View Full Version : League Cup draw - Hibs v St Johnstone

31-08-2009, 12:03 PM
- is about to take place. I will go for hamilton at home.

31-08-2009, 12:05 PM
This post is 24 hours early of course. :boo hoo:

31-08-2009, 12:06 PM
where?

31-08-2009, 12:09 PM
where?

Hampden.

31-08-2009, 12:26 PM
:doh:

31-08-2009, 12:30 PM

I think we're more likely to be drawn against a team which hasn't already been eliminated.

31-08-2009, 12:32 PM
So am I reading this correct then?

The OP has got the day wrong and then predicted we get drawn against a team that is already out??? :greengrin

P.s. I haven't attempted to verify any of the details myself

31-08-2009, 12:33 PM
Am gonna Go for Pars At home

31-08-2009, 12:39 PM
Oops.

31-08-2009, 12:39 PM
Oops.

31-08-2009, 12:43 PM

I hope that you are right. If we are drawn against a team that are already out, that would mean that we would get a bye into the next round. I think we will get either of the OF at home.

31-08-2009, 12:44 PM
Heavy weekend I take it. :greengrin

Andy.1875
Oops.

:doh:

So am I reading this correct then?

The OP has got the day wrong and then predicted we get drawn against a team that is already out??? :greengrin

:agree: Spot on. :faf:

Leitherhibs
31-08-2009, 12:47 PM
ross county away, you heard it here first.

Tomsk
31-08-2009, 12:48 PM
If they are going to let Hamilton back in I'll take Brechin at home again.

31-08-2009, 12:49 PM
I think we will get either of the OF at home.

No we won't...

31-08-2009, 12:51 PM
I hope that you are right. If we are drawn against a team that are already out, that would mean that we would get a bye into the next round. I think we will get either of the OF at home.

I think this round's seeded so last season's top 8 get kept apart.

31-08-2009, 12:52 PM
I think we will get either of the OF at home.

Its seeded so we cant.

31-08-2009, 12:53 PM

It's seeded..So no OF this time round :wink:

31-08-2009, 12:54 PM
Does anyone know if the draw for the next round's seeded?

31-08-2009, 12:54 PM
Absolutely outstanding Flash :thumbsup:

31-08-2009, 12:55 PM
It's seeded..So no OF this time round :wink:

Just following Flash's lead and talkin' ootmaarse

31-08-2009, 01:04 PM
If its a home game - dont care who we get we'll just destroy them and go proudly into next round.

31-08-2009, 01:52 PM
Apparently we got Hertz in the dummy run.

SunnyLeither
31-08-2009, 01:53 PM

How ironic, your name being rhyming slang for what you've made of yourself with this post (for those who don't know him I'm not referring to his dotnet moniker) :thumbsup:

31-08-2009, 03:52 PM
I think we're more likely to be drawn against a team which hasn't already been eliminated.

:rotflmao:

McSwanky
31-08-2009, 04:09 PM
Best thread I've read in weeks on here! :thumbsup:

31-08-2009, 04:17 PM
I quite fancy a trip to Gretna. :agree:

I didn't go there when they existed, so this new format offers an inexpected but welcome opportunity.

31-08-2009, 04:38 PM
I think Third Lanark should be invited for a one-off special in the next round.

They could even broadcast it in black and white for nostalgia value, and hand out rattles to the crowd.

31-08-2009, 05:00 PM
Is there anything else thats impossible and also not happening today that the OP would like to share with us :rolleyes:

Lmc2105
31-08-2009, 05:49 PM
when is the draw:confused:

31-08-2009, 05:52 PM
when is the draw:confused:

Tomorrow.

1pm I think.

31-08-2009, 05:52 PM
Tomorrow at 2pm.

Lmc2105
31-08-2009, 05:55 PM
Tomorrow.

1pm I think.

Alrght cheers mate,

new malkyhib
31-08-2009, 06:34 PM
Is there anything else thats impossible and also not happening today that the OP would like to share with us :rolleyes:

Nade's having salad for tea.

FACT.

31-08-2009, 06:57 PM
Did anyone get the numbers for tonight's lottery draw?

31-08-2009, 07:00 PM
Vale of Leven were heavyweights not so long ago.

Could be a picturesque away day if it happens.

Over to Arthur Monford to kindly oblige with the draw................

31-08-2009, 07:32 PM
Scott Arfield has signed. :duck:

31-08-2009, 08:10 PM
Scott Arfield has signed. :duck:

Like it :thumbsup:

p=sh
01-09-2009, 07:32 AM
I think Third Lanark should be invited for a one-off special in the next round.

They could even broadcast it in black and white for nostalgia value, and hand out rattles to the crowd.

I'm going for us against ES Clydebank.
[and if, you know, your history -> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clydebank_F.C.#East_Stirlingshire_Clydebank_F.C._. 281964.E2.80.931965.29]

01-09-2009, 07:43 AM
A home tie against Third Lanark will do me :agree:

01-09-2009, 08:13 AM
I want a bye into the first round where we can be away to Clydebank at ER. I reckon we'd do them 0-0, and nick in ET after penalties

01-09-2009, 09:54 AM
in the midst of all the transfer stuff n nonsense i hope everyone is looking forward to today's draw as much as i am.

01-09-2009, 09:55 AM
Yeah be interesting to see who we got. Kind of hoping for Dundee.

01-09-2009, 09:56 AM
Hamilton at home, I guarantee it :agree:

Darth Hibbie
01-09-2009, 09:57 AM

McSwanky
01-09-2009, 10:11 AM
in the midst of all the transfer stuff n nonsense i hope everyone is looking forward to today's draw as much as i am.

I'm looking forward to yesterday's draw too.

01-09-2009, 10:13 AM

01-09-2009, 10:24 AM

Did we win?

01-09-2009, 10:49 AM
Just wondering if it is live on the telly or radio? Would I be right in saying that it is at 1 o'clock? Just working across the road from my house so may nip back for a spot of lunch :greengrin

01-09-2009, 10:57 AM
Just wondering if it is live on the telly or radio? Would I be right in saying that it is at 1 o'clock? Just working across the road from my house so may nip back for a spot of lunch :greengrin

I doubt it, the last time I can remember seeing it on the box was the classic **** up of the semi-final draw by the MSPs! Presiding officer Fergusson being the guilty party, IIRC.

http://www.scottishfootballleague.com/news.cfm?curpageid=944&newsid=2902

01-09-2009, 11:02 AM
I doubt it, the last time I can remember seeing it on the box was the classic **** up of the semi-final draw by the MSPs! Presiding officer Fergusson being the guilty party, IIRC.

http://www.scottishfootballleague.com/news.cfm?curpageid=944&newsid=2902

I didn't expext it to be on the tv to be honest, but it looks like a late lunch :wink: and I'm starving.....

p=sh
01-09-2009, 11:42 AM

The Draw for the Third Round of the The Co-operative Insurance Cup 2009-2010 will take today Tuesday, 1st September 2009 at 2:00pm here at Hampden Park in the Scottish Football Museum Hall of Fame.

01-09-2009, 12:47 PM
From what I can make out, we're one of the eight seeded teams which means we'll get one of the following in the next round (who are unseeded):

Falkirk, St Mirren, Inverness CT, St Johnstone, Dunfermline, Dundee, Queen of the South or Ross County.

Hopefully a home draw - I'd guess we'd want to avoid any of those away from ER, as they'd all be tricky.

phoenixfire
01-09-2009, 12:51 PM
Dont you feel it justhas to be

FALKIRK:agree:

01-09-2009, 12:53 PM
From what I can make out, we're one of the eight seeded teams which means we'll get one of the following in the next round (who are unseeded):

Falkirk, St Mirren, Inverness CT, St Johnstone, Dunfermline, Dundee, Queen of the South or Ross County.

Hopefully a home draw - I'd guess we'd want to avoid any of those away from ER, as they'd all be tricky.

I would take Falkirk or Dunfermline away from home but I would rather a home tie against all the rest, especially Ross County and Inverness.

M8UDB
01-09-2009, 12:54 PM
ICT away :boo hoo::boo hoo:

01-09-2009, 12:55 PM
No wanting St Johnstone, watch them against the Yams and they looked a good wee team. Oops we are the wee team :wink:.

01-09-2009, 12:56 PM
Is it on tv?

01-09-2009, 01:00 PM
Is it on tv?

On Setanta now. :agree:

01-09-2009, 01:01 PM
Here we go then and about time too.

01-09-2009, 01:02 PM
On Setanta now. :agree:

01-09-2009, 01:04 PM
how slow is the sfl website:grr:

01-09-2009, 01:05 PM
No radio link, no?

M8UDB
01-09-2009, 01:07 PM

Aye just a bit, what a joke!!!

Certainly not anything like as fast as the new, improved Hibs.net :thumbsup:

Preference would be QOS at home.

NaeTechnoHibby

Yes, it's even still got McLeish winning the cup with the huns in their banner :bitchy:

Gave up oan it :yawn:

01-09-2009, 01:09 PM
any draws been made?

SFL website is taking AGES! must be overloaded with yams hoping to get a pish team so they can have some hope of progressing.:faf:

McSwanky
01-09-2009, 01:09 PM
Draw's been made. Hamilton at home.

TheBall'sRound
01-09-2009, 01:10 PM
any draws been made?

SFL website is taking AGES! must be overloaded with yams hoping to get a pish team so they can have some hope of progressing.:faf:

A real yam doesn't care about the diddy cup.

A real yam only cares about splitting the old firm.

And it is possible! If they draw the celtic game out first and the rangers game out third...

01-09-2009, 01:11 PM
Draw's been made. Hamilton at home.

WILL....

YOU....

STOP.....

SAYING......

THAT! :grr:

01-09-2009, 01:11 PM
A real yam doesn't care about the diddy cup.

A real yam only cares about splitting the old firm.

And it is possible! If they draw the celtic game out first and the rangers game out third...

01-09-2009, 01:14 PM
The draw is today? :greengrin

Maybe..... :devil:

Motherwell v Inverness
Hearts v Dunfermline
Dundee v Aberdeen
Hibs v St Johnstone
Falkirk v Celtic
Kilmarnock v St Mirren
Queen of the South v Rangers
Ross County v Dundee United

01-09-2009, 01:15 PM
how long does it take to draw some names out of a hat ffs :rolleyes:

dalkeith stu

What time? :confused:

Zorro
well, at least it's at home!

01-09-2009, 01:16 PM
Motherwell v Inverness
Hearts v Dunfermline
Dundee v Aberdeen
Hibs v St Johnstone
Falkirk v Celtic
Kilmarnock v St Mirren

is that confirmed, ci?

Motherwell v Inverness
Hearts v Dunfermline
Dundee v Aberdeen
Hibs v St Johnstone
Falkirk v Celtic
Kilmarnock v St Mirren

Not an easy one but at least we are at home.

What is? :confused:

Motherwell v Inverness
Hearts v Dunfermline
Dundee v Aberdeen
Hibs v St Johnstone
Falkirk v Celtic
Kilmarnock v St Mirren

3 or 4 days after playing them in the league

Could have been worse.

Good news for those with a cup top up :greengrin

M8UDB
01-09-2009, 01:17 PM
Dodgy but at least its not ICT away :agree:

Zorro
01-09-2009, 01:17 PM
What is? :confused:

was replying to Bristol Hibby's listing of the draw - home against St J

p=sh
01-09-2009, 01:18 PM
Dodgy but at least its not ICT away :agree:

and of course we beat the saintees last time we won that mother of a cup

Could have been worse.

made a profit on it already :cool2:

Could have been worse.

Home draws all the way...I bought one this year...:thumbsup:

M8UDB
01-09-2009, 01:19 PM
and of course we beat the saintees last time we won that mother of a cup

Just :cool2:

A game we should win.

Woody70x2
Motherwell v Inverness
Hearts v Dunfermline
Dundee v Aberdeen
Hibs v St Johnstone
Falkirk v Celtic
Kilmarnock v St Mirren

Right... get on with the draw for the next round.

01-09-2009, 01:20 PM
Is there a replay if the tie is drawn? Bit worried that the Saintees might not manage to repair the damage to their penalty box in time.

01-09-2009, 01:21 PM
Is there a replay if the tie is drawn? Bit worried that the Saintees might not have managed to repair the damage to their penalty box by that time.

No replays in this cup

HibeeSince82
Motherwell v Inverness
Hearts v Dunfermline
Dundee v Aberdeen
Hibs v St Johnstone
Falkirk v Celtic
Kilmarnock v St Mirren

Cant see aberdeen beating Dundee

Is there a replay if the tie is drawn? Bit worried that the Saintees might not have managed to repair the damage to their penalty box by that time.

extra time and pens on the night IIRC

Higgy115
Motherwell v Inverness
Hearts v Dunfermline
Dundee v Aberdeen
Hibs v St Johnstone
Falkirk v Celtic
Kilmarnock v St Mirren

Dunfermline for me......

Is there a replay if the tie is drawn? Bit worried that the Saintees might not manage to repair the damage to their penalty box in time.

:faf::faf::faf::faf:

Trying to view the draw on the SFL website which is taking an age so I thought I'd see if I could recognise the badges and discovered ICT are not there.

Nope, league cup games are decided on the night, with extra time and penalties if need be.

True, but I didn't want the Saints :dummytit:

TheBall'sRound

I believe they called off the missing person appeal for Alan Main when they heard his voice coming distantly from "the crater".

Apparently you can see it from space...

McSwanky
01-09-2009, 01:23 PM

WILL....

YOU....

STOP.....

SAYING......

THAT! :grr:

:tee hee::love ya!:

01-09-2009, 01:24 PM
Motherwell v Inverness
Hearts v Dunfermline
Dundee v Aberdeen
Hibs v St Johnstone
Falkirk v Celtic
Kilmarnock v St Mirren

Some right hard draws for the seeded teams there.

None of those ties are forgone conclusions (including ours).

I Love Lamp
01-09-2009, 01:27 PM
Trying to view the draw on the SFL website which is taking an age so I thought I'd see if I could recognise the badges and discovered ICT are not there.

But St Johnstone are there to make up for it :wink:

Talk about a poorly updated website

01-09-2009, 01:29 PM
Some right hard draws for the seeded teams there.

None of those ties are forgone conclusions (including ours).

A'deen might find it tough going at Dens. I expect Hearts to throw their game against Dunfermline as the League Cup is beneath them. And not to bother with a top six SPL finish as it's a Mickey Mouse League.

01-09-2009, 01:29 PM
Please let us be playing on the Tuesday this time. :pray:

If it's the Wednesday, I'm stuffed. :boo hoo:

I Love Lamp
01-09-2009, 01:30 PM
Sorry if this has already been covered but can anyone please tell me when the ties are to be played?

01-09-2009, 01:31 PM
Sorry if this has already been covered but can anyone please tell me when the ties are to be played?

22nd or 23rd September

01-09-2009, 01:32 PM

22nd/23rd September.

01-09-2009, 01:32 PM
Not happy with this draw as it's hard to beat any SPL team twice in one week.

I Love Lamp
01-09-2009, 01:33 PM
22nd or 23rd September

Thanks very much.

Arranged something for Wednesday 16th and was worried I would have to promptly rearrange it!

01-09-2009, 01:34 PM

Sure is.
I'd take a cup win and draw in the league TBH.

We need another Hampden day out. Hughes has a decent record in cups, let's hope it continues as Hibs manager.

p=sh
01-09-2009, 01:37 PM

We're Hibs.
We struggle to beat any SPL team twice in one season.

- let's not get too depressed at the thought of a home Cup tie.
It could have been away at ICT or Ross County. (always wondered if he was related to Wayne County?)

01-09-2009, 01:39 PM
A very winable tie.:thumbsup:

01-09-2009, 01:54 PM
We're Hibs.
We struggle to beat any SPL team twice in one season.

- let's not get too depressed at the thought of a home Cup tie.
It could have been away at ICT or Ross County. (always wondered if he was related to Wayne County?)

Of the Electric Chairs??I know of a guy who threw a bash to celebrate a divorce and played THAT SONG in front of friends and relatives. Pure class.Saints will be tough but we should go through. Fancy at least two of the SPL sides to go out though.

01-09-2009, 01:56 PM
Sure is.
I'd take a cup win and draw in the league TBH.

We need another Hampden day out. Hughes has a decent record in cups, let's hope it continues as Hibs manager.

Sounds like a fairly good deal to me. :wink:

khib70
01-09-2009, 02:02 PM
A very winable tie.:thumbsup:
Exactly - glad you're not one of these doom and gloom merchants:wink:

Not a shoe-in, certainly, but if our ambition is to move on from the last couple of seasons, this is exactly the kind of game we have to win. The new era won't amount to much if we can't.

01-09-2009, 02:05 PM
When do we find out the dates of the ties?

01-09-2009, 02:08 PM
Exactly - glad you're not one of these doom and gloom merchants:wink:

Not a shoe-in, certainly, but if our ambition is to move on from the last couple of seasons, this is exactly the kind of game we have to win. The new era won't amount to much if we can't.

p=sh
01-09-2009, 02:22 PM
Of the Electric Chairs??I know of a guy who threw a bash to celebrate a divorce and played THAT SONG in front of friends and relatives. Pure class.Saints will be tough but we should go through. Fancy at least two of the SPL sides to go out though.

Not heard it since the late70s but for a few weeks it was standard fare among us punk wannabes at St. Andrews Uni. {Yeah, you can imagine....}

We have to win these sort of games, at home, in the Cup, if we want to get to that "next level". I still subscribe to the view that on our day we can beat any team in scotland. Or lose to any team. Woud be great if JH could cure some of that inconsistency.

01-09-2009, 02:23 PM
But St Johnstone are there to make up for it :wink:

Talk about a poorly updated website

So they are, how did I miss that. :grr:

hibee-shtuggie
01-09-2009, 02:25 PM
Not heard it since the late70s but for a few weeks it was standard fare among us punk wannabes at St. Andrews Uni. {Yeah, you can imagine....}

We have to win these sort of games, at home, in the Cup, if we want to get to that "next level". I still subscribe to the view that on our day we can beat any team in scotland. Or lose to any team. Woud be great if JH could cure some of that inconsistency.

st andrews uni as well??

hibee
01-09-2009, 03:46 PM
When do we find out the dates of the ties?

Don't know but I'm hoping for the 22nd as I've got tickets for Billy Connolly on the 23rd !

Sick Boy
01-09-2009, 04:53 PM
Confirmed for the 22nd with a 19.45 kick off.

"Hibernian v St Johnstone
Co-operative Insurance Cup, 3rd Round
Tuesday 22nd September 2009, kick-off 7.45pm

Admission Prices (Cash on Gate for St Johnstone Supporters):
Adults £15
Concessions £10 (18 and under, 65 and over and Students with a valid student matriculation card)
Disabled and Helpers £6 each"

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/

01-09-2009, 04:54 PM
So it's defo NOT Hamilton?

TheBall'sRound
01-09-2009, 04:56 PM
So it's defo NOT Hamilton?

I look forward to a rousing rendition of "Are you Accies in disguise?" in the first 5 minutes of this game...

01-09-2009, 05:00 PM
I look forward to a rousing rendition of "Are you Accies in disguise?" in the first 5 minutes of this game...

If that doesn't confuse them, nothing will

01-09-2009, 07:03 PM
The hardest possible tie from a seeded draw:grr:

At least we are at home.