View Full Version : Good Luck Scotland

10-08-2009, 04:29 AM
Just about to depart for Oslo and I would like to wish SCOTLAND good luck on Wednesday, as it's a match we can and need to win :thumbsup:

bathhibby
10-08-2009, 06:53 AM
Good luck from the West Country. We don't leave till tomorrow morning and I'll be leaving a seathing wife behind as I have been to both the Blackburn & Bolton games !
We'll be coming...........

10-08-2009, 12:15 PM
:thumbsup: Good luck Scotland - will be cheering the lads on through the ether as I watch it on the telly.

PS - in response to anticipated disparaging "don't care about Scotland" posts - I don't care that you don't care and YES I am perfectly capable of giving various Hun/tim/yam fuds my full backing as long as they're pulling on a Scotland shirt :greengrin

Mon' the Scotland!!! :saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag

10-08-2009, 12:18 PM
Are they playing? :confused:

Sandy
10-08-2009, 12:20 PM
:thumbsup: Good luck Scotland - will be cheering the lads on through the ether as I watch it on the telly.

PS - in response to anticipated disparaging "don't care about Scotland" posts - I don't care that you don't care and YES I am perfectly capable of giving various Hun/tim/yam fuds my full backing as long as they're pulling on a Scotland shirt :greengrin

What he said, mon the Scots :saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag

Silversand
10-08-2009, 12:22 PM
Good luck Scotland.

Flying out tomorrow.

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

10-08-2009, 12:25 PM
All together now.

:singing: O flower of Scotland,
When will we see, your like again,
That fought and died for,
Your wee bit hill, and glen,
And stood against them,
Proud Edward's army,
And sent him homeward, Tae think again.

Those hills are bare now,
And Autumn leaves, lie thick and still,
For land that is lost now,
But oh so dearly held,
We stood against him,
Proud Edward’s army,

Those days are passed now,
And in the past they must remain,
But we can still rise now,
And be the nation again,
That stood against him,
Proud Edward's army,
And sent him homeward, Tae think again.,

But oh so dearly held,…. .
O flower of Scotland,
And stood against them,
Proud Edward's army,
And sent him homeward, Tae think again. :singing:

10-08-2009, 12:26 PM
john carew first goalscorer

Mag7
10-08-2009, 12:27 PM
All together now.

And stood against them,
Proud Edward's army,

But oh so dearly held,
We stood against him,
Proud Edward’s army,

And be the nation again,
That stood against him,
Proud Edward's army,

O flower of Scotland,
And stood against them,
Proud Edward's army,

Second only to God Save The Queen as the world's biggest dirge of an anthem IMHO.

Sandy
10-08-2009, 12:34 PM
Second only to God Save The Queen as the world's biggest dirge of an anthem IMHO.

And so it starts :grr:. Whilst I think Scotland the Brave is a better anthem (even though most folk don't know the words) I still love Flower of Scotland and I think it is still a hair raising anthem when listened to at a sporting occasion.

10-08-2009, 12:37 PM
All together now.

And stood against them,
Proud Edward's army,

But oh so dearly held,
We stood against him,
Proud Edward’s army,

And be the nation again,
That stood against him,
Proud Edward's army,

O flower of Scotland,
And stood against them,
Proud Edward's army,

And so it starts :grr:. Whilst I think Scotland the Brave is a better anthem (even though most folk don't know the words) I still love Flower of Scotland and I think it is still a hair raising anthem when listened to at a sporting occasion.

And for the second time today already -

LET THE GAMES BEGIN.... :devil:

Alicky Ranks
10-08-2009, 12:53 PM

Flower of Scotland is certainly better than God Save The Queen but I agree it's still pretty dull. Scotland the Brave would be a far better choice. Listen to anthems like the Welsh, Irish or French (particularly when sung by rugby fans) and you'll hear anthems that are REALLY hair raising. Scotland (and England) need something far more upbeat than the anthems their lumbered with.

10-08-2009, 12:57 PM

And here they are in all their glory.....

Scotland the Brave
Lyrics

Hark when the night is falling
Hear! Hear the pipes are calling,
Loudly and proudly calling,
Down thro' the glen.
There where the hills are sleeping,
Now feel the blood a-leaping,
High as the spirits of the old Highland men.

Towering in gallant fame,
Scotland my mountain hame,
High may your proud standards gloriously wave,
Land of my high endeavour,
Land of the shining river,
Land of my heart for ever,
Scotland the brave.

High in the misty Highlands,
Out by the purple islands,
Brave are the hearts that beat
Beneath Scottish skies.
Wild are the winds to meet you,
Staunch are the friends that greet you,
Kind as the love that shines from fair maiden's eyes.

Scotland the brave.

Far off in sunlit places,
Sad are the Scottish faces,
Yearning to feel the kiss
Of sweet Scottish rain.
Where tropic skies are beaming,
Love sets the heart a-dreaming,
Longing and dreaming for the homeland again.

Scotland the brave.

PS - re the bit in red - shurely shome mishtake :confused:

10-08-2009, 01:01 PM
And here they are in all their glory.....

Scotland the Brave
Lyrics

Hark when the night is falling
Hear! Hear the pipes are calling,
Loudly and proudly calling,
Down thro' the glen.
There where the hills are sleeping,
Now feel the blood a-leaping,
High as the spirits of the old Highland men.

Scotland the brave.

High in the misty Highlands,
Out by the purple islands,
Brave are the hearts that beat
Beneath Scottish skies.
Wild are the winds to meet you,
Staunch are the friends that greet you,
Kind as the love that shines from fair maiden's eyes.

Scotland the brave.

Far off in sunlit places,
Sad are the Scottish faces,
Yearning to feel the kiss
Of sweet Scottish rain.
Where tropic skies are beaming,
Love sets the heart a-dreaming,
Longing and dreaming for the homeland again.

Scotland the brave.

PS - re the bit in red - shurely shome mishtake :confused:

Oh dear oh dear oh dear.....

My heart and blood (or is it my guts, perhaps?) are positively CHURRRRNING within me.

:bitchy:

10-08-2009, 05:49 PM
'mon the Scots :saltireflag :pray:

:saltireflag :saltireflag :saltireflag :saltireflag :saltireflag :saltireflag

10-08-2009, 05:55 PM
I'm going to go against the grain and hope Norway get a result.

10-08-2009, 05:58 PM

:confused: Why?

hiblander
10-08-2009, 06:01 PM
Big up the Scots 5am Kick Off for me live streaming and loads of refreshing on the browser !

Storar
10-08-2009, 06:03 PM
:saltireflag
Come on Scotland:saltireflag:saltireflag

10-08-2009, 06:03 PM
I'm going to go against the grain and hope Norway get a result.Bully for you :yawn:

:bye:

10-08-2009, 06:05 PM
Here's hoping we can grind out a result over there.

It won't be pretty, but I'll be rooting for a scottish win as always.

:saltireflag

hiblander
10-08-2009, 06:05 PM

Which every National Anthem around the world does to every Nation !!! :wink:

bathhibby
10-08-2009, 06:21 PM
You are simp,y a disgrace - unless of course you are a Norge

10-08-2009, 06:22 PM

:bitchy::yawn::bitchy::yawn:

C'mon Scotland :saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag

10-08-2009, 06:39 PM
:confused: Why?

Just to spice things up a little. Tbh I don't care one way or the other.

10-08-2009, 06:45 PM
Just to spice things up a little. Tbh I don't care one way or the other.

Fair enough, at least you're willing to admit it.

10-08-2009, 06:48 PM

C'mon Bob - Danny the grain isnae playing. Whaur ya been - in a coma.

10-08-2009, 06:53 PM

Yeah! What you said.

Boo!

I think much of the problem is that those who have seen Scotland in a finals are becoming fewer and fewer while the younger fans just cant comprehend just how exciting it really is. Its a bit like Hibs but different.

teabag
10-08-2009, 07:00 PM
Anyone know what if norway have any injury problems? Or what their team is likely to be?

Ta

10-08-2009, 07:02 PM
Anyone know what if norway have any injury problems? Or what their team is likely to be?

Ta

erm...At a guess Norwegian. :doh:

hibs1875aye
11-08-2009, 11:31 AM
I didnt think I'd see a lot of anti-Scottishness on a Hibs forum. Odd behaviour and Bob - why do you want Scotland to be beaten? Odd unless you are a viking from Norway.

From my point of view, COME ON SCOTLAND :saltireflag
Would be great to qualify for the first time in ages and have something to watch when the finals come around.:agree:

Silversand
11-08-2009, 11:39 AM
I didnt think I'd see a lot of anti-Scottishness on a Hibs forum. Odd behaviour and Bob - why do you want Scotland to be beaten? Odd unless you are a viking from Norway.

From my point of view, COME ON SCOTLAND :saltireflag
Would be great to qualify for the first time in ages and have something to watch when the finals come around.:agree:

Sideshow Bob S has always had a less than enthusiastic approach to the Scotland team.

Don't take it personally - he'll be back on soon with another gag after his lunchtime G&T! :wink: