View Full Version : Someone else not going to Blackburn/Riordan (merged)

05-08-2009, 07:17 AM
Derek Riordan has just boarded a flight to Southampton. :agree:

southfieldshibby
05-08-2009, 07:19 AM

Do they have any nightclubs there??

Auckland Hibs
05-08-2009, 07:24 AM

Care to hazard a guess as to where he's heading and why?

Southampton aint known for it's nightlife :devil:

05-08-2009, 07:28 AM
Going here (http://www.priorygroup.com/pg.asp?p=1752) ? :duck:

05-08-2009, 08:16 AM
I work down that way and happen to know that the Priory Clinic in Southampton specialises in therapy for Sports and Entertainment personalities. It's a discreet place with good security.

Susan Boyle, Barrymore, Paul Merson and Gazza have all attended in the past

Anyways it's all conjecture at the mo.

I'm sure Deeks will test them!

Seriously though why are we assuming it's the Priory and not signing for Southampton or Portsmouth or someone?!

05-08-2009, 08:16 AM
Very eenteresting.

Watch this space?

05-08-2009, 08:25 AM

05-08-2009, 08:28 AM
I'm sure Deeks will test them!

Seriously though why are we assuming it's the Priory and not signing for Southampton or Portsmouth or someone?!

Exactly.

The Priory have hospitals all over the UK not just Southampton.

Anyway, can someone really be addicted to nightclubs?

(By the way, I don't think I'm Cabbaged was being serious.)

05-08-2009, 08:29 AM

What's so funny big boy?

05-08-2009, 08:34 AM
probably signing for Southampton for $1m

Its ok though, we have Benji to replace him..... :rolleyes:

05-08-2009, 08:34 AM
What's so funny big boy?

He must have jumped off in blackpool, as while i was out jogging this morning, i'm sure i caught sight of him hoola hooping on the prom.:confused:

05-08-2009, 08:37 AM
He must have jumped off in blackpool, as while i was out jogging this morning, i'm sure i caught sight of him hoola hooping on the prom.:confused:

on the back of a beach donkey with a kiss me quick hat on? :greengrin

05-08-2009, 08:41 AM
, as while i was out jogging this morning

Now that's funny! :tee hee:

I'm not on the wind-up, by the way.

05-08-2009, 08:43 AM

That's all we need, a man with an a addiction to night clubs staying in Blackpool. FFS it' like sending a compulsive gambler to Vegas!!!

Get it sorted Petrie. :grr:

05-08-2009, 08:45 AM
Now that's funny! :tee hee:

I'm not on the wind-up, by the way.

I knew that would give you a laugh.:wink:

05-08-2009, 08:46 AM
That's all we need, a man with an a addiction to night clubs staying in Blackpool. FFS it' like sending a compulsive gambler to Vegas!!!

Get it sorted Petrie. :grr:

Dont worry, it wont be long before he's banned from them all.:greengrin

05-08-2009, 08:54 AM
Were you? - who started the thread. Maybe for Deek's sake you should pull it? The last thing he needs right now is more coverage of his activities in the red-tops?

Yes, I was being serious. He was very well dressed and boarded a flight to Southampton.

I agree he doesn't need any more coverage in the media, so he really needs to think before he acts.

If he chooses to board planes at the busiest time of the day, then he's bound to be spotted.

Given that Hibs have a friendly tonight, I think my thread is justified.

05-08-2009, 08:58 AM
Yes, I was being serious. He was very well dressed and boarded a flight to Southampton.

I agree he doesn't need any more coverage in the media, so he really needs to think before he acts.

If he chooses to board planes at the busiest time of the day, then he's bound to be spotted.

I'm no expert, but maybe there aren't that many flights between Edinburgh and Southampton? In fact, maybe just one a day? Still, more fool him for boarding it, eh? Sheesh.

05-08-2009, 09:05 AM
Are we absolutely sure it was him, or does someone just think they saw him?

05-08-2009, 09:05 AM
I'm no expert, but maybe there aren't that many flights between Edinburgh and Southampton? In fact, maybe just one a day? Still, more fool him for boarding it, eh? Sheesh.

Flybe have 8 flights a day from Edinburgh to Southampton.

My point, however, is that if it was important to him to be discreet, he wouldn't have flown from Edinburgh Airport at 8.30 in the morning.

There are lots of ways for well known faces to avoid publicity.

05-08-2009, 09:12 AM
Perhaps he was refused entry onto the Blackburn flight? :duck:

Carrick Hibs
05-08-2009, 09:20 AM
I work down that way and happen to know that the Priory Clinic in Southampton specialises in therapy for Sports and Entertainment personalities. It's a discreet place with good security.

Susan Boyle, Barrymore, Paul Merson and Gazza have all attended in the past

Anyways it's all conjecture at the mo.

Do you have any inside info that Deek has a drink problem and is going into a clinic to be treated?

it just seems that every post you've made for the last few days carries a mention to the priory or a sports clinic and you are starting to sound as obsessed about this as Ryehill was with Jim Gannon!!!!

for what its worth, I agree that he needs to screw the nut regarding his off field activities as this is going to be a huge season for him, but you continually mentioning seeking professional help is only going to be picked up by the lazy journos that take messageboard rumours as fact and use them in the rags as their own story.

sorry for the rant but am just curious if you do know for certain that this is what he is planning on doing.

05-08-2009, 09:21 AM
I'm sure it's justified but is it wise? Hibs probably had a press release prepared about Deek being "rested for precautionary reasons" now being hastily redrafted.

Aye - and we all know that Derek is a past master in that art?:faf:

WTF?

You're the one who is giving credibility to the Priory pish. Was that wise? :bitchy:

I've merely stated that a player has been seen getting on a flight.

Are you suggesting we ban "player spotted" threads in case they're off for therapy?

05-08-2009, 09:26 AM
It was definitely Derek Riordan - no-one else resembles him

05-08-2009, 09:27 AM

My point, however, is that if it was important to him to be discreet, he wouldn't have flown from Edinburgh Airport at 8.30 in the morning.

If he goes at 8.30, does that not give him time to say hello to his auntie in Southampton/whatever, and still get to Blackburn in time for the game? :dunno:

05-08-2009, 09:28 AM
There are some mighty big conclusions being jumped at on this thread!

05-08-2009, 09:29 AM
If he goes at 8.30, does that not give him time to say hello to his auntie in Southampton/whatever, and still get to Blackburn in time for the game? :dunno:

Probably.

I wonder if all the players are preparing for tonight's game in this way.

05-08-2009, 09:31 AM
I wonder if all the players are preparing for tonight's game in this way.

Only the ones that are likely to take part

05-08-2009, 09:38 AM
There are some mighty big conclusions being jumped at on this thread!

Exactly. That stuff about The Priory's a loadypish. What's obviously happened is that after Deek's indiscretion at the weekend The Tash has told him to find a new club by Thursday at the latest. :agree:

05-08-2009, 09:40 AM
Exactly. That stuff about The Priory's a loadypish. What's obviously happened is that after Deek's indiscretion at the weekend The Tash has told him to find a new club by Thursday at the latest. :agree:

05-08-2009, 09:55 AM

I agee think you should have posted it. Was it you that saw him and if not how sure were they?

05-08-2009, 09:59 AM
I agee think you should have posted it. Was it you that saw him and if not how sure were they?

It wasn't me.

They are certain.

05-08-2009, 10:02 AM
It wasn't me.

They are certain.

Cheers. Was he with his agent?

05-08-2009, 10:05 AM

There are lots of ways for well known faces to avoid publicity.

I think its fine for you to post this, assuming it's accurate but it's a bit far-fetched to suggest he catches a flight at a different time to avoid being seen. For a start, if he was boarding a flight to Southampton at 8.30 this morning it's extremely unlikely to be of his own volition & he will not have made the arrangements. Was he accompanied? If he's going for health reasons a medic would have been with him, if he's being sold his agent, is it still Jim Mac?, would have been there.

05-08-2009, 10:10 AM
First of all, isn't this the sort of info the messageboard is for. If Riordan isn't playing tonight, as fans we want to know and we want to know why.

Secondly, if, and it's a big if, all is not well and Riordan is looking to move/being moved on, Hibs will be bottom 6 for sure with the current squad.

I'm taking the optimistic view that he's visiting a sick relative or other such praiseworthy activity :pray:

05-08-2009, 10:13 AM
I am told by big John who camps at the portsmouth football ground that he has turned up there but refused entry.

05-08-2009, 10:13 AM
Cheers. Was he with his agent?

I don't know. I didn't ask. Who is his agent?

05-08-2009, 10:18 AM
It would be no surprise if Hughes has excluded Deek from the squad for tonight's game after the goings on at the weekend.

Why Deek is heading to Southampton, I've no idea, but there is no point in conjecturing. It may be transfer related, or it may be some personal business that he is fitting in because he isn't in the plans for tonight.

05-08-2009, 10:19 AM
Quick call to advisors for Soton that I have dealings with tell me he ain't signing for them.

Jay
05-08-2009, 10:20 AM
It would be no surprise if Hughes has excluded Deek from the squad for tonight's game after the goings on at the weekend.

Why Deek is heading to Southampton, I've no idea, but there is no point in conjecturing. It may be transfer related, or it may be some personal business that he is fitting in because he isn't in the plans for tonight.

Exactly! :agree:

Or maybe it was Sam Morrow :cool2:

05-08-2009, 10:24 AM
It was definitely Derek Riordan - no-one else resembles him

I think if there's one person needing a short stay in the Priory around here it's you.

Some totally mental posts about Derek Riordan over the last couple of days.

Gala Foxes
05-08-2009, 10:36 AM
Bit intrigued by the he "was well dressed" comment - not a shell suit then ?

05-08-2009, 10:49 AM

Based on another thread Deek is in Blackburn. Do you still stand by this?

05-08-2009, 10:53 AM

I do.

I didn't make it up.

05-08-2009, 10:56 AM

I was certain Hibs were travelling down today for the game and staying in Lancashire until after Saturdays match. They will not have arrived yet:confused:

05-08-2009, 11:00 AM
From what I was told Deek will play tonight although maybe not from the start. He is with the team right now as far as I know.

05-08-2009, 11:02 AM
I do.

I didn't make it up.

not saying you did but perhaps your source was wrong.

05-08-2009, 11:04 AM
I was certain Hibs were travelling down today for the game and staying in Lancashire until after Saturdays match. They will not have arrived yet:confused:

They might be a bit late as some of them are taking a tour of the South Coast at the moment! :wink:

05-08-2009, 11:07 AM
They might be a bit late as some of them are taking a tour of the South Coast at the moment! :wink:

It is Cowes Week :agree:

05-08-2009, 11:09 AM

It's possible, but I got a text from my "source" at 8.05am telling me that he was sitting next to Deek at Edinburgh Airport. My "source" was going to East Midlands, so he assumed that was where Deek was going too.

He texted me a couple of minutes later to say that Deek actually boarded a flight to Southampton.

I asked him was he certain it was DR, he replied, "Yes, he had that very same stroppy look though very well turned out".

He has never played a joke like that on me so I'm entirely confident it's true.

Whether or not he gets a game tonight.

down the slope
05-08-2009, 11:31 AM
Nowt in the EN about Deeks, this whole thread could be a load of cobblers based on nothing , give it a rest please.

scott7_0(Prague)
05-08-2009, 11:34 AM
What a lot of pesh, Deek and Suits to not go, christ he was released from the polis station last weekend in Hibs training gear! :greengrin:greengrin

05-08-2009, 11:34 AM
Nowt in the EN about Deeks, this whole thread could be a load of cobblers based on nothing , give it a rest please.

Get your eyes seen to, SOUTHAMPTON, NOT NORTHAMPTON.:wink:

05-08-2009, 11:37 AM
For what it's worth he would have been in Southampton just after ten and there's a flight to Manchester that would get him in at 4pm. He would arrive at the same time as the team coach.

Most internal flights take around an hour/90 minutes these days - it's like driving to Glasgow and back in a day

hibs1875aye
05-08-2009, 11:47 AM
The fascination our opposition have with Deek is only rivaled by some Hibs fans and their clear desire for some big scoop on how the boy has failed. Here's what matters:

2008/2009
Riordan 12
Fletcher, Steven 11
Nish 8
Jones, R 4
Shiels 3
Rankin 3
Hanlon 1

As long as that continues, he can fly wherever the bloody hell he likes. :agree:

Source: http://www.football-lineups.com/tourn/SPL_2008-2009/Table/

scott7_0(Prague)
05-08-2009, 11:58 AM
For what it's worth he would have been in Southampton just after ten and there's a flight to Manchester that would get him in at 4pm. He would arrive at the same time as the team coach.

Most internal flights take around an hour/90 minutes these days - it's like driving to Glasgow and back in a day

There is 3 direct flight getting into Manchester before 10am so would be better to go direct, no?

# 06:55 08:051h 10EDI MAN - Flybe
# 07:00 08:151h 15EDI MAN - bmi
# 08:40 09:501h 10EDI MAN - bmi

05-08-2009, 12:03 PM
Disaster if he leaves.

05-08-2009, 12:04 PM
There is 3 direct flight getting into Manchester before 10am so would be better to go direct, no?

# 06:55 08:051h 10EDI MAN - Flybe
# 07:00 08:151h 15EDI MAN - bmi
# 08:40 09:501h 10EDI MAN - bmi

I would have thought so but Dave is adamant he was flying to Southampton :dunno:

As long as he's playing tonight I don't give a flying one

GieTheBaTaeReilly
05-08-2009, 12:23 PM
I very much doubt he'd be "actually boarding" at 8.07am, if the inbound flight from Southampton only got in at 8.05am.

Just a thought.

M

05-08-2009, 12:54 PM

Questions are

Why would Deeks fly to Southampton this morning in the first place if he is expected to be playing tonight. Doesn't make any sense at all. If it is true that he did board that flight then I can't envisage him playing tonight. I was going to question why he didn't take the 6.30am flight to Southampton this morning however I believe the cheapest seats of the day are normally on the 8.30am and if Rod is paying for Deek's journey then that does add up. :greengrin

Why would he travel on his own (be it to Manchester or Southampton) when according to a previous poster the rest of the squad are coaching it down today. Again that doesn't add up.

Finally Deeks wearing a suit normally means only one thing. A court appearance so we can probably rule that one out.

Answers on a postcard please.

05-08-2009, 01:36 PM
Questions are

Why would Deeks fly to Southampton this morning in the first place if he is expected to be playing tonight. Doesn't make any sense at all. If it is true that he did board that flight then I can't envisage him playing tonight. I was going to question why he didn't take the 6.30am flight to Southampton this morning however I believe the cheapest seats of the day are normally on the 8.30am and if Rod is paying for Deek's journey then that does add up. :greengrin

Why would he travel on his own (be it to Manchester or Southampton) when according to a previous poster the rest of the squad are coaching it down today. Again that doesn't add up.

Finally Deeks wearing a suit normally means only one thing. A court appearance so we can probably rule that one out.

Answers on a postcard please.

Whether he plays tonight (and an early morning flight to Southampton certainly doesn't preclude him from doing so) or not, his trip is his own business. He will likely join his team mates as they arrive at their hotel.

I'm still not sure we needed to publicise his whereabouts on here but hey what do I know

05-08-2009, 02:26 PM
sun headline

"Drunk Deeks Bolts onto wrong plane to Blackburn"

the end

05-08-2009, 03:02 PM
Put together the entire club finances of Southampton and Portsmouth and they'd still look like paupers next to Hertz. Would be very surprised if there's anything in this.

05-08-2009, 03:42 PM
It's possible, but I got a text from my "source" at 8.05am telling me that he was sitting next to Deek at Edinburgh Airport. My "source" was going to East Midlands, so he assumed that was where Deek was going too.

He texted me a couple of minutes later to say that Deek actually boarded a flight to Southampton.

I asked him was he certain it was DR, he replied, "Yes, he had that very same stroppy look though very well turned out".

He has never played a joke like that on me so I'm entirely confident it's true.

Whether or not he gets a game tonight.

Should have gone to Specsavers?!

05-08-2009, 04:06 PM
This thread marks a new low in the amount of P**H talked about Hibs.

wandering_hibby
05-08-2009, 04:23 PM
Talk about turning a molehill into a mountain http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=479&fid=224&act=1&mid=2125119157

This is what aimless speculation can cause

05-08-2009, 04:38 PM
Talk about turning a molehill into a mountain http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=479&fid=224&act=1&mid=2125119157

Hope it's a load of codswallop but it makes you think if there was any truth in the Scotsman online article this morning of Deeks not being part of JH's plans.

Probably tosh but.......

05-08-2009, 05:07 PM
http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=479&fid=224&act=1&mid=2125119157

Is it Nade?

Probably is as can't see English 3rd division appealing to him.

Any sightings of him in Blackburn yet?

homielang
05-08-2009, 05:09 PM
Regardless of his troubles isn't this a knee jerk reaction? Who is going to score goals for us this season.

05-08-2009, 06:17 PM
Simples, he popped down to see me before boarding a flight to Manchester.

There, I'm rumbled.

05-08-2009, 06:23 PM

First reported on the Southampton forum at 10:23am this morning by someone who was making their first post.

I'd say it's got all the hallmarks of a mischievous yam.

:jamboid:

05-08-2009, 06:24 PM
Simples, he popped down to see me before boarding a flight to Manchester.

There, I'm rumbled.

Signing for Man City then obviously. They really are signing to many strikers.:rolleyes:

05-08-2009, 07:14 PM
From what I was told Deek will play tonight although maybe not from the start. He is with the team right now as far as I know.

So your info's pish then. :greengrin

Maybe Deeks just nipped down to meet his old made Rudi Skacel for a pint? :dunno:

05-08-2009, 07:28 PM
Despite the light-hearted banter about Riordan's 'situation', I think the 'situation' is a bit more serious than some folk imagine. :bitchy:

05-08-2009, 09:10 PM

What a lot of pesh, Deek and Suits to not go, christ he was released from the polis station last weekend in Hibs training gear! :greengrin:greengrin

The fascination our opposition have with Deek is only rivaled by some Hibs fans and their clear desire for some big scoop on how the boy has failed. Here's what matters:

2008/2009
Riordan 12
Fletcher, Steven 11
Nish 8
Jones, R 4
Shiels 3
Rankin 3
Hanlon 1

As long as that continues, he can fly wherever the bloody hell he likes. :agree:

Source: http://www.football-lineups.com/tourn/SPL_2008-2009/Table/

This thread marks a new low in the amount of P**H talked about Hibs.

05-08-2009, 09:15 PM
He's going nowhere. Chill oot.

05-08-2009, 09:15 PM
I'm still not sure we needed to publicise his whereabouts on here but hey what do I know

Are you serious?

An important player for us is seen boarding a flight to another destination when our first team is playing elsewhere and you don't think people should be told?

However, you do think it's ok to speculate that the said player is about to receive therapy in the Priory for an alcohol addition. :bitchy:

With all due respect, my friend, you've got your wires crossed.

05-08-2009, 09:17 PM
He's going nowhere. Chill oot.

I didn't say he was. Not once. Never. Ever.

And I'm mighty chilled, thank you. :agree:

05-08-2009, 09:21 PM
I didn't say he was. Not once. Never. Ever.

And I'm mighty chilled, thank you. :agree:

Not aimed at you, mon capitano.

It was a generic post aimed at the board as a whole stating that the wee fellae's going nowhere.

Petrie likes a penny, but even he wouldn't dream of selling Riordan, not yet anyway, regardless of his recent misdemeanour.

05-08-2009, 09:21 PM
An important player for us is seen boarding a flight to another destination when our first team is playing elsewhere and you don't think people should be told?

well i should inform you that one of our important players got in a taxi to go to a hospital today. just thought people would want told:greengrin

05-08-2009, 09:22 PM
well i should inform you that one of our important players got in a taxi to go to a hospital today. just thought people would want told:greengrin

How important :greengrin

05-08-2009, 09:23 PM
Twice in a week now someone has posted accurate information and been blown to bits, don't think Torto got any apologies the other day either.

05-08-2009, 09:24 PM
Twice in a week now someone has posted accurate information .

Must be a record on here :wink:

05-08-2009, 09:25 PM
How important :greengrin

very important:greengrin

05-08-2009, 09:26 PM
Must be a record on here :wink:

True dat :greengrin

05-08-2009, 09:27 PM
very important:greengrin

Sure Kurtis will be fine. Very important player that he is.:greengrin

05-08-2009, 09:28 PM
Twice in a week now someone has posted accurate information and been blown to bits, don't think Torto got any apologies the other day either.

I agree, I was informed of Deeks shenanigans in the early hours of Sunday morning but I never bothered even posting a thread about it on here or the PM board for that matter purely for that reason.

05-08-2009, 09:29 PM
Sure Kurtis will be fine. Very important player that he is.:greengrin

thought you would guess who:greengrin

yeah kurtis will be disappointed he wasnt able to play tonight considering deek wasnt. but it means he will be raring to go next saturday.

05-08-2009, 10:01 PM
Are you serious?

However, you do think it's ok to speculate that the said player is about to receive therapy in the Priory for an alcohol addition. :bitchy:

With all due respect, my friend, you've got your wires crossed.

First of all it was your thread not mine. Secondly I wasn't the first to mention the Priory. Thirdly I deleted my subsequent posts 'cos I thought they were too intrusive. Fourthly I'm not sure my hunch was incorrect although it's more likely Tony Adam's gaff was his destination.

If it's true I will be absolutely delighted. Sad on the one hand yet delighted on the other. I've got strong identification with Derek on this believe me - a lot more than you will appreciate!

I just want the man fit, well and firing on all cylinders!:thumbsup:

hibeerobbo
05-08-2009, 10:05 PM
one of my mates has just posted his status on facebook as " rumour has it deek won't kick another ball for hibs again " He's a good hibby... anybody else heard this?? or is my mate just talking complete b@lls??

05-08-2009, 10:08 PM
If we let Deeks go cause of this then it's a joke.:agree:

May have problems off the field but hopefully we are helping him with these. Agree he should no better but can't kick him out over this.

05-08-2009, 10:13 PM
If we let Deeks go cause of this then it's a joke.:agree:

May have problems off the field but hopefully we are helping him with these. Agree he should no better but can't kick him out over this.

I don't think the club will let him go because of this latest carry on but, unless Riordan gets his act together, there will come a point where the club will have no option but to ease him out the door. :dunno:

05-08-2009, 10:18 PM
I think we should have faith that Deek is getting 100% support from the club at the moment. He's a Hibs player and going nowhere.

05-08-2009, 10:22 PM
I don't think the club will let him go because of this latest carry on but, unless Riordan gets his act together, there will come a point where the club will have no option but to ease him out the door. :dunno:

True, but with him being on of the best finishers in the SPL at the moment, we simply can't afford to let him leave. Would be a terrible decision.

05-08-2009, 10:23 PM
So where is Deeks.:confused:

05-08-2009, 10:35 PM
So where is Deeks.:confused:

According to the Jambos on Brokeback, he's in the Sporting Chance clinic in Southampton.

killie-hibby
05-08-2009, 10:38 PM
Exactly.

The Priory have hospitals all over the UK not just Southampton.

Anyway, can someone really be addicted to nightclubs?

(By the way, I don't think I'm Cabbaged was being serious.)

It is possible for a person to be addicted to nightclubs.
Interestingly, the Sporting Chance Rehabilitation Clinic based within the luxurious Forestmere Country Club, specialises in therapy for professional sportspersons with addictions or dependancies adversely affecting their athleticism, is a short distance from Southampton Airport.

05-08-2009, 10:40 PM
As mentioned, I live down here. I'll keep my eyes peeled.

He's probably one of the best-known, if not thee, non-OF Scottish based footballers down south. Everyone I talk to down here has heard of him and they all agree he's brilliant, if slightly wayward.

joejoefaemexico
05-08-2009, 10:40 PM
I don't know. I didn't ask. Who is his agent?

Jim McArthur

05-08-2009, 10:53 PM
one of my mates has just posted his status on facebook as " rumour has it deek won't kick another ball for hibs again " He's a good hibby... anybody else heard this?? or is my mate just talking complete b@lls??

It's true that rumour has it.

The rumour is almost certainly balls.

Hope that clears it up.

hibs1875aye
05-08-2009, 11:00 PM
I hope the laddie sorts himself out and batters in the goals again which will upset some so called Hibs Fans by the sound of this thread. Whatever he's doing, he hasn't exactly tried to hide it.....says something no?