View Full Version : New Offishul website in the works?

10-08-2009, 01:41 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/DevHome/0,,10290,00.html

10-08-2009, 02:09 PM

Looks much better. Although I don't think you should have posted that. :wink:

10-08-2009, 02:10 PM

Yup, looks like.

Very much in line with current practice... it's a little busy for me, cluttered with ads etc. but this is probably unavoidable to an extent.

I'd like club websites to show a little more imagination with their navigation, though... this one also has a huge navigation list down the left hand side, when many of these buttons could probably be reduced.

10-08-2009, 02:16 PM
Did anyone vote Donec Venenatis man of the match against Celtic. :greengrin

10-08-2009, 02:20 PM
Although I don't think you should have posted that. :wink:

How no?

10-08-2009, 02:21 PM
Still no good on facts, Nish is down as a midfielder on there.

HI's getting a facelift as well by the looks of things. Interesting to see that Stokes is the featured player in the test video.

hibeeleicester
10-08-2009, 02:22 PM
looks pish.

I was hoping hibs would never go for this *****. :grr:

10-08-2009, 02:32 PM
It's a bit bland really, fairly generic in terms of style, suppose they chose to play it safe really.

10-08-2009, 02:38 PM
Very similar to......

This One (http://www.leedsunited.com/page/Home/0,,10273,00.html)

hibeeleicester
10-08-2009, 02:40 PM
Very similar to......

Which is what i dont like...

why cant we be originall...

10-08-2009, 02:40 PM
Very similar to......

By 'very similar', Mikey, you do of course mean 'the same' don't you?

10-08-2009, 02:42 PM
Very similar to......

And many others. Premier TV sites are pretty generic in their presentation

10-08-2009, 02:52 PM

We were – everyone moaned about it!

joejoefaemexico
10-08-2009, 02:53 PM
dont think its a new site, i think premiumtv have made it as a pitch to hibs?

strange how it has mcewan fraser as the sponsor (indicating its new) and keigen ayre in the squad list (indicating its a bit out of date) ??

must agree, i quite liked how hibs are one of few that arent brandd with premiumtv and the genereic look of their sites are pitiful.

hibeeleicester
10-08-2009, 02:56 PM
We were – everyone moaned about it!

I did'nt and thats all that counts!:cool2:

10-08-2009, 02:56 PM

Being 'original' in website design would cost a lot more than anyone would want Hibs to spend.

The current site's design is a shambles. The dev one is an improvement. That'll do for me.

Hopefully the content will improve too.

hibeeleicester
10-08-2009, 02:57 PM
seems it has be taken down....

hibeeleicester
10-08-2009, 03:00 PM
Being 'original' in website design would cost a lot more than anyone would want Hibs to spend.

The current site's design is a shambles. The dev one is an improvement. That'll do for me.

Hopefully the content will improve too.

I dont mind the official site...its unique, we dont take the easy option.

10-08-2009, 03:08 PM
dont think its a new site, i think premiumtv have made it as a pitch to hibs?

strange how it has mcewan fraser as the sponsor (indicating its new) and keigen ayre in the squad list (indicating its a bit out of date) ??

must agree, i quite liked how hibs are one of few that arent brandd with premiumtv and the genereic look of their sites are pitiful.

Its been done as a pitch by a designer, so basically theyve used random content from the old site or 'lorem ipsum' to fill in the gaps, so it's definetly just a mock up for now.

10-08-2009, 03:10 PM
How no?
Because it doesn't work?

10-08-2009, 03:18 PM
Its not just a pitch. Someone from HI said on here not that long ago a new design was in the making this has to be it.

10-08-2009, 03:20 PM
Its not just a pitch. Someone from HI said on here not that long ago a new design was in the making this has to be it.

Not so Meeko. A new design doesn't necessarily mean Premium TV

I understand from the club that a new website is in the pipeline so we'll just need to wait and see :agree:

10-08-2009, 03:21 PM
Not so Meeko. A new design doesn't necessarily mean Premium TV

I understand from the club that a new website is in the pipeline so we'll just need to wait and see :agree:

Suppose.

You enjoy yer pie on Saturday? :wink:

10-08-2009, 03:23 PM
Suppose.

You enjoy yer pie on Saturday? :wink:

Aye but they were bloody hot ......... never have that problem at ER :greengrin

10-08-2009, 03:32 PM

It's still a pitch in that it isn't the finished site, for the reasons I listed it is still a mock up, even if this is what turns out to be the finished design. Most likely this is a working mock up for evaluation.

hibsdaft
10-08-2009, 03:44 PM
am i the only person that really likes our current site? i am used to it and know where everything is. no annoying flash/ videos slowing it down or blasting noise at me unexpectedly.

all the information i need (albeit with a few errors here and there) with minimum fuss and bull**** :cool2:

hibeeleicester
10-08-2009, 03:47 PM
am i the only person that really likes our current site? i am used to it and know where everything is. no annoying flash/ videos slowing it down or blasting noise at me unexpectedly.

all the information i need (albeit with a few errors here and there) with minimum fuss and bull**** :cool2:

10-08-2009, 05:14 PM
The Premiumtv websites are rank. Then again, can't really be worse than our current one

10-08-2009, 05:19 PM

10-08-2009, 05:55 PM
Aye but they were bloody hot ......... never have that problem at ER :greengrin

Ye kin get hoat pies?

They'll never catch oan at ER.

jakki
10-08-2009, 06:05 PM

I too like our offishal site :thumbsup:

MontrealHibs
10-08-2009, 06:21 PM
Looks like it's gone - short lived :-)

mentalhibee
10-08-2009, 06:30 PM
I like our official site aswell, those premiumtv ones are rubbish!

10-08-2009, 06:31 PM

To be fair if the site wasn't meant for public consumption it shouldn't have been live.:greengrin

10-08-2009, 06:32 PM

I agree. Ours isn't the best website ever, but it's simple, quick and functional.

A nice balance would be nice.

10-08-2009, 06:45 PM
Can't help thinking the reason some people don't like the current website because they don't like the guy running it.

10-08-2009, 06:46 PM
I quite like the current one. Premium TV ones are slow, papered in adverts and generally all round rubbish. Stick with the existing one!!

10-08-2009, 06:55 PM
Lets be honest as cutting edge websites go, our current one is not.

However that Leeds United site is absolutely horrible.....we would indeed be better sticking with what we have (with a few tweaks and a bit of sharper focus) than taking something like that jumbled, aged looking nonsense.

Sure I see why Hibs might want to take on a 'generic' provider but really if we are it should be a signficant step forward, that leeds site to me seems far from that.

10-08-2009, 07:05 PM
i would hazard a guess that there are more than a few "website designers" in the hibs family that would be delighted to design a bespoke site for the club rather than opting for a horrid template job like the leeds site........it could maybe be opened up to the entire support to submit designs and then run a vote of the best options like they did when the badge was changed.

10-08-2009, 07:41 PM
Lets be honest as cutting edge websites go, our current one is not.

However that Leeds United site is absolutely horrible.....we would indeed be better sticking with what we have (with a few tweaks and a bit of sharper focus) than taking something like that jumbled, aged looking nonsense.

Sure I see why Hibs might want to take on a 'generic' provider but really if we are it should be a signficant step forward, that leeds site to me seems far from that.

And could you image opening a PremiumTV website on an iPhone/PDA/Laptop on mobile broadband? It would be horribly slow.

Websites like Google and Wikipedia are succesful thanks to the simplicity of their design. If Google and Wiki were plastered in Flash videos, sounds and graphical adverts (like the identikit PremiumTV ones) their market share would collapse.

Don't do it Hibs!

OtterHibee
10-08-2009, 08:51 PM

OK the current design is probably a few years out of date but it is straightforward, easy to navigate and to the point. But for a bit of slight tweaking here and there, I think we should stick with what we've got.

I truly hope we don't end up going for a Premium TV design. Tacky, overused and overly cluttered. Awful IMO.

NYHibby
10-08-2009, 09:37 PM
Did someone just delete it? I can't open it

10-08-2009, 09:43 PM

To be fair if the site wasn't meant for public consumption it shouldn't have been live.:greengrin

Only the OP knows where he got the link from but bear in mind there are a few HI guys frequenting .net and I'm pretty sure they'd have said something if the link was not supposed to be public

FWIW, I prefer the current format to that Premium TV snash

NYHibby
10-08-2009, 09:51 PM
I can't see this new site so I'm commenting in the dark, but the current site could use some updating. It looks kind of dated and a more professional look could be achieved by just changing around the layout a little.

Hibee_Rab
10-08-2009, 10:00 PM
I like the offical site, it does what it should. It is simple to find the stories and whatever else you want, unlike other teams sites I have seen.

10-08-2009, 10:09 PM
Only the OP knows where he got the link from but bear in mind there are a few HI guys frequenting .net and I'm pretty sure they'd have said something if the link was not supposed to be public

FWIW, I prefer the current format to that Premium TV snash

Speaking of which, if the official switches over to Premium TV then say goodbye to HI and say hello to "Hibees World" or some gubbins like that :bitchy:

10-08-2009, 10:11 PM
Speaking of which, if the official switches over to Premium TV then say goodbye to HI and say hello to "Hibees World" or some gubbins like that :bitchy:

Can't see that happening TBH

10-08-2009, 10:14 PM
Can't see that happening TBH

Contractual obligation to signing up with Premium TV IIRC.

About time the Hibs site was ditched, it's absulutely awful.

Here are some examples of premuim tv sites I think are nice, compare them to our current one....

http://www.safc.com/page/Home
http://www.nufc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Home/0,,10278,00.html
http://www.avfc.co.uk/page/Home/0,,10265,00.html

If its good enough for the majority of english league teams then premiumtv must be doing something right.

Contractual obligation to signing up with Premium TV IIRC.

Maybe the link was a red herring :greengrin

10-08-2009, 10:15 PM
Maybe the link was a red herring :greengrin

Hope you're right, though how likely is that given the Premium TV link?

10-08-2009, 10:16 PM
I for one slate the current site - BUT....

I do agree that a total change to these commercial filled other sites is just too much.

If the current site could sort out it's graphics and continue it's improved quicker updates then it would be a start.

I do like the front pages before you get in and the graphics look much more clean and newer.

I would improve such things as the player profiles and have some sort of team photo on the site of the squad.

10-08-2009, 10:20 PM
If this is the route Hibs are going down - it sounds like its the money men making the decisions on this and not the "Media manager"

10-08-2009, 10:20 PM
Hope you're right, though how likely is that given the Premium TV link?

It's a poser right enough :agree:

10-08-2009, 10:31 PM
About time the Hibs site was ditched, it's absulutely awful.

Here are some examples of premuim tv sites I think are nice, compare them to our current one....

If its good enough for the majority of english league teams then premiumtv must be doing something right.

Each to thier own. I think those sites are honking. Too much going on. Too much being forced onto your page. If I want to look at a video I'll choose to. If there's videos all over the index page then you don't have any choice in the matter. It just slows the whole thing down.

Another website which has followed the KISS rule well is the BBC News website. It's been tweaked a little down the years to keep it fresh, but it's mostly simple and quick. This is why I don't go anywhere else for my news during the day.

hibsdaft
10-08-2009, 11:36 PM

awful pish !! just loaded them up and it took 30 - 40 seconds for all their daft flash nonsense to load up and i'm on broadband. not what you want when you just want to fire up the fixtures or check for a news update

if we go with Premium TV say goodbye to any direct influence we as supporters can ever have over the thing in the future imo. we'll just be another wee club turning over £1000's to a firm that they don't give two ****s about us

i don't know much about the folk running ours now and i'm not denying the site is currently riddled with wee errors but so would a Premium TV one. more importantly imo the folk who run the site today are in all likelihood reading this thread for feedback unlike the Premium TV PC geeks down in Slough or some other English backwater who probably think Hibs and Hibernian are two different things !!

11-08-2009, 02:06 AM
awful pish !! just loaded them up and it took 30 - 40 seconds for all their daft flash nonsense to load up and i'm on broadband. not what you want when you just want to fire up the fixtures or check for a news update

It only took about 2.3 seconds for me.

Seriously though, the design on the Official website is terrible. Needs a fresh look, I would rather they didn't go with the Premium TV service but at least update the design a bit.

HibeesLA
11-08-2009, 04:01 AM
If this is the route Hibs are going down - it sounds like its the money men making the decisions on this and not the "Media manager"

Or maybe the "Media manager" wants to deal with just that - Media. Look at the amount of new content that has been posted on HI this preseason. I could understand allowing a company that deals with websites take over all the technical work, and free up all the guys at the club to deal with writing the stories, and putting together more content and videos for the site.

Personally, I think all the links to the Premium TV content are crap. Let's hope they actually give the club some input into the design if they do go down that path.

11-08-2009, 06:41 AM
Can't help thinking the reason some people don't like the current website because they don't like the guy running it.

I've heard this said before. I've never met the guy or had a run in with him so it seems like an easy way to dismiss criticism of a website that looks (and sometimes has content that seems) home-made.

HibeeUnderwood
11-08-2009, 08:24 AM

Your behind the times, most of these websites have scrapped world and now have "Player". We may have the Hibernian Player! frankly I don't mind interactive but this player seems a bit better than that world tosh! :agree:

11-08-2009, 09:13 AM

if we go with Premium TV say goodbye to any direct influence we as supporters can ever have over the thing in the future imo. we'll just be another wee club turning over £1000's to a firm that they don't give two ****s about us

i don't know much about the folk running ours now and i'm not denying the site is currently riddled with wee errors but so would a Premium TV one. more importantly imo the folk who run the site today are in all likelihood reading this thread for feedback unlike the Premium TV PC geeks down in Slough or some other English backwater who probably think Hibs and Hibernian are two different things !!

Loaded here instantly, as quick as any other site.

OK, here's a few non-premium TV sites which I think look nice,

http://www.evertonfc.com/home/
http://www.eintracht.de/aktuell/
http://www.fcgroningen.nl/home/

even this west brom site makes ours look as if it was done by a 6 year old, and this is an unoffiical one > http://www.westbrom.com/home/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=1

Wether we go down the independant route or with premuimtv, the fact is something needs to be done about the official site pronto.

(((Fergus)))
11-08-2009, 10:09 AM
Loaded here instantly, as quick as any other site.

OK, here's a few non-premium TV sites which I think look nice,

http://www.evertonfc.com/home/
http://www.eintracht.de/aktuell/
http://www.fcgroningen.nl/home/

even this west brom site makes ours look as if it was done by a 6 year old, and this is an unoffiical one > http://www.westbrom.com/home/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=1

Wether we go down the independant route or with premuimtv, the fact is something needs to be done about the official site pronto.

all those websites are just anonymous and messy but in a professional-looking way.

if whoever's doing the new Hibs graphics has an input into the new site then we should have something a bit more attractive, functional and original.

11-08-2009, 10:21 AM
http://www.wellingtonphoenix.com/default.aspx?s=home - Wellington Phoenix site - not amazing but better than the current Hibs one, and these premium TV ones IMO :agree:

11-08-2009, 10:25 AM

Well I wouldn't mind if it meant the equipment was upgraded - there was no sound for the entire Preston game due to some technical hitch, and trying to watch the 2nd half was a bit of a joke due to constant buffering along with the sound problem.

Not the first time there have been problems.

Strangely enough, I very rarely have problems with other websites showing games and they don't cost 6 quid a time either.

11-08-2009, 11:52 AM
I quite like the current one. Premium TV ones are slow, papered in adverts and generally all round rubbish. Stick with the existing one!!

The problem with Premium TV sites is that they are designed from the club/commercial point of view, rather than the user. So, they push you additional things to buy at every opportunity, rather than help you find what you are looking for.

There is a reason why Twitter is taking the world by storm - it's designed from the user's pov, not the company's.

Having said that, Hibernian Interactive really shows up the limitations of our existing site, they need a much more user-friendly interface in my view.

Austinho
11-08-2009, 01:41 PM
The Man City (http://www.mcfc.co.uk/News) official site is by far the best I've seen — that's the way to go.

11-08-2009, 01:43 PM
The Man City (http://www.mcfc.co.uk/News) official site is by far the best I've seen — that's the way to go.

I was about to post the exact same thing.

I might have a wee go at knocking up a mock-up of what it would look like Hibs style.:greengrin

JON6207
11-08-2009, 07:47 PM
http://hibs.co.uk/Test/

11-08-2009, 08:10 PM
http://www.hibs.co.uk/index_2009.php

Found by clicking on one of the pics there.

WarringtonHibee
11-08-2009, 08:13 PM
Oh great not Premium TV, it's going to be a cluttered slow pile of *****.

If they start using Flash I'll be right ****ed off, as it means I'll be unable to use parts of the site on my iPhone.

They should of gave me a grand to sort the mess out. :wink:

The Leeds site comes up with 133 validation errors, some ***** coders that company have!

http://www.hibs.co.uk/index_2009.php

Found by clicking on one of the pics there.

And that one, a flash navigation?

Way to go! Those without Flash enabled browsers are unable to navigate the site, and it renders tools for disabled net users useless. WAY TO GO!

HibeesLA
11-08-2009, 08:18 PM
Oh great not Premium TV, it's going to be a cluttered slow pile of *****.

If they start using Flash I'll be right ****ed off, as it means I'll be unable to use parts of the site on my iPhone.

They should of gave me a grand to sort the mess out. :wink:

The Leeds site comes up with 133 validation errors, some ***** coders that company have!

And that one, a flash navigation?

Way to go! Those without Flash enabled browsers are unable to navigate the site, and it renders tools for disabled net users useless. WAY TO GO!

And?

You'll find that many websites are starting to phase out support of old browsers. There are many developers that are hindered in their use of new technology because they are still having to support IE 6. If you log into youtube from IE 6 there is a message that states they will stop supporting that browser soon.

Maybe instead of cheap shots at hibs for embracing new tools, you should bitch at apple for not supporting flash in their browser.

WarringtonHibee
11-08-2009, 08:25 PM
You need take into consideration standards compliance and accessibility.

Flash is not installed on a computer by default, and isn't supported on many mobile phone browsers. Disabled users will also have issues with their screen readers and flash based navigation.

Flash for navigation is a big NO-NO. Better results, which are standards compliant can be achieved with a XHTML/CSS solution. Flash should only be used where really needed (video, audio, games and such), it's silly to use it for something like navigation.

11-08-2009, 08:27 PM
And?

You'll find that many websites are starting to phase out support of old browsers. There are many developers that are hindered in their use of new technology because they are still having to support IE 6. If you log into youtube from IE 6 there is a message that states they will stop supporting that browser soon.

Maybe instead of cheap shots at hibs for embracing new tools, you should bitch at apple for not supporting flash in their browser.

He didn't say IE6 specifically, and even if he did - IE6 can get flash plugins.

Browsers which aren't flash enabled include some of the latest mobile browsers.

hibadelic
11-08-2009, 09:27 PM
You need take into consideration standards compliance and accessibility.

Flash is not installed on a computer by default, and isn't supported on many mobile phone browsers. Disabled users will also have issues with their screen readers and flash based navigation.

Flash for navigation is a big NO-NO. Better results, which are standards compliant can be achieved with a XHTML/CSS solution. Flash should only be used where really needed (video, audio, games and such), it's silly to use it for something like navigation.

I agree to an extent but provided you have a functional version of the site for when Flash isn't available there's no problem with using web technologies such as Flash, AJAX etc.

I've no doubt that in this case, as in most cases they've just chucked up a Flash blob with no thought about the consequences.

Harp
11-08-2009, 09:36 PM
I'll be very disappointed to see Premium TV 'do up' the official site. IMO that's making the official site worse. Although if made worse it could mean Hibs.net and the Bounce will be the first place for Hibs fans go for their news. If they don't already...

Poor stuff from Hibs.

11-08-2009, 09:38 PM
I'll be very disappointed to see Premium TV 'do up' the official site. IMO that's making the official site worse. Although if made worse it could mean Hibs.net and the Bounce will be the first place for Hibs fans go for their news. If they don't already...

Poor stuff from Hibs.

They already do Owen.

Dotnet first mind :greengrin

11-08-2009, 09:44 PM
What does the current site not do that people want?

For me it has daily news stories, links to the club store, on line ticketing and also a fantastic Hibs TV service.

It could maybe do with a tart up but apart from that I don't have a problem as it's improved over the last 5 years.

Harp
11-08-2009, 09:51 PM

For me it has daily news stories, links to the club store, on line ticketing and also a fantastic Hibs TV service.

It could maybe do with a tart up but apart from that I don't have a problem as it's improved over the last 5 years.

I think most people are happy with the quality of new stories on it. It's the look and feel of it. A club of Hibs size should be able to produce something much more eye-catching.

The splash pages are getting very smart (although annoying) so why can't the designer of that focus on the other pages.

hibadelic
11-08-2009, 11:27 PM

The content on the site is okay (there's always room for improvement though) but the actual presentation and web presence of the site is poor because it has been built and maintained by people who don't know what they are doing.

I want the official Hibs site to promote Hibs on the internet, raise revenue effectively online and provide content such as information, news and multimedia to fans. I don't think it does any of these things very well. The daily news updates are good but they are not being used effectively to drive more traffic to the site. There is some good information, stats etc. too but it is often well hidden.

The regular supply of news stories don't appear in Google News etc. so lose out loads of traffic to The Scotsman and other sports sites etc.

It barely appears in any search engines for any of its pages because the site is poorly structured and has the same title for most pages.

Where I'm coming from here is that the site should be the official mouthpiece for the club. If you type "Derek Riordan" into Google you should get the official site profile of Derek Riordan as the number one result. Instead it appears at #132 for a news story.

The actual site itself uses constantly changing splash pages which any decent web designer will tell you went out with the ark. They look amateurish (although the designs are pretty enough) and don't help site usability. A JavaScript lightbox should be used instead.

The main site doesn't integrate well with the shop either - there doesn't seem to be any reason to have them as separate sites IMO. It would be better to have one good site so you can add shop functionality into other areas of the site to increase conversions/revenue. At the end of the day, the site should be selling things too - which brings us back to the lack of presence on search engines.

Do a search for "buy hibs away kit 2009" - the Hibs online shop is nowhere. Anyone searching for that should be a guaranteed sale for Hibs. Who knows how much revenue is being lost here, especially since you can't buy strips in sports shops.

So, what I'm looking for that doesn't exist currently is a site that's more easily navigable, easily findable on search engines, works in all browsers, raises money for the club and raises the profile of the club online - basics really but I bet the new site does none of the above.

What I expect is that the people who are designing and building the new site are well intentioned amateurs who are capable of putting together a site which will function, just. It might even look flashy at first. What they wont be capable of is building a professional site that will pay for itself.

I am constantly amazed that this part of a club that is run so professionally otherwise is treated in such an amateur manner, especially when the directors constantly talk about maximising revenue etc.

They don't trust enthusiastic amateurs to build the new East Stand, do the catering in the Famous Five or run the ticket office, so why the website?

That said - I have no idea who is building the new site, maybe I'll be pleasantly surprised :dizzy:

12-08-2009, 07:28 AM
The content on the site is okay (there's always room for improvement though) but the actual presentation and web presence of the site is poor because it has been built and maintained by people who don't know what they are doing.

I want the official Hibs site to promote Hibs on the internet, raise revenue effectively online and provide content such as information, news and multimedia to fans. I don't think it does any of these things very well. The daily news updates are good but they are not being used effectively to drive more traffic to the site. There is some good information, stats etc. too but it is often well hidden.

The regular supply of news stories don't appear in Google News etc. so lose out loads of traffic to The Scotsman and other sports sites etc.

It barely appears in any search engines for any of its pages because the site is poorly structured and has the same title for most pages.

Where I'm coming from here is that the site should be the official mouthpiece for the club. If you type "Derek Riordan" into Google you should get the official site profile of Derek Riordan as the number one result. Instead it appears at #132 for a news story.

The actual site itself uses constantly changing splash pages which any decent web designer will tell you went out with the ark. They look amateurish (although the designs are pretty enough) and don't help site usability. A JavaScript lightbox should be used instead.

The main site doesn't integrate well with the shop either - there doesn't seem to be any reason to have them as separate sites IMO. It would be better to have one good site so you can add shop functionality into other areas of the site to increase conversions/revenue. At the end of the day, the site should be selling things too - which brings us back to the lack of presence on search engines.

Do a search for "buy hibs away kit 2009" - the Hibs online shop is nowhere. Anyone searching for that should be a guaranteed sale for Hibs. Who knows how much revenue is being lost here, especially since you can't buy strips in sports shops.

So, what I'm looking for that doesn't exist currently is a site that's more easily navigable, easily findable on search engines, works in all browsers, raises money for the club and raises the profile of the club online - basics really but I bet the new site does none of the above.

What I expect is that the people who are designing and building the new site are well intentioned amateurs who are capable of putting together a site which will function, just. It might even look flashy at first. What they wont be capable of is building a professional site that will pay for itself.

I am constantly amazed that this part of a club that is run so professionally otherwise is treated in such an amateur manner, especially when the directors constantly talk about maximising revenue etc.

They don't trust enthusiastic amateurs to build the new East Stand, do the catering in the Famous Five or run the ticket office, so why the website?

That said - I have no idea who is building the new site, maybe I'll be pleasantly surprised :dizzy:

You make some fair points there, but the people that run the site have always been well aware of their strengths and weaknesses. IMHO, we are good at maintaining regular news updates on the site, though (with the exception of myself - I am studying the subject at the moment) none of the team have ever claimed to be, or aspired to be, web designers.

The team have pushed the powers that be for a refresh in the design for as long as I can remember, and the noises from the club have always been positive, however the website hasn't been seen as a priority spend - particularly because it serves its purpose in its current guise.

The redesign is not being carried out in-house, but it is being done by professionals who have designed several football clubs' websites. :agree:

12-08-2009, 07:34 AM

As others have said, it's just the overall look and feel. I don't think it's particularly easy to find things sometimes.

Issues for me include the time for things to load on Interactive - i.e. highlights. They seem to take absolute ages, and you can't 'fast-forward' until the entire thing is loaded which is a pain in the erse. I very rarely use it for this reason, despite having paid my 35 quid.

Basically, IMO, the whole thing could do with a bit of an overhaul, and as others have also said, it's not really the actual content that bugs me, just how user-friendly that content is.

12-08-2009, 12:22 PM
You make some fair points there, but the people that run the site have always been well aware of their strengths and weaknesses. IMHO, we are good at maintaining regular news updates on the site, though (with the exception of myself - I am studying the subject at the moment) none of the team have ever claimed to be, or aspired to be, web designers.

The team have pushed the powers that be for a refresh in the design for as long as I can remember, and the noises from the club have always been positive, however the website hasn't been seen as a priority spend - particularly because it serves its purpose in its current guise.

The redesign is not being carried out in-house, but it is being done by professionals who have designed several football clubs' websites. :agree:

If online isn't a priority for Hibs, then it should be. The club is being short-sighted if they don't see investment in this area as necessary.

I agree that the splash pages etc look nice, but I think the designers are pushing the current architecture as far as it will go.

Martin
12-08-2009, 12:54 PM
Issues for me include the time for things to load on Interactive - i.e. highlights. They seem to take absolute ages, and you can't 'fast-forward' until the entire thing is loaded which is a pain in the erse. I very rarely use it for this reason, despite having paid my 35 quid.

Nothing can be done regarding the fast forward i'm afraid.. but it should not take that long for you to start watching highlights. I would recommend you log onto the HI forum and have a look at the threads at the top which will give you hints and tips to getting a better load time. :agree:

12-08-2009, 01:02 PM

:top marks If you are in web design yourself, have you considered offering help to the current web team? A site such as you describe above sounds just what Hibs should be looking for.

Newhaven
24-08-2009, 06:50 AM
Official website confirms that a new look is coming!

Please god not a 'world' website like this monster (http://www.kilmarnockfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Home)

24-08-2009, 07:04 AM
Official website confirms that a new look is coming!

Please god not a 'world' website like this monster (http://www.kilmarnockfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Home)

:jamboak:

What's with the massive gaps down the sides!? :confused: