View Full Version : Crowd for opening day

woody47
09-08-2009, 09:14 PM
After a fairly decent set of friendly results AND new manager, just wondering how many will be at ER against st mudden.
I would hope we should see around 14k.

Any1 know how many ST have been sold?

09-08-2009, 09:15 PM
14,000 seems a reasonable estimate to me.

09-08-2009, 09:29 PM
Arent opening games usually a sell out? :dunno:

09-08-2009, 09:30 PM
Arent opening games usually a sell out? :dunno:

Not when the OF games aren't even sell outs these days :confused:

CABBAGE & RIBS
09-08-2009, 09:35 PM
11k max it's only st mirren were playing.

09-08-2009, 09:46 PM
After a fairly decent set of friendly results AND new manager, just wondering how many will be at ER against st mudden.
I would hope we should see around 14k.

Any1 know how many ST have been sold?

Not heard a peep from Easter Road so I can only assume that they are down on last year.

09-08-2009, 10:04 PM

09-08-2009, 10:11 PM
14,000 seems a reasonable estimate to me.
There will be around 14,000 there but the official attendance will be given as 11,145.

09-08-2009, 10:12 PM

09-08-2009, 10:13 PM
There will be around 14,000 there but the official attendance will be given as 11,145.

And as for Hearts...... 412,725 :whistle:

09-08-2009, 10:21 PM
For selfish reasons I hope it's only about 11k.

Gonna take my 4 year old nephew through for his first game and planning on sitting in the usually empty South Stand section to give a bit of room for running around for when the boredom kicks in.

Dunno what he'll do when I'm running about having fun right enough.

09-08-2009, 10:32 PM
Last season our first game at home was to Falkirk - attendance 12,500.

Expect Saturday will be a slightly up on that.

09-08-2009, 10:33 PM
For selfish reasons I hope it's only about 11k.

Gonna take my 4 year old nephew through for his first game and planning on sitting in the usually empty South Stand section to give a bit of room for running around for when the boredom kicks in.

Dunno what he'll do when I'm running about having fun right enough.

Boredom? At a Hibs game?

With all that Hibs class and flare? Surely not. :cool2:

CABBAGE & RIBS
09-08-2009, 10:36 PM

Dunno why :confused:

09-08-2009, 10:54 PM
cause last pe season we got ****ed every game:confused: and mixu had us playing hoofball :grr:

09-08-2009, 11:16 PM

Our ability to come away with two credible draws against EPL opposition during the last few days should give an air of expectancy going forward to Saturday.

Plus we've only had one pre SPL game at home this season compared to 3 (4 if you include Murrayfield) last season so there will be quite a number of fans who will be seeing Hibs for the first time this season on Saturday.

09-08-2009, 11:39 PM
And as for Hearts...... 412,725 :whistle:

Have they been breeding again? :bitchy::greengrin

09-08-2009, 11:44 PM

09-08-2009, 11:56 PM
Have they been breeding again? :bitchy::greengrin

Do they even have the mentality to know how? :dunno: :greengrin

10-08-2009, 12:29 AM

Fancy posting something positive for once?

10-08-2009, 12:51 AM
Iwould hope for somewhere around 13,000.

Similar opening day matches against Killie and Pars have shown figures around that mark.

CABBAGE & RIBS
10-08-2009, 12:58 AM
Fancy posting something positive for once?

For once i've only got 10 posts

10-08-2009, 08:31 AM

10-08-2009, 09:19 AM
For once i've only got 10 posts

Plenty of time then. I waited until my 14 thousandth before i plucked up the courage.

10-08-2009, 09:27 AM
Plenty of time then. I waited until my 14 thousandth before i plucked up the courage.

Before you posted a negative comment?

Hmmm, I'd be willing to start a poll on this and wager a bath of beans.....

10-08-2009, 09:28 AM
Before you posted a negative comment?

Hmmm, I'd be willing to start a poll on this and wager a bath of beans.....

10-08-2009, 10:49 AM
If it wasnt for the holidays I would be expecting a sell out, I will go for 14,000

Sherlock Jones
10-08-2009, 10:52 AM

10-08-2009, 11:01 AM
I expect 13,000 but the club to anticipate 10,000 so big queues.

10-08-2009, 11:15 AM
I think there will be a fair amount of optimism and interest going into this one - expect around the 13,000 mark.

Doh - Bob got in there before me - 13,250 then - PS . is there a sweepstake on this ???

Owain_1987
10-08-2009, 11:15 AM
I be positive 14,500:greengrin

Darth Hibbie
10-08-2009, 12:16 PM
12,666 :greengrin:devil:.

Would be interesting to see how season ticket sales are this year.

10-08-2009, 03:43 PM
I'll go for 14100. Think St Mirren will bring 1000 or so since it's the first game of season.

10-08-2009, 03:46 PM
I reckon the crowd will be

Silversand
10-08-2009, 03:47 PM
13,145 before BlackpoolHibs posted a positive comment.

:duck:

10-08-2009, 03:51 PM
The wrong side of 13,000 IMO

10-08-2009, 04:36 PM
I forgot to ask, is there a prize for the nearest to the actual figure?

Littlest Hobo
10-08-2009, 04:38 PM
What are the prices for walk up punters this year? Anyone?

10-08-2009, 04:54 PM
I forgot to ask, is there a prize for the nearest to the actual figure?

It's a night out with Chuckie provided you're under 40 and dinnae fart. :wink:

wazoo1875
10-08-2009, 04:57 PM
What are the prices for walk up punters this year? Anyone?
£22 mate :agree:

Riordans Boots
10-08-2009, 04:58 PM

10-08-2009, 07:10 PM
14,782 if we finally make a signing worthy of all the money we've taken in lately.

12708 if we send out the usual team with Maka in goal and the Falkirk guys starting.

10-08-2009, 07:14 PM
£22 mate :agree:

Well worth with it after all the money the club's spent this summer. :hmmm:

10-08-2009, 07:21 PM
It's a night out with Chuckie provided you're under 40 and dinnae fart. :wink:will one out of two do :dunno: :greengrin

Ell_Chrisso
10-08-2009, 07:28 PM
if 3000 can be bothered to go to bolton, heres hoping atleast 4 times that can be bothered making the simple trip to a home game...

14000 +

10-08-2009, 08:01 PM

10-08-2009, 08:21 PM

Only based on the turn out for the Preston North End game and the fact that I have no idea how many STs have been sold.

10-08-2009, 09:25 PM

:jamboak::jamboak::jamboak::jamboak::jamboak:

10-08-2009, 11:00 PM

13,145almost spot on:agree:,I will miss this one ,so 13144.:boo hoo:

Riordans Boots
10-08-2009, 11:04 PM
almost spot on:agree:,I will miss this one ,so 13144.:boo hoo:

Thought you were a supporter and bus convenor MH :greengrin

RamblingJack
11-08-2009, 12:30 AM
11k max it's only st mirren were playing.

Hm......where have i heard that before????

11-08-2009, 09:25 AM
Thought you were a supporter and bus convenor MH :greengrin
:agree:,but my auld Glesga workmates come through for their annual visit tae Embra this week, show them the sights,give them each a bar o' soap,feed the weegies etc, they're all Rantic fans so ,as they pay for the grub and swally from their yearly fund,I'll not be boxing wi' them 'till the end o' the night:devil: right,me and you,ootside........stripped tae the waist ya glesga bassa:take that

11-08-2009, 10:33 AM

I'm glad to say that's me out on both counts!

15-08-2009, 10:18 PM

:cool2:

16-08-2009, 09:39 AM
:cool2::agree:singing from the same song book:wink:

16-08-2009, 09:47 AM
aye well aw youse hobos need tae worry aboot is it wis under 400,000 so beat it ya smelly aids-ridden tramps

LTYF

16-08-2009, 09:57 AM
It was 13,426

LHWM
16-08-2009, 10:07 AM
Crowds for Hibs first home league games of the season. 6,300 more than 1969 vs St Mirren a Wednesday though.

1969-09-03 Wed Hibs 2 St Mirren 0 Division 1 H 7136 Peter Cormack;Peter Cormack;
1970-09-05 Sat Hibs 0 Heart of Midlothian 0 Division 1 H 23225 ;
1971-09-11 Sat Hibs 2 East Fife 1 Division 1 H 10891 Pat Stanton;Jimmy O'Rourke;
1972-09-09 Sat Hibs 2 Heart of Midlothian 0 Division 1 H 21221 Pat Stanton;Alex Cropley;
1973-09-01 Sat Hibs 2 Partick Thistle 1 Division 1 H 10597 B Smith;A Gordon;
1974-09-07 Sat Hibs 2 Heart of Midlothian 1 Premier League H 26560 Cant og;Arthur Duncan;
1975-08-30 Sat Hibs 1 Heart of Midlothian 0 Premier League H 23646 Joe Harper;
1976-09-04 Sat Hibs 1 Dundee United 2 Premier League H 7264 J Brownlie;
1977-08-13 Sat Hibs 0 Motherwell 0 Premier League H 8855 ;
1978-08-19 Sat Hibs 0 Rangers 0 Premier League H 22461 ;
1979-08-11 Sat Hibs 1 Rangers 3 Premier League H 17731 G Rae;
1980-08-09 Sat Hibs 0 Raith Rovers 1 Division 1 H 4846 ;
1981-08-29 Sat Hibs 2 Dundee 0 Premier League H 5738 G Murray;G Rae;
1982-09-04 Sat Hibs 0 St Mirren 0 Premier League H 5487 ;
1983-08-20 Sat Hibs 0 Celtic 2 Premier League H 15084 ;
1984-08-11 Sat Hibs 0 Celtic 0 Premier League H 12415 ;
1985-08-17 Sat Hibs 1 Rangers 3 Premier League H 15056 G Durie;
1986-08-09 Sat Hibs 2 Rangers 1 Premier League H 21674 S Beedie;S Cowan;
1987-08-12 Wed Hibs 1 Rangers 0 Premier League H 20404 J Collins;
1988-08-13 Sat Hibs 1 Motherwell 0 Premier League H 10944 T McIntyre;
1989-08-19 Sat Hibs 2 Rangers 0 Premier League H 20943 K Houchen;M Weir;
1990-09-01 Sat Hibs 0 Rangers 0 Premier League H 17534 ;
1991-08-10 Sat Hibs 4 St Mirren 1 Premier League H 8271 M Weir;M Weir;P McGinlay;P McGinlay;
1992-08-08 Sat Hibs 0 Rangers 0 Premier League H 17237 ;
1993-08-07 Sat Hibs 0 Partick Thistle 0 Premier League H 7453 ;
1994-08-13 Sat Hibs 5 Dundee United 0 Premier League H 8338 B Findlay;D Jackson;D Jackson;K Harper;M O' Neill;
1995-09-16 Sat Hibs 1 Aberdeen 1 Premier League H 10528 D Jackson;
1996-08-10 Sat Hibs 1 Kilmarnock 2 Premier League H 8734 M Weir;
1997-08-03 Sun Hibs 2 Celtic 1 Premier League H 13051 L Power;C Charnley;
1998-08-15 Sat Hibs 1 Stranraer 2 Division 1 H 9485 J Skinner;
1999-07-31 Sat Hibs 2 Motherwell 2 SPL H 13058 D Lehmann;D Lehmann;
2000-08-05 Sat Hibs 3 Dundee United 0 SPL H 9541 D Agathe;D Agathe;T McManus;
2001-07-28 Sat Hibs 2 Kilmarnock 2 SPL H 12717 F Sauzee;U Laursen;
2002-08-03 Sat Hibs 1 Aberdeen 2 SPL H 13340 P Luna;
2003-08-17 Sun Hibs 1 Heart of Midlothian 0 SPL H 14083 Gary O'Connor;
2004-08-07 Sat Hibs 0 Kilmarnock 1 SPL H 10933 ;
2005-07-30 Sat Hibs 1 Dunfermline Athletic 1 SPL H 13010 G O' Connor;
2006-07-29 Sat Hibs 1 Aberdeen 1 SPL H 15046 Dean Shiels;
2007-08-11 Sat Hibs 4 Gretna 2 SPL H 13594 Merouane Zemmama;Steven Fletcher;Merouane Zemmama;K McCann;
2008-08-16 Sat Hibs 3 Falkirk 2 SPL H 12445 Colin Nish;Colin Nish;Paul Hanlon;

gillythehibby
16-08-2009, 12:23 PM
It was 13,426

I just looked at the papers this morning and they report 6300 odd at the game? Surely this was wrong? Any idea of the official attendance. I was at the game and it looked like around 12-13K.:confused:

16-08-2009, 12:57 PM
I just looked at the papers this morning and they report 6300 odd at the game? Surely this was wrong? Any idea of the official attendance. I was at the game and it looked like around 12-13K.:confused:

13,426 on official Hibs site.

16-08-2009, 01:02 PM

So much shoddy reporting that you can't believe anything you read unless it's on HIbs.net. Even on the Sky Sports News SPL roundup it shows Wotherspoons goal while claiming we beat Hamilton 2-1. Next clip is Motherwell apparently scoring at Easter Road against St Johnstone. :grr:

VegasHibby
16-08-2009, 03:48 PM

Good crowd to be honest especailly against St Mirren. They brought around 750 so a good 12500+ Hibees
Big away support next week :thumbsup:

CallumHibs07
16-08-2009, 04:02 PM
How many do you think will bother to turn up for Hearts' first home game?

Will all 400,000 manage to fit in their huge stadium or will only 350,000 be bothered to go? :hmmm:

16-08-2009, 08:30 PM

That is one cracking picture below your post - well done. :thumbsup:

Bob Box Fish
16-08-2009, 08:43 PM
In general just looking at these stats it makes you wonder when we build this new stand of 6k taking total capacity to the 21k region how we will ever fill the bloody thing!

Crowds for Hibs first home league games of the season. 6,300 more than 1969 vs St Mirren a Wednesday though.

1969-09-03 Wed Hibs 2 St Mirren 0 Division 1 H 7136 Peter Cormack;Peter Cormack;
1970-09-05 Sat Hibs 0 Heart of Midlothian 0 Division 1 H 23225 ;
1971-09-11 Sat Hibs 2 East Fife 1 Division 1 H 10891 Pat Stanton;Jimmy O'Rourke;
1972-09-09 Sat Hibs 2 Heart of Midlothian 0 Division 1 H 21221 Pat Stanton;Alex Cropley;
1973-09-01 Sat Hibs 2 Partick Thistle 1 Division 1 H 10597 B Smith;A Gordon;
1974-09-07 Sat Hibs 2 Heart of Midlothian 1 Premier League H 26560 Cant og;Arthur Duncan;
1975-08-30 Sat Hibs 1 Heart of Midlothian 0 Premier League H 23646 Joe Harper;
1976-09-04 Sat Hibs 1 Dundee United 2 Premier League H 7264 J Brownlie;
1977-08-13 Sat Hibs 0 Motherwell 0 Premier League H 8855 ;
1978-08-19 Sat Hibs 0 Rangers 0 Premier League H 22461 ;
1979-08-11 Sat Hibs 1 Rangers 3 Premier League H 17731 G Rae;
1980-08-09 Sat Hibs 0 Raith Rovers 1 Division 1 H 4846 ;
1981-08-29 Sat Hibs 2 Dundee 0 Premier League H 5738 G Murray;G Rae;
1982-09-04 Sat Hibs 0 St Mirren 0 Premier League H 5487 ;
1983-08-20 Sat Hibs 0 Celtic 2 Premier League H 15084 ;
1984-08-11 Sat Hibs 0 Celtic 0 Premier League H 12415 ;
1985-08-17 Sat Hibs 1 Rangers 3 Premier League H 15056 G Durie;
1986-08-09 Sat Hibs 2 Rangers 1 Premier League H 21674 S Beedie;S Cowan;
1987-08-12 Wed Hibs 1 Rangers 0 Premier League H 20404 J Collins;
1988-08-13 Sat Hibs 1 Motherwell 0 Premier League H 10944 T McIntyre;
1989-08-19 Sat Hibs 2 Rangers 0 Premier League H 20943 K Houchen;M Weir;
1990-09-01 Sat Hibs 0 Rangers 0 Premier League H 17534 ;
1991-08-10 Sat Hibs 4 St Mirren 1 Premier League H 8271 M Weir;M Weir;P McGinlay;P McGinlay;
1992-08-08 Sat Hibs 0 Rangers 0 Premier League H 17237 ;
1993-08-07 Sat Hibs 0 Partick Thistle 0 Premier League H 7453 ;
1994-08-13 Sat Hibs 5 Dundee United 0 Premier League H 8338 B Findlay;D Jackson;D Jackson;K Harper;M O' Neill;
1995-09-16 Sat Hibs 1 Aberdeen 1 Premier League H 10528 D Jackson;
1996-08-10 Sat Hibs 1 Kilmarnock 2 Premier League H 8734 M Weir;
1997-08-03 Sun Hibs 2 Celtic 1 Premier League H 13051 L Power;C Charnley;
1998-08-15 Sat Hibs 1 Stranraer 2 Division 1 H 9485 J Skinner;
1999-07-31 Sat Hibs 2 Motherwell 2 SPL H 13058 D Lehmann;D Lehmann;
2000-08-05 Sat Hibs 3 Dundee United 0 SPL H 9541 D Agathe;D Agathe;T McManus;
2001-07-28 Sat Hibs 2 Kilmarnock 2 SPL H 12717 F Sauzee;U Laursen;
2002-08-03 Sat Hibs 1 Aberdeen 2 SPL H 13340 P Luna;
2003-08-17 Sun Hibs 1 Heart of Midlothian 0 SPL H 14083 Gary O'Connor;
2004-08-07 Sat Hibs 0 Kilmarnock 1 SPL H 10933 ;
2005-07-30 Sat Hibs 1 Dunfermline Athletic 1 SPL H 13010 G O' Connor;
2006-07-29 Sat Hibs 1 Aberdeen 1 SPL H 15046 Dean Shiels;
2007-08-11 Sat Hibs 4 Gretna 2 SPL H 13594 Merouane Zemmama;Steven Fletcher;Merouane Zemmama;K McCann;
2008-08-16 Sat Hibs 3 Falkirk 2 SPL H 12445 Colin Nish;Colin Nish;Paul Hanlon;

CABBAGE & RIBS
16-08-2009, 08:51 PM
1980 had under 5000, what happened there.

Thats the lowest hibs crowd i think i've seen

NeilOrrSquareBa
17-08-2009, 06:55 AM
[QUOTE=LHWM;2131982]
QUOTE]

Read this and thought -"What a great name for a Jambo - 'Hearts Cant'"

17-08-2009, 06:59 AM
1980 had under 5000, what happened there.

Thats the lowest hibs crowd i think i've seen

Relegation. Perhaps those who criticise Newcastle fans might look to that stat.

17-08-2009, 09:18 AM
Relegation. Perhaps those who criticise Newcastle fans might look to that stat.

TBF, 5,000 was about usual for a home game around that time, even the previous season when we were still in the premier. Late 70's - early 80's was the low point in football attendance generally, and certainly at Hibs.

17-08-2009, 09:19 AM
It was 13,426

Really?

Must have a different official site from me then - my version states 12,313 at the foot of the match report and the same figure in the Fixtures / Results section :dunno:

17-08-2009, 09:29 AM
Really?

Must have a different official site from me then - my version states 12,313 at the foot of the match report and the same figure in the Fixtures / Results section :dunno:

It was reported as 13426 yesterday.

Must have been amended.

LHWM
17-08-2009, 11:27 AM
Really?

I got my figure from the official site yesterday so it has been updated in the meantime.

17-08-2009, 11:31 AM
Scotland on Sunday said 6,500:faf:
Whatever happened to quality Scottish journalism?

LHWM
17-08-2009, 11:52 AM

I'm not sure it has anything to do with journalism rather that all the data appears from a single source i.e. the figure was quoted on most of the online sites. I checked at least 3.

17-08-2009, 12:02 PM
I'm not sure it has anything to do with journalism rather that all the data appears from a single source i.e. the figure was quoted on most of the online sites. I checked at least 3.

Yep, all the papers including Indy today quoted the 6,350 figure. It's a bit strange that there's 3 different totals though. One possibility is the 13,400 figure was based on Yam/Tic methodology, ie seasons sold plus walk ups & lower figure, 12,300 is actual attendance. Quite possible a lot of people away on holiday at moment.

17-08-2009, 12:05 PM

That was just the west stand, there were NO empty seats around me at all and the East looked full, with the Famous five pretty much the same plus extras in the south, why would they open the south if there was not a demand for attendance. ???

17-08-2009, 12:19 PM

The point is, 'in the auld days', any worthwhile journo would have taken the trouble to check.

17-08-2009, 01:28 PM
That was just the west stand, there were NO empty seats around me at all and the East looked full, with the Famous five pretty much the same plus extras in the south, why would they open the south if there was not a demand for attendance. ???

Correct. The 'home' end was basically full....if we can fill it for St Mirren then there is clearly extra demand going untapped for Cat A games at least.

I struggle to understand the 'don't build a stand, build a team' argument as Hibs seem to be capable of filling their three sides of the stadium already...if we were to go on a bit of a run then I think it's clear to see we need extra capacity for the home support. I suppose the South might be able to cover that for non Cat A games but I really think we should just get on with finishing the stadium. Once it's done it's done and then full focus and all revenue can and will be directed to the team to ensure we do use the extra spaces generated.