View Full Version : Jings - he wis tall!!

31-08-2009, 09:43 AM
On the way in from his hoose in Pencaitland my mate Jack was waved down by a car at New Winton at 9.15 am. The driver asked for directions to East Mains.

The two other occupants were out the car and one lad was, quote "as big as Rob Jones but younger". My mate thought he looked North European e.g. Russian or Scandinavian. He was dark-haired (Jack's wife said "good-looking") and in his mid-twenties

Probably just a bunch of ground contractors, although the driver looked older and had a suit on.

31-08-2009, 10:25 AM
A couple of Polish joiners going to fix a leak in the roof?

maturehibby
31-08-2009, 11:04 AM
Yogi's message has reached far and wide and it was only a matter of time .
I have identified the player and it can only be him by description as noe other than
Zlatan Ibrahamovic

I only wish

31-08-2009, 11:07 AM
I have identified the player and it can only be him by description as noe other than
Zlatan Ibrahamovic

I only wish

More like Scratchincause Mybawsitch :greengrin

31-08-2009, 11:24 AM
A couple of Polish joiners going to fix a leak in the roof?

If there were joiners - none were wearing overalls apparently.

My wife's mate thought the big guy looked "like an athlete"
The driver called to him by name - my mate said it sounded like Ian or Euan (not very Scandinavian I know!) :greengrin

Mibbies our sports injury specialists at EM also cater for basketball players?

Unlikely it would have been a player - we would have heard some rumour before now shirley?

horseflesh
31-08-2009, 11:40 AM
Sounds like your mates wife is well up for it!:greengrin

31-08-2009, 11:49 AM
Eastern European, eh? Could be some of Vlad's new recruits looking for somewhere to train after 2pm, without students hassling them because they've paid for the pitches...

007 Mickey Weir
31-08-2009, 11:52 AM
Did I not see somewhere on here Hughes had been looking at some Slovakian defender from Leeds. Supposed to be a giant CB??

This guy I think

http://www.leedsunited.com/page/PlayerProfiles/0,,10273~38899,00.html

31-08-2009, 11:52 AM
Sounds like your mates wife is well up for it!:greengrin

Her hubby's in his fifties bald fat and 5'8". Cannae blame the puir lassie :greengrin

31-08-2009, 11:56 AM
Zlatan Ibrahamovic

I only wish

Last thing we need is another Striker, let alone another thats big but rubbish in the air...

31-08-2009, 12:05 PM
Zlatan Ibrahamovic

I only wish
He was born in Sweden, but he's "Yugoslavian"

31-08-2009, 02:49 PM
Did I not see somewhere on here Hughes had been looking at some Slovakian defender from Leeds. Supposed to be a giant CB??

This guy I think

http://www.leedsunited.com/page/PlayerProfiles/0,,10273~38899,00.html

Mrs Jack has a son who is 6'4" and she reckoned this guy was taller by a few inches. Sounded like a Kevin James height @6'7" (don't worry - wouldnae be him, too auld)

31-08-2009, 03:18 PM
Eastern European, eh? Could be some of Vlad's new recruits looking for somewhere to train after 2pm, without students hassling them because they've paid for the pitches...Or looking for a job in the EM kitchens...yams scouts managed tae get a couple o pot washers in Witeveen & Suso ..perhaps our scouts are going down the kitchen route ...:hmmm:

31-08-2009, 03:20 PM
Most women fantasise about FAIR haired Scandinavians(so I've been told).

31-08-2009, 03:25 PM
If it is a player it must be a massive signing (no pun intended).

Instead of rolling out the red carpet and sending someone to meet them at the airport, they've said "here's a map and a compass - if you can find East Mains before the transfer window shuts you can have a contract".

31-08-2009, 03:35 PM
If it is a player it must be a massive signing (no pun intended).

Instead of rolling out the red carpet and sending someone to meet them at the airport, they've said "here's a map and a compass - if you can find East Mains before the transfer window shuts you can have a contract".

It was a Scottish driver - probably just an airport cabbie that didn't know East Lothian well?

31-08-2009, 05:00 PM
Might have been Jan Venegoor oe MiltonLink.

31-08-2009, 05:37 PM
It was a Scottish driver - probably just an airport cabbie that didn't know East Lothian well?

Now that would be class...major possible signing coup...flown in secret...and chauferred to EM only for a lack of map reading skills to stop it making deadline:faf::faf: (don't get me started about Prat-Nav:grr::grr:)

Just as well for the extra 24hs