18-07-2009, 11:50 AM
Try the UK Citizenship Test. I failed 14 out of 24! :greengrin
http://www.ukcitizenshiptest.co.uk/
18-07-2009, 11:52 AM
I done this a few weeks ago and got 12. Hopefully i'll get thrown out shortly.
18-07-2009, 11:53 AM
I done this a few weeks ago and got 12. Hopefully i'll get thrown out shortly.
18-07-2009, 12:00 PM
I got 16, how did I get in. Oh, yes, I was born here. Hope it doesn't stop me getting a passport.
Captain Emerald
18-07-2009, 12:05 PM
16. Didnae want tae pass anywiy :blah:
18-07-2009, 12:33 PM
18 out of 24.
Guess how many I fluked? :greengrin
18 out of 24.
Guess how many I fluked? :greengrin17 ..?...:greengrin
18-07-2009, 12:38 PM
12 out of 24 (50%) :boo hoo:- been in Germany too long methinks - I get almost full marks in the equivalent German Citizenship test, maybe it's time to 'jump ship'? :confused: ...
18-07-2009, 12:45 PM
I done it again and still only got 20. I can remember all sorts of answers to questions from years ago but 2 weeks later and I was guessing at a few of these.
18-07-2009, 03:01 PM
I ran through it quickly and got 10. Although on a couple I only answered one when two were required and never read some of the questions correctly. What do you normally require when applying for a job - I put proof of Id. Thought it was when accepted for a job.
Although you'd have to be a statistician for most of the questions.
I presume that people taking the test get some kind of related information booklets that provides the answers or sources of information.
18-07-2009, 03:30 PM
Anyone remember Norman Tebbit's "Cricket test"?
Basically, he said that the true test of British-ness was who one supported in cricket matches involving England. It was, of course, a direct reference to West Indians and southern Asians. However, 5 million Scots immediately went "well, that's us *****ed then!".
18-07-2009, 04:12 PM
I ran through it quickly and got 10. Although on a couple I only answered one when two were required and never read some of the questions correctly. What do you normally require when applying for a job - I put proof of Id. Thought it was when accepted for a job.
Although you'd have to be a statistician for most of the questions.
I presume that people taking the test get some kind of related information booklets that provides the answers or sources of information.
There's a book that i think you are supposed to read before taking the test. If you go through answers it tells you on which page the information could be found.
andyhibs
18-07-2009, 05:13 PM
12:boo hoo:ill get ma coat
blaikie
18-07-2009, 05:23 PM
12 :duck:Wonder where there deporting me to :greengrin
12:boo hoo:ill get ma coat
12 :duck:Wonder where there deporting me to :greengrinLikewise ...crappy questions though ...:greengrin
18-07-2009, 05:43 PM
I got 9 :thumbsup:
18-07-2009, 06:07 PM
They're gonnae deport me. :bye:
18-07-2009, 06:33 PM
oh dear :boo hoo: 13/24(54%) deportation awaits, hopefully to a warmer country.
I got 11 - I didn't read the questions fully as I have the attention span of a 2 year old at things like this .
18-07-2009, 07:01 PM
13 out of 24. :greengrin
I know this is part of a debate but imagine suggesting an "acceptable" citizen should be required to know in which year it become legal for a woman to divorce her husband, when the dates offered are all over 100 years ago!
fife hfc
18-07-2009, 07:04 PM
I got 15 :greengrin
Agree about the stupid question about divorce. how the hell does that make you a citizen.
18-07-2009, 07:20 PM
oh dear :boo hoo: 13/24(54%) deportation awaits, hopefully to a warmer country.
Same here - I'll settle for the south of France please HRM Borders Control.
18-07-2009, 07:24 PM
12 and failed. Questions are pathetic imo.
Anyone know the actual pass rate?
18-07-2009, 07:35 PM
i got 10 out of 24 so it looks like i'll be back off to the emerald isle in leg irons :greengrin
who wants to be british anyway :wink:
18-07-2009, 07:59 PM
Is it just me or did some of the correct answers not appear as options? :confused:
For example, I couldn't see Brussels as an option for where the European Parliament meets and the national advisory wasn't appearing as an option for where you can obtain advice if you have a problem at work.
Anyone else have this issue or am I just being thick?
PS-The majority of these questions are just stupid and have little or no relevance as to how suitable you are for becoming a citizen in the UK.
18-07-2009, 08:04 PM
10 for me.
18-07-2009, 08:58 PM
Is it just me or did some of the correct answers not appear as options? :confused:
For example, I couldn't see Brussels as an option for where the European Parliament meets and the national advisory wasn't appearing as an option for where you can obtain advice if you have a problem at work.
Anyone else have this issue or am I just being thick?
PS-The majority of these questions are just stupid and have little or no relevance as to how suitable you are for becoming a citizen in the UK.
Did you make the window full-screen?
I got them all right :nerd: :embarrass . I'm putting it down to the Yogi factor though :greengrin and a couple were pure guesses (the number of young people, for example).
Completely agree that many of the questions seem to be irrelevant (and smack of stupidity and hypocrisy, given that the answers have little bearing on our everyday lives and most of us ready-established UK citizens don't know or don't really care what the answers are)
18-07-2009, 09:05 PM
17. I think I got all the questions involving dates and figures wrong. :tee hee:
18-07-2009, 09:22 PM
15/24 for moi.
Some right dodgy questions (nine actually :wink:) that were tough.
18-07-2009, 09:36 PM
I got them all right :nerd: :embarrass . I'm putting it down to the Yogi factor though :greengrin and a couple were pure guesses (the number of young people, for example).
Completely agree that many of the questions seem to be irrelevant (and smack of stupidity and hypocrisy, given that the answers have little bearing on our everyday lives and most of us ready-established UK citizens don't know or don't really care what the answers are)
Yep, it was full screen.
Here is what I can see, exactly as it appears on the screen;
Question 8 of 24
In which TWO of the following places does the European Parliament meet?
A London
B Strasbourg
C Paris
No mention of Brussels
and
Question 19 of 24
From which TWO places can you obtain advice if you have a problem at work and need to take further action?
Citizens' Advice Bureau
Your Local MP
Your Employer
No mention of ACAS
However surely, if you have a problem at work, you should speak to your employer? :confused:
This is a really silly test.
And yes, I did fail it! :greengrin
12/24. Although I would have got 13 if Brussels had been available to me on the EU question.
18-07-2009, 09:43 PM
Yep, it was full screen.
Here is what I can see, exactly as it appears on the screen;
Question 8 of 24
In which TWO of the following places does the European Parliament meet?
A London
B Strasbourg
C Paris
No mention of Brussels
and
Question 19 of 24
From which TWO places can you obtain advice if you have a problem at work and need to take further action?
Citizens' Advice Bureau
Your Local MP
Your Employer
No mention of ACAS
However surely, if you have a problem at work, you should speak to your employer? :confused:
This is a really silly test.
And yes, I did fail it! :greengrin
12/24. Although I would have got 13 if Brussels had been available to me on the EU question.
Citizen, you have failed to meet your citizenship requirements.
Report to the execution bay for re-education immediately :agree:
horseman
18-07-2009, 09:53 PM
failed !
17/24 but i'm from the costa del granton ...... dont wanna be part o the uk ......
(((Fergus)))
18-07-2009, 10:01 PM
Who the **** are they to decide what constitutes "Britishness"? :blah:
18-07-2009, 10:03 PM
Who the **** are they to decide what constitutes "Britishness"? :blah:
Citizen, you have failed to meet your citizenship requirements.
Report to the execution bay for re-education immediately :agree:
18-07-2009, 11:39 PM
12. But I reckon I could get 24/24 on a Scottish Citizens test. :cool2:
18-07-2009, 11:56 PM
71% :greengrin
19-07-2009, 07:09 AM
13/24.......no surprise really - I'm Scottish :duck::greengrin
19-07-2009, 11:09 AM
12 out of 24 (50%) :boo hoo:- been in Germany too long methinks - I get almost full marks in the equivalent German Citizenship test, maybe it's time to 'jump ship'? :confused: ...
Yes, for you Tommy ze war is over.
Sorry.
Completely agree. Why not just ignore this part of the process and simply give out the useful information when required?
Who on earth came up with the idea that a multiple choice exam should be used? You could give people books about salt mining in Russia and ask them to sit a test after you have studied the material....and you would pass if you put the effort in. It doesn't mean I give a toss about salt mining in Russia or ever will. Any idiot can take in information and regurgitate it.
I can't believe people responsible for immigration have come up with something so utterly pointless.
Anyway, I got 12.
20-07-2009, 07:21 AM
13 out of 24. :greengrin
I know this is part of a debate but imagine suggesting an "acceptable" citizen should be required to know in which year it become legal for a woman to divorce her husband, when the dates offered are all over 100 years ago!
I got 15 :greengrin
Agree about the stupid question about divorce. how the hell does that make you a citizen.
Thought that was one of the questions which might have had some relevance. If part of the point of the training and test is to emphasise to immigrants from other cultures that here in blighty women have for a very very long time enjoyed some forms of legal rights (rights which they might not have/have had in their countries of origin), then reference to the 19th-century beginnings of these legal rights is perhaps not completely stupid.
Anyone know when women were first permitted to divorce their husbands in Oz and the US? :dunno:
12/24.
I got 5 :faf:
Hugover is my excuse - when do I get deported?
20-07-2009, 03:18 PM
I sat my US Citizenship test in 2000 and ended up with 94% correct.
I was significantly worse off doing the UK one, despite having lived here longer.
:yawn:
da-robster
21-07-2009, 04:33 PM
15 :greengrin
NYHibby
28-07-2009, 02:33 AM
I got 15 right which I think is pretty good despite the fact that I'm not a British citizen and haven't spent that much time living in the UK.
I did guess the divorce question right.
30-07-2009, 03:33 PM
Started off 9 of 10....then only got another 7 correct for a total of 16. Even got the 1857 divorce for women correct, but only because I think I was the male first to suffer that humiliation in 1857 !! In fact the only incorrect one in the first 10 was the number of MP's which I changed from the correct answer to the highest, 664, trying to be clever, thinking that Parliament would have tried to get as many lazy, greedy MP's as possible. I should have known my natural cynicism would undo me eventually.
The American test used to be so easy but has changed a little. No questions like how many children under a certain age in the US. What a dumb question.
I think the current American one reflects well its changing identity:
1) What percentage of homicides in the US are committed by handgun?
2) Racism is strictly a white problem. TRUE or TRUE?
3) Is the United States a continent? If so, does this mean we are incontinent?
4) What was the calibre of the 3rd bullet that killed John F Kennedy?
5) To carry a handgun in Washington D.C. do you require a permit?
6) What is Spanish for 'Se habla Espanol'?
7) Should steroids be an Olympic event?
8) Which Old Testament book justifies Pro Lifers murdering abortion doctors?
9) Should education be allowed in State schools?
10) What is the average number of shots a lone assassin can get off in 8 seconds?
whereswallace?
02-08-2009, 04:57 PM
13/24 Im waiting on the knock at the door.....:greengrin
Darth Hibbie
02-08-2009, 07:29 PM
13 :thumbsup:
I'll start packing my bags so they can deport me back to errrrrrrr
They will be coming for me any min :worried: