View Full Version : NHC Gordon Smith - out of his depth??

ancienthibby
13-08-2009, 06:08 PM
Can't help but feel but this CEO of the SFA is a man clearly out of his depth!!

No real experience at the level required.

No qualification in a necessary profession, such as the law.

Dog's breakfast of the appointment process that led to Burley (Sorry Mark did not have your moby number!!??)

Bigger dogs' breakfast in the banning of the two Greyskull offenders!

Even bigger dogs' breakfast that 'well now maybe they can play again for their country'!!

With this type of leadership, what's poor hurly burly and the players supposed to do??

(With apologies to real dogs everywhere!)

13-08-2009, 07:36 PM

Dog's breakfast of the appointment process that led to Burley (Sorry Mark did not have your moby number!!??)

Even bigger dogs' breakfast that 'well now maybe they can play again for their country'!!

With this type of leadership, what's poor hurly burly and the players supposed to do??

Cant help think you are spot on. He comes over very weak and indecisive.

joe t
13-08-2009, 07:54 PM
A man with more vanity and self love will not be found in the scottish football set up.

13-08-2009, 08:06 PM
A man with more vanity and self love will not be found in the scottish football set up.

Mark McGhee must be pushing him very hard though?

13-08-2009, 09:57 PM

Mark McGhee must be pushing him very hard though?

Growler McGhee is but an apprentice compared to the mighty Gordon :wink:

sevenil
13-08-2009, 10:42 PM
Agree that he's unqualified and out of his depth - the about face on the banning of the two bluenose neds, says it all.
It has to be a negative factor if there is to be a change of Team Manager. Leaving aside the guddle he made handling the last appointment, it must turn-off a number of candidates when they consider that he is the one they would be reporting to.
He's been about as effective as Barwick was at the FA......brewery piss-up etc etc.
Once said about Souness, but it applies to this present day G Smith as well - 'if he was chocolate he'd eat himself'.

14-08-2009, 09:48 AM
Always gives of that air:

* As player.
* As agent.
* As pundit.
* As DR columnist.
* As SFA heid yin.

Would look out of his depth selling pies, methinks.

14-08-2009, 11:21 AM
He has done absolutely NOTHING as CEO of the SFA apart from condemn diving, which he also did as a pundit.

All mouth and no trousers.

14-08-2009, 11:54 AM

" Gordon in Blunderland "
A very average player.
A very average agent , as confirmed by players he acted for.
A less than average pundit.
Never read his DR column
Out if his depth as CEO of SFA.

If you are in his company for even a short while you soon realise his biggest problem is an inflated ego

BonnieFitbaTeam
14-08-2009, 01:48 PM
" Gordon in Blunderland "
A very average player.
A very average agent , as confirmed by players he acted for.
A less than average pundit.
Never read his DR column
Out if his depth as CEO of SFA.

If you are in his company for even a short while you soon realise his biggest problem is an inflated ego

As evidenced by his childish, self-important hijacking of the press conference announcing Burley's appointment. Told you everything you need to know...

He also made an utter fandan of himself when he phoned into Radio Scotland a while back during a journos' discussion regarding the ban handed down to the Crab and ****ger.

Among other things he contradicted himself several times about whether the decision to ban the players, and indeed to select them again in the future, was Burley's or the SFA board's. Worst of all though was his statement to Tom English that they weren't given a 'life' ban because players don't play football "...for their whole lives, only until their mid-thirties...". Positively embarrassing :bitchy:

bathhibby
14-08-2009, 01:57 PM
OK, I agree Smith and all the SFA Administartion are a compete watse of space, living in the past and using their appointments for personal gain and self-fullfilment.

How and what do we replace them with ?

Answers on a Postcard to SFA Hampden park.

And don't say the McCleish Enquiry as they appointed him so Turkeys and Christmas spirng to mind.

14-08-2009, 03:04 PM
As evidenced by his childish, self-important hijacking of the press conference announcing Burley's appointment. Told you everything you need to know...

He also made an utter fandan of himself when he phoned into Radio Scotland a while back during a journos' discussion regarding the ban handed down to the Crab and ****ger.

Among other things he contradicted himself several times about whether the decision to ban the players, and indeed to select them again in the future, was Burley's or the SFA board's. Worst of all though was his statement to Tom English that they weren't given a 'life' ban because players don't play football "...for their whole lives, only until their mid-thirties...". Positively embarrassing :bitchy:

14-08-2009, 03:08 PM
Comes across as nothing more than a public face, someone we all knew. I see him as more of a spokesman than a leader, as I really doubt he has any real say in what goes on at the SFA.

Green Mikey
14-08-2009, 03:25 PM
He has done absolutely NOTHING as CEO of the SFA apart from condemn diving, which he also did as a pundit.

All mouth and no trousers.

Condemns diving and then gives the dirty Hun Lafferty a two match ban for his theatrics:grr:

He's a complete erse.

Tomsk
14-08-2009, 04:01 PM
Comes across as nothing more than a public face, someone we all knew. I see him as more of a spokesman than a leader, as I really doubt he has any real say in what goes on at the SFA.

You're either on the kid or very naive.

He is the Chief Executive. That makes him the toppest of top bannanas. Every professional officer within the organisation is answerable to him. He will have a major say in everything that goes on within the organisation.

The only people who would have any authority over him would be the elected members of the SFA Council ... and no doubt they just dae whit they're tellt anaw!

14-08-2009, 04:33 PM
There was a BBC programme about him, maybe 1 year ago, and he came across as a self-important, arrogant, smug git.

Said he could of been a CEO of a top company if he was not a footballer, always going on about how great in business he was.

While I think it was a good move appointing someone outside the establishment of the SFA, he was the wrong choice.

Only one man is up to it........Petrie!!!

14-08-2009, 04:48 PM
I think he is much too outspoken.

The main things that have annoyed me have already been spoken about. The way he handled the appointment of Burley was ridiculous, particularly when he said the reason for why he hadn't spoken to Mark McGhee directly, to inform him that he had been unsuccessful, was because he didn't have his phone number. :bitchy:

To give that excuse actually beggars belief if I'm being perfectly honest.

The way he hijacked the press conference to unveil Burley was ridiculous as well.

His apparent backtracking over the lifetime bans handed to Ferguson and McGregor was shocking.

All in all, I think he is a very poor chief executive.