

Gash spelling apparently :cool2:

Elephant Polo is one is it not, and sports that only we do aka Shinty and tossing the caber.

02-09-2009, 07:40 PM
defo world class at karate[scottish team been doing brilliant for years]

02-09-2009, 07:40 PM
For starters........

golf loosing status
Tennis OK Murray

I know your post was meant to be negative but Tennis - OK. He's number 2 in the world FFS (if that's still the case).

There are few sports where one country has the top spots on the world stage taken up apart from some athletics, long distance running, 100 metres etc.

southfieldshibby
02-09-2009, 08:20 PM
Deep Frying:greengrin

02-09-2009, 08:33 PM
World class deprecators......:rolleyes:

Joe Baker II
03-09-2009, 09:12 AM
Kind of irrelvant argument plus the fact it depends on an effective definition of "world class".

There is much more competition in football than all the other sports referred too and given our relatively small pool we are still (just at times I concede) keeping afloat. Without wishing to suggest that acceptance of failure to qualify for tournaments/our clubs not having decent European runs should be tolerated, it has to be pointed out that there are some countries with more than 5 million who have arguably performed better than Scotland at football, many more who arguably have not.

In any case comparing football, a team sport, to individual sports is meaningless, team sports are harder for smaller countries to compete in, any country can have a portfollio of people allegedly "world class" in some individual sports at any one time - competing effectively at a team sport played all over the world where population matters more is a different matter. And at club level financial issues make comparisons with larger countries often meaningless in football.

Fish
03-09-2009, 09:18 AM

3 wins from our last 15 six nations games would suggest otherwise.

Yup recent history is not great, However, I think the coach can take a huge amount of the blame for many of the performances, team selections (somewhat baffling at times), training methods and moving us away from the traditional ruck and drive of the Scotland game to one encompassing the rolling maul which in my book is anti-rugby.

Having seen what Andy Robinson has achieved at Edinburgh, it appears we have the players to start moving forward and returning us to the the exciting game that I grew up with.

03-09-2009, 10:12 AM
F! Motorsport
Rally
Bowls
Curling
Snooker
Homeless fitba
Tennis
Cycling
Sailing
Karate(seemingly)

Theres alot more to add

Its quite surpising for a tiny nation how well we have actually done in world sports,and if you take fitba out of the equation we should be pretty damn proud, of what we have achieved and are achieving.Just cos the national teams doin gash shouldnt detract from other sports which are excelling,thats if you can call snooker a sport of course.

majorhibs
03-09-2009, 10:15 AM
For starters........

golf loosing status
Tennis OK Murray

Cynicism

borders.cabbage
03-09-2009, 10:32 PM
Yup recent history is not great, However, I think the coach can take a huge amount of the blame for many of the performances, team selections (somewhat baffling at times), training methods and moving us away from the traditional ruck and drive of the Scotland game to one encompassing the rolling maul which in my book is anti-rugby.

Having seen what Andy Robinson has achieved at Edinburgh, it appears we have the players to start moving forward and returning us to the the exciting game that I grew up with.

Like football it's the people running the game that are the problem. The SRU have made an erse of it since rugby turned pro. Ireland and Wales are miles ahead of us now and if it wasn't for Italy, Scotland would finish last 4 out of every 5 years in the 6 nations.The likes of Fiji and Samoa are now overtaking us in the world rankings FFS.

03-09-2009, 10:44 PM
F! Motorsport

You can add Indycar Racing.

04-09-2009, 12:29 AM
Moaning about, well, everything.

04-09-2009, 06:39 AM
Cooking believe it or not. Not sure how many golds we got at the last Culinary Olympics but we usually get a few.