View Full Version : Match Updates Norway vs Scotland

12-08-2009, 05:04 PM
Early days, but less than encouraging so far - 3 minutes, and they've had three a jaunts into our half, with a long throw, free kick and now a corner....

12-08-2009, 05:05 PM
Aye, its not going well so far but scotland corner!

12-08-2009, 05:06 PM
Should have scored there - terrible Norwegian defending!

12-08-2009, 05:07 PM
bit physical so far...

12-08-2009, 05:09 PM
Both defense look bloody dreadful.

12-08-2009, 05:11 PM
Carew booked already.

Lovely :thumbsup:

12-08-2009, 05:11 PM
Carew booked 10 mins in...

12-08-2009, 05:12 PM
John Carew you're a winker :thumbsup:

12-08-2009, 05:16 PM
So close from Miller

:grr: nearly Miller

****ing hell Miller!!!!

12-08-2009, 05:17 PM
****ing hell Miller!!!!

Fletcher would have buried that... or deeks... :wink:

12-08-2009, 05:17 PM
I dunno - was on the left side :wink:

12-08-2009, 05:18 PM
Miller very unlucky, a great saving tackle stops him scoring. Miller has started well.:thumbsup:

12-08-2009, 05:18 PM
Fletcher would have buried that... or deeks... :wink:

Exactly what I was thinking :greengrin:devil:

12-08-2009, 05:19 PM
Another yellow for a Norwegian player!

12-08-2009, 05:19 PM
Another norweigion booked

12-08-2009, 05:20 PM
Commons, yet again, is not inspiring me - no touch, pish delivery and too easily knocked off the ball.

12-08-2009, 05:22 PM
Commons, yet again, is not inspiring me - no touch, pish delivery and too easily knocked off the ball.

:agree: His freekicks have been dreadfull...

12-08-2009, 05:22 PM
Marshall done well to hold that!

12-08-2009, 05:24 PM
Ross McCormack... first thing he has done... blasts it out for a corner...

12-08-2009, 05:25 PM
Good defending from commons!

12-08-2009, 05:26 PM
Twice in 2 minutes Alexander has given it away in the middle...:grr:

12-08-2009, 05:27 PM
Diving ******* should be off!!!!!

12-08-2009, 05:27 PM
Took the ball clearly i think...

EDIT: definate dive, cheating bassa!

12-08-2009, 05:28 PM
Twice in 2 minutes Alexander has given it away in the middle...:grr:

Too slow no awareness, never good enough for a midfield berth.

Carew :grr:

I've seen less simulation on those dodgy tv channels late at night. :agree:

Good position for a free kick...

12-08-2009, 05:29 PM
Good position for a free kick...

Once again wasted and dear god they nearly had us on the break!

12-08-2009, 05:29 PM
I think my heart just stopped....

Should be 1-0 - what a sitter Riise...

12-08-2009, 05:30 PM
Other than set pieces, we've not even come close to a clear cut chance.

12-08-2009, 05:31 PM
Riise booked.

12-08-2009, 05:31 PM
Riise booked

12-08-2009, 05:32 PM
Stupid free kick/booking for Caldwell to give away.

He was on the halfway line FFS! :grr:

12-08-2009, 05:33 PM
Calamity booked. and again he's off.

Gary Caldwell booked, and again - now off :grr:

McCormack needs to be stronger, getting pushed over a bit so far.

Idiot.

******ING IDIOT!!!!!

12-08-2009, 05:34 PM
Caldwell off!

Absolute ball bag! Thats the world cup dream done now. Celtic *******!

Richard Scott
12-08-2009, 05:34 PM
Justly deserved - what an idiot

12-08-2009, 05:35 PM
What a plum - what an absolute plum!

I know Carew has as much of Caldwell's jersey, but FFS, you CANNOT do that on a yellow.

No chance of a win now with 10!:grr::grr::grr:

12-08-2009, 05:35 PM
Riise scores.

12-08-2009, 05:36 PM
Awww f*** right off.

Richard Scott
What a strike

Just seen it again, both players were pulling each others shirt. Now 1-0 og brown.

12-08-2009, 05:37 PM
Good to see Caldwell still has as much potential to throw games away now as he did with us.

Just knew that goal was going in.

And that's the end of that one really.

Moody Mulder
Idiot.

******ING IDIOT!!!!!

er*ehole old firm player must have forgotten its NOT a sychophantic scottish ref like the ones he's used to in the spl

Berra on, McCormack off- who is gonna score for us now then? :dunno:

homielang
12-08-2009, 05:38 PM
What an erse Caldwell is. 1-0 Norway. Maybe 2014 folks.

12-08-2009, 05:39 PM
Riise should be off the park too. Caldwell only made 2 fouls as did Riise but he's still on the park.

****ing joke.

Sweet strike from Rise. Reckon 3-0 Norway in this eye-bleeding battle of the weedgies.

Riise should be off the park too. Caldwell only made 2 fouls as did Riise but he's still on the park.

****ing joke.

:top marks:agree:

12-08-2009, 05:40 PM
Bad decision from Burley, its basically over for us... another striker and gone to 3 4 2 and gone for it.

12-08-2009, 05:42 PM
Scott brown will be next off. Graham Aleexander will never be sent off, you have to get near the opposition to tackle them.

Dan Sarf
Scott Brown to get sent off next :boo hoo:

Reckon Broonaldo is gonna get himself sent off at some stage too.

Richard Scott
Scott Browns the next to be sent off the way he's acting :confused:

homielang
12-08-2009, 05:43 PM
Broon is playing like a street thug.

12-08-2009, 05:44 PM
I'm sure a drunk 80 year old man could hold it up better than Miller.

What a bloody joke this is.

Do these ****ing tubes not learn?!?!?!?!

Just like his brother... Caldwell booked

Richard Scott
Steven Caldwell booked now

12-08-2009, 05:45 PM
I hope Burley lets them all boot f***ing lumps out of Caldwell in the changing room at half time.

12-08-2009, 05:45 PM
He's no a caldwell is he ?:greengrin
How funny would it be if he got sent off as well ?...no really but you get ma drift

12-08-2009, 05:46 PM
2 -0 Pedersen

Richard Scott
2-0 - game over

Goodnight Scotland.

Shut the door on your way out Burley.

Absolute disgrace.

2-0 Norwegies. Rout on cards.

WarringtonHibee
Shocking.

Tempted to change the channel, this is making my eyes bleed.

**** it. :grr:

12-08-2009, 05:47 PM
I'm sure a drunk 80 year old man could hold it up better than Miller.

What a bloody joke this is.

Do these ****ing tubes not learn?!?!?!?!

The ball just bounces off him:grr:

2-0, oh dear, may as well throw another striker on now and go for it. If we continue like this I predict at least 4-0.

12-08-2009, 05:47 PM
Well at least I can book my summer holidays early because I wont be heading to SA!

12-08-2009, 05:48 PM
that's that then...we're ***** and we know we are....

homielang
12-08-2009, 05:48 PM
The Marshall plan is definitely flawed.

12-08-2009, 05:49 PM
Actually more fun than I thought - was expecting a turgid 0-0 draw. The commentators lionizing the Caldwell partnership was a big joke.

Why does the jakey persist in that f***y Miller up front?

Terrible tactics from Burley. Why did we not consolidate after the goal, get to half time, and get rid of alexander and commons, and then have a go. THE MANS AS CLUELESS AS MIXU.:bye:

Scotland lost it the last 10 minutes, it was looking good up to that point, no way back now thought :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:

:confused::confused::confused::confused:

12-08-2009, 05:50 PM
the challenge on commons from riise (marshalls goal kick) wasnt a freekick? HOW? no different than the freekick against scott brown 5 mins previously infront of the dugouts.

scotland all over the place, and an inconsistent ref.

Tactic change at half time... 2-3-5 formation. Lets Retro it.

When can we have a manager with the spine to stop picking huddies like Caldwell, Alexander and Miller?

Ian Murray would be doing a better job, Berra should have been on from the start and so on.

Under Smith and McLeish we were a hard team to beat, we got the results, Burley has shown he can not adapt his ideals to the reality of the situation and must go, we have missed another tournament, no doubt our rankings will suffer making it ever harder in the next campaign.

Landells
12-08-2009, 05:52 PM
Whataloadofkeek :grr:

Richard Scott
12-08-2009, 05:54 PM
So if this stays as it is, Scotland will still be second in the group heading into the final 2 games?

VegasHibby
12-08-2009, 05:54 PM
Scotland are one of The worst international sides I have seen. An absolute disgrace especially to the travelling thousand's who had to witness this embarrassing display.
Actually quite glad there out. Can't stand to watch this type of football against a very medicore Norwegian side........

12-08-2009, 05:55 PM
So if this stays as it is, Scotland will still be second in the group heading into the final 2 games?

:agree: But unlikely to get enough points for the play offs.

Dan Sarf
12-08-2009, 05:57 PM
Does Gary Lineker pretending to be crestfallen get on your tits too?

Scotland are one of The worst international sides I have seen. An absolute disgrace especially to the travelling thousand's who had to witness this embarrassment display.
Actually quite glad there out. Can't stand to watch this type of football against a very medicore Norwegian side........

They are only there for the beer and the banter, or possibly aquavit and agony.

****s me right off

Have two brothers ever been sent off in the same international match before?

Cos the Caldwells must be short odds right now. :rolleyes:

Richard Scott
12-08-2009, 05:58 PM

What do you mean "unlikely to get enough points for play-offs"? if you finish second, you'll get the play-off spot (unless i've missed something) you'll just have to make sure you win your remaining two games :wink:

12-08-2009, 05:58 PM

Yup, and the media will trot out the 'heroic failure' and 'blah summer football blah' stories and we will be expected to go on.

Bull.

It's not good enough. We have a good squad, even this depleted one is more than good enough to beat Norway.

All future Scotland managers should have contract termination clauses for failure to qualify.

12-08-2009, 05:59 PM

Good. Anybody who thinks this Colin Nish would enhance any international football tournament needs their head examined. The only people who will miss Scotland will be the potential play-off opponents who will forfeit an effective by and have to play a contest instead.

12-08-2009, 06:00 PM
This is another excellent instance of why I don't really care...

Davidson, Alexander, Caldwell x1 or x2, Miller all gash..

Hoofball is the only way it'd appear Scotland are allowed to play..

I wonder what guys like Ian Murray, Deek and even Nish think about when watching this.. Davidson/Caldwells in defence, Murray is a better option than at least 2 of them, Deek or Nish would've buried that chance Miller hadand surely they're more deserving of a place in the squad over Steven "Injured aw the time" Naismith?!

Gashtastic!

12-08-2009, 06:00 PM

Now changed to BBC England hoping our luck will change. :wink:

Did Hansen say McFadgen?

davym7062
12-08-2009, 06:01 PM
What do you mean "unlikely to get enough points for play-offs"? if you finish second, you'll get the play-off spot (unless i've missed something) you'll just have to make sure you win your remaining two games :wink:

9 groups 8 play off places. 1 misses out guess who?

erskine-hibby
12-08-2009, 06:01 PM
Scotland are one of The worst international sides I have seen. An absolute disgrace especially to the travelling thousand's who had to witness this embarrassing display.

:agree::agree::agree:

Crap is too good a word.

Mind you it is more like the crap team selection that has done it. Callum Davidson:confused: Marshall:confused: Steven Caldwell:confused: a clearly unfit Broony:confused:

12-08-2009, 06:02 PM
Why am I still sitting in front of the ****ing TV?!?!?!

4-4-1?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

BURLEY OUTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

12-08-2009, 06:03 PM
Yup, and the media will trot out the 'heroic failure' and 'blah summer football blah' stories and we will be expected to go on.

Bull.

It's not good enough. We have a good squad, even this depleted one is more than good enough to beat Norway.

All future Scotland managers should have contract termination clauses for failure to qualify.

Just heard we would be 3rd behind Macedonia.

Bull.

Obviously it isn't. We fall further behind the other Euro nations every year. Let's not kid ourselves, Norway are better than us. Which is pretty depressing because they ain't that good.

By the way I can't see the press doing the heroic failure thing tomorrow. Burley and the players will be slaughtered.

Richard Scott
9 groups 8 play off places. 1 misses out guess who?

That's the first i've heard about that - Can't say i've paid any attention to how the play-offs work to be honest.....:duck::devil:

WarringtonHibee
3rd, behind ****ing MACEDONIA?! (As it stands)

12-08-2009, 06:04 PM
Good save from marshall... Carew is *****!

I wonder what guys like Ian Murray, Deek and even Nish think about when watching this.. Davidson/Caldwells in defence, Murray is a better option than at least 2 of them, Deek or Nish would've buried that chance Miller hadand surely they're more deserving of a place in the squad over Steven "Injured aw the time" Naismith?!

Gashtastic!

Exactly. Deek plays regularly, scores regularly, whereas naismith has..... kept rangers physios in a job since he signed for them.

Of course, playing for that lot pretty much guarantees you a call up :grr:

90 seconds in and:

a) Thankfully, Steven Caldwell wasn't sent off and

b) Thankfully it's not 3-0.

McFadden to the rescue.

12-08-2009, 06:06 PM
90 seconds in and:

a) Thankfully, Steven Caldwell wasn't sent off and

b) Thankfully it's not 3-0.

McFadden to the rescue.

If he plays like he can and isnt having a "I think im ronaldo!" game

12-08-2009, 06:06 PM
I'd put Scotland about on a par with Northern Ireland in international football, but without the commitment and passion.

12-08-2009, 06:07 PM
Oh dear, we now have Hutton at centre half.

Has he ever played that position before?

Dan Sarf
Great save.

McFadden on.

Hope springs...

erskine-hibby
I'd put Scotland about on a par with Northern Ireland in international football, but without the commitment and passion.

Or tallent.

jakedance
12-08-2009, 06:08 PM
And so our long and noble tradition of making gash teams look good continues.

12-08-2009, 06:09 PM
If he plays like he can and isnt having a "I think im ronaldo!" game

I actually intended that to sound sarcastic.

We can't rely on one player, and McFadden has been poor of late.

12-08-2009, 06:10 PM
I actually intended that to sound sarcastic.

We can't rely on one player, and McFadden has been poor of late.

Sarcasm doesnt travel well :greengrin

12-08-2009, 06:11 PM
How many times do we have to sit and watch Scotland play with 1 up front. Nearly always the headless chicken style of Kenny Miller squaffing away at chances that a natural striker would convert ie his chance in the first half.:grr:

12-08-2009, 06:12 PM
Ach, **** this - I'm away to have a shower :fuming:

12-08-2009, 06:12 PM
Ach, **** this - I'm away to have a shower :fuming:

Have a wee drink while your at it to calm yourself down. :wink:

Green forever
12-08-2009, 06:15 PM
And so our long and noble tradition of making gash teams look good continues.

:agree: How come nobody ever makes Scotland good ? Even when we win we rarely look good.

Scotland: Marshall, Hutton, Davidson, Steven Caldwell, Gary Caldwell, Graham Alexander, Darren Fletcher, Commons, Brown, Miller, McCormack. Subs: Neil Alexander, Berra, Whittaker, Hartley, Maloney, McFadden, Steven Fletcher.

I think I'd have had every one of those subs in the team as first choices.

That team selection is rubbish. :bitchy:

3-0. Dear oh dear oh dear.

CABBAGE & RIBS
Why anyone goes to watch this pish is beyond me.

Oh FFS Burley, get Misser off and get Fletcher on (a real striker).

12-08-2009, 06:16 PM
This is officially Nade.

12-08-2009, 06:17 PM
3-0

Carew is causing mayhem

WarringtonHibee
Embarrassing.

Dan Sarf
Hope sinks

3-0.

Bring Back Berti.

****ing hell... 3-0

Would this team be any good?

Gordon

Hutton
Berra
McManus
Murray

Fletcher.D
Hartley
Brown

McFadden

O'connor
Fletcher.S

Subs

Alexander
Caldwell
McCormack
Miller
Riordan
Etc etc

Not that Scotland would ever dream of playing such an attack minded formation as 4-3-1-2

Anything would be better than this dross surely..

12-08-2009, 06:19 PM
What is Scotlands record defeat?

Is it just me that thinks Caldwell's sending off was harsh???? :confused:

Since then though its been awful right enough.

I would say before the sending off both sides were equal.

How embarrassing. This Norway side couldn't buy a win before today.

hibsboy90
12-08-2009, 06:20 PM
What is kenny miller actually doing for scotland? Likewise Darren Fletcher? They look like they cannot be arsed! :bitchy:

CABBAGE & RIBS
12-08-2009, 06:20 PM
Can any hearts fan still think Burley could have guided them to league glory.

The guy is a joke.

12-08-2009, 06:21 PM

He took a handful of shirt right in front of the ref. Complete and utter stupidity.

How many times do we have to sit and watch Scotland play with 1 up front. Nearly always the headless chicken style of Kenny Miller squaffing away at chances that a natural striker would convert ie his chance in the first half.:grr:

But he does alot of hard work.:rolleyes:

This is getting worse than Nade...

The only saving grace is that I didn't pay to go over there and watch it live.............

:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:

They are lining up to score the next......

Burley on yer bike :bye::bye::bye::bye::bye:

:faf: :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

Watching Hibs under Mixu was bad enough but this is something else!

12-08-2009, 06:22 PM
How embarrassing. This Norway side couldn't buy a win before today.

They beat Germany not too long ago - !!
http://soccernet-assets.espn.go.com/report?id=256018&cc=5739
Maybe Norway aren't as bad as some posters on here think?

12-08-2009, 06:22 PM
He took a handful of shirt right in front of the ref. Complete and utter stupidity.

He would have got away with it in the hoops. He must have forgotten he isnt in the SPL

12-08-2009, 06:23 PM
They beat Germany not too long ago - !!
http://soccernet-assets.espn.go.com/report?id=256018&cc=5739
Maybe Norway aren't as bad as some posters on here think?

I think the point is we are pish! IMHO - it is embarrassing

12-08-2009, 06:24 PM
Lucky escape there! could have been 4!

This is hilarious....

If you're into that sort of thing.

CABBAGE & RIBS
That looked in a mile

Carew hit it off the bar and then dropped onto line and out

It was in by the way

Would this team be any good?

Gordon

Hutton
Berra
McManus
Murray

Fletcher.D
Hartley
Brown

McFadden

O'connor
Fletcher.S

Subs

Alexander
Caldwell
McCormack
Miller
Riordan
Etc etc

Not that Scotland would ever dream of playing such an attack minded formation as 4-3-1-2

Anything would be better than this dross surely..

Nice team, send a copy of it to the SFA, FAO Burley.

I see that every week in football and its hardly a yellow card for me. Its a foul yes but a yellow not for me.

12-08-2009, 06:25 PM
Let off - cleared off the line.

Looks very much as it was in. Could (should?) have been 4.

Complete and utter garbage.

Burley must go as far as I'm concerned.

With 25 minutes to go, it really could end up 4 or 5-0. :bitchy:

Should have been 4-0. Linesman doesn't give Carew a goal when the ball clearly crosses the line.

Norway are playing shooty in at the moment, its embarressing :grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:

HibeeSince82
12-08-2009, 06:26 PM
This is p*sh ......could be a cricket score!

SFA make a game on the week of the start of the spl.....i applaude your intelligence

Burley is a terrible too . Why not just play 2 up front?? and y does he always look p**sed!! yam *******

Oh well there is always the next Euro's too look forward to not qualifing :greengrin

This is significantly more embarassing than our defeat in Amsterdam, and that was brutal - this is a completely different scale of brutality.

USA! USA! USA!

I actually think my under 15's could do a better job than this... they certainly would defend at least!

12-08-2009, 06:27 PM
I see that every week in football and its hardly a yellow card for me. Its a foul yes but a yellow not for me.

Cheating is cheating. Once refs clamp down on this consistently then the players might start to play within the rules.

12-08-2009, 06:27 PM
That was in - we should be 4-0 down now.

Frogga
12-08-2009, 06:28 PM
Off you go Burley, this is embarassing.

He's tried to fix a team that didn't need fixed and has failed. Certain players clearly don't respect him and I don't believe the Boozegate or Boyd incidents would've happened under Smith or McLeish.

I actually think my under 15's could do a better job than this... they certainly would defend at least!

I'm quite sure you could pick 11 of us from this thread and make a better go of it.

I hope the national press humiliates this shower of dross tomorrow.

That looked in a mile

It was in by a mile.

Norway are just taking the mickey now. :brickwall

jakedance
12-08-2009, 06:29 PM
:agree: How come nobody ever makes Scotland good ? Even when we win we rarely look good.

We've not taken the piss out of anyone since 1967.

I think the point is we are pish! IMHO - it is embarrassing

Accepted, I was just wondering if more objectivity regarding our supposed poor opponents would be a good thing?

We want 7:faf:

12-08-2009, 06:31 PM
Dinamo vs Hearts next Thursday - that should improve my mood :greengrin

HibeeSince82
12-08-2009, 06:31 PM
I'm quite sure you could pick 11 of us from this thread and make a better go of it.

I hope the national press humiliates this shower of dross tomorrow.

I hope they do! Burleys scotland team have never looked good. Never do i have any confidence we will win. Under McLeish or Smith you thought that you could win, there was a renewed belief and thats has been blown away by burnley

12-08-2009, 06:32 PM
Are we passing? Dear god!

12-08-2009, 06:33 PM
I bet we win our last two games (including beating Holland) to clinch 2nd place in the group but end up worst placed second place.

It's the Scottish way:wink:

12-08-2009, 06:34 PM
That's the first i've heard about that - Can't say i've paid any attention to how the play-offs work to be honest.....:duck::devil:

The top 8 of the 9 runners up go into a seperate league, and because our group has one team less than the others, the other 8 teams have thier points (in most cases 4/6 points) against the bottom team in their group taken off them at the end of the campaign. the top 8 of 9 then go into a 4 v 4 play off ...

is that whitty coming on?!

Whittaker coming on.

Dan Sarf
12-08-2009, 06:35 PM
Whittaker looks really pleased he's coming on.

hibernian36
this is totally embarassing. we looked not bad early doors as well:boo hoo::boo hoo:

is that whitty coming on?!

Yep, at centre half :faf:

Cheerio Burley, its been memorable, and not in a good way.

Berra looks like he's taken a bad one.

CABBAGE & RIBS
12-08-2009, 06:36 PM
Hutton and whitiker at centre half :faf:

12-08-2009, 06:36 PM
Millers got such a baws touch!

VegasHibby
12-08-2009, 06:37 PM

I agree it was a harsh sending off. Very bad ref decision. But no excuses still a shocking display by Scotland.....

12-08-2009, 06:38 PM
this is totally embarassing. we looked not bad early doors as well:boo hoo::boo hoo:

Caldwell should be flayed for his stupidity.

No one wins playing a man down. This was a game we should have been playing for a draw from the start.

I think we're actually better than this.

This sort of thing is why I find myself so unwilling to allow myself to get emotionally involved with Scotland teams.

How much must these commentators be struggling to censor their thoughts just now!

Hats off tae them!

How can you say we are a disgrace ?? The numbers game always pays off for the team with the extra man.. Up until the sending off , there wasn't much between the teams....

12-08-2009, 06:39 PM
I agree it was a harsh sending off. Very bad ref decision. But no excuses still a shocking display by Scotland.....

he's been booked.

Even Caldwell should have been able to work out that having been booked, he should be careful...

... but he takes a fistful of red shirt right in front of the ref?

Red card for being a moron, if nothing else.

PiemanP
12-08-2009, 06:39 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3R_vapJAuo

blame him :agree:

12-08-2009, 06:40 PM

No it wasn't.. Caldwell was last man and he pulling at Carew's jersey and stopped him advancing.. Nothing wrong with the ref's decision..

This game really does highlight why Scotland need a couple of good versatile players, i.e. Murray, in the team.

And where is Darren Barr?

Whittaker & Hutton at centre half = laughable.

CABBAGE & RIBS
They should never have dropped weir, he's 40 but still better than anything else,
No back up in the squad is a disgrace, we have more strikers than defenders in the squad.

jakedance
12-08-2009, 06:43 PM
What exactly is the point of Kenny Miller?

12-08-2009, 06:44 PM

Gashtastic!

Nish playing International football ?? Are you having a laugh mate ???

12-08-2009, 06:44 PM

Playzfurrangers. :rolleyes:

CABBAGE & RIBS
12-08-2009, 06:45 PM

he's a "trier"

Burley lost the dressing room ages ago with the whole Boyd thing.

12-08-2009, 06:46 PM
As long as we are picking players like Kris Commons and Graham Alexander , we will get nowhere.. Who do these clowns play for exactly ??

WTF was Burley doing taking off McCormack and how has Commons survived 90 minutes ???

The quicker Kevin Thomson gets fit and playing every week the better....

12-08-2009, 06:47 PM
Berti Vogts anyone?:greengrin

Dan Sarf
12-08-2009, 06:48 PM
2 added minutes. Oh no!

4-0 good goal

4-0

:bye: Burley.

12-08-2009, 06:49 PM
No 4 - justice done.

WarringtonHibee
Was expecting that one to go in.

Pish.

TheEastTerrace
4!!!!!!!! absolute nade. Burley GTF ya yam bassa :grr::grr::grr:

4-0.

Poor decision gave them a free-kick on the 18 yard line.

Not the most inspiring defending of a free-kick, though.

Ft 4-0

Thank **** thats over! Absolute NADE!

Lets hope the consistency of refs is better in the SPL than this guy..........:rolleyes:

Okay okay I know i'm dreaming :greengrin

Carew simulation and should have been off no doubt

Rises second yellow should have been given and wasn't

Caldwell gets sent off (fair enough if others had been similarly consistant)

Risie scores a deflection when he should not have been on the pitch...

After that we folded....

PiemanP
12-08-2009, 06:50 PM
Bring on the dutch :cool2:

Littlest Hobo
GARRY CALDWELL always pulling jerseys,always holding on to players arms shorts legs whatever he can get hold of. Found out tonight and we pay a heavy price. Decent player but has no pace at all and has to resort to cheating, only he's not playing in an OF jersey tonight!:grr:

Burleys team selection and formation were a joke. Alexander has played central midfield, and full back tonight, and never tackled once, never passed the ball forward once, should never play at this standard. Commons, why? Miller on his own up front why? Its not ****in brazil we are playing. Go now burley, you are just not up to the job.

jakedance
Boooooooooooooooo

CABBAGE & RIBS
12-08-2009, 06:51 PM
Everything about that is a joke.

the old firm will be chuffed, their players won't need to play for scotland again this season.

Greenblood70
12-08-2009, 06:52 PM
Bye Bye Burley...and good riddance.:bye:

taken us backwards at a rate of knots.:grr:

12-08-2009, 06:53 PM
I reckon we will qualify somehow and win the World Cup :agree:

12-08-2009, 06:53 PM
Burleys team selection and formation were a joke. Alexander has played central midfield, and full back tonight, and never tackled once, never passed the ball forward once, should never play at this standard. Commons, why? Miller on his own up front why? Its not ****in brazil we are playing. Go now burley, you are just not up to the job.

Completely agree.

He has to go now, pathetic display.

12-08-2009, 06:54 PM
Lets hope the consistency of refs is better in the SPL than this guy..........:rolleyes:

Okay okay I know i'm dreaming :greengrin

Carew simulation and should have been off no doubt

Rises second yellow should have been given and wasn't

Caldwell gets sent off (fair enough if others had been similarly consistant)

Risie scores a deflection when he should not have been on the pitch...

After that we folded....

The sending off made all the difference , then to lose the goal right after it was a double kick in the staines..

The second goal before HT was the killer and the extra man paid off in the move....

We should be grateful it was only 4-0.. It could've been a lot heavier... The only hope we have now is to beat Macedonia and Holland which won't be easy...

12-08-2009, 06:54 PM

Can I have some of what your smoking please Meeks?

12-08-2009, 06:56 PM

:faf::faf::top marks

Don't dare use the fitness argument media! How much of the Norway team are England based? Certainly not all of them are in 'summer football' leagues.

We must focus on the failings of the manager, no bull excuses.

He must go, utterly unacceptable.

Burleys leaving party in full swing (http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/9997/georgeburley.jpg)

12-08-2009, 06:58 PM
Burleys leaving party in full swing (http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/9997/georgeburley.jpg)

Quality! :greengrin

:faf::faf::faf::top marks

PiemanP
Have a wee drink while your at it to calm yourself down. :wink:

That is brilliant..........

:faf::faf::faf::faf:

:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks

Hibster
12-08-2009, 06:59 PM
Gutted

We were looking quite good for the first 20 minutes or so. If Miller had put his chance away it all could have been so different.....then again we'd probably have got hammered anyway

12-08-2009, 07:01 PM

:rolleyes: please don't give the weegies any encouragement as we need those neds back about as much as Hibs need Mixu back

CABBAGE & RIBS
12-08-2009, 07:03 PM
:rolleyes: please don't give the weegies any encouragement as we need those neds back about as much as Hibs need Mixu back

As much as it pains to say it, i think we do need them back

12-08-2009, 07:03 PM
Why persist with Kenny Miller? He hasnae scored a competitive goal for Scotland in 22 months!

There is absolutely no way if he was playing for us he would be starting for Scotland.

12-08-2009, 07:04 PM
Lineker was asking about young talent in Scotland - were the academies not as good as in England? Not even at the 'Big Two"?

Answer, Gary - the 'Big Two' don't develop talent - they poach other teams' best players and then leave them on the bench.

They undermine any Scotland manager who doesn't have connections to either Rangers or Celtic and make it impossible for him to do his job.

And then their tame fanzines among the Weegie press go after him and make sure he either resigns or gets his cards.

12-08-2009, 07:07 PM
Lineker was asking about young talent in Scotland - were the academies not as good as in England? Not even at the 'Big Two"?

Answer, Gary - the 'Big Two' don't develop talent - they poach other teams' best players and then leave them on the bench.

They undermine any Scotland manager who doesn't have connections to either Rangers or Celtic and make it impossible for him to do his job.

And then their tame fanzines among the Weegie press go after him and make sure he either resigns or gets his cards.

jakedance
12-08-2009, 07:07 PM
From the grassroots to the very top Scottish football and it's institutions are a complete shambles.

That is all.

12-08-2009, 07:09 PM
I actually feel sorry for Burley, although it wont be a popular view i'm sure. Ive got no problems with the team he put out tonight.

Anyone who thinks Barry Ferguson or the rest of the usual suspects would have improved tonights debacle is kidding themselves.

12-08-2009, 07:10 PM

Their ignorance about our game annoys me, do some reading! Particularly Hansen.

Considering theres been a fair few young Scots heading South this summer, I would have thought they might have twigged it's not youth that's the problem. Hell, I still maintain our current crop of players have the potential to do well, they did us proud in the last campaign, and we have good young guys coming through.

The problem is the Manager and the persistence with players who just aren't good enough, that last one has blighted us since the 90's.

12-08-2009, 07:11 PM
Why persist with Kenny Miller? He hasnae scored a competitive goal for Scotland in 22 months!

There is absolutely no way if he was playing for us he would be starting for Scotland.

It would have made sense to start with Mcfadden and Fletcher up front, because both can hold the ball and each has a much better first touch than Miller. rather than picking naismith, it would have made sense to have had Deek on the bench - he's the sort of player who might always just score one from nothing.

Alexander is a defender, and not the quickest. So why not play Whittaker, who's a lot more mobile and who HAS played in midfield for both Hibs and Rangers, in the centre midfield?

And IMO Berra is a better player than either Caldwell. One Caldwell in the team is a misfortune. Two looks very much like carelessness.

12-08-2009, 07:15 PM

What's that? the Govan Chapter of Neds Anonymous at their Annual Prizegiving?

Short List of Nominations for SlimeBall of the Season?

I support no team containing any one of that particular nest of vipers.

If they come back to the Scotland team, I claim Canadian citizenship they same day.

12-08-2009, 07:18 PM
It would have made sense to start with Mcfadden and Fletcher up front, because both can hold the ball and each has a much better first touch than Miller. rather than picking naismith, it would have made sense to have had Deek on the bench - he's the sort of player who might always just score one from nothing.

Alexander is a defender, and not the quickest. So why not play Whittaker, who's a lot more mobile and who HAS played in midfield for both Hibs and Rangers, in the centre midfield?

And IMO Berra is a better player than either Caldwell. One Caldwell in the team is a misfortune. Two looks very much like carelessness.

Hibster
12-08-2009, 07:18 PM

That all might be true but really the main issue is that England has a population of 50 million, we have a population of 5 million. For every decent player we produce, on averages they are going to produce 10. When a player like Rooney comes around once a decade for them, for us its going to be once every 100 years. No point comparing the two.

For all we got battered tonight, before the sending off there was very little between the two teams. If Caldwell hadn't gone we'd have maybe lost 1-0, 2-0 at worst. And for a nation of our size that wouldn't have been anything to be embarrased about

12-08-2009, 07:20 PM
That all might be true but really the main issue is that England has a population of 50 million, we have a population of 5 million. For every decent player we produce, on averages they are going to produce 10. When a player like Rooney comes around once a decade for them, for us its going to be once every 100 years. No point comparing the two.

For all we got battered tonight, before the sending off there was very little between the two teams. If Caldwell hadn't gone we'd have maybe lost 1-0, 2-0 at worst. And for a nation of our size that wouldn't have been anything to be embarrased about

I agree with the broad argument of your post but Norway actually has a smaller population than Scotland, so a 1-0 or 2-0 defeat wouldnt have been great either.

12-08-2009, 07:26 PM

Spot on doddie, We were not playing brazil, we were playing an average norwegian side. We need 2 up front, but if we are playing one up front, that player needs to be able to control the ball, get it down and bring the supporting players into the game. Miller treats the ball tike a hot tattie. Alexander is crap, has always been crap, but now he's 39 he's suddenly our midfield rock.:confused: Hartley has played there most of the time, and has already played a league game for bristol this season, so should be fit, but no, we have him.:bitchy: Caldwell and berra would have been my choice too, as you say, one is bad enough, but to have 2 of them was strange.

12-08-2009, 07:29 PM

That was true in 1974 when we went to Germany and England didn't.

And in 1978 when we went to Argentina and Engalnd didn't.

And in 1982 when we went to Spain along with England and Northern Ireland.

Small countries can do well if they produce the talent and then use that talent properly.

I think Burley and his pals have to go now, before the end of these section games, to give someone else a chance to re-organise without pressure.

Boozegate IMO has damaged them beyond repair.

And whoever comes in needs to realise that with a squad as small as ours is, we need to adopt a much more pragmatic approach to games. We can't do what Burley seems to want to do, and play an expansive attacking game. We need to stop the opposition before they do us damage, grind them down, then hit them with the sucker punch.

"The good fighters of old first put themselves beyond the possibility of defeat, and then waited for an opportunity of defeating the enemy...."

Sun Tzu has spoken. :devil:

Hibster
12-08-2009, 07:33 PM
I agree with the broad argument of your post but Norway actually has a smaller population than Scotland, so a 1-0 or 2-0 defeat wouldnt have been great either.

No, but they're the kind of team who if we were playing them again next week at home I'd fancy us to beat them. First 20 minutes we made them look very average - sending off changed the game completely. As horrific as tonight was I don't think there's that much between the two teams, we just had a really bad game.

12-08-2009, 07:35 PM
Spot on doddie, We were not playing brazil, we were playing an average norwegian side. We need 2 up front, but if we are playing one up front, that player needs to be able to control the ball, get it down and bring the supporting players into the game. Miller treats the ball tike a hot tattie. Alexander is crap, has always been crap, but now he's 39 he's suddenly our midfield rock.:confused: Hartley has played there most of the time, and has already played a league game for bristol this season, so should be fit, but no, we have him.:bitchy: Caldwell and berra would have been my choice too, as you say, one is bad enough, but to have 2 of them was strange.

Hartley played well for Bristol on Saturday, and scored (OK, from a penalty, but that's the sort of debut that lifts a player for the next game. And fair play to the guy, there's no doubt he's played well for Scotland in exactly the sort of midfield role we needed someone to play tonight. Murray and Barr would have been useful players to have had with us, too. Brown wasn't fit, and I'm not sure he or Burley knew what he was supposed to be trying to achieve playing where he was, the way he was.

But short of talent as we are, I say again, if ANYONE EVER puts out a Scotland team with Ferguson, McGregor, Boyd or that other Hun listed to play, I AM NO LONGER SCOTS AS FAR AS FOOTBALL'S CONCERNED.

END OF. :devil:

hibs1875aye
12-08-2009, 07:37 PM
We were done with that sending off which changed the whole game. Cheating norwegian *******s.

Add to that george burley playing the chuckle brothers in defence and not playing mcfadden and avoiding berra and we were *****g doomed.

We must now beat macedonia and probably take at least a draw with holland. Burley, butcher why not piss off back to where you come from....yer management if you can call it that is ***** and we are going backwards.

Still proud to be Scottish and hear the boys singing at 90 mins even when we got slapped and had no hope. Were no good but at least were commited and burley should've been committed (to the nuthouse) at kick off anyway

Hibster
12-08-2009, 07:44 PM
That was true in 1974 when we went to Germany and England didn't.

And in 1978 when we went to Argentina and Engalnd didn't.

And in 1982 when we went to Spain along with England and Northern Ireland.

Small countries can do well if they produce the talent and then use that talent properly.

I think Burley and his pals have to go now, before the end of these sction games, to give someone else a chance to re-organise without pressure.

Boozegate IMO has damaged them beyond repair.

And whoever comes in needs to realise that with a squad as small as ours is, we need to adopt a much more pragmatic approach to games. We can't do what Burley seems to want to do, and play an expansive attacking game. We need to stop the opposition before they do us damage, grind them down, then hit them with the sucker punch.

"The good fighters of old first put themselves beyond the possibility of defeat, and then waited for an opportunity of defeating the enemy...."

Sun Tzu has spoken. :devil:

Did Scotland not just overacheive during the 60s and 70s? Players like Daglish and Law don't come around too often - and even then we never made it past the 1st round of a major finals. Right now things could definitely be better - the crap diet and health of the average Scot must be a factor in our current poor standings - but for a nation of 5 million seems to me we're about where we should be. In the running for qualification, battling it out with countries of a similar population. How many countries with populations of 5 million or less are there ahead of us in the FIFA rankings?

Hibster
12-08-2009, 07:57 PM
We were done with that sending off which changed the whole game. Cheating norwegian *******s.

Add to that george burley playing the chuckle brothers in defence and not playing mcfadden and avoiding berra and we were *****g doomed.

We must now beat macedonia and probably take at least a draw with holland. Burley, butcher why not piss off back to where you come from....yer management if you can call it that is ***** and we are going backwards.

Still proud to be Scottish and hear the boys singing at 90 mins even when we got slapped and had no hope. Were no good but at least were commited and burley should've been committed (to the nuthouse) at kick off anyway

That might get us second but it won't get us a play-off. Going to have to win both games and even then its out of our hands whether that will be enough

hibs1875aye
12-08-2009, 08:07 PM
That might get us second but it won't get us a play-off. Going to have to win both games and even then its out of our hands whether that will be enough

Not so sure 6 points wouldn't be enuff....I think it would. Problem is we won't get 6 bloody points!!!!

12-08-2009, 08:19 PM

Cannae argue wi the sending off - Caldwell the Clown clearly forgot he wisnae wearing hoops tonight and playing in the SPL!

hibs1875aye
12-08-2009, 08:25 PM
Cannae argue wi the sending off - Caldwell the Clown clearly forgot he wisnae wearing hoops tonight and playing in the SPL!

Calamity caldwell isn't on my xmas card list either but, he was being pulled just as much as he was pulling. Carrot nose risse should have walked before calamity caldwell. Don't getme wwrong, caldwell is *****. Just on this occassion we were done and it turned the game

12-08-2009, 08:29 PM

I take your point about England and yes it's not really fair to compare us to them as there is such a massive difference in population.

However, we can compare ourselves to;

Denmark-5 million
Hungary-10 million
Greece-11 million
Switzerland-7.5 million
Slovakia-5 million
Northern Ireland-2 million
Bosnia-4 million
Croatia-4.5 million
Serbia-7 million
Republic of Ireland-4.5 million
Macedonia-2 million

All of these countries currently occupy either first or second place in their groups right now and all of them have populations that are of a similar size to Scotland.

Also Norway's population is just under 5 million and they have just hammered us tonight.

There is something seriously wrong with us as a nation and it's nowhere near good enough.

12-08-2009, 08:33 PM
They were both at it but given Caldwell is the defender and Carew the attacker, when he goes down he's denied him a goalscoring opportunity. He should have known better. Just thought it was stupid given he'd literally only just been booked. Admittedly I am not his biggest fan - wouldn't have him in a Hibs back four and certainly not EVER in our national squad. Too many mistakes like tonight. We'd probably have conceded more if he'd stayed on haha!

hibs1875aye
12-08-2009, 08:38 PM
They were both at it but given Caldwell is the defender and Carew the attacker, when he goes down he's denied him a goalscoring opportunity. He should have known better. Just thought it was stupid given he'd literally only just been booked. Admittedly I am not his biggest fan - wouldn't have him in a Hibs back four and certainly not EVER in our national squad. Too many mistakes like tonight. We'd probably have conceded more if he'd stayed on haha!

Certainly agree caldwell is crap and should be banned from even walking down easter road for his crimes against fitba whilst here!

Hibster
12-08-2009, 08:44 PM
I take your point about England and yes it's not really fair to compare us to them as there is such a massive difference in population.

Denmark-5 million
Hungary-10 million
Greece-11 million
Switzerland-7.5 million
Slovakia-5 million
Bosnia-4 million
Croatia-4.5 million
Serbia-7 million
Macedonia-2 million

All of these countries currently occupy either first or second place in their groups right now and all of them have populations that are of a similar size to Scotland.

Also Norway's population is just under 5 million and they have just hammered us tonight.

There is something seriously wrong with us as a nation and it's nowhere near good enough.

Tonight was a bad night, and all in all its been a bad qualification. But thats the thing with qualifying for finals - there's very little room for slip ups. Couple of bad results and its nearly all over. We'll bounce back for the 2012 qualifying, I'm sure of it. And overall we still don't have a bad record in recent times, always finishing in the top 3 and occasionaly getting second spot. Its not that bad, and probably as good as most of those teams you've listed. They all just happen to be having good qualifying sessions for this one but there's every chance some of them will mess up the next one.

I'd expect us to beat all those teams at home, and to draw or lose with them away from home. We're not a force in football and never will be - same with all those teams.

And for all Norway hammered us tonight they'll still not going to qualify, so they've got their own problems as well.

12-08-2009, 08:45 PM
Certainly agree caldwell is crap and should be banned from even walking down easter road for his crimes against fitba whilst here!

Agreed. He is utter gash!

12-08-2009, 08:47 PM

Denmark-5 million
Hungary-10 million
Greece-11 million
Switzerland-7.5 million
Slovakia-5 million
Bosnia-4 million
Croatia-4.5 million
Serbia-7 million
Macedonia-2 million

A mix of losing an entire generation of players when the SPL clubs became obsessed with wheeling in cheap foreigners, then the Old Firm hoovering up young players when the rest were forced to use Scots.

Now that all the SPL teams are using Scots players, their woefully unprofessional lifestyles are blunting their talents. I bet the top pros in the nations listed all lead lifestyles more befitting of professional athletes.

And last but not least our succession of managers to scared to but heads with Glasgow and a reliance on picking unfit, under performing players over fit in form ones who are at 'unfashionable' clubs.

On the other hand, on paper we have the players to be qualifying for tournaments, so at this junction I have to lay the blame at Burley and co.

hibs1875aye
12-08-2009, 08:53 PM

12-08-2009, 09:53 PM
I'd like to apologise now for the tirade of abuse which I've vented from page one, but in hindsight, you can't really blame me! :greengrin

That was the single worst performance I've ever seen by a Scotland team - that's even worse than the 2-2 draw with the Faroes - we could have played for another 3 days and still not created a decent chance. Did we even muster a shot on target?!

I reckon they'll give Burley until the end of the campaign (as we won't qualify anyway, so it won't make a difference) and then oust him, and allow someone else to start a-fresh for the next Euros.

I just hope any appointment is made without consideration to Gordon Strachan, or I'll revert to supporting just the one national side!

12-08-2009, 10:13 PM
Just finished watching my other side being robbed by a dodgy South American fud of a referee, resulting in a loss to Mexico in our own qualification :grr:

What a **** night!

Mag7
12-08-2009, 10:57 PM
Tonight was a bad night, and all in all its been a bad qualification. But thats the thing with qualifying for finals - there's very little room for slip ups. Couple of bad results and its nearly all over. We'll bounce back for the 2012 qualifying, I'm sure of it. And overall we still don't have a bad record in recent times, always finishing in the top 3 and occasionaly getting second spot. Its not that bad, and probably as good as most of those teams you've listed. They all just happen to be having good qualifying sessions for this one but there's every chance some of them will mess up the next one.

I'd expect us to beat all those teams at home, and to draw or lose with them away from home. We're not a force in football and never will be - same with all those teams.

And for all Norway hammered us tonight they'll still not going to qualify, so they've got their own problems as well.

Considering Scotland qualified for every World Cup bar one between 1974 and 1998, plus a couple of European Championships I haven't a clue what you're basing that claim on. The record since 1998 has been abysmal.

Hibster
12-08-2009, 11:17 PM
ok its not been great, but reguarly being in with a shout going into the last game, finishing in the top 3, and making two play-offs isn't abysmal for a country of our size. Maybe we overachieved in the past or maybe the competition has just got better. Doubt there are many countries of a similar size who have done much better than us over the last 10 years though

HIBEES 4 LIFE
13-08-2009, 08:20 AM
I think that the sending off was fair, and that changed the game. Caldwell deserved to be playing last night as he was decent last year (as much as we all hate him, its true)

However last night showed how much better players in the premiership are, Carew took the piss out of us last night and he didn't even look good. He used experience to make Caldwell foul him and in the end got sent off.

1st yellow - Foul at the half way line

Why is our centre half challenging their Centre mid, Where is our midfield......yes, hiding as usual.
But why on gods earth did he feel the need to slide through the back of the midfielder when he was going nowhere. If he stands up, he makes the midfielder go backwards therefore allowing our midfield to find themselves and get back.

Verdict - Silly booking - deserved

2nd booking - shirt pull on Carew

30 secs after 1st booking. Simple ball up to the striker. Caldwell gets to tight to Carew and like a good experienced striker Carew rolls Caldwell. Caldwell then realises that Carew maybe in and he grabs a handful of his shirt and that is a foul and a booking,

Verdict - naive defending - deserved

You may argue that Carew had his hands full of Caldwells shirt and thats correct, however he used his experience and does it on the blind side of the ref. Some may say cheat.....but that nonsense, that is good centre forward play.

As for the team selection. S Caldwell, Davidson, Alexander, Commons and Kenny Miller should have been replaced with Berra, Whitty, Hartley, Maloney/McFadden and Fletcher/McFadden

Burley = Clueless

(unfortunately) Scotland = Hopeless