View Full Version : 8 Pints a Day on Holiday

28-08-2009, 11:25 AM
A Government backed survey has found that the average Briton drinks the equivilant of 8 alcoholic beverages a day whilst on holiday.

Really....?

I drink more than usual when I'm holiday (like most people I'd imagine) but 8 glasses of whatever a day in a hotter climate sounds like a bit of an exaggeration. I presume that alot of people bevy more than this on thier hols but surely the lager louts cany be soley responsible for bringing the average drinking amount to 8 pints per day.

Considering the amount of young children and (ahem) some of the older people who go on holiday each year obviously won't be drinking at all or as much as whats been quoted as an average figure, what does everyone think of this.......

http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/UK-News/Holiday-Alcohol-Survey-Know-Your-Limits-Campaign-Reveals-Holiday-Brits-Drink-Eight-Pints-Every-Day/Article/200908415370094?lpos=UK_News_First_Home_Article_Te aser_Region_2&lid=ARTICLE_15370094_Holiday_Alcohol_Survey%3A_Kno w_Your_Limits_Campaign_Reveals_Holiday_Brits_Drink _Eight_Pints_Every_Day

I very much doubt that the public have been targetted properly in order for them to get accurate results from this survey - IMO it sounds like another lazy excuse for the government tio get on at us about our health to be honest. :blah:

28-08-2009, 11:44 AM
When I was on holiday people were hanging around the pool bars, waiting on them to open at 10 in the morning. :greengrin

28-08-2009, 11:58 AM
When I was on holiday people were hanging around the pool bars, waiting on them to open at 10 in the morning. :greengrin

When I was away last year I drank more than 8 drinks a day as it was a lads holiday - which ultimately means your going to end up sloshed almost every night. :thumbsup:

This wee article just came across as lazy journalism (if you can really call it journalism) as I'd certainly hope that the "bigger picture" (I.E: including the amount of families that go abroad with young kids & those adults who hardly drink at all) would illustrate that we drink a bit less than 8 pints on average, each day.

As I said, I very much doubt that the people targetted within this survey included young children therefore to say that on average each Briton drinks 8 whatevers a day is completely inaccurate. :party:

:doh:

28-08-2009, 05:13 PM
Never read that article but when I went on holiday wi my mum in May I easily drunk more than that for 13 of the 14 nights I was there.

Although assuming they're saying the average brit I very much doubt that.

Ally
28-08-2009, 05:19 PM
I have 8 pints with my breakfast.

28-08-2009, 05:44 PM
I've been on 2 all inclusives this year and would estimate that I have had somewhere in that region but never got "hammered" once. Don't get me wrong, I could tell I'd had "a few" but never out of it and never woke up with a hangover once. I think a lot of beers, especially at A/I resorts are watered down to keep people hydrated, keep costs down and avoid too avoid creating to many ********s.

hibeenicol
28-08-2009, 06:03 PM
I'm planning on having more than 8 pints a day when I'm all inclusive in october :dizzy:

JE89
28-08-2009, 06:18 PM
Last holiday I was on, I definately exceeded 8 pints per day. Not a good thing, but true all the same.

Marabou Stork
28-08-2009, 06:49 PM
I have 8 pints with my breakfast.

I have no breakfast. Just more booze.

28-08-2009, 08:29 PM
I've been on 2 all inclusives this year and would estimate that I have had somewhere in that region but never got "hammered" once. Don't get me wrong, I could tell I'd had "a few" but never out of it and never woke up with a hangover once. I think a lot of beers, especially at A/I resorts are watered down to keep people hydrated, keep costs down and avoid too avoid creating to many ********s.

You could drink 28 pints of beer a day in those all inclusives and all you would do is go to the toilet. The alcohol content is very low.

28-08-2009, 08:30 PM
You don't really think about it do you? A couple at lunchtime (maybe 3), 3 or 4 in the room before you go out then who knows what after that. Far more than 8 a day. Not that I give a monkeys.

28-08-2009, 09:56 PM
8 pints?

I've spilt mair on ma tie.

8 pints a day on holiday is like putting a litre of petrol in a Jumbo jet.

28-08-2009, 10:10 PM
You don't really think about it do you? A couple at lunchtime (maybe 3), 3 or 4 in the room before you go out then who knows what after that. Far more than 8 a day. Not that I give a monkeys.

:agree: Even the bairns :greengrin

29-08-2009, 08:22 AM
You could drink 28 pints of beer a day in those all inclusives and all you would do is go to the toilet. The alcohol content is very low.

:agree: I went all inclusive to Magaluf 2 years ago and didn't waste my time drinking in the hotel. The pish was just taking up space in my gut that could be used for a decent pint. :greengrin

8 pints?

I've spilt mair on ma tie.

8 pints a day on holiday is like putting a litre of petrol in a Jumbo jet.

29-08-2009, 08:40 AM
Holiday with the wife - half a bottle of wine plus cocktail and digestive.

Holiday with the kids - perhaps one pint at lunchtime or a scotch in the evening.

Holiday with the friends - eight pints could easily evaporate in one afternoon session before we started going out on the town for a night.

I've recently curtailed my drinking and no longer drink every day on holiday. I try and have a dry recovery day following a session. Of course, as we all know, the big problem with holidays is that you don't get the normal hangovers to deter you. For some reason, a session that would have you feeling sorry for yourself for days at home, is just water of ducks back in warmer climes where one is temporarily free from the burden of commerce.

30-08-2009, 03:47 AM
I would say it's definitely possible.

Back in the days of the 'lads holidays' I would've definitely ersed more than 8 drinks a day on average and that was for 14 nights on the trot!!

Even when travelling through Thailand we were drinking at least that, although did have the odd day 'off' since we're a bit aulder these days :greengrin

On a trip up the west coast of Australia last year me and 2 mates had at least 10 cans of beer every night for 10 days. The rest of the group (not Scottish) were quite perplexed at how we managed it :greengrin Shocking behaviour really...

Alas, these days I only tend to drink once a week on average.

01-09-2009, 06:55 AM
Drink is evil and should made illegal.

01-09-2009, 07:13 AM
Drink is evil and should made illegal.

Hungover by any chance?:greengrin

01-09-2009, 11:51 AM
Hungover by any chance?:greengrin

from Sunday!!!!