View Full Version : Hibs v Celtic in Scarborough

Cletus
28-08-2009, 09:28 PM
Bit of a long shot perhaps.......I'll be in Scarborough on Sunday and wondered if anyone knows of any establishments that will be showing the Hibs game (preferably fairly close to the cricket ground).

28-08-2009, 09:32 PM
Bit of a long shot perhaps.......I'll be in Scarborough on Sunday and wondered if anyone knows of any establishments that will be showing the Hibs game (preferably fairly close to the cricket ground).

There's a boozer on North Marine Road (about 5 mins up the road from the Cricket Ground) which should show the game, assuming it doesnae clash with any English fitba...

Failing that just keep walking towards the fire station and there's a few boozers down the street at the side of the car park...

Just make sure you avoid the staunch Rangers pub on Newborough...scary scary pub :agree:

Cletus
28-08-2009, 09:40 PM
There's a boozer on North Marine Road (about 5 mins up the road from the Cricket Ground) which should show the game, assuming it doesnae clash with any English fitba...

Failing that just keep walking towards the fire station and there's a few boozers down the street at the side of the car park...

Just make sure you avoid the staunch Rangers pub on Newborough...scary scary pub :agree:

Thanks for your speedy response mate! Only serves to confirm my faith in the Hibs community. Any further suggestions welcome! (I think there is an English game on too - could be tricky....)

28-08-2009, 09:54 PM
Thanks for your speedy response mate! Only serves to confirm my faith in the Hibs community. Any further suggestions welcome! (I think there is an English game on too - could be tricky....)

Pubs in Scarborough (http://www.beerintheevening.com/pubs/results.shtml/el/Scarborough%3BNorth%20Yorkshire/)

Done a wee bit more research (actually quite jealous your in Scarborough, fantastic place :agree:) and the pubs you'll be looking for are either on North Marine Road or Castle Road...

28-08-2009, 09:56 PM
Pubs in Scarborough (http://www.beerintheevening.com/pubs/results.shtml/el/Scarborough%3BNorth%20Yorkshire/)

Done a wee bit more research (actually quite jealous your in Scarborough, fantastic place :agree:) and the pubs you'll be looking for are either on North Marine Road or Castle Road...

Its still a fairly cheap place as well. :agree:

SonOfDavidFrancey
29-08-2009, 09:01 AM

The only good thing about the Rangers pub (The Golden Last I think it's called) is that there is no danger of walking into it by accident, given that the walls are decorated with pictures of orange marchers and red hand flags. Total throwback land.

Hibs07p
29-08-2009, 09:08 AM
Try Barracuda just down from the Brunswick shopping centre.
Decent pub food as well.

http://www.barracudagroup.co.uk/pubs/?id=163

fergal7
29-08-2009, 09:20 AM
The only good thing about the Rangers pub (The Golden Last I think it's called) is that there is no danger of walking into it by accident, given that the walls are decorated with pictures of orange marchers and red hand flags. Total throwback land.

I was in there a few years ago. I was on a course in scarborough with a guy from Northern Ireland. We went in as we were curious.

Well the owner (who was a dead ringer for Billy Connolly and a weegie) heard my mates accent and asked him what part of Belfast he came from.

Apparently this was a "good" part to come from and we were invited to a wee room in the back.

I was astounded to be in a shrine to the UVF, pictures of him with Billy Stone Ian Paisley etc murals and stuff. We got free bevvy but had to listen to flute music all night!

We just played along and my mate thought it was hilarious.

Needless to say the guy had an instant disliking to me as I was a hibby from Edinburgh!

SonOfDavidFrancey
29-08-2009, 04:50 PM
Nice pub over the road from the Golden Last called The Merchant Hotel. The Scarborough folk group meets there on Monday and there is some class Irish music when the best players come in.

Bob Box Fish
29-08-2009, 05:00 PM
The Opera House Casino should have it on in there. You can register for free at the door. Cheapish drink too.

30-08-2009, 07:44 AM

Is this the place that also has Norway flags flying outside along side the UJ and Red Hand?