View Full Version : Question Can TOO much Hibs.net be a bad thing

26-08-2009, 08:42 AM
Have to say that Mrs Col2 is far from happy at the moment.....

She has never been a football fan and has grown a strong dislike, no I should say hatred towards anything that even looks like football.

Add in the fact that she sees me on Hibs.net more and more and she is starting to lose the plot.

The ability to sit on the sofa while pretending to watch Big Brother or some other rubbish, yet scan the forums on my iphone could be the last straw.

I also deep down think that it would be good for me to moderate my Hibs interests as anytime I have not had my phone or laptop or any internet access I do become a more rounded, focussed family man!

Anyone in the same boat? (ignoring the irony that I am posting this on Hibs.net).

26-08-2009, 08:46 AM
Divorce is the only answer here :agree:

I think I have managed to persuade my Kiwi lady that football is rather high on my priority list - luckily all this football stuff is new to her and it seems she quite likes it in general and has in fact stated that she can't wait to go to a Hibs game :greengrin

Darth Hibbie
26-08-2009, 08:48 AM

She has never been a football fan and has grown a strong dislike, no I should say hatred towards anything that even looks like football.

Add in the fact that she sees me on Hibs.net more and more and she is starting to lose the plot.

The ability to sit on the sofa while pretending to watch Big Brother or some other rubbish, yet scan the forums on my iphone could be the last straw.

I also deep down think that it would be good for me to moderate my Hibs interests as anytime I have not had my phone or laptop or any internet access I do become a more rounded, focussed family man!

Anyone in the same boat? (ignoring the irony that I am posting this on Hibs.net).

Just about every night I get "your never of that ****ing hibs.net."

I just tend to ignore her and carry on :greengrin

The last time I listened to her and shut the computer down deeks signed. Not missing anything like that again.

26-08-2009, 08:48 AM

You might lose your house, your family, your car and your job....

But its a small price to pay for being a fully committed Hibby. :devil: :greengrin

26-08-2009, 08:49 AM

I feel your pain. Hibs net has been a godsend on my work travels, particularly the 'dryish' middle east where I find myself a lot of the time. However, it has become a big part of my life at home. Mrs Dashing's once affectionate queries of "Hibs net again?" have no assumed more sinister undertones.

I've made a pact that once I get to 8,000 posts i'll stop posting and use it for viewing purposes only.

26-08-2009, 08:51 AM
I feel your pain. Hibs net has been a godsend on my work travels, particularly the 'dryish' middle east where I find myself a lot of the time. However, it has become a big part of my life at home. Mrs Dashing's once affectionate queries of "Hibs net again?" have no assumed more sinister undertones.

I've made a pact that once I get to 8,000 posts i'll stop posting and use it for viewing purposes only.

What if the admins doctor your post count? :hmmm:

26-08-2009, 08:52 AM

The last time I listened to her and shut the computer down deeks signed. Not missing anything like that again.

Same here. I try to restrict it to when Mrs F is watching some tosh on the tv or when she's sleeping.

26-08-2009, 08:52 AM
What if the admins doctor your post count? :hmmm:

there's a non-disclosure agreement in place :wink:

26-08-2009, 08:53 AM

:bitchy: Poor show DBS. Take a hit for the team, old chap!

26-08-2009, 08:54 AM
Shame really.

aljo7-0
26-08-2009, 08:54 AM
Fully feel your pain. Mrs Aljo7-0 is not a fan of the time I spend on "that sad Hibs site" and cannot understand why I have to go on the site every night. She doesn't like football at all either - which is probably why she supports St Mirren (might be to do with the fact she's from Paisley but I prefer the hating football factor)

26-08-2009, 08:55 AM

So I assume you have a 2nd sign-on sitting waiting for use?

Same here. I try to restrict it to when Mrs F is watching some tosh on the tv or when she's sleeping.

Wow – your missus must watch some amount of crap on the telly.

26-08-2009, 08:56 AM

You selfish git. :grr:

Shut your PC down immediately! :wink:

26-08-2009, 08:56 AM

:faf: :top marks

26-08-2009, 08:59 AM

As a two-time divorcee Matty, I'm probably a bit more sensitive to these issues than some.

At least I can say with a clear conscience that it wasn't my caddish behaviour this time around.

Darth Hibbie
26-08-2009, 09:08 AM
You selfish git. :grr:

Shut your PC down immediately! :wink:

Its all about the timing waiting till the transfer wind is just about shut. Then shutting down and will see in the morning if I have managed to secure the services of Messi for Hibs :greengrin

dublinhfc
26-08-2009, 09:38 AM
Just Hibs in General for me.........why do you spend so much time on that team of yours, why do you spend so much money going to watch that team of yours, why do you go to the pub to watch them if your not over there, think of all the time you waste on them that you could be spending........

"I'LL STOP YOU THERE.........SSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHHH WOMAN, go to the fridge immediately and retrieve me a cold beer, the game is about to start!!!!" :rolleyes:

Jay
26-08-2009, 10:14 AM
I am delighted to be a woman married to a man who doesn't like fitba :greengrin

He doesn't yip yip yip moan moan moan in my lughole, not only because he is a man and that takes waaay too much effort, but he is also delighted that when he is home he gets the big telly to himself to watch whatever pap he wants and I am in the other room on the computer and watching whatever I want on the other telly.

We have an agreement for him watching the grand prix and me watching football on the big telly when required. :thumbsup:

The rest of the time he works away so I do what I want.:greengrin

Teo10
26-08-2009, 10:18 AM
My life is Hibs.net:greengrin

26-08-2009, 10:19 AM
I don't have a wife. :cool2:

An old fart of a mother is bad enough. :boo hoo:

Jay
26-08-2009, 10:20 AM
I don't have a wife. :cool2:

An old fart of a mother is bad enough. :boo hoo:

:slipper: Thats a terrible way to speak about your mum!

26-08-2009, 10:20 AM
I'm on hibs.net first thing in the morning and last thing at night and sometimes 23 hours in between. For me i just don't want to miss any exclusives or insider info. You can't miss it for one day in case you can't keep up with current banter and piss-takes. The fear of making a t!t of oneself (again) coming on and posting something like "i heard Stokes is coming to Hibs" or suchlike is terrifying! I'm already *****tin myself at the thought of going on holiday for 2 weeks! As well as all this my wife always moans that i'm on "that bloody Hibs site" my 4 year old son marches up and down the house singing the :nade: song and glory, glory to the Hibees!

hibs .net is more addictive than chrystal meth.....allegedly!

I think a week in the priory is on the cards, is Subo still there? :pray:

Expecting Rain
26-08-2009, 10:22 AM
It can make you grumpy, remember being told of by a youngster on the board that i should get a life instead of hogging the board, couldn`t really find an argument, i`m cutting back honestly and spending time on other more important stuff.

26-08-2009, 10:24 AM

Sorry ma'm... :embarrass

Jay
26-08-2009, 10:26 AM
Sorry ma'm... :embarrass

Tis okay. Just show a little respect the next time :cool2:

26-08-2009, 10:29 AM

I don't have a wife either. Any chance of using that slipper on me too, or do I have to call somebody an old fart? :greengrin

26-08-2009, 10:31 AM
I don't have a wife either. Any chance of using that slipper on me too, or do I have to call somebody an old fart? :greengrin

Its no soft slipper :greengrin

26-08-2009, 10:44 AM
My life is Hibs.net:greengrin

Just look out for someone looking over your shoulder…

26-08-2009, 11:14 AM
I have been Married twice and am currently living with my partner.

All of them hated / hate football.

Didny have a home PC until I moved in with partner so my discovery of Hibs.Net is her fault IMO.

I dont know if you lot have the same experience, but I have to endure ( for example ) monthly trips to IKEA where I have to pretend that the new Egg Torp sofa, or whatever you call it, is the most exciting thing to arrive on planet earth since the discovery of electricity and be amazed that the bamboo blinds that were £25 last month are now only £5, but that they are still cheaper in Home Base or whatever.

But mention the fact that Hibs have signed a new striker or Deeks is in trouble with the law again and she doesnt want to know and makes no pretence that she does. If I can humour her, why cant she at least do the same for me ?

Wife 1 and 2 were pretty well the same !!!

Dont get me wrong I loved / love them all dearly but I still cant understand how someone can hate something that they are totally indifferent to.

You would think that Football was another woman or something :hmmm:

I write this with no disrespect to the many female Hibs supporters out there, who I am sure have the same problems with husbands / partners.

P.S.
I am dreading the world cup for obvious reasons. :confused:

26-08-2009, 11:19 AM

For some reason browsing hibs.net on the iPhone seems to increase the level of wrath. I nearly got caught checking out the forums here whilst my wife was trying on every item of clothing in Debenhams. Thankfully when challenged I managed to convince her that I was only looking at porn............it was a close call though.

26-08-2009, 11:21 AM
For some reason browsing hibs.net on the iPhone seems to increase the level of wrath. I nearly got caught checking out the forums here whilst my wife was trying on every item of clothing in Debenhams. Thankfully when challenged I managed to convince her that I was only looking at porn............it was a close call though.

:faf: :top marks

Hibby D
26-08-2009, 11:21 AM
It can make you grumpy, remember being told of by a youngster on the board that i should get a life instead of hogging the board, couldn`t really find an argument, i`m cutting back honestly and spending time on other more important stuff.

Darth Hibbie
26-08-2009, 11:23 AM

Its like :hnet: is the ultimate sin

26-08-2009, 12:59 PM
i think i spend too much time at work in hibs.net

ive got work back dating to May but lately its grown... hmmm....

26-08-2009, 01:14 PM

Right down to the iPhone browsing :top marks

Mrs Number_10 is a avid Hibs fan though but just hates me being on here..

Ah well :greengrin

26-08-2009, 01:20 PM
I have been Married twice and am currently living with my partner.

All of them hated / hate football.

Didny have a home PC until I moved in with partner so my discovery of Hibs.Net is her fault IMO.

I dont know if you lot have the same experience, but I have to endure ( for example ) monthly trips to IKEA where I have to pretend that the new Egg Torp sofa, or whatever you call it, is the most exciting thing to arrive on planet earth since the discovery of electricity and be amazed that the bamboo blinds that were £25 last month are now only £5, but that they are still cheaper in Home Base or whatever.

But mention the fact that Hibs have signed a new striker or Deeks is in trouble with the law again and she doesnt want to know and makes no pretence that she does. If I can humour her, why cant she at least do the same for me ?

Wife 1 and 2 were pretty well the same !!!

Dont get me wrong I loved / love them all dearly but I still cant understand how someone can hate something that they are totally indifferent to.

You would think that Football was another woman or something :hmmm:

I write this with no disrespect to the many female Hibs supporters out there, who I am sure have the same problems with husbands / partners.

P.S.
I am dreading the world cup for obvious reasons. :confused:

One has to question your selection process mate :greengrin

I tend to spend too much time on here when it's detrimental to something I should be working on.

"Hmmm, I need to read a paper or write a report - bah, f*** it, let's see what's going on down ER way" is a very common thought process for me, sadly!

:hnet::top marks

26-08-2009, 01:36 PM
One has to question your selection process mate :greengrin

I tend to spend too much time on here when it's detrimental to something I should be working on.

"Hmmm, I need to read a paper or write a report - bah, f*** it, let's see what's going on down ER way" is a very common thought process for me, sadly!

:hnet::top marks

Selection process ? :confused:

Brad Pitt has a selection process.

I just hang around and hope that the poor deluded lass is either short sighted or drunk. Preferably both. Her liking football would be a bonus that the likes of me can only dream about.

Maybee somebody should start a board on here where like minded boys and girls of the Hibby persuasion can hook up.

Oh I dont know !!! What about Hibs date Net :duck:

26-08-2009, 01:58 PM
I've been with Lesley for 6 years and I think she is starting to come round. When we first met she thought my my sole interests were clothes, music, movies and dancing! :wink:

When she first discovered my Hibs addiction it was almost all-out war. Now she has given up fighting. That's because I've found her out:-

Her family name is Waugh - Hibs and the Waughs go back a long way
Her Uncle Bill W is a long-standing ST holder
Her cousin Marti released a Hibs CD about the Famous Five
Her first husband had a leaning towards Hibs when he lived in Edinburgh
Her sisters ex is a Hibby
Her eldest son now has an ST in the West
I've no doubt her youngest will follow if he moves to the capital to study
When not playing football on his X-Box the youngest plays keepie uppie on our patio or goes off to play with his mates
Ex-hubby and eldest son were avid footballers. Ex-s brother, dad and grandad were all in junior football
My brother, nephew and niece all play football
Brother has coaching badges and nephew is currently doing same
All three have an Easter Road ST for the first time this year
My wee sis Babs is an St Mirren radge (lived in Paisley area for 25 years)
My son plays for Letham Sky Blues - one of the top U13 teams in Perthshire

Now the lovely Lesley and sis leaves us lads to it on a Saturday and goes lunching and shopping with sister and the girls

Life is good :thumbsup:

26-08-2009, 02:01 PM

I'll just go on the Bounce for another 8,000. Then kickback for 400,000.

26-08-2009, 02:10 PM
I should have said up front that it all came to a head for me on our summer holidays last month in spain...... I made the mistake of thinking i had free wifi access in the hotel we were staying in and while I knew the connection was not strong i thought i was getting internet access on my iphone free of charge. Therefore I continued to log on hibs.net in between playing in the pool with the family and at just about any other time i thought i could get away with it.

5 days into the holiday i got an email from O2 to say that my current bill based on usage was £140 (normally £35) - i then realised i was getting charged. The normal thing would have been to stop logging in and use the internet service in the hotel at 1euro for 10 mins. Of course i did for a few days but then went back to the phone, just now and then until we got home.

Got home and my 3G access was not working. Phoned O2 and then said they had blocked it until i paid outstanding usage charge of £265!! the girl on the phone at O2 was even embarressed at such a large cost - she must have wondered what the hell is was doing!

Made the fatal mistake of trying to joke it off and telling Mrs Col2. Needless to say this story is replayed on a regular basis.

As the person who started this thread and asked the question, i feel a lot more reassured that i am not int he minority:greengrin

In fact not one person has suggested it would be better to moderate and widen our range of interests:wink:

26-08-2009, 02:19 PM
I should have said up front that it all came to a head for me on our summer holidays last month in spain...... I made the mistake of thinking i had free wifi access in the hotel we were staying in and while I knew the connection was not strong i thought i was getting internet access on my iphone free of charge. Therefore I continued to log on hibs.net in between playing in the pool with the family and at just about any other time i thought i could get away with it.

5 days into the holiday i got an email from O2 to say that my current bill based on usage was £140 (normally £35) - i then realised i was getting charged. The normal thing would have been to stop logging in and use the internet service in the hotel at 1euro for 10 mins. Of course i did for a few days but then went back to the phone, just now and then until we got home.

Got home and my 3G access was not working. Phoned O2 and then said they had blocked it until i paid outstanding usage charge of £265!! the girl on the phone at O2 was even embarressed at such a large cost - she must have wondered what the hell is was doing!

Made the fatal mistake of trying to joke it off and telling Mrs Col2. Needless to say this story is replayed on a regular basis.

As the person who started this thread and asked the question, i feel a lot more reassured that i am not int he minority:greengrin

In fact not one person has suggested it would be better to moderate and widen our range of interests:wink:

More scary coincidences :paranoid:

We're just not long back from Spain, i managed to go like 3 days without .Net until i realised i could access a Wifi hotspot, cost 15 euros for a weeks unlimited access which i deemed quite reasonable..

A few days later i got a text from o2 regarding data roaming abroad and i then near shat myself thinking i was being charged from o2 even though i was using Wifi..

Thankfully, it appears i haven't as i just got last months bill and only went a few quid over my normal monthly fee, this was most likely down to a few calls home when abroad..

Well, at least i hope i haven't been charged :hmmm:

26-08-2009, 02:21 PM

In fact not one person has suggested it would be better to moderate and widen our range of interests:wink:Impossible...for me anyway...:greengrin

Im kinda on here 24/7 & the Wife doesnt give a jot...maybe due to the fact that if im on here i aint in the boozer !!!

My Daughters are a bit miffed though as they cant get near the pc & they usually come out with the usual "Aw yer no on that hibs.net again".....aye ...:greengrin

26-08-2009, 10:14 PM
The ideal woman cares not one jot about football but is at least respectful enough of the fact that I am, and knows how important Hibs are to me to not give two flying ****s that I am out of commision every other Saturday.

I must admit I've yet to meet a girl with would win the "Big Hibs game vs an afternoon with the g/friend" argument.

Ho hum :greengrin

Darth Hibbie
26-08-2009, 10:17 PM
The idea woman cares not one jot about football but is at least respectful enough of the fact that I am, and knows how important Hibs are to me to not give two flying ****s that I am out of commision every other Saturday.

I must admit I've yet to meet a girl with would win the "Big Hibs game vs an afternoon with the g/friend" argument.

Ho hum :greengrin

That person does not exist :greengrin

Ok own up who came home from the game and came straight on here. :cool2:

26-08-2009, 10:20 PM
That person does not exist :greengrin

Ok own up who came home from the game and came straight on here. :cool2:

Not me......................I took my kecks of first :wink:

26-08-2009, 10:32 PM
Not me......................I took my kecks of first :wink:

:bitchy:

Personally I turned on the TV to watch Celtic get royally outclassed.

Kecks still on :greengrin

Darth Hibbie
26-08-2009, 10:35 PM
OK I'll burst I got a beer first, I am sorry I let down :hnet:

26-08-2009, 11:14 PM

Nah, she sleeps a lot.

Chloroform is a very handy thing.:greengrin