View Full Version : Urgent Swine Flu
14-07-2009, 05:59 PM
Anyone else been diagnosed with it?
I was yesterday, on Tamiflu now....its freaking horrible man!
nice too see tamiflu is not subsidised in NZ either....$80 for the prescription!
cheers
:jamboak:
Cal
scott7_0(Prague)
14-07-2009, 06:11 PM
nice too see tamiflu is not subsidised in NZ either....$80 for the prescription!
cheers
Cal
Did they not tell you on entering NZ that your meant to **** sheep....:wink:
No, in all seriousness good luck with it mate, listen to what they are telling you and get plenty fluids down your throat.
blaikie
14-07-2009, 06:11 PM
Get well soon :agree:
I know a few people who were on tamiflu after a scare at a local school. Heard the stuff makes you quite drowsy.
davym7062
14-07-2009, 06:12 PM
get well soon callum
14-07-2009, 06:13 PM
ive probs been sleeping 18-20 hours a day!
has its benefits I guess! haha
just hoping I didnt pass onto anyone else when I went into work on Monday Morn.
and obviously, my fiancee etc... :greengrin
Is it caught by porking pigs?
14-07-2009, 07:06 PM
cheers
Cal
Get well soon mate.
(I think that's what you want us to say).
Randerson_4
14-07-2009, 07:16 PM
ive probs been sleeping 18-20 hours a day!
has its benefits I guess! haha
just hoping I didnt pass onto anyone else when I went into work on Monday Morn.
and obviously, my fiancee etc... :greengrin
I liked the fact you put your workmates before fiancee :greengrin
All the best, hope you recover quickly
My brother is going to Ayia Napa on Sunday and is worried about picking it up, aparantely Micah Richards picked it up there. I was worried about going to Tin the Park and catching it but seem fine
Hope you are feeling better soon. Its getting a bit scary here now. I think the worst is still to come.
14-07-2009, 08:01 PM
And folk still justify refusing to wash their hands after using the toilet. :bitchy:
:jamboak: Really?
14-07-2009, 08:05 PM
Hope your feeling better soon.
Whilst on the subject you'll be reading tomorrow about a golfer missing The Open because he's got swine flu. Don't say there's no scoops on here.
14-07-2009, 08:51 PM
Did they not tell you on entering NZ that your meant to **** sheep....:wink:
No, in all seriousness good luck with it mate, listen to what they are telling you and get plenty fluids down your throat.
I don't know why but this made me laugh. Just seems like a strange thing to say to someone who is ill (or just different to the usual).
Reminds me of a boy in my work who used to sign every birthday/anniversary/retirement card that came across his desk with the words "may all your dreams and wishes come true". Was fine and dandy until the day he didn't realise he was signing a condolence card until it was too late. :greengrin
My brother is going to Ayia Napa on Sunday and is worried about picking it up, aparantely Micah Richards picked it up there. I was worried about going to Tin the Park and catching it but seem fine
There are worse things to be caught at T in the Park and DEFINITELY in Ayia Napa!! :greengrin
14-07-2009, 09:49 PM
How anyone can justify refusing to wash their hands after using the loo is beyond me - manky barstewards!!! :grr:
14-07-2009, 10:00 PM
cheers
Cal
Sorry to read this Callum. Get well soon buddy :thumbsup:
14-07-2009, 10:07 PM
Sickos mate, sickos :bitchy:
Brando7
14-07-2009, 10:09 PM
Get well soon Callum
stevensons-fan
14-07-2009, 10:24 PM
I liked the fact you put your workmates before fiancee :greengrin
All the best, hope you recover quickly
Yeh my boyfriend caught Swine flu out in Napa, luckily he is all better but i think there is a big outbreak over there!
14-07-2009, 10:33 PM
Yeh my boyfriend caught Swine flu out in Napa, luckily he is all better but i think there is a big outbreak over there!
just as well it was swine flu he picked up there and not any other dodgy virus :wink:
14-07-2009, 11:03 PM
Get well soon pal.
Littlest Hobo
14-07-2009, 11:19 PM
Watch out for the tami flu side effects mate, severe vomiting after three to four days! Nightmare! :jamboak:
ackeygraham
14-07-2009, 11:22 PM
Burd in my works glasgow office was diagnosed with it on Monday. She is reported to be OK but as she was the receptionist you wonder if she caught from a visitor and even who she may have passed it on too?
15-07-2009, 08:31 AM
6,000 people in the UK die ever year from the normal flu strains. Now, of course, this may evolve into something a bit more sinister but there's no indications of that.
So, why are people saying they are scared to go somewhere and pick it up? It's just the flu.
6,000 people in the UK die ever year from the normal flu strains. Now, of course, this may evolve into something a bit more sinister but there's no indications of that.
So, why are people saying they are scared to go somewhere and pick it up? It's just the flu.
No its not. Its a new virus and its targeting young people. The most recent people to die apparently have no major underlying health problems. I heard the other day that the main group getting it are 5-14 year olds and the vaccine will be offered to people with asthma and diabetes first. I have a son aged 13 with asthma, of course I am worried - not panicking but concerned.
In general 'normal' seasonal flu doesn't kill healthy kids.
15-07-2009, 09:14 AM
How anyone can justify refusing to wash their hands after using the loo is beyond me - manky barstewards!!! :grr:
What if you're in the East Stand at ER and there's nae soap, or anything to dry your hands with?
Or at T in the Park where it's virtually impossible to wash your hands...?
edit - I suppose these aren't refusals...
What if you're in the East Stand at ER and there's nae soap, or anything to dry your hands with?
In the current climate you use alcohol hand gel at places like TITP surely? I have a small bottle that I bought in the chemist for about a quid and it fits in my pocket. I use it after picking up my dogs mess even though my hands are not that close its just the thought.
Having said that I am a bit OCD with handwashing at the best of times.
15-07-2009, 09:45 AM
There are taps with water coming out them though so at least it is something.
15-07-2009, 10:00 AM
cheers
Cal
Is it the FLU that's horrible or the Tamiflu? Both? Sorry to hear this, Callum. Hope you're better soon. Take care.
In the current climate you use alcohol hand gel at places like TITP surely? I have a small bottle that I bought in the chemist for about a quid and it fits in my pocket. I use it after picking up my dogs mess even though my hands are not that close its just the thought.
Having said that I am a bit OCD with handwashing at the best of times.
Not sure that public health is the issue the promoters give their highest priority, Jill. I use the gel whenever I go into or leave a hospital ward and I think I'll be investing in a bottle for the pocket too.
Not OCD - sensible. Trust the wee guy keeps well.
15-07-2009, 10:06 AM
No its not. Its a new virus and its targeting young people. The most recent people to die apparently have no major underlying health problems. I heard the other day that the main group getting it are 5-14 year olds and the vaccine will be offered to people with asthma and diabetes first. I have a son aged 13 with asthma, of course I am worried - not panicking but concerned.
In general 'normal' seasonal flu doesn't kill healthy kids.
Yes it does, you just don't hear much about it. The elderly and young are particulalry vulnerable to the usual flus but others do die from it quite regularly.
And I don't think it's 'targetting' anyone!
There's a lot of loose reporting on this with no reference back to the usual flu situation. As I said above 6,000 people on average die in the UK from flu every year. not all of those are old, young or have underlying issues.
At this moment this is not worth worrying any more about than anything else.
stevensons-fan
15-07-2009, 11:32 AM
just as well it was swine flu he picked up there and not any other dodgy virus :wink:
Just as well indeed!
Not sure that public health is the issue the promoters give their highest priority, Jill. I use the gel whenever I go into or leave a hospital ward and I think I'll be investing in a bottle for the pocket too.
Not OCD - sensible. Trust the wee guy keeps well.
To be honest the chances of catching it are probably pretty high at these places because of the amount of people in close proximity. I would imagine hand washing is only a very small deterrent in this case. Its a risk you have to calculate yourself - it wouldn't stop me from going.
Doddie my son used to be very bad with asthma and I had the docs out fairly regularly overnight to nebulise him and he was on 3 inhalers and a tablet daily but in recent years he has been far more stable using minimum medication thankfully. We are pretty much on top of it increasing and decreasing as necessary and checking peak flows. He has just increased his seretide.
Yes it does, you just don't hear much about it. The elderly and young are particulalry vulnerable to the usual flus but others do die from it quite regularly.
There's a lot of loose reporting on this with no reference back to the usual flu situation. As I said above 6,000 people on average die in the UK from flu every year. not all of those are old, young or have underlying issues.
Andy you seem to be far more knowledgeable than the expert I saw on the telly yesterday.
khib70
15-07-2009, 12:08 PM
Nice to find a thread these days on which I can agree with you totally:greengrin Another case of some IT geek producing a really scary ,"We're All Going To Die" computer model, and the press leaping on board.
Obviously, anyone dying from this is a tragedy. Obviously, people in certain age and health categories need to be protected. But as you rightly say, seasonal flu is much more of a killer. It isn't such good headline fodder, though.
I hope the OP and anyone else who contacts this get well soon. However, for the vast majority it's a week off work feeling hellish, not a death sentence.
15-07-2009, 12:17 PM
Andy you seem to be far more knowledgeable than the expert I saw on the telly yesterday.
I am. Well, my wife is and so I am too. :greengrin
I've always said behind a knowledgeable man there is a more knowledgeable woman :greengrin
I think what 'scares' (for want of a better word) people is that nobody knows how its going to change or if or when.
15-07-2009, 12:52 PM
To be honest the chances of catching it are probably pretty high at these places because of the amount of people in close proximity. I would imagine hand washing is only a very small deterrent in this case. Its a risk you have to calculate yourself - it wouldn't stop me from going.
Doddie my son used to be very bad with asthma and I had the docs out fairly regularly overnight to nebulise him and he was on 3 inhalers and a tablet daily but in recent years he has been far more stable using minimum medication thankfully. We are pretty much on top of it increasing and decreasing as necessary and checking peak flows. He has just increased his seretide.
This is serious and a lot more worrying than the authorities are giving out, IMO. I have friends in the local practice, and will be banging on the door as soon as the vaccines arrive in the Caldera.
(Bad enough having to visit folks in hospital, but I don't want to catch anything nasty.... :wink: )
There was on just last week who said that the health authorities had 'expected that the hot weather would have slowed the spread of the illness down'.
Now this thing started where? Mexico?
And the climate in Mexico is.... hot. :rolleyes:
There was on just last week who said that the health authorities had 'expected that the hot weather would have slowed the spread of the illness down'.
Now this thing started where? Mexico?
And the climate in Mexico is.... hot. :rolleyes:
:greengrin and hot also brings people together. Cold keeps us all in oor hooses!
Sauzee07
15-07-2009, 12:54 PM
Agree 100%:agree: If we put this into perspective then, based on a UK population of 60 million people, the figures are:
Worst case estimate of 30,000 thought to have had (or currently have) the virus in the UK. So that's only 0.05% of the UK population.
17 deaths so far (most with underlying health complications). This equates to 0.0000283% of the UK population.
If we compare the rate of deaths to those already affected this also appears to me to be very, very low. So far, only 0.057% of those affected in the UK have died and almost all of them had serious, pre-existing health complaints. So, that would be a survival rate for those infected of 99.943% thus far.
Very, very sad for those affected but thankfully the risks of severe illness and death from this at this stage appear to be microscopic.
15-07-2009, 01:50 PM
Agree 100%:agree: If we put this into perspective then, based on a UK population of 60 million people, the figures are:
Worst case estimate of 30,000 thought to have had (or currently have) the virus in the UK. So that's only 0.05% of the UK population.
17 deaths so far (most with underlying health complications). This equates to 0.0000283% of the UK population.
If we compare the rate of deaths to those already affected this also appears to me to be very, very low. So far, only 0.057% of those affected in the UK have died and almost all of them had serious, pre-existing health complaints. So, that would be a survival rate for those infected of 99.943% thus far.
Very, very sad for those affected but thankfully the risks of severe illness and death from this at this stage appear to be microscopic.
I should have added that although 6,000 is about the average that die from flu in a year in the UK it is not unknown for that figure to be closer to 30,000 in a bad year.
This doesn't really compare and there's no real compelling evidence to suggest that it will reach even normal flu proportions.
Graham Law
15-07-2009, 03:49 PM
Burd in my works glasgow office was diagnosed with it on Monday. She is reported to be OK but as she was the receptionist you wonder if she caught from a visitor and even who she may have passed it on too?
seeing as you were baw deep with her on tuesday i would guess you may have it as well ackey....
But you did say you kept your socks on so you may be ok!
Best Wishes Callum.
On Monday at work we had a client pop in who had recently been on holiday, his wife happened to be coughing and spluttering all over the place(no covering her mouth, nothing)
The minute she left the whole area was cleaned as thorough as possible, thing is apart from being a manky bitch who doesn't know manners imagine what she could have spread.
First thoughts that came into our heads was, been abroad, came back looking in a mess and with a cough that sounded as chesty as you can get...Swine Flu.
And yet she goes about spreading her germs all over our workplace.
Disgusting!
goosano
15-07-2009, 08:40 PM
Not quite right. 6000 die each year but it is usually complications such as pneumonia that kill-the flu weakens mostly vulnerable elderly-not so many die from the flu itself-at predent it does not seem to be a more aggressive virus than the normal strains
And it will be worse than normal flu-as it is a novel strain virtually no-one has immunity, It means that far more people are likely to get it and therefore more will die. Though it looks as if similar proportion will die from it as from normal flu
(((Fergus)))
15-07-2009, 09:34 PM
cheers
Cal
I know several people down in England who've had it, kept quiet about it, never had the tamiflu or any other medication and just let it pass naturally.
15-07-2009, 11:30 PM
I said on previous threads about swine flu that I wasn't worried in the slightest.
Although I'm personally still not worried about myself contracting the virus (I am a great believer in fate), I can understand why people with "underlying health problems" may be a bit apprehensive about it all.
However, I still think the experts are alarming people unnecessarily. We are still talking about a virus which, outside of the USA, Argentina and Mexico (where the virus originated), has been responsible for 215 deaths in the entire world. That's only slightly higher than the death toll from the Iranian plane crash earlier today.
To date, the World Health Organisation has confirmed there have been around 95,000 cases of Swine Flu worldwide. The "normal" flu makes 3-5 million people severely ill, every single year. In the UK, 10,000 people have been diagnosed as having the virus, but in the vast majority of these cases, people are contracting a mild form of the illness and it is not life threatening.
I realise that it could return in a more aggressive form in the Winter and become more deadly, but I personally don't see the point in worrying about something that COULD happen.
If people follow basic hygiene procedures that you should adhere to anyway, regardless of any flu pandemic, then I think that's really all you can do.
15-07-2009, 11:38 PM
GWS Callum.
I have to say I also dont buy into the great panic/worry. I met with the local PH consultant and others as we plan for the event of a staff/students becoming affected.
We were advised that this flu is 'mild' and people will be ill for '48-72 hours'.
That being the case - and that apparently the o/55s are best protected from earlier pandemics - I cannot see the merit in mass vaccination.
Our NHS/GPs don't need this additional task and it would seem to have minimal benefits IMHO.
I won't be getting vaccinated. I will of course - if affected - take the necessary meds.
(((Fergus)))
15-07-2009, 11:40 PM
I said on previous threads about swine flu that I wasn't worried in the slightest.
Although I'm personally still not worried about myself contracting the virus (I am a great believer in fate), I can understand why people with "underlying health problems" may be a bit apprehensive about it all.
However, I still think the experts are alarming people unnecessarily. We are still talking about a virus which, outside of the USA, Argentina and Mexico (where the virus originated), has been responsible for 215 deaths in the entire world. That's only slightly higher than the death toll from the Iranian plane crash earlier today.
To date, the World Health Organisation has confirmed there have been around 95,000 cases of Swine Flu worldwide. The "normal" flu makes 3-5 million people severely ill, every single year. In the UK, 10,000 people have been diagnosed as having the virus, but in the vast majority of these cases, people are contracting a mild form of the illness and it is not life threatening.
I realise that it could return in a more aggressive form in the Winter and become more deadly, but I personally don't see the point in worrying about something that COULD happen.
If people follow basic hygiene procedures that you should adhere to anyway, regardless of any flu pandemic, then I think that's really all you can do.
Strange that the "experts" should be causing such alarm. Maybe they know something we don't - like the fact that stocks of Tamiflu are reaching their expiry date. (http://www.infowars.com/hyped-flu-will-make-use-of-expiring-tamiflu-stockpiles-and-allow-for-pre-pandemic-priming-of-the-population/)
16-07-2009, 09:53 AM
Does Tamiflu even work with Swine Flu? :confused:
Or isn't it the case that it only lessens the symptoms?
Does Tamiflu even work with Swine Flu? :confused:
Or isn't it the case that it only lessens the symptoms?
It only lessons the symptoms as far as I have heard.
16-07-2009, 12:55 PM
GWS Callum.
I have to say I also dont buy into the great panic/worry. I met with the local PH consultant and others as we plan for the event of a staff/students becoming affected.
We were advised that this flu is 'mild' and people will be ill for '48-72 hours'.
That being the case - and that apparently the o/55s are best protected from earlier pandemics - I cannot see the merit in mass vaccination.
Our NHS/GPs don't need this additional task and it would seem to have minimal benefits IMHO.
I won't be getting vaccinated. I will of course - if affected - take the necessary meds.
And I hope taking the appropriate time off work and have the missus running around looking after you :wink:
We're preparing for teachers/pupils being absent en-mass but when the so-called 'experts' have such varying views on the matter it's difficult to know what to plan for.
looking at the BBC website Scotland is actually seeing a drop in cases while England is seen a dramatic rise. Now I say block the borders and don't allow anybody in or out:greengrin.
It is scary, as I have two small children and a mother who has serious breathing difficulties. But even the worse case predictions are that one in every million people in Britian will die of the flu. very ****ty if its you or one of your family but hopefully it will reach no where near worst case.
:agree: My dad has leukeamia and I am worried for him. He has no immune system to speak of after years of chemo on and off.
17-07-2009, 10:02 AM
looking at the BBC website Scotland is actually seeing a drop in cases while England is seen a dramatic rise. Now I say block the borders and don't allow anybody in or out:greengrin.
It is scary, as I have two small children and a mother who has serious breathing difficulties. But even the worse case predictions are that one in every million people in Britian will die of the flu. very ****ty if its you or one of your family but hopefully it will reach no where near worst case.
The Guardian is currently running this story http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/jul/16/swine-flu-pandemic-warning-helpline 65,000 deaths is a pretty worrying prognosis, even if only "worst case".
Sauzee07
17-07-2009, 01:06 PM
The Guardian is currently running this story http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/jul/16/swine-flu-pandemic-warning-helpline 65,000 deaths is a pretty worrying prognosis, even if only "worst case".
Sounds like a large scary number but 65,000 deaths would represent only 0.01% of the UK population.
To put it another way - even if that worst case estimate is correct, 99.99% of the UK will not die from Swine Flu.
17-07-2009, 01:16 PM
Sounds like a large scary number but 65,000 deaths would represent only 0.01% of the UK population.
To put it another way - even if that worst case estimate is correct, 99.99% of the UK will not die from Swine Flu.
Well that's puts a different complexion on it altogether - and there was me almost 'running for the hills'!:cool2:
18-07-2009, 11:39 AM
I personally won't be taking any half-cooked vaccine that gets rushed on to the shelves. Take my chances on this one I think!
Darth Hibbie
20-07-2009, 11:32 AM
Well that's puts a different complexion on it altogether - and there was me almost 'running for the hills'!:cool2:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K7ToNJHgp-w :rockin:
FWIW I am in fear of my life from swine flu, however it is sensible to take precautions against spreading it (alcohol hand wash, covering mouth when sneezing/coughing). The population has not had a chance to build up a resistance against it therefore it could spread faster meaning there could be an effect on the number of folks at work etc causing a disruption to services.
20-07-2009, 11:41 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K7ToNJHgp-w :rockin:
FWIW I am in fear of my life from swine flu, however it is sensible to take precautions against spreading it (alcohol hand wash, covering mouth when sneezing/coughing). The population has not had a chance to build up a resistance against it therefore it could spread faster meaning there could be an effect on the number of folks at work etc causing a disruption to services.
a) It seems there's been roughly 15,000 recorded case of swine flu in the EU, with almost 10,000 in the UK? Anyone heard anything as to why that might be? :confused:
b) If it really does start to clock up 100,000 new infections per day in the autumn, it might not only screw up the economy it could also adversley affect sporting contests - SPL?
c) If it comes down to a choice between "Iron Maiden" and the "swine flu", guess what I'd take ? (Hint: sort of old Beatles fan who has even been known to like prog rock ...) :greengrin
20-07-2009, 02:58 PM
Yup - 1 in a 1000. Yet we're talking about mass vaccination and national hotlines etc :bitchy:
I personally won't be taking any half-cooked vaccine that gets rushed on to the shelves. Take my chances on this one I think!
20-07-2009, 03:28 PM
I think it's silly to say that 'it's only 65,000 deaths'.
It's only 65,000 deaths if it's not you. These are potentially preventable deaths.
If the same people and their families were affected they would be blasting the government / NHS etc etc etc for putting money over people's lives.
If the vaccination etc is going to cost us time and resources that could have potentially saved 65,000+ in the same amount of time then fair enough, it might not be worth it.
I don't know if it's better to let it float round and help us build the immunity to it or not. Could we be in the same situation next year if everyone is vaccinated and there is yet another new strain. I don't know.
I'm sure someone is weighing it up (and probably making an arse of it!).
Sauzee07
20-07-2009, 04:14 PM
Yup - 1 in a 1000.
Actually 1 in 10,000. Even more reason to worry about a "real" problem and not go all:panic:over this! :greengrin
20-07-2009, 04:57 PM
Actually 1 in 10,000. Even more reason to worry about a "real" problem and not go all:panic:over this! :greengrin
No, one in 1000. 60,000 people is 0.1% of the population.
20-07-2009, 06:52 PM
No, one in 1000. 60,000 people is 0.1% of the population.
60,000,000/60,000 = 1,000.
Sauzee07
21-07-2009, 12:12 PM
60,000,000/60,000 = 1,000.
I hate it when my maths is wrong! 1 in 1,000 and not 1 in 10,000 eh? In that case :offski::panic::sofa::Ummm::paranoid:
21-07-2009, 01:43 PM
I hate it when my maths is wrong! 1 in 1,000 and not 1 in 10,000 eh? In that case :offski::panic::sofa::Ummm::paranoid:
At least you can console yourself with the fact you can spell words backwards :greengrin
Sauzee07
22-07-2009, 06:37 PM
At least you can console yourself with the fact you can spell words backwards :greengrin
eurt yrev :top marks
AllyF
22-07-2009, 07:22 PM
Beginning to see more and more people I know contracting swine flu.
No doubt it's spreading very quickly.
:paranoid:
Hope I don't get it - would ruin the Summer.
Calvin
22-07-2009, 08:01 PM
Beginning to see more and more people I know contracting swine flu.
No doubt it's spreading very quickly.
:paranoid:
Hope I don't get it - would ruin the Summer.
Me too, 5 of my friends have been diagnosed with it too. And in my job I deal directly with 200 new people every day. As long as I don't have it by Monday for my Driving Test I'll be happy enough though!
22-07-2009, 09:15 PM
Me too, 5 of my friends have been diagnosed with it too. And in my job I deal directly with 200 new people every day. As long as I don't have it by Monday for my Driving Test I'll be happy enough though!
My doc told me I had tonsilitis. I'm convinced otherwise, got most of swine flu symptoms. Just lying low until it clears. It's pretty brutal but plenty of us will contract it, best get it out the way and get the immune system used to it.
AllyF
22-07-2009, 09:19 PM
My doc told me I had tonsilitis. I'm convinced otherwise, got most of swine flu symptoms. Just lying low until it clears. It's pretty brutal but plenty of us will contract it, best get it out the way and get the immune system used to it.
:agree: But only AFTER the summer holiday.
anon1
24-07-2009, 03:21 PM
I wish everyone would just stop panicking about Swine Flu! If you have a sore throat, its probably stress caused by the media fear frenzy hat everyone is going to die from swine flu!!
I cant get an appointment to see a gp for all the people panicking about swine flu, and there's 10 GP's working at the surgery I'm registered at. No appointments for an ENTIRE week.... rediculous!! :grr:
I wish everyone would just stop panicking about Swine Flu! If you have a sore throat, its probably stress caused by the media fear frenzy hat everyone is going to die from swine flu!!
I cant get an appointment to see a gp for all the people panicking about swine flu, and there's 10 GP's working at the surgery I'm registered at. No appointments for an ENTIRE week.... rediculous!! :grr:Shocking Jimmy lad ...change yer GP ...my wife phoned the doc's this morn & got an appointment for this efty nae bother .......oh & she doesnae hae swine flu ..:greengrin
RigRoars
24-07-2009, 04:01 PM
I cant get an appointment to see a gp for all the people panicking about swine flu, and there's 10 GP's working at the surgery I'm registered at. No appointments for an ENTIRE week.... rediculous!! :grr:
I want one...
shamo9
24-07-2009, 04:11 PM
Best Wishes Callum.
On Monday at work we had a client pop in who had recently been on holiday, his wife happened to be coughing and spluttering all over the place(no covering her mouth, nothing)
The minute she left the whole area was cleaned as thorough as possible, thing is apart from being a manky bitch who doesn't know manners imagine what she could have spread.
First thoughts that came into our heads was, been abroad, came back looking in a mess and with a cough that sounded as chesty as you can get...Swine Flu.
And yet she goes about spreading her germs all over our workplace.
Disgusting!
Forgive me if I sound impertinent, but why didn't you just ask her to cover her mouth, or even provide her with a cloth? Bitching after she's gone both in the workplace and on the internet won't do anything to help the situation. You have to be proactive about this sort of thing. If she's doing something wrong then damn well tell her! What's to stop her continuing to travel around the world committing the same act again and again? The law of averages suggest it's only a matter of time until she does spread her germs onto some innocent victim as a result of everyone elses' inaction. She probably was unaware of even doing such a thing, enlightening her might have corrected a bad habit for good.
There would be no reason for her to be anything but compliant; it's her health as well after all.
To butcher a famous quote: "Germs can only spread when ordinary bystanders do nothing.":greengrin
*Sorry, I'm getting ready for a debate at the moment... I'll abandon my magnanimous self once I kick the competitions' derrieres!
Oh, and good luck to Callum...
anon1
24-07-2009, 05:26 PM
I want one...
I'm sure Rupet Murdoch will be supplying them at good prices via all major stockists! :wink:
NaeTechnoHibby
25-07-2009, 01:32 AM
Righty ho!
One of my night telesales girls phoned me Monday to say her dad had a bad cold (she said he was 'floored by it') and was confined to the house with the Tamiflu medicine and as she was in contact, with him over the weekend, sent home from work for 3 days.
She's fine and her dad was feeling better by Tuesday night :thumbsup:
He wasn't tested, as they have stopped doing that now, so we will never know if my pal who came back from TinTP with the sniffles gave her dad it and remained imune or whether someone else did ?? Or did he have it at all??
Suffice to say that none of us who have been around her have been laid low with any colds or flu .........yet :greengrin
Anyway all peeps are fine :thumbsup:
Righty ho!
One of my night telesales girls phoned me Monday to say her dad had a bad cold (she said he was 'floored by it') and was confined to the house with the Tamiflu medicine and as she was in contact, with him over the weekend, sent home from work for 3 days.
She's fine and her dad was feeling better by Tuesday night :thumbsup:
He wasn't tested, as they have stopped doing that now, so we will never know if my pal who came back from TinTP with the sniffles gave her dad it and remained imune or whether someone else did ?? Or did he have it at all??
Suffice to say that none of us who have been around her have been laid low with any colds or flu .........yet :greengrin
Anyway all peeps are fine :thumbsup:
A guy my hubby was working with was saying that his kids had been sent home from school with it but he carried on working - he now has it! We are just waiting but dont know the incubation period of it. Hubby is fine so far.
25-07-2009, 08:33 AM
A guy my hubby was working with was saying that his kids had been sent home from school with it but he carried on working - he now has it! We are just waiting but dont know the incubation period of it. Hubby is fine so far.
I've found its been like a normal flu, but has just taken that bit longer to fight off. I've been bed ridden and haven't left the house since tuesday morning to go to the docs. I'm finally feeling much better today, but not quite 100% yet.
If he comes down with anything go for quarantine and complete rest.
I've found its been like a normal flu, but has just taken that bit longer to fight off. I've been bed ridden and haven't left the house since tuesday morning to go to the docs. I'm finally feeling much better today, but not quite 100% yet.
If he comes down with anything go for quarantine and complete rest.
Quarantined in the shed in the back garden :greengrin
25-07-2009, 10:14 AM
Ahhhhhhhh, bliss.
Ahhhhhhhh, bliss.Aye ..but who for ..?...:whistle: :offski:
25-07-2009, 10:22 AM
Peace perfect peace!
Well its got power and its huge so he could set up a kettle and his laptop with a mini fridge and a bed- he'd be as happy as me in a chocolate factory :greengrin
aussie_hibee
26-07-2009, 12:35 PM
Had it a couple of weeks ago (oh the irony of a copper getting pig flu!) and it was not fun!
Anyway, got the tamiflu etc but my wife is pregnant and I have a 1 year old and a 9 year old. The doctor believe that my wife MAY have had it but luckily got antibiotics very early and that my 1 year old may have had it too. (Both before I got my results back so they just treated it like the normal flu).
VERY SCARY time. Thankfully, they either didn't actually have it (they didn't bother testing because "they seem like they're going to be ok". OR it was a massive coincedence that they had the flu when I had the swine flu. (Plus the only person that we know that had it was my sister in law and I haven't seen her in months.)
Regardless, we're all ok now :thumbsup: but when the doctor said "You have to start to think about the fact that if they do have it and they take a turn for the worse, you could lose your wife, unborn and your baby son BUT I think it's not as bad as people think!" I almost keeled over!
TamHibs
04-08-2009, 10:59 AM
but when the doctor said "You have to start to think about the fact that if they do have it and they take a turn for the worse, you could lose your wife, unborn and your baby son BUT I think it's not as bad as people think!"
They are a funny lot these doctors :grr::grr: