View Full Version : NHC Noel has quit oasis if your interested
28-08-2009, 10:47 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/8228053.stm
Beat me to it :greengrin
My pals were at V fest last weekend and think they pulled out of that at last moment.
Noel IS Oasis!
Liam and the rest simply can't continue without him.
This is a sad day.
David_D
28-08-2009, 11:19 PM
Yip without noel they are nothing as he wrote most of the songs.
Sad day indeed
29-08-2009, 08:20 AM
He'll go on to make some great music.
Everyone could see this coming, well every Oasis fan.
He also released that acoustic album recently in the Mail on Sunday IIRC. I bought the paper specifically for that, was suprised to find it cost me about 2 quid!
29-08-2009, 08:40 AM
It'll never last.
29-08-2009, 08:40 AM
What a sad day, wake up to here that my favorite band has split :boo hoo: and tonight my favorite pub closes its door's for ever :boo hoo:
But Noel will go on to start a new band like Paul Weller has done, as he is too big a talent to lose to the indie world :agree:
29-08-2009, 09:42 PM
shame really :boo hoo:
But at the end of the day, he'll go on tae bigger and better things - which is what most anticipated for some time now. :cool2:
29-08-2009, 09:48 PM
Watch out for the reunion tour in 5 years time.
I saw them on their first Knebworth night back in 1996, that was their pinnacle and its never been the same for me since then. Downhill all the way with only a few good songs.
29-08-2009, 09:54 PM
2 excellent albums
some decent ones
some dreadful ones.
(what's the story) morning glory and acquiesce are two of my favourite songs ever:agree:
29-08-2009, 10:04 PM
Noel IS Oasis!
Liam and the rest simply can't continue without him.
This is a sad day.
Totally gutted..
Was too young for DM but got WTSMG in my Xmas stocking the year it was released and 2 weeks later I'd bought a guitar and began to teach myself how to play..
Oasis were and are the soundtrack of my life..
I said after Murrayfield in June that I thought that'll be the last time we see them live and it looks like I've been correct... :boo hoo:
Genuinely feel lost..
Oasis Will always Live Forever though :agree:
29-08-2009, 10:18 PM
Oasis were ****ing sublime with 'Definitely Maybe'. Right time, right sound, right band.
"What's the Story" was good but not better than the first album. In hindsight it built on it, didn't offer anything more exciting but maybe offered a more accomplished and confident sound.
Subsequent albums have had some great tracks on them, but in shorter supply, and nothing coming remotely close to the vitality of the first (and second) album.
Oasis were ****ing sublime with 'Definitely Maybe'. Right time, right sound, right band.
"What's the Story" was good but not better than the first album. In hindsight it built on it, didn't offer anything more exciting but maybe offered a more accomplished and confident sound.
Subsequent albums have had some great tracks on them, but in shorter supply, and nothing coming remotely close to the vitality of the first (and second) album.
I agree with a lot of that but every track on Morning glory could have been a single...making it a better album in my opinion.
I consider myself lucky to be the age I am...part of the rave generation that witnessed the dividing and eventual death of the scene and the start of the guitar revolution.
At the time it felt like a force of nature. I don't think there's ever been such a swift change in popular music culture....and Oasis were the spearhead.
Totally gutted..
Was too young for DM but got WTSMG in my Xmas stocking the year it was released and 2 weeks later I'd bought a guitar and began to teach myself how to play..
Oasis were and are the soundtrack of my life..
I said after Murrayfield in June that I thought that'll be the last time we see them live and it looks like I've been correct... :boo hoo:
Genuinely feel lost..
Oasis Will always Live Forever though :agree:
It's a fact that the mid nineties were boom years for musical instument stores due to the amount of guitars they sold....simply on the back of people buying them because of bands like Oasis. **** of the earth made good by playing guitar so why cant we?I bought my electric-acoustic in 1996 and still haven't done nothing of any note with it:greengrin
To be honest, them splitting up doesn't mean that much to me. It's all about the memories because I'm of the age that they were in there prime the same time I was...around the late teens and early twenties. It's all relative...how many people in their late forties rave about punk?
The oasis music will continue because Noel will continue to release music. It won't be the same as the early days but it will still be there!
Delboy*
29-08-2009, 11:41 PM
My soul sank when i heard the news
Oasis have been such a massive part of my life, put a swagger in my step, gave me some of the best times and gave me the songs to live my life.
blew my mind...
"In my mind my dreams are real"
Live forever.
29-08-2009, 11:45 PM
:top marks Spot on with every word there, Mibbes.
Definitely Maybe is probably the best album I own. I've never had an album affect me like that one did.
What's the Story was brilliant, but Definitely Maybe is the better album, IMHO.
29-08-2009, 11:51 PM
My soul sank when i heard the news
Oasis have been such a massive part of my life, put a swagger in my step, gave me some of the best times and gave me the songs to live my life.
blew my mind...
"In my mind my dreams are real"
Live forever.
Some amazing Gigs, drunken guitar sessions, some sober recordings, The City Of Manchester Weekend...
Heartbroken it seems to be over..
30-08-2009, 08:26 AM
I agree. Noel Gallagher could do no wrong as a songwriter back then, and every track on those two albums was a gem. (Three if you count the sublime collection of B-sides and outtakes, The Masterplan.)
The subsequent albums, well, if you made a compilation of the best tracks you'd get something as good as the first two, but they never really stood up in the same way.
Loved them live still, a real event, but it was always a bit like watching an older band get back, like the Pogues Christmas special or something of that ilk.
They'll be back though, Oasis worked because there was a brilliant songwriter and a great singer. The songwriter is a reasonable singer, but he ain't no Liam, while the singer will never write tunes like Noel.
They'll reluctantly be dragged back into each other arms again, perhaps after a hiatus of underwhelming solo careers.
31-08-2009, 10:05 AM
Strangely got into them a bit late, maybe a year after What's The Story came out. I remember going up to HMV after school to buy Be Here Now on the first day it was out - exciting times! :greengrin
Managed to see them a few times -
Murrayfield, June 2000
T In The Park, July 2002
Corn Exchange, September (maybe October?) 2002
Hampden, June 2005
Millenium Stadium, December 2005
Murrayfield and Hampden weren't that great, and T in the Park was ok, but Corn Exchange and Millenium Stadium were crackers :agree:
31-08-2009, 12:36 PM
Noel who?
Oasis?
Isn't that the green stuff flower-arrangers use to stick the flowers in?
Hasnae been a group or a musician worth greetin ower since Jimi and Janis died. :devil:
31-08-2009, 12:58 PM
:agree: Definitely Maybe is a tremendous album - WTSMG is good but not as good as the 1st album.
I've seen them loads of times but I was a bit disappointed with them at Murrayfield in June. I thought Kasabian stole the show from them.
31-08-2009, 01:17 PM
:agree: Definitely Maybe is a tremendous album - WTSMG is good but not as good as the 1st album.
I've seen them loads of times but I was a bit disappointed with them at Murrayfield in June. I thought Kasabian stole the show from them.
DM is great. I also think that Be Here Now is a great album. Very underratted and usually off people's radar.
SOTSOG was **** apart from 2 songs IIRC.
More recent stuff has been pretty dire but still a great band.
31-08-2009, 06:30 PM
Definitely Maybe and What's the story (especially the latter) are 2 albums that pretty much every lad of my age grew up with, and knows near enough off by heart.
Wouldn't say I'm "heart-broken" though - they peaked with those 2 albums, and a few decent songs since, but Liam really was/is an total and utter cock.
They've done more for British music than the vast majority of bands since, and should be happy with that legacy.
Marabou Stork
01-09-2009, 12:28 AM
14 years too late IMO. Everything since 'Morning Glory' has been woeful. A second rate Beatles tribute act is all I'll ever see them as.
hibsdaft
01-09-2009, 12:33 AM
never the same since Tony McCarroll got sacked. started thinking they were musicians.
any word on what Noel is on about re: violent abuse etc?
Oh well, they haven't done anything good in 12 years anyway.
01-09-2009, 01:55 AM
Standing On The Shoulder of Giants was by far the worst - first 2 songs are great and Gas Panic is ok, the rest was rubbish.
However, I disagree that everything else was rubbish because I think about 60-70% of their last album is really quite good, and the same with the one before it. Both tail off a bit towards the end, but both start really strongly and have some good songs that I actually like.
Too many people are stuck on the old "first 2 albums are good, rest are rubbish" argument. I bet most people who say this listened to the last album about once in total.
01-09-2009, 08:32 AM
Standing On The Shoulder of Giants was by far the worst - first 2 songs are great and Gas Panic is ok, the rest was rubbish.
However, I disagree that everything else was rubbish because I think about 60-70% of their last album is really quite good, and the same with the one before it. Both tail off a bit towards the end, but both start really strongly and have some good songs that I actually like.
Too many people are stuck on the old "first 2 albums are good, rest are rubbish" argument. I bet most people who say this listened to the last album about once in total.
:agree:Their last 2 albums were very decent. A lot of good songs on them.
TheEastTerrace
01-09-2009, 12:16 PM
Dunno where I really sit with Oasis these days. Honestly, I probably still am romanticised by the heady days of their first two albums, and wish we could rewind back to the 1990s and have it all again. I also believe that if they had saved their b-sides for inclusion on albums instead of singles, they could have produced another one or two great albums on top of DM and WTSMG. However, they took too many drugs and consumed too much booze towards the late 90s and subsequently released an over-produced and hyped album in the form of Be Here Now and Standing on the Shoulder of Giants was an album produced in haste and without substance. I thought Heathen Chemistry was ok, wasn't a fan of Don't Believe the Truth. The last album was ok.
Long story short, I don't think a huge loss in the end really and I reckon Noel will do solo/collaberation stuff.
However, when they rocked it, they effin well rocked it!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3sCi7CBhH8
02-09-2009, 10:13 AM
02-09-2009, 10:49 AM
It's all kicking off in Berlin now...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q6IyGAvbOs4
02-09-2009, 11:00 AM
It's all kicking off in Berlin now...
:greengrin No bad.
Chuckie
04-09-2009, 01:22 PM
Definitely Maybe was an exciting, fresh, raw sounding record and is up there with the best of them.
The only song outwith that album that had that exciting, scuzzy, dirty feel to it was 'Some Might Say' (Tony McCarrols last single with the band) on the second album.
Once they got rid of the McCarroll, and started bringing in pianos, ballads, expensive production and drum solos, they lost that dangerous edge, and their music became radio friendly unit shifters.
Nobody will be listening to Oasis in 10 years time.
Blur won the credibility prize.
Chuckie
04-09-2009, 01:33 PM
Green Mikey
04-09-2009, 03:14 PM
14 years too late IMO. Everything since 'Morning Glory' has been woeful. A second rate Beatles tribute act is all I'll ever see them as.
I never got the comparison between the Beatles and Oasis.:yawn:
IMO Oasis were much more influenced by the Rolling Stones especially on Definately Maybe. Could you imagine the Beatles playing Cigarettes and Alcohol or Supersonic:devil:
04-09-2009, 11:50 PM
Definitely Maybe was an exciting, fresh, raw sounding record and is up there with the best of them.
The only song outwith that album that had that exciting, scuzzy, dirty feel to it was 'Some Might Say' (Tony McCarrols last single with the band) on the second album.
Once they got rid of the McCarroll, and started bringing in pianos, ballads, expensive production and drum solos, they lost that dangerous edge, and their music became radio friendly unit shifters.
Difference between Blur and Oasis is that Blur progressed their sound as they got older, Oasis tried (and generally failed) to get the glory days back, IMHO.
I actually love both bands:agree:
Difference between Blur and Oasis is that Blur progressed their sound as they got older, Oasis tried (and generally failed) to get the glory days back, IMHO.
I actually love both bands:agree:
Blur "progressed" their sound but I don't think it was ever the same quality as their original sound.
They were just a band that didn't want to live off their original ideas and suffered slightly because of that. Too many grand ideas within the same band and you could hear that. Coxon and Albarn wanted to do different things and it was proven years later when you listen to the different sounds of their many solo projects.
Blur grew up as one, progressed and grew apart. I hope the coming together again will meld the experiences of them both and eventually produce a great band once again.
AllyF
05-09-2009, 12:17 AM
Blur "progressed" their sound but I don't think it was ever the same quality as their original sound.
They were just a band that didn't want to live off their original ideas and suffered slightly because of that. Too many grand ideas within the same band and you could hear that. Coxon and Albarn wanted to do different things and it was proven years later when you listen to the different sounds of their many solo projects.
Blur grew up as one, progressed and grew apart. I hope the coming together again will meld the experiences of them both and eventually produce a great band once again.
Doubt it. The real reason they very nearly didn't play at T in the Park was due to an actual fist fight within the band. It seems the band is completely divided now so I wouldn't hold much hope for another album.
05-09-2009, 08:43 AM
Ye think?
Bollocks..
Blur? Credible?
Behave..
Total gash..
FACT!!
Chuckie
05-09-2009, 11:36 AM
Ye think?
Bollocks..
Blur? Credible?
Behave..
Total gash..
FACT!!
I guarantee you it.
They are dad rock.
Your kids will laugh at you when you play them, like you laughed at your dads Status Quo records.
They will be playing Glastonbury at 11.00am on Sunday morning in 10 years time.
FACT !!