View Full Version : Murdo MacLeod

04-08-2009, 11:41 AM
In this day and age when we are concerned about people getting paid excessive amounts of money, why of why oh why does Murdo still have a job?

He seems to have no more to offer than hackneyed cliches, stuff like:

Richard Gordon: Well Murdo, an exciting encounter between Rangers and X, Y, or Z today".

Murdo: That's right it is an exciting encounter.

Richard: So who will win this one Murdo?

Murder: I think on paper Rangers would have to be favourites, but X, Y or Z always give them a difficult game etc,

Not only that, he said that Hearts could well split the OF this year. What can he base that on? The man knows hee haw about football, and is just another BBC Scotland aparatchik that they can't get rid of.

04-08-2009, 11:44 AM
I blame that Brazlian free-kick that he took on the napper :greengrin

I mean afterall, he signed for Hibs too

04-08-2009, 11:50 AM
He's really good at keepy-uppy's so they needed him. Rumour has it next year the advert will have them all juggling, which he's not so good at and he's likely to be binned and replaced by Malkowski or Brown.

04-08-2009, 11:50 AM
I blame that Brazlian free-kick that he took on the napper :greengrin

I mean afterall, he signed for Hibs too

I remember Roy Aitken asked him how he was feeling, and Murdo said something like "ten past five", or more likely "on paper I look like I'm hurt, but I always give my best in these games, it sure is great to be back with the Tic..

04-08-2009, 11:54 AM
He's a nice gent with a ready smile and an enthusiastic attitude to Scottish football.

I've not heard anything offensive or cynical from his mouth yet, unlike Chick Young, Jim Traynor and the cast of Off The Ball.

And of course he lifted the Skol Cup for Hibs so he can do no wrong in my eyes!

04-08-2009, 11:56 AM
He's a nice gent with a ready smile and an enthusiastic attitude to Scottish football.

I've not heard anything offensive or cynical from his mouth yet, unlike Chick Young, Jim Traynor and the cast of Off The Ball.

Which is all very well, unless you are paid to have an opinion.

ancienthibby
04-08-2009, 11:57 AM
In this day and age when we are concerned about people getting paid excessive amounts of money, why of why oh why does Murdo still have a job?

He seems to have no more to offer than hackneyed cliches, stuff like:

Richard Gordon: Well Murdo, an exciting encounter between Rangers and X, Y, or Z today".

Murdo: That's right it is an exciting encounter.

Richard: So who will win this one Murdo?

Murder: I think on paper Rangers would have to be favourites, but X, Y or Z always give them a difficult game etc,

Not only that, he said that Hearts could well split the OF this year. What can he base that on? The man knows hee haw about football, and is just another BBC Scotland aparatchik that they can't get rid of.

Murdo Macleod is commentating royalty compared with the likes of Alan Preston and the slavering Billy Dodds!!

04-08-2009, 12:01 PM
He's really good at keepy-uppy's so they needed him. Rumour has it next year the advert will have them all juggling, which he's not so good at and he's likely to be binned and replaced by Malkowski or Brown.

How embarrassing was that trailer? Only Scottish TV could come up with something as rank as that. Wonder how many retakes they had to do to as they (Pat Nevin, Dodds etc) didn't look comfortable doing something a 5 year old could be blindfold.

04-08-2009, 12:04 PM
How embarrassing was that trailer? Only Scottish TV could come up with something as rank as that. Wonder how many retakes they had to do to as they (Pat Nevin, Dodds etc) didn't look comfortable doing something a 5 year old could be blindfold.

:agree: Compare it to the Sky Sports "special" advert that Jose's done for them! Shows the difference in standard between the 2.

04-08-2009, 12:07 PM

Absolutely p*sspoor. :agree:

GieTheBaTaeReilly
04-08-2009, 12:21 PM
I think it was this game in 2001 (http://www.soccerbase.com/results3.sd?gameid=318415) we got pumped 4-1 at home by the lesser greens.

Moravcik curls in a beauty for the opener, but the Hibs defence appeared to claim for offside as Henrik Larsson was lurking in the 6 yard box with intent and could arguably been "interfering". Remember kids, the rules were different then.

The commentator says Something like "Hibs appear to be claiming for offside"

Co-commentator Murdo Macleod comes back with "I don't think so, you can't chalk that goal off, it was too good"

I nearly put my boot through the telly.

M

Greenway
04-08-2009, 12:41 PM

Absolutely embarrassing, I couldn't stop my self from mumbling "says everything you ever needed to know about BBC Scotland Football, complete clowns to a man".

As for paying Preston and Dodds for their opinions, are they serious?. No one who want their opinions for free. I imagine they get blanked in most pubs, in case they suddenly start giving there "insight" into the game.

Murdo is just a nice big daft laddie who doesn't want to argue with anyone. He always reminds me of Craig Brown, a man who only ever said nice things about everyone. I suspect if asked about Hitler he would say "He was a controversial figure and didn't always get the best press, but that his hearts was probably in the right place and you can't ignore his commitment".

It must have SKY Sports shaking in their shoes.:cool2:

04-08-2009, 01:06 PM
What riles me about Murdo Mcleod in particular is that he is portrayed as a voice of reason, not favouring one team over the other. I think that is just setting up smoke TBH. That Alan Preston is a jambo is no secret. You can hear it in his commentary. I don't mind that at all. But how can Murdo say he has no bias, when last week before the CL game against Moscow, the ex-piano player from "ain't half hot mum" introduced him as the former Celtic assistant manager? A bit like Hearts accounts. It doesn't add up.

04-08-2009, 01:10 PM
he favours Hibs over Hearts. That'll do me. Alan Preston is a tit.

Velma Dinkley
04-08-2009, 01:47 PM
Out of all the football pundits you could moan about, you pick Murdo?!?! That seems really weird to me. Compared to most he is really decent. He knows his stuff and doesn't talk a load of guff like the rest of them.

GieTheBaTaeReilly
04-08-2009, 01:48 PM
the ex-piano player from "ain't half hot mum"

:thumbsup:Brilliant, simply, brilliant.

Barman Stanton
04-08-2009, 01:51 PM
Not the first time Iv seen big Murdo slated on here. Quite bizzare really. He is a Hibs Cup winning captain. One of only 5. A bit of respect should be shown to the man imo.

Barrylavety
04-08-2009, 01:51 PM
Out of all the football pundits you could moan about, you pick Murdo?!?! That seems really weird to me. Compared to most he is really decent. He knows his stuff and doesn't talk a load of guff like the rest of them.

thats what i was just thinking :agree:

why are we suddenly abusing murdo?

GieTheBaTaeReilly
04-08-2009, 01:57 PM
There's plenty of people to pick on, fairness and equality sometimes goes out the window.

From a personal point of view, especially as Hibs winning captain, his views could at times be a little more balanced.

We don't really expect that from, say, Allan Preston.

M

04-08-2009, 02:51 PM
They 're all rubbish(unbiasd opinion)

Oscar Lomax
04-08-2009, 03:48 PM
Ive met Murdo a few time's at various functions and he is a cracking guy with a lot of time and affection for Hibs. You just need to watch 'The team that wouldn't die' to see he has an infectious personality and was well liked within the team.
It's the same old thing though....Murdo is a Celtic fan born and bred and lived the dream of playing for them. I cant think off any Hibs fans that had a chance to commentate on a game say, against the Yams, not being a little byast ?

04-08-2009, 04:08 PM
Sorry, but Murdo is one of the good guys.

He may not be as erudite as the likes of Pat Nevin, but I'd rather have him any day than prciks like Preston, Sandy Clark or Robertson.

:bitchy:

04-08-2009, 04:51 PM
Not the first time Iv seen big Murdo slated on here. Quite bizzare really. He is a Hibs Cup winning captain. One of only 5. A bit of respect should be shown to the man imo.

To be fair Murdo is a nice bloke (especially compared with the likes of Dodds and Preston who almost manage to make John Cockhuoon seem charming) but he has also driven me mad at times in the past with his slavish devotion to RaSellik - in the press in particular (:jamboak:).

Of course as a Hibs Cup winning captain he will always have some creds with us Hibbies, but that does not excuse him from a barracking when he's bumming up the Smellies to the expense of his professional integrity :agree:

fergal7
04-08-2009, 05:33 PM
He is guest speaker at a function at Duddingston Golf Club on friday night, sold out I believe.:agree:

04-08-2009, 06:11 PM

Why pick on Murdo? The world is full of analysts whose 'expertise' is expressed in bland cliches, deleivered in a manner designed to keep them in such employment for as long as possible.

Even here in the US, where politcal correctness distorts reality, there are so many inoffensive but very unexciting commentators/analysts.

Makes sense really. Can't have idiots like me commentating, screaming, 'Lucky Jambo b******s' and other such pleasantries.

No, ideally what is wanted is experience combined with the feel of the Archers.

Ah, can't you smell that sweet country air? Oh dear, what have I just stepped in? Damn Gorgie streets !!!

04-08-2009, 07:44 PM

He has nothing to say that I don't already know, he specialises in being bland and uncontroversial, and as such I wonder why he is paid for his opinion. He is a bore.

04-08-2009, 07:50 PM

This is my thoughts on him too:agree:

04-08-2009, 07:55 PM
This is my thoughts on him too:agree:

Imagine if you asked a doctor for an opinion on your health, and he said, "it could be any number of things". Would you feel better if he was a nice bloke - probably yes, would you feel he was worth his salary - probably not: would you ask his opinion again - I guess it would depend on whether you wanted to listen to a nice guy, or hear something you hadn't thought of.

Nothing wrong with Murdo, he just shouldn't be a pundit. Furthermore when the likes of David Currie has tried to bring a bit of humour into the show, Murdo sits with a face like someone is trying to feel his nuts under the table.

Velma Dinkley
04-08-2009, 07:59 PM
Doctors help people get better. Football pundits comment on football. It's not their job to be controversial. I'm sure lots of people find you very boring but you probably already know that, eh?

Big Ed
04-08-2009, 08:16 PM
Doctors help people get better. Football pundits comment on football. It's not their job to be controversial. I'm sure lots of people find you very boring but you probably already know that, eh?

I think that the point that the OP is trying to make is that he may not be paid to be controversial, but you'd hope that a football analyist, with years of experience at both playing and in management, would not be quite so bland.
Yes, he is a good guy and yes, he did lift the Cup for Hibs, but the example in the opening post is spot on.

Hal Jordan
04-08-2009, 08:37 PM
One time me and my wee brother were in the back row of the old stand, think it was the game where Fulton got booked for being ugly, and had to exit past the press boxes, Murdo was sitting there doing his thing, and as we passed we go "Haw, Murdo, some game eh!", he gives us a big cheesey grin and a thumbs up :thumbsup:. Top man in my book.

04-08-2009, 08:44 PM
Murdo Macleod is commentating royalty compared with the likes of Alan Preston and the slavering Billy Dodds!!

:agree: And he's a gent! Signed ma SKOL Cup Final Prog for me recently :thumbsup:

I do detest his excessive and pointless use of the word "there" however ..

04-08-2009, 09:08 PM

I agree. Seems like a pop at a fairly soft target (in BBC commentary team terms anyway, compared to Chick Young or Jim Traynor for example) but are you really surprised that a former Hibs cup-winning captain is getting pelters on here?

I watched half the North Stand loudly cheering Van Zanten`s substitution against Preston a few days ago. Van Zanten`s not one of my favourite players and the lad may not be a candidate for `Hibs Legend` status, but it doesn`t matter - there`s just no excuse for that whatsoever.

I know everyone`s fully entitled to air their personal views and constructively criticise, but sometimes a bit more solidarity wouldn`t go amiss.

04-08-2009, 09:20 PM
Imagine if you asked a doctor for an opinion on your health, and he said, "it could be any number of things". Would you feel better if he was a nice bloke - probably yes, would you feel he was worth his salary - probably not: would you ask his opinion again - I guess it would depend on whether you wanted to listen to a nice guy, or hear something you hadn't thought of.

Nothing wrong with Murdo, he just shouldn't be a pundit. Furthermore when the likes of David Currie has tried to bring a bit of humour into the show, Murdo sits with a face like someone is trying to feel his nuts under the table.

Fair enough FR. He doesnt float your boat !
I love the guy myself tbh.

His greatest football moment was winning the League cup against all odd with Hibs:not worth

This does not make him a good pundit i hear you say ! I couldn't care less:greengrin

Big Ed
04-08-2009, 09:26 PM
I agree. Seems like a pop at a fairly soft target (in BBC commentary team terms anyway, compared to Chick Young or Jim Traynor for example) but are you really surprised that a former Hibs cup-winning captain is getting pelters on here?

I watched half the North Stand loudly cheering Van Zanten`s substitution against Preston a few days ago. Van Zanten`s not one of my favourite players and the lad may not be a candidate for `Hibs Legend` status, but it doesn`t matter - there`s just no excuse for that whatsoever.

I know everyone`s fully entitled to air their personal views and constructively criticise, but sometimes a bit more solidarity wouldn`t go amiss.

BBC Radio Scotland's football coverage is something that we are all familiar with. On a match day it may give you the teams as you are driving to the ground or fill you in with a bit of breaking news that you wouldn't otherwise know. It's a wee bit of an institution.
Some of the people on there are very good: Richard Gordon is excellent as the anchor, I like Jim Spence and Bryan McLaughlin too.
That said, Chick Young's performance is excrutiating without fail and I think that Allan Preston is a disgrace. As for Traynor's phone in; that is amatuerish in the extreme.
As for the "experts" I always think that they pull their punches. People like Craig Paterson, Pat Nevin, Billy Dodds and Murdo all know many of the ex- players involved in the management side at all SPL clubs (except the Fuds) and are extremely reluctant to criticise, other than very mildly ("Big Craig'll be hurting with that result" etc.)
Unfortunately, that is their job and as a result, what could be a very decent programme, tends to be no more than a Saturday afternoon chin wag.

04-08-2009, 09:46 PM
BBC Radio Scotland's football coverage is something that we are all familiar with. On a match day it may give you the teams as you are driving to the ground or fill you in with a bit of breaking news that you wouldn't otherwise know. It's a wee bit of an institution.
Some of the people on there are very good: Richard Gordon is excellent as the anchor, I like Jim Spence and Bryan McLaughlin too.
That said, Chick Young's performance is excrutiating without fail and I think that Allan Preston is a disgrace. As for Traynor's phone in; that is amatuerish in the extreme.
As for the "experts" I always think that they pull their punches. People like Craig Paterson, Pat Nevin, Billy Dodds and Murdo all know many of the ex- players involved in the management side at all SPL clubs (except the Fuds) and are extremely reluctant to criticise, other than very mildly ("Big Craig'll be hurting with that result" etc.)
Unfortunately, that is their job and as a result, what could be a very decent programme, tends to be no more than a Saturday afternoon chin wag.

I agree with all of that .. Chic Dung, Traynor :yawn: and Preston (erse at the wind-up) should be dropped. Paterson, Nevin and Doods need to be more honest, critical and less patronising to bosses, players and the fans IMHO

04-08-2009, 10:07 PM

Oh come on! He's a big softy and good bloody luck to him. What do you want? Guys like Chick Young or Traynor?
Why's everyone got it in for the follicly perfect Murdo - the nicest guy in football. Is there anything serious to say about Scottish football anyway?

I'm losing faith personally.

04-08-2009, 10:20 PM
He has nothing to say that I don't already know, he specialises in being bland and uncontroversial, and as such I wonder why he is paid for his opinion. He is a bore.

Key word here I reckon FR.

You think he's a bore and some agree

I think he's pretty good and some agree

Big Ed
04-08-2009, 10:39 PM
Key word here I reckon FR.

You think he's a bore and some agree

I think he's pretty good and some agree

I'm not disputing that he is a good guy, but have you ever heard him say something about Scottish Football that made you think "I'd never thought of that before" because I can't.

04-08-2009, 11:04 PM
I'm not disputing that he is a good guy, but have you ever heard him say something about Scottish Football that made you think "I'd never thought of that before" because I can't.

What other pundits have though?

LHWM
04-08-2009, 11:20 PM
The death of Bob Crampsey last year highlighted just how far Journalism has fallen. We now live in age when (3rd and 4th rate) celebrity counts more than having a skill at the profession.

I can't think of anyone who now speaks with true authority based on histrorical knowledge rather than second rate opinion.

Big Ed
04-08-2009, 11:22 PM

I think you may have a point there. :greengrin

04-08-2009, 11:25 PM
I think you may have a point there. :greengrin

I tend to agree with LHWM on this one though. :agree:

LHWM
04-08-2009, 11:36 PM

I tend to agree with LHWM on this one though. :agree:

Listen to the Bob Crampsey tribute here (http://www.londonhearts.com/archive/bob.mp3).

05-08-2009, 01:56 AM
With all this Murdo Bashing going on and mention of some of his less nice colleagues in the media, I can't believe the name of Davie Provan hasn't been brought up, if ever there was a man who should not be allowed anywhere near a microphone it's him, at least when Murdo is "sellickminded" he's nice and bland and generic about it, Provan shoves it down your throat and knows hee-haw about football outside his wee parochial green hoopy world...

He was balanced out by fat lardy Derek Johnstone mind you, just as bad :agree:

Give me slightly dull Murdo any day, at least he doesn't make me want to hurl my wireless out the window. :grr:

05-08-2009, 07:11 AM
The fitba "pundit" gig is just one enormous old pals act. Most of these characters are too inarticulate to get a job answering calls in a call centre and yet they are let loose on national radio or on the telly not because of an ability to communicate but because they are mates with the presenters and producers.

Murdos ability to answer a presenters question by repeating the question back to the presenter does amuse me but he strikes me as one of the good guys. I find him far preferable to the shock jocks Traynor and Young and plums like Preston, Dodds and Duff Jimmy.

Bottom line is that other than Richard Gordon and Jim Spence,who are extremely professional, Radio Scotlands fitba coverage is a cringeworthy non musical version of Smash and Nicey.

05-08-2009, 08:07 AM
With all this Murdo Bashing going on and mention of some of his less nice colleagues in the media, I can't believe the name of Davie Provan hasn't been brought up, if ever there was a man who should not be allowed anywhere near a microphone it's him, at least when Murdo is "sellickminded" he's nice and bland and generic about it, Provan shoves it down your throat and knows hee-haw about football outside his wee parochial green hoopy world...

He was balanced out by fat lardy Derek Johnstone mind you, just as bad :agree:

Give me slightly dull Murdo any day, at least he doesn't make me want to hurl my wireless out the window. :grr:

:agree: Spot on - the worst pundity/co-commentator around (now that Booth's out of a job). He is the one concern I have about Sky getting Scottish football back.

Hopefully he'll still be getting punted to Stoke v Hull or whatever and they'll give us someone half decent.

05-08-2009, 02:48 PM

It's been a while since I listened to Talksport with any regularity but the likes of Gabriel Marcotti, Raphael Honigstein, Graham Hunter and Guillem Balague all used to feature and talk about football with intelligence, insight and integrity. It tended to be more in discussion shows than live games but Marcotti certainly did co-commentary a lot.

Of course they are all based in London or on the Continent and either work for Sky or write for papers much bigger than the Scottish press, but I suppose my point is that for punditry or co-commentary I would much rather have an informed writer or journalist than an ex-player. I struggle to recall when an ex-player has offered a huge amount in the way of illumination as a pundit. When Sky first got the EPL I do remember some tactical analysis stuff from Andy Gray that was pretty revolutionary for broadcast football at the time but that's a distant memory now.

Very sharp contrast with the likes of rugy and especially cricket where you're falling over the number of ex-players who are able to offer lucid, revealing and entertaining perspectives on the play unfolding before them. I ackowledge that those games have more breaks in play where there's room for comment but nevertheless the quality of commentary in football is less than it should be IMO and for whatever reason, ex-players and managers tend to do little to raise the bar.

05-08-2009, 03:00 PM
The fitba "pundit" gig is just one enormous old pals act. Most of these characters are too inarticulate to get a job answering calls in a call centre and yet they are let loose on national radio or on the telly not because of an ability to communicate but because they are mates with the presenters and producers.

Murdos ability to answer a presenters question by repeating the question back to the presenter does amuse me but he strikes me as one of the good guys. I find him far preferable to the shock jocks Traynor and Young and plums like Preston, Dodds and Duff Jimmy.

Bottom line is that other than Richard Gordon and Jim Spence,who are extremely professional, Radio Scotlands fitba coverage is a cringeworthy non musical version of Smash and Nicey.

I agree with what you say, about it being an old pals act. It's not just sport that is afflicted by this - when did you last hear of Phil Cunningham, Aly Bain, or Edy Reader outside the BBC? Yet every new year they just trot out the same self satisfied, smug, dross.

I agree about Bob Crampsey, it was a pleasure to listen to that man. There seems to be no-one these days who is brave enough to admit to having been around a long time, and as a result there is never any perspective put on breaking stories.

A good example of this is the wide eyed approach to the globalisation of the game, and Scotland's diminishing importance in it. If these guys knew anything about football they'd be able to see that this is the lastest chapter in a story which has been running since professionalism was introduced.

Instead they fluster and talk round the issues without any real understanding of what they are reporting. Maybe if we had journos who could take a world vision of the sport, then we could start to position ourselves for the next phase.

Instead these guys give you the impression that they are out for a wee blether with their mates before they meet up with their wives for a Saturday evening meal. So why are they paid to say absolutely **** all, week in week out?

I'd love to blame the Old Firm, in fact I will. Nothing else matters except their results and comings and goings. If they played each other 52 times a year the Beeb would still cover it.