View Full Version : Scott Arfield - latest: Yogi says no deals today (merged)

Pages : 1 [2]

BigKev
31-08-2009, 07:47 PM
Be surprised if it's a done deal - Falkirk just put this (http://www.falkirkfc.co.uk/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=4430&Itemid=320) on their website.

Hanny
31-08-2009, 07:48 PM
Well, however we choose to piece these fragments of 'information' together, I cannot believe that RP has bid £300k and then within a matter of a few hours has doubled his first offer.

Not very clever negotiating and just not his style, I would imagine. :cool2:

Maybe Arfield forced their hand with the alleged transfer request and Falkirk named their price of £600,000 :dunno:

Just speculating, only time will tell.

hibby hib 69
31-08-2009, 07:48 PM
:faf::top marks

CapitalHibs
31-08-2009, 07:49 PM
Well, however we choose to piece these fragments of 'information' together, I cannot believe that RP has bid £300k and then within a matter of a few hours has doubled his first offer.

But Rod knows he's got the potential of getting back more than 3 times his investment in a couple of years.

was delving about over on that bad site and needless to say there was a thread on our bid for Arfield.

One guy said he had received a text message from a mate who works at Radio Forth. The employee stated that the deal has gone through at £600,000 and was to be announced soon.

No idea if correct but interesting nevertheless.

The guy who posted the info (hiramabif) has now deleted it.

Sorry, not read the whole thread but was it not initially reported that the £300k bid that was from a championship club?

If so, could it not be the case that since we've bid more than that then that's why the bid was rejected and people in the media have got their wires crossed?

31-08-2009, 07:50 PM
Be surprised if it's a done deal - Falkirk just put this (http://www.falkirkfc.co.uk/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=4430&Itemid=320) on their website.

Bit premature for that IMO, they are going to look a bit silly if he is sold before the window closes.

31-08-2009, 07:52 PM
But Rod knows he's got the potential of getting back more than 3 times his investment in a couple of years.
If you double your initial offer within a short space of time you are not encouraging closure of the deal. Quite the opposite. You lead the other side to believe that you are holding out on a lot more cash that you can bring to the table.

All the time is on Falkirk's side here.

31-08-2009, 07:53 PM
Sorry, not read the whole thread but was it not initially reported that the £300k bid that was from a championship club?

If so, could it not be the case that since we've bid more than that then that's why the bid was rejected and people in the media have got their wires crossed?
Falkirk FC site stating that they have turned down two bids for Arfield fom Hibs today.

Aubenas
31-08-2009, 07:55 PM
Unless Bairns were going to let him go, why would they announce bids, risking fans getting on his back if he's still there till Christmas and his form dips?

31-08-2009, 07:57 PM

I would think it was probably a load of nade, then.

007 Mickey Weir
31-08-2009, 07:58 PM
Its a bit of haggling RP style!

Could be Hibs offered low bid of £300k. Bairns say hi bid of £1m needed.

We meet in the middle at £600k.

(or £800k if they take DVZ :greengrin )

31-08-2009, 07:59 PM
I would think it was probably a load of nade, then.

Or his mucker at Radio Forth asked him to remove it...

31-08-2009, 08:01 PM
Or his mucker at Radio Forth asked him to remove it...

A Yam with friends? :dunno:

31-08-2009, 08:04 PM
The bottom line here is wtf do we want with another midfielder?, we badly need a f*** off center half and a right back

31-08-2009, 08:07 PM
The bottom line here is wtf do we want with another midfielder?, we badly need a f*** off center half and a right back

We've gone in for a few of those over the summer, guess what their clubs have told us to do?

31-08-2009, 08:08 PM
We've gone in for a few of those over the summer, guess what their clubs have told us to do?

Bid higher?

31-08-2009, 08:09 PM

And at the same time desperately trying to entice any other suitors to come in with a bid.

I hope Hibs say no more and tell them the deals off, if they think that they can get more then crack on.

Let's test Celtic's resolve and use the money for O'Dea and give Wotherspoon the chance rather than Arfield.

31-08-2009, 08:09 PM
"Hamilton were more than entitled to make a bid for Scott, but they should never have disclosed the figure," said May.
"It's private business between clubs, but they've all been told we would like to keep him.

From the been site, then why Did they disclose Hibs offer!?!

31-08-2009, 08:10 PM
"Hamilton were more than entitled to make a bid for Scott, but they should never have disclosed the figure," said May.
"It's private business between clubs, but they've all been told we would like to keep him.

Because Eddie May is a clueless ****wit?

northgreen24
I just dont know if I can handle Hibs spending cash :)

I am so used to us bringing loads in and very little being spent. However i am really impressed that we are investing in the team and hopfully this will only encourage others to join a team on the up (i hope)

Unless Bairns were going to let him go, why would they announce bids, risking fans getting on his back if he's still there till Christmas and his form dips?
They earn hero-status with their fans for turning down sizeable offers and therefore showing 'some ambition' to develop a team.

Alternatively, they get their £1m valuation and they still appear to be god-like. :greengrin

Oh, and if he remains a Falkirk player it is very likely there will be more interested parties than just Hibs bidding for the player by the time we get to the January transfer window.

31-08-2009, 08:12 PM

They didn't put figures on their official site did they? Maybe they haven't released a figure?

31-08-2009, 08:23 PM
hiramabif is an anagram for Hibifarma!

31-08-2009, 08:34 PM
Sky Sports just said we have had another bid rejected, Hibs now say they are out

Boozy it is then!!:cool2:

31-08-2009, 08:40 PM
I'd much rather that we were making efforts to land Darren Barr or Darren O'Dea as they could seriously strengthen our rather gap infested defence!

The other 2 players who have been mentioned (Boozy and Skacel) are both free agents, so no pressing rush if there is any truth to these rumours!

Oscar Lomax
31-08-2009, 08:54 PM
Boozy it is then!!:cool2:

oh please no..............arfield please:dummytit:

31-08-2009, 08:57 PM
This ones a bit more realistic than the last time we were in for a big money signing but it's like he Steven Naismith alleged interest all over again. Unless Falkirk are willing to accept 3-400k then I cant see us going any higher than that. Prove me wrong Rodders......if he's worth it that is.

Barr on the other hand is in his last year and will be within Hibs price range.

007 Mickey Weir
31-08-2009, 08:58 PM
O'Dea will never happen. He is seen as 3rd choice CB at Smeltic. Ahead of McManus!

Boozy is past it, and an expensive squad player with no sell on value. if we lose Bamba maybe he will be offered a deal until January. I would like us to do same with Skacel. He could give us option at RB until Barr arrives?

northgreen24
31-08-2009, 09:03 PM
from a 3k plus poster on kickback

"Just heard from a source that the hobos have stumped up more cash.

In the region of £650k and may be closing in on a deal.

Don't shoot the messenger but I think it seems plausible enough. "

still not convinced myself but i realy think if they got this one and stokes in the same week even the fools from gorgie will find it heard to put a egative spin (some will try though)

Jaz
31-08-2009, 09:03 PM
O'Dea will never happen. He is seen as 3rd choice CB at Smeltic. Ahead of McManus!

Boozy is past it, and an expensive squad player with no sell on value. if we lose Bamba maybe he will be offered a deal until January. I would like us to do same with Skacel. He could give us option at RB until Barr arrives?

Skacel is left footed.

Not a right back. Played left back for a time at Soton IIRC.

31-08-2009, 09:04 PM

And yet O'Dea (and not McManus) is about to head away from Celtic, either on loan or signature before 5pm tomorrow. Boozy is an experiened player who knows the SPL and functions well when he appears interested and is fit. Sadly, as has been pointed out before, fitness and interest are the key words!

Skacel is a very versatile player who can play defence or attacking midfield and would be a valuable capture, in my opinion.

31-08-2009, 09:10 PM
from a 3k plus poster on kickback

"Just heard from a source that the hobos have stumped up more cash.

In the region of £650k and may be closing in on a deal.

Don't shoot the messenger but I think it seems plausible enough. "

still not convinced myself but i realy think if they got this one and stokes in the same week even the fools from gorgie will find it heard to put a egative spin (some will try though)

They'll be at the wind-up. :agree:

31-08-2009, 09:10 PM
on the bbc sports website. saying our bid of 300.000 has been rejected. do use think we will bid more and if yes how much. i think it will take at least half a million. thoughts?:agree:

31-08-2009, 09:11 PM
They'll be at the wind-up. :agree:

That's what I was thinking. Are the guys posting this info PMs? I bet it's a JKB PM wind-up.

31-08-2009, 09:12 PM
on the bbc sports website. saying our bid of 300.000 bid has been rejected. do use thin we will bid more and if yes how much. i thin it will tae at least half a million. thoughts?:agree:

We'll probably up it once, then say we're done. Falkirk will stick something on their website, probably.

Stoney Hibee
31-08-2009, 09:13 PM
Does your K not work?

wazoo1875
31-08-2009, 09:14 PM
We'll probably up it once, then say we're done. Falkirk will stick something on their website, probably.

31-08-2009, 09:15 PM
That's what I was thinking. Are the guys posting this info PMs? I bet it's a JKB PM wind-up.

Dunno, but they really had us all going eh. They'll be talking about this for months...the rascals!

31-08-2009, 09:16 PM
Does your K not work?
message edited:grr:theres always one

HibeeMcGinn1
Does your K not work?

your spot on haha

Would be a great wind-up if it came true...

:pray:

BH.

northgreen24
might be mate but as long as they are posting about us spending im quite happy, we have the cash to spend ala stokes and a couple more would really get it right up them :thumbsup:.

tomorrow at 5:01 the realtiy will kick in:thumbsup:

31-08-2009, 09:17 PM
your spot on haha

you're :greengrin

31-08-2009, 09:19 PM
I've heard the exact same thing as the guy who posted that on keekback. From the same source aswell. :agree:

Have any of your rumours ever come true?:greengrin

31-08-2009, 09:22 PM
I think it's dead in the water, tbh.

Falkirk wouldn't have posted that on their site if we were still in negotiations.

We did something similar when we wanted to hold on to Jones, remember?

Making it public has ended it, imo.

31-08-2009, 09:23 PM
Have any of your rumours ever come true?:greengrin

MTE.

Just trying to establish a new internet abbrev. My thoughts exactly :greengrin

31-08-2009, 09:24 PM
One out of about 4. Still, don't see why they would lie about this.

For fun.

northgreen24
31-08-2009, 09:26 PM
I've heard the exact same thing as the guy who posted that on keekback. From the same source aswell. :agree:

so you both can be wrong :greengrin

I really think if we can pull this off it will be a great bit of business. rangers dont have the cash and aparently he wants to leave Falkirk !!!!

31-08-2009, 09:30 PM
Not much fun is it.

Misinforming your rivals is terrific fun.

Some folk on here are experts at it. :agree:

. I trust my source so we shall see.

That's nice, but rather naive. Your "source" has never got anything right yet. :wink:

Did Falkirk not come out and say that they valued Arfield around one million at least?

So how does £600k meet that valuation? :confused:

31-08-2009, 09:30 PM
I reckon our second bid was lower than the first. Petrie made them an offer and Falkirk knocked it back so he reduced it to show 'em.

When they knocked the second offer back he reduced it again. If they want any money from us they better learn some respect :greengrin

31-08-2009, 09:32 PM
I reckon our second bid was lower than the first. Petrie made them an offer and Falkirk knocked it back so he reduced it to show 'em.

When they knocked the second offer back he reduced it again. If they want any money from us they better learn some respect :greengrin

MTE.

Just trying to establish a new internet abbrev. My thoughts exactly :greengrin

Abbrev?

Don't get cocky, sunshine. Establish one abbreviation at a time. :wink:

db03
sky sports website saying we have had 2 bids turned down for Arfield now

31-08-2009, 09:33 PM
Abbrev?

Don't get cocky, sunshine. Establish one abbreviation at a time. :wink:

:tee hee: Quality!

so you both can be wrong :greengrin

I really think if we can pull this off it will be a great bit of business. rangers dont have the cash and aparently he wants to leave Falkirk !!!!

His interview at the weekend seemed to suggest he was happy at Falkirk.

Players aren't going to be blunt to the contrary when they're under contract I suppose.

You winker! :grr:

I think we should be told.

31-08-2009, 09:34 PM

I wish Petrie was my dad.

31-08-2009, 09:37 PM
Not much fun is it. I trust my source so we shall see. Did Falkirk not come out and say that they valued Arfield around one million at least?

They have got a couple of things right actually.

I never said 600k met the valuation at all. I was just asking a question in general. :confused:

Right.

It just looked like you were saying it to back up your "source's" information.

Can I ask.

Is this an invisible source? I mean, I know you can see him/her/it, but would other people, like adults, be able to see them as well? :greengrin

31-08-2009, 09:37 PM
He probably is.:devil:

Smell yer maw, ya cheeky Immanuel ****!

31-08-2009, 09:38 PM
Right.

It just looked like you were saying it to back up your "source's" information.

Can I ask.

Is this an invisible source? I mean, I know you can see him/her/it, but would other people, like adults, be able to see them as well? :greengrin

Oh snap!

31-08-2009, 09:38 PM

You forgot "wee".

But I guess that's an age thing.

31-08-2009, 09:41 PM
We're ignoring Barr in all of this.

This from Hibee 87 on the Bounce.

arfield is holding out for a champ club, hibs have had a offer accepted but couldnt come to personal terms think hes holding out for champ club. barr is a defo supposidly came from source within the club

31-08-2009, 09:41 PM
:bye:

The single emoticon response says more about the poster than it does about their adversary...

31-08-2009, 09:42 PM
The single emoticon response says more about the poster than it does about their adversary...

31-08-2009, 09:44 PM

I thought it was more an 8/10, but I guess there isn't a smilie for that.

Thanks anyway. :wink:

31-08-2009, 09:45 PM

I might be missing out on a private joke here but that's a bit harsh don't you think ?

31-08-2009, 09:46 PM
I might be missing out on a private joke here but that's a bit harsh don't you think ?

No private joke involved...wasn't it obvious that the post was light-hearted? :dunno:

31-08-2009, 09:46 PM
I am just posting what I have been told. He/She could be lying for all I know. It might be true it might not. Don't shoot the messenger.

31-08-2009, 09:48 PM
No private joke involved...wasn't it obvious that the post was light-hearted? :dunno:

:embarrass

I do apologise.

:offski:

31-08-2009, 09:48 PM
I am just posting what I have been told. He/She could be lying for all I know. It might be true it might not. Don't shoot the messenger.

So who's your source ya wee ******* ?:greengrin

31-08-2009, 09:49 PM
So who's your source ya wee ******* ?:greengrin

That's more like it. :greengrin

31-08-2009, 09:51 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12876_5529251,00.html

Was last updated at 22:21, and says a second bid has been made and rejected. Could be old news but thought I would post.

31-08-2009, 09:52 PM

Not only is your source imaginary, they have ambiguous sexuality.

This is getting interesting. :agree:

31-08-2009, 09:52 PM
Not only is your source imaginary, they have ambiguous sexuality.

This is getting interesting. :agree:

Imaginary? :bye:

Ambiguous sexuality. :agree:

31-08-2009, 09:55 PM
Imaginary? :bye:

Ambiguous sexuality. :agree:

Is it Gramo?

Storar
31-08-2009, 09:56 PM
MTE:agree:

Is it Gramo?

:faf: :top marks

31-08-2009, 09:57 PM
Is it Gramo?

If I could have any .netter as an imaginary friend...

Godsahibby
31-08-2009, 10:15 PM
I had to laugh there, I was on the Falkik fans forum having a nose at what they were saying about the Arfield transfer, one poster commented "It would show a real lack of ambition by Scott if he was to move to Hibs", now where have I heard that sort of chat before!

King Paddy
31-08-2009, 11:05 PM
Just on tv that fakirk have rejected two bids from Hibs. Do you think we will go in again before the window closes.?

31-08-2009, 11:07 PM
Just on tv that fakirk have rejected two bids from Hibs. Do you think we will go in again before the window closes.?

Yes, but doubt we'll get him.

31-08-2009, 11:12 PM
Hibs are never gonna offer what we think is fair for Arfield.. we test the water with a few dubious offers THEN when it gets to the business end off the window we put in our main offer.

31-08-2009, 11:21 PM
Some of the guff on the knockedback thread on Arfield is hilarious. They've got us paying £650k for him, someone else has Stokes getting paid by a third party :faf: :faf:

FWIW, I think there might be more to come with Arfield. Today will be interesting.

31-08-2009, 11:23 PM
Hibs are never gonna offer what we think is fair for Arfield.. we test the water with a few dubious offers THEN when it gets to the business end off the window we put in our main offer.

that's what Falkirk will be hoping or sweating on as the clock ticks on....:greengrin

31-08-2009, 11:25 PM
that's what Falkirk will be hoping or sweating on as the clock ticks on....:greengrin

:agree:Indeed.

Spose this time the morra we will all ken:greengrin

31-08-2009, 11:33 PM
What time do the online editions of the red tops go up at?

BigKev
31-08-2009, 11:35 PM
What time do the online editions of the red tops go up at?

The Sun is normally up by now but still seems to be showing Monday's edition.

31-08-2009, 11:56 PM

All hail king Rod!

theres normally only one winner when Rod gets involved:greengrin

01-09-2009, 12:46 AM
:agree:Indeed.

Spose this time the morra we will all ken:greengrin

we'll know this time the morn/aka the day alright as Petrie goes home at 5PM on window night. Nobody gets overtime sitting by a phone at ER after 5PM...:faf:

Auckland Hibs
01-09-2009, 12:56 AM
we'll know this time the morn/aka the day alright as Petrie goes home at 5PM on window night. Nobody gets overtime sitting by a phone at ER after 5PM...:faf:

The Tash will have his phone off the hook until 4pm just to keep Falkirk sweating on the deal. Does anyone know if he plays Poker? :devil:

01-09-2009, 06:03 AM
Some of the guff on the knockedback thread on Arfield is hilarious. They've got us paying £650k for him, someone else has Stokes getting paid by a third party :faf: :faf:

FWIW, I think there might be more to come with Arfield. Today will be interesting.

To be fair, that's the kind of nonsense that's been going on over the road. I suppose they would expect it to be going on everywhere else. Diddums.

01-09-2009, 06:08 AM
Sounds like a down to earth guy. Next move up to Hibs.

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/2616431/Scott-Mums-the-word-on-bid-from-Hibs.html

p=sh
01-09-2009, 06:51 AM
Meanwhile 'Passenger Pat' would don his cloak of invisibility and disappear from the match.

Nope. That was Brian Hamilton. I actually saw a lot of games around that period (compared to now) and never felt let down by Pat at all.

01-09-2009, 07:06 AM

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/2616431/Scott-Mums-the-word-on-bid-from-Hibs.html

Reading that I would say he doesn't want to come to Hibs, so lets get someone else.

01-09-2009, 07:16 AM
Ian Black and Scott Arfield are the same ability-wise on JKB. Fact.

Their jealousy really, really does eat them up sometimes to the point where they embarrass themselves.

01-09-2009, 07:18 AM
Fact.

I think you'll find it's a FACT, not a fact.

Get yer FACTS right :wink:

P.S. - The Yams are FACT too :smokin

01-09-2009, 07:22 AM
Ian Black and Scott Arfield are the same ability-wise on JKB. Fact.

Their jealousy really, really does eat them up sometimes to the point where they embarrass themselves.

Their open wounds are cringing with the ooze of it, mate.

01-09-2009, 07:32 AM
Reading that I would say he doesn't want to come to Hibs, so lets get someone else.

What makes you think that based on that?:confused:

01-09-2009, 07:34 AM
The Tash will have his phone off the hook until 4pm just to keep Falkirk sweating on the deal. Does anyone know if he plays Poker? :devil:

Mibbies

Alternatively if a decent offer comes in from a Championship club before 4pm he will be away. I don't think Falkirk will be chasing Hibs for an improved offer

The laddie wants to go South and Eddie doesn't want Yogi to get Scott

Or so it appears

01-09-2009, 07:34 AM
Apparently in today's ****** Blackpool, Plymouth & Norwich all interested in Arfield:blah:

01-09-2009, 07:35 AM
Jings, this hasn't half turned into a :worms:

I'm actually looking forward to work today so I can consult my source to see what the craic is.

My guess is that Scott was at ER for talks but either personal terms couldn't be agreed or they have been agreed and all of this speculation is just a cunning Tache smokescreen!

The plot thickens!

01-09-2009, 07:42 AM
My guess is that Scott was at ER for talks but either personal terms couldn't be agreed or they have been agreed and all of this speculation is just a cunning Tache smokescreen!

He wont be at Easter Road until a fee has been agreed.

That said .. his "agent" can visit Easter Road any time he wants.

01-09-2009, 08:13 AM

Clubs can give permission for players before a fee is agreed though.

Maybe Hibs "swooped" and he was at ER/East Mains to agree terms in the hope that the clubs could "thrash out a deal" before the "window slams shut".

01-09-2009, 08:13 AM
My guess is that Scott was at ER for talks but either personal terms couldn't be agreed or they have been agreed and all of this speculation is just a cunning Tache smokescreen

My guess would be the other way around.

Direct talks won't have taken place, but Hibs will know what the player is looking for and he'll know what Hibs are offering before we made our official approach.

Two bids rejected, but I'd be very surprised if we don't go back with another offer at some point today. I'd be even more surprised if Arfield is a Falkirk player by 5.01 tonight, regardless of whether we get him or not.

aljo7-0
01-09-2009, 08:18 AM
It's probably been mentioned already - but apologies I couldn't be bothered reading through all the posts - but the article about this on the BBC site shows Falkirk/Eddy May being very hypocritical. It mentions that Hamilton had previously bid £100,000 for Arfield and that Falkirk were very annoyed this had been made public ("as it is a private matter between the clubs") yet they then announce on their officil site that they have turned down 2 bids from Hibs. I can understand why they have announced it - they've got to try and get the best price possible if he is leaving - but it still looks very two faced.

01-09-2009, 08:21 AM
It's probably been mentioned already - but apologies I couldn't be bothered reading through all the posts - but the article about this on the BBC site shows Falkirk/Eddy May being very hypocritical. It mentions that Hamilton had previously bid £100,000 for Arfield and that Falkirk were very annoyed this had been made public ("as it is a private matter between the clubs") yet they then announce on their officil site that they have turned down 2 bids from Hibs. I can understand why they have announced it - they've got to try and get the best price possible if he is leaving - but it still looks very two faced.

That's business for you.

01-09-2009, 08:23 AM
That's business for you.

And the Falkirk board along with Eddie Dis-May giving us 2 fingers..

01-09-2009, 08:27 AM
And the Falkirk board along with Eddie Dis-May giving us 2 fingers..

So to speak. Which they are perfectly entitled to do.

Like we did with Scott Brown, Boozy and Rob Jones.

I really don't know why folk get so offended by these things and take them personally. It's big business negotiation. What do folk expect?

Clubs have to use everything at their disposal to get what they want/need.

01-09-2009, 08:29 AM
I would think before most clubs bid they know if the player will accept terms, getting pretty rare they refuse to sign once fee agreed, IMO this is all about the fee what I will say if Watford are in we must be offering Scott very nice contract.

01-09-2009, 08:45 AM

I'm actually looking forward to work today so I can consult my source to see what the craic is.

The plot thickens!

Ach, he's not in today so who knows?

:brickwall

01-09-2009, 08:46 AM

he wont be at Easter Road today full stop - he is away with the Scotland U21 squad.

01-09-2009, 08:47 AM

Thought this was funny. :greengrin

Bairns team-mate Tam Scobbie also joined up with the squad yesterday, despite being knocked out in their defeat by Dundee United.

Arfield grinned: "Tam had a head knock but there's not much up there, so he'll be fine."

01-09-2009, 08:50 AM
Mibbies

Alternatively if a decent offer comes in from a Championship club before 4pm he will be away. I don't think Falkirk will be chasing Hibs for an improved offer

The laddie wants to go South and Eddie doesn't want Yogi to get Scott

Or so it appears

What if he doesnt want to go south at this stage in his career.

Edinburgh Green
01-09-2009, 08:54 AM
Guy at my work who is mates with the Arfield family has received a text from Scotts big brother saying that Scott is on the way to ER with his bro and his mum for talks.

His mum does all of the agent stuff. He used to employ Charlie Nicholas apparently but emtied him for sitting in his erchie doing eff all.

Fingers crossed.

The plot thickens!

Ach, she's not in today so who knows?

So is your source a guy or a burd? :confused:

01-09-2009, 08:57 AM
So is your source a guy or a burd? :confused:

Maybe it's Paul Hartley and a bit of both?

01-09-2009, 09:03 AM

I didn't read that at all, I recon he said with dignity Messers Fletcher and Thomson don't have he'd like to go but if not he'll still be giving his all to Falkirk, a team he likes playing for too. It goes along the lines of what Fletch should've said last year IMO.

01-09-2009, 09:15 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/gossip_and_transfers/8230981.stm
Hibernian will return with a third bid for Falkirk midfielder Scott Arfield, who the Bairns value at £750,000. (Scottish Daily Mail)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/8227622.stm
Transfer Tracker - very good for later in the day

01-09-2009, 09:19 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/gossip_and_transfers/8230981.stm
Hibernian will return with a third bid for Falkirk midfielder Scott Arfield, who the Bairns value at £750,000. (Scottish Daily Mail)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/8227622.stm
Transfer Tracker - very good for later in the day

Falkirk actually putting a value, and a reasonable one on Arfield indicates they want to sell and probably have targets in mind. If someone puts in a bid between £500,000 and £600,000 he'll probably go.

Perhaps out of our league - looks like he's Tynecastle bound.

Expecting Rain
01-09-2009, 09:22 AM
I like Arfield and i`d be delighted if he signed but we don`t need to be held to ransom and pay stupid money when we`ve got Wotherspoon.

01-09-2009, 09:23 AM
Offer them 250,000 and tough, if he doesnt sign he can spend another year at Falkirk,Hibs dont be held to ransom

01-09-2009, 09:30 AM

Ach, she's not in today so who knows?

Jings Tricla - you work beside one of Scott's mum's pals?

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/falkirk/2009/09/01/i-m-not-nervous-about-the-transfer-deadline-but-my-mum-is-reveals-falkirk-star-scott-arfield-86908-21639412/

"The speculation does not impact on me at all but it does affect my mum Angie. She gets so excited. Honestly, she's up to high doh with it all. She phones everybody to tell them where she's read I might be moving to."

01-09-2009, 09:40 AM
Ach, he's not in today so who knows?

Edited. Apologies for the misplaced 's'!

New Corrie
01-09-2009, 09:41 AM
I like Arfield and i`d be delighted if he signed but we don`t need to be held to ransom and pay stupid money when we`ve got Wotherspoon.

Who I would far rather have, it might be an idea to look beyond Falkirk for players! there are other teams out there, anyway, I would have thought that a CB was our priority.

01-09-2009, 09:50 AM
Only thing Im worried about is if I remember correctly Falkirk were almost relegated and were trying to sign half of them,I already have an opinion of one or two ex Falkirk players who I think are not good enough for Hibs and I have only seen them once or twice, and as someone else mentioned on an earlier thread, didnt Duff Jim go down this road, and look where it got us and him!!

01-09-2009, 09:52 AM
Only thing Im worried about is if I remember correctly Falkirk were almost relegated and were trying to sign half of them,I already have an opinion of one or two ex Falkirk players who I think are not good enough for Hibs and I have only seen them once or twice, and as someone else mentioned on an earlier thread, didnt Duff Jim go down this road, and look where it got us and him!!

Tottenham have signed Jermain Defoe and Peter Crouch from Portsmouth who were almost relegated, don't see them getting much stick for these purchases.

Doesn't matter who you play for, if you're a good player you're a good player.

01-09-2009, 09:53 AM
Who I would far rather have, it might be an idea to look beyond Falkirk for players! there are other teams out there, anyway, I would have thought that a CB was our priority.

I think it is Barr who we should be trying to get :agree:

roondheid
01-09-2009, 09:56 AM
Is this lad Arfield really an improvement on what we already have?:dunno:

PotsyHibee
01-09-2009, 09:59 AM

From what I've seen so far I've been very impressed with the guys we have signed from Falkirk and Arfield would be a fine addition to the squad.

Aubenas
01-09-2009, 10:00 AM
Scottish Young Player of the Year - but, more important - superb attitude, well grounded and really sensible. Will train on to be a superb footballer. Perfect investment.:agree:

01-09-2009, 10:01 AM
Im not talking about 1 or two players here its 4 or 5,(if we get Arfield) but its still early days and opinions can change so I will hold fire for a wee while.

01-09-2009, 10:02 AM
This thread is how I imagine the likes of FF to be on deadline day when they were trying to get Brown, Thomson, Whittaker etc.

Is that a good thing? :greengrin

PotsyHibee
01-09-2009, 10:03 AM
I wouldn't be surprised if we used one of our many Strikers to sweeten the deal for Falkirk....JJ is the one who springs to mind but I wouldn't rule out Nish either.

New Corrie
01-09-2009, 10:06 AM
I think it is Barr who we should be trying to get :agree:

I really hope so Steve, he would be top of my shopping list.

01-09-2009, 10:08 AM
Im not talking about 1 or two players here its 4 or 5,(if we get Arfield) but its still early days and opinions can change so I will hold fire for a wee while.

it's 3 if we get Arfield

01-09-2009, 10:08 AM
Scottish Young Player of the Year - but, more important - superb attitude, well grounded and really sensible. Will train on to be a superb footballer. Perfect investment.:agree:

With you there. Don't really rate Barr that highly.

01-09-2009, 10:11 AM
I wouldn't be surprised if we used one of our many Strikers to sweeten the deal for Falkirk....JJ is the one who springs to mind but I wouldn't rule out Nish either.

My sources tell me (god i've always wanted to say that) that they want Nish as part of the deal.

Source - Some pish slavering poster on here:greengrin

Only joking G :thumbsup:

01-09-2009, 10:14 AM
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Hughes-doubts-Hibs-will-make.5604730.jp

Looks dead and no one else coming in

FRes Hibbie
01-09-2009, 10:14 AM

Niko Kranjcar is having a medical at Tottenham just now - if you believe SSN. Redknapp apparently wants David James too. That would make it 4 signings from Portsmouth. If we get Arfield itd be 3 signings from Falkirk. :cool2:

Aubenas
01-09-2009, 10:15 AM
didnt Duff Jim go down this road, and look where it got us and him!!

Ahem - a few million miles between McBride and Cregg and the likes of Lee Power and David Elliott methinks.:cool2:

phoenixfire
01-09-2009, 10:15 AM
Bit of a turn around from what he said last week , presume some other deals
have collapsed:confused:

01-09-2009, 10:16 AM
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/Hughes-doubts-Hibs-will-make.5604730.jp

01-09-2009, 10:16 AM

phoenixfire
01-09-2009, 10:22 AM
I really thought he would have seen the need for a decent central defender:confused:

01-09-2009, 10:23 AM
Bit of a turn around from what he said last week , presume some other deals
have collapsed:confused:

At least two have.

01-09-2009, 10:23 AM
Anyone think he is just playing the game here?

01-09-2009, 10:25 AM

Possibly, but he said last week that for 1 or 2 to come in, we'd need 3 or 4 out. Currently, we've got 2 out and 1 on loan to Livi who won't be paying us much money; so on that basis the most we could hope for is two thirds of a new face.

01-09-2009, 10:26 AM
PETRIE!!!! :grr::grr:

When is the money from Fletcher and Jones going to be reinvested!? :duck:

01-09-2009, 10:27 AM

Yup. My thoughts exactly. Assuming we offered say 450k and they want 750k it's not impossible to think both clubs can agree a deal.

More surprised if we don't get a defender in even on loan.

Boozy is still an option from 5.01pm onwards.

01-09-2009, 10:28 AM
At the end of the day, three of the names being banded about are free agents, or a possible pre-contract signing, which isn't restricted by the transfer window. If, in the coming weeks/months, we manage to lure either Boozy, Skacel and land Barr on a pre-contract for January, I'm sure most on here would be happy enough.

I agree that, although we look like we need an additional CB, Hughes must be confident enough in what he has, to last until January.

I'm more hopeful that the transfer window closes without Bamba or Riordan leaving the club!

01-09-2009, 10:31 AM
Since we know that the EEN goes to press at 8.30 in the morning, it's probably safe to assume that those are quotes from last night. There's still a long day ahead...

01-09-2009, 10:32 AM
Oh well, I don't need to keep checking the forums all the time now for any news.

Better do some work now. :boo hoo:

01-09-2009, 10:33 AM
Let the mind games begin, it's going to be a long day.

01-09-2009, 10:34 AM
i think thats it for hibs this window, i hope to be wrong though

01-09-2009, 10:46 AM
Do loan deals have to be done today, or can they be done anytime during the season. :confused:

01-09-2009, 10:47 AM
Is this lad Arfield really an improvement on what we already have?:dunno:

Well if we consider that we are going to play a 433 with a holding midfielder which will be one of Thicot, Murray and McBride, and Zemmama as on of the upper 3, then our options currently for the other 2 more attacking spots in the 3 are: Galbraith, Rankin, Thicot, Stevenson and Cregg, i would have Arfield ahead of any of these options, with Murray sitting, and Cregg partnering him...

Hibs Spain
01-09-2009, 10:49 AM
Anyone think he is just playing the game here?If he is I'm not impressed.Means we'll have take anything else he says with a pinch of salt.He'd be better saying nothing!

01-09-2009, 10:50 AM
Did Yogi not say he'd defo have 2 if not 3 more players in?

This was after Stack signing..

01-09-2009, 10:51 AM
If he is I'm not impressed.Means we'll have take anything else he says with a pinch of salt.He'd be better saying nothing!

Never negotiated with anyone for anything before? :wink: :greengrin

01-09-2009, 10:51 AM
If he is I'm not impressed.Means we'll have take anything else he says with a pinch of salt.He'd be better saying nothing!

You would have to be pretty nieve to believe anything a football manager says.:confused:

01-09-2009, 10:56 AM
The top of the window, when you click the link to the Scotsman article says:

"Scotsman:Hibs to make third Arfield Bid", yet the article goes on to contradict it!

Hibs Spain
01-09-2009, 11:03 AM
You would have to be pretty nieve to believe anything a football manager says.:confused:Yeh ..Suppose you're right..That must be a nice feeling. :greengrin

01-09-2009, 11:06 AM
Yeh ..Suppose you're right..That must be a nice feeling. :greengrin

Which manager was it that told you Maka was a good keeper then :confused:

:cool2:

01-09-2009, 11:12 AM
What makes you think that based on that?:confused:

No comment about Hibs whatsoever, unusual considering we are the ones trying to sign him. just get a feeling he aint that keen.:rolleyes:

Hibs Spain
01-09-2009, 11:13 AM
You would have to be pretty nieve to believe anything a football manager says.:confused:

Which manager was it that told you Maka was a good keeper then :confused:

:cool2:Did that all on my own..I'm confident that soon,you'll find it impossible to disagree. :cool2:

01-09-2009, 11:15 AM
Yogi will bring in players with the money that the board actually gives him.

If the board isnt giving him enough cash to bring in a couple of more, then surely we should be having a dig at the board and not Yogi? :confused:

01-09-2009, 11:27 AM
Massive anti-climax if we don't bring anyone in today, IMO.

01-09-2009, 11:55 AM
Did Yogi not say he'd defo have 2 if not 3 more players in?

This was after Stack signing..

only if he managed to move some players on i think

01-09-2009, 12:00 PM
only if he managed to move some players on i think

IIRC, after Stack he said there would be '1 or 2 more' which he 'guaranteed' IF '3 or 4' could be shifted.

We've shifted 2 plus 1 on loan to a team with no money.

01-09-2009, 12:18 PM
I understand from a source that there will be a major signing before 5pm today.

Though probably not at Hibs.

01-09-2009, 02:56 PM
Any sign of Arfield signing or have Falkirk blown us out the water?

£300.000 rejected. Surely £500,000 + jj and van zanton woulb be enough :greengrin:greengrin

JoeT
01-09-2009, 02:59 PM
Well, he hasn't signed for a Championship team yet so there may be wee chance yet...60 minutes to go

Love the Green
01-09-2009, 02:59 PM
Any sign of Arfield signing or have Falkirk blown us out the water?

£300.000 rejected. Surely £500,000 + jj and van zanton woulb be enough :greengrin:greengrin

£300,000 Think this is a smoke screen where the management know it would never succeed but they could tell the fans that they are trying to sign good young players.....

"keep the faith":wink:

01-09-2009, 03:00 PM
I'm hoping Darren Barr is signed as well I must admit.

01-09-2009, 03:01 PM
£300,000 Think this is a smoke screen where the management know it would never succeed but they could tell the fans that they are trying to sign good young players.....

"keep the faith":wink:

It doesn't appease me. If anything, it makes me angry that we're not pushing the boat out to go ahead and clinch the deal.

I could go home and tell the missus that I offered the local dealer 2 grand for a top of the range BMW but I doubt that would impress her and make her think I was ambitious. She'd just label me a tool for putting in such a derisory offer.

01-09-2009, 03:01 PM

Could get him in January.

01-09-2009, 03:02 PM

But that's aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaages away :boo hoo:

01-09-2009, 03:02 PM
We've offered £1m for Barr and Arfield with DVZ, Nish, Rankin, Hogg, Nish, Gattheussi, Morais, Kerr, O' Brien and Nish going in the opposite direction.

01-09-2009, 03:03 PM

I reckon Barr would be a more important signing at this moment in time. Both would be nice though.

We've offered £1m for Barr and Arfield with DVZ, Nish, Rankin, Hogg, Nish, Gattheussi, Morais, Kerr, O' Brien and Nish going in the opposite direction.

Falkirk's MD has responded to this fax with "Take out the players you're offering and you have a deal"

I reckon Barr would be a more important signing at this moment in time. Both would be nice though.

01-09-2009, 03:04 PM
But that's aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaages away :boo hoo:

Aye nae luck for us eh!

01-09-2009, 03:05 PM

guess your not a fan of Nish? :wink:

01-09-2009, 03:06 PM
It doesn't appease me. If anything, it makes me angry that we're not pushing the boat out to go ahead and clinch the deal.

I could go home and tell the missus that I offered the local dealer 2 grand for a top of the range BMW but I doubt that would impress her and make her think I was ambitious. She'd just label me a tool for putting in such a derisory offer.

:top marks :faf:

01-09-2009, 03:07 PM
Whose the other nish :wink:

Do you mean, who are the other two Nish's?

01-09-2009, 03:09 PM
Do you mean, who are the other two Nish's?

yeah just edited my post....:duck:

01-09-2009, 03:17 PM
£300000 is more than enough for Arfield-he's got a long way to go.

01-09-2009, 03:20 PM

Doubt we'd be saying that if he were a Hibs player.

01-09-2009, 03:21 PM

Is that you Roddy old chum? :cool2:

01-09-2009, 03:21 PM

Doesn't look like anyone else (including the bunch of Championship clubs who were allegedly interested) agree with Falkirk's valuation either.

ie Hamilton offered tuppence ha'penny, Hibs offered a shilling and Falkirk wanted a guinea.

01-09-2009, 03:24 PM
Doesn't look like anyone else (including the bunch of Championship clubs who were allegedly interested) agree with Falkirk's valuation either.

ie Hamilton offered tuppence ha'penny, Hibs offered a shilling and Falkirk wanted a guinea.

Falkirk will let him go for a groat.

01-09-2009, 03:24 PM
would be very surprised now if there is any more signings down ER way, yogi has said hes not going to go buying last min for the sake of buying.

would love to be wrong though. :wink:

01-09-2009, 03:28 PM

As could everyone and anyone else...

BravestHibs
01-09-2009, 03:57 PM
Paul Dalglish has just posted on his twitter that he has signed a deal with Hibs.

hibsdaft
01-09-2009, 04:02 PM
Paul Dalglish has just posted on his twitter that he has signed a deal with Hibs.

lol nice try

BravestHibs
01-09-2009, 04:09 PM
lol nice try

Haha! I genuinely believed it. I got told and had a quick scan on someone elses. I don't subscribe to Twitter, what did he actually say?

01-09-2009, 04:09 PM
Haha! I genuinely believed it. I got told and had a quick scan on someone elses. I don't subscribe to Twitter, what did he actually say?

He was musing about his move from Livingston to Hibs, when Tony Mowbray was still here.

BravestHibs
01-09-2009, 04:16 PM
He was musing about his move from Livingston to Hibs, when Tony Mowbray was still here.

Thanks.

01-09-2009, 10:56 PM
IMO Hibs and Dundee utd will scrap it out for 3rd place.

01-09-2009, 11:04 PM

That's our mistake, IMO. Falkirk would probably have accepted the fee.

They just didn't want to have to take Morais and Gatheussi and O'Brien as well. :devil:

Even if we HAD managed to get them back.

And I totally disagree with any idea that John Rankin, Colin Nish and Chris Hogg belong in any list with the other three.

IMO Rankin stays - no argument - to my mind he's a very useful player.

Nish, IMO the jury is out on him.

Hogg hasn't been playing well but has been around long enough to deserve a bit more respect, surely? :cool2: