View Full Version : Tommy Preston

leith98.8
27-08-2009, 11:35 AM
can any one point me in the direction on where i can get good info on Tommys playing carrer...thanks

CyberSauzee
27-08-2009, 11:45 AM
Call him at the Annfield? 552 1670

leith98.8
27-08-2009, 12:02 PM
cheers mate....but i'm looking for a link so i can put something in writing

CyberSauzee
27-08-2009, 12:18 PM
cheers mate....but i'm looking for a link so i can put something in writing

No probs

You might struggle for something on TP!

This is always useful and worth bookmarking

http://www.neilbrown.newcastlefans.com/hibernian/hibernian.htm

Only thing I've got is the uploaded scan from book 'Hibernian Football Club 1875 - 1975'

http://i32.tinypic.com/nx4a47.jpg

Maybe also try Tommy Wright (official club historian/ Hibernian Historical Trust)

HTH

leith98.8
27-08-2009, 12:31 PM
i' am mate....tried speaking to Tam about his career but he can't remember half of it !!

HibeeB
27-08-2009, 12:42 PM
i' am mate....tried speaking to Tam about his career but he can't remember half of it !!

He has two scrapbooks full of media reports of his playing days.

I don't know how willing he would be to share it. I have never seen them.

CyberSauzee
27-08-2009, 12:48 PM

Why doesn't that surprise me!!! Folk that watched TP play can remember more than him! I'm sure a few auld yins on here can give you a few stories.

27-08-2009, 01:25 PM
Why doesn't that surprise me!!! Folk that watched TP play can remember more than him! I'm sure a few auld yins on here can give you a few stories.
No stories but it's long kept me awake at nights wondering whether the repetition of two-syllable surnames as a 'midfield' is being read out over a tannoy ("Preston, Easton, Baxter") is or is not preferable to the two-one-two formation ("Stanton, Black, Blackley"). I currently incline to think that the rhythm of the 2-2-2 is more psychologically comforting.

27-08-2009, 01:30 PM
Started out deputising for Lawrie Reilly when Reilly was trying to get an extra ten bob a week from the Hibs.Scored about a goal a game so Reilly thought he better re sign.Scored against Barcelona-4 against Airdrie-slow even for those days but an excellent reader of the game either at wing half or inside forward.Male model!

hibbybrian
27-08-2009, 03:20 PM
can any one point me in the direction on where i can get good info on Tommys playing carrer...thanks

Tommy played for Longstone primary school then Juniper Thistle (won under 18 Scottish Cup Medal) and then Edinburgh Thistle and joined the RAF. After his service he joined Nitten in 1953.

Tommy signed for Hibs on 6 October 1953 (by Hugh Shaw) from Newtongrange Star and was released by Hibs on 30 April 1964 (by Jock Stein) and he then played for St Mirren for a year

Stats:

League League Cup

games - goals games - goals

1953-54 3 0 0 0
54-55 23 3 6 8
55-56 19 0 6 0
56-57 17 2 0 0
57-58 28 7 6 1
58-59 29 3 6 2
59-60 17 12 4 0
60-61 27 5 6 0
61-62 29 1 4 0
62-63 21 1 6 0
63-64 15 0 8 0

He played for Scotland U23 v Clyde 14 Dec 1955

I'll add details of his Scottish Cup - European - Friendly games tomorrow (off work :thumbsup:)

27-08-2009, 03:21 PM

Tommy was a good pal of my dad's and also a pretty heavy drinker also,that's probably why he can't remember half his career, the man's still a gentleman though.

27-08-2009, 03:33 PM
Tommy was a good pal of my dad's and also a pretty heavy drinker also,that's probably why he can't remember half his career, the man's still a gentleman though.

Go along totally with that !
Have known him well since his Edinburgh Thistle days when playing against him .
An underrated player in my opinion - was one of the "work horses" for Hibs over about ten years.
Unfortunately fell on difficult times ,for a while, when he worked in NB Cold Store in, Leith, and used to earn a crust picking up empty glasses in Jimmy Miller's pub in Duke St.
Enjoying life again at Annfield Bar !!!!!!!!!!
Was and still is a gentleman , to me at least .

27-08-2009, 03:35 PM
He used to sit right in front of me and my brother when we had oor season tickets in the old main stand. True Gent always up for a wee chat.

27-08-2009, 06:39 PM
[/B]

Go along totally with that !
Have known him well since his Edinburgh Thistle days when playing against him .
An underrated player in my opinion - was one of the "work horses" for Hibs over about ten years.
Unfortunately fell on difficult times ,for a while, when he worked in NB Cold Store in, Leith, and used to earn a crust picking up empty glasses in Jimmy Miller's pub in Duke St.
Enjoying life again at Annfield Bar !!!!!!!!!!
Was and still is a gentleman , to me at least .

We used to have the window cleaning contract for the offices at the bus station and Tommy was manager of the Travellers Tryst. I did most of the work and my dad was in the pub at around 9.30am, with a few other regulars supping away.

leith98.8
27-08-2009, 07:33 PM
many thanks for all your help...cheers

MGmick
27-08-2009, 10:16 PM
Met him a couple of years ago in the Albion before a game, found him to be very friendly and up for a chat about his playing days. I always find it enjoyable listening to my Old Man talking about seeing the Five so listening to someone talk about playing with them was pretty special.

leith98.8
27-08-2009, 10:53 PM
Tommy will be on Leith Fm sport show tomorrow night between 7 & 9, send in a mail or call up to have a chat.