View Full Version : Ian Murray's beard

11-08-2009, 05:02 PM
brutal...shave that mess off you Paul Breitner throw-back.

"We don't allow beards at Hibernian*" as someone once famously said.:wink:

* muslims and genuine German right backs apart :cool2:

11-08-2009, 05:03 PM
His beard is fine.

When you start getting wild birds nesting in it a la Pressley then it is time for action.

11-08-2009, 05:08 PM
His beard is fine.

When you start getting wild birds nesting in it a la Pressley then it is time for action.

With Pressley it wasn't so much a beard as a PELT.

Joy Zipper
12-08-2009, 07:46 AM
Does anyone remember Ian Scanlon ? When collecting the Panini stickers many years ago he always seemed to be the only player with a beard.

12-08-2009, 09:17 AM
Does anyone remember Ian Scanlon ? When collecting the Panini stickers many years ago he always seemed to be the only player with a beard.

:agree:...think he played in the St Mirren team that won the cup all those years ago.

12-08-2009, 10:43 AM

remember him coming on as sub for aberdeen when we were beating them 2-1 in the scottish cup semi of 1979. i was watching through my hands as he terrorised our defence, luckily we held on tho:thumbsup: also, did joe harper not fall out with eddie turnbull and/or tom hart for growing a beard?

12-08-2009, 10:47 AM
I'm sorry, but these are not beards we're talking about.

THIS is a beard.

http://www.bearduarybelfast.com/beards/quiz/assets/wg_grace.jpg

stu in nottingham
12-08-2009, 10:48 AM
Does anyone remember Ian Scanlon ? When collecting the Pered well for hisanini stickers many years ago he always seemed to be the only player with a beard.

:agree:...think he played in the St Mirren team that won the cup all those years ago.

The beard probably helped in his quest for anonymity. :wink:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/2296969/Ian-Scanlon-eluded-Sir-Alex-Ferguson.html

When he was at Notts he disappeared, claiming that he had inherited a lot of money. A strange Walter Mitty character but a very good and entertaining winger on his day. Remembered well for his 165-second hat-trick against Sheffield Wednesday.

Sick Boy
12-08-2009, 10:51 AM
He's interviewed in the latest edition of 'Inside Easter Road' and it's gone.:wink:

12-08-2009, 10:53 AM
Murray's beard is at least ten times better than anything I'm able to grow. I have the shannest facial hair ever.:agree:

12-08-2009, 11:03 AM
Murray's beard is at least ten times better than anything I'm able to grow. I have the shannest facial hair ever.:agree:

that's why I hate them Matty - never once had a tache.

...I also prefer to call it 'Boyish good looks' though when you get to my age, even those start to go...:violin:

12-08-2009, 11:17 AM
he should keep it.......4838.......this is LEITH!!!!!! :greengrin

12-08-2009, 11:19 AM
he should keep it.......4838.......this is LEITH!!!!!! :greengrin

Yup. THAT's a beard. :agree:

12-08-2009, 11:40 AM
Yup. THAT's a beard. :agree:

just in...the new defence for 3-5-2:

12-08-2009, 12:14 PM
just in...the new defence for 3-5-2:

I'd want to hear that lot talk before I played them.

I assume someone's front garden now has three empty toadstools..... :wink:

Engels74
12-08-2009, 12:23 PM
Thats not a Beard! This is a Beard!!!!

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/71/Engels.jpg

Fredrick Engels!! co-author of the communist manifesto and champion beard grower!!!!:agree:

29-08-2009, 09:16 AM
I miss it already...

29-08-2009, 09:58 AM
murray's beard is at least ten times better than anything i'm able to grow. I have the shannest facial hair ever.:agree:

lol

29-08-2009, 09:59 AM
IS there a song out there for Ian Murray's beard...?

HibeeSince82
29-08-2009, 10:00 AM
im quite proud of my beard...well goatie which at its longest point is 10 inches!! :thumbsup:

29-08-2009, 10:05 AM

just this one...

:singing: "Ian, Ian where's your beard? Ian where's your beard?"

:santa <---only one beard allowed at Easter Road.

29-08-2009, 10:09 AM
"Oi! Blackbeard! Leave Nade alone..."

29-08-2009, 10:54 AM

Not sure but we could get this group to sing it

http://www.watchingvh1.com/wp-content/uploads/zztop.jpg

MADE IN LEITH
24-08-2013, 09:29 PM
brutal...shave that mess off you Paul Breitner throw-back.

"We don't allow beards at Hibernian*" as someone once famously said.:wink:

* muslims and genuine German right backs apart :cool2:

First it was Murray's beard back in 2009 now it's Vines....what is the infatuation with them.

25-08-2013, 12:48 AM
First it was Murray's beard back in 2009 now it's Vines....what is the infatuation with them. not infatuated with it, but Vine......the man wi' the upsidedoon heid! he needs tae dae somethin' wi it. trim it doon mr vine at least before the winter sets in. It get 's cald up here and you'll no be dressed like grizzly adams.

mikewynne
25-08-2013, 03:50 AM
Fear the beard!! This guy is a legend in San Francisco, partly because of his beard:
http://www.examiner.com/article/dodgers-p-brian-wilson-refuses-to-shave-beard-not-even-for-1-million

hibbymac
25-08-2013, 07:10 AM
First it was Murray's beard back in 2009 now it's Vines....what is the infatuation with them.

Whats the "infatuation" with 4 year old threads?? :confused: