====================================
-------------------Iniesta---------------------
------------Kaka----------Gerrard(c)----------
Cristiano Ronaldo-------------------------Messi
-------------------Torres---------------------

Swap Dani Alves for Maicon and Abidal for Evra and I'll take the job your Sultana-ness. :greengrin

JE89
31-08-2009, 06:49 PM
Stack

McCormack Bamba Hogg Hanlon

McBride

Rankin Cregg Wotherspoon

Stokes Riordan

Somebody had to do it :rolleyes:

magnificent_seven
31-08-2009, 06:51 PM
Casillas

Maicon
Terry
Vidic
Evra

Xavi

Gerrard
Kaka
Ronaldo
Messi

Torres

Subs

Ferdinand
Dani Alves
Iniesta
Rooney
Riordan
Villa

31-08-2009, 06:51 PM
Townsley

Gatheussi Dennis Murdock Edge

Jack Jack Jack

Konte

DirtyDeeds
31-08-2009, 06:56 PM
These two sides could be awfy handy, couple of goals to be had!

Casillas

Dani Alves Ferdinand Vidic Evra

Xavi
Gerrard Iniesta

Messi Ronaldo

F. Torres

-------------------------------------

Eto'o

Rooney Kaka Ribery

Diarra Mascherano

Cole Terry Lucio Maicon

Buffon

Hanny
31-08-2009, 06:58 PM
Swap Dani Alves for Maicon and Abidal for Evra and I'll take the job your Sultana-ness. :greengrin

I'd still have Dani Alves before Maicon (I was actually thinking Glen Johnson as well :hmmm:)

There's not much between Abidal and Evra, either would do :cool2:

31-08-2009, 06:58 PM
Casillas
Ramos Pique Vidic Evra
Xavi Essien Iniesta
Messi Villa Ronaldo

Randerson_4
31-08-2009, 08:33 PM

I'd still have Dani Alves before Maicon (I was actually thinking Glen Johnson as well :hmmm:)

There's not much between Abidal and Evra, either would do :cool2:

Abidals too slow for me

Id have

Casillas

Alves Pique Vidic A.Cole

X Alonso Xavi

Ronaldo Iniesta Messi

Villa

Maicon, Terry, Evra, Gerrard, Aguero would all have strong cases too

31-08-2009, 08:52 PM
How the hell does Torres keep popping up?! He's a good player, but certainly not worth the hype he receives!

================================================
---------------------------Cassilas---------------------------

Alves----------Terry------------------Puyol------------Maicon

Ronaldo--------Iniesta-----------------Xavi--------------Kaka

------------------Rooney--------Messi------------------------

Subs: Buffon, Evra, Abidal, Lampard, Ribery, Villa, Eto'o

31-08-2009, 08:54 PM
How the hell does Torres keep popping up?! He's a good player, but certainly not worth the hype he receives!

---------------------------Cassilas---------------------------

Alves----------Terry------------------Puyol------------Maicon

Ronaldo--------Iniesta-----------------Xavi--------------Kaka

------------------Rooney--------Messi------------------------

Subs: Buffon, Evra, Abidal, Lampard, Ribery, Villa, Eto'o

Because he knows how to score goals.

Add Alonso to the squad also.

31-08-2009, 09:12 PM

Seriously?

Admittedly, I prefer Villa to Torres, but Rooney ahead of Torres? Once again I say, seriously?

Opinions, eh?

31-08-2009, 09:20 PM
Seriously?

Admittedly, I prefer Villa to Torres, but Rooney ahead of Torres? Once again I say, seriously?

Opinions, eh?

Aye, I suppose.

I don't think Torres is a bad player - I just don't think he's "the best striker in the world". Him and Rooney are both cracking players, but I personally feel Rooney has more to his game. I guess there are very valid arguments for both players though!

31-08-2009, 09:21 PM
Aye, I suppose.

I don't think Torres is a bad player - I just don't think he's "the best striker in the world". Him and Rooney are both cracking players, but I personally feel Rooney has more to his game. I guess there are very valid arguments for both players though!

Even within this debate, that's got to be the understatement of the decade. :greengrin

31-08-2009, 09:22 PM
Even within this debate, that's got to be the understatement of the decade. :greengrin

True :greengrin

I just don't want people thinking that my previous comment is indicative that I don't rate Torres - that would be daft!

31-08-2009, 09:23 PM
And while I'm throwing my weight around, hear this: any 'World XI' without Xavi is bang wrong!

FACT, etc.

31-08-2009, 09:47 PM
Super Joe T - and nae one else

31-08-2009, 10:44 PM
Cesc Fabregas would walk into any starting 11.

FACT.

TheBall'sRound
31-08-2009, 10:46 PM

FACT.

Both the Spain manager and I disagree with you :greengrin

31-08-2009, 10:48 PM
Both the Spain manager and I disagree with you :greengrin

Fabregas is first pick now for Spain:agree: and has been for a while.

31-08-2009, 10:53 PM

FACT.

Ahead of Xavi, Iniesta, Essien, Gerrard, Lampard, Kaka etc?

I think Fabregas is a great player but World XI, no chance.

31-08-2009, 10:59 PM
Ahead of Xavi, Iniesta, Essien, Gerrard, Lampard, Kaka etc?

I think Fabregas is a great player but World XI, no chance.

Ahead of Iniesta yes:agree:

31-08-2009, 11:04 PM
Ahead of Iniesta yes:agree:

You serious? Iniesta is one of, if not the best player in the world at the moment. He is absolutely amazing.

31-08-2009, 11:04 PM
And while I'm throwing my weight around, hear this: any 'World XI' without Xavi is bang wrong!

FACT, etc.

I'd also say the same about Iniesta because the pair of them dovetail so superbly- you have to them both in any team you pick IMO.

I'm also delighted to see no mention so far on this thread of Zlatan Ibrahimovic-the most infuriating and over-rated player I can remember in my lifetime.

31-08-2009, 11:06 PM
You serious? Iniesta is one of, if not the best player in the world at the moment. He is absolutely amazing.

He's a qaulity player indeed:agree:

Fabregas plays in the best league in the world though..

OMHO remember.

TheBall'sRound
31-08-2009, 11:06 PM
Fabregas is first pick now for Spain:agree: and has been for a while.

He started a couple of the confederations cup games but hasn't started any of Spain's world cup qualifiers.

So again, me and Mr Del Bosque disagree.

31-08-2009, 11:10 PM
He's a qaulity player indeed:agree:

Fabregas plays in the best league in the world though..

OMHO remember.

Doesnt really mean much though. Barcelona tore Man Utd apart in the Champs League final, theyd more than cut it in the EPL.

Yeah fair enough it is your opinion, but Fabregas, as good as he is, has never reached his potential imo. He could be as good as that likes of Xavi and Iniesta, but really cant see him achieving that at Arsenal.

hibsdaft
31-08-2009, 11:11 PM
--- --- --- --- --- ---- Reina --- --- --- --- ---

--- Glen Johnson -- Terry --- Vidic --- Evra ---

--- --- --- --- Xavi --- Xavi Alonso --- --- ---

--- --- Ronaldo --- Iniesta --- Messi --- --- ---

--- --- --- --- --- -- Torres --- --- --- --- ---

bit light in midfield mind

edit to say: i've picked the exact same midfield as Randerson_4 and i didn't even read the thread before posting my XI. great minds and that i guess :wink:

31-08-2009, 11:16 PM
Doesnt really mean much though. Barcelona tore Man Utd apart in the Champs League final, theyd more than cut it in the EPL.

Yeah fair enough it is your opinion, but Fabregas, as good as he is, has never reached his potential imo. He could be as good as that likes of Xavi and Iniesta, but really cant see him achieving that at Arsenal.

You ken what age the laddie is?..IMO Fabregas will leave Arsenal at the end of the season for any club he wants, he is that good.

Member mate only opinions.

31-08-2009, 11:21 PM
You ken what age the laddie is?..IMO Fabregas will leave Arsenal at the end of the season for any club he wants, he is that good.

I know hes young, but if he was at a Barcelona or whatever, I believe he would be an even better player by now.

Yeah cant see him staying at Arsenal much longer if they go another trophyless season.

TheBall'sRound
31-08-2009, 11:24 PM

And for that reason he will be desired by every team who can come close to affording him - if the poll was best on "Who would generate the highest transfer fee?" he might be ahead of the likes of Lampard or Iniesta but you would have to think that a proportion of the fee would be based on his as yet unrealised potential.

But he's not yet in the elite 4 or 5 midfielders in the world.

And you can't hide behind "It's only an opinion" when you use FACT as a full stop :wink:

31-08-2009, 11:31 PM
And for that reason he will be desired by every team who can come close to affording him - if the poll was best on "Who would generate the highest transfer fee?" he might be ahead of the likes of Lampard or Iniesta but you would have to think that a proportion of the fee would be based on his as yet unrealised potential.

But he's not yet in the elite 4 or 5 midfielders in the world.

And you can't hide behind "It's only an opinion" when you use FACT as a full stop :wink:

I used fact as a full stop as its a hibs.net thing:agree:

Youl learn :greengrin

TheBall'sRound
31-08-2009, 11:33 PM
I used fact as a full stop as its a hibs.net thing:agree:

Youl learn :greengrin

I'm just happy someone noticed me! ::wipe a tear smiley::

31-08-2009, 11:37 PM
I'm just happy someone noticed me! ::wipe a tear smiley::

If you post to my reply you will be on your 1000th post:greengrin

Ill try sort you out with a holiday or summit:thumbsup::thumbsup:

TheBall'sRound
31-08-2009, 11:39 PM
If you post to my reply you will be on your 1000th post:greengrin

Ill try sort you out with a holiday or summit:thumbsup::thumbsup:

I was going to save it for something vault-worthy but I doubt I'm going to get a better offer than that.

If you could arrange my flight and accommodation for our first Europa Cup game next season I'd be appreciative!!

01-09-2009, 06:56 AM
I was going to save it for something vault-worthy but I doubt I'm going to get a better offer than that.

If you could arrange my flight and accommodation for our first Europa Cup game next season I'd be appreciative!!

Watch out, he might be trying to arrange you a visit to where he's been hiding for the last 18 months.

bobbyhibs1983
01-09-2009, 10:16 AM
why has the heartz current 11 not been considered for the worlds best 11?

I mean nade has to be better than torres and rooney?

I mean in the last 2 season he has scored 4 goals or something,
can rooney or torres beat that?:faf:

Tha Cabbage Kid
01-09-2009, 10:21 AM
-------------Buffon--------------
Alves----Lucio----Terry----Abidal
-------Xavi-------Gerrard--------
Messi---------Kaka-------Ronaldo
-------------Nade*------------

*if carlsberg did joke strikers they'd probably be the best in the world!

01-09-2009, 12:21 PM
Gerrard - no way. Best years behind him.

magnificent_seven
01-09-2009, 12:24 PM
Gerrard - no way. Best years behind him.

Not a chance, he is still carrying that Liverpool team. Without him and Torres, Liverpool would be a mid table side.

hibsdaft
01-09-2009, 12:27 PM
Not a chance, he is still carrying that Liverpool team. Without him and Torres, Liverpool would be a mid table side.

without Gerrard, Torres, Mascherano, Reina and Glen Johnson Liverpool wouldn't have any world class players

01-09-2009, 12:28 PM

They will be with them.

01-09-2009, 12:29 PM

without Gerrard, Torres, Mascherano, Reina and Glen Johnson Liverpool wouldn't have any world class players

01-09-2009, 12:46 PM

Mascherano is a quality player, not world XI or that but good enough to be in the top 4 of the EPL.

Randerson_4
01-09-2009, 03:06 PM
Forgot to add Rooney, would probably say at the moment he's best striker in the world. IMO anyway

Re, Fabregas. Dont rate him. Think hes a good player, but not worth all the hype. Granted, Spain have a good midfield, but he isnt on the same level as Xavi or Iniesta, or for me Alonso. And thats just the Spain squad

Whats all this I keep seeing Puyol in people's sides? Seriously? There are at least 2 better defenders than him in Barca's squad, not forgetting Terry or Vidic. Nowhere near the best in the world. Interested to see why people think that?

Van Nasten 34
04-09-2009, 08:25 PM
Buffon

Dani Alves Vidic Gallas Lahm

Ribery Gourcuff Iniesta Arshavin

Messi Torres

Subs - Casillas,Xabi Alonso,Maicon,Kaka,De Rossi,Eto'o,Xavi.