View Full Version : Cigarette Breaks

hibsboy90
02-08-2009, 03:18 PM
How does everyone else feel about their colleagues regularly getting 5-10 (sometimes longer) minutes off every hour to have a fag.

At my work, I am the only non smoker, and when everyone else, including both mamagers, go for a smoke, I am left to hold the fort.

I never get told that i can go upstairs to the staff room for 15m every few hours for a coffee and read the paper etc. If i want this, i do it during my half hour break gained for every 4h worked. The smokers get this half hour in addition to cigarette breaks.

I understand that it is an addiction, however there is no legal right for a smoker to get a cigarrette break, only the 20m every 6h provided by law.

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/Employment/Employees/WorkingHoursAndTimeOff/DG_10029451

Bugs me when the boss will say that those who want a fag to head out for 10m, yet the non-smoker has to go carry a table upstairs etc, it always gets done as my boss asks me to do it. But it strikes me as plain cheek.

Rant over! :grr::grr:

02-08-2009, 03:22 PM
It's always been a contentious issue.

Staff at my work are told to clock out and back in although this rarely happens. People who are on fixed hours i.e non flex are not allowed to go for breaks.

It doesn't bother me that much to be honest. Although the staff in my offices never go that frequently.

02-08-2009, 03:26 PM
Do what I used to do. Take the same amount of time as they do.

hibsboy90
But when you think of a 12h shift, I will get about an hour break in total, yet the smokers will get that hour, in addition to at least 3 fags every 2 hours, thats another 3h, do i get their pay for carrying the burden? it just pisses me off. :grr:

Had a bad day at work yesterday :wink:

Jay
That would drive me mad! Dont know what the solution is though. I dont suppose you want to go out and stand with them while they are puffing? I wouldn't.

Get them to make a you a cuppa when they come back in and you sit back and drink it, then you'll need a toilet break and they can hold the fort. :greengrin

.Louise.
02-08-2009, 03:31 PM
If my staff want a fag break they need to take it during there lunch break!

02-08-2009, 09:06 PM
Good rant!!

This pees me off as well, although my work have recently stopped staff going out for fag breaks, more to do with us moving to a new building rather than any other reason.

One thing that used to make me laugh was when I ran a business, the staff did cleaning contracts and they thought they were perfectly entitled to go out for a fag halfway through a 2 hour shift! It used to do my head in!

I would do what Hiberni-mum suggests and go out with them, try and stand up-wind from them (to avoid stinking of smoke) and it should maybe make the point to the managers as there won't be anyone in the office to hold the fort!

02-08-2009, 10:19 PM
I would do what Hiberni-mum suggests and go out with them, try and stand up-wind from them (to avoid stinking of smoke) and it should maybe make the point to the managers as there won't be anyone in the office to hold the fort!

this is what i have done in previous jobs or go to the drinks machine/kitchen area and take 5 minutes to have a sip of water:greengrin

in one job i had, i kept a note of who, when and how long fag breaks were and by the end of the week i said to my boss that i was away at half three, she looked at me blankly so i showed her my totals and said i was only taking what was due to me since i dont smoke. she looked very puzzled but also pissed off:greengrin the next week i got an extra 15 minutes for my lunch:wink:

03-08-2009, 08:41 PM
A cig every hour seems a bit extreme - we recruited a 40 a day girl a year or two back, got her down to 3-4 a day (plus another in her lunch break) so not done too bad. There again, they have to ask my permission to go and have a cig, so they've been politely told to GTF more than once over the past week or two :thumbsup:

sg7nil
04-08-2009, 12:01 PM
It takes the smokers in my work about 2-3 minutes to walk out of the building each way, before they light up, so their fag breaks tend to last at least 15 minutes. There are a few that seem to believe that they are entitled to a fag every hour too!...

Rips my knitting!!!:grr:

Maybe the business reckon that they'll have the last laugh as they'll get it back when the buggers die and they save on pension payments later?

04-08-2009, 12:08 PM
where i worked previously there was a flexi-time system where everyone had to be "keyed in" between 10am to 11.45am and 2.00pm to 3.30pm and if anyone wanted to take a ciggie break they did it outwith these times and keyed out so they where taking the break on thier own time.

Where i work just now its a 5 hour evening shift where nobody is legally entitled to a break so smokers have to just wait until they finish work and leave the building before they can spark up again.....and if they dont then an ass-whupping is in store :greengrin :rules::devil:

04-08-2009, 12:19 PM
If people knew they weren't getting a cig break they would just get on with it.

04-08-2009, 03:25 PM
where i worked previously there was a flexi-time system where everyone had to be "keyed in" between 10am to 11.45am and 2.00pm to 3.30pm and if anyone wanted to take a ciggie break they did it outwith these times and keyed out so they where taking the break on thier own time.

Where i work just now its a 5 hour evening shift where nobody is legally entitled to a break so smokers have to just wait until they finish work and leave the building before they can spark up again.....and if they dont then an ass-whupping is in store :greengrin :rules::devil:

After 4 hours workers are legally entitled to a 10 min break

04-08-2009, 07:13 PM
After 4 hours workers are legally entitled to a 10 min break

Sorry, that's actually incorrect. You are only entitled to a 20 minute break after working 6 hours, and the break is not to be taken within the first and last hours.

---------- Post added at 08:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:12 PM ----------

If people knew they weren't getting a cig break they would just get on with it.

I actually agree with you (for a change :greengrin). Our staff never used to get fag breaks until we moved to temporary offices and a change of management.

scott7_0(Prague)
06-08-2009, 12:30 PM
I have a staff of around 30 reporting to me and during interviews one of my questions is are you a smoker, this goes against them sometimes when other prospective candidates are non smokers.

06-08-2009, 01:00 PM
I have a staff of around 30 reporting to me and during interviews one of my questions is are you a smoker, this goes against them sometimes when other prospective candidates are non smokers.

Must be a law against that somewhere in the discrimination stuff.

06-08-2009, 01:10 PM

I know this is wrong but if I had my own company and had a receptionist and I had two people come in for an interview, one with short experience, 2-3 years, who dressed well and come over quite well in comparison with someone with 20 years experience, hacket and a big fatty I'd probably go for the first even if the wages were exact same.

Now it would be classed as disrimination because the second person clearly has more experience.

However, how can someone prove that you've not employed them because of their appearance/age? By simply saying that they have more experience and therefore should have got the job?

06-08-2009, 01:12 PM
Companies should be more concerned with workers (use that word loosely) who sit about most of the day pretending that they are busy compiling/editing their Excel spreadsheets etc when in fact they are talking to their chums on messageboards. :wink:

It also the ones who can't work for 5 minutes without stopping to have a natter to their colleagues about what happened on Corrie or Eastenders the previous night they have to monitor more closely.

If you can get your head down and put in a good shift then can't see what the problem is with having a couple/few smoke breaks in the day. You wouldn't stop someone from using the toilet once every hour if they needed to.

Up the smokers. :smokin

Jay
06-08-2009, 01:16 PM
Companies should be more concerned with workers (use that word loosely) who sit about most of the day pretending that they are busy compiling/editing their Excel spreadsheets etc when in fact they are talking to their chums on messageboards. :wink:

It also the ones who can't work for 5 minutes without stopping to have a natter to their colleagues about what happened on Corrie or Eastenders the previous night they have to monitor more closely.

If you can get your head down and put in a good shift then can't see what the problem is with having a couple/few smoke breaks in the day. You wouldn't stop someone from using the toilet once every hour if they needed to.

Up the smokers. :smokin

What about the workers who talk about soap, post on messageboards and smoke?? Or do smokers not do any of the above :greengrin

06-08-2009, 01:24 PM
You should come up with a reason as to why you need to leave the room for 10 minutes every couple of hours or so. Like going to get some fresh air, or getting a drink of water, or getting your eyes off a screen.

If you're sat wringing your hands that your colleagues are away from their desks for a fag break, then you are being a mug.

hibsboy90
06-08-2009, 01:33 PM
You should come up with a reason as to why you need to leave the room for 10 minutes every couple of hours or so. Like going to get some fresh air, or getting a drink of water, or getting your eyes off a screen.

If you're sat wringing your hands that your colleagues are away from their desks for a fag break, then you are being a mug.

Because your being paid to work, not smoke. Thats the way i feel.

06-08-2009, 01:38 PM

One guy I worked with didn't smoke but was always leaving his desk for 10 minutes or so at various times of the day. As we were both involved in the same office task I obviously noticed it more than anybody else. I know it's sad but I calculated that in an 8 hour shift one day he was AWOL for over an hour and a half and he had the cheek to still have an hour for lunch. This was the norm for him but it wasn't really my place to ask him where he was going as I was only temping for the company for about a month.

He could have for all I know have had a week bladder or some other cause for using the toilet at regular interval but in my view that was taking the pish if you get my drift. :grr:

I normally pop out for a smoke 3 or 4 times a day but to compensate the company for my absence I never take a lunch break. :spammy:

BravestHibs
06-08-2009, 01:39 PM
People should be having a go at the managers who let them out so often, not the smokers. If you give a junky smack he'll take it and the same can be said of smokers. I would also say that a 10 minute break every couple of hours is scant consolation when diagnosed with terminal lung cancer. Maybe instead of this envious sniping you should be showing a bit of understanding for these people who sadly find themselves afflicted with the illness that is smoking.

06-08-2009, 02:11 PM

That's fair enough, but the days of being tied to the grindstone are well passed. I think the suggestion to go out with them is a great idea.

06-08-2009, 02:13 PM
People should be having a go at the managers who let them out so often, not the smokers. If you give a junky smack he'll take it and the same can be said of smokers. I would also say that a 10 minute break every couple of hours is scant consolation when diagnosed with terminal lung cancer. Maybe instead of this envious sniping you should be showing a bit of understanding for these people who sadly find themselves afflicted with the illness that is smoking.

Don't try crack = not being a crack head.

Don't try smoking = non smoker

I appreciate people have problems with addiction, I should know, but I wish people wouldn't classify smokers as having an illness. Inevitably they will however.

P.S - I'm a pint and ciggy smoker, not full time.

Jay
06-08-2009, 02:13 PM
That's fair enough, but the days of being tied to the grindstone are well passed. I think the suggestion to go out with them is a great idea.

I think its a horrendous idea. The thought of standing outside in all weathers inhaling second hand smoke and ending up stinking like an auld ashtray appeals even less than being billy nae mates sitting in the office.

06-08-2009, 02:19 PM

I very rarely smoke during the week, but when I did I would probably have a couple of fags during a morning or afternoon. My boss didn't care because he would rather have someone focused on their work than biting their nails and checking the clock every 2 minutes, counting down to their next smoke.

I still do the same now, ie. nip outside to drink a coffee and stretch my legs, as sitting in front of the computer screen all day soon does your head (and your eyes) in.

However, my boss knows that it works both ways - that if we are rushed then I'll come in a bit early and leave late.

It's all about taking a reasonable and adult view of things, though I apprecaite that things couldn't work in the same way in large companies.

06-08-2009, 02:21 PM
I think its a horrendous idea. The thought of standing outside in all weathers inhaling second hand smoke and ending up stinking like an auld ashtray appeals even less than being billy nae mates sitting in the office.

The irony being with me is that I never became a smoker until the smoking ban came in for the above reason. All my mates went out side and would be away for 10/15 mins and I'd be sitting like a spare part. Now I always smoke when drinking.

I know the scenario is different from the workplace as it had never crossed my mind then but it does happen.

06-08-2009, 02:23 PM

Stand down wind!

Has to do something instead of getting an ulcer getting up tight about the smokers. The man's being a victim of his own principles.

Jay
06-08-2009, 02:31 PM
Stand down wind!

Has to do something instead of getting an ulcer getting up tight about the smokers. The man's being a victim of his own principles.

Away!! Standing out in all weathers for no reason?? Even upwind you still stink. The buggars blow it on you when they are talking to you!The answer is for the smokers to be a little less selfish. Split up the fag breaks so that the office is not left with one person in it, take fewer them, surely they can go 2 or 3 hours without a puff? Take their coffee with them so they dont have a coffee break then a fag break.

The upside is that they always owe you a favour though :greengrin

06-08-2009, 02:35 PM
Away!! Standing out in all weathers for no reason?? Even upwind you still stink. The buggars blow it on you when they are talking to you!The answer is for the smokers to be a little less selfish. Split up the fag breaks so that the office is not left with one person in it, take fewer them, surely they can go 2 or 3 hours without a puff? Take their coffee with them so they dont have a coffee break then a fag break.

The upside is that they always owe you a favour though :greengrin

You'd be surprised how many can't.

Jay
06-08-2009, 02:37 PM
You'd be surprised how many can't.

or wont.

I bet if they were told they had to they would. :agree:

06-08-2009, 02:43 PM
or wont.

Possibly, but the chances are that they would lose concentration as well as become a real pain in the hoop to work beside.

Jay
06-08-2009, 02:52 PM
Possibly, but the chances are that they would lose concentration as well as become a real pain in the hoop to work beside.

for a few days/weeks. People dont like change but they get used to it.

scott7_0(Prague)
06-08-2009, 03:25 PM

Find it a fine me :greengrin

No but seriously, which one would you pick if they both had exactly the same experience except one smoked.... ?

06-08-2009, 03:50 PM

No but seriously, which one would you pick if they both had exactly the same experience except one smoked.... ?

The girl with the biggest... :faf:

06-08-2009, 07:00 PM
or wont.

:agree: What do they do when they go on holiday? Do smokers limit themselves to Magaluf so the flight's only a couple of hours?

Surely they can't manage all the way to America without a fag?

06-08-2009, 07:16 PM
:agree: What do they do when they go on holiday? Do smokers limit themselves to Magaluf so the flight's only a couple of hours?

Nae problem. Mind you I was sleeping half the time due to the excess booze pre flight and in flight.

06-08-2009, 08:43 PM

:agree: Exactly - it's all in the head that they need a fag every 2 to 3 hours. When the opportunity is not there to smoke, then they don't. If you give them the opportunity - then they will take it.

06-08-2009, 08:45 PM

I'd pick the one with the biggest knockers :greengrin

I'm not the only one :faf:

Jay
06-08-2009, 09:05 PM
:agree: Exactly - it's all in the head that they need a fag every 2 to 3 hours. When the opportunity is not there to smoke, then they don't. If you give them the opportunity - then they will take it.

Which is fair enough but they then also have to accept that if they are given fair opportunity (on official breaks) they should accept that too. Nobody is asking people to give up smoking. They have every right to smoke (in their own time :greengrin)

06-08-2009, 11:12 PM

I'd take the one that could prove she didn't have pmt.

06-08-2009, 11:17 PM
I'd take the one that could prove she didn't have pmt.

I'm going to get panned for this :duck: but who cares :greengrin , is there a point in a womans life when she stops getting pmt or does it just manifest itself in other ways, like having to get hrt :confused:

Simple solution, choose the bloke :thumbsup:

07-08-2009, 11:51 PM

I have a staff of around 31. But I treat them like adults.

08-08-2009, 12:06 AM

:agree: Never heard so much ****** as grading someones abillity of doing a job because they smoke. Unless it's a job for a fitness instructor etc but if it's just sitting at a computer all day banging away on a keyboard then what does it matter. Whose to say that the non smoker won't be hopping off to the toilet every half hour for a pee. Maybe include "Do you have a weak bladder" to the "Do you smoke" to the interrogation process of the interview.

Discrimination. :grr:

Jay
08-08-2009, 07:28 AM
:agree: Never heard so much ****** as grading someones abillity of doing a job because they smoke. Unless it's a job for a fitness instructor etc but if it's just sitting at a computer all day banging away on a keyboard then what does it matter. Whose to say that the non smoker won't be hopping off to the toilet every half hour for a pee. Maybe include "Do you have a weak bladder" to the "Do you smoke" to the interrogation process of the interview.

Discrimination. :grr:

I agree, not that I have ever employed anybody, but their smoking or non smoking wouldn't be a factor if I did but then again apparently to some on this thread a way a woman looks affects the job too.

08-08-2009, 08:51 AM
I am self-employed, but I would take exception if I had to do extra work to cover the weakness and self-indulgence of some minging drug addict. I'd make it a condition of employment not to have any smokers in the workplace as they obviously can't be relied upon to pull their weight and get on with the job without feeding their filthy habit every few minutes.

08-08-2009, 10:17 AM

And is it not discrimination FOR smokers when they get more breaks?

Totally ridiculous - add up these extra breaks over a year, and you're talking a fair bit of time :agree:

08-08-2009, 10:23 AM
And is it not discrimination FOR smokers when they get more breaks?

Totally ridiculous - add up these extra breaks over a year, and you're talking a fair bit of time :agree:

There seems to be rules covering the rights of all sorts of skiving for drink, drug and religious problems so a wee fag break doesn't do that much harm to the company.

08-08-2009, 10:29 AM
There seems to be rules covering the rights of all sorts of skiving for drink, drug and religious problems so a wee fag break doesn't do that much harm to the company.

Maybe a 'wee' fag break is fine, 15 minutes every 1-2 hours isn't though, IMO.

scott7_0(Prague)
09-08-2009, 08:36 AM

And so do I, :agree:

But when you have half your staff working a 40hour week and the smokers are pulling in 30+ then is that fair.

09-08-2009, 01:30 PM
Maybe a 'wee' fag break is fine, 15 minutes every 1-2 hours isn't though, IMO.

15 minutes to smoke a ciggie. C'mon now time to get real. Based on your figures smokers are doing their employers out of 1 to 2 hours a day. Don't think so.

09-08-2009, 01:32 PM
15 minutes to smoke a ciggie. C'mon now time to get real. Based on your figures smokers are doing their employers out of 1 to 2 hours a day. Don't think so.

It's probably about 10 minutes - couple of minutes there and back plus 5 minutes to smoke and have a blether.

09-08-2009, 02:29 PM
It's probably about 10 minutes - couple of minutes there and back plus 5 minutes to smoke and have a blether.

There in lies the problem for me, it's not just about the fag. They want to be able to stand and talk for 10-15 mins as well.

Smoke the fag if they want, but is that what they really want or need?

09-08-2009, 04:01 PM

If my staff want a fag break they need to take it during there lunch break!

Do they have to stand wringing their caps while addressing you ?

My Staff:faf:

09-08-2009, 04:24 PM
I very rarely smoke during the week, but when I did I would probably have a couple of fags during a morning or afternoon. My boss didn't care because he would rather have someone focused on their work than biting their nails and checking the clock every 2 minutes, counting down to their next smoke.

I still do the same now, ie. nip outside to drink a coffee and stretch my legs, as sitting in front of the computer screen all day soon does your head (and your eyes) in.

However, my boss knows that it works both ways - that if we are rushed then I'll come in a bit early and leave late.

It's all about taking a reasonable and adult view of things, though I apprecaite that things couldn't work in the same way in large companies.

im a smoker, i smoke quite a lot TBH. I know its bad for me.
at work im contracted to start at 9am lunch at 12.30-13.30 and finish 5.15pm
I have a fag break in the morning and one in the afternoon (sometimes two depending on how stressed I get) but I am always in half an hour before 9 and never away before half five.
my boss (a non smoker) has no issue with it at all, cos I dont take the p*s* and they always owe me more than I owe them.
its funny cos the only people in my office who complain about the smoke breaks are the ones who spend all day on the next directory come in dead on 9 and away at 5.15 on the dot, having started to pack up at 5pm before 10mins in the ladies.
up the smokers:greengrin

09-08-2009, 04:40 PM
I have a fag break in the morning and one in the afternoon (sometimes two depending on how stressed I get) but I am always in half an hour before 9 and never away before half five.
my boss (a non smoker) has no issue with it at all, cos I dont take the p*s* and they always owe me more than I owe them.
its funny cos the only people in my office who complain about the smoke breaks are the ones who spend all day on the next directory come in dead on 9 and away at 5.15 on the dot, having started to pack up at 5pm before 10mins in the ladies.

And smoking actually increases your heart rate and does not "calm you down" - but that's a whole other topic.

09-08-2009, 04:46 PM
And smoking actually increases your heart rate and does not "calm you down" - but that's a whole other topic.

medically your are right mate, but in my mucked up head it helps:dizzy:

09-08-2009, 06:30 PM
medically your are right mate, but in my mucked up head it helps:dizzy:

It is fear that keeps smokers hooked!
Fear the smoker will have to give up their pleasure or crutch. Fear the smoker will be unable to enjoy life or handle stress. Fear the smoker will have to go through an awful trauma to get free. Fear the smoker will never get completely free from the craving.

That's why it's a drug, it alters your rational thoughts and tubes you into wanting more. That's why it doesn't matter how many health warning you see or hear, you will not stop until you decide enough is enough and that you can live without it.

10-08-2009, 12:09 AM

Well people I have known take about 15 mins - 5 minutes to get outside to the smoking area, 5-10 mins smoking and chatting, and another 5 to slowly wander back inside and start work again.

10-08-2009, 12:24 AM
Well people I have known take about 15 mins - 5 minutes to get outside to the smoking area, 5-10 mins smoking and chatting, and another 5 to slowly wander back inside and start work again.

That is excessive then and I can't imagine that many employers wouldn't have a word with their workers if they were going AWOL for 15 minutes at a time. I can be outside, have a smoke and back working within 5 minutes. Nae time for chatting just :smokin:smokin:smokin:smokin:smokin:smokin:smokin

The point I was trying to make is that if you don't abuse the system then I can't see what the problem is by having 2 or 3 quick smoke breaks a day. Personally I have generally giving up my lunch break so I don't feel guilty when I pop out for a smoke.

10-08-2009, 09:23 AM
Folk must be fairly tragic to get worked up about someone having a cigarette every now and again. I say this as an ex-smoker and someone who has been in charge of large teams and projects whilst both a smoker and not.

Do you get equally upset when someone comes in with a touch of a hangover? What about if a colleague's child is ill and they have to work from home or take compassionate leave?

If folk are confident that their grievances are real, report it to HR and then get on with your own job.

10-08-2009, 10:26 AM
These smoking debates raise their head at my work too. I smoke.

They generally run along the lines of Nazism where a group of workers is singled out for ‘special’ treatment, not always smokers.

So lets just suppose there was no smoking in the workplace, anywhere. People would find something to complain about; the people who take too long in the toilets; the folk who stand in the corridor and have seemingly unending conversations; the folk who take too long for their coffee breaks; the folk from other cultures who seem to work in a different way; flings in the odd 'sickie'; folk who sometimes wander off into wee daydreams; chat about the weekend / recent holiday; the folk who work slower than their colleagues; the folk who just seem incompetent at their jobs and the list could go on and on. Is everyone still innocent? No, I didn’t think so!

So aye, in a perfect world everyone would be the same and do the same, except to me, as a worker, it would be far from perfect. To me it’s the sociality and diversity of the workplace that makes an organisation either good to work for or not.

If everyone is doing what they're supposed to towards the companys aim and its not the employees productivity / contribution / meeting deadlines that’s in question, what's the problem?

10-08-2009, 12:46 PM

They generally run along the lines of Nazism where a group of workers is singled out for ‘special’ treatment, not always smokers.

So lets just suppose there was no smoking in the workplace, anywhere. People would find something to complain about; the people who take too long in the toilets; the folk who stand in the corridor and have seemingly unending conversations; the folk who take too long for their coffee breaks; the folk from other cultures who seem to work in a different way; flings in the odd 'sickie'; folk who sometimes wander off into wee daydreams; chat about the weekend / recent holiday; the folk who work slower than their colleagues; the folk who just seem incompetent at their jobs and the list could go on and on. Is everyone still innocent? No, I didn’t think so!

So aye, in a perfect world everyone would be the same and do the same, except to me, as a worker, it would be far from perfect. To me it’s the sociality and diversity of the workplace that makes an organisation either good to work for or not.

If everyone is doing what they're supposed to towards the companys aim and its not the employees productivity / contribution / meeting deadlines that’s in question, what's the problem?

The bit that I've highlighted above Jack is the problem in my work. The bosses at my place don't want any of the above to go on and I feel like either Hitler or a schoolteacher getting on to a bunch of kids sometimes. It does my head in.

10-08-2009, 01:45 PM

That's the thing. I've worked beside heavy, heavy smokers who maybe took 30 minutes out a day to smoke but contributed much more than the average punter who didn't leave their desk all day.

It's like the myth that folk who work 9 hours a day must be harder workers than the ones that just do their hours every day. It's nonsense.

Billie Jo
11-08-2009, 09:02 PM
That is excessive then and I can't imagine that many employers wouldn't have a word with their workers if they were going AWOL for 15 minutes at a time. I can be outside, have a smoke and back working within 5 minutes. Nae time for chatting just :smokin:smokin:smokin:smokin:smokin:smokin:smokin

The point I was trying to make is that if you don't abuse the system then I can't see what the problem is by having 2 or 3 quick smoke breaks a day. Personally I have generally giving up my lunch break so I don't feel guilty when I pop out for a smoke.

Folk must be fairly tragic to get worked up about someone having a cigarette every now and again. I say this as an ex-smoker and someone who has been in charge of large teams and projects whilst both a smoker and not.

Do you get equally upset when someone comes in with a touch of a hangover? What about if a colleague's child is ill and they have to work from home or take compassionate leave?

If folk are confident that their grievances are real, report it to HR and then get on with your own job.

---------- Post added at 10:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:00 PM ----------

The bit that I've highlighted above Jack is the problem in my work. The bosses at my place don't want any of the above to go on and I feel like either Hitler or a schoolteacher getting on to a bunch of kids sometimes. It does my head in.

FFS:dummytit:

Chill oot and get a smoke :smokin

Ally
12-08-2009, 10:51 AM
Start smoking. Problem solved.

12-08-2009, 12:18 PM

While I would be willing to bet you work for Scottish Gas* I didn't know they had any call centres up your way????

* Note to young adults leaving school - having worked around Edinburgh since I left school in 1974 and having hunners of pals, mates, acquaintances and random meetings with folks who have worked in hunners of places I have never ever come across anywhere where the working conditions the ordinary employee works under is so draconian / bad as they are now at Scottish Gas. Please feel free to pass this on to all your friends and keep it our wee secret from yams :wink:

12-08-2009, 07:47 PM

Bingo.

12-08-2009, 09:18 PM
While I would be willing to bet you work for Scottish Gas* I didn't know they had any call centres up your way????

* Note to young adults leaving school - having worked around Edinburgh since I left school in 1974 and having hunners of pals, mates, acquaintances and random meetings with folks who have worked in hunners of places I have never ever come across anywhere where the working conditions the ordinary employee works under is so draconian / bad as they are now at Scottish Gas. Please feel free to pass this on to all your friends and keep it our wee secret from yams :wink:

Guess what? I don't work for Scottish Gas. I work for a FTSE100 Investment Company.
Here's one of their typical belters. We moved into a brand spanking new purposely built building in the last couple of months and we had a little "do" to officially open the building which took place after work for a couple of hours. In our department, we were told (as managers) to speak to our staff and tell them it was not a party, not to make fools of themselves in front of the rest of the company, not to drink themselves stupid, not to go back upstairs once the "do" had started, not to go outside with glasses and to be out of the building by 8pm. Draconian? You decide.

13-08-2009, 03:10 PM
Guess what? I don't work for Scottish Gas. I work for a FTSE100 Investment Company.
Here's one of their typical belters. We moved into a brand spanking new purposely built building in the last couple of months and we had a little "do" to officially open the building which took place after work for a couple of hours. In our department, we were told (as managers) to speak to our staff and tell them it was not a party, not to make fools of themselves in front of the rest of the company, not to drink themselves stupid, not to go back upstairs once the "do" had started, not to go outside with glasses and to be out of the building by 8pm. Draconian? You decide.

I wouldn't say draconian.

In the existing climate and the extremely bad press going around could you imagine if someone went back upstairs, was reeking, fell and broke 2 of the new computers etc. It'd be in the press, X company has staff jolly in multimillion pound new building pissing away your money etc.

I appreciate there are levels of treating people like adults but sometimes strict measures need to be taken. I agree it's **** for the staff but they're protecting the company image IMO.

Anyway, who wants to go out with their work colleagues past 8pm. :LOL: You not got your own mates? :greengrin

13-08-2009, 08:55 PM
I wouldn't say draconian.

In the existing climate and the extremely bad press going around could you imagine if someone went back upstairs, was reeking, fell and broke 2 of the new computers etc. It'd be in the press, X company has staff jolly in multimillion pound new building pissing away your money etc.

I appreciate there are levels of treating people like adults but sometimes strict measures need to be taken. I agree it's **** for the staff but they're protecting the company image IMO.

Anyway, who wants to go out with their work colleagues past 8pm. :LOL: You not got your own mates? :greengrin

Fair point but they do treat the staff like kids sometimes.

And yes, I do have my own mates, that's why I never went to the "do". I told my boss to poke it and went home. Rebel that I am. :devil:

13-08-2009, 09:00 PM
And yes, I do have my own mates, that's why I never went to the "do". I told my boss to poke it and went home. Rebel that I am. :devil:

:shocked: And did he take you up on the offer?

13-08-2009, 09:13 PM

No she didn't. :cool2:

14-08-2009, 10:08 AM
Fair point but they do treat the staff like kids sometimes.

Nice :greengrin

I generally find in a workplace that you'll have two, maybe 3 people that you'd be mates with outside of work but generally you're just in a job with a random bunch of people of different ages and interest and nothing much in common. It can make lunches, away days etc extremely boring :yawn:

BravestHibs
14-08-2009, 10:31 AM

Tesco have call centres in Dundee. I can also say from experience when I worked there as a student that they give a fair indication as to the general conditions in the city they are situated in.

That would be **** in case you were wondering.

14-08-2009, 11:46 AM
I work for the NHS and as far as I am aware, it is up to the manager whether fag breaks are permitted.

I don't really have much of a problem at work considering we are entitled to a half hour lunch and a 5 minute break at 10 and then 3 in the afternoon.

I understand the original posters frustration as I would be extremely annoyed if I was in his position (ahem, and a non-smoker :rolleyes:). doesn't seem like theres much you can do though considering your boss is a smoker and hes the one who is asking you to do things for him when everyone else is enjoying a break.

Next time he asks you to go fetch somethnig for him whilst everyone else is on a break just say, eh sorry, I'll get it in a minute after my break.

It can't do much harm and shouldn't get his/her back up.

Marabou Stork
14-08-2009, 02:35 PM

Wrong.

For a nicotine addict, the release of nicotine into the bloodstream has been shown to reduce stress. For a non-smoker, a cigarette does nothing, but for an addict, it definitely does have a calming effect.

14-08-2009, 04:44 PM
Wrong.

For a nicotine addict, the release of nicotine into the bloodstream has been shown to reduce stress. For a non-smoker, a cigarette does nothing, but for an addict, it definitely does have a calming effect.

Wrong. :greengrin

It may have a calming effect but here's something I've found:

Heart

From the moment smoke reaches your lungs, your heart is forced to work harder. Your pulse quickens, forcing your heart to beat an extra 10 to 25 times per minute, as many as 36,000 additional times per day.
Because of the irritating effect of nicotine and other components of tobacco smoke, your heartbeat is more likely to be irregular. This can contribute to cardiac arrhythmia, and many other serious coronary conditions, such as heart attack. A recent Surgeon General’s report estimated that about 170,000 heart attacks each year are caused by smoking.

Therefore, your HR does increase.

Marabou Stork
14-08-2009, 06:14 PM

Heart

From the moment smoke reaches your lungs, your heart is forced to work harder. Your pulse quickens, forcing your heart to beat an extra 10 to 25 times per minute, as many as 36,000 additional times per day.
Because of the irritating effect of nicotine and other components of tobacco smoke, your heartbeat is more likely to be irregular. This can contribute to cardiac arrhythmia, and many other serious coronary conditions, such as heart attack. A recent Surgeon General’s report estimated that about 170,000 heart attacks each year are caused by smoking.

I didn't say your heart rate didn't increase.

I merely contested the point that a cigarette does not calm one's nerves.

14-08-2009, 08:22 PM
Wrong.

Heart

Thank you for confirming this. :nerd:

I didn't say your heart rate didn't increase.

I merely contested the point that a cigarette does not calm one's nerves.

Your heart rate increasing and being calm don't really go hand in hand, do they?
It's all in your head that the cigarette calms you down. That's the hold it has over you.

---------- Post added at 09:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:20 PM ----------

Tesco have call centres in Dundee. I can also say from experience when I worked there as a student that they give a fair indication as to the general conditions in the city they are situated in.

That would be **** in case you were wondering.
:yawn: