PDA

View Full Version : Why are tickets so expensive nowadays?

Jones28
31-08-2009, 03:03 PM
3 or 4 years ago £20 for an adult ticket for Hibs vs Hearts, Aberdeen and Rantic were the usual price. I don't get why four years has bumped the prices up by £7 :confused:

Antifa Hibs
31-08-2009, 03:09 PM
OF and Hearts games have always been more expensive as far as I can remember.

I mind thats why Hearts only had about 1200 fans at the 6-2, as we were charging them £24 and other clubs £19-20, and that was almost 9 years ago.They boycotted that game (apperently).

How much is Hibs v Hamilton and St Mirren etc? Don't think its a £7 difference between Cat A & Cat B games, could be wrong mind you.

MozHibs1875
31-08-2009, 03:21 PM
The cost of ticket prices in this country is an absolute disgrace :agree:
Considering the standard of player on show, prices should be no more than £20, and im sick of hearing the excuse about the lesser money received from tv deals.

Im no expert but I would think tckts for S.P.L games must be amongst the dearest in Europe !

jgl07
31-08-2009, 03:28 PM
Considering the standard of player on show, prices should be no more than £20, and im sick of hearing the excuse about the lesser money received from tv deals.

Im no expert but I would think tckts for S.P.L games must be amongst the dearest in Europe !
Try going to Chelsea!

matty_f
31-08-2009, 03:35 PM

It's economics though - in order for clubs to field players of an acceptable standard, they need to pay the going rate.

In Scotland, the TV money is buttons, so the difference has to be made up through ticket sales. Gone are the days of tens of thousands of fans pouring through the turnstiles at Easter Road, so the price you and I pay reflects that.

We could get much cheaper tickets, but we'd have to watch some horrendous players!

RIP
31-08-2009, 03:38 PM
Does anyone have a history of how much admission was in years gone by?

Killiehibbie
31-08-2009, 03:44 PM