View Full Version : Was your first ever football game a Hibs match?

Alicky Ranks
02-09-2009, 11:07 AM
One to while away the time in international week. The first game I went to wasn't a Hibs game. It was QPR v West Ham.

02-09-2009, 11:09 AM
Thirds at Cathkin.

02-09-2009, 11:12 AM
I didn't "get into football" until I was about 12/13 - not watching it/supporting anyone anyway. My uncle was a ST holder at Ibrox and decided to take me along to Rangers vs Falkirk, when they were in the Premier League the last time around - it was during the Laudrup/Albertz/McCoist era, when the fitbaw was watchable, even if only for the skill of Laudrup!

Safe to say, I didn't get the bug though, and it took me a couple of years to find a team I was comfortable with! Even that didn't last, and now I'm where I am!

davemcbain
02-09-2009, 11:17 AM
Yes, Brora Rangers vs Hibs - can't even remember when it was (mid 70's). My dad drove us across from the west coast for a pre-season friendly and then decided to sit in the car rather than watch the game because "they probably don't even have seats at Brora"...funny what sticks in your mind.

02-09-2009, 11:18 AM
Nope.

My dad tried to bring me up as a Sellick fan, so my first match was Parkhead, Celtic vs QoS I think.

euro Hibby
02-09-2009, 11:23 AM
no Rangers versus somebody in the days of Orjan Person .....my uncle was a fan but conversion was never quite completed. I think I was about 8 years old. At 11 I was a committed Hibby which was an easy choice as we played some lovely football in the early 70 's

02-09-2009, 11:28 AM
vs Bolton Wanderers in a pre season friendly 1962, still have the prog

OtterHibee
02-09-2009, 12:17 PM
Nope.

I didn't take an interest in football until I was 8, and was never encouraged to support any particular team. The family either don't bother about football or are neutrals, aside from my Sheepie gran, and great aunt who has an ST with Celtic.

My first few were all Dunfermline games due to my dad getting complimentaries through his work, which probably explains why I have a bit of a soft spot for the Pars despite coming from Kirkcaldy. That was when I was about 9.

My first Hibs game was about 2/3 years after that, and was at Tannadice rather than Easter Road. Haven't looked back since.

ruthven_raiders
02-09-2009, 12:24 PM
My late dad(ex-hibs player) took me to hibs reserves v rangers reserves 1965-66 when i was 3 years old:o) I took my son to his first match when he was 2 and a half!

02-09-2009, 12:25 PM
My first ever game was at Halifax Town, We were all ballboys from Primary School.

I dont remember nothing of the game but what I do remember is that it snowed, the pitched was fully covered. As we looked along the line one lad kept moving closer and closer to the pitch without knowing. He then picked the ball up and he was actually standing on the pitch :faf::faf:

The shay at the time had a speedway track round it and thats how he ended up getting so close.

02-09-2009, 12:47 PM
my first game was Celtic vs Dundee Utd 1991 - my dad's (hes a hibee) mate was a dundee utd season ticket holder and got us tickets for the old jungle as they call it!

just so happened that my mum went into labour that day with my brother!

02-09-2009, 12:52 PM
I'm proud to say that this was my first ever Hibs game --------- and what a game to be introduced to the mighty Hibernian!

http://www.hibs.net/londonhibs/hhht/issue22/hibs_2-0.htm

02-09-2009, 12:54 PM
No - i was a Celtic fan until i was about 13 :hide:

.SeventyFive
02-09-2009, 01:04 PM
First was a Hibs game which I remember very little of. The first game I remember was a 3-1 win over Stenhousmuir in the early 90's.

02-09-2009, 01:11 PM
No - Meadowbank vs Berwick Rangers in 1985/86.

First Hibs game was at home vs Morton when Andy Goram scored from a kick-out.

02-09-2009, 01:12 PM
Early-mid seventies. First game I recall was 1-4 v Hearts at Tynecastle and first home game was 5-0 v Morton. Anyone know where I might find out when the Morton game was?

02-09-2009, 01:14 PM
I think my first game was at Easter Road against Dundee.

I was just a wee laddie at the time.

I mind saying to my dad...

"Dad... who's winning?"

And my dad replied....

"They are still just warming up son" :greengrin

OtterHibee
02-09-2009, 01:17 PM
Early-mid seventies. First game I recall was 1-4 v Hearts at Tynecastle and first home game was 5-0 v Morton. Anyone know where I might find out when the Morton game was?

http://www.hibs.co.uk/data/index.php?table_name=Results&page=0&function=search&execute_search=1

There are a couple in the early 70's listed there.

number 27
02-09-2009, 01:17 PM
Peterborough against someone in red and white, possibly Exeter :dunno:

Around 1972/73. Parents came home to Edinburgh shortly after. Was still a Hibby from birth though :agree:

HibeeUnderwood
02-09-2009, 01:18 PM
Yeah my first ever game was Hibs vs Hamilton accies in the late 90's. I went home at half time because I wasn't enjoying it due to me being quite small and lively!

I then saw Southend play Peterborough United in a friendly in the summer of 1999. Stayed for that one but still didn't enjoy it that much!

I then saw Hibs play Dundee Utd in January 2002(Big break but I'd grown up a wee bit) and it was good, despite losing 1-0 and playing pish!

02-09-2009, 01:55 PM
Yup, first game was Hibs v Coventry. Not sure what year that was tbh. Gordan Strachan's testimonial IIRC.:agree:

banarc7062
02-09-2009, 01:59 PM
Certainly was .......at ER against the jambo's when I was about six. I remember standing supported on the wall right at the top of the East Terracing when we had the top section. Ah the memories:thumbsup:

cheltenhamhibee
02-09-2009, 02:03 PM
hibs v ayr utd on 16-12-1972, won 8-1, no a bad introduction for my first game:thumbsup:

Velma Dinkley
02-09-2009, 02:03 PM
Dumbarton

gringojoe
02-09-2009, 02:19 PM
v Dundee Utd, mid 70's, Hamish McAlpine looked young!

02-09-2009, 02:19 PM
This has annoyed me for a long time because I am not sure although I am almost 100% sure it was at Easter Road against Stirling Albion. What I can't remember is was it the 6-0 or 5-2 win. Up until recently I thought it was the 5-2 match but am now swaying towards 6-0.

So 6-0 against Stirling Albion at Easter Road in 1966 (I think).

fergal7
02-09-2009, 02:21 PM
Yes. v Falkirk sept 1968. 3-2 win.

My old man is a jambo and i will be ever greatfull that he could not be arsed to take me to the football and let me make my own mind up.:agree:

02-09-2009, 02:29 PM

Soccerbase is a great site. You can find all head to head games and sometimes it will give the attendance and scorers.

http://www.soccerbase.com/players.sd

02-09-2009, 02:32 PM
Sad to report it was Los Yambolino's versus Motherwell at Slimecastle. My father and older brother were fans and took me along, but I couldn't stand the abominable smell, the horror of the district and stadium, and most of all its rancid contents.

Mag7
02-09-2009, 02:58 PM

Couple of 5-0 wins over Morton on soccerbase, 1968/69 and 1973/74.

02-09-2009, 03:00 PM
Stirling Albion 1 Hibernian 0 - April 1st 1967.

Many years later I discovered it was my future brother-in-law (Dave Grant)

who scored the goal................,

:boo hoo:

02-09-2009, 03:08 PM
YES.

10.03.1976 Motherwell home 1-1 aet Scottish Cup 5th Round Replay

02-09-2009, 03:08 PM
Hibs v Celtic at ER.

I was 6.

We lost 2-0! - McAvennie & Walker I think!

Stood in the Cowshed!!!

02-09-2009, 03:12 PM
Soccerbase is a great site. You can find all head to head games and sometimes it will give the attendance and scorers.

http://www.soccerbase.com/players.sd

Great site. Interesting trivia: Dunfermline have beaten East Fife 18 times, but have lost to them 28 times.

02-09-2009, 03:15 PM
Yup, first game was Hibs v Coventry. Not sure what year that was tbh. Gordan Strachan's testimonial IIRC.:agree:
Why would Hibs stage a testimonial for GS?

Surely you mean Gordon Hunter's testimonial in which GS played one half for Hibs?

hibsdaft
02-09-2009, 03:16 PM
Hibs vs Alloa in the League Cup, 1989. was taken by a friend and his dad.

we sat in the Cowshed and won 2-0.

02-09-2009, 03:20 PM
Great site. Interesting trivia: Dunfermline have beaten East Fife 18 times, but have lost to them 28 times.

You've too much time on your hands Bob. :wink:

02-09-2009, 03:22 PM
Sad to report it was Los Yambolino's versus Motherwell at Slimecastle. My father and older brother were fans and took me along, but I couldn't stand the abominable smell, the horror of the district and stadium, and most of all its rancid contents.

Superb. :faf::faf:

02-09-2009, 03:31 PM
My first match was Manchester United against Wolves which I think ended 3-0 to the Rags. I have had an irrational hatred of them ever since.

Shortly afterwards I saw Manchester City beaten 3-0 at home by Blackpool. I went for the next match and City beat the double winning Tottenham side 1-0. United just about stayed up that season but won the FA Cup while City went down.

02-09-2009, 03:34 PM
IIRC 1-1 Celtic at ER 1987.

Anyone watching from afar whilst still waiting to attend ER (ala Lawson?)

duncs
02-09-2009, 03:39 PM
Hibs 2-0 Dunfermline Athletic

27th October 1991, Skol Cup Final, Hampden Park, Glasgow

What a way to start, sadly they weren't all like that!

02-09-2009, 03:45 PM
Meadowbank Thistle v Aberdeen......think it was the Drybrough Cup or League Cup. Aberdeen pumped them, but I just always remember freezing my 8 year old plums off (or raisins back then) in that main stand.......the very same one that stands there today. That's progress for ya eh :greengrin

02-09-2009, 04:00 PM
I'm ashamed to say it was the Yams against Brechin in a cup game i think, yams won 4 - 1 luckily i was too wee and wanted home at half time. :greengrin

02-09-2009, 04:02 PM

:grr: Gloryhunter. :agree:

:duck:

02-09-2009, 04:04 PM
No - i was a Celtic fan until i was about 13 :hide:

Hi Yogi....

lEXO
02-09-2009, 04:06 PM
YES.

10.03.1976 Motherwell home 1-1 aet Scottish Cup 5th Round Replay

This was mine as well.Pat Stanton scored a header right in front of me down the slope.I was hooked anyway,but this just made me more determined to see more games.

02-09-2009, 04:08 PM
1979, SC-QF at Easter Road

Hibs 2 - Hearts - 1

02-09-2009, 04:13 PM
Why would Hibs stage a testimonial for GS?

Surely you mean Gordon Hunter's testimonial in which GS played one half for Hibs?

Enter one Joe Tortalano! I'll never forget when Joe hurtled into Strachan in the opening few minutes and our honoured guest must have ended up in about row zz!

There was a deafening hush from the crowd as if to say "what the *ell was that all about?!"

I'm sure super Joe got his marching orders - or was he diplomatically subbed?

therealgavmac
02-09-2009, 04:17 PM
This was mine as well.Pat Stanton scored a header right in front of me down the slope.I was hooked anyway,but this just made me more determined to see more games.

Not mine but I was at the first game which was a 3-3 draw. That day was when you could get Eastern Scottish football specials from St Andrews Square. Early that morning, Jumbos took one to a game up north, they were running round like headless chickens when we all arived and ended up with 24 double deckers - and IIRC Willie Pettigrew had them two up by the time we got into the ground. Ahhh those days.......

BTW my first game - I was lifted over around about 1968 into a Celtic game - don't know the score - too wee to see anything so left and went to Pilrig Park for a game of two-aside (10 half time, 21 the winner!)

02-09-2009, 04:21 PM
Enter one Joe Tortalano! I'll never forget when Joe hurtled into Strachan in the opening few minutes and our honoured guest must have ended up in about row zz!

There was a deafening hush from the crowd as if to say "what the *ell was that all about?!"

I'm sure super Joe got his marching orders - or was he diplomatically subbed?

Funnily enough I read an article about that game earlier today. He got his marching orders.

http://www.hibs.co.uk/news/more.php?id=1540_0_1_0_C

02-09-2009, 04:27 PM
hibs v ayr utd on 16-12-1972, won 8-1, no a bad introduction for my first game:thumbsup:

Same one for me. I was taken by my Uncle who was one of those throw backs to a time long gone. He was an Edinburgh supporter in that he wanted us and hertz both to win but at least he took me to ER and never tried to take me there.

02-09-2009, 04:29 PM
Interesting how many folk here went to their first matches as "fans" of a different team under influcence of family but then ended up as Hibs fans, myself included.

It certainly would have been a much easier option to be a Celtc fan as my dad intended, but somehow it was never quite right.

therealgavmac
02-09-2009, 04:32 PM
Interesting how many folk here went to their first matches as "fans" of a different team under influcence of family but then ended up as Hibs fans, myself included.

It certainly would have been a much easier option to be a Celtc fan as my dad intended, but somehow it was never quite right.

I said this a long time ago on another thread here - my Dad was a Jambo, but bless him as I wanted to be a Hibbie he took me to Easter Road all the time - the only time he was ever at Tynecastle was if Hibs were there - and until the day he died I thanked him for taking me to the 7-0 game - that hurt him bad too.

jakedance
02-09-2009, 04:41 PM
My Dad, being a rubgy man with little interest in the beautiful game, took me to Tynecastle for my first game. They won 4-0 but I couldn't put up with all the ugly maroon and scarf twirling nonsense. I think some wee Yam behind me was mean to me too because I was wearing a Scotland scarf and hat and he had all the Hearts stuff.

My next game was a Scottish Cup semi-final between Dundee and Dundee United, again at Tynecastle. My first Hibs match was a Scottish Cup game where we beat St Mirren, I think it was 5-2, probably circa 1992.

02-09-2009, 04:45 PM
Thirds at Cathkin.

Hearts v Thirds at Tynecastle 1963! Joe Davis moved to Hibs not too long after.

goosano
02-09-2009, 05:06 PM
18/9/65. I was six. I went along with 2 sets of Jambo neighbours who were trying to persuade me to be Hertz fans like them though my uncles/cousins were Hibs fans and I felt drawn to them. 4-0 after 8 minutes and we left at half time. After that I saw the light. Match report here (http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Classic-match-Hearts--0.5144413.jp)

VegasHibby
02-09-2009, 06:07 PM
Nope it wasn't a Hibs game. It was Arbroath back in the 70's. Can't remember who they were playing maybe Dundee. It was also the first game I was carried over the turnstile.
First Hibs game was at Tannadice again in the 70's was a midweek game think we got beat in the Scottish cup.

Hibee_Rab
02-09-2009, 06:20 PM
I'm not sure, the earliest I can remember is us getting beat 0-2 by ICT. I remember my dad telling me ICTs 3 best players were the linesman and the ref :greengrin

02-09-2009, 06:22 PM
Eh, no, I was dragged along to another stadium in the city, but it just didn't seem right.

Don Giovanni
02-09-2009, 07:32 PM

Me tae. 7 years old on the Hampden Terraces with the Auld Man.
Followed by years of Hibs Kids games before progressing to full season ticket status.

:grr: Gloryhunter. :agree:

:duck:

West Upper
02-09-2009, 07:36 PM
Hibs 4-2 St Mirren

On the 10th of February 2001. My 7th Birthday

algraydog
02-09-2009, 07:40 PM
Hadjuk Split! Them were some days:feed::feed::feed:

Storar
02-09-2009, 07:41 PM
I was 7 at my first game and it was at Easter Road

01/01/1997

Hibernian 0 (0) - 4(1) Hearts
Robertson 33
Hamilton 62
Cameron 65
Hamilton 87

Penrith Hibee
02-09-2009, 07:48 PM
Yams v Dundee courtesy of an uncle, 0-0 about 1970-71. Bored stiff.

02-09-2009, 07:49 PM
Vague recollection of late 60's ( '67 or '68) Dunfermline v Hibs. I have a feeling we won 1 nil.

jakki
02-09-2009, 07:56 PM
My first game was watching the Old Kirk team playing with my neighbour teaching me the rules, then I moved to Ferranti Thistle and then I went to Easter Road.
That was an eye opener.From then I was a hibee but every second week went to Slimecastle.

My first game was in @ 1962 and have Hibs in my heart since then.

Don't go to many games nowadays but I did make it to Bolton:thumbsup:

02-09-2009, 07:59 PM

Funny enough that was my first ever hibs game too :thumbsup:

Mixu62
02-09-2009, 08:08 PM
A schoolboy international, Scotland v England back in about 1980 at Starks Park. Still got the programme with very young looking Paul McStay, John Robertson and...erm.,....John Sludden. Plus Andy Roxburgh.

First Hibs game was equally momentus. Reserve cup final v Celtic at ER. We lost 1-0. Reckon it must have been about 83/84? The roof over the East Terracing was just being built.

02-09-2009, 08:14 PM
I was 7 at my first game and it was at Easter Road

01/01/1997

Hibernian 0 (0) - 4(1) Hearts
Robertson 33
Hamilton 62
Cameron 65
Hamilton 87

I remember that. My second Hibs match and first derby.

Prof. Shaggy
02-09-2009, 08:15 PM
Hibs 2 Dundee 4
(circa 1968, League Cup Group Match)

Oh well.

Raymond
02-09-2009, 08:36 PM
Im afraid my Auld Man was A Yam:lips seal

Hearts v Everton Texaco Cup 3rd October 1973

Hearts got NIL:greengrin

02-09-2009, 08:41 PM
Have been attending rugby league games since 1992, but the first football game I can remember going to was Leigh RMI vs. Blackpool Reserves in 1996ish.

02-09-2009, 08:46 PM
Can't remember my first game TBH. So had a quick look on the official site and can remember this game. 1975-09-24 Scottish League
Cup Away Montrose L 1 3

Can't mind the game but can remember ma Dad nearly crashing coming home. Not sure but I think I was at the Ayr untd game away in League cup aswell, maybe a more mature poster could confirm if it was pissing doon that night. :greengrin

02-09-2009, 08:51 PM
Nope. My uncle played for Musselburgh Athletic and my Aunt used to take me to games. He had a Scottish (Junior) Cup medal from his time with Bonnyrigg Rose (where he played with Pat Stanton, I later found out) as well as a load of other medals and was a bit of an idol to me.

He was(and still is) a diehard Yam so it would have been easy for me to have been drawn to the Dark Side.

However, my first professional game was Hibs v Newcastle United, pre-season friendly around 1968. I was hooked and never looked back. 0-0 draw as well as the next 4 games I went to, but that's another story..

02-09-2009, 08:58 PM
Yes, Hibs 11 Hamilton 1, November 1965.

02-09-2009, 09:05 PM
One to while away the time in international week. The first game I went to wasn't a Hibs game. It was QPR v West Ham.

04/04/1962 Hibs 2 v St Mirren 1............. god im old

02-09-2009, 09:13 PM
26th September 1992, a drab 0-0 against Dundee at ER. I think that the expressive and elegant language of those around me in the East was the only reason I wanted to go back.

ginger_rice
02-09-2009, 09:27 PM
Stirling Albion 1 Hibernian 0 - April 1st 1967.

Many years later I discovered it was my future brother-in-law (Dave Grant)

who scored the goal................,

That was the first time I saw Hibs too, unfortunately I was wearing a red and white scarf that day, also went back the next year and the Albion won 4-1, however the seeds were sown :thumbsup:

The first game I really remember was Stirling Albion 1 Celtic 0 in '67 IIRC Albion were the first team to beat Celtic after they won the European Cup. I had been to earlier games at Annfield but don't recall much about them.

ginger_rice
02-09-2009, 09:28 PM
Yes, Hibs 11 Hamilton 1, November 1965.

You wouldn't forget that sort of score...bet you thought it was always going to be like that :wink:

02-09-2009, 09:28 PM
Yes - would have to double-check with those who took me but looking at the records I suspect a grim 1-1 draw with Morton at ER c. February 1979

I don't remember the game really, just remember the cold :greengrin and the stand being the biggest thing ever in the world :greengrin

02-09-2009, 11:34 PM
First game would have been Dundee United against one of the European sides in the early 80's.

First proper Hibs game was in early 2002 when Blobby Williamson was manager. Can't remember who they played, possibly Dunfermline or Kilmarnock. Caught the flu that day as well.

v Dundee Utd, mid 70's, Hamish McAlpine looked young!

Hamish McAlpine - :thumbsup:

03-09-2009, 12:21 AM
Was in single figures age wise so cant remember much about it, but what sticks in my mind was a huge crowd (well it looked huge to me then) and a guy getting passed down over the shoulders in the old east terracing (huge then) with blood pouring out of a head wound :bitchy: I remember wondering if this went on all the time with the "big boys":greengrin

Anyway never looked back and been going ever since :thumbsup:

P.S. Think that game was against Killie and we won 3-2 :confused: gonna have to look up some record sites, no the now tho, just finished a whisky and of to bed soon :bye:

magnificent_seven
03-09-2009, 11:28 AM
Nope.

My dad tried to bring me up as a Sellick fan, so my first match was Parkhead, Celtic vs QoS I think.

Me too, Celtic vs St Mirren :no way:

Aubenas
03-09-2009, 12:07 PM
Jan 2 1956, 2-2 v Hearts - was with my uncle who had played for Hibs, and my Dad. In the old main stand, near the back and in the Dunbar End half - remember the stand but nothing about the game - only 3 at the time. Precious memory, both my Dad and my uncle had died within 3 years of that game, but at least I can say I went to a game with them.:agree::thumbsup:

Owain_1987
03-09-2009, 12:11 PM
First ever Hibs game was Hibs v Hearts 1991 and that was also my first ever game :greengrin

BonnieFitbaTeam
03-09-2009, 12:19 PM
Mine was. A 1-1 draw against Dundee at ER. I was six so it would have been season 1972/73.

The strange part was that a family friend, who was a yam, took me to the game and we were in the Dunbar End. It wasn't until later that I realised what a dirty trick that was !

03-09-2009, 01:25 PM
ill never forget my 1st game[for the wrong reasons]
my ma and her pal took me to er, we were playing celtic[i was about seven]so of we went and when we got there my ma just followed the green and white scarfs.[yes she took me to the wrong fin end]
even worse when celtic scored i was forced to clap or else.
we laugh about it now but only my ma eh.
we got beat 2 nil.

mixuok
03-09-2009, 01:31 PM
v dunfermline early 60,s cant remember much im sure we won 2-0 and neil martin scored:dizzy:

03-09-2009, 07:03 PM
Yes - November 1974 - St 0 HIBS 2 (Stanton, O'Rourke).

Supporting anyone else has never been an option :thumbsup:

brownlies bits
03-09-2009, 07:11 PM
Hibs 4 Motherwell 2 1967 first game. lifted over, old North Stand

Hooked ever since :greengrin

03-09-2009, 07:14 PM
Nah, was taken to a Hearts v Dundee Utd game at Tynie, around 1984/5 (in the away end). My mate was a Utd fan until he left school and went to Aberdeen Uni - he then seen the light and became a Hibby!!

Hertz got beat 2 - 1...

BH.

03-09-2009, 07:30 PM
Earliest I can recall.

1965-03-06 Scottish Cup H Rangers W 2 1

I would have been 6. Thought it was earlier but makes sense as I sort of remember it being a big cup game and would make sense why my uncle chose to take me to this one.

I remember we were standing what would eb near the bottom of the east side. Very close to the corner flag.

Just glad my uncle was not a Hearts fan.

03-09-2009, 09:39 PM
East Fife :thumbsup: lol