View Full Version : Match Updates *** Hibs vs Celtic ***

CalgaryHibs
30-08-2009, 03:55 AM
Today Hibs put there 2 game winning streak on the line.....

Any team news yet ?

What the weather like back home today ?

another lunch time KO ,these are just killers for us over here for 5:30 am and 4:30am on the west coast.

:hnet::scarf:

Rodsterino
30-08-2009, 04:20 AM
The team news is they're all asleep cos its 5am....except deek who's still tryin to hail a cab from whatever nightclub let him in. :wink: ...and it's to dark to see the weather. Hope this helps. :thumbsup:

Wakeyhibee
30-08-2009, 04:21 AM
another lunch time KO ,these are just killers for us over here for 5:30 am and 4:30am on the west coast.

Yer not kidding setting off in next hour.

All I heard from papers is Zemmama might be back but on the bench. McCann also a poss to start.

Petrie's Tache
30-08-2009, 04:41 AM
The team news is they're all asleep cos its 5am....except deek who's still tryin to hail a cab from whatever nightclub let him in. :wink: ...and it's to dark to see the weather. Hope this helps. :thumbsup:

Your night shift eh?:wink:

HibeesLA
30-08-2009, 07:00 AM

Being down in Sydney for work, for once the lunchtime kick off works out in my favour :thumbsup:

Calvin
30-08-2009, 07:08 AM
Being down in Sydney for work, for once the lunchtime kick off works out in my favour :thumbsup:
We were going to take a drive down to the beach today but a 14:30 kick off Greek time ruins the afternoon! Scunner.

martin63
30-08-2009, 07:42 AM
No team news yet but weather update. The sun is shining with a very slight breeze.
Great football weather.

30-08-2009, 08:07 AM
Pleasant looking day...but summer has changed to Autum with a cool breeze....so Jumpers required :agree:

No doubt the amusing new auto sprinklers will be on to get the surface slick...lets hope it wets a few of thoes Celtic players (as it did for St Mirren)...in fact if we loaned them some soap they could have that annual wash

Russian Hibs Fan
30-08-2009, 10:45 AM
Come the Hibees! Let`s join huns at the top of the table! :thumbsup:

30-08-2009, 11:06 AM
Stack
McCormock
Hogg
Bamba
Hanlon
McBribe
Wotherspoon
Rankin
Cregg
Deek
Stokes

Zemmama, Benji and Nish on the bench

30-08-2009, 11:08 AM
Team just announced

Stack

McCormack
Hogg
Bamba
Hanlon

Wotherspoon
McBride
Cregg
Rankin

Riordan
Stokes

Drat! just beat me to it.

30-08-2009, 11:10 AM
Yogi said Maka took a wee knock and Stack had done well midweek but took nothing away from Maka and nothing against the big man, just Stack deserved to stay after midweek game.

euro Hibby
30-08-2009, 11:13 AM
Have a feeling we will need the Moroccans to finish the job second half.

mayo hibee
30-08-2009, 11:13 AM
Maka's on the bench so Stack is in on merit.

Glad to see McCormack working his way back into the first team. He's had a bad time but he's a player with potential.

30-08-2009, 11:16 AM
I like the look of that team and the bench.

:flag:C'MON THE HIBS

josef k
30-08-2009, 11:19 AM
Maka's on the bench so Stack is in on merit.

Glad to see McCormack working his way back into the first team. He's had a bad time but he's a player with potential.

Agree re McCormack. I don't think he is a right back though. He came through as a highly rated centre half (like Hanlon). Both, IMO should get there chance in there at some point.

Borders Hibby
30-08-2009, 11:25 AM
Stack
McCormock
Hogg
Bamba
Hanlon
McBribe
Wotherspoon
Rankin
Cregg
Deek
Stokes

Zemmama, Benji and Nish on the bench

What have yo:greengrinu heard?

Borders Hibby
30-08-2009, 11:26 AM
Agree re McCormack. I don't think he is a right back though. He came through as a highly rated centre half (like Hanlon). Both, IMO should get there chance in there at some point.

Stil think wootherspoon for right back.

CapitalHibs
30-08-2009, 11:27 AM

I know Darren started off as a centre half, but he said on HI he really loves playing right back.

Septimus
30-08-2009, 11:28 AM
Very best of luck to Stack today. He is really being thrown in at the deep end today and it could be the start of a great Hibs career. Hope it all goes well for him.

josef k
30-08-2009, 11:32 AM
I know Darren started off as a centre half, but he said on HI he really loves playing right back.

Interesting - hopefully he shows what he can do there today

30-08-2009, 11:32 AM
burley is a cock

Gus Fring
30-08-2009, 11:33 AM
i count 3 digs at HIbs from Craig burley already, how did he get that job?

Gus Fring
30-08-2009, 11:34 AM
burley is a cock

Borders Hibby
30-08-2009, 11:40 AM

A cock is useful!:agree:

Gus Fring
30-08-2009, 11:46 AM
"The pitch looks a bit spongy to me"

Well thanks for that Craig, that was the vital info we were all looking for!

****ing Plum!

scott7_0(Prague)
30-08-2009, 11:51 AM
Anyone got any decent streaming links??
if so can you PM me them?

30-08-2009, 11:52 AM
why wot has burley said now?

vahibbie
30-08-2009, 11:53 AM
burley is a cock

Getting bigger all the time....that's no a compliment

Gus Fring
30-08-2009, 11:54 AM
Im not surprised he didnt score, id have been terrified by that massive fly

blaikie
30-08-2009, 11:54 AM
Close by Deek there :agree:

vahibbie
30-08-2009, 11:55 AM
Close from Deek.
Get intae these unwashed:thumbsup:

blaikie
30-08-2009, 12:01 PM
The skill .... oh :faf:

30-08-2009, 12:08 PM
back to Burley....he's a cock of the highest order...

moroccanhibs
30-08-2009, 12:09 PM
zemmama and benji warming up

30-08-2009, 12:12 PM
fs 0-1 :grr::boo hoo:

blaikie
30-08-2009, 12:12 PM
Dirty *******s :grr::grr::grr:

CalgaryHibs
30-08-2009, 12:13 PM
Anyone got any decent streaming links??
if so can you PM me them?

i've tryed my normal link and my Macphee kicked in and warned me its abad site. Only games from Scotland this happens, tryed another links and ESPN have cut the feed, so no game for me,
think i'll go back to bed......

vahibbie
30-08-2009, 12:13 PM
FFS.
:grr::grr:

moroccanhibs
30-08-2009, 12:15 PM
i've tryed my normal link and my Macphee kicked in and warned me its abad site. Only games from Scotland this happens, tryed another links and ESPN have cut the feed, so no game for me,
think i'll go back to bed......

have you got my pm?

30-08-2009, 12:16 PM
Having to listen due to PC problems, sounded like a headed goal for them was on the cards

josef k
30-08-2009, 12:16 PM
We are winning nothing in the air in our own box - really needs to be sorted out.

30-08-2009, 12:17 PM
Missing Rob Jones big time.

Davy Mac
30-08-2009, 12:18 PM
We are winning nothing in the air in our own box - really needs to be sorted out.

Agreed, a wee bit worried about Stack not coming for the ball either.

Bob Box Fish
30-08-2009, 12:19 PM
Why is Hogg trying to mark Samaras? Another goalie that's glued to his line too.

30-08-2009, 12:20 PM
We look really good going forward (except for the need of some sort of target man) but at the back we look quite vulnerable, especially on corners!

McCormack and Hanlon look good going forward and are doing a decent job covering McGeady and Maloney, but CBs are struggling to deal with any balls they do get in.

Septimus
30-08-2009, 12:22 PM

Richard Scott
30-08-2009, 12:23 PM
Stack doesn't look good.

30-08-2009, 12:23 PM

pretty much all the balls in from then have been brilliant....keeper no chance to come out.

bambas bad positionong cost us that goal....another great ball from Hinkel though.

we need to go back and get the ball moving again, thats when we had our best period.

stokes need to up it and get involved, otherwise get benji or nish on there

really dont see what stack has done wrong???

gackohibs
30-08-2009, 12:24 PM
Anyone watching on ESPN?
The commentary is rather pathetic. They couldnt have their tongues any further up celtics ass.
Doon the slope, lets get into them!! Shut them up.

rainman
30-08-2009, 12:24 PM
I gave up sayiong it a couple of years back but Chris Hogg owes Rob Jones a lot for making him look like a football player.

We need a ball winner in there to play with hogg. Bamba is a def. midfielder.

30-08-2009, 12:25 PM
Why is Hogg trying to mark Samaras? Another goalie that's glued to his line too.

Lets not jump on the media inspired all Hibs keepers are rubbish nonsense. Stack will prove to be a good signing and Maka will come good too.

Hibs Spain
30-08-2009, 12:27 PM
Agreed, a wee bit worried about Stack not coming for the ball either.He hasn't come for one ball.Corner after corner cross after cross..They hit the bar cos of it,they missed a couple of sitters cos of it,then surprise surprise..Even his attempt at saving it was pathetic..

Davy Mac
30-08-2009, 12:28 PM
pretty much all the balls in from then have been brilliant....keeper no chance to come out.

bambas bad positionong cost us that goal....another great ball from Hinkel though.

we need to go back and get the ball moving again, thats when we had our best period.

stokes need to up it and get involved, otherwise get benji or nish on there

really dont see what stack has done wrong???

I didnae say Stack has done much wrong, what I'm concerned about is his lack of willingness to come out and claim the ball IMO.

30-08-2009, 12:30 PM
I would get Zemamma and Nish on for Cregg & Rankin as we need some creativity in midfield and height up front.

30-08-2009, 12:33 PM
He hasn't come for one ball.Corner after corner cross after cross..They hit the bar cos of it,they missed a couple of sitters cos of it,then surprise surprise..Even his attempt at saving it was pathetic..

Have to agree with previous post that the crosses have been excellent. Stack could do very little. I think Celtic are getting too much space down the sides and the centre backs are not having a good game.

Septimus
30-08-2009, 12:33 PM
A cross into the six yard box should surely be something which the goalkeeper at least tries for. So far Stack has gone for nothing. Nobody wishes him better than I do because at present I really don't rate Maka but he has to make the six yard area his own.

Hibs Spain
30-08-2009, 12:34 PM
Agreed, a wee bit worried about Stack not coming for the ball either.He hasn't come for one ball.Corner after corner cross after cross..They hit the bar cos of it,they missed a couple of sitters cos of it,then surprise surprise..Even his attempt at saving it was pathetic..

30-08-2009, 12:36 PM
Thought it was going to be on ESPN. It's not, or at least, not here. And I can't get HI to work.

Richard Scott
30-08-2009, 12:44 PM
Thought it was going to be on ESPN. It's not, or at least, not here. And I can't get HI to work.

I'm watching it now. On ESPN.

30-08-2009, 12:47 PM
Zemmamma coming on.

vahibbie
30-08-2009, 12:47 PM

Don't know why it's not on ESPN in the US, fck all else on:grr:

HI working just fine tho :thumbsup:

deek
30-08-2009, 12:48 PM
I'm watching it now. On ESPN.
PC or tv any link if PC?

Richard Scott
30-08-2009, 12:48 PM
PC or tv any link if PC?

tv

deek
30-08-2009, 12:49 PM
tv

Bugger, cheers for reply :thumbsup:

30-08-2009, 12:51 PM
Don't know why it's not on ESPN in the US, fck all else on:grr:

HI working just fine tho :thumbsup:

Chivas regal V LA Galaxy on my ESPN:boo hoo:

vahibbie
30-08-2009, 12:52 PM
ZOUMA.
C'mon wee man:thumbsup:

Mcgeadie red card

just watched it again, a rather soft red card :greengrin

confirmed by richard gordon from a better angle= 100% DIVE the wee hooped grunt (mcgheady....not richard gordon)

Wahey, see ya Aiden :bye:

James.
McGeady off!:thumbsup:

Get intae them Hibs!

hahaha little scrote ****bag mcgeady

30-08-2009, 12:53 PM
lets see all the moaning about diving now. Get it right up them cheating unwashed tramps

vahibbie
Chivas regal V LA Galaxy on my ESPN:boo hoo:
ESPN2 showing how to kill Bambi:grr:

McGeady off haha:thumbsup:

McGeady sent off, get intae them now, c'mon Hibees.

blaikie
30-08-2009, 12:54 PM
McGeady off :thumbsup:

heidtheba
That was harsh but im p%^$ myself at the moment

NEVER thought I'd see that in a game against the Infirm

lets see all the moaning about diving now. Get it right up them cheating unwashed tramps

Saying that it was never a dive! Which makes it even sweeter :greengrin

30-08-2009, 12:55 PM
thats what happens when you start moaning all the time. Still gives them a chance to play the victims again

30-08-2009, 12:56 PM
Amazing save by Boruc from Wotherspoon.

30-08-2009, 12:56 PM
Hibs must watch out as the ref will be desperate to even up the red cards.

CalgaryHibs
30-08-2009, 12:57 PM

Was watching ESPN as well and other links and lost the game yet again.
Oh well ..........................

James.
Wotherspoon has been immense today! We're really piling on the pressure now.

CalgaryHibs
OK people we need lots of updates please:greengrin

30-08-2009, 12:58 PM
Flood & Killen coming on for them

Still sounds really dodgy at the back from Hibs

need to give boruc credit for that save from wotherspoon :grr::boo hoo:

blaikie
How ****ing ugly is that bumble bee shirt :faf:

30-08-2009, 12:59 PM
OK people we need lots of updates please:greengrin

Aye, and not just "OOOOH!" and "FFS!" either.

DETAILS. :agree:

30-08-2009, 01:00 PM
Willo Flood looks like Jasper Carrot!

heidtheba
Commentators just said that from another angle the ref got the McGeady sending off spot on...

I stand corrected.

Gollum and killen on...bet the james hunt scores

30-08-2009, 01:01 PM
Hope we can take advantage of this, mon the Cabbage

Sick-note on for MacDonald.

Austinho
Please stop shooting John Rankin.

hibeemarley
We need to up our tempo and press them more

plhibs
30-08-2009, 01:02 PM
All the O.F. games are only shown on Setanta in N. America.

30-08-2009, 01:02 PM
Byrne is on for McCormack, in case it hasn't been mentioned, Hibs are still sloppy

30-08-2009, 01:03 PM
Lots of groans of disappointment, Celtic have more possession than us despite us having an extra man

Surely we can beat a 10 man team that contains Killen and Flood

Davy Mac
30-08-2009, 01:04 PM
Wish we had that winning arrogant mentality the ugly sisters seem to always have....c'mon Hibs.

James.
30-08-2009, 01:05 PM
Stokes coming off for Nish.

30-08-2009, 01:05 PM
Blatant corner just turned down, Nish on for Stokes

CalgaryHibs
30-08-2009, 01:06 PM
Pompey 0-1 Man C

Stokes nearly scored just before he's coming off

heidtheba
Bringing Hanlon into it more - stokes off for nish

30-08-2009, 01:07 PM
Corner Hibs, Boruc save from Deeks, Nish puts it over

30-08-2009, 01:07 PM
Nish must do better than that.

heidtheba
30-08-2009, 01:08 PM
Anti foreigner xenophobic rant from erse of a commentator

Nish is a completely huddy. Absolutely hopeless.

We have now had 3 efforts on target, same as Celtic

Nish gives the ball away

30-08-2009, 01:09 PM
Radio Scotland. 100% dive for the sending off. Cheating bassas when it suits them

James.
30-08-2009, 01:09 PM
Richard Gordon saying it was definately a dive from McGeady.

30-08-2009, 01:10 PM
Don't just lump it up the park! For god's sake!

30-08-2009, 01:11 PM
Celtic still pushing forward we have to retain the ball

Bamba gives a foul away jumping all over Killen

heidtheba
Composure is lacking especially in the final third

hibeemarley
30-08-2009, 01:12 PM
We seem to have no energy left

30-08-2009, 01:12 PM
Frustrating

vahibbie
30-08-2009, 01:14 PM
FFS Hibs.
Get the ball and KEEP it

30-08-2009, 01:14 PM
Wotherspoon our best threat at the back doesn't seemed to have worked

30-08-2009, 01:15 PM
McBride's name crops up a lot when talking about giving the ball away

corner Celtic

30-08-2009, 01:16 PM
Nice try Rankin....NOT!

heidtheba
Shot from Killen

Killen almost scores, Stack saves, corner Celtic

30-08-2009, 01:17 PM
Bamba still giving fouls away, yellow card

30-08-2009, 01:17 PM
Sloppy passing now...

vahibbie
30-08-2009, 01:18 PM
Our passing is dreadfull:grr:

heidtheba
Bamba Yellow
Passing is grim

This is so frustrating we can't keep hold of the ball, giving it away to easily.:grr:

Celtic doing all they can to run it down, Hibs helping where possible

blaikie
We've lost this now, No composure in passing the ball since we took off Cregg.

Borders Hibby
30-08-2009, 01:19 PM
Sloppy passing now...

We are clueless. Zemmama and Byrne are passengers.

heidtheba
30-08-2009, 01:19 PM
Celtic excellent chance but Samaras was greedy

blaikie
30-08-2009, 01:20 PM
Stack looks like a decent keeper :agree:

Celtic should have scored, Stack saves, Hibs run back up to their end to no avail

4 minutes extra time! cmon hibs!!!!

4 mins extra time

vahibbie
30-08-2009, 01:21 PM
Stack looks like a decent keeper :agree:

Celtic should have scored

Killen fouls Zemama, chaos in the box, Hibs nae goal again

Borders Hibby
4 mins extra time

Couldnae score in 4 days.

hibeemarley
30-08-2009, 01:22 PM
The passing is attrocious.

ten man celtic with no mcgeady, no maloney, no mcdonald and they are dominating us.

scramble in the box there, should have put it away

corner Hibs

Offside Bamba, plays into their hands

Richard Scott
30-08-2009, 01:23 PM
Very poor passing :bitchy:

30-08-2009, 01:24 PM
Hibs denied a corner

Bamba great chance poor finish

Borders Hibby
Not great subs unfortunately. Chance lost.

30-08-2009, 01:25 PM
full time

hibeemarley
bamba chance should have scored. full time whistle.

awful performance by us.

blaikie
Too many strikers on, Not enough men in the middle of the park to supply them :boo hoo:

Richard Scott
:yawn:

The vast majority of people seem to be greeting as per bloody usual, is this not a vast improvement on last season? Yogi knows he is rebuilding so christ can folk not be patient, we aren't going to be turning teams over like Celtic straight away.

Under previous managers we used to beat the OF from time to time and get horsed of the so called lesser teams, to me it pretty obvious that Yogi is building a decent team...mon guys have a word :hnet:

Anyone maybe give credit to Celtic for playing well???? didn't think so :rolleyes:

disappointing :agree::boo hoo:

Davy Mac
30-08-2009, 01:26 PM
Bamba gives a foul away jumping all over Killen

Dinnae agree with this rule at all, there was only one player who wanted the ball and that certainly wisnae Killen.

Borders Hibby
Not one clear cut chance against 10 men.

vahibbie
Too many strikers on, Not enough men in the middle of the park to supply them :boo hoo:

But none of them had the chance Bamba had:grr:

Borders Hibby
30-08-2009, 01:28 PM
The vast majority of people seem to be greeting as per bloody usual, is this not a vast improvement on last season? Yogi knows he is rebuilding so christ can folk not be patient, we aren't going to be turning teams over like Celtic straight away.

Under previous managers we used to beat the OF from time to time and get horsed of the so called lesser teams, to me it pretty obvious that Yogi is building a decent team...mon guys have a word :hnet:

Anyone maybe give credit to Celtic for playing well???? didn't think so :rolleyes:

Against 10 men! Too many passengers and the passing went to pot the more space we had.

vahibbie

NUT :wink:

No you likes, that my answer:wink:

we should have taken something from that, zemamma and byrne didnt really do anything when they came on which was a big disappointment for me they should have made more of an impact.

Still things are looking much more promising than this time last year, we do however still need a proper RB and CH though lets hope we can get someone in soon, bamba just makes unnecessary fouls by charging into people when there is no need at all.

30-08-2009, 01:29 PM
Well done Hibs and Yogi. A vast improvement on last year. The results will come as will the tactics when Yogi and the team have gelled and settled.

30-08-2009, 01:29 PM
Not one clear cut chance against 10 men.

There were about 4 clearcut chances if the hibs players given them had made any decent contact with the ball!

mayo hibee
30-08-2009, 01:30 PM
bamba chance should have scored. full time whistle.

awful performance by us.

Can't agree with that, much improved on last season again today, just bad luck and an outstanding save from Boruc stopped us from getting something. Thought Stack looked very composed in the last 15 minutes and that's good for the season ahead.

At the end of the season, whether we get a point or not against Celtic will be far less important than whether we take all three at places like Hamilton in the next game in terms of deciding whether or not we can challenge for Europe.

And Wotherspoon looks like an excrptional talent.

cjward2

Well stated that man.:agree:

Is it? We were unbeaten at home to Celtic last year after all. Not that I'm saying we are worse than last year mind.

30-08-2009, 01:31 PM

An independant observer, would be very hard pushed to discern any improvement over last season, on the basis of that game. We had no shape after the subs were made.

Far too many laddies in the team, we need an auld heed in the middle of the park to hold the ball and break up moves, smeltic just peed all over us tbh, simply not good enough although the save from Boruc from Wotherspoon was breath taking

5 out of 10 for me

Davy Mac
we should have taken something from that, zemamma and byrne didnt really do anything when they came on which was a big disappointment for me they should have made more of an impact.

Still things are looking much more promising than this time last year, we do however still need a proper RB and CH though lets hope we can get someone in soon, bamba just makes unnecessary fouls by charging into people when there is no need at all.

For all the greeting Byrne seems to be doing over the summer Wotherspoon is the class act amongst the youngsters although I think Zemmama didnae look fit TBH.

Borders Hibby
30-08-2009, 01:32 PM
There were about 4 clearcut chances if the hibs players given them had made any decent contact with the ball!

Correct! Too anguish maybe. Or is that being too kind.:wink:

30-08-2009, 01:32 PM
Is it? We were unbeaten at home to Celtic last year after all. Not that I'm saying we are worse than last year mind.

when we beat celtc at home last year it was a total flook, we didnt play well and John Rankin scored form the halway line cos boruc was sleeping. Id say that performance today was a massive improvement on last years win.

The other game we didnt lose was a 0-0 backs to the wall 90 mins in which we done nothing at all.

30-08-2009, 01:34 PM
Deserved at least a draw, first half all they had was crosses from wide which we couldn't deal with and they scored off. Nothng between them in the second, Zouma looked very rusty, Byrne gave us nowt( would've been better with Benji ), Wotherspoon did well, put in good crosses and unlucky not to score.
McGeady dived, looked like a foul until you see it in slomo and good decision by ref.
We need Zouma to get fit quick or bring in another playmaker.

30-08-2009, 01:35 PM
It did look like the Hibs of last year in the end, but most of the time i'd say if we play like that we'll win more than we lose.

30-08-2009, 01:35 PM
Unbelievable negativity from some folks. I had the radio on for commentary and they were very complimentary about Hibs and the way we played. It went a bit scrappy with too many long punts toward the end but I think we played ok. The young guys in the team are only going to get better and better the more they play and I one for think the future is bright

30-08-2009, 01:37 PM

Look, Yogi's had FOUR competitive games now.

That was atrocious - most of those players aren't fit to wear the Hibs shirt.

Stuff this "give it time" - we're entitled to see results NOW.

RIGHT NOW. TODAY, EVEN!

The board need to take drastic action NOW!

:grr: :grr: :grr: :grr: :grr: :grr: :grr:

BTW - in case you're wondering, I wasn't at the game, didn't see it, haven't a clue how we played beyond what I got from this thread..

But when does any of that stop a Hibs fan from having a right good whinge? . :devil:

30-08-2009, 01:38 PM
Look, Yogi's had FOUR competitive games now.

Stuff this "give it tiem" - we're entitled to see results NOW.

That was atrocious - mos t of those players aren't fit to wear the Hibs shirt.

The board need to take drastic action NOW!

:grr: :grr: :grr: :grr: :grr: :grr: :grr:

BTW - in case you're wondering, I wasn't at the game, didn't see it, haven't a clue how we played beyond what I got from this thread..

But when does any of that stop a Hibs fan from having a right good whinge? . :devil:

Aspire
30-08-2009, 01:41 PM
So much to be positive about with todays performance. We are still a work in progress but we are moving in the right direction. Any other day we would have got something out of today game. In Yogi we believe :thumbsup:

hibeemarley
30-08-2009, 01:44 PM
Can't agree with that, much improved on last season again today, just bad luck and an outstanding save from Boruc stopped us from getting something. Thought Stack looked very composed in the last 15 minutes and that's good for the season ahead.

At the end of the season, whether we get a point or not against Celtic will be far less important than whether we take all three at places like Hamilton in the next game in terms of deciding whether or not we can challenge for Europe.

And Wotherspoon looks like an excrptional talent.

I agree with some of what you say, yes we look better than last season, wotherspoon does look like a great wee player.. but playing against a ten man team with no mcgeady, no maloney, no mcdonald and Gary Caldwell on the park we should have done much better. Our passing was lacklustre, we let them press us with ten men, our legs seem to have gone with 10-15 minutes to go. Zemamma and Byrne did nothing! We should have at least had more possession in teh final third and have had more shots on goal.

That's just my thoughts on todays game, not hibs in general this season. Still it the start of the season and its very early doors. like you though I'm pleased wit how hibs have started, hopefully Stokes can quickly shake this rustiness and start banging them in

euro Hibby
30-08-2009, 01:45 PM
Reg got it right on the sdending off but you needed a slow motion reply to see it so hats off to him. Killen maybe should have been booked for the same thing. Don't know why players do it as its a mans game !

Give Yogi time and stop complaining. All the players gave there best. Mcormack and Hanlon did OK but we struggles all day with Samaras.

Wothersppon has got it and all told we were alittle unlucky not to get the draw. 3 games in too soon to make predictions but I think we might be better this year.

hiblander
30-08-2009, 01:46 PM
Well done Hibs and Yogi. A vast improvement on last year. The results will come as will the tactics when Yogi and the team have gelled and settled.

Was last years score not 0-0 ???

30-08-2009, 02:02 PM
Two world class saves today from Boruc stopped us getting a point in my opinion. His save from Riordan second half was just as good as his from Wotherspoon (who came on to a right good game second half). Cregg's booking took the edge off his game and we kind of lost composure in the midfield, but we were playing attacking football throughout the second half. The other chances we created kind of fell to the wrong players, particulary Bamba. Stokes disappointed today but there was no creativity in the middle of the park for long spells first half. All in all an entertaining game which Hibs can come away from saying that they played well so I can't see why people are being so despondent. Stack looked steady, McBride only put one pass wrong from what I saw, and Wotherspoon, Hanlon and McCormack gave really good accounts for players so young. Good times still ahead my hibee chums :agree:

30-08-2009, 02:06 PM
We should have done better. We gave them the ball too often. McGready tore us apart at times. Bamba needs to calm it. Hogg, well, just let's hope this isn't the best he'll produce.

Now the positives. We snuffed out most of their chances, we even exposed their shoddy defence for what it was and really really should have scored. I'm excited about Wotherspoon and the future. Any other SPL team would have probably lost heavily.

And Sellick will be half the team when the cheat is sold (McGready, that is although you could argue that could be any of them).

30-08-2009, 02:11 PM
Can't remember McGeady tearing us apart. Hibs doubled up well on him in my opinion and it was actually Hinkel that was putting in telling crosses. How many times do you see McGeady defending his own box against other teams (which we were making him do today at times) ? Totally agree with you about Hogg.......he will make a player when I become a priest. Poor player.

30-08-2009, 02:14 PM
Can't remember McGeady tearing us apart. Hibs doubled up well on him in my opinion and it was actually Hinkel that was putting in telling crosses. How many times do you see McGeady defending his own box against other teams (which we were making him do today at times) ? Totally agree with you about Hogg.......he will make a player when I become a priest. Poor player.

I suppose he tore us apart cos we let him. He ran at our defence and everyone ran from him, probably too scared to go in in case he did his submarine impression, which he duly obliged with anyway.

30-08-2009, 02:15 PM

Apart from the goal, most of the troubled crosses bame from Fox at corners, Hogg was pretty poor today and I think the captaincy is getting the better of him. Bamba needs to get back to midfield where he's a pillar of strength and bring in another Ch.

euro Hibby
30-08-2009, 02:16 PM
nah the main danger was always Samaras. Both Hibs full backs coped well with the celtic wide men. Zemmana did not get into the game when he came on but thats maybe too be expected as by then the game was going at a frantic pace.

30-08-2009, 02:20 PM
Very optimistic about the season ahead after today. Played well in 2nd half and should have got a point. Boruc was magnificent in goals and wotherspoon looks a real find.

Only concerning thing is we need an older head in that team. Murray coming back will give us a lift but if stories like russel anderson coming are true then that would be great as he is experienced an a good leader.

Think hughes might have made a mistake in playing mccormack as i thought we looked better when wotherspoon was crossing the ball in from the right.

Huge improvement on last season and its good to see a manager who knows what he is doing. The games against Hamilton and St Johnstone are the ones which will shape our season, not games like today.:agree:

30-08-2009, 02:23 PM
Very optimistic about the season ahead after today. Played well in 2nd half and should have got a point. Boruc was magnificent in goals and wotherspoon looks a real find.

Only concerning thing is we need an older head in that team. Murray coming back will give us a lift but if stories like russel anderson coming are true then that would be great as he is experienced an a good leader.

Think hughes might have made a mistake in playing mccormack as i thought we looked better when wotherspoon was crossing the ball in from the right.

Huge improvement on last season and its good to see a manager who knows what he is doing. The games against Hamilton and St Johnstone are the ones which will shape our season, not games like today.:agree:

You'll get them all talking about Boozy again, although he'd be the perfect man to have today, someone to put their foot on the ball and use it wisely.:greengrin

30-08-2009, 02:26 PM
Was last years score not 0-0 ???

Meant the whole of last year not just some fluke backs to the wall 0-0

30-08-2009, 02:28 PM
Just a shame that Cregg picked up that early yellow in the first half because he started to shy away a little from making telling challenges. Hibs did well though to nullify Brown, Maloney and McGeady. The two saves from Boruc were saves that shows he is world class (pains me to say that). Interesting comments from Mowbray though which also backs up what May said last week. We are now a team not afraid to mix it and to not allow the opposition too much time on the ball (which was Mixu's huge failing last season). I am still very encouraged from what I have seen from Hibs so far this season. :agree:

JoeTortolanoFanClub
30-08-2009, 02:47 PM
[QUOTE=Cameron1875;2153289]Very optimistic about the season ahead after today. Played well in 2nd half and should have got a point. Boruc was magnificent in goals and wotherspoon looks a real find.

Only concerning thing is we need an older head in that team. Murray coming back will give us a lift but if stories like russel anderson coming are true then that would be great as he is experienced an a good leader. QUOTE]

Spot on. We missed Murray in central defence. Babma would have been better in midfield.

Much better than last season though. We are good to watch going forward. Easrly days yet. We are in with a good shout of third place.

Will be interesting to see what Gordon Smith of the SFA about the antics of McGeady and Killen.

30-08-2009, 03:08 PM
Thought Hughes made 3 blunders today.

1. He started Stokes when he is nowhere near fit and his legs had gone after 25 minutes-hopefully he'll improve with games but today shoould not have been one of them.Nish should have been on much earlier-one over the bar and laid on 2 sitters.

2. Moving Wotherspoon back-he had been running the midfield and distributing the ball beautifully-moving him back and wide made him much more one dimensional.

3. Bringing on Zemmamma-obviously unfit-not the game(or time)to bring him on-caught on his heels at Nish's knock back.

Unlucky to lose -pity Bamba is not as cool up front as at the back.
Because we outnumbered Celtic in central midfield we controlled the game for long spells but lacked a good final ball.

New Corrie
30-08-2009, 03:36 PM
Wotherspoon looks some prospect, Benji should have been on instead of Stokes (who was blowing oot his erse and looked like a player who hasn't scored for 3 years) Regardless of what folkls say, Stokes is a gamble! Hogg had a Weston Super Mare, McBride=Ordinary, Bamba...not one of his better ones. Thought Deeks was good, the young full backs did ok....A bit gutted at losing, but Celtic in reality could have been 3 up at half time.

Hate losing football matches, but young Wotherspoon will stop me getting to down in the dumps.

30-08-2009, 03:42 PM
Wotherspoon looks some prospect, Benji should have been on instead of Stokes (who was blowing oot his erse and looked like a player who hasn't scored for 3 years) Regardless of what folkls say, Stokes is a gamble! Hogg had a Weston Super Mare, McBride=Ordinary, Bamba...not one of his better ones. Thought Deeks was good, the young full backs did ok....A bit gutted at losing, but Celtic in reality could have been 3 up at half time.

Hate losing football matches, but young Wotherspoon will stop me getting to down in the dumps.

Wotherspoon was a definite plus, but the standard of football was very poor, especially from Hibs.

30-08-2009, 05:28 PM
when we beat celtc at home last year it was a total flook, we didnt play well and John Rankin scored form the halway line cos boruc was sleeping. Id say that performance today was a massive improvement on last years win.

The other game we didnt lose was a 0-0 backs to the wall 90 mins in which we done nothing at all.

Except get some points.