View Full Version : New licensing laws

27-07-2009, 09:47 AM
Was out for a few pints at my local last night (the sheep heid) and was talking to the bar staff, they were telling me about the new licensing laws that are coming in, (i think from the 1st September) and they've got me worried, no more drink promotions, can't buy carry outs from the pub after 10pm and strict regulations about the number of people in a pub at any one time. I know my local will only be effected when the beer festival is on but from what they were saying i imagine a few pubs on easter road will probably be effected on match day.

I've got two questions regarding this, firstly, are there any positives to come from this change that the bar staff weren't mentioning? and secondly, is it only the pub trade thats effected by these changes or will supermarkets and off licences now be banned from drink promotions as well?

27-07-2009, 10:00 AM
Was out for a few pints at my local last night (the sheep heid) and was talking to the bar staff, they were telling me about the new licensing laws that are coming in, (i think from the 1st September) and they've got me worried, no more drink promotions, can't buy carry outs from the pub after 10pm and strict regulations about the number of people in a pub at any one time. I know my local will only be effected when the beer festival is on but from what they were saying i imagine a few pubs on easter road will probably be effected on match day.

I've got two questions regarding this, firstly, are there any positives to come from this change that the bar staff weren't mentioning? and secondly, is it only the pub trade thats effected by these changes or will supermarkets and off licences now be banned from drink promotions as well?

Perhaps, as a non-drinker, I'm slightly biased, but:

I think it's a good move, but perhaps slightly blunt edged. The reasons for introducing these regulations is to eradicate binge drinkers, which, these promotions aid in by offering a cheap avenue to drink. It allows your average knuckle-dragger to go out, drink their weight in alcohol, cause trouble en route home and then bore everyone for the duration of the week bragging about how "...they can remember nothing about their weekend".

However, if people are going to binge drink, they will do it regardless to any offers at their local pubs/supermarkets/off licenses. It's not tackling the root issue, which is a culture where binge drinking is acceptable.

Don't get me wrong, even though I chose not to drink (very odd for a 23y/o student), I don't think any less of those who go out and have a couple of drinks in a social environment and enjoy themselves, and I can see how this move (particularly in the midst of the "Credit Crunch") will impact them. But if this acts as a deterrent to underage/young drinkers who have no aim other than to "get reekin'", then I think it's a great idea.

27-07-2009, 10:53 AM
Maybe not directly related but pubs really get on my tits.

They moan that the supermarkets are taking away their trade by selling alcohol cheap.

The reason I don't go to the pub that much is because the pubs are too expensive. Why the **** do I want to pay £2.70 (local) / £3.50 (town) for a pint (that tastes like watered down pish) or £2.30 (local) / £3million quid (with Smirnoff in town) for a vodka and dash when I can buy 24 cans for £12-£15 (well about 6 months ago) and a bottle of Vodka (with 30 odd nips) for £11 and a £1 bottle of juice. :grr::grr::grr:

The supermarkets have already started to cash in as I've noticed an increase in carry out prices, no doubt in anticipation of mimimum pricing.

Who'd have thought that one day people will end up going over the border for a cheap carry out (unless England bring in minimum pricing at the same time).

P.S can anyone tell me where to go for all these cheap deals that are always reported? I've not been to a pub since I can remember that's had all of these promotions everyone is hysterical about. The only time I've known of getting them is during the week and not at weekends when most people are out.

P.P.S who can afford to buy a carry out from a pub anyway!

27-07-2009, 10:57 AM
All licencing outlets are affected.

In terms of a pub, you must produce an operating plan which outlines everything which will happen on your premises.

It includes issues such as capacity, door staff etc. Even minute details such as gaming machines must be included.

in terms of drinks promos; you are not allowed to change the price of alcohol more than once in 72 hours, therefore happy hours are gone.

As I understand it, carryouts are covered in the operating plan, therefore your local may have decided to state they intend to stop doing them at 10pm. It may have made it easier for them to get approval for their licence.

Re Easter Road; these pubs will have included the match as special events and will have outlined increased capacity on these days as a factor.

JE89
27-07-2009, 11:00 AM

I do various bar work shifts and had a training thing about this.
It does affect supermarkets etc. Places like Peckhams etc that are open til 11 are no longer allowed. Apparently pubs that stay open later/ open early ie one or two on Leith Walk - is also a no no.
No more happy hour, if a bar/club changes a drink price - it has to remain that price for 72 hours. Buy one get one free will be illegal as will drinks that are intended to be drank quickly - therefore (the women given the training wasn't 100% sure about what that interprets) but the basic idea was no shots, shooters, test tube thingys. No £1.50 drinks before 11.30 etc No fun basically
The ONLY upside is that supermarkets can sell alcohol from 10 on a Sunday.

If this is an attempt to stop binge drinking, it won't help things. If it is intended to stop underage drinking it won't help - why punish those who attend pubs/clubs for underagers?

In 2008 over 2000 pubs closed - this won't help one bit. Scotland has a binge drinking culture because of the strict laws that are enforced. Look at Europe, kids are given wine from a young age and drink socially. Again IMO this will make things worse. Scotland will probably always have a binge culture IMO - face it.

These laws are only for Scotland so aren't for England, Wales or NI.

Sturgeon get to *****, Sturgeon, Sturgeon get to ***** :greengrin

27-07-2009, 11:07 AM
All licencing outlets are affected.

In terms of a pub, you must produce an operating plan which outlines everything which will happen on your premises.

It includes issues such as capacity, door staff etc. Even minute details such as gaming machines must be included.

in terms of drinks promos; you are not allowed to change the price of alcohol more than once in 72 hours, therefore happy hours are gone.

As I understand it, carryouts are covered in the operating plan, therefore your local may have decided to state they intend to stop doing them at 10pm. It may have made it easier for them to get approval for their licence.

Re Easter Road; these pubs will have included the match as special events and will have outlined increased capacity on these days as a factor.

Private clubs - eg golf, bowling aren't affected 100%. No need for personal licence etc but promos, 10pm etc ..

Totally, uninteresting fact - I am a personal licence-holder .. Did the course a few weeks back.

Given test was on alcohol it was no surprise that I passed - but the shock is I only got 39 out of 40 marks! :greengrin

27-07-2009, 11:47 AM
Private clubs - eg golf, bowling aren't affected 100%. No need for personal licence etc but promos, 10pm etc ..

Totally, uninteresting fact - I am a personal licence-holder .. Did the course a few weeks back.

Given test was on alcohol it was no surprise that I passed - but the shock is I only got 39 out of 40 marks! :greengrin

What do you mean by private clubs? Gorgie Mills seems to think it will be affected.

27-07-2009, 11:57 AM

They still need to produce an operating plan I think G.

27-07-2009, 12:02 PM
I really don't want to go into the ins and outs of this but basically no shots/whatever at clubs from then?

What a complete joke.

27-07-2009, 12:24 PM
I really don't want to go into the ins and outs of this but basically no shots/whatever at clubs from then?

What a complete joke.

If that's the case then sales of tequilla etc will prob go through the roof meaning people are even more tanked up before they go out. Therefore, they won't be able to get in for being too drunk and will spend even less money in pubs.

Are adults allowed to make any decisions for themselves nowadays?

Get the drinking age up to 21.

27-07-2009, 12:29 PM
People have been getting drunk ever since they found out they could. Politicians will not change this no matter what they do.

27-07-2009, 12:35 PM
If that's the case then sales of tequilla etc will prob go through the roof meaning people are even more tanked up before they go out. Therefore, they won't be able to get in for being too drunk and will spend even less money in pubs.

At least 60-70% of clubs in town will be empty most weekends if the age goes up to 21.

Of course this not an actual fact, more of an estimate.

27-07-2009, 01:01 PM
At least 60-70% of clubs in town will be empty most weekends if the age goes up to 21.

Of course this not an actual fact, more of an estimate.

Fair point.

It just pisses me off that I have to pay more for a peeve cos some daft ***** can't handle theirs :grr:

27-07-2009, 01:05 PM
I heard that after september it will be possible to prosecute underagers who attempt to buy alcohol - just now they just get rejected and any blame for sales is on the seller.

Can anyone confirm this? I can't remember where i heard it/if it was a dream. :greengrin

27-07-2009, 01:09 PM
I heard that after september it will be possible to prosecute underagers who attempt to buy alcohol - just now they just get rejected and any blame for sales is on the seller.

Can anyone confirm this? I can't remember where i heard it/if it was a dream. :greengrin

I think you may have read that people have been prosecuted for attempting to access licensed premises with fake IDs..

When I was younger I thought a fake ID was harmless and just used for trying to get into pubs. It was reported that youngsters are being charged with ID fraud which can put travel restrictions on them i.e America.

27-07-2009, 01:17 PM
my mum used to work in the sheep heid, nice wee pub it is - is the food still good? :greengrin

27-07-2009, 01:22 PM
I think you may have read that people have been prosecuted for attempting to access licensed premises with fake IDs..

When I was younger I thought a fake ID was harmless and just used for trying to get into pubs. It was reported that youngsters are being charged with ID fraud which can put travel restrictions on them i.e America.

ahhh, i see.

Thanks for clearing that up then. :thumbsup:

27-07-2009, 01:25 PM

Getting a fake I.D and trying to get into places your no supposed to is all part of growing up, as much as it's frustrating and bloody annoying to have a bunch of 17 year olds in the same pub as you it'd be a shame if they clamp down on it too much.

If they keep everyone under 18 wrapped in cotton wool away from alcohol what do they really think will happen as soon as these kids turn 18? Of course they'll abuse it.

27-07-2009, 02:50 PM

What do you mean by private clubs? Gorgie Mills seems to think it will be affected.

Act reads:

There are certain aspects of the Licensing (scotland) Act 2005 whcih do not apply to members clubs, such as:

- The overprovision assessment

- The requirement for a premises manager to be named or included within th operatng plan

- the requirement of a personal licence holder to authorise the sale of alcohol under a premises or an occasional licence

A private club does not need a personal licence holder - the club is expected to operate within the law eg 10am - 10pm regs apply and the club's staff are expected to be aware of the operating laws etc.

However, the obligations on a private club are not and nowhere near as onerous as those for a public bar/club etc.

27-07-2009, 03:10 PM
If this isn't the answer, how do we tackle Scotland's chronic problem with alcohol? It costs us a fortune every year, and causes so much misery.

I don't suppose anyone else would agree that banning booze and legalising all other drugs is the answer.

goosano
27-07-2009, 03:19 PM
I read that sales will not be allowed on any day at supermarkets before 10am. Shame as I usually scoot round early on Saturday to get the weekend shopping and a couple of bottles of wine

27-07-2009, 04:51 PM
I read that sales will not be allowed on any day at supermarkets before 10am. Shame as I usually scoot round early on Saturday to get the weekend shopping and a couple of bottles of wine

Aye 10am until 10pm(including Sunday which is currently 12.30pm)

hibeenicol
27-07-2009, 05:17 PM

This annoys me as well that you can go and fight for your country in afghanistan when your 16, But when your back home you cannae have a smoke or a drink to chill out:bitchy:

27-07-2009, 05:32 PM
This annoys me as well that you can go and fight for your country in afghanistan when your 16, But when your back home you cannae have a smoke or a drink to chill out:bitchy:

That's why I said I changed my mind below :bitchy:

I don't have the answers but the alcohol laws are really getting on my tits. I'm nearly 24 and get ID'd for 8 ****ing cans by some little piss ant in Tesco / Scotmid etc etc.

hibsboy90
27-07-2009, 05:49 PM
I'm a personal license holder as well, got the license through the post about a month back, yet last week had to have a police interview - in order to "activate the license". By what the officers were telling me, they are frantically trying to catch up with the councils dishing out the licenses. The act mentions that the police have 30 days in which to intervene with an application, but nothing regarding all applicants needing a police interview. Not entirely sure what the situation is regarding why they needed to know about my schooling, degree etc.

The act is vague though, nothing about shots being banned though.

The license will be used heavily at the nightclub in Aberdeen i work at, but my local golf club (where i work at during uni holidays) are claiming to be exempt. However it's open to the public, hosting weddings every few weekends, far from what the lawmakers envisaged a 'private club' to entail.

The cheap deals are definately there to be found, go into the city centre sunday - thursday, and it will be easy to find £1 vodkas in a couple of places. In Aberdeen, 75p vodka or sourz is the norm midweek, with 80p nights at clubs.

There is definately an alcohol problem in Scotland, but i'm not sure how this will help it. Seems more to me that the authorities are passing the buck (responsibility) onto the premises to do the policing.

27-07-2009, 06:01 PM
I'm a personal license holder as well, got the license through the post about a month back, yet last week had to have a police interview - in order to "activate the license". By what the officers were telling me, they are frantically trying to catch up with the councils dishing out the licenses. The act mentions that the police have 30 days in which to intervene with an application, but nothing regarding all applicants needing a police interview. Not entirely sure what the situation is regarding why they needed to know about my schooling, degree etc.

The act is vague though, nothing about shots being banned though.

The license will be used heavily at the nightclub in Aberdeen i work at, but my local golf club (where i work at during uni holidays) are claiming to be exempt. However it's open to the public, hosting weddings every few weekends, far from what the lawmakers envisaged a 'private club' to entail.

The cheap deals are definately there to be found, go into the city centre sunday - thursday, and it will be easy to find £1 vodkas in a couple of places. In Aberdeen, 75p vodka or sourz is the norm midweek, with 80p nights at clubs.

There is definately an alcohol problem in Scotland, but i'm not sure how this will help it. Seems more to me that the authorities are passing the buck (responsibility) onto the premises to do the policing.

They're nae good to someone who can't turn up at work stinking of drink / has football training / 5s during the week. :grr::grr::grr:

Happy hours for weekends :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

27-07-2009, 06:02 PM
Sturgeon get to *****, Sturgeon, Sturgeon get to ***** :greengrin

I think you'll find a lot of this is MacAskill, although as health secretary Sturgeon is also heavily involved.

Supermarkets will only be able to sell alcohol in the designated alcohol aisle. No end of aisle/front door promotions any more.

Only time will tell if this is the answer, but fair play to the SNP for actually having the balls to try and tackle a problem that costs us a fortune each year.

27-07-2009, 06:08 PM

Not true.

Edinburgh Licensing Board have made it clear there is no distinction between match days and non-match days so the capacity will be the same for both.

27-07-2009, 06:12 PM
Not true.

Edinburgh Licensing Board have made it clear there is no distinction between match days and non-match days so the capacity will be the same for both.

Can they not just say there is an increased capacity all the time?

How can people accurately predict their customer in a dying trade and during a recession :grr:

27-07-2009, 06:18 PM
I know my local will only be effected when the beer festival is on but from what they were saying i imagine a few pubs on easter road will probably be effected on match day.

Wow! That's another for the grammar thread. :greengrin

27-07-2009, 06:22 PM
Wow! That's another for the grammar thread. :greengrin

when i saw that thread i realised just how much i must get on peoples tits on here :greengrin

JE89
27-07-2009, 06:42 PM
That's why I said I changed my mind below :bitchy:

I don't have the answers but the alcohol laws are really getting on my tits. I'm nearly 24 and get ID'd for 8 ****ing cans by some little piss ant in Tesco / Scotmid etc etc.

Cry me a river. Why do you care? Most supermarkets operate think 25, meaning that if you look under 25 you get ID'd.

Also under the new laws even with ten forms of ID, completely sober, the person selling alcohol can still refuse you - that it is a joke - we'll get people who will surely abuse this?

27-07-2009, 06:43 PM
Can they not just say there is an increased capacity all the time?

In their infinate wisdom, Edinburgh Board (along with Glasgow) have decided to base the capacities of licensed premises after 1st September on a combination of the square footage of the trading area and the number of male and female toilets they have.

So there will be big pubs with small provision of toilets that could have a capacity of 3-400 on August 31st and 80 (or less) on the 1st September.

Also under the new laws even with ten forms of ID, completely sober, the person selling alcohol can still refuse you - that it is a joke - we'll get people who will surely abuse this?

They can do that under the current laws if they want

27-07-2009, 06:45 PM
Cry me a river. Why do you care? Most supermarkets operate think 25, meaning that if you look under 25 you get ID'd.

That's a farcical rule. If you can prove you're over 18 you shoud be served. Same goes for the SNP rule of you can buy a beer in a pub if you're 18 but not in the offy next door!

27-07-2009, 09:32 PM
It's all bollocks. A family member of mine works in a shop and they had some licensing person down for a visit, basically if a cashier acidentally sells a 17 year old a few cans of tennants they can get upto a £5000 fine aswell as a criminal record! Fk working in a shop. You wouldn't get that much a fine if you wacked the same person in the face.

McAskill and his cronies couldn't get any further away if they got on a plane. Do they really think charging £2.50 instead of £1.50 for a voddy coke is going to change anything? Do they think people won't drink 'cos I need to go to a special checkout? Or selling it 10am - 10pm, what difference does that make?

Scotland does have a drink problem, granted, if you ask me these measures are going to do heehaw about it. Instead of getting to the root of the problem such as the parents allowing their kids to get pished or teaching youths and adults how to enjoy bevvy socialable, all their doing is punishing the majority who go out every weekend, get a good bevvy and a laugh then go home.....

Hannah_hfc
27-07-2009, 09:46 PM
It's all bollocks. A family member of mine works in a shop and they had some licensing person down for a visit, basically if a cashier acidentally sells a 17 year old a few cans of tennants they can get upto a £5000 fine aswell as a criminal record! Fk working in a shop. You wouldn't get that much a fine if you wacked the same person in the face.

McAskill and his cronies couldn't get any further away if they got on a plane. Do they really think charging £2.50 instead of £1.50 for a voddy coke is going to change anything? Do they think people won't drink 'cos I need to go to a special checkout? Or selling it 10am - 10pm, what difference does that make?

Scotland does have a drink problem, granted, if you ask me these measures are going to do heehaw about it. Instead of getting to the root of the problem such as the parents allowing their kids to get pished or teaching youths and adults how to enjoy bevvy socialable, all their doing is punishing the majority who go out every weekend, get a good bevvy and a laugh then go home.....

Spot on :top marks

The more restrictive measures are introduced the more its going to get worse imo...and for the record I think it will take a very very long time to change attitudes aswell as going out and getting bevied has become part of British culture so much so that increased prices, less drinking time...even increasing the age limit, will do very little to combat this.

27-07-2009, 09:56 PM
Spot on :top marks

The more restrictive measures are introduced the more its going to get worse imo...and for the record I think it will take a very very long time to change attitudes aswell as going out and getting bevied has become part of British culture so much so that increased prices, less drinking time...even increasing the age limit, will do very little to combat this.

How do you combat a problem like this then? Something needs done, and it needs done now. Only time will tell if this will be successful. I am assuming that the government have made these radical changes based on evidence/listening to people that study the affects of alcohol misuse.

On Antifa's point about cashiers being fined £5000, this has been the case for years.

Hannah_hfc
27-07-2009, 10:52 PM
How do you combat a problem like this then? Something needs done, and it needs done now. Only time will tell if this will be successful. I am assuming that the government have made these radical changes based on evidence/listening to people that study the affects of alcohol misuse.

On Antifa's point about cashiers being fined £5000, this has been the case for years.

Tbh i dont think this can be combatted, mainly cause people dont want to stop going out on a fri/sat night and getting completely rat ar$ed:dunno:

If they increase the age limit, younger people will still find a way round it like they do now, proxy buying, fake i.d, fortunate enough to look old (maybe not 25 mind)
If they increase prices, people are willing to pay for booze so they will do, despite moaning about it
If they limit the hours you can sell, people will still make time to go pick up booze during the set hours
If they limit the amount of people allowed in a pub, find another! or drink at home with mates before hitting town

The introduced measures spoken about in this thread will do very little imo

Storar
28-07-2009, 12:16 AM
The only way to tackle this culture where binge drinking is acceptable and normal is to target the 14/15 year old kids.
There's so many kids going about getting drunk when they are that young and by the time they're 18 it's become the norm.

Stopping drinks promos might stop the 18+ drinkers from binge drinking (although I don't think it will) but it's not going to make a slightest bit of difference to the millions of school kids who go out and get ****ed up on a 4 pack of Bacardi Breezers between about 10 of them :rolleyes:

These are the ones you have to get to stop drinking.

28-07-2009, 12:23 AM
Edinburgh is strict enough as it is. :rules:

JE89
28-07-2009, 05:37 PM

The problem is too deep rooted to be solved by a price increase. Although it costs the NHS, police etc millions each year, alcohol keep SO many people in jobs. Especially at a time like this the new laws are ****** and won't help anyone.

Also a lot of pubs thrive on the busy days (eg match days in Leith/Gorgie), if they are restricted to a certain number of people in the pubs it will cause them to lose money, more and more pubs are closing and this will only make things worse.

28-07-2009, 06:53 PM
Perhaps this will just encourage more house parties etc instead of heading into town on weekends.... :dunno:

Dunno about anyone else but I drink at least twice as much when in the house than I do in a pub/club. :party::drunk:

the_ginger_hibee
28-07-2009, 07:54 PM
The only way to tackle this culture where binge drinking is acceptable and normal is to target the 14/15 year old kids.
There's so many kids going about getting drunk when they are that young and by the time they're 18 it's become the norm.

Stopping drinks promos might stop the 18+ drinkers from binge drinking (although I don't think it will) but it's not going to make a slightest bit of difference to the millions of school kids who go out and get ****ed up on a 4 pack of Bacardi Breezers between about 10 of them :rolleyes:

These are the ones you have to get to stop drinking.

We have a winner.

From experience at least by the time you hit 18 now a days the whole novelty of drinking has gone, get targeting the kids, that's where the problem starts, far too young and id imagine they will start drinking even younger as time goes on. No stop to happy hour will kerb that unfourtunatly.

stevensons-fan
28-07-2009, 08:06 PM
We have a winner.

From experience at least by the time you hit 18 now a days the whole novelty of drinking has gone, get targeting the kids, that's where the problem starts, far too young and id imagine they will start drinking even younger as time goes on. No stop to happy hour will kerb that unfourtunatly.

Yep i agree with you there, when i hit 18 last year the whole novelty of going out and getting absolutely trashed wore off a bit, although still like to go out and get bevved from time to time :wink: I think we need to target the young, 14/15 year olds where the only thing on their mind is getting their hands on a 4 pack of smirnoff which will get them trollied!
I don't think banning shots/upping the price will affect 18-21 year olds, most people will just drink more before going out.

28-07-2009, 08:11 PM
Yep i agree with you there, when i hit 18 last year the whole novelty of going out and getting absolutely trashed wore off a bit, although still like to go out and get bevved from time to time :wink: I think we need to target the young, 14/15 year olds where the only thing on their mind is getting their hands on a 4 pack of smirnoff which will get them trollied!
I don't think banning shots/upping the price will affect 18-21 year olds, most people will just drink more before going out.

Call me cynical but the government know that upping the price will mean that people still spend the same amount of money on drink that they currently do (maybe more and sacrifice other things for a night out).

They will have to spend less on NHS related issues. Therefore, increasing the gap between the two. I suspect the main driver behind all this is money and not the nations health.

29-07-2009, 08:05 AM
Call me cynical but the government know that upping the price will mean that people still spend the same amount of money on drink that they currently do (maybe more and sacrifice other things for a night out)

The levels that are being talked about in relation to minimum pricing would have no difference to the on-trade at all, since pubs are charging way above that rate already. It will however affect any off sales, where you have a situation now where many supermarkets are using alcohol as a loss leader i.e. charging less for it than they pay for it, in the hope it will entice people to go to their stores instead of the competition for their other shopping. The new act that comes into place on 1st September does not address minimum pricing, so that will be something for the future.

Despite most of the headlines blaming pubs and clubs, a lot of the problem for binge drinking is down to off sales. People can buy and consume as much as they want, without anyone stopping them. In general, the on-trade are pretty good at refusing service once someone is hammered, so pubs remain the best regulated place for people to drink. There are of course exceptions to that where pubs are badly run, but in the main they are the exception.

29-07-2009, 08:21 AM
The levels that are being talked about in relation to minimum pricing would have no difference to the on-trade at all, since pubs are charging way above that rate already. It will however affect any off sales, where you have a situation now where many supermarkets are using alcohol as a loss leader i.e. charging less for it than they pay for it, in the hope it will entice people to go to their stores instead of the competition for their other shopping. The new act that comes into place on 1st September does not address minimum pricing, so that will be something for the future.

Despite most of the headlines blaming pubs and clubs, a lot of the problem for binge drinking is down to off sales. People can buy and consume as much as they want, without anyone stopping them. In general, the on-trade are pretty good at refusing service once someone is hammered, so pubs remain the best regulated place for people to drink. There are of course exceptions to that where pubs are badly run, but in the main they are the exception.

Apologies, got side tracked onto the minimum pricing.

I appreciate the supermarkets cut their costs to get people in store but even they are pushing their prices up already. Pubs are too expensive. That's the bottom line and the main reason people go to the supermarkets IMO.

If I could go to the pub and buy 8 pints for the same price or even 1.5 times the price I pay in the supermarket I would go to the pub 100 times out of 100.

However, when you can buy a can of lager for 70p and the pub wants £3 with a lesser quality why the **** would I want to do that?

I agree that a lot of problems are down to off sales but there's no shortage of people in town reeking and fighting. Bumping into someone by accident turns into a fight half the time.

29-07-2009, 09:20 AM
My prediction is that we will go the way of New Zealand.

Here it is the norm to drink supermarket carry out bevvy in the house until anytime up till 1am and THEN go into town absolutely peshed in order to save money on paying 'town prices' for drinks.

A Jim Beam/JD & Coke will cost you $8 in town, and yet I bought a litre of Jim Beam for $30 and a bottle of Coke for $3 - it's a no brainer really.

Same will happen in Scotland now, and it's a pity because I actually prefer going to the pub than drinking in the house, but not if prices are going to be a rip off constantly and there's no happy hour or cheap offers on to at least get the night started.

As for the capacity issue, that sounds like it could be a disaster for pubs where there is footy on etc, whether it be before and after Hibs games, or pubs in town when Scotland games are on etc.

McAskill is a joke, and I said the same thing about a year ago when these plans first came to light.

Edit - I should've mentioned that binge drinking is a big problem here, so if we do go the way of NZ, we won't actually have solved that problem!

29-07-2009, 09:34 AM

Here it is the norm to drink supermarket carry out bevvy in the house until anytime up till 1am and THEN go into town absolutely peshed in order to save money on paying 'town prices' for drinks.

A Jim Beam/JD & Coke will cost you $8 in town, and yet I bought a litre of Jim Beam for $30 and a bottle of Coke for $3 - it's a no brainer really.

Same will happen in Scotland now, and it's a pity because I actually prefer going to the pub than drinking in the house, but not if prices are going to be a rip off constantly and there's no happy hour or cheap offers on to at least get the night started.

As for the capacity issue, that sounds like it could be a disaster for pubs where there is footy on etc, whether it be before and after Hibs games, or pubs in town when Scotland games are on etc.

McAskill is a joke, and I said the same thing about a year ago when these plans first came to light.

Edit - I should've mentioned that binge drinking is a big problem here, so if we do go the way of NZ, we won't actually have solved that problem!

I've noticed a shift towards going out much later already. It used to be rare to pick people much after 11 to go into town. Now you get quite a few after midnight going out for a couple of hours because they can't afford a whole night out. No very late clubs here 2.30 they shut.

29-07-2009, 09:44 AM

Did he not spend the night in police cells himself, after being arrested for being drunk and disorderly at Wembley. :rolleyes:

29-07-2009, 09:57 AM
Did he not spend the night in police cells himself, after being arrested for being drunk and disorderly at Wembley. :rolleyes:

A former alcoholic no less, IMO the worst type of person to write this legislation as he is likely to be more hardline than necessary.

29-07-2009, 10:01 AM
I've noticed a shift towards going out much later already. It used to be rare to pick people much after 11 to go into town. Now you get quite a few after midnight going out for a couple of hours because they can't afford a whole night out. No very late clubs here 2.30 they shut.

It's after work on Fridays here where I really notice it. Back in Edinburgh the pubs are completely packed at 6pm on a Friday - at lots of the pubs here, including those that actually do have happy hours on, they are pretty empty until things pick up towards midnight!

As I say, I prefer going to the boozer, preferably around 7.30 - 8pm for a night out but it is the Kiwi way to get sloshed in the house till midnight.

I believe Dublin is similar after the brought in these types of rules a few years ago. I remember in 2003 it was extortionate in Dublin city centre and a couple of Irish guys I spoke to said they just drank before coming into town as well.

IMO this all might encourage binge drinking even more - people at home, pouring their own 'generous' shots, drinking faster so they can get drunk faster and therefore go to town sooner?

29-07-2009, 04:29 PM

Correct. Leith Franklin CC have had to do this at the Links.
Also now have to re-introduce the visitors book

29-07-2009, 07:38 PM
IMO this all might encourage binge drinking even more - people at home, pouring their own 'generous' shots, drinking faster so they can get drunk faster and therefore go to town sooner?

It's already happening - 'preloading' as it's known is a massive problem for pubs.

People get hammered in the house, turn up at the pub steaming, don't get in/get served and then start causing bother. The result being that the pub gets in bother because the incidents happen at their door, and residents complain to the Police and Licensing boards because they assume the pub is to blame.

I've had to go to more and more licensing board meetings because of this in the last twelve months where the pub is getting a hard time for simply doing what they should be doing.

villager
29-07-2009, 10:50 PM
my feeling is that the main on-trade trend that will come out of this is weekend price levels. one of the key changes in legislation with this act is the 72 hour promotion minimum.

from community to george street pubs expect an accesible price structure from sunday - wednesday and a high profit margin price point on thursdays, fridays and saturdays.

watch thursday nights become the new monday night.:tumble: