View Full Version : Gordon Smith an arse

27-08-2009, 11:38 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/8223917.stm

Why did this clown not said the same when mummys boy thomson tried to cheat against celtic for a penalty last season, with the same type of dive, if not worse. The answer is because he's a two faced twat, with no morals. You are an arse Smith, a complete arse. :grr:

Expecting Rain
27-08-2009, 11:39 AM

Why did this clown not said the same when mummys boy thomson tried to cheat against celtic for a penalty last season, with the same type of dive, if not worse. The answer is because he's a two faced twat, with no morals. You are an arse Smith, a complete arse. :grr:

Never taken that guy seriously especially after his miss agains Man U in the FA Cup Final.:greengrin

27-08-2009, 11:40 AM

:agree: :top marks

27-08-2009, 11:40 AM

Why did this clown not said the same when mummys boy thomson tried to cheat against celtic for a penalty last season, with the same type of dive, if not worse. The answer is because he's a two faced twat, with no morals. You are an arse Smith, a complete arse. :grr::agree: :top marks

The guy is a tw@t

Mary Hinge
27-08-2009, 11:48 AM

Agree 100% :agree:

Where was this twat when Lafferty was falling all over the place last season ??? Just as bad in my opinion :grr:

Eduardo's impersonation of Scott McDonald was good though :greengrin

The_Sauz
27-08-2009, 12:20 PM
Still waiting for his statement about his beloved Huns last minute penalty at the PBS when the foul was outside the box :agree:

27-08-2009, 12:21 PM
Agree 100% :agree:

Where was this twat when Lafferty was falling all over the place last season ??? Just as bad in my opinion :grr:

Eduardo's impersonation of Scott McDonald was good though :greengrin

Great point......Lafferty should never be allowed to play in Scotland again.....the t*sser.

GreenPJ
27-08-2009, 12:34 PM

Could it be the fact that the internal Scottish games are ultimately an internal issue for the SFA to address therefore he is not going to wash his dirty washing in public, however, the UEFA cup is not an internal problem to resolve. If that had happened to Hibs we would want our national football association to stand up for us.

Saying that Smith always has been and always will be an arse.

PeeKay
27-08-2009, 12:39 PM
To be fair the Lafferty incident was referred to the Disciplinary Committee, who did use video evidence against him, and that is why he is currently serving a playing ban.
And although the "penalty" incident last week was clearly outside the box, I don't think there was any evidence of simulation?

banarc7062
27-08-2009, 12:42 PM
In a situation where say Hibs are the opposition to one of the ugly sisters and TV evidence shows the same simulation in Hibs penalty box, would Smith use the TV evidence to punish the weegies??? All talk when it's the unwashed on the receiving end. GGTTH

bobbyhibs1983
27-08-2009, 12:43 PM
A few good and very true points made :top marks

How many times have rangers and celtic had a dodgey pen and or a free kick/ or another teams player sent off against them for a 50/50 tackle?

Or a rangers or celtic player who should get booked/sent off but does not and an other teams player gettign booked/sent off for the same challange and or for a far less challange?

I think if you ask mangers in the spl do you think rangers and celtic get 99.9% of the decisons i think most maybe all of them except the 2 teams in ? will say yes they do

27-08-2009, 12:43 PM
In a situation where say Hibs are the opposition to one of the ugly sisters and TV evidence shows the same simulation in Hibs penalty box, would Smith use the TV evidence to punish the weegies??? All talk when it's the unwashed on the receiving end. GGTTH

Did they not use TV evidence to punish Lafferty?

Mary Hinge
27-08-2009, 12:47 PM
To be fair the Lafferty incident was referred to the Disciplinary Committee, who did use video evidence against him, and that is why he is currently serving a playing ban.
And although the "penalty" incident last week was clearly outside the box, I don't think there was any evidence of simulation?

Very true - but there were no histrionics from Smith akin to what is happening now :bitchy:

27-08-2009, 12:49 PM

:agree: So he'll be making a stand everytime there's a dodgy penalty awarded. Or will he? :bitchy:

Further proof that he should step down from his current role with the SFA and go back to being a pundit which is about his limit.

Will be watching Shaun Polony and co very carefully at the weekend especially when they are in the 18 yard area. :wink:

(((Fergus)))
27-08-2009, 01:01 PM
Very true - but there were no histrionics from Smith akin to what is happening now :bitchy:

Maybe because he didn't need to make a fuss about it - he knew that Lafferty was getting a ban. Not that I want to stick up for Smith particularly.

27-08-2009, 01:40 PM
Use your common sense-Smith could not speak out about Lafferty beforehand because he was being put before the SFA panel.He has consistently tried to get video evidence used to punish offenders.

27-08-2009, 03:18 PM

Smith = complete hypocrite IMO

rossevenil
27-08-2009, 05:40 PM
Absolutely pathetic that the SFA are even getting involved with this!

If Celtic want to make a complaint fair enough,think Smith has just made the SFA look a bigger bunch of ********s than they already are.

27-08-2009, 08:03 PM
I wonder if he will be looking for a retrspective yellow card, for wee susans attemted cheat just now?:confused:

27-08-2009, 08:54 PM
One of my earliest memories of players cheating was a certain John McDonald at ER. One of the worst dives you will ever see. I think it was Benny Brazil who was adjudged to have fouled him but I seem to remember a photo in the papers showing that he wasn't within a foot of McDonanld when he went down. I think Smith may have been playing for the Huns in those days but don't remember any calls from him not to be awarded the penalty. McDonalds nickname was Polaris as went down like a sub when in the box. Again I have a memory is of schaedler chasing McDonald down the tunnel.

KiddA
27-08-2009, 08:57 PM

Yeah the guy is a grade A idiot and every time he says something in the press it makes him look like a bigger fud :agree: Also I can't wait to see the next cheating incident from the Old firm, hey maybe this weekend but mark my words it won't be long. Then we will see what that fud says.

Brando7
27-08-2009, 09:08 PM
Did they not use TV evidence to punish Lafferty?

He got a 2 match ban

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Kyle-Lafferty-handed-two-match-ban-for-Rangers-article105007.html

27-08-2009, 09:11 PM
What a fuss they're making about this Arsenal penalty. You see stuff like that every week in the Prem and in Scotland with players capering about diving and faking injury. They get away with it because there aren't fifty cameras trained on them all the time.

It's up to the ref to spot dives and penalties. Don't lets go down the "third umpire" route or the game will last all night. Personally, I would never give a penalty unless it was absolutely stonewall. The players are all "at it".

Brando7
27-08-2009, 09:20 PM
He got a 2 match ban

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Kyle-Lafferty-handed-two-match-ban-for-Rangers-article105007.html

Was a 3 match ban actually, that why we no seen him diving about so far this season

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/8190130.stm

28-08-2009, 12:10 PM
On this occasion, I think Gordon Smith is spot on.

28-08-2009, 01:07 PM
On this occasion, I think Gordon Smith is spot on.

I do too dave, but lets wait and see if he's as frank in his views when rantic players do exactly the same thing, as they certainly will this season. I'd also like him to explain his silence regarding the Kevin Thomson dive, to try and gain a penalty against celtic last season.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s20sSrmnzhc&feature=PlayList&p=EEFAF0D0A7F3D252&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=74
He's was very silent over this, :confused:

Brando7
28-08-2009, 01:13 PM
I do too dave, but lets wait and see if he's as frank in his views when rantic players do exactly the same thing, as they certainly will this season. I'd also like him to explain his silence regarding the Kevin Thomson dive, to try and gain a penalty against celtic last season.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s20sSrmnzhc&feature=PlayList&p=EEFAF0D0A7F3D252&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=74

love the commentator :greengrin

Expecting Rain
28-08-2009, 02:57 PM
If we are going to ban players for cheating most teams will have to triple their squads and if there is to be an official standing near the goal line there will be a penalty at every corner and we`ll be down to 5 a sides.

28-08-2009, 03:16 PM
If we are going to ban players for cheating most teams will have to triple their squads and if there is to be an official standing near the goal line there will be a penalty at every corner and we`ll be down to 5 a sides.

Eh naw - because as soon as they're regularly found out, aw the cheating will stop.

Expecting Rain
28-08-2009, 03:19 PM
Eh naw - because as soon as they're regularly found out, aw the cheating will stop.

Wish i had your optimism.

28-08-2009, 03:38 PM

:agree: Smiths had plenty opportunity to take the moral highground in his own backyard to highlight the antics of individual members of the OF synchronised diving club but has failed to do so. My view on Smith is that he talks a good game on issues for which he has no personal responsibility or accountability but when those issues fall within his own remit hes surprisingly silent. Hes all weedgie tanning studio "style" and no substance ... the fitba equivalent of Tommy Sheridan

southfieldshibby
28-08-2009, 08:24 PM
While i hate diving. GS has made a pretty strong rod for his own back here as he will now have to look at every incident with the same "candor" as he did this one.

With the tic track record, we may have one on Sunday:greengrin

28-08-2009, 08:26 PM
While i hate diving. GS has made a pretty strong rod for his own back here as he will now have to look at every incident with the same "candor" as he did this one.

With the tic track record, we may have one on Sunday:greengrin

He's started it already though with Mikolunias and Lafferty. As well as that he wanted UEFA/FIFA to start using video evidence for diving a couple of years back but they knocked it back.

The guy appears to be leading the way to get rid of cheating.

28-08-2009, 08:33 PM

:agree: Stop press, scientists have today exclusively revealed to the Daily ****** that Bears tend to sh*t in the woods.

28-08-2009, 08:36 PM
Gordon Smith an arse

:confused:Is it because he misd a sitter against Man U that cost Brighton the FA cup? or just generally?